RACV car insurance reviews

RACV

How is RACV car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

79%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 7.9 out of 10

RACV car insurance

Overall rating: 7.9 (325 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 24 October 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 856

Thumbs up: 800 | Thumbs down: 56

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.

Featured car insurance from RACV

  • Complete Care Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    none


Other car insurance

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    up to 65%

  • online discount

    15%

  • Get quote
     
  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    Not Published

  • online discount

    none

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent RACV car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Go RACV

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 26 days ago)

    I'm a mum of 5 driving a safe car with full insurance. To protect our family from any accidents is number 1 in my book. RACV understood that and worked with me and my budget to get the best out come I could ask for, GO RACV.  Full review 

    I'm a mum of 5 driving a safe car with full insurance. To protect our family from any accidents is number 1 in my book. RACV understood that and worked with me and my budget to get the best out come I could ask for, GO RACV.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Kimberlee from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 26 days ago)

    They have always done the right thing by me.  Full review 

    They have always done the right thing by me.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Debra from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service and hassle free claims

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 months ago)

    Pro: claims are easy and you can trust them Cons: not great value for money  Full review 

    Pro: claims are easy and you can trust them Cons: not great value for money


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Devinder from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Reasonable cost and good service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 months ago)

    Their claims handling is good, but it is difficult to use your choice of repairer.  Full review 

    Their claims handling is good, but it is difficult to use your choice of repairer.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Heather from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • A good company to deal with

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    They could not have been more helpful when I found it necessary to make a claim last year. After experiencing a lot of trouble trying to get satisfaction from the insurance company of the driver who ran into the back of my stationary car, I handed...  Full review 

    They could not have been more helpful when I found it necessary to make a claim last year. After experiencing a lot of trouble trying to get satisfaction from the insurance company of the driver who ran into the back of my stationary car, I handed all the details to my insurers and I got quick service with the repairs and all paperwork was handled for me. I am very pleased with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by June from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Insure here and save there

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    The rewards of being a silver member aren't that great, however there are rewards like discounts not offered by other insurers. Also having the home insured by the same company makes it easier to manage but I feel a greater discount should be offe...  Full review 

    The rewards of being a silver member aren't that great, however there are rewards like discounts not offered by other insurers. Also having the home insured by the same company makes it easier to manage but I feel a greater discount should be offered.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Frank from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I like this insurer as our claims have been dealt with immediately, courteously, and have not affected our premiums.  Full review 

    I like this insurer as our claims have been dealt with immediately, courteously, and have not affected our premiums.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Malcolm from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Reliable

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I have always been with RACV as have my parents and grandparents and have never had a problem.  Full review 

    I have always been with RACV as have my parents and grandparents and have never had a problem.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Deaarna from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Would recommend to others

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Satisfied customer.  Full review 

    Satisfied customer.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Amanda

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good customer service as well as emergency service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    These guys are never late. They also have pretty good basic coverage. The towing service has also helped me out a couple of times.  Full review 

    These guys are never late. They also have pretty good basic coverage. The towing service has also helped me out a couple of times.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Luke from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    I love RACV's years of service discount.  Full review 

    I love RACV's years of service discount.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Heather from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Can be better

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Can be better. Customer service is slow when calling up. I recommend going for the cheapest comprehensive you can find. Not having to call your insurer is a good thing.  Full review 

    Can be better. Customer service is slow when calling up. I recommend going for the cheapest comprehensive you can find. Not having to call your insurer is a good thing.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Ben from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Would recommend and feel that I can trust them

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Have not had a claim thankfully. Love that I can pay monthly and not have to do it all in one hit. Also get a multi policy discount as we have house insurance with them too.  Full review 

    Have not had a claim thankfully. Love that I can pay monthly and not have to do it all in one hit. Also get a multi policy discount as we have house insurance with them too.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Suzanne

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive and rewarding for loyal customers

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    My insurer rewards customer loyalty with premium discounts when they have more than one policy. They also offer customers discounts on other purchases from other companies.  Full review 

    My insurer rewards customer loyalty with premium discounts when they have more than one policy. They also offer customers discounts on other purchases from other companies.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Janet from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great deals

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    The pros for this insurer is that you will get a discount for being with them over a period of time.  Full review 

    The pros for this insurer is that you will get a discount for being with them over a period of time.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Tayla from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Straight forward cover

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Efficient and kept me in the picture.  Full review 

    Efficient and kept me in the picture.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by John

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Not impressed

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I have been with RACV for 20 years. I had to claim when I had malicious damage done to my car. They should have written it off, because for the last 5 years I have had to get work done repeatedly because the repairer did a shonky job. I am out of...  Full review 

    I have been with RACV for 20 years. I had to claim when I had malicious damage done to my car. They should have written it off, because for the last 5 years I have had to get work done repeatedly because the repairer did a shonky job. I am out of pocket because I have to make time to get it to a repairer and the hassles from assessors every time I need to get the job redone, but hey OK when you take my premium every year!!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Mary

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Not a happy client!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I have been with RACV for over 20 years. Two years ago, I nominated my daughter as a driver on my car as she got her license and was driving my car regularly. Few months ago she had a small accident and because she was under 25, they said she need...  Full review 

    I have been with RACV for over 20 years. Two years ago, I nominated my daughter as a driver on my car as she got her license and was driving my car regularly. Few months ago she had a small accident and because she was under 25, they said she needed to pay $2200- excess. The damage was only $1200- max . They didn't even take into consideration that I have not made a claim in over 15 yrs. Am now looking for another insurer.... They just lost a life long customer!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Anna

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RACV are there to help :-)

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    RACV have great customer service and with a comparison I did, it was found to be the cheapest for me considering I didn't have much money to spend on insurance. Thank you RACV :-)  Full review 

    RACV have great customer service and with a comparison I did, it was found to be the cheapest for me considering I didn't have much money to spend on insurance. Thank you RACV :-)


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Dianna

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    You get to speak to a real person who is professional and friendly. I have not had a bad experience with them.  Full review 

    You get to speak to a real person who is professional and friendly. I have not had a bad experience with them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Janelle from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    Calls are answered quickly, and good rates.  Full review 

    Calls are answered quickly, and good rates.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Marie from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Deliver what they promise

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    My car insurance seems rather pricy compared to others advertised but when I obtain quotes from alternative companies, RACV is the same price. I have been with them for 15 years and have made a few claims. Each time has been easy and straight forw...  Full review 

    My car insurance seems rather pricy compared to others advertised but when I obtain quotes from alternative companies, RACV is the same price. I have been with them for 15 years and have made a few claims. Each time has been easy and straight forward.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Sara from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Highly recommend

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    Couldn't imagine I'd be smiling again, after RACV helped me fix my car that just came back today. The customer service is amazing.  Full review 

    Couldn't imagine I'd be smiling again, after RACV helped me fix my car that just came back today. The customer service is amazing.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Alia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Very good insurance

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    RACV is very reliable and the cover is great.  Full review 

    RACV is very reliable and the cover is great.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Charlotte

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service and coverage

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    The only time I needed to make a claim, the customer care person suggested based on my excess I would be better off not claiming. To me that's good service. Suggesting what's best for me.  Full review 

    The only time I needed to make a claim, the customer care person suggested based on my excess I would be better off not claiming. To me that's good service. Suggesting what's best for me.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    RACV car insurance reviewed by Andrea from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.