Thumbnail icon for Challenger

Challenger Home loan reviews

Overall rating
4.7/10
Price
5.6/10
Features
4.6/10
Customer service
4.4/10
Convenience
4.2/10
Trust
4.8/10
Based on 22 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Challenger home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Perfect for online banking

    If you do your banking solely online, and you're prepared to wait up to a few days to receive a redraw, then it's great. However, it does lack that 'personal touch' that local banks/credit unions etc have.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Dayna, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Interest rate higher than most banks

    It has no physical branch. The interest rate is high. Operate through a broker. Not helpful with the set up of internet banking as they offered this as one of their services. However, too difficult to access.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Fiona, Western Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Over and above customer service

    Their service has been great for us and that they will contact us if they are able to make changes to our loan if they will benefit us. Also they periodically contact us if we are looking for help with investment options also and have helped us with our progression towards owning our first investment property.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Carl, Victoria, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10

    be careful of the interest rate as it is much higher than elsewhere, and they are not very understanding when you have a problem that you wish to discuss with them. Overall I believe that with a little homework that there are better people do deal with.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Margaret, South Australia, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    I have had nothing but troubles with this mortgage company. I have requested numerous times for things to happen and they just seem to get lost in the black bank hole. I fill out forms they go missing. Its all too difficult and doesn't work out

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Fiona, Victoria, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    Very difficult to deal with via phone - no other way to contact them as they are in a different state. Communications very difficult do to language problems with their staff. We got out of their clutches recently - life is much more pleasant for us.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Heather, Victoria, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10

    Good product interest rates are normally fairly low

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    James, Queensland, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10

    They give you a good rate and then they hike it way up at the first rise. The interest rate is at least 1% higher and the exit fees are thousands of dollars.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Dianne, South Australia, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10

    My repayments aren't paying off my loan and I can't get anyone to talk to me about it.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Karen, New South Wales, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    Shoddily treated.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sonja, Queensland, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10

    Sometimes the service is slow.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Rosemerie, Queensland, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10

    They are inflexible and ignore any problems that I have. I am disgusted with them.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Joanna, Queensland, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    Easy to deal with. Redraws and lump sum payments are available next day. Repayments can be changed over internet.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jayne, Queensland, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10

    Good website.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, Victoria, reviewed about 10 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10

    Challenger's online site is easy to find your way around and all the info is a click away

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Clayton, Queensland, reviewed about 10 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.88% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.90% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.09% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate 300k+

      interest rate
      2.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.76% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $450

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 531 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.