RACV car insurance reviews

RACV

How is RACV car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

79%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 7.9 out of 10

RACV car insurance

Overall rating: 7.9 (307 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 28 July 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 813

Thumbs up: 760 | Thumbs down: 53

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.

Featured car insurance from RACV

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    none


Other car insurance

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 60%

  • online discount

    20%

  • Get quote
     
  • Gold Comprehensive
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    Up to 10%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent RACV car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Can be better

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 19 hours ago)

    Can be better. Customer service is slow when calling up. I recommend going for the cheapest comprehensive you can find. Not having to call your insurer is a good thing.  Full review 

    Can be better. Customer service is slow when calling up. I recommend going for the cheapest comprehensive you can find. Not having to call your insurer is a good thing.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Ben from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Would recommend and feel that I can trust them

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    Have not had a claim thankfully. Love that I can pay monthly and not have to do it all in one hit. Also get a multi policy discount as we have house insurance with them too.  Full review 

    Have not had a claim thankfully. Love that I can pay monthly and not have to do it all in one hit. Also get a multi policy discount as we have house insurance with them too.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Suzanne

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive and rewarding for loyal customers

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 days ago)

    My insurer rewards customer loyalty with premium discounts when they have more than one policy. They also offer customers discounts on other purchases from other companies.  Full review 

    My insurer rewards customer loyalty with premium discounts when they have more than one policy. They also offer customers discounts on other purchases from other companies.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Janet from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great deals

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 14 days ago)

    The pros for this insurer is that you will get a discount for being with them over a period of time.  Full review 

    The pros for this insurer is that you will get a discount for being with them over a period of time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Tayla from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Straight forward cover

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 18 days ago)

    Efficient and kept me in the picture.  Full review 

    Efficient and kept me in the picture.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by John

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Not impressed

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 25 days ago)

    I have been with RACV for 20 years. I had to claim when I had malicious damage done to my car. They should have written it off, because for the last 5 years I have had to get work done repeatedly because the repairer did a shonky job. I am out of...  Full review 

    I have been with RACV for 20 years. I had to claim when I had malicious damage done to my car. They should have written it off, because for the last 5 years I have had to get work done repeatedly because the repairer did a shonky job. I am out of pocket because I have to make time to get it to a repairer and the hassles from assessors every time I need to get the job redone, but hey OK when you take my premium every year!!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Mary

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Not a happy client!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 29 days ago)

    I have been with RACV for over 20 years. Two years ago, I nominated my daughter as a driver on my car as she got her license and was driving my car regularly. Few months ago she had a small accident and because she was under 25, they said she need...  Full review 

    I have been with RACV for over 20 years. Two years ago, I nominated my daughter as a driver on my car as she got her license and was driving my car regularly. Few months ago she had a small accident and because she was under 25, they said she needed to pay $2200- excess. The damage was only $1200- max . They didn't even take into consideration that I have not made a claim in over 15 yrs. Am now looking for another insurer.... They just lost a life long customer!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Anna

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RACV are there to help :-)

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    RACV have great customer service and with a comparison I did, it was found to be the cheapest for me considering I didn't have much money to spend on insurance. Thank you RACV :-)  Full review 

    RACV have great customer service and with a comparison I did, it was found to be the cheapest for me considering I didn't have much money to spend on insurance. Thank you RACV :-)


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Dianna

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    You get to speak to a real person who is professional and friendly. I have not had a bad experience with them.  Full review 

    You get to speak to a real person who is professional and friendly. I have not had a bad experience with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Janelle from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Calls are answered quickly, and good rates.  Full review 

    Calls are answered quickly, and good rates.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Marie from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Deliver what they promise

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    My car insurance seems rather pricy compared to others advertised but when I obtain quotes from alternative companies, RACV is the same price. I have been with them for 15 years and have made a few claims. Each time has been easy and straight forw...  Full review 

    My car insurance seems rather pricy compared to others advertised but when I obtain quotes from alternative companies, RACV is the same price. I have been with them for 15 years and have made a few claims. Each time has been easy and straight forward.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Sara from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Highly recommend

