bcu home loan reviews

bcu
bcu's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.8 / 10

based on 13 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from bcu

Recent bcu home loan reviews

bcu

bcu All in One Line of Credit (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Still smiling.

All we want smoothly and easily. Staff listened to my needs and suggested a great product that will assist me now and into the future.

Full review

All we want smoothly and easily. Staff listened to my needs and suggested a great product that will assist me now and into the future.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jenny (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

They did their job

Full review

They did their job

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sherilynne (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

For ease of use and customer service excellent

Rebecca was excellent - made life very easy and manageable for 2 working people

Full review

Rebecca was excellent - made life very easy and manageable for 2 working people

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Hopeless and difficult to deal with

This review is worse than the last. Really disillusioned with the BCU at present. Have been with them for over 30 years. When I relocated 2 years ago they advanced me $20,000 variable rate secured mortgage for renovations to my property. I...

Full review

This review is worse than the last. Really disillusioned with the BCU at present. Have been with them for over 30 years. When I relocated 2 years ago they advanced me $20,000 variable rate secured mortgage for renovations to my property. I have never defaulted on a payment, my pension has gone in every two weeks, I have a credit card which has never been behind. I recently applied for a $6000 top up for more work on my house. I was declined - age discrimination - said they did not want to "saddle me with more debt" because I am 71 years old. Am really really angry and insulted and am in the process at the moment of trying to change everything over to another provider closer to where I live. I have recently acquired some casual work - one day a week - so have resubmitted my application to BCU just to see what they come back with but do not expect any joy. Totally disillusioned.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Edith (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Leaves the big banks for dead.

Thanks Grant for a professional stress free experience!

Full review

Thanks Grant for a professional stress free experience!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Corrine (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very good

Kerrie was awesome in helping us get what we needed and very flexible when we changed our goals.

Full review

Kerrie was awesome in helping us get what we needed and very flexible when we changed our goals.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Samantha (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service as always.

I would have changed my home loan to you if not for the governments unfair and outdated policies placed on us.

Full review

I would have changed my home loan to you if not for the governments unfair and outdated policies placed on us.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jan (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great experience

Kerrie looked after us through the whole process and made our homeLoan experience very easy considering we were interstate, I would recommend bcu to anyone just because of the great service we got from Kerrie

Full review

Kerrie looked after us through the whole process and made our homeLoan experience very easy considering we were interstate, I would recommend bcu to anyone just because of the great service we got from Kerrie

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shane (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

Every time you rang the office the manager was there to talk to you and discuss issues. Customer focus is very high.

Full review

Every time you rang the office the manager was there to talk to you and discuss issues. Customer focus is very high.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennifer (TAS), reviewed almost 3 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great products, friendly, convenient service.

BCU is my local Building Society. They gave me a Home Loan when the Teachers Credit Union in Qld, with whom I had been an original member for 35 years and serviced several loans with, would not. I moved all my accounts to the BCU and have not had...

Full review

BCU is my local Building Society. They gave me a Home Loan when the Teachers Credit Union in Qld, with whom I had been an original member for 35 years and serviced several loans with, would not. I moved all my accounts to the BCU and have not had a problem for the five years, I have been a happy customer. Staff are friendly, courteous and helpful, more like friends to us. Online banking easy, convenient and trouble free. BCU is great!!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Frank (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Exceptional customer service

At our bank, every teller greets you by name as you walk in the door. At our bank, I always leave with a smile on my face. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

Full review

At our bank, every teller greets you by name as you walk in the door. At our bank, I always leave with a smile on my face. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Katrina (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The customer service is beyond comparrison

The bank is very help full in all aspects of banking, and explains things in lay terms.

Full review

The bank is very help full in all aspects of banking, and explains things in lay terms.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bill (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Looking after every customer.

Because they were the only Bank who would give me a loan with a 5% deposit. Otherwise I would never have owned my own home.

Full review

Because they were the only Bank who would give me a loan with a 5% deposit. Otherwise I would never have owned my own home.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great local service with competitive products

Great local credit union, friendly staff who know you, can be a hassle finding fee-free ATMs when travelling.

Full review

Great local credit union, friendly staff who know you, can be a hassle finding fee-free ATMs when travelling.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Ceinwen (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great local knowledge and support.

Full review

Great local knowledge and support.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Owen (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service

All loans been secured by over the phone personal service. Would recommend to family and friends.

Full review

All loans been secured by over the phone personal service. Would recommend to family and friends.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Why go anywhere else?

Always ready to listen to questions and suggest changes that may help with any areas you may need with help with in your account(s). A reliable, friendly, helpful company. Why go anywhere else?

Full review

Always ready to listen to questions and suggest changes that may help with any areas you may need with help with in your account(s). A reliable, friendly, helpful company. Why go anywhere else?

