Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all debit cards or check out our debit card guides

Write a review

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • NAB

    NAB debit card review

    Excellent bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Excellent bank, low interest rate, easy access to mobile/phone banking and ATMs, no dishonour or bank fees ever.  Full review 

    Excellent bank, low interest rate, easy access to mobile/phone banking and ATMs, no dishonour or bank fees ever.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB debit card reviewed by Krystal

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Ease of access

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Pros: Lots of locations, good customer service, offer a full range of services Cons: always trying to upsell when in the branch, don't offer as much as other debit cards like ING and Citi.  Full review 

    Pros: Lots of locations, good customer service, offer a full range of services Cons: always trying to upsell when in the branch, don't offer as much as other debit cards like ING and Citi.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Raj from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac debit card review

    Debit card, pay pass instantly

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I love having a debit card with Westpac, because whenever I use Paypass the money is taken out of your account in real time, unlike other banks that can take up to 7 days, makes it a lot easier to keep track of shopping!  Full review 

    I love having a debit card with Westpac, because whenever I use Paypass the money is taken out of your account in real time, unlike other banks that can take up to 7 days, makes it a lot easier to keep track of shopping!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac debit card reviewed by Loren from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • People's Choice Credit Union

    People's Choice Credit Union debit card review

    Free coffee, great service, everything essential!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Peoples Choice Credit Union is a pretty solid choice for a bank. The customer service is second to none, the staff there really care about your personal needs, and it is run for the people by the people so you know that they aren't there just for ...  Full review 

    Peoples Choice Credit Union is a pretty solid choice for a bank. The customer service is second to none, the staff there really care about your personal needs, and it is run for the people by the people so you know that they aren't there just for profit margins. While the interest rates aren't as good as some places, I would recommend People's Choice to any of my friends!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    People's Choice Credit Union debit card reviewed by Alex from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • CUA

    CUA debit card review

    Breezy banking

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    CUA has been my debit card provider for 5 years, the customer service is wonderful. They just take care of me and I don't have to second guess on anything, they keep me up to date on my balance and send me an email when I spend over $200, checking...  Full review 

    CUA has been my debit card provider for 5 years, the customer service is wonderful. They just take care of me and I don't have to second guess on anything, they keep me up to date on my balance and send me an email when I spend over $200, checking that it was withdrawn by by me. Easy to get through on the phone, I don't have to wait , as found with other banks. I love it!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    CUA debit card reviewed by Dale from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Heritage Bank

    Heritage Bank debit card review

    Heritage, the only way to keep your money!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I've been a client of almost every bank. I found them very frustrating when I needed to talk to them on the phone about my cards & online shopping if something went wrong. My daughter told me to join Heritage. And I would never consider any other ...  Full review 

    I've been a client of almost every bank. I found them very frustrating when I needed to talk to them on the phone about my cards & online shopping if something went wrong. My daughter told me to join Heritage. And I would never consider any other bank or building society. As I'm on a disability pension, the account I opened is very easy to manage & comes with NO Fees. So I don't ever have to worry that I'm paying fees when I use my debit card. The staff are very well trained to help you understand everything you want to know. Before I joined Heritage, I was going to join Bendigo, but they wanted a $4.00 per month fee just for a Debit Card & even if I bought nothing online or in a transaction, I would still have to pay the $4.00 fee. I'm very happy with Heritage as I get up to 13 Free EFTPOS transactions before I pay a fee. And if I use Credit, I don't pay any fee. I would & do recommend Heritage. It's for the low income earners like me too.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Heritage Bank debit card reviewed by Angie

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank debit card review

    Could be better

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Coming back from living in the UK where there is lots of competition, Bendigo Bank's excess transaction fees and monthly fees are too much.  Full review 

    Coming back from living in the UK where there is lots of competition, Bendigo Bank's excess transaction fees and monthly fees are too much.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank debit card reviewed by Steven from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    One huge error but overall quite good

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I was going overseas and had a Visa card and Mastercard. I decided to cancel my Visa card before I travelled as I never used it and always and frequently used my Mastercard. I did advise the bank that I would be overseas. Two weeks into my holiday...  Full review 

