GIO car insurance reviews

GIO

How is GIO car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

80%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.0 out of 10

GIO car insurance

Overall rating: 8.0 (171 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 23 July 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 527

Thumbs up: 484 | Thumbs down: 43

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.

Featured car insurance from GIO

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 20%

  • online discount

    20%


Other car insurance

  • Standard Comprehensive
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    Not avaliable online

  • Get quote
     
  • SureCover Plus Motor Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    Up to 15%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent GIO car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Do you want good insurance or great insurance?

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    I have been insured with GIO all my driving life, and have never had a bad piece of advice or help over those 39 years.  Full review 

    I have been insured with GIO all my driving life, and have never had a bad piece of advice or help over those 39 years.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Raymond

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Pay by the month available

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    Competitive premiums. Love the pay by the month availability  Full review 

    Competitive premiums. Love the pay by the month availability


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by David from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great price, great service!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    Having worked hard to save up for my first car, I purchased a 2011 Holden Commodore. I wasn't too worried about insurance at the time as I was under the impression that insurance companies only really cared about your driving record as well as the...  Full review 

    Having worked hard to save up for my first car, I purchased a 2011 Holden Commodore. I wasn't too worried about insurance at the time as I was under the impression that insurance companies only really cared about your driving record as well as the safety and age of your car. Being a P plater, I was expecting around $2000 p.a. for comprehensive insurance. After searching the internet the best price I could find was $3800 p.a. Until I found GIO. I was very pleased when I was quoted $1700 p.a. It's great to see an insurance company giving us young ones a fair go and decent price. Thank you GIO !


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Kye from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • For absolute peace of mind & service, go with GIO

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Love GIO Platinum. Low monthly payments with excellent peace of mind & all the features, like no excess glass & hire car after an insured event. For absolute peace of mind, go with GIO.  Full review 

    Love GIO Platinum. Low monthly payments with excellent peace of mind & all the features, like no excess glass & hire car after an insured event. For absolute peace of mind, go with GIO.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Domenic from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Personal approach counts a lot

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Being almost 80 and now having sole responsibility for our finances, I have found my insurer to be more than helpful with any problem and always mindful of our economic circumstances.  Full review 

    Being almost 80 and now having sole responsibility for our finances, I have found my insurer to be more than helpful with any problem and always mindful of our economic circumstances.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Bonnie from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    GIO is not cheap, however you're paying for peace of mind that they will deal with any claims you have, be it your fault or not. They're quick with processing claims and arranging payouts/repairs. Also, when contacted, you are put through to an a...  Full review 

    GIO is not cheap, however you're paying for peace of mind that they will deal with any claims you have, be it your fault or not. They're quick with processing claims and arranging payouts/repairs. Also, when contacted, you are put through to an actual person after a few prompts, and there is rarely ever a need to wait for an operator.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Carmen from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Poor service and inadequate cover

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    There are not many pros. Very expensive and not good value. Someone sideswiped me and ruined my mirror. I got all their details, called my insurer, and they told me they couldn't do anything because I didn't have the right type of cover.  Full review 

    There are not many pros. Very expensive and not good value. Someone sideswiped me and ruined my mirror. I got all their details, called my insurer, and they told me they couldn't do anything because I didn't have the right type of cover.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Lydia from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Excellent communication and service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    Excellent customer service any time I have had to deal with them.  Full review 

    Excellent customer service any time I have had to deal with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Stephen from Australian Capital Territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Cheap, Easy & Effective - I can rest easy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Cheapest Price, a well known company, I've had dealings with GIO via my work on behalf of clients and always found them to be good with regards to making claims.  Full review 

    Cheapest Price, a well known company, I've had dealings with GIO via my work on behalf of clients and always found them to be good with regards to making claims.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Amy from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • I am happy but don't feel strongly

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I don't feel as though they give you any updated information. I don't feel like a customer at all. But I also have not had to claim anything. So this is maybe why I have no contact with them.  Full review 

    I don't feel as though they give you any updated information. I don't feel like a customer at all. But I also have not had to claim anything. So this is maybe why I have no contact with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Carissa

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Customer loyalty dead

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Shocked to received huge bill for renewal of premium. After 27 years being a customer, rating 1 for life, charged the same as any new customer, indeed, top price, not even the price if applied for over the internet!! Informed by staff that they ar...  Full review 

    Shocked to received huge bill for renewal of premium. After 27 years being a customer, rating 1 for life, charged the same as any new customer, indeed, top price, not even the price if applied for over the internet!! Informed by staff that they are not in the business of giving discounts! Found a new policy less than half the price and very happy now. It certainly pays to shop around for a policy that suits your needs!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Alinda from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Always competitive and great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I like GIO because their prices always seem to be the cheapest. I've been with them for several years now and their prices are competitive, they are good to long term customers, if you have more than one, eg, house and car, they give you a discount.  Full review 

