IMB home loan reviews

IMB
IMB's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.5

based on 10 reviews in the
past 12 months

 

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Full review

We'd love to hear from you

Write a review

Featured home loan from IMB

Recent IMB home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

IMB

IMB Budget Home Loan (LVR<90%) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Over twenty years with them

I gave this harsh review for one reason. I had banked with the IMB since I was a child. When I took over a Transport company in my twenties, I continued to use them for every service they could provide. I can say that for over twelve months I had...
Full review

I gave this harsh review for one reason. I had banked with the IMB since I was a child. When I took over a Transport company in my twenties, I continued to use them for every service they could provide. I can say that for over twelve months I had all my incoming finances landing there, over 30K/mth. A lot of this was outgoing business expenses but I was earning very good money. I was utterly shattered when they rejected my application for a home loan, over twenty years with them and I was treated like a number. Anyway, I did get my home loan from another bank, and they have the pleasure of earning interest from my financial activities.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

John (NSW), reviewed about 12 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

High rates.

The bank is mostly looking after its own profit.
Full review

The bank is mostly looking after its own profit.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Marina (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great overall

Great service, local and loan charge also fees are a good price.
Full review

Great service, local and loan charge also fees are a good price.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer relations

Competitive
Full review

Competitive

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kees (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Personal service from both the manager and counter staff. They know me by name and I can contact them directly.
Full review

Personal service from both the manager and counter staff. They know me by name and I can contact them directly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Letitia (ACT), reviewed 6 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great direct email contact

I thought about leaving the current bank, however a girl in customer service was fantastic! I now deal with her directly via email and she's been able to think outside the box to an amazing level and helped me through a difficult transition. If it...
Full review

I thought about leaving the current bank, however a girl in customer service was fantastic! I now deal with her directly via email and she's been able to think outside the box to an amazing level and helped me through a difficult transition. If it wasn't for her, I would be looking around at other options.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Cassie (NSW), reviewed 9 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great services

Good rates and service, not enough locations.
Full review

Good rates and service, not enough locations.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ambers (ACT), reviewed 10 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service without the gimmicks!

The bank manger at our local bank has always made time for my husband and I. We have two morgages through the bank (one variable and the other fixed/variable), and no matter how many questions we've had,or how silly they may seem, we have always...
Full review

The bank manger at our local bank has always made time for my husband and I. We have two morgages through the bank (one variable and the other fixed/variable), and no matter how many questions we've had,or how silly they may seem, we have always been able to contact her and recieved a quick response. The interest rates are not the lowest, but they are competitive. At the end of the day however, excellent customer service counted a lot towards our decision to go with IMB for our morgages and bank accounts.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rebecca (NSW), reviewed 10 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Take your money and that's it

After being with this bank for several years and paying them 100's of thousands in interest we wanted to extend an interest only period on one loan, they made us jump through hoops and then denied us this, even though our serviceability is good....
Full review

After being with this bank for several years and paying them 100's of thousands in interest we wanted to extend an interest only period on one loan, they made us jump through hoops and then denied us this, even though our serviceability is good. The reason, apparently they no longer want to do business in Queensland. We then shopped around to refinance and found we can save 12k per year by changing banks. They are making this chore impossible by not doing what they are supposed to do, by not sending us the 1 form that will allow the process to roll on, now we are going on leave tomorrow and will not have phone or email contact for 2 weeks. so delaying tactics. Thanks a bunch IMB, I won't be recommending you to my worst enemy.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Yvonne (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Budget Home Loan (LVR<90%) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Personal service, real people, good products.

The IMB still gives you the old fashioned service whilst being a modern organisation.
Full review

The IMB still gives you the old fashioned service whilst being a modern organisation.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Julie (ACT), reviewed almost 2 years ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Professional

Great customer service. Made the process of betting a house an easy one.
Full review

Great customer service. Made the process of betting a house an easy one.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Budget Home Loan (LVR<90%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Home loan

I find them very helpful and would refer to anyone.
Full review

I find them very helpful and would refer to anyone.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very customer friendly and convenient

The bank has always been helpful and if we need any help the Manager is always happy to meet us or discuss issues over the phone.
Full review

The bank has always been helpful and if we need any help the Manager is always happy to meet us or discuss issues over the phone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Local business but average service

I'd like it if they could call us and keep us up-to-date with mortgage options. In the beginning we received a couple of calls to see if we were happy and if there was anything they could do for us, but there hasn't been a call in years. Also,...
Full review

I'd like it if they could call us and keep us up-to-date with mortgage options. In the beginning we received a couple of calls to see if we were happy and if there was anything they could do for us, but there hasn't been a call in years. Also, apart from asking if there was anything they could do for us, it would be proactive and good customer service if your mortgage manager looked at your accounts, did an assessment for you then called you and told you "honestly!" if there were financial options that they offer that would be good for us based on our overall use of all accounts. Aside from this (which I really do think would be great), I do have a bitter taste in my mouth. I contacted them just over 4yrs ago and put a question to the mortgage manager. After further conversations, over the years since and in more recent years with other institutions, family and friends , I have become aware that I was deliberately mislead with the answer to my question. The answer given was of financial benefit to the bank and not an honest and direct answer to my direct question. I feel really disappointed still about this and because of the answer given and advise I took as legitimate and our best option, we are in a worse financial situation than we would have been should my question be answered honestly. The answer that should have been given would have been a better financial outcome for us rather than for them.... I disrespect them for this as this is NOT how I (or staff that work for me and that were trained by me) conduct my business and I work in the Jewellery industry!!! I train my staff and expect no less than honesty (what they would expect themselves). Honesty can shock some people when they receive it but they are never disappointed with it ("refreshed" more like it). I have found that you gain much much more respect and an outstanding positive reputation (goodwill). Along with the goodwill comes future business and business growth etc... I expect all business to conduct themselves like I do (naive probably of me) but I certainly expected this of my bank that is in it for the "long haul" with us for the biggest investment in our lives. And that's not what I have received.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

The local branch in Bowral were fantastic in explaining everything and helping through the whole process of getting the loan and everything involved.
Full review

The local branch in Bowral were fantastic in explaining everything and helping through the whole process of getting the loan and everything involved.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Essentials Home Loan (LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing service with the rates to match.

