NRMA car insurance reviews

NRMA

How is NRMA car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

81%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.1 out of 10

NRMA car insurance

Overall rating: 8.1 (715 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 01 December 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 1856

Thumbs up: 1750 | Thumbs down: 104

Get quote

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.


Other car insurance

  • SureCover Plus Motor Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    Up to 15%

  • Get quote
     
  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 70%

  • online discount

    10%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent NRMA car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Excellent customer service and great premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 22 days ago)

    We use NRMA for all our insurance. Their prices are competitive but best of all, they follow through on claims quickly and courteously and provide assistance throughout the process. They are very professional. We have been insured with NRMA for ye...  Full review 

    We use NRMA for all our insurance. Their prices are competitive but best of all, they follow through on claims quickly and courteously and provide assistance throughout the process. They are very professional. We have been insured with NRMA for years and will continue to use them as our insurer for all our insurance needs.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Lindy from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fantastic customer service & competitive prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 26 days ago)

    I have been with NRMA for 27 years and have never had a bad deal from them, I have claimed some great bonuses & some great "freebie" deals, they supply some great advice, and many other forms of information & deals.  Full review 

    I have been with NRMA for 27 years and have never had a bad deal from them, I have claimed some great bonuses & some great "freebie" deals, they supply some great advice, and many other forms of information & deals.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Ken from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NRMA - avoid

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    NRMA are by far the worst insurance company I have ever been with. Horrible customer service - customer service representatives complain about how hard their life is. Bad system for breakdowns - if your car is not 'mechanically' broken down,...  Full review 

    NRMA are by far the worst insurance company I have ever been with. Horrible customer service - customer service representatives complain about how hard their life is. Bad system for breakdowns - if your car is not 'mechanically' broken down, expect to wait in a queue on the phone (the same phone number normal people use who aren't causing major road hazards), while angry road users abuse you. Then, expect to be told numerous times that a truck is on the way when really it isn't. In my circumstance, the police got sick of waiting and ordered their own tow truck. Customer reps who don't listen - after the third phone call, and after being assured I had cancelled my policy, NRMA still tried to charge me 3 months later for a policy that no longer existed. Then they took money out of an account that I had informed NRMA that I don't use anymore, so I got charged a dishonour fee. Not their fault apparently. Claiming - I dare you to try and get your car fixed in a reasonable amount of time. I was jerked around for about a week, because the assessor on my case 'couldn't be contacted'. Then I was treated with suspicion and near outright called a liar. I finally found the one person who helped me get my car finally fixed. Nearly took a month to replace some tyres and suspension! In summary, go with anyone who isn't NRMA.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Karl from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • More expensive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    NRMA seems, at times, to be a lot more expensive and I do consider changing to a cheaper company. When you have an accident that is not your fault, which happened to me recently, they were very obliging and everything was looked after very quickly.  Full review 

    NRMA seems, at times, to be a lot more expensive and I do consider changing to a cheaper company. When you have an accident that is not your fault, which happened to me recently, they were very obliging and everything was looked after very quickly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Jan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fair & completely trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    NRMA has always given me the best service - I can be a bit of a handful sometimes because we have so many policies, personal business, family trust etc. However they've come through every time albeit probably needing a day off to recover! Prices -...  Full review 

    NRMA has always given me the best service - I can be a bit of a handful sometimes because we have so many policies, personal business, family trust etc. However they've come through every time albeit probably needing a day off to recover! Prices - though sometimes higher than others cover every aspect. Claims have been handled neatly and quickly. They've stood the test of time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Linda from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Staff are always courteous and make every effort to look at and review my current level of cover and check if it meets my needs. Comprehensive cover is as it states comprehensive the only con might be that they are a little more expensive than ot...  Full review 

    Staff are always courteous and make every effort to look at and review my current level of cover and check if it meets my needs. Comprehensive cover is as it states comprehensive the only con might be that they are a little more expensive than others.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Scott from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Reliable, good multi-policy benefits

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    May not be the most competitive price on standalone car insurance but the multi-policy benefits are worthwhile. Also get timely reminders of renewals and it's easy to renew.  Full review 

    May not be the most competitive price on standalone car insurance but the multi-policy benefits are worthwhile. Also get timely reminders of renewals and it's easy to renew.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Brett from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Great value most of the time.  Full review 

    Great value most of the time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Anne from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Trustworthy and they will be there for you

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    NRMA is a reliable trustworthy company, if you get into trouble, they will come and help you if it is something big or if it's a flat tyre or you're out of petrol.  Full review 

    NRMA is a reliable trustworthy company, if you get into trouble, they will come and help you if it is something big or if it's a flat tyre or you're out of petrol.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Cassandra from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Customer service is friendly and prompt. Claims are pretty straight forward.  Full review 