    I was going overseas and had a Visa card and Mastercard. I decided to cancel my Visa card before I travelled as I never used it and always and frequently used my Mastercard. I did advise the bank that I would be overseas. Two weeks into my holiday I found that my Mastercard had been cancelled instead of my Visa. It was extremely embarrassing to have my card cut up in front of a shop full of people! As I had limited alternate funds, I had to borrow money from my travelling companion to finish my holiday. On my return, no-one in the bank would take responsibility for the error, just shrugged and said basically "Stuff happens". I have moved since then and I still have a Mastercard and other accounts with this bank because on the whole I am happy with them and you can't blame the whole organisation on the incompetence of the staff in one branch.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Avril from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Best customer service ever

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I changed banks 12 months ago and could not be happier. They are located in my shopping centre, have 2 ATMs 1 minute apart and the best staff ever.  Full review 

    I changed banks 12 months ago and could not be happier. They are located in my shopping centre, have 2 ATMs 1 minute apart and the best staff ever.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Susan from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac debit card review

    Gives me time to worry about important things

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Excellent service. It's easy, safe and hassle free.  Full review 

    Excellent service. It's easy, safe and hassle free.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac debit card reviewed by Natasha

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank debit card review

    Excellent customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    I will recommend Bendigo bank to everyone. Their staff are always friendly and helpful.  Full review 

    I will recommend Bendigo bank to everyone. Their staff are always friendly and helpful.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank debit card reviewed by Craig

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Satisfactory

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    The international transaction fees on the ATM are too high.  Full review 

    The international transaction fees on the ATM are too high.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Ifeoma from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ debit card review

    Excellent customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    The pros are that ANZ provide excellent customer service and when I have an issue about internet banking or understanding the concept of rewards programs etc, they will help me and make sure I am 100% satisfied. The con(s) is that when I get p...  Full review 

    The pros are that ANZ provide excellent customer service and when I have an issue about internet banking or understanding the concept of rewards programs etc, they will help me and make sure I am 100% satisfied. The con(s) is that when I get paid for work, it is always delayed. For example: I get paid on a Monday but it won't come in until Wednesday morning. But mind you, I need the money on Monday and Tuesday to cover my transport expenses etc (say I get paid $500. It will say on my account I have $500 but on my available balance it says 0.)


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ debit card reviewed by Lauoi from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Very impressed

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    I love my bank with all of its features including Paypass and Tap and Pay. Not to mention the cardless cash facility which I have already used in an emergency situation when I lost my wallet! Commonwealth really do put a new meaning to the word ...  Full review 

    I love my bank with all of its features including Paypass and Tap and Pay. Not to mention the cardless cash facility which I have already used in an emergency situation when I lost my wallet! Commonwealth really do put a new meaning to the word "convenience".


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Louise

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Not recommended

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    The Commonwealth Bank has great customer service and that's about as far as providing a good service goes. As for the monthly bank fees and the unnecessary charge on not using a Commonwealth Bank ATM, can be a bit much on top of the monthly fees. ...  Full review 

    The Commonwealth Bank has great customer service and that's about as far as providing a good service goes. As for the monthly bank fees and the unnecessary charge on not using a Commonwealth Bank ATM, can be a bit much on top of the monthly fees. I've heard plenty of good things about NAB though so I am considering opening an account with them.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Kerrod

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Greater Building Society

    Greater Building Society debit card review

    Very competitive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    Friendly customer service. Clearly explained changes and requirements. Branches in most major shopping centres and are conveniently located.  Full review 

    Friendly customer service. Clearly explained changes and requirements. Branches in most major shopping centres and are conveniently located.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Greater Building Society debit card reviewed by Daisy from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank debit card review

    An excellent bank for battlers

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    I find the staff a Bendigo Bank in QLD extremely helpful and always willing to help with any problem. I would not hesitate to recommend this bank to any and all.  Full review 

    I find the staff a Bendigo Bank in QLD extremely helpful and always willing to help with any problem. I would not hesitate to recommend this bank to any and all.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank debit card reviewed by Craig