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    Couldn't imagine I'd be smiling again, after RACV helped me fix my car that just came back today. The customer service is amazing.  Full review 

    Couldn't imagine I'd be smiling again, after RACV helped me fix my car that just came back today. The customer service is amazing.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Alia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Very good insurance

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    RACV is very reliable and the cover is great.  Full review 

    RACV is very reliable and the cover is great.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Charlotte

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service and coverage

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    The only time I needed to make a claim, the customer care person suggested based on my excess I would be better off not claiming. To me that's good service. Suggesting what's best for me.  Full review 

    The only time I needed to make a claim, the customer care person suggested based on my excess I would be better off not claiming. To me that's good service. Suggesting what's best for me.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Andrea from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Value and quality

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    They are a quality provider of insurance, they treat all their customers with utmost respect, and they know what I need when I call them.  Full review 

    They are a quality provider of insurance, they treat all their customers with utmost respect, and they know what I need when I call them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Danielle from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    Claims were quick, easy and without stress. They cover what I need and are cheaper than most.  Full review 

    Claims were quick, easy and without stress. They cover what I need and are cheaper than most.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Janet from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fast and efficient service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    Any company that when you call and say an accident has occurred they do the following. Organise a truck ASAP. Organise a car for you. Offer compassion and a friendly tone (Whilst you are freaking out) Not to mention fast and efficient.  Full review 

    Any company that when you call and say an accident has occurred they do the following. Organise a truck ASAP. Organise a car for you. Offer compassion and a friendly tone (Whilst you are freaking out) Not to mention fast and efficient.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Brooke from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • More loyalty bonuses would be appreciated

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    A bit expensive but they have a lot of bundling options, might consider shopping around to get cheaper car insurance.  Full review 

    A bit expensive but they have a lot of bundling options, might consider shopping around to get cheaper car insurance.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Lisa from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Phone service stinks but the rest is ok

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    I have been with RACV for a long time. They are efficient usually. Their roadside service has usually been good but it seems to take longer now to get help than it did four years ago. I recently had an accident a few weeks ago. The assessor told m...  Full review 

    I have been with RACV for a long time. They are efficient usually. Their roadside service has usually been good but it seems to take longer now to get help than it did four years ago. I recently had an accident a few weeks ago. The assessor told me it was a write off in two days. I tried to ring the claims office but run out of credit on my phone twice. The last time I tried I was on the phone for 3-4 hours on hold. I finally made contact with a human only to be put on hold again for a much shorter time. Once I managed to get to talk, the claim was sorted out within a couple of minutes. The money was in the bank a week later.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Karene from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RACV took care of everything in my fragile state

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    After being hit by a garbage truck last year at 6 months pregnant, two young kiddies in the car, husband away, RACV took care of everything swiftly and professionally. They were also the cheapest and offered me the most coverage at age 24 at the t...  Full review 

    After being hit by a garbage truck last year at 6 months pregnant, two young kiddies in the car, husband away, RACV took care of everything swiftly and professionally. They were also the cheapest and offered me the most coverage at age 24 at the time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Molly

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Comprehensive service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I like RACV because they are easy to communicate with and make it easy to find the right policy for you. But in saying that they are unnecessarily expensive.  Full review 

    I like RACV because they are easy to communicate with and make it easy to find the right policy for you. But in saying that they are unnecessarily expensive.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Nymie from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Great help when my windscreen cracked.  Full review 

    Great help when my windscreen cracked.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Jacque from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Nice, friendly, peace of mind

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I do like RACV, they are generally helpful and do listen.  Full review 

    I do like RACV, they are generally helpful and do listen.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Daniel from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Are OK

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I find I get better service when I actually go in and talk to somebody in the RACV shop, rather than on the phone.  Full review 

    I find I get better service when I actually go in and talk to somebody in the RACV shop, rather than on the phone.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Julie from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RACV is fantastic

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Highly recommend RACV Car insurance because if you take out a policy, not only do you get just insurance, you can add optional extras like roadside assistance and more, just check them out!  Full review 

    Highly recommend RACV Car insurance because if you take out a policy, not only do you get just insurance, you can add optional extras like roadside assistance and more, just check them out!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Nathaniel from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.