Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

We'd love to hear from you

Write a review

Search reviews by

Search

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

NAB

NAB debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates & good customer service

Easy to read statements, choice to convert to electronic statements if you want. Nice options and rewards, competitive rates.
Full review

Easy to read statements, choice to convert to electronic statements if you want. Nice options and rewards, competitive rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gui (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Don't use

Used to be a very good bank. I was so happy with their services that I used to be an advocate for them but now, I do not advise any one to use them. I'm also changing from this bank to Westpac which my hubby uses without a problem. Not only is my...
Full review

Used to be a very good bank. I was so happy with their services that I used to be an advocate for them but now, I do not advise any one to use them. I'm also changing from this bank to Westpac which my hubby uses without a problem. Not only is my account frequently and so easily hacked, the customer service agents are as rude as it gets and mostly unhelpful to taking more than 2 weeks to send a simple debit Mastercard and as if that is not enough, they ruin my weekend and birthday by delaying my bank transfers unnecessarily. Appalling really.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Tutu (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, free debit card account

Fee free debit card account, great customer service.
Full review

Fee free debit card account, great customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennine (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Low fees

Pretty standard debit card but not many fees to pay.
Full review

Pretty standard debit card but not many fees to pay.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Giles (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Business One - Low Plan debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Trustworthy/ No need to switch banks...

Full confidence when needing business support on short notice...much appreciated in the past.
Full review

Full confidence when needing business support on short notice...much appreciated in the past.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Donna (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fingers crossed we made right choice.

I do like Anz bank. We had a problem in the past where my husband's wallet was stolen from work, we called them and gave them a note from police and to help they gave us a temporary overdraft until we were paid again.
Full review

I do like Anz bank. We had a problem in the past where my husband's wallet was stolen from work, we called them and gave them a note from police and to help they gave us a temporary overdraft until we were paid again.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Eveline (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Complete Freedom Account debit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

All banks are the same

All banks are the same!
Full review

All banks are the same!

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Linda (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service.

Good customer service. Good products. Smart tellers are great.
Full review

Good customer service. Good products. Smart tellers are great.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ debit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not Competitive.

They don't pay interest on credit balances.
Full review

They don't pay interest on credit balances.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Complete Freedom Student Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive interest and great customer service

A good fee free account, offered by St. George.
Full review

A good fee free account, offered by St. George.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rod (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

An above average provider of services.

Initially, the bank did not explain the charges on my debit card.
Full review

Initially, the bank did not explain the charges on my debit card.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ian (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Everyday Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great trustworthy employees

This was the bank I was first put in to and it has been trustworthy ever since. I see no reason to leave a great bank.
Full review

This was the bank I was first put in to and it has been trustworthy ever since. I see no reason to leave a great bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dean (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice Student debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great timing when it comes to orders

Cons, hard to find customer service number. Pros, when I lose my card, it comes in mail quick.
Full review

Cons, hard to find customer service number. Pros, when I lose my card, it comes in mail quick.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Naimi (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Work to be done

High fees and ATM is always broken or has no money.
Full review

High fees and ATM is always broken or has no money.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kristy (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Would recommend

Great bank, would recommend.
Full review

Great bank, would recommend.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Maria (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Complete Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Even when my account was hacked, they were kind and understanding and fixed it up right away so that I lost no money.
Full review

Even when my account was hacked, they were kind and understanding and fixed it up right away so that I lost no money.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chantelle (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Strong customer service is the defining point

With strong customer service and solid reputation, the pros and cons of any debit card account are relative. This is what keeps me with Westpac. All Debit card providers will offer similar incentives to persuade the customer and sway them toward...
Full review

With strong customer service and solid reputation, the pros and cons of any debit card account are relative. This is what keeps me with Westpac. All Debit card providers will offer similar incentives to persuade the customer and sway them toward their respective companies. Strong customer service at all levels, in store, on line, or over phone is the defining difference when choosing who will provide the service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

John (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always great service

Brilliant work.
Full review

Brilliant work.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Zane (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Ease of use, no problems, intelligent staff

The best bank I have dealt with.
Full review

The best bank I have dealt with.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kelvin (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Oaklands staff are fantastic people none better

Applied for an overdraft between $5k and $10k for 6 months. When information was inputted into the computer, I was advised that I was not a viable risk being on a disability pension by the legal department, even though I already have a loan with...
Full review

Applied for an overdraft between $5k and $10k for 6 months. When information was inputted into the computer, I was advised that I was not a viable risk being on a disability pension by the legal department, even though I already have a loan with People's Choice which payments come out on a fortnightly basis. I unfortunately had to access my super which I didn't really want to do. SO when my payouts for 2 motor vehicle accidents come due, one in 4 months and the other in 12 months, I will be looking for another financial institution or going back to either National Bank or Police Credit Union.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Monica (SA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best service

Love ANZ, very helpful.
Full review

Love ANZ, very helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Annette (NSW), reviewed 12 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and reliable

Great customer service and very reliable.
Full review

Great customer service and very reliable.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joanne (QLD), reviewed 12 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access debit card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great bank to join

Poor with the interests and fees but good service.
Full review

Poor with the interests and fees but good service.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Joshua (TAS), reviewed 12 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Ultimate Everyday Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I can't complain

Cheap handy and does the job as they are supposed to.
Full review

Cheap handy and does the job as they are supposed to.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

J (QLD), reviewed 12 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome, highly recommend

Can't complain.
Full review

Can't complain.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Fiona (VIC), reviewed 14 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Debit card comparisons on MozoRates updated daily

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Visa Debit Card
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    HSBC, Westpac, St George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site
    • Visa Debit Card
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.01%pa.
      Balances from $500,000: 0.50%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.4

    Based on 20 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    None

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site
    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.3

    Based on 108 ING DIRECT debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone, online banking or our highly rated mobile app

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac

    what kind of card

    Debit MasterCard

    Go to site
    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone, online banking or our highly rated mobile app
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 178 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account

    Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account

    • No monthly account keeping fees, with no minimum monthly deposit required
    • Free access to over 3,000 rediATMs nationwide
    • Visa Debit card access with Visa payWave

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    BoQ, rediATM

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site
    • No monthly account keeping fees, with no minimum monthly deposit required
    • Free access to over 3,000 rediATMs nationwide
    • Visa Debit card access with Visa payWave
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa Debit
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 133 Bank of Queensland debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • 24/7 worldwide protection with ANZ Falcon fraud monitoring

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    ANZ

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site
    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month, or if you meet other eligibility criteria
    • Use your own money online, over the phone and overseas with Visa Debit access
    • 24/7 worldwide protection with ANZ Falcon fraud monitoring
    Product info
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01%pa.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02%pa
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 929 ANZ debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank or insurer for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

 

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.