Car loan reviews

Read the latest car loan reviews from the Mozo community to get the inside story on everything from the cheapest loans to the best customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all car loans or check out our car loan guides

Write a review

Recent car loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • St.George

    St.George car loan review

    Average service and convenient process

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Processed everything through car dealership, never met bank personnel in person, only communication through post. There are more competitive rates out in the market but it is convenient as it is all managed at the car dealership. No additional tra...  Full review 

    Processed everything through car dealership, never met bank personnel in person, only communication through post. There are more competitive rates out in the market but it is convenient as it is all managed at the car dealership. No additional travel needed.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George car loan reviewed by Hui from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Best bank 2014

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I've had many lines of credit, with many financial institutions, but by far ANZ is the best. Reliable, comparative rates. But most of all the customer service shines through at the highest quality. Short wait times and talking to professionals who...  Full review 

    I've had many lines of credit, with many financial institutions, but by far ANZ is the best. Reliable, comparative rates. But most of all the customer service shines through at the highest quality. Short wait times and talking to professionals who aid me and not just take my money.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Suzanne

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Electricity Credit Union

    Electricity Credit Union car loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 days ago)

    Used ECU for over 15 years and absolutely brilliant.  Full review 

    Used ECU for over 15 years and absolutely brilliant.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Electricity Credit Union car loan reviewed by Peter from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Absolutely nothing could have been done better!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 days ago)

    Very professional bank, manager was polite friendly, and very caring towards my needs.  Full review 

    Very professional bank, manager was polite friendly, and very caring towards my needs.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Will

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Would recommend to anyone

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    Myself and my husband have had no trouble with this bank with our car loan. We do like how they give a yearly statement on how much you have paid off the loan and also how much interest has also been paid.  Full review 

    Myself and my husband have had no trouble with this bank with our car loan. We do like how they give a yearly statement on how much you have paid off the loan and also how much interest has also been paid.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Lynette from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Defence Bank

    Defence Bank car loan review

    Excellent customer service, loan explained to me

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    Excellent all round. Service exceptional and had the cheque for the car very quickly. Only drawback is the branch near me is on a RAAF base, which is OK for me because I have access to the base but may make it difficult for 'normal' people. Howeve...  Full review 

    Excellent all round. Service exceptional and had the cheque for the car very quickly. Only drawback is the branch near me is on a RAAF base, which is OK for me because I have access to the base but may make it difficult for 'normal' people. However, the cash card provided works in all ATM's that I have tried using it on.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Defence Bank car loan reviewed by Debra from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George car loan review

    Do not reccomend

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    They don't listen to clients and are unsympathetic to the struggles of everyday people.  Full review 

    They don't listen to clients and are unsympathetic to the struggles of everyday people.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George car loan reviewed by Justin from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland car loan review

    Rivals loan sharking

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Going into 7 years to pay off a $30,000 car loan, yes folks I am paying back $14600 in interest charges. It is disgusting. I wish I did my homework better but I just trusted them, what a mistake.  Full review 

    Going into 7 years to pay off a $30,000 car loan, yes folks I am paying back $14600 in interest charges. It is disgusting. I wish I did my homework better but I just trusted them, what a mistake.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland car loan reviewed by Roly from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Illawarra Credit Union

    Illawarra Credit Union car loan review

    A+ customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    The Illawarra credit union have fabulous staff, they are so easy to speak with and don't have long waiting periods whenever you call them. My loan was such an easy process and I had a staff member that was available to answer my questions and quer...  Full review 

    The Illawarra credit union have fabulous staff, they are so easy to speak with and don't have long waiting periods whenever you call them. My loan was such an easy process and I had a staff member that was available to answer my questions and queries almost instantly.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Illawarra Credit Union car loan reviewed by Jessica from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank car loan review

    Trustworthy/accessible but expect high rates/fees

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    I went with the Commonwealth Bank as it is convenient to me as they are my main financial institution. The fees are quite high in comparison to some of the credit unions and building societies that I researched and I actually got approved for a lo...  Full review 

