SGIC car insurance reviews

SGIC

How is SGIC car insurance rated by the Mozo community?

85%

Overall Mozo Community rating: 8.5 out of 10

SGIC car insurance

Overall rating: 8.5 (45 reviews)*

Last reviewed: 21 October 2014


  1. Overall customer rating
  1. Value for money
  1. Policy coverage
  1. Customer service
  1. Claims handling
  1. Trust

* based on reviews in the past 12 months

Reviews: 105

Thumbs up: 102 | Thumbs down: 3

Get quote

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers.


Other car insurance

  • Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    Not Published

  • online discount

    none

  • Get quote
     
  • Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance
  • maximum no claim discount

    Not Published

  • online discount

    20%

  • Get quote
     

Compare all car insurance

Write a review

Recent SGIC car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Not comopetitive at all

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    I think we are being charged too much for the value of the car.  Full review 

    I think we are being charged too much for the value of the car.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Raelene from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Definitely

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    We have found SGIC to be trustworthy and you can count on them to take care of your problem fast and they genuinely care that you are happy with the workmanship of the crash repairers they recommend. We have been with them for over 20 yrs. In fact...  Full review 

    We have found SGIC to be trustworthy and you can count on them to take care of your problem fast and they genuinely care that you are happy with the workmanship of the crash repairers they recommend. We have been with them for over 20 yrs. In fact we trust them so much, our home is insured with them as well.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Brenda from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Overall the insurer is good, the only problem is when you make a claim, they provide you with all of the money for the cost of the repair less the premium, previous insurers pay direct to the body repair provider.  Full review 

    Overall the insurer is good, the only problem is when you make a claim, they provide you with all of the money for the cost of the repair less the premium, previous insurers pay direct to the body repair provider.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Jamie from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Helpful & Quality Service with Competitive prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 months ago)

    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome! SGIC provide me delightful customer service on all of my insurance policies, in addition, they take care of multiple policy holders. Never had a single negative experience and would certainly recommend them to friends, f...  Full review 

    Awesome, Awesome, Awesome! SGIC provide me delightful customer service on all of my insurance policies, in addition, they take care of multiple policy holders. Never had a single negative experience and would certainly recommend them to friends, family and strangers.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Tanya from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good, competitive price

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Very helpful when making a claim.  Full review 

    Very helpful when making a claim.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Alison from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 4 months ago)

    Great premium for my 2011 SSV. Covers modifications to the car and great customer service over the phone.  Full review 

    Great premium for my 2011 SSV. Covers modifications to the car and great customer service over the phone.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Craig from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • The best car insurer I have had by far!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    So very helpful, takes the sting out of putting through a claim. Explain everything thoroughly and they go out of their way to make sure you understand everything about the process.  Full review 

    So very helpful, takes the sting out of putting through a claim. Explain everything thoroughly and they go out of their way to make sure you understand everything about the process.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Kylie from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Average price need to cater for students

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    As a young student, I don't believe SGIC provides a reasonable price for people like me for car insurance. I can only afford the 3rd party insurance which doesn't cover anything I need, but is all I can afford with this carrier due to high prices!...  Full review 

    As a young student, I don't believe SGIC provides a reasonable price for people like me for car insurance. I can only afford the 3rd party insurance which doesn't cover anything I need, but is all I can afford with this carrier due to high prices! I will be moving to another insurance company soon.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Evette from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Friendly, detailed, with it and realistic

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 months ago)

    I've had friends who have been with them for years and have nothing but good to say. They gave me the best deal in the universe...I was able to insure my Hiace camper van for what it is really worth and beat the competition by hundreds of dollars...  Full review 

    I've had friends who have been with them for years and have nothing but good to say. They gave me the best deal in the universe...I was able to insure my Hiace camper van for what it is really worth and beat the competition by hundreds of dollars. Seriously impressed! Some providers didn't even know what a camper van was! I feel relaxed and confident doing business with them. A joy to behold in this fast track impersonal world.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Serge from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great service and price

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 6 months ago)

    Friendly over the phone and much cheaper than any other car insurer I contacted. If you tell them your last quote they will try to beat it.  Full review 

