GIO car insurance reviews

GIO

How is GIO car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

80%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.0 out of 10

GIO car insurance

Overall rating: 8.0 (152 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 28 March 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 475

Thumbs up: 438 | Thumbs down: 37

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.

Featured car insurance from GIO

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 20%

  • online discount

    10%


Other car insurance

  • Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    Not Published

  • online discount

    20%

  • Get quote
     
  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    Not Published

  • online discount

    none

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent GIO car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Competitive prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    GIO seems to offer good value & competitive prices for car insurance.  Full review 

    GIO seems to offer good value & competitive prices for car insurance.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Helena

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Premiums, claim and customer services

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Competitive premiums, excellent customer service, fast claim approval, guaranteed all repairs.  Full review 

    Competitive premiums, excellent customer service, fast claim approval, guaranteed all repairs.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Ferial from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    GIO is trusted, and reliable.  Full review 

    GIO is trusted, and reliable.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Lauren from Australian Capital Territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • The prices are great, great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 16 days ago)

    I'm 59 years old, had insurance on cars for 40 years with different companies and have found GIO to be the best for my needs  Full review 

    I'm 59 years old, had insurance on cars for 40 years with different companies and have found GIO to be the best for my needs


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Graham from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • GIO needs to review their assessors

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 16 days ago)

    I have been with GIO for many years. I have made one claim recently and all of the parts on my car were not replaced because of there assessor. I was not happy at all as that item was definitely broken at the time of the accident. Despite me telli...  Full review 

    I have been with GIO for many years. I have made one claim recently and all of the parts on my car were not replaced because of there assessor. I was not happy at all as that item was definitely broken at the time of the accident. Despite me telling them that, it was not replaced.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Amanda from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • GIO

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 27 days ago)

    Your best bet is to go with GIO, I mean it's really awesome. Can't trust everybody ???? But you can trust them. Go with GIO, promise you won't regret it!  Full review 

    Your best bet is to go with GIO, I mean it's really awesome. Can't trust everybody ???? But you can trust them. Go with GIO, promise you won't regret it!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Zykherie

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 27 days ago)

    Last year I unfortunately had 2 claims a few weeks apart. A big kangaroo hit the side of my new car and I misjudged a low fence in my work place car park and backed into a metal post. Both claims were processed without any problems and dealt with ...  Full review 

    Last year I unfortunately had 2 claims a few weeks apart. A big kangaroo hit the side of my new car and I misjudged a low fence in my work place car park and backed into a metal post. Both claims were processed without any problems and dealt with swiftly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Denise from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • You really find out how good your policy is after

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    I was with another company and had an accident I wasn't at fault. They were going to up my premiums so I changed to GIO in April last year I was involved in a collision where the other party was at fault. GIO were great they provided me with a hir...  Full review 

    I was with another company and had an accident I wasn't at fault. They were going to up my premiums so I changed to GIO in April last year I was involved in a collision where the other party was at fault. GIO were great they provided me with a hire car till mine was fixed, yes I may pay a bit more but they covered all the bases and took the stress out of the process of claiming something you don't need after a accident.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Janine

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Would not look anywhere else

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    After searching through a myriad of companies, I found Gio had the clearest policy and the best overall price without bundling. Easy to contact some one and even more surprisingly easy to follow their onsite service. Lucky as yet I have had no nee...  Full review 

    After searching through a myriad of companies, I found Gio had the clearest policy and the best overall price without bundling. Easy to contact some one and even more surprisingly easy to follow their onsite service. Lucky as yet I have had no need to make a claim.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Geoff from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fabulous service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    GIO is reliable, phone staff efficient, helpful and good knowledge of product. Never had a problem over the past 20 years. Claims settle quickly and fairly.  Full review 

    GIO is reliable, phone staff efficient, helpful and good knowledge of product. Never had a problem over the past 20 years. Claims settle quickly and fairly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Anne from New South Wales

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Honest insurer.  Full review 

