Car loan reviews

Read the latest car loan reviews from the Mozo community to get the inside story on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all car loans or check out our car loan guides

Write a review

Recent car loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Esanda

    Esanda car loan review

    Don't trust this lender

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 days ago)

    I purchased a new Ford Ranger Dual Cab from a dealership. I first approached the ANZ Bank who offered Esanda Finance and the Dealership also offered Esanda Finance and told me they would give me a good rate, so I went with the Dealership only for ...  Full review 

    I purchased a new Ford Ranger Dual Cab from a dealership. I first approached the ANZ Bank who offered Esanda Finance and the Dealership also offered Esanda Finance and told me they would give me a good rate, so I went with the Dealership only for convenience and it all was good until I wanted to pay it out. You must read the fine print. I took out a 60 month contract and after 24 months, and 8 months in advance with my payments, the payout was only $357 less than leaving the contract run full time for 60 Months. Esanda charge a $1,670.00 early settlement fee and told me I should have taken out a different type of interest loan but this is not explained when taking out the loan. I'm 63 and paid off many a car through many other lending companies and never had any issues like this. Be aware when taking out a loan through Esanda of the contract you are signing, don't trust anyone.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Esanda car loan reviewed by Paul from Queensland

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Toyota Finance

    Toyota Finance car loan review

    Fantastic customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 12 days ago)

    Toyota finance is an excellent provider for your car loan. Easy online account to keep track of your loan and payments. Always fantastic customer service. Downside is the fees for payment, e.g. $5 for a payment method.  Full review 

    Toyota finance is an excellent provider for your car loan. Easy online account to keep track of your loan and payments. Always fantastic customer service. Downside is the fees for payment, e.g. $5 for a payment method.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Toyota Finance car loan reviewed by Cassie from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB car loan review

    All great people

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 24 days ago)

    Nab made it easy to get, linked to online account so we could pay more when we wanted and this also saved us interest and they didn't penalise us for paying it off early.  Full review 

    Nab made it easy to get, linked to online account so we could pay more when we wanted and this also saved us interest and they didn't penalise us for paying it off early.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB car loan reviewed by Karen from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Liberty

    Liberty car loan review

    The worst finance company in Australia.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 26 days ago)

    We applied for finance with Liberty financial with good credit ratings and were dragged along for a solid week of email and phone banter that lead nowhere. Resending documents three-four times each, rudely spoken to, then they began asking for per...  Full review 

    We applied for finance with Liberty financial with good credit ratings and were dragged along for a solid week of email and phone banter that lead nowhere. Resending documents three-four times each, rudely spoken to, then they began asking for personal information that had nothing to do with the financial side of the loan. I was actually concerned at one point I had fallen for a identity theft scam due to the nature of the irrelevant personal information they were seeking. If anyone is even toying with the thought of going through Liberty for finance please please do yourself a favour and stay away!!! They are a horrible company.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Liberty car loan reviewed by Unhappy customer

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Hunter United Credit Union

    Hunter United Credit Union car loan review

    Friendly and helpful

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 28 days ago)

    Have been a customer since 1975. I have never had a single thing to complain about, staff invariably helpful and friendly.  Full review 

    Have been a customer since 1975. I have never had a single thing to complain about, staff invariably helpful and friendly.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Hunter United Credit Union car loan reviewed by Brian from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Adelaide Bank

    Adelaide Bank car loan review

    Great rates, better than nearly all big banks

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Great rates, customer service is OK, they don't offer you extra cards loans etc but they probably should call to offer or suggest better rates or accounts.  Full review 

    Great rates, customer service is OK, they don't offer you extra cards loans etc but they probably should call to offer or suggest better rates or accounts.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Adelaide Bank car loan reviewed by Athena

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Macquarie Credit Union

    Macquarie Credit Union car loan review

    Easy access to great products

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    I was very impressed with how simple the application process was. They provide fantastic after-sales support and customer service.  Full review 

    I was very impressed with how simple the application process was. They provide fantastic after-sales support and customer service.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Macquarie Credit Union car loan reviewed by Kristy from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George car loan review