    I like GIO because their prices always seem to be the cheapest. I've been with them for several years now and their prices are competitive, they are good to long term customers, if you have more than one, eg, house and car, they give you a discount.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Tammy from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    The woman at GIO office was so helpful. She quickly found what I wanted and made a comparison with my other insurer and then told me the other options that I could take which I did as I live in the country and driving on country roads at night is ...  Full review 

    The woman at GIO office was so helpful. She quickly found what I wanted and made a comparison with my other insurer and then told me the other options that I could take which I did as I live in the country and driving on country roads at night is safer when you know that help is a phone call away, maybe a bit of a wait, but at hand, and it was a done deal. I drive a 380 kms round trip on a Tuesday with four teenagers and knowing that I can get this help makes this trip a lot less stressful.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Lucy from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Fantastic service, very good insurance company, have been with them for a year and a half.  Full review 

    Fantastic service, very good insurance company, have been with them for a year and a half.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Misty

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    GIO seems to offer good value & competitive prices for car insurance.  Full review 

    GIO seems to offer good value & competitive prices for car insurance.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Helena

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Premiums, claim and customer services

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Competitive premiums, excellent customer service, fast claim approval, guaranteed all repairs.  Full review 

    Competitive premiums, excellent customer service, fast claim approval, guaranteed all repairs.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Ferial from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    GIO is trusted, and reliable.  Full review 

    GIO is trusted, and reliable.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Lauren from Australian Capital Territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • The prices are great, great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I'm 59 years old, had insurance on cars for 40 years with different companies and have found GIO to be the best for my needs  Full review 

    I'm 59 years old, had insurance on cars for 40 years with different companies and have found GIO to be the best for my needs


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Graham from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • GIO needs to review their assessors

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I have been with GIO for many years. I have made one claim recently and all of the parts on my car were not replaced because of there assessor. I was not happy at all as that item was definitely broken at the time of the accident. Despite me telli...  Full review 

    I have been with GIO for many years. I have made one claim recently and all of the parts on my car were not replaced because of there assessor. I was not happy at all as that item was definitely broken at the time of the accident. Despite me telling them that, it was not replaced.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Amanda from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • GIO

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Your best bet is to go with GIO, I mean it's really awesome. Can't trust everybody ???? But you can trust them. Go with GIO, promise you won't regret it!  Full review 

    Your best bet is to go with GIO, I mean it's really awesome. Can't trust everybody ???? But you can trust them. Go with GIO, promise you won't regret it!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Zykherie

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Last year I unfortunately had 2 claims a few weeks apart. A big kangaroo hit the side of my new car and I misjudged a low fence in my work place car park and backed into a metal post. Both claims were processed without any problems and dealt with ...  Full review 

    Last year I unfortunately had 2 claims a few weeks apart. A big kangaroo hit the side of my new car and I misjudged a low fence in my work place car park and backed into a metal post. Both claims were processed without any problems and dealt with swiftly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Denise from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • You really find out how good your policy is after

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I was with another company and had an accident I wasn't at fault. They were going to up my premiums so I changed to GIO in April last year I was involved in a collision where the other party was at fault. GIO were great they provided me with a hir...  Full review 

    I was with another company and had an accident I wasn't at fault. They were going to up my premiums so I changed to GIO in April last year I was involved in a collision where the other party was at fault. GIO were great they provided me with a hire car till mine was fixed, yes I may pay a bit more but they covered all the bases and took the stress out of the process of claiming something you don't need after a accident.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Janine

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Would not look anywhere else

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    After searching through a myriad of companies, I found Gio had the clearest policy and the best overall price without bundling. Easy to contact some one and even more surprisingly easy to follow their onsite service. Lucky as yet I have had no nee...  Full review 

    After searching through a myriad of companies, I found Gio had the clearest policy and the best overall price without bundling. Easy to contact some one and even more surprisingly easy to follow their onsite service. Lucky as yet I have had no need to make a claim.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Geoff from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fabulous service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    GIO is reliable, phone staff efficient, helpful and good knowledge of product. Never had a problem over the past 20 years. Claims settle quickly and fairly.  Full review 

    GIO is reliable, phone staff efficient, helpful and good knowledge of product. Never had a problem over the past 20 years. Claims settle quickly and fairly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Anne from New South Wales

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    Honest insurer.  Full review 

    Honest insurer.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    GIO car insurance reviewed by Michael from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.