AAMI car insurance reviews

AAMI

How is AAMI car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

80%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.0 out of 10

AAMI car insurance

Overall rating: 8.0 (905 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 07 January 2015


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 2547

Thumbs up: 2415 | Thumbs down: 128

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.

Featured car insurance from AAMI

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 70%

  • online discount

    $100


Other car insurance

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    15%

  • Get quote
     
  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 60%

  • online discount

    20%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent AAMI car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Great trustworthy company

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    AAMI is one of the biggest insurance companies which gives me peace of mind. I know I will be well taken care of by taking up insurance policy with them.  Full review 

    AAMI is one of the biggest insurance companies which gives me peace of mind. I know I will be well taken care of by taking up insurance policy with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Xiaohui from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Excellent, prompt phone service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    Being with the same insurer for years, decided to shop around, word of mouth is a reliable way to go, so with a few different recommendations by friends we phoned each one and found AAMI to be the insurer for us. We have stayed with them for a few...  Full review 

    Being with the same insurer for years, decided to shop around, word of mouth is a reliable way to go, so with a few different recommendations by friends we phoned each one and found AAMI to be the insurer for us. We have stayed with them for a few years now. Have not been in the situation to make a claim. We are also in the SES and AMMI grants a discount for members. And so they are supporting the SES which is a valuable resource to the community. Happy so far.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Jenny from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Excellent customer service. Delightful approach.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 21 days ago)

    I have found them to be very approachable with no delays or nit picking. Courteous and polite . Nothing is too much trouble and they are prompt in their endeavor to get things going. Genuine in their concern.  Full review 

    I have found them to be very approachable with no delays or nit picking. Courteous and polite . Nothing is too much trouble and they are prompt in their endeavor to get things going. Genuine in their concern.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Wendy from Victoria

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Price good, BUT........................!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Love that AAMI is very competitive in price! Unfortunately......... The reason for my 2 claims in 3 weeks was a result of my car being sent to the 'lowest' bidder where my car was not fixed properly and resulted in me stalling in the middle of tra...  Full review 

    Love that AAMI is very competitive in price! Unfortunately......... The reason for my 2 claims in 3 weeks was a result of my car being sent to the 'lowest' bidder where my car was not fixed properly and resulted in me stalling in the middle of traffic lights and writing my car off! This was the same day I just got it back from being 'fixed'! Should have realised something was wrong when I picked my car up and the seatbelt fell off as soon as I sat down!!? If AAMI allowed 3 quotes from our choice of panel beater instead of giving the car to the 'lowest bidder' they would receive 10/10, unfortunately I only give 5/10 for this reason!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Renee

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Mainly because of their customer service. You get to talk to a person in Australia.  Full review 

    Mainly because of their customer service. You get to talk to a person in Australia.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Pam from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive prices, great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    I got quotes from so many insurance companies, AAMI were by far the best for my needs. It was so easy to sign up.  Full review 

    I got quotes from so many insurance companies, AAMI were by far the best for my needs. It was so easy to sign up.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Vanessa from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service for renewals and claims

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I renewed my policy by phone this month and the AAMI operator looked up my details and said 'we can save you some money here'! And by a few small policy adjustments, she was able to save me a very substantial sum. The changes involved: - A rev...  Full review 

    I renewed my policy by phone this month and the AAMI operator looked up my details and said 'we can save you some money here'! And by a few small policy adjustments, she was able to save me a very substantial sum. The changes involved: - A review of the market value of the vehicle to a realistic current value. - Reducing the number of nominated drivers Simple things really, but things that should be flagged as cost savers to anyone renewing a policy!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Mike from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great discount when purchased on-line

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    We've only just taken out a new policy on our car once our lease expired. AAMI were very competitively priced and gave a $100 discount when completed on-line. We chose to increase the excess a little so as to save even more money.  Full review 

    We've only just taken out a new policy on our car once our lease expired. AAMI were very competitively priced and gave a $100 discount when completed on-line. We chose to increase the excess a little so as to save even more money.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Steven from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    They listen to your problems and are very, very helpful.  Full review 

    They listen to your problems and are very, very helpful.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Diana from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Would recommend

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Comparable prices. Long phone waits but good customer service.  Full review 

    Comparable prices. Long phone waits but good customer service.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Tamara

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Premiums OK. Service disgraceful.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    The claims processing procedure introduced by AAMI is appalling.  Full review 

    The claims processing procedure introduced by AAMI is appalling.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by William from New South Wales

    3 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Good value

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    AAMI were professional, competitive and prompt in all dealings regarding my claim.  Full review 

    AAMI were professional, competitive and prompt in all dealings regarding my claim.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Sandra from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Always recommend them when I get the chance

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    They've been really good with me. I had one claim and they treated me really well through the process. I didn't lose my rating. Later when I retired, they took into account my changed circumstances and my policy dropped much to my surprise, as...  Full review 

    They've been really good with me. I had one claim and they treated me really well through the process. I didn't lose my rating. Later when I retired, they took into account my changed circumstances and my policy dropped much to my surprise, as I hadn't considered that at all.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Heather from Victoria

