NRMA car insurance reviews

NRMA

How is NRMA car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

81%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.1 out of 10

NRMA car insurance

Overall rating: 8.1 (415 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 22 March 2015


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 1880

Thumbs up: 1774 | Thumbs down: 104

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.


Other car insurance

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    Not Published

  • online discount

    Up to 20%

  • Get quote
     
  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 70%

  • online discount

    10%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent NRMA car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Great expericience with NRMA

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    The claims handling of NRMA is very quick and excellent.  Full review 

    The claims handling of NRMA is very quick and excellent.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Zhiping from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 16 days ago)

    My car was hit by L-plater a few days ago. NRMA claim officer were very professional to handle all my enquiry. Happy for their service.  Full review 

    My car was hit by L-plater a few days ago. NRMA claim officer were very professional to handle all my enquiry. Happy for their service.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Harumi from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suffice

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 16 days ago)

    Well trusted brand, always competitive and efficient.  Full review 

    Well trusted brand, always competitive and efficient.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Michael

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Not Happy Jan!!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 16 days ago)

    Have been with NRMA for 3 years now and have car and horse float with them and the whole time I've had to put up with bad service and high cost for 3rd party green slip....and went to registering the car last week and it was one big stuff around, ...  Full review 

    Have been with NRMA for 3 years now and have car and horse float with them and the whole time I've had to put up with bad service and high cost for 3rd party green slip....and went to registering the car last week and it was one big stuff around, the girl behind the counter kept on getting numbers wrong and ended up making me late for work, wasn't happy that week!!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Craig

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great Service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    Great service with reliable results.  Full review 

    Great service with reliable results.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Reg from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    NRMA was great when I rang to make a claim after a car accident. The customer service person really made me relaxed and I felt was genuinely concerned for me and my family. They were really supportive. They got us home from interstate and even hel...  Full review 

    NRMA was great when I rang to make a claim after a car accident. The customer service person really made me relaxed and I felt was genuinely concerned for me and my family. They were really supportive. They got us home from interstate and even helped me through how to cover some of my outstanding cost on top of my cover. They were great!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Sharon from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good service - face to face available in my town

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    NRMA is my long term insurer for home/contents/car and have had no problems with my dealings with them over many years.  Full review 

    NRMA is my long term insurer for home/contents/car and have had no problems with my dealings with them over many years.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Gregg from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Outstanding Insurer

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    I have been an NRMA member for 15 years and I wouldn't use any other insurer. I recommend using NRMA for all insurance needs as they provide exceptional customer service, value for money and are completely reliable.  Full review 

    I have been an NRMA member for 15 years and I wouldn't use any other insurer. I recommend using NRMA for all insurance needs as they provide exceptional customer service, value for money and are completely reliable.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Lauren

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Excellent customer service and great premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    We use NRMA for all our insurance. Their prices are competitive but best of all, they follow through on claims quickly and courteously and provide assistance throughout the process. They are very professional. We have been insured with NRMA for ye...  Full review 

    We use NRMA for all our insurance. Their prices are competitive but best of all, they follow through on claims quickly and courteously and provide assistance throughout the process. They are very professional. We have been insured with NRMA for years and will continue to use them as our insurer for all our insurance needs.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Lindy from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fantastic customer service & competitive prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I have been with NRMA for 27 years and have never had a bad deal from them, I have claimed some great bonuses & some great "freebie" deals, they supply some great advice, and many other forms of information & deals.  Full review 

    I have been with NRMA for 27 years and have never had a bad deal from them, I have claimed some great bonuses & some great "freebie" deals, they supply some great advice, and many other forms of information & deals.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Ken from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NRMA - avoid

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    NRMA are by far the worst insurance company I have ever been with. Horrible customer service - customer service representatives complain about how hard their life is. Bad system for breakdowns - if your car is not 'mechanically' broken down,...  Full review 

    NRMA are by far the worst insurance company I have ever been with. Horrible customer service - customer service representatives complain about how hard their life is. Bad system for breakdowns - if your car is not 'mechanically' broken down, expect to wait in a queue on the phone (the same phone number normal people use who aren't causing major road hazards), while angry road users abuse you. Then, expect to be told numerous times that a truck is on the way when really it isn't. In my circumstance, the police got sick of waiting and ordered their own tow truck. Customer reps who don't listen - after the third phone call, and after being assured I had cancelled my policy, NRMA still tried to charge me 3 months later for a policy that no longer existed. Then they took money out of an account that I had informed NRMA that I don't use anymore, so I got charged a dishonour fee. Not their fault apparently. Claiming - I dare you to try and get your car fixed in a reasonable amount of time. I was jerked around for about a week, because the assessor on my case 'couldn't be contacted'. Then I was treated with suspicion and near outright called a liar. I finally found the one person who helped me get my car finally fixed. Nearly took a month to replace some tyres and suspension! In summary, go with anyone who isn't NRMA.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Karl from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • More expensive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    NRMA seems, at times, to be a lot more expensive and I do consider changing to a cheaper company. When you have an accident that is not your fault, which happened to me recently, they were very obliging and everything was looked after very quickly.  Full review 

