bcu bank account reviews

bcu
bcu's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.8 / 10

based on 17 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from bcu

Recent bcu bank account reviews

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Honest and Reliable

I am very happy with the service.

Full review

I am very happy with the service.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Annie (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Satisfied with everything

They are a good good institution and you are well looked after as a customer

Full review

They are a good good institution and you are well looked after as a customer

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Justin (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

You will never beat that genuine people person

I have had trouble with a bank that I had been with for forty years. I was literally robbed by a member of the staff, with no apologies from the bank. l tried the Bendigo Bank support and was surprised how much they care about their customers and...

Full review

I have had trouble with a bank that I had been with for forty years. I was literally robbed by a member of the staff, with no apologies from the bank. l tried the Bendigo Bank support and was surprised how much they care about their customers and how much effort they put into each and every transaction that you have there no matter how big or small.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennie (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good service, not enough branches

For a small credit union it does very well. Both phone calls and phone enquires are answered promptly.

Full review

For a small credit union it does very well. Both phone calls and phone enquires are answered promptly.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (ACT), reviewed about 1 year ago

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They are average

BCU are okay, but need to be more helpful towards lower income earners.

Full review

BCU are okay, but need to be more helpful towards lower income earners.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerrie (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Overall a good bank

BCU is conveniently located and staff are always friendly, however opening hours can be too short.

Full review

BCU is conveniently located and staff are always friendly, however opening hours can be too short.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graeme (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Always good customer service

Monthly bank fees & keycard withdraw fees are a bit over priced. Hardly any atms etc between NSW & QLD.

Full review

Monthly bank fees & keycard withdraw fees are a bit over priced. Hardly any atms etc between NSW & QLD.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sharna (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I am very happy with BCU

I just like the way i can talk to the staff and when i ask for things to made simple. The staff do what ever to assist me. I also like how I can access my accounts on line to take care of my bills etc.

Full review

I just like the way i can talk to the staff and when i ask for things to made simple. The staff do what ever to assist me. I also like how I can access my accounts on line to take care of my bills etc.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Diana (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service.

Have been with them over 25 years & found them to be great in every way.

Full review

Have been with them over 25 years & found them to be great in every way.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Wayne (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Basic access accounts.

This is a small Credit Union that offers everything the big banks do with good rates of interest and fantastic service . They are never too busy to discus one's needs and try to find a suitable response for every event.

Full review

This is a small Credit Union that offers everything the big banks do with good rates of interest and fantastic service . They are never too busy to discus one's needs and try to find a suitable response for every event.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dawn (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Need more tellers in the bank

More ATMs needed.

Full review

More ATMs needed.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Asosa (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Nothing is any trouble -great staff -great service.

Full review

Nothing is any trouble -great staff -great service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Barry (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

BCU well out in front, at the post

BCU has always been there to serve me. Love the reasonable rates and local convenience,thanks guys.

Full review

BCU has always been there to serve me. Love the reasonable rates and local convenience,thanks guys.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Openess to negotiate interest rates

I like my 'credit union' because they give personal service, gave us a good interest rate when we refinanced our home loan and are very helpful with all our banking needs.

Full review

I like my 'credit union' because they give personal service, gave us a good interest rate when we refinanced our home loan and are very helpful with all our banking needs.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Carolyn (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best service and products

BCU offers the best service and products and I am unable to fault them, even though years ago I have worked in Banks, Credit Unions and Finance Companies.

Full review

BCU offers the best service and products and I am unable to fault them, even though years ago I have worked in Banks, Credit Unions and Finance Companies.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ronald (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Local, Trustworthy, Modern.

Banana Coast Credit Union, it's local, and it's got a groovy name, what more do you want!

Full review

Banana Coast Credit Union, it's local, and it's got a groovy name, what more do you want!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jasmine (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very very competitive

I'm in Darwin and the BCU offers rebates as I am a remote customer.

