Progressive Direct car insurance reviews

Progressive Direct

How is Progressive Direct car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

83%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.3 out of 10

Progressive Direct car insurance

Overall rating: 8.3 (15 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 16 April 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 32

Thumbs up: 30 | Thumbs down: 2

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.

Featured car insurance from Progressive Direct

  • Comprehensive Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    Not Published

  • online discount

    none


Other car insurance

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 60%

  • online discount

    20%

  • Get quote
     
  • SureCover Plus Motor Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    Up to 10%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent Progressive Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Good service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 17 hours ago)

    Easy provider to deal with.  Full review 

    Easy provider to deal with.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by a Mozo reviewer from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • They offer a pretty good service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 27 days ago)

    When someone crashed into me they fixed my car fairly promptly.  Full review 

    When someone crashed into me they fixed my car fairly promptly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Mark from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good fast service online

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Difficult to really rate as I've never had to make a claim with them but the price is very competitive.  Full review 

    Difficult to really rate as I've never had to make a claim with them but the price is very competitive.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Ross

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great pricing, easy to deal with

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Progressive Direct comprehensive insurance is the best value for money on the market. Being a young male, with a ute that I am lucky to drive twice a week due to other household cars and a close proximity to my place of work, I simply couldn't ...  Full review 

    Progressive Direct comprehensive insurance is the best value for money on the market. Being a young male, with a ute that I am lucky to drive twice a week due to other household cars and a close proximity to my place of work, I simply couldn't afford to pay $2800 for insurance as a rating 3 driver. With progressive I have only had to pay $980 to cover me for my agreed value.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Steve from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Cheap and cheerful, but not sure about claims

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 months ago)

    I love that they're cheap, I love that I don't have to talk to them on the phone and that they respond to emails promptly and thoroughly, but I'm dubious about how this works with the claims process.  Full review 

    I love that they're cheap, I love that I don't have to talk to them on the phone and that they respond to emails promptly and thoroughly, but I'm dubious about how this works with the claims process.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Carrissa from Victoria

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Competitive premiums, low excess - awesome!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 months ago)

    Having been messed around by other insurance companies I started shopping around. Last year my renewal notice from my previous insurer showed a massive increase in my premium, which surprised me as I am a rating 1 and had made no claims. Upon ques...  Full review 

    Having been messed around by other insurance companies I started shopping around. Last year my renewal notice from my previous insurer showed a massive increase in my premium, which surprised me as I am a rating 1 and had made no claims. Upon questioning them, I discovered they had tried to sneak in roadside assistance on to the policy for a ridiculously expensive amount of money. Sadly, even once this was removed the policy was still a lot more expensive than the previous year and no-one was able to give me a good reason as to why. By chance I came across progressive. They were cheaper and the excess was less so I was dubious. However, after reading quite a number of reviews which were 99% positive, I decided to make the switch and frankly I have never been happier! Easy, painless, cheap, reliable. I am happy! Being online saves me money and as I am internet savvy it doesn't bother me in the least!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Jane from Victoria

    2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Great prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed over 1 year ago)

    Everything is done online, cheap prices for great cover, never had to call them in 2 years, never had a problem with anything.  Full review 

    Everything is done online, cheap prices for great cover, never had to call them in 2 years, never had a problem with anything.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Robert from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Cheap, good coverage and reliable service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed over 1 year ago)

    Good value, competitive agreed value. No hire car coverage but this can be claimed from the at fault party's insurer so not a necessity for my policy needs. Have made one claim. No claims staff work outside business hours (my accident was on a...  Full review 

    Good value, competitive agreed value. No hire car coverage but this can be claimed from the at fault party's insurer so not a necessity for my policy needs. Have made one claim. No claims staff work outside business hours (my accident was on a weekend), but found my claims manager very responsiveness and even followed me up when I hadn't booked my car in for repair within a few days of them approving my claim! Happy with the service.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Simon from Victoria

    7 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • 'Great premiums, agreed value cover, not market.'

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed almost 2 years ago)

    It's great to finally have an insurance company that does what they set out to do! Provide insurance that meets the customer's needs, for price and agreed value cover.  Full review 

    It's great to finally have an insurance company that does what they set out to do! Provide insurance that meets the customer's needs, for price and agreed value cover.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Craig from Western Australia

    3 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed almost 3 years ago)

    The pros it was easy as I did it over the internet, so no long wait on the mobile phone which is expensive. I got the agreed value I wanted  Full review 

    The pros it was easy as I did it over the internet, so no long wait on the mobile phone which is expensive. I got the agreed value I wanted


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Lorraine from Victoria

    4 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed almost 3 years ago)

    good value for money, and easy to control your policy via the internet. much cheaper than otherd. Covers all things.  Full review 

    good value for money, and easy to control your policy via the internet. much cheaper than otherd. Covers all things.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Robert from Victoria

    2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 years ago)

    I think all car insurance companies are expensive. They increase their premiums and there is no real savings to drivers who have a good driving history. The excesses keep going up too. Progressive Direct I find are the cheaper alternative, even th...  Full review 

    I think all car insurance companies are expensive. They increase their premiums and there is no real savings to drivers who have a good driving history. The excesses keep going up too. Progressive Direct I find are the cheaper alternative, even though their excess is high too.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Michele from Western Australia

    6 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 years ago)

    I would be slightly skeptical of their hands on service in the event of a claim as there are no HQs in my capital city. In saying that, recommendations have been made by people that have had their claims dealt with within this city and this is why...  Full review 

    I would be slightly skeptical of their hands on service in the event of a claim as there are no HQs in my capital city. In saying that, recommendations have been made by people that have had their claims dealt with within this city and this is why I chose them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Ben from Western Australia

    6 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 years ago)

    Very worried about doing the deal over the internet  Full review 

    Very worried about doing the deal over the internet


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by David from Queensland

    4 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 years ago)

    Long history in the US but just entering Australian market. So far no claims and it is online so do it yourself insurance. So cannot comment on customer service and claims handling. Let's hope that it stays that way.  Full review 

    Long history in the US but just entering Australian market. So far no claims and it is online so do it yourself insurance. So cannot comment on customer service and claims handling. Let's hope that it stays that way.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Selmir from New South Wales

    5 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 years ago)

    Best quote provided with all the required features for a comprehensive quote  Full review 

    Best quote provided with all the required features for a comprehensive quote


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    Progressive Direct car insurance reviewed by Peter from Victoria

    12 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.