RACQ car insurance reviews

RACQ

How is RACQ car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

82%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.2 out of 10

RACQ car insurance

Overall rating: 8.2 (285 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 08 October 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 730

Thumbs up: 700 | Thumbs down: 29

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.

Featured car insurance from RACQ

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 60%

  • online discount

    $50


Other car insurance

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 70%

  • online discount

    none

  • Get quote
     
  • SureCover Plus Motor Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    Up to 15%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent RACQ car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • RACQ - don't trust them to pay up !

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 12 days ago)

    I was not insured with RACQ but one of their drivers was, who was drunk at the time. RACQ admitted 100% liability yet here we are 5 years later and it has still not been resolved. We haven't even had a talk at a table to try and arrive at a resolu...  Full review 

    I was not insured with RACQ but one of their drivers was, who was drunk at the time. RACQ admitted 100% liability yet here we are 5 years later and it has still not been resolved. We haven't even had a talk at a table to try and arrive at a resolution! If your claim ever involves personal injury and lost income you can bet RACQ will drag you through the mill and leave no stone unturned as they try to wriggle out of everything. It is disgusting and pathetic that they are allowed to leave you in limbo for so long while lawyers push pieces of paper around. They don't live up to their mission statement at all when it comes to trying to settle something quickly and fairly. Fixing a car seems to be the only thing they are good at, fixing your life is something they are not interested in. I make it my mission to inform everyone, on a daily basis to not be tempted into insuring with RACQ.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Angry aussie from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 month ago)

    You get what you pay for with no hidden costs.  Full review 

    You get what you pay for with no hidden costs.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Nola from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service and speedy claims

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    I like RACQ as they have friendly, helpful consultants who make it their mission to give you the cover you need, for the lowest cost available. Claims are processed quickly and easily. I have only ever had good experiences when dealing with this i...  Full review 

    I like RACQ as they have friendly, helpful consultants who make it their mission to give you the cover you need, for the lowest cost available. Claims are processed quickly and easily. I have only ever had good experiences when dealing with this insurer.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Rochelle from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Reliable and easy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Never had any problems, very helpful.  Full review 

    Never had any problems, very helpful.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Terri

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive rates and A+ service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    I am extremely happy with the service I received from RACQ Insurance. After a recent accident, they assessed my car straight away. It was fixed in 3 days and they supplied a cab to and from my home to pick up my vehicle. They also waived the exces...  Full review 

    I am extremely happy with the service I received from RACQ Insurance. After a recent accident, they assessed my car straight away. It was fixed in 3 days and they supplied a cab to and from my home to pick up my vehicle. They also waived the excess fee and pursued the unregistered vehicles owner for damages.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Patricia from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Value for money, exceptional customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    RACQ Insurance offer value for money, loyalty discounts, exceptional service and flexibility on a range of policies. They listen to your needs and genuinely want to help. My experience with them has been one I will recommend to others.  Full review 

    RACQ Insurance offer value for money, loyalty discounts, exceptional service and flexibility on a range of policies. They listen to your needs and genuinely want to help. My experience with them has been one I will recommend to others.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Natalie from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    I had a car accident and rang RACQ straight away. They had the car inspected and valued within 12 hours and the money in my bank within a few days. Awesome service.  Full review 

    I had a car accident and rang RACQ straight away. They had the car inspected and valued within 12 hours and the money in my bank within a few days. Awesome service.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Lyn from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Previous claims experience was good, they also matched premiums recently.  Full review 

    Previous claims experience was good, they also matched premiums recently.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Gary from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive premiums and pay by the month option

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Like being able to bundle and pay monthly. Get good discounts for being a member of RACQ and having multiple policies. No premiums increased in last financial year which was great. Previous insurers we have had increased by 50-100% over a 12 month...  Full review 

    Like being able to bundle and pay monthly. Get good discounts for being a member of RACQ and having multiple policies. No premiums increased in last financial year which was great. Previous insurers we have had increased by 50-100% over a 12 month period. Easy to organise as consultants easy to talk to.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Caroline from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Affordable and great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    I like RACQ car insurance cover and have always had 3rd party fire and theft. Although I've never had to use them, the customer service is great and the price is affordable compared to other insurance companies.  Full review 

    I like RACQ car insurance cover and have always had 3rd party fire and theft. Although I've never had to use them, the customer service is great and the price is affordable compared to other insurance companies.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Cassie from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Awesome customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    RACQ is a trusted company. Other companies can be a bit cheaper, however, with the couple of minor claims we have made, they have handled efficiently making the process easy for us.  Full review 

    RACQ is a trusted company. Other companies can be a bit cheaper, however, with the couple of minor claims we have made, they have handled efficiently making the process easy for us.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Rachel from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Outstanding customer service and claim filing!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    I like RACQ due to the great customer service. The only drawback was the wait time on the phone. RACQ are very helpful and try to provide us with every discount possible. The branch staff are wonderful and I would recommend this insurance company ...  Full review 