    Average service and convenient process

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Processed everything through car dealership, never met bank personnel in person, only communication through post. There are more competitive rates out in the market but it is convenient as it is all managed at the car dealership. No additional tra...  Full review 

    Processed everything through car dealership, never met bank personnel in person, only communication through post. There are more competitive rates out in the market but it is convenient as it is all managed at the car dealership. No additional travel needed.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George car loan reviewed by Hui from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Best bank 2014

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    I've had many lines of credit, with many financial institutions, but by far ANZ is the best. Reliable, comparative rates. But most of all the customer service shines through at the highest quality. Short wait times and talking to professionals who...  Full review 

    I've had many lines of credit, with many financial institutions, but by far ANZ is the best. Reliable, comparative rates. But most of all the customer service shines through at the highest quality. Short wait times and talking to professionals who aid me and not just take my money.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Suzanne

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Electricity Credit Union

    Electricity Credit Union car loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Used ECU for over 15 years and absolutely brilliant.  Full review 

    Used ECU for over 15 years and absolutely brilliant.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Electricity Credit Union car loan reviewed by Peter from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Absolutely nothing could have been done better!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Very professional bank, manager was polite friendly, and very caring towards my needs.  Full review 

    Very professional bank, manager was polite friendly, and very caring towards my needs.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Will

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Would recommend to anyone

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Myself and my husband have had no trouble with this bank with our car loan. We do like how they give a yearly statement on how much you have paid off the loan and also how much interest has also been paid.  Full review 

    Myself and my husband have had no trouble with this bank with our car loan. We do like how they give a yearly statement on how much you have paid off the loan and also how much interest has also been paid.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Lynette from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Defence Bank

    Defence Bank car loan review

    Excellent customer service, loan explained to me

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Excellent all round. Service exceptional and had the cheque for the car very quickly. Only drawback is the branch near me is on a RAAF base, which is OK for me because I have access to the base but may make it difficult for 'normal' people. Howeve...  Full review 

    Excellent all round. Service exceptional and had the cheque for the car very quickly. Only drawback is the branch near me is on a RAAF base, which is OK for me because I have access to the base but may make it difficult for 'normal' people. However, the cash card provided works in all ATM's that I have tried using it on.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Defence Bank car loan reviewed by Debra from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George car loan review

    Do not reccomend

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    They don't listen to clients and are unsympathetic to the struggles of everyday people.  Full review 

    They don't listen to clients and are unsympathetic to the struggles of everyday people.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George car loan reviewed by Justin from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland car loan review

    Rivals loan sharking

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Going into 7 years to pay off a $30,000 car loan, yes folks I am paying back $14600 in interest charges. It is disgusting. I wish I did my homework better but I just trusted them, what a mistake.  Full review 

    Going into 7 years to pay off a $30,000 car loan, yes folks I am paying back $14600 in interest charges. It is disgusting. I wish I did my homework better but I just trusted them, what a mistake.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland car loan reviewed by Roly from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Illawarra Credit Union

    Illawarra Credit Union car loan review

    A+ customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    The Illawarra credit union have fabulous staff, they are so easy to speak with and don't have long waiting periods whenever you call them. My loan was such an easy process and I had a staff member that was available to answer my questions and quer...  Full review 

    The Illawarra credit union have fabulous staff, they are so easy to speak with and don't have long waiting periods whenever you call them. My loan was such an easy process and I had a staff member that was available to answer my questions and queries almost instantly.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Illawarra Credit Union car loan reviewed by Jessica from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank car loan review

    Trustworthy/accessible but expect high rates/fees

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    I went with the Commonwealth Bank as it is convenient to me as they are my main financial institution. The fees are quite high in comparison to some of the credit unions and building societies that I researched and I actually got approved for a lo...  Full review 