Amazing service. Never have to wait in line. Great home loan rates. No hidden fees. Staff know what they are talking about and are passionate to help me with any enquiry. I also appreciated consistent communication throughout the entire loan process.
Full review

Amazing service. Never have to wait in line. Great home loan rates. No hidden fees. Staff know what they are talking about and are passionate to help me with any enquiry. I also appreciated consistent communication throughout the entire loan process.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Judy (ACT), reviewed over 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

A life long committed competitive service and frie

They contact when unusual tranactions occur. Regularly in contact (but not annoying) with ideas to help assist in reducing loans, internet payments and redraws on line. Loans manager and other staff extremely friendly. Very, very quick to get...
Full review

They contact when unusual tranactions occur. Regularly in contact (but not annoying) with ideas to help assist in reducing loans, internet payments and redraws on line. Loans manager and other staff extremely friendly. Very, very quick to get back to you with answers. Biggest issue is limited monthly transactions, this varies on how many account you have with them. Have used them for 25yrs now for loans, credit card, savings account, service hasn't changed. Highly recommend for good honest all round banking with competitive rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Better than the big four.

The loan has a competitive interest rate, a redraw facility and no monthly charges. The application process is straight forward and the customer service is great! Cannot think of any reason why I would want to change banks.
Full review

The loan has a competitive interest rate, a redraw facility and no monthly charges. The application process is straight forward and the customer service is great! Cannot think of any reason why I would want to change banks.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joanne (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great interest rates

I love the fact they wanted my business and did everything they could to convince me to bank with them.
Full review

I love the fact they wanted my business and did everything they could to convince me to bank with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leanne (ACT), reviewed over 2 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

best rates served with a smile

best rates and a smaller provider gives great customer service
Full review

best rates and a smaller provider gives great customer service

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jana (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great helpful organisation with valuable services.

I have been able to put lump sums on my loan to ultimately pay off quicker,received a nice discount for life of the loan also.
Full review

I have been able to put lump sums on my loan to ultimately pay off quicker,received a nice discount for life of the loan also.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Richard (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Budget Home Loan (LVR<90%) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good rates and ordinary customer service

The interest rate is good.
Full review

The interest rate is good.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Xin (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Been with IMB for over 30 years, that says it all.

This is the second mortgage we have had with IMB, with a NAB one in between. There is no comparison in service and IMB rates are as good as anyone else's! The IMB rep came to our home and could not have been more helpful, advising us on exactly...
Full review

This is the second mortgage we have had with IMB, with a NAB one in between. There is no comparison in service and IMB rates are as good as anyone else's! The IMB rep came to our home and could not have been more helpful, advising us on exactly the product we needed. The only hassle was when IMB went to pay out our NAB account and the NAB rep didn't show up to finalise the contract - it took weeks to sort out the problems with NAB but IMB was supportive all the way. I have all my accounts with IMB, and the manager greets me personally if she is there when I go into my branch. Would definitely not ever go elsewhere!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lynn (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Impeccable service, impeccable product

I found the Manager of the Branch (Bowral NSW) of IMB to be extremely helpful with pre-loan documentation, clarifying the information with my wife and me, keeping us informed during every stage of the loan process. As both my wife & I are in the...
Full review

I found the Manager of the Branch (Bowral NSW) of IMB to be extremely helpful with pre-loan documentation, clarifying the information with my wife and me, keeping us informed during every stage of the loan process. As both my wife & I are in the 50+ age group the Manager assisted us in the selection of the right loan product and the most effect term. Very satisfied with all aspects of the service & loan product.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Grant (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Initial interest rate is very competitive (first 12 months). However after that it can increase. You should speak to the branch about keeping your rate competitive or leaving to another lender. They will reduce the interest rate..
Full review

Initial interest rate is very competitive (first 12 months). However after that it can increase. You should speak to the branch about keeping your rate competitive or leaving to another lender. They will reduce the interest rate..

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Luke (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Home loan comparisons on MozoRates updated daily

  • Easy Street Basic Variable Home Loan (LVR 80% or less)

    Easy Street Basic Variable Home Loan (LVR 80% or less)

    • Powered by Community First Credit Union
    • No monthly or ongoing fees
    • Purchase, refinance, renovate or invest

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.03%

    Upfront fees

    $500

    Go to site
    • Powered by Community First Credit Union
    • No monthly or ongoing fees
    • Purchase, refinance, renovate or invest
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03%
    • Upfront fees: $500
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $200.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes-free
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Owner occupied and investment

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.32%

    Upfront fees

    $275

    Go to site
    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Owner occupied and investment
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.32%
    • Upfront fees: $275
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Minimum loan amount: $500,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • loans.com.au Dream Home Loan Essentials

    loans.com.au Dream Home Loan Essentials

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • No monthly fees, Redraw available
    • For purchases or refinance

    variable rate

    4.02%

    comparison rate*

    4.04%

    Upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site
    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • No monthly fees, Redraw available
    • For purchases or refinance
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.02%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.04%
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $750,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.9

    Based on 62 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier)

    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.09%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site
    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.6

    Based on 22 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.12%

    Upfront fees

    $440

    Go to site
    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.12%
    • Upfront fees: $440
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 554 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top