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    They make everything easy and hassle free.  Full review 

    They make everything easy and hassle free.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Anne from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Very competitive and at a great price

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    AAMI insurance has always been the most competitive insurer plus their easy to use website is a huge bonus in my opinion. All round AAMI is simply very convenient.  Full review 

    AAMI insurance has always been the most competitive insurer plus their easy to use website is a huge bonus in my opinion. All round AAMI is simply very convenient.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Steve from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great premiums and excellent client relations

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    We have been with AAMI for many years now and have had all our family cars and then our business cars insured with the one firm. In return we have 70% NCB across the board and therefore have great discounts on our policy. More importantly when we...  Full review 

    We have been with AAMI for many years now and have had all our family cars and then our business cars insured with the one firm. In return we have 70% NCB across the board and therefore have great discounts on our policy. More importantly when we have had claims there has never been an issue - we simply drop the vehicles off, use the transport provided and then pick up the repaired vehicle. AAMI are always concerned that we are completely happy with the repairs. We have not had any accidents (including vandalism) for some time (touch wood); however as we have changed vehicles I have been surprised how the telephone staff take the trouble to check out the new vehicle against the old and on the last two occasions we have turned over vehicles we have actually received refund cheques. We get many offers to change but my attitude is that it is easy to be a hero when things are going well but most importantly to me is how I am treated when everything goes wrong. In this regard AAMI gets my vote.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Anthony from Australian Capital Territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Part of the Family

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    AAMI insurance has been part of my family for almost a decade. I highly recommend AAMI insurance because of the quick and efficient policy handling and the trust I have gained over the years with their immense friendliness and easy to talk to natu...  Full review 

    AAMI insurance has been part of my family for almost a decade. I highly recommend AAMI insurance because of the quick and efficient policy handling and the trust I have gained over the years with their immense friendliness and easy to talk to nature.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Josie from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Lucky you're with Aami

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Aami are great to insure with, they are friendly, upfront and do not have any hidden loop holes in their contracts that you have to worry about. Always have matched or beaten any price of another quote.  Full review 

    Aami are great to insure with, they are friendly, upfront and do not have any hidden loop holes in their contracts that you have to worry about. Always have matched or beaten any price of another quote.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Danielle from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service, easy processes

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I have made had several dealings with AAMI, both to sort claims through other peoples insurance and to make a claim, and all contact has been friendly and an easy process. AAMI take care of everything for you and there are no hidden surprises. The...  Full review 

    I have made had several dealings with AAMI, both to sort claims through other peoples insurance and to make a claim, and all contact has been friendly and an easy process. AAMI take care of everything for you and there are no hidden surprises. The premium is very competitively priced for the service and cover you are receiving.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Kaitlyn from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Best premiums and excess for what we wanted

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    Aami were so easy to deal and we have never had an issue with them. Lucky we're with Aami  Full review 

    Aami were so easy to deal and we have never had an issue with them. Lucky we're with Aami


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Scott from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • AAMI - easy as.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    It was quick, easy and very price competitive. AAMI offered the most for my money.  Full review 

    It was quick, easy and very price competitive. AAMI offered the most for my money.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Pam from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Reliable, broad range of cover, but expensive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I would recommend AAMI car insurance for their reliability, helpful friendly customer service and their broad range of cover. Although unlike Rhonda who can afford to get "Hot like a sunrise", I won't be saving so much that I will be sipping cockt...  Full review 

    I would recommend AAMI car insurance for their reliability, helpful friendly customer service and their broad range of cover. Although unlike Rhonda who can afford to get "Hot like a sunrise", I won't be saving so much that I will be sipping cocktails being served by Ketut any time soon unfortunately!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Sheree from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fair & competitive premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I've been with my car insurer for many years and I've never had a problem. I've only ever made one claim when another motorist backed into my car. The claim was handled efficiently and quickly.  Full review 

    I've been with my car insurer for many years and I've never had a problem. I've only ever made one claim when another motorist backed into my car. The claim was handled efficiently and quickly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Michael from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • All round met expectations

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    AAMI fantastic service, very prompt, reliable and consistent regardless of who contacts you. I have had cars & properties insured through this company and find what they say they will do, they actually do!  Full review 

    AAMI fantastic service, very prompt, reliable and consistent regardless of who contacts you. I have had cars & properties insured through this company and find what they say they will do, they actually do!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Jenny from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I have been with AAMI for many years and in that time I have made more than one unusual claim (thanks to other family members) and on each occasion I have been impressed with the way the claims have been handled. They explained what would happen a...  Full review 

    I have been with AAMI for many years and in that time I have made more than one unusual claim (thanks to other family members) and on each occasion I have been impressed with the way the claims have been handled. They explained what would happen and what I was required to provide and kept me updated. The customer service was excellent and the resolution was always better than I anticipated.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    AAMI car insurance reviewed by Ellen from Australian Capital Territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.