    I went with the Commonwealth Bank as it is convenient to me as they are my main financial institution. The fees are quite high in comparison to some of the credit unions and building societies that I researched and I actually got approved for a loan at a building society (IMB) but unfortunately their closest branch was only open during business hours and inconvenient for me to get to during work hours but the rate and conditions of the loan were great! Commonwealth Bank have the pros of being easily accessible with their many branches and their online banking system, especially as I am an existing customer so I was able to apply online easily and get approval next day and just duck into the branch to sign some paperwork. The cons would be the higher rate I am paying over the term of the loan, the monthly "account keeping" fee and initial set up fee which are ridiculous because it was mostly done online and I just needed to sign some standard papers in the branch and also that I can't pay it out early without incurring fees.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank car loan reviewed by Katie from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George car loan review

    Thank you

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Gave me an opportunity for a loan after bankruptcy.  Full review 

    Gave me an opportunity for a loan after bankruptcy.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George car loan reviewed by Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • People's Choice Credit Union

    People's Choice Credit Union car loan review

    Best start up bank for the youth of Australia.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    They have no fees till over 25 years of age. A very low interest rate even with it being my first loan. They help with every step of transferring my loan an made life very easy.  Full review 

    They have no fees till over 25 years of age. A very low interest rate even with it being my first loan. They help with every step of transferring my loan an made life very easy.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    People's Choice Credit Union car loan reviewed by Tysan

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Awesome

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    ANZ is good, very good pricing but could work on contacting people letting them know if payments are overdue as I had that problem before.  Full review 

    ANZ is good, very good pricing but could work on contacting people letting them know if payments are overdue as I had that problem before.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Belinda

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RAC

    RAC car loan review

    Good rates, easy application, quick approval

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Rates are good if you are a member. No monthly fees, can put more money into loan. Easy to apply and get approval.  Full review 

    Rates are good if you are a member. No monthly fees, can put more money into loan. Easy to apply and get approval.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    RAC car loan reviewed by Una

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank car loan review

    Bendigo Bank is the best

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Everyone knows me at the bank, they are friendly and helpful and we always have fun and laugh a lot. They are open more than some other banks, they are not that far from me and parking isn't a problem.  Full review 

    Everyone knows me at the bank, they are friendly and helpful and we always have fun and laugh a lot. They are open more than some other banks, they are not that far from me and parking isn't a problem.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank car loan reviewed by Helen

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank car loan review

    Service with a smile

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Everyone's on a first name basis and the staff make you feel like a person not a number.  Full review 

    Everyone's on a first name basis and the staff make you feel like a person not a number.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank car loan reviewed by Vivian schrader

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Queensland Country Credit Union

    Queensland Country Credit Union car loan review

    Awesome

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    They always make me feel special when I go in to see them about something special or trivial and they are always patient and understanding.  Full review 

    They always make me feel special when I go in to see them about something special or trivial and they are always patient and understanding.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Queensland Country Credit Union car loan reviewed by Karen from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RAC

    RAC car loan review

    Time consuming, poor customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    I had to call them twice as the first call was disconnected when the RAC lady tried to play a recording. She never called me back. When I called the second time after 30 minutes I had to go through the same process which took 30-45 minutes. Then h...  Full review 

    I had to call them twice as the first call was disconnected when the RAC lady tried to play a recording. She never called me back. When I called the second time after 30 minutes I had to go through the same process which took 30-45 minutes. Then he said I will get another call from Finance. However, luckily I managed to get a loan from Bankwest. I am fedup with RAC insurance and thinking of switching.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    RAC car loan reviewed by Ti from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of car loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed car loans

  • 10.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    QANTAS Credit Union car loans

    Overall rating: 10.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 26 August 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    QANTAS Credit Union car loans
  • 9.1
    based on
    11 reviews

    People's Choice Credit Union car loans

    Overall rating: 9.1 (11 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    People's Choice Credit Union car loans
  • 9.0
    based on
    2 reviews

    IMB car loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (2 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 14 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    IMB car loans
  • 8.3
    based on
    3 reviews

    CUA car loans

    Overall rating: 8.3 (3 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 29 October 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    CUA car loans
  • 8.3
    based on
    9 reviews

    Bankwest car loans

    Overall rating: 8.3 (9 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 17 October 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Bankwest car loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.