Challenger logo

Challenger Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 22 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Challenger home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Perfect for online banking

    If you do your banking solely online, and you're prepared to wait up to a few days to receive a redraw, then it's great. However, it does lack that 'personal touch' that local banks/credit unions etc have.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dayna, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Interest rate higher than most banks

    It has no physical branch. The interest rate is high. Operate through a broker. Not helpful with the set up of internet banking as they offered this as one of their services. However, too difficult to access.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Fiona, Western Australia, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Over and above customer service

    Their service has been great for us and that they will contact us if they are able to make changes to our loan if they will benefit us. Also they periodically contact us if we are looking for help with investment options also and have helped us with our progression towards owning our first investment property.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Carl, Victoria, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    be careful of the interest rate as it is much higher than elsewhere, and they are not very understanding when you have a problem that you wish to discuss with them. Overall I believe that with a little homework that there are better people do deal with.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Margaret, South Australia, reviewed almost 10 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    I have had nothing but troubles with this mortgage company. I have requested numerous times for things to happen and they just seem to get lost in the black bank hole. I fill out forms they go missing. Its all too difficult and doesn't work out

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Fiona, Victoria, reviewed almost 11 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Very difficult to deal with via phone - no other way to contact them as they are in a different state. Communications very difficult do to language problems with their staff. We got out of their clutches recently - life is much more pleasant for us.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Heather, Victoria, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Good product interest rates are normally fairly low

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    James, Queensland, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    They give you a good rate and then they hike it way up at the first rise. The interest rate is at least 1% higher and the exit fees are thousands of dollars.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dianne, South Australia, reviewed almost 11 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    My repayments aren't paying off my loan and I can't get anyone to talk to me about it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Karen, New South Wales, reviewed about 11 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Shoddily treated.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sonja, Queensland, reviewed about 11 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Sometimes the service is slow.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rosemerie, Queensland, reviewed over 11 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    They are inflexible and ignore any problems that I have. I am disgusted with them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Joanna, Queensland, reviewed over 11 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Easy to deal with. Redraws and lump sum payments are available next day. Repayments can be changed over internet.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jayne, Queensland, reviewed over 11 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Good website.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Glenn, Victoria, reviewed almost 12 years ago
  • Challenger Home Loan

    Challenger's online site is easy to find your way around and all the info is a click away

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Clayton, Queensland, reviewed almost 12 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 504 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.