Progressive Direct car insurance reviews

Progressive Direct
Progressive Direct's overall rating for car insurance

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.7

based on 11 reviews in the
past 12 months

 

Value for money

Policy coverage

Customer service

Claims handling

Trust

Full review

We'd love to hear from you

Write a review

Featured car insurance from Progressive Direct

Recent Progressive Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Quick and simple

Quick, easy and very well priced.
Full review

Quick, easy and very well priced.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Antony (VIC), reviewed 23 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive premium, value for money

Real value for money. The premium is much less than the market
Full review

Real value for money. The premium is much less than the market

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Violet (NSW), reviewed 26 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to get done

I like them due to the fact that if you insure 2 cars you get a good price. Compare to some other insurance companies.
Full review

I like them due to the fact that if you insure 2 cars you get a good price. Compare to some other insurance companies.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Wayne (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

One bargain policy for two or more vehicles

No need to talk on the telephone as it is all done safely, securely and without any hassle on their easy to use website. Their combined policy coverage is fantastic value for people and families with two or more cars.
Full review

No need to talk on the telephone as it is all done safely, securely and without any hassle on their easy to use website. Their combined policy coverage is fantastic value for people and families with two or more cars.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brendon (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best premiums and great service, friendly staff.

Progressive Online have very low policy pricing and a good online claims system. Very happy with them, and will renew with them in June 2015.
Full review

Progressive Online have very low policy pricing and a good online claims system. Very happy with them, and will renew with them in June 2015.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mike (VIC), reviewed 7 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Super competitive premiums

We have 2 cars insured with Progressive Direct. After both long and drawn out research we found their quotes to be super competitive. As car insurance goes, the cover suits our needs and is the same cover as offered by other insurance companies...
Full review

We have 2 cars insured with Progressive Direct. After both long and drawn out research we found their quotes to be super competitive. As car insurance goes, the cover suits our needs and is the same cover as offered by other insurance companies but is a lot more affordable. We have not claimed yet so we have not had that experience but judging by the instructions on the website, it seems straightforward. I would recommend Progressive direct to anyone seeking car insurance. My only complaint is that they don't do home insurance!

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Nicola (QLD), reviewed 10 months ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Pretty darn cheap

The thing you have to remember is that I have an absolutely rubbish old tin can for a car that I need insurance for if I hit someone who may well bankrupt me with damage to their ride - Given this fact and remembering they will not do a darn...
Full review

The thing you have to remember is that I have an absolutely rubbish old tin can for a car that I need insurance for if I hit someone who may well bankrupt me with damage to their ride - Given this fact and remembering they will not do a darn thing if you are hit by someone else, the price and convenience of offering insurance for damage to other cars [and property] is fantastic as it's about half what you would pay otherwise.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracey (NSW), reviewed 11 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Worst Insurance Company in AUS

I have just been through the worst 9weeks of my life dealing with a written off car through Progressive. I was accused of lying, fraud and everything else. I had an accident at 6am in the morning and apparently this is dodgy in itself, I was then...
Full review

I have just been through the worst 9weeks of my life dealing with a written off car through Progressive. I was accused of lying, fraud and everything else. I had an accident at 6am in the morning and apparently this is dodgy in itself, I was then put through an interview by a Private Investigator, had to give phone bills, bank statements and a police check to see if I was lying! I was interrogated like a criminal just because it's not ''normal'' to crash a car at 6am on a weekday apparently. I would never ever suggest to anyone to ever sign up with them! They simply do not want to have to pay any money to you. When my claim was finally processed and was told payment in 24 hours...TOOK 6 FURTHER DAYS! On the 6th day I gave my bank details again at 3.15pm and the money was there at 4pm, WHY IT TOOK 5 DAYS I HAVE NO IDEA! Do not not waste money with progressive, They maybe cheaper in some ways but not when you get put through everything I did and would not want anyone else to go through the same!

