Debit card reviews

Read the latest debit card reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their debit card provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to convenience.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all debit cards or check out our debit card guides

Write a review

Recent debit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Debit cards are great for online

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I transferred over to CBA as our business was with CBA. The main concern with this debit card which is linked to a saving account is that the bank lets the account become overdrawn, does not notify you, and then charges an over drawing fee and int...  Full review 

    I transferred over to CBA as our business was with CBA. The main concern with this debit card which is linked to a saving account is that the bank lets the account become overdrawn, does not notify you, and then charges an over drawing fee and interest. I have tried to put a stop to this but they will not stop the over drawing.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Prue from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Southern Cross Credit Union

    Southern Cross Credit Union debit card review

    Super great

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Great small bank with a lot of big bank features and products.  Full review 

    Great small bank with a lot of big bank features and products.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Southern Cross Credit Union debit card reviewed by Rhys from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest debit card review

    No fees

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    The thing I like most is that there are no fees to withdraw from the Big 4 Bank ATMs.  Full review 

    The thing I like most is that there are no fees to withdraw from the Big 4 Bank ATMs.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest debit card reviewed by Norma from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Police Credit Union SA NT

    Police Credit Union SA NT debit card review

    Terrible customer service!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Better off keeping your cash under the mattress. The customer service is terrible, especially over the phone. Recently had my card 'swallowed' by an ATM in Bali, called the international number and was told, four times, by the person on the other ...  Full review 

    Better off keeping your cash under the mattress. The customer service is terrible, especially over the phone. Recently had my card 'swallowed' by an ATM in Bali, called the international number and was told, four times, by the person on the other end of the line to "just go into your nearest branch in the morning and organise a new card", even after explaining that I was not in Australia each time. I just gave up and fortunately have alternative accounts from other banks to fall back on until I returned home. I closed my account with Police Credit Union as soon as I got back!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Police Credit Union SA NT debit card reviewed by Kaaren from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB debit card review

    Reliable and efficient

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    They are reliable and trustworthy, however their online banking system needs an update.  Full review 

    They are reliable and trustworthy, however their online banking system needs an update.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB debit card reviewed by Cara from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac debit card review

    Satisfied

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Best I've been with, glad I switched years ago.  Full review 

    Best I've been with, glad I switched years ago.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac debit card reviewed by Chloe

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    My first bank, my only bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I'm so glad they introduced cardless cash. It's easy to use & very convenient.  Full review 

    I'm so glad they introduced cardless cash. It's easy to use & very convenient.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Sarah

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp debit card review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    My card was stolen and they let me know it was getting used for unauthorised credit charges.  Full review 

    My card was stolen and they let me know it was getting used for unauthorised credit charges.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp debit card reviewed by Josh from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB debit card review

    Fantastic customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    The customer service NAB gives is excellent over the phone. However sometimes the wait can be very long. Although it is easy to make changes to the account over the phone or in the branch, the website provides no help at all. It has links to open ...  Full review 

    The customer service NAB gives is excellent over the phone. However sometimes the wait can be very long. Although it is easy to make changes to the account over the phone or in the branch, the website provides no help at all. It has links to open a new account or make changes, however there is always a catch to doing it online. The interest rates are reasonable and are paid regularly. The transfer on money between accounts is also very quick and easy.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB debit card reviewed by Alannah from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    All-round good bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I have had all good experiences with this bank, they have a very easy to use app which saves going in the bank but when you do, service is always great.  Full review 

    I have had all good experiences with this bank, they have a very easy to use app which saves going in the bank but when you do, service is always great.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Joshua

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    #Commbank #mybank #numberone

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I absolutely LOVE commonwealth bank. I have been with them for over 8 years and never once had a problem with any of the staff especially at my branch in SA. The staff are so warm, welcoming and very understanding with a smile on their faces all t...  Full review 

    I absolutely LOVE commonwealth bank. I have been with them for over 8 years and never once had a problem with any of the staff especially at my branch in SA. The staff are so warm, welcoming and very understanding with a smile on their faces all the time. With an amazing greeting at the doors putting you in the right direction :) the telephone banking is amazing too, again can't fault a thing! No long holds, great service, great advice and always happy to help. I will never leave Commonwealth Bank! :') #mynumberonebank!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Jess

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac debit card review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    My Westpac debit card makes shopping online and in store so easy. It's a simple punch in of the digits and swipe of the card, and I have fantastic products.  Full review 

    My Westpac debit card makes shopping online and in store so easy. It's a simple punch in of the digits and swipe of the card, and I have fantastic products.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac debit card reviewed by Paula from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest debit card review

    They help me to save and manage money!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I LOVE Bankwest. They have helped me to set up the most appropriate accounts to save money as a student! The debit card is so easy to use with Paywave and the chip works so much better than the magnetic strip. They're always available and I love h...  Full review 

    I LOVE Bankwest. They have helped me to set up the most appropriate accounts to save money as a student! The debit card is so easy to use with Paywave and the chip works so much better than the magnetic strip. They're always available and I love how you can online chat with a consultant on the website.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest debit card reviewed by Ebony