    NRMA seems, at times, to be a lot more expensive and I do consider changing to a cheaper company. When you have an accident that is not your fault, which happened to me recently, they were very obliging and everything was looked after very quickly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Jan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fair & completely trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    NRMA has always given me the best service - I can be a bit of a handful sometimes because we have so many policies, personal business, family trust etc. However they've come through every time albeit probably needing a day off to recover! Prices -...  Full review 

    NRMA has always given me the best service - I can be a bit of a handful sometimes because we have so many policies, personal business, family trust etc. However they've come through every time albeit probably needing a day off to recover! Prices - though sometimes higher than others cover every aspect. Claims have been handled neatly and quickly. They've stood the test of time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Linda from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    Staff are always courteous and make every effort to look at and review my current level of cover and check if it meets my needs. Comprehensive cover is as it states comprehensive the only con might be that they are a little more expensive than ot...  Full review 

    Staff are always courteous and make every effort to look at and review my current level of cover and check if it meets my needs. Comprehensive cover is as it states comprehensive the only con might be that they are a little more expensive than others.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Scott from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Reliable, good multi-policy benefits

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    May not be the most competitive price on standalone car insurance but the multi-policy benefits are worthwhile. Also get timely reminders of renewals and it's easy to renew.  Full review 

    May not be the most competitive price on standalone car insurance but the multi-policy benefits are worthwhile. Also get timely reminders of renewals and it's easy to renew.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Brett from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    Great value most of the time.  Full review 

    Great value most of the time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Anne from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Trustworthy and they will be there for you

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    NRMA is a reliable trustworthy company, if you get into trouble, they will come and help you if it is something big or if it's a flat tyre or you're out of petrol.  Full review 

    NRMA is a reliable trustworthy company, if you get into trouble, they will come and help you if it is something big or if it's a flat tyre or you're out of petrol.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Cassandra from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    Customer service is friendly and prompt. Claims are pretty straight forward.  Full review 

    Customer service is friendly and prompt. Claims are pretty straight forward.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Elizabeth from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Friendly, helpful staff and trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    Local customer service centre has very friendly, helpful staff.  Full review 

    Local customer service centre has very friendly, helpful staff.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Esther from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • 3 years.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    I'm with the NRMA and I've found them to be fast with my claim when my car was stolen. But the premiums are a bit higher than other providers but the sheer size of the company can mean that there are no worries with coverage.  Full review 

    I'm with the NRMA and I've found them to be fast with my claim when my car was stolen. But the premiums are a bit higher than other providers but the sheer size of the company can mean that there are no worries with coverage.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Wayne from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Doubled

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    My insurer gives no reasonable explanation why the premiums have almost doubled and argues every year as to the value of my vehicle. Do not insure for market value as your vehicle will be worthless if damaged.  Full review 

    My insurer gives no reasonable explanation why the premiums have almost doubled and argues every year as to the value of my vehicle. Do not insure for market value as your vehicle will be worthless if damaged.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Brendan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Above exceptional service and friendly staff

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    I've been with NRMA for years and from breakdowns, flat batteries, broken and unremovable Club Locks to a stolen and completely trashed car, every time they have dealt with me quickly, professionally and always with a smile on their face. I would ...  Full review 

    I've been with NRMA for years and from breakdowns, flat batteries, broken and unremovable Club Locks to a stolen and completely trashed car, every time they have dealt with me quickly, professionally and always with a smile on their face. I would recommend them to anyone, every time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Melissa from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    Covered for anyone who drives my car.  Full review 

    Covered for anyone who drives my car.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Drew from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Discounts on multiple policies

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    NRMA, tried and true car insurers. How can I say no when they give me a discount.  Full review 

    NRMA, tried and true car insurers. How can I say no when they give me a discount.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Rebecca from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great discounts and savings

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 months ago)

    NRMA is the best, great discounts in stores, better than the rest. Pros are you get discounts in different stores and attractions. Cons: sometimes can be more costly.  Full review 

    NRMA is the best, great discounts in stores, better than the rest. Pros are you get discounts in different stores and attractions. Cons: sometimes can be more costly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Krystal from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.