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Claims handling   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

An (VIC), reviewed 11 months ago

5 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great company

My insurance company stuck up for me and gave me a great deal when nobody else would. I think everybody should switch to them :)
Full review

My insurance company stuck up for me and gave me a great deal when nobody else would. I think everybody should switch to them :)

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brandon (NT), reviewed 12 months ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great value for under 25s

Though processing a claim through Progressive had its hassles, they are great value for money for those under 25.
Full review

Though processing a claim through Progressive had its hassles, they are great value for money for those under 25.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jessica (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Lack of customer support

Very very poor customer service when it comes to a claim. Lack of communication, lack of proper investigation into the accident and failed to support us as their customer, but indeed took the word of the other party involved. You would think...
Full review

Very very poor customer service when it comes to a claim. Lack of communication, lack of proper investigation into the accident and failed to support us as their customer, but indeed took the word of the other party involved. You would think they will stand behind you when you need them, but to them, we are just another number in the big picture. As long as you pay the premium, you will be fine. Good luck when claiming!!

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   3 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Claims handling   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Elize (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good value and easy to make changes

It's good value and easy to use and update, as it is all online.
Full review

It's good value and easy to use and update, as it is all online.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Lauren (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great price and speedy customer service

So much cheaper than others. Downfall is email contact only, however have always had timely responses to emails, in fact sometimes quicker than time on hold calling other insurance agencies.
Full review

So much cheaper than others. Downfall is email contact only, however have always had timely responses to emails, in fact sometimes quicker than time on hold calling other insurance agencies.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Melanie (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competively priced, lousy customer service

Great value for money, however there are a lot of hidden clauses, like no rate protection. TV ads are silly, catchy and effective.
Full review

Great value for money, however there are a lot of hidden clauses, like no rate protection. TV ads are silly, catchy and effective.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Alex (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

Easy provider to deal with.
Full review

Easy provider to deal with.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rick (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best provider, changed from RACQ.

Easy Cheap Reliable Trustworthy
Full review

Easy Cheap Reliable Trustworthy

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jude (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Simple to use, very affordable premiums

As I am a young driver, it's almost impossible to find decent cover for my little car which is legitimately listed under my name as the main driver. Progressive is affordable, easy to use as a service and provides very respectable insurance with...
Full review

As I am a young driver, it's almost impossible to find decent cover for my little car which is legitimately listed under my name as the main driver. Progressive is affordable, easy to use as a service and provides very respectable insurance with agreeable terms and conditions. Whilst they may seem a little impersonal due to mainly dealing with customers online, they are reachable to chat to if need be.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Elizabeth (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Cheap prices for great cover

Everything is done online, cheap prices for great cover, never had to call them, never had a problem with anything.
Full review

Everything is done online, cheap prices for great cover, never had to call them, never had a problem with anything.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Timothy (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

They offer a pretty good service

When someone crashed into me they fixed my car fairly promptly.
Full review

When someone crashed into me they fixed my car fairly promptly.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   -1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mark (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good fast service online

Difficult to really rate as I've never had to make a claim with them but the price is very competitive.
Full review

Difficult to really rate as I've never had to make a claim with them but the price is very competitive.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Ross , reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Totally online, fantastic!

Love being able to choose the product I want with the coverage I want online, no sales people involved!
Full review

Love being able to choose the product I want with the coverage I want online, no sales people involved!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vanessa (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive premium

I like Progressive because they are 100% online which does save me money and who doesn't want to save money these days. Finding things on the website is easy but people need to be aware that if you need to make a claim you can't just ring them you...
Full review

I like Progressive because they are 100% online which does save me money and who doesn't want to save money these days. Finding things on the website is easy but people need to be aware that if you need to make a claim you can't just ring them you need a computer.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Wendy (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great pricing, easy to deal with

Progressive Direct comprehensive insurance is the best value for money on the market. Being a young male, with a ute that I am lucky to drive twice a week due to other household cars and a close proximity to my place of work, I simply couldn't...
Full review

Progressive Direct comprehensive insurance is the best value for money on the market. Being a young male, with a ute that I am lucky to drive twice a week due to other household cars and a close proximity to my place of work, I simply couldn't afford to pay $2800 for insurance as a rating 3 driver. With progressive I have only had to pay $980 to cover me for my agreed value.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy

Easy and cheap.
Full review

Easy and cheap.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tina , reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Progressive Direct

Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good premiums never had to use them for any claim

Easy excess, no hassles signing up.
Full review

Easy excess, no hassles signing up.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Back to top