    Friendly over the phone and much cheaper than any other car insurer I contacted. If you tell them your last quote they will try to beat it.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Nicholas from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive premiums and excellent service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 months ago)

    I have had so many problems with insurers in the past but SGIC has been an absolute pleasure to deal with and I can't find anybody who can beat their prices.  Full review 

    I have had so many problems with insurers in the past but SGIC has been an absolute pleasure to deal with and I can't find anybody who can beat their prices.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Sarah from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 months ago)

    I thought the customer service was good and the people I talked to were very nice and very helpful.  Full review 

    I thought the customer service was good and the people I talked to were very nice and very helpful.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Estelle from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Good to deal with, good prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 12 months ago)

    I have had no problem with them and they are always nice to me if I have a question.  Full review 

    I have had no problem with them and they are always nice to me if I have a question.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Joel from Western Australia

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Excellent customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    Never made a claim in my life then all of a sudden I had to make two and they made the process so easy!  Full review 

    Never made a claim in my life then all of a sudden I had to make two and they made the process so easy!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Terry from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Cheapest policies plus great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    They will beat your cheapest quote by 10%. Quotes can be obtained and insurance policies organised via the phone. They provide a simpler way to make a claims. They have been around for over 40 years so have the experience to provide great customer...  Full review 

    They will beat your cheapest quote by 10%. Quotes can be obtained and insurance policies organised via the phone. They provide a simpler way to make a claims. They have been around for over 40 years so have the experience to provide great customer service as well as quality cover for your car. I thoroughly recommend them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Judith anne from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    Good value for money, great customer service and always willing to go above and beyond to get the best deal possible!  Full review 

    Good value for money, great customer service and always willing to go above and beyond to get the best deal possible!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Fantastic

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    Great option to cover your vehicle.  Full review 

    Great option to cover your vehicle.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Monique

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Great premiums

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    Easy to talk to and the claims process seems to be easy to get through.  Full review 

    Easy to talk to and the claims process seems to be easy to get through.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by a Mozo reviewer from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • They are really nice you should try them

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    They saved us about $500 a year and they are very plesent to talk to. They are great and it was so easy to change to them.  Full review 

    They saved us about $500 a year and they are very plesent to talk to. They are great and it was so easy to change to them.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by a Mozo reviewer from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Very competitive and excellent service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    This insurer is second to none, they have processed two claims for me and they were handled very professionally.  Full review 

    This insurer is second to none, they have processed two claims for me and they were handled very professionally.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by a Mozo reviewer from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Drama free

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 year ago)

    I have had nothing but drama with insurance companies over the years constantly putting my premiums even though I never claimed. SGIC however reward their customers for their loyalty instead of penalising it.  Full review 

    I have had nothing but drama with insurance companies over the years constantly putting my premiums even though I never claimed. SGIC however reward their customers for their loyalty instead of penalising it.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by a Mozo reviewer from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • A friendly family you can trust!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed over 1 year ago)

    With a combination of customer service, value for money and results for claims, your car insurer should give you the confidence to take that road trip you've always wanted!  Full review 

    With a combination of customer service, value for money and results for claims, your car insurer should give you the confidence to take that road trip you've always wanted!


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Yasmin from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Competitive prices

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed over 1 year ago)

    This is a new policy as I changed from my long standing one due to increasing costs. I have not needed to make a claim so unable to comment on some questions. The staff when making initial inquiries were great.  Full review 

    This is a new policy as I changed from my long standing one due to increasing costs. I have not needed to make a claim so unable to comment on some questions. The staff when making initial inquiries were great.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Debra from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Brilliant

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed over 1 year ago)

    Friendly, fast, reliable, very affordable.  Full review 

    Friendly, fast, reliable, very affordable.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Chris from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Quick responses

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed over 1 year ago)

    SGIC work well as insurers except when an accident does happen & the other person has the same insurer.  Full review 

    SGIC work well as insurers except when an accident does happen & the other person has the same insurer.


      1. Value for money
      1. Policy coverage
      1. Customer service
      1. Claims handling
      1. Trust
    Less
    SGIC car insurance reviewed by Michelle from South Australia

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.