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michele (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, willing to help

Very accessible and personal service. Willing to listen, be flexible and honest based on individual need.

Full review

Very accessible and personal service. Willing to listen, be flexible and honest based on individual need.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jo (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Unreliable

Unreliable clearing of cheques, statements and promises made which they renegaded on. Non returned calls - never been more disappointed. I'm removing all fixed terms, joint and childrens accounts immediately. Need communication and trust. I wanted...

Full review

Unreliable clearing of cheques, statements and promises made which they renegaded on. Non returned calls - never been more disappointed. I'm removing all fixed terms, joint and childrens accounts immediately. Need communication and trust. I wanted to support a local group, unfortunately this was not reciprocated.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Sharon (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

It couldn't have been easier.

Great product with all the bells and whistles attached. Deal direct with a person and not over the phone like our old bank.

Full review

Great product with all the bells and whistles attached. Deal direct with a person and not over the phone like our old bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Owen (NSW), reviewed about 6 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

OK banking

The BCU needs to catch up with 2012 banking. There is no app ( and I have enquired from staff) for phone banking. Our experience is that it has often taken more than one appointment to get a change of organisation within our accounts to be...

Full review

The BCU needs to catch up with 2012 banking. There is no app ( and I have enquired from staff) for phone banking. Our experience is that it has often taken more than one appointment to get a change of organisation within our accounts to be enacted. The physical structure of the organisation is developing and growing, but I really feel it needs a shot in the arm with PR on the front line and perhaps better access to inquiries and customer service through a total online availability.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Robyn (NSW), reviewed about 6 years ago

bcu

bcu Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Penalised for paying payments ahead in redraw home

I paid off my mortgage that was set up with redraw facility with payment of $40000 to save on interest as it seemed the best option for us & when we tried to redraw on same approx. 8 weeks later we were advised that they closed our loan & now we...

Full review

I paid off my mortgage that was set up with redraw facility with payment of $40000 to save on interest as it seemed the best option for us & when we tried to redraw on same approx. 8 weeks later we were advised that they closed our loan & now we have to reapply (more application, setup, etc fees & all) to remortgage our home, even though we had not finalised agreement or received ANY NOTIFICATION of such from the credit union other than our usual monthly printout statements that we'd overlooked checking the loan balance as we knew we were WAY AHEAD...big costly error.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Charm (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I feel that BCU could pass on the interest rate reduction as fast as they put it up. The girls in the Credit Union itself are always friendly and approachable about my needs.

Full review

I feel that BCU could pass on the interest rate reduction as fast as they put it up. The girls in the Credit Union itself are always friendly and approachable about my needs.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Nadene (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

We also have a credit card with BCU, the home loan is a Morgage offset Savings account. The staff are all very helpful . We pay $3 for fees per month and you could not complain about that

Full review

We also have a credit card with BCU, the home loan is a Morgage offset Savings account. The staff are all very helpful . We pay $3 for fees per month and you could not complain about that

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kay (NSW), reviewed almost 7 years ago

bcu

bcu home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Im horrified how BCU has treated their clients. We along with other good people in the community have had our properties ripped away from us for no reasonable excuse, with no chance to refinance etc. Then they added their legal costs onto our...

Full review

Im horrified how BCU has treated their clients. We along with other good people in the community have had our properties ripped away from us for no reasonable excuse, with no chance to refinance etc. Then they added their legal costs onto our bills. The people seem nice but the BCU system is cruel. Dont bank with BCU unless you want to risk them ripping your life from you at any time that pleases them without any concern for your well being. We now have a solicitor who is chasing BCU for these unreasonable issues, it's hard to fight a bank "credit union" but if you are with BCU you might want to start preparing yourself.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Naomi (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • AMP Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Professional Package)

    AMP Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Professional Package)

    • Need a loan that responds to your borrowing needs and financial goals
    • Offers the flexibility to structure debt effectively
    • 3.69% Variable Rate

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.02% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $295

    Go to site

    More info

    • Need a loan that responds to your borrowing needs and financial goals
    • Offers the flexibility to structure debt effectively
    • 3.69% Variable Rate
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.02% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $295
    • Ongoing fees: $349.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $100.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $750,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 51 AMP home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • CUA Advance Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    CUA Advance Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Offset your interest to save
    • Free redraw facility for easy access to additional payments
    • No monthly or application fees

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $195

    Go to site

    More info

    • Offset your interest to save
    • Free redraw facility for easy access to additional payments
    • No monthly or application fees
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $195
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $500.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - up to $50,000 maximum
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 89 CUA home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Get $1,000 cash into a USaver account on any loan (new or refinance) over $200k. (T&Cs apply).
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Get $1,000 cash into a USaver account on any loan (new or refinance) over $200k. (T&Cs apply).
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 504 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top