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Greater Building Society

    Greater Building Society debit card review

    Customer focused and customer owned

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    Great people, helpful, always looking for ways to improve to give you the best out of their services. Ultimate Account is great, fee free, free SMS notifications for balance and deposits. Free cheques. Gives you time to ensure your needs are met. ...  Full review 

    Great people, helpful, always looking for ways to improve to give you the best out of their services. Ultimate Account is great, fee free, free SMS notifications for balance and deposits. Free cheques. Gives you time to ensure your needs are met. Offers loads of services. You can call the branch direct, phone the manager directly.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Greater Building Society debit card reviewed by Kylie from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Citibank

    Citibank debit card review

    Do not use!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    Do not get the Citibank travel debit card. The website and phone app do not match with login details and the customer service is not helpful. They cannot provide you any details. Do not use! Only problems with this card in the USA, Canada and Sout...  Full review 

    Do not get the Citibank travel debit card. The website and phone app do not match with login details and the customer service is not helpful. They cannot provide you any details. Do not use! Only problems with this card in the USA, Canada and South America.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Citibank debit card reviewed by Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB debit card review

    What a difference you've made

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    6 years ago, I switched from my local credit union to NAB and found that I saved on fees. Also the customer care was heaps better, especially for a small town. Also when I travelled out of state, their help was just like being at your local bank.  Full review 

    6 years ago, I switched from my local credit union to NAB and found that I saved on fees. Also the customer care was heaps better, especially for a small town. Also when I travelled out of state, their help was just like being at your local bank.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB debit card reviewed by Bridget

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Great customer service but...

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    I don't like the interest that is charged when your account goes into debit because of a direct debit, even though there is money there waiting to be cleared.  Full review 

    I don't like the interest that is charged when your account goes into debit because of a direct debit, even though there is money there waiting to be cleared.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Justine from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB debit card review

    Outstanding service!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    My local NAB branch always is a 100% on customer service. NAB makes sure I'm well looked after and I know all of my options, without hassling me to buy more. I would recommend to others.  Full review 

    My local NAB branch always is a 100% on customer service. NAB makes sure I'm well looked after and I know all of my options, without hassling me to buy more. I would recommend to others.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB debit card reviewed by Priscilla

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank debit card review

    They care about me and my money

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    Has been very pleasant to deal with the manager. Always the same person and their Call Centre only has Aussies working in them. Always speak with true blue dinki di people.  Full review 

    Has been very pleasant to deal with the manager. Always the same person and their Call Centre only has Aussies working in them. Always speak with true blue dinki di people.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank debit card reviewed by Malcolm from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank debit card review

    Good stuff, not tough

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    The Bendigo Bank has a fantastic customer service department, had to follow up but good opening hours, low fees and very trustworthy. Only downside is the lack of ATMs in rural towns. Definitely would recommend to anyone who lives in a town with t...  Full review 

    The Bendigo Bank has a fantastic customer service department, had to follow up but good opening hours, low fees and very trustworthy. Only downside is the lack of ATMs in rural towns. Definitely would recommend to anyone who lives in a town with the branch though.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank debit card reviewed by Dutch

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    Good rates for students.  Full review 

    Good rates for students.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Kate from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

More recently reviewed debit cards

  • 7.8
    based on
    22 reviews

    HSBC debit cards

    Overall rating: 7.8 (22 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 02 July 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    HSBC debit cards
  • 9.0
    based on
    4 reviews

    AMP debit cards

    Overall rating: 9.0 (4 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 30 November 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    AMP debit cards
  • 7.5
    based on
    24 reviews

    IMB debit cards

    Overall rating: 7.5 (24 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 10 July 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    IMB debit cards
  • 7.5
    based on
    2 reviews

    Arab Bank Australia debit cards

    Overall rating: 7.5 (2 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 28 September 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Arab Bank Australia debit cards
  • 8.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Gateway Credit Union debit cards

    Overall rating: 8.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 01 November 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Gateway Credit Union debit cards

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.