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Hungry ATM :(

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    One day my debit card was eaten in an ATM machine. I went straight into Commonwealth Bank, the lady serving was awesome and she promptly ordered me a new one gave me the necessary steps to activate it and was more than happy to help. I love how th...  Full review 

    One day my debit card was eaten in an ATM machine. I went straight into Commonwealth Bank, the lady serving was awesome and she promptly ordered me a new one gave me the necessary steps to activate it and was more than happy to help. I love how there are so many convenient ATM locations and over my years of banking, the staff have been excellent.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Sapphire

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Greater Building Society

    Greater Building Society debit card review

    Awesome, friendly & efficient

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    No problems ever, been with them for over 15 years.  Full review 

    No problems ever, been with them for over 15 years.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Greater Building Society debit card reviewed by Jacqueline

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • CUA

    CUA debit card review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    CUA is a very customer focused credit union. As each member is a shareholder of CUA, CUA has a drive to improve services for their customers, and to reduce fees as much as possible. CUA will also recommend products for customers where possible (th...  Full review 

    CUA is a very customer focused credit union. As each member is a shareholder of CUA, CUA has a drive to improve services for their customers, and to reduce fees as much as possible. CUA will also recommend products for customers where possible (they recommended I change from a standard RediCard to a VISA Debit Card to reduce my fees).


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    CUA debit card reviewed by Chris from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    I'll pass on pay pass

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    It's a great card but the pay pass feature worries me. It would only take someone, who has taken/found your card, a few minutes to wipe a few hundred dollars off your card using the pay pass option. Seems too risky to me, I mean seriously, are peo...  Full review 

    It's a great card but the pay pass feature worries me. It would only take someone, who has taken/found your card, a few minutes to wipe a few hundred dollars off your card using the pay pass option. Seems too risky to me, I mean seriously, are people really in that much of a rush these days that they can't even afford to waste 10 seconds punching in a pin on the eftpos machine? Really?!?


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Natalie

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest debit card review

    Fun, responsible great bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    Bankwest is amazing! I love the customer service, I once decided in my drunk state at 2am I wanted to change my password, I called and they said to call back the next morning if I still wanted to, this was a good idea as I wouldn't have remembered...  Full review 

    Bankwest is amazing! I love the customer service, I once decided in my drunk state at 2am I wanted to change my password, I called and they said to call back the next morning if I still wanted to, this was a good idea as I wouldn't have remembered my new password! Only negative comment is that there are not enough Bankwests in my area! But when I do go I enjoy a good game of Wii and a free coffee, what else could you ask for!?


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest debit card reviewed by Bree

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Ahead of the times

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    Always coming up with new smarter technology that makes access so easy. Also helped recover money when I had fraud. Were extremely efficient and helpful.  Full review 

    Always coming up with new smarter technology that makes access so easy. Also helped recover money when I had fraud. Were extremely efficient and helpful.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Tamara from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ debit card review

    Great!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    Makes it so easy to use eBay!  Full review 

    Makes it so easy to use eBay!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ debit card reviewed by Holly from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    I'll never change my bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    I have used other banks and had problems especially with customer service however the Commonwealth Bank has great customer service and it's easy to locate a branch.  Full review 

    I have used other banks and had problems especially with customer service however the Commonwealth Bank has great customer service and it's easy to locate a branch.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Elizabeth scott

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    Competitive features, no interest

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    The Commonwealth Bank do not charge me interest, they are pleasant to deal with and accommodating to my questions.  Full review 

    The Commonwealth Bank do not charge me interest, they are pleasant to deal with and accommodating to my questions.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Abbey from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    I think they are distrustful

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    Find staff to be quite rude and will not tell you all services available if it is not to their advantage.  Full review 

    Find staff to be quite rude and will not tell you all services available if it is not to their advantage.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Kathryn

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ING DIRECT

    ING DIRECT debit card review

    Easy online service and great rewards

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    Very easy to apply and use, 5% cash back on Paywave is a great reward program. Only draw back in the cost involved in ATM transactions (under $200).  Full review 

    Very easy to apply and use, 5% cash back on Paywave is a great reward program. Only draw back in the cost involved in ATM transactions (under $200).


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ING DIRECT debit card reviewed by Jane from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank debit card review

    It's the best

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    It's easy to find a Commonwealth anywhere and there is also good service available.  Full review 

    It's easy to find a Commonwealth anywhere and there is also good service available.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank debit card reviewed by Deep

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

More recently reviewed debit cards

  • 7.9
    based on
    23 reviews

    HSBC debit cards

    Overall rating: 7.9 (23 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 02 July 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    HSBC debit cards
  • 9.0
    based on
    4 reviews

    AMP debit cards

    Overall rating: 9.0 (4 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 30 November 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    AMP debit cards
  • 7.6
    based on
    25 reviews

    IMB debit cards

    Overall rating: 7.6 (25 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 10 July 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    IMB debit cards
  • 7.5
    based on
    2 reviews

    Arab Bank Australia debit cards

    Overall rating: 7.5 (2 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 28 September 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Arab Bank Australia debit cards
  • 8.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Gateway Credit Union debit cards

    Overall rating: 8.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 01 November 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Gateway Credit Union debit cards

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.