    I went with the Commonwealth Bank as it is convenient to me as they are my main financial institution. The fees are quite high in comparison to some of the credit unions and building societies that I researched and I actually got approved for a loan at a building society (IMB) but unfortunately their closest branch was only open during business hours and inconvenient for me to get to during work hours but the rate and conditions of the loan were great! Commonwealth Bank have the pros of being easily accessible with their many branches and their online banking system, especially as I am an existing customer so I was able to apply online easily and get approval next day and just duck into the branch to sign some paperwork. The cons would be the higher rate I am paying over the term of the loan, the monthly "account keeping" fee and initial set up fee which are ridiculous because it was mostly done online and I just needed to sign some standard papers in the branch and also that I can't pay it out early without incurring fees.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank car loan reviewed by Katie from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George car loan review

    Thank you

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Gave me an opportunity for a loan after bankruptcy.  Full review 

    Gave me an opportunity for a loan after bankruptcy.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George car loan reviewed by Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • People's Choice Credit Union

    People's Choice Credit Union car loan review

    Best start up bank for the youth of Australia.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    They have no fees till over 25 years of age. A very low interest rate even with it being my first loan. They help with every step of transferring my loan an made life very easy.  Full review 

    They have no fees till over 25 years of age. A very low interest rate even with it being my first loan. They help with every step of transferring my loan an made life very easy.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    People's Choice Credit Union car loan reviewed by Tysan

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ car loan review

    Awesome

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    ANZ is good, very good pricing but could work on contacting people letting them know if payments are overdue as I had that problem before.  Full review 

    ANZ is good, very good pricing but could work on contacting people letting them know if payments are overdue as I had that problem before.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ car loan reviewed by Belinda

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RAC

    RAC car loan review

    Good rates, easy application, quick approval

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Rates are good if you are a member. No monthly fees, can put more money into loan. Easy to apply and get approval.  Full review 

    Rates are good if you are a member. No monthly fees, can put more money into loan. Easy to apply and get approval.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    RAC car loan reviewed by Una

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank car loan review

    Bendigo Bank is the best

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Everyone knows me at the bank, they are friendly and helpful and we always have fun and laugh a lot. They are open more than some other banks, they are not that far from me and parking isn't a problem.  Full review 

    Everyone knows me at the bank, they are friendly and helpful and we always have fun and laugh a lot. They are open more than some other banks, they are not that far from me and parking isn't a problem.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank car loan reviewed by Helen

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank car loan review

    Service with a smile

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Everyone's on a first name basis and the staff make you feel like a person not a number.  Full review 

    Everyone's on a first name basis and the staff make you feel like a person not a number.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank car loan reviewed by Vivian schrader

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Queensland Country Credit Union

    Queensland Country Credit Union car loan review

    Awesome

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 14 days ago)

    They always make me feel special when I go in to see them about something special or trivial and they are always patient and understanding.  Full review 

    They always make me feel special when I go in to see them about something special or trivial and they are always patient and understanding.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Queensland Country Credit Union car loan reviewed by Karen from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RAC

    RAC car loan review

    Time consuming, poor customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 15 days ago)

    I had to call them twice as the first call was disconnected when the RAC lady tried to play a recording. She never called me back. When I called the second time after 30 minutes I had to go through the same process which took 30-45 minutes. Then h...  Full review 

    I had to call them twice as the first call was disconnected when the RAC lady tried to play a recording. She never called me back. When I called the second time after 30 minutes I had to go through the same process which took 30-45 minutes. Then he said I will get another call from Finance. However, luckily I managed to get a loan from Bankwest. I am fedup with RAC insurance and thinking of switching.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    RAC car loan reviewed by Ti from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • People's Choice Credit Union

    People's Choice Credit Union car loan review

    Flexible and obliging.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 17 days ago)