    Customer service is friendly and prompt. Claims are pretty straight forward.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Elizabeth from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Friendly, helpful staff and trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Local customer service centre has very friendly, helpful staff.  Full review 

    Local customer service centre has very friendly, helpful staff.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Esther from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • 3 years.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I'm with the NRMA and I've found them to be fast with my claim when my car was stolen. But the premiums are a bit higher than other providers but the sheer size of the company can mean that there are no worries with coverage.  Full review 

    I'm with the NRMA and I've found them to be fast with my claim when my car was stolen. But the premiums are a bit higher than other providers but the sheer size of the company can mean that there are no worries with coverage.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Wayne from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Doubled

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    My insurer gives no reasonable explanation why the premiums have almost doubled and argues every year as to the value of my vehicle. Do not insure for market value as your vehicle will be worthless if damaged.  Full review 

    My insurer gives no reasonable explanation why the premiums have almost doubled and argues every year as to the value of my vehicle. Do not insure for market value as your vehicle will be worthless if damaged.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Brendan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Above exceptional service and friendly staff

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I've been with NRMA for years and from breakdowns, flat batteries, broken and unremovable Club Locks to a stolen and completely trashed car, every time they have dealt with me quickly, professionally and always with a smile on their face. I would ...  Full review 

    I've been with NRMA for years and from breakdowns, flat batteries, broken and unremovable Club Locks to a stolen and completely trashed car, every time they have dealt with me quickly, professionally and always with a smile on their face. I would recommend them to anyone, every time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Melissa from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Covered for anyone who drives my car.  Full review 

    Covered for anyone who drives my car.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Drew from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Discounts on multiple policies

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    NRMA, tried and true car insurers. How can I say no when they give me a discount.  Full review 

    NRMA, tried and true car insurers. How can I say no when they give me a discount.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Rebecca from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great discounts and savings

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    NRMA is the best, great discounts in stores, better than the rest. Pros are you get discounts in different stores and attractions. Cons: sometimes can be more costly.  Full review 

    NRMA is the best, great discounts in stores, better than the rest. Pros are you get discounts in different stores and attractions. Cons: sometimes can be more costly.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Krystal from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Excellent customer service and offer discounts

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    NRMA insurance offer good multi policy discounts and are very helpful when speaking to them on the phone.  Full review 

    NRMA insurance offer good multi policy discounts and are very helpful when speaking to them on the phone.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Nerrilie from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Positive customer experience is their priority

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    NRMA always ensure that my customer experience is one I will share via the bush telegraph. Not only will they service my need but will actually offer me a better deal if there is one. Not like my bank.  Full review 

    NRMA always ensure that my customer experience is one I will share via the bush telegraph. Not only will they service my need but will actually offer me a better deal if there is one. Not like my bank.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Melissa from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Simple and easy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Quick and simple, they always help me out with the best solutions for my family and my situation.  Full review 

    Quick and simple, they always help me out with the best solutions for my family and my situation.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Crystal from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service! Never bad service.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    The reason I like my insurer is because they always put the customer first, they are always very welcoming and helpful. I have been with NRMA insurance for over 2 years and not once have I been disappointed. I feel like their prices are very reaso...  Full review 

    The reason I like my insurer is because they always put the customer first, they are always very welcoming and helpful. I have been with NRMA insurance for over 2 years and not once have I been disappointed. I feel like their prices are very reasonable and they offer a lot of great things that not many other insurers can. People should be aware that as an ongoing customer, NRMA has a lot great offers and bonuses, that's what has kept me as a returning customer and also their great service. They really value returning customers.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Brianna from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Loyalty

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I like NRMA as I can have all my insurance in one place. It would be nice though to get a better discount on our policies since we have been loyal to NRMA for about 21 years.  Full review 

    I like NRMA as I can have all my insurance in one place. It would be nice though to get a better discount on our policies since we have been loyal to NRMA for about 21 years.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by ;ynette from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    We feel safe with our insurer. We know there are cheaper insurers on the market but knowing we will be looked after and are able to have all our insurances together with the one insurer is comforting for us.  Full review 

    We feel safe with our insurer. We know there are cheaper insurers on the market but knowing we will be looked after and are able to have all our insurances together with the one insurer is comforting for us.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Leanne from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I always wanted an insurer who could give me a great deal for my fully comprehensive insurance and so far NRMA has topped my list :)  Full review 

    I always wanted an insurer who could give me a great deal for my fully comprehensive insurance and so far NRMA has topped my list :)


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Stephanie from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Awesome customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Every dealing I have had with NRMA consultants (whether it is making a claim, a general enquiry or signing up to a new policy) has been consistently issue free and I have consistently received the same high level of customer service.  Full review 

    Every dealing I have had with NRMA consultants (whether it is making a claim, a general enquiry or signing up to a new policy) has been consistently issue free and I have consistently received the same high level of customer service.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    NRMA car insurance reviewed by Paul from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.