    I like RACQ due to the great customer service. The only drawback was the wait time on the phone. RACQ are very helpful and try to provide us with every discount possible. The branch staff are wonderful and I would recommend this insurance company to all.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Tom from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive rates and awesome service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    RACQ has always been very easy to deal with - helpful and quick and their rates are very competitive, especially if you are a long time customer and have other policies with them.  Full review 

    RACQ has always been very easy to deal with - helpful and quick and their rates are very competitive, especially if you are a long time customer and have other policies with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Anne from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    Competitive price, good service.  Full review 

    Competitive price, good service.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Garry from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Excellent products and proficiency, plus claims

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Cons: I would really like an insurance company to do replacement value. When I asked, I just got ignored and they just keep talking, even asked again but to no avail! Just a simple yes or no would have done. It made me ask why I'm with them, when ...  Full review 

    Cons: I would really like an insurance company to do replacement value. When I asked, I just got ignored and they just keep talking, even asked again but to no avail! Just a simple yes or no would have done. It made me ask why I'm with them, when they won't answer a simple question. The bundle method combining car, boat, house etc. leaves customers a little confused and believing it is the only way to shop to get the most savings. In the end, it really pays to shop around. You can do better on price. Pros: Extremely proficient at handling claims, especially with the length of time to process, as some companies take a week or more to complete a claim.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Susan from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Best insurance out there for cars

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Always have a smile on their face when I come in, very fast and easy service. Always feel like I have all my questions answered.  Full review 

    Always have a smile on their face when I come in, very fast and easy service. Always feel like I have all my questions answered.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Daniel

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    RACQ is a great and trustworthy provider. They are Queenslanders for Queenslanders.  Full review 

    RACQ is a great and trustworthy provider. They are Queenslanders for Queenslanders.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Damien from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Easy, fast, friendly from start to finish

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Never a problem, always helpful and there to see you through the claim, easy assessment and fast turnaround.  Full review 

    Never a problem, always helpful and there to see you through the claim, easy assessment and fast turnaround.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Troy

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Easy, pleasant service, great price

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Easy to contact and deal with for repairs. Good options for repairers in nearby suburbs/towns.  Full review 

    Easy to contact and deal with for repairs. Good options for repairers in nearby suburbs/towns.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Deonie

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Terrible

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Beware of RACQ! They cancelled my insurance when my card expired as their policy is to send a letter in the post, which I did not receive. I have 5 cars under RACQ, and now had a crash in one car and it's been written off. The phone call to RACQ w...  Full review 

    Beware of RACQ! They cancelled my insurance when my card expired as their policy is to send a letter in the post, which I did not receive. I have 5 cars under RACQ, and now had a crash in one car and it's been written off. The phone call to RACQ was quite devastating. I learnt that they have cancelled my policy, and now I have to pay for the bill. A simple text or phone call before it had expired would have meant the difference to having to get a loan to pay for my bills. This has absolutely been a devastating time for myself and my family and my business.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Matt from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    My car is currently insured by RACQ insurance. I am very happy with their service. My only complaint is I was overseas for a year and a half and sold my car prior to leaving. When I went to insure my new car with RACQ, I had to start on the lowest...  Full review 

    My car is currently insured by RACQ insurance. I am very happy with their service. My only complaint is I was overseas for a year and a half and sold my car prior to leaving. When I went to insure my new car with RACQ, I had to start on the lowest category/card of insurance instead of the higher level I was at prior to travel.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Courtney from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fast, efficient, affordable

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Great and efficient service, would strongly recommend.  Full review 

    Great and efficient service, would strongly recommend.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Danika

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    We have always been with them and have had no trouble and always been fixed if there is a problem.  Full review 

    We have always been with them and have had no trouble and always been fixed if there is a problem.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Denise from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Comprehensive policies, accessible for all ages

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    RACQ send me regular updates on policy changes and great deals. They also appeal to all age demographics, by advertising through a wide variety of sources (Facebook and other Internet sites, by post, phone etc.). Every encounter I have had with th...  Full review 

    RACQ send me regular updates on policy changes and great deals. They also appeal to all age demographics, by advertising through a wide variety of sources (Facebook and other Internet sites, by post, phone etc.). Every encounter I have had with them, I have felt thoroughly looked after and do not feel as though I am merely a consumer. Their on-road services are also very efficient, and I would recommend them to anyone.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Courtney from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    As an insurer RACQ were happy to match quotes I had received prior to taking out car insurance with them. When I did have a problem recently, I was able to quickly resolve the issue over the phone with minimal hassles.  Full review 

    As an insurer RACQ were happy to match quotes I had received prior to taking out car insurance with them. When I did have a problem recently, I was able to quickly resolve the issue over the phone with minimal hassles.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACQ car insurance reviewed by Liam from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.