Full review

I'm in Darwin and the BCU offers rebates as I am a remote customer.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jeff (NT), reviewed almost 4 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive allrounder, great customer service

I have been with BCU for nearly 30 years and even with moving interstate I have alsway been able to stay with them. They have always been been very helpful with any concerns I've had and their security is amazing, any little transaction they think...

Full review

I have been with BCU for nearly 30 years and even with moving interstate I have alsway been able to stay with them. They have always been been very helpful with any concerns I've had and their security is amazing, any little transaction they think is out of the ordinary is jumped on and contact is made ASAP. I would highly recommend them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Karen (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

bcu

bcu Basic Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Forget the rest, BCU is the best

Banana Coast Credit Union is the best bank account around, it supports my local community in sports, making people happy so that there are more smiles in the world.

Full review

Banana Coast Credit Union is the best bank account around, it supports my local community in sports, making people happy so that there are more smiles in the world.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Luke (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer experience

They are local, love to have a bit of a chat, and really look after you. We (being my family as well as myself) have never had a problem with them, whether it be our accounts, if we need a loan, or anything else. They are a great Credit Union.

Full review

They are local, love to have a bit of a chat, and really look after you. We (being my family as well as myself) have never had a problem with them, whether it be our accounts, if we need a loan, or anything else. They are a great Credit Union.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Matt (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Competitive premiums

I have been with this bank for over 25 years and they have not been very good. I have paid back loans with no trouble or late payments but when I wanted a credit card they would only give me a 5000 limit even though I had considerable savings with...

Full review

I have been with this bank for over 25 years and they have not been very good. I have paid back loans with no trouble or late payments but when I wanted a credit card they would only give me a 5000 limit even though I had considerable savings with them. Their reason for giving me this limit was so that I could rack up the credit card and not pay it. I was shocked at this reply as I have never been a risk with them and to say I would be a risk to them after all this time was embarrassing. I am looking to change banks.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Local institute that cares for the clients

We have been with BCU for approx. 30 years and have always been looked after. At present we have term deposits and have found that the BCU has been competitive with all other banking institutes and we have been dealt with on a personal basis. The...

Full review

We have been with BCU for approx. 30 years and have always been looked after. At present we have term deposits and have found that the BCU has been competitive with all other banking institutes and we have been dealt with on a personal basis. The staff is always friendly and as it is a local organisation they care about the community.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Beverley (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good value

Good service and reasonable charges.

Full review

Good service and reasonable charges.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Alistair (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

bcu

bcu Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Customers are only a number

THe 'no charges' account I believed I had for a Disability Pension recipient is TOTALLY misleading & with dishonour charges of $30 per attempt for personel budgeting of inhouse payments they could at least consider your previous pattern & allow a...

Full review

THe 'no charges' account I believed I had for a Disability Pension recipient is TOTALLY misleading & with dishonour charges of $30 per attempt for personel budgeting of inhouse payments they could at least consider your previous pattern & allow a margin of good faith when an unavoidable error out of your control by centrelink that then results in late payment fees to the customers whom are least able to afford it (BCU notified prior of circumstance)

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Charm (NSW), reviewed about 6 years ago

bcu

bcu bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

BCU used to be small and very good but over the years and with growth they are more impersonal. They use Westpac as their backing bank and to get money out of a Westpac ATM cost $5 which is outrageous.

Full review

BCU used to be small and very good but over the years and with growth they are more impersonal. They use Westpac as their backing bank and to get money out of a Westpac ATM cost $5 which is outrageous.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tobi (QLD), reviewed about 7 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay|Samsung Pay|Garmin|Fitbit|PayTag

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Secure access to your account with Internet and Mobile Banking.
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    • Atm networks: HSBC
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 55 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Everyday Account

    MyState Bank Everyday Account

    • Get $100 cash by making 5 card transactions within 30 days (conditions apply)
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month or are under 23 years.

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay|Samsung Pay

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Get $100 cash by making 5 card transactions within 30 days (conditions apply)
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID
    • Atm networks: rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 32 MyState Bank bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    Payment Options

    Google Pay

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 109 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top