    Honest insurer.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Michael from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service, competitive premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I've been with this company for over 10 years and every time I need to fix some things with my insurance this company never has any problems in doing so. I will be staying with them. I'm very pleased with them.  Full review 

    I've been with this company for over 10 years and every time I need to fix some things with my insurance this company never has any problems in doing so. I will be staying with them. I'm very pleased with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Gail from New South Wales

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Not bad

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Good customer service and average price.  Full review 

    Good customer service and average price.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Mozo reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Medium priced, competitive premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I have only just become a client of GIO insurance, and to date they have been great, but I haven't filed any sort of claim. I'll have to wait and see if they turn out to be as good as they say they are!  Full review 

    I have only just become a client of GIO insurance, and to date they have been great, but I haven't filed any sort of claim. I'll have to wait and see if they turn out to be as good as they say they are!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Kylie from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive and good staff

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Competitive so far and great support staff.  Full review 

    Competitive so far and great support staff.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Angela from Victoria

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Evil necessity

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Charge too much. Able to offer discounts when you leave.  Full review 

    Charge too much. Able to offer discounts when you leave.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Maureen from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good product but client loyalty appalling.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I have been a client of GIO for 23 years and yet when I got my last renewal and I questioned how high it was in regards to other quotes they didn't really want to listen. They even said they don't care what other companies are quoting. You would t...  Full review 

    I have been a client of GIO for 23 years and yet when I got my last renewal and I questioned how high it was in regards to other quotes they didn't really want to listen. They even said they don't care what other companies are quoting. You would think that being such a loyal customer and not claiming for the last 15 years would stand for something. Was very disappointed in their attitude to a loyal client.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Luke from New South Wales

    3 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Nothing positive to say at this stage.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Like most insurers, they are overcharging their customers for the product delivered and give nothing back to the community, just take.  Full review 

    Like most insurers, they are overcharging their customers for the product delivered and give nothing back to the community, just take.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Raymond from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Value for money.  Full review 

    Value for money.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Jenni from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive pricing and covers multiple products

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Competitive pricing and covers multiple types, house caravan and car, major insurer with good product.  Full review 

    Competitive pricing and covers multiple types, house caravan and car, major insurer with good product.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Kevin from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good company, great to deal, good prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Good company. Had five policies with them for many years. Good discount for multi-policies and the ability to choose excess on some products to reduce premium. Wife had a claim last year, so helpful. Car was assessed and in shop next day. Couldn't...  Full review 

    Good company. Had five policies with them for many years. Good discount for multi-policies and the ability to choose excess on some products to reduce premium. Wife had a claim last year, so helpful. Car was assessed and in shop next day. Couldn't be happier. And after the claim, no increase in the premium the following year.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Craig from Victoria

    2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Generous discounts and excellent customer service!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Excellent customer service, flexible plans and payment options, timely settlement for claims made, rating one available, generous discounts for combining with house and content insurance, seniors rate.  Full review 

    Excellent customer service, flexible plans and payment options, timely settlement for claims made, rating one available, generous discounts for combining with house and content insurance, seniors rate.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Ishaverlal from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Would not ref on price

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I don't like or dislike the company. But they are to dear, as many other company's are about $500 cheaper.  Full review 

    I don't like or dislike the company. But they are to dear, as many other company's are about $500 cheaper.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Donna from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • 10/10

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    They are very good.  Full review 

    They are very good.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Michellewade1365@live.com from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Efficient reliable helpful and courteous.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    I have had two accidents in the past twelve months and GIO are awesome. They organised everything for me. I didn't have to do a thing except get in the cab and sign on the dotted line for my rental. When I picked up my car it was brand new. Can't...  Full review 

    I have had two accidents in the past twelve months and GIO are awesome. They organised everything for me. I didn't have to do a thing except get in the cab and sign on the dotted line for my rental. When I picked up my car it was brand new. Can't say enough about GIO and the repairs. Worth every cent.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Lesley from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.