    They were the only Bank to give me a car loan. The major Banks all refused to give me a loan because I was not in permanent employment. At 70 that is near impossible. I had more than enough collateral to cover the repayments on the $11,000 loan.  Full review 

    They were the only Bank to give me a car loan. The major Banks all refused to give me a loan because I was not in permanent employment. At 70 that is near impossible. I had more than enough collateral to cover the repayments on the $11,000 loan.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    People's Choice Credit Union car loan reviewed by David from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Liberty

    Liberty car loan review

    Liberty are flexible

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 19 days ago)

    Liberty financial have been flexible and accommodating to my needs . When I lost my job they were very understanding and assisted me with lower payments until I was back on my feet financially, it really made life easier .  Full review 

    Liberty financial have been flexible and accommodating to my needs . When I lost my job they were very understanding and assisted me with lower payments until I was back on my feet financially, it really made life easier .


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Liberty car loan reviewed by Tracey

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • People's Choice Credit Union

    People car loan review

    Awosome customer care, outstanding people's skills

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 22 days ago)

    Very competitive car loan was much cheaper than Bendigo Bank. The people in People's Choice are very friendly and customer attention is exceeding our expectations. Will choose them for our home loan.  Full review 

    Very competitive car loan was much cheaper than Bendigo Bank. The people in People's Choice are very friendly and customer attention is exceeding our expectations. Will choose them for our home loan.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    People's Choice Credit Union car loan reviewed by Kimberly

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George car loan review

    A loan that I trust

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Very easy to sign up to and customer service has been great when I have questions or issues. My only concern is that I had to go out of my way to get monthly summaries sent to me; they should automatically take a postal address or email address so...  Full review 

    Very easy to sign up to and customer service has been great when I have questions or issues. My only concern is that I had to go out of my way to get monthly summaries sent to me; they should automatically take a postal address or email address so that I can keep updated.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George car loan reviewed by Kerry

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Ford Credit

    Ford Credit car loan review

    Competitive, average customer service, rude

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Ford Finance made it very easy to achieve the loan we desired however the finance itself is run through Macquarie Bank and we have found them to be quite unhelpful, rude and a general lack of customer service. We probably wouldn't recommend to our...  Full review 

    Ford Finance made it very easy to achieve the loan we desired however the finance itself is run through Macquarie Bank and we have found them to be quite unhelpful, rude and a general lack of customer service. We probably wouldn't recommend to our friends but with car loans I supppose it's always the lesser of the evils that wins.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Ford Credit car loan reviewed by Loretta from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank car loan review

    Very happy !

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Commonwealth has some pretty good deals, the repayments are affordable each week & now got a brand new car with their help :)  Full review 

    Commonwealth has some pretty good deals, the repayments are affordable each week & now got a brand new car with their help :)


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank car loan reviewed by Jade

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Esanda

    Esanda car loan review

    Opportunistic Car Loan Company

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Very opportunistic company. I was new to the country, and because of being new and no credit record history they charge me 17% of my car loan. I will never get a loan with Esanda again, EVER!  Full review 

    Very opportunistic company. I was new to the country, and because of being new and no credit record history they charge me 17% of my car loan. I will never get a loan with Esanda again, EVER!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Esanda car loan reviewed by Jay

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of car loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed car loans

  • 9.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    IMB car loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 14 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    IMB car loans
  • 8.9
    based on
    9 reviews

    Bankwest car loans

    Overall rating: 8.9 (9 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 17 October 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Bankwest car loans
  • 8.4
    based on
    11 reviews

    NAB car loans

    Overall rating: 8.4 (11 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 31 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    NAB car loans
  • 8.1
    based on
    12 reviews

    People's Choice Credit Union car loans

    Overall rating: 8.1 (12 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    People's Choice Credit Union car loans
  • 7.5
    based on
    2 reviews

    Bank of Melbourne car loans

    Overall rating: 7.5 (2 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 20 April 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Bank of Melbourne car loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.