Challenger home loan reviews

Challenger
Challenger's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.3 / 10

based on 3 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Recent Challenger home loan reviews

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Perfect for online banking

If you do your banking solely online, and you're prepared to wait up to a few days to receive a redraw, then it's great. However, it does lack that 'personal touch' that local banks/credit unions etc have.

Full review

If you do your banking solely online, and you're prepared to wait up to a few days to receive a redraw, then it's great. However, it does lack that 'personal touch' that local banks/credit unions etc have.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Dayna (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Interest rate higher than most banks

It has no physical branch. The interest rate is high. Operate through a broker. Not helpful with the set up of internet banking as they offered this as one of their services. However, too difficult to access.

Full review

It has no physical branch. The interest rate is high. Operate through a broker. Not helpful with the set up of internet banking as they offered this as one of their services. However, too difficult to access.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Fiona (WA), reviewed over 3 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Over and above customer service

Their service has been great for us and that they will contact us if they are able to make changes to our loan if they will benefit us. Also they periodically contact us if we are looking for help with investment options also and have helped us...

Full review

Their service has been great for us and that they will contact us if they are able to make changes to our loan if they will benefit us. Also they periodically contact us if we are looking for help with investment options also and have helped us with our progression towards owning our first investment property.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carl (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

be careful of the interest rate as it is much higher than elsewhere, and they are not very understanding when you have a problem that you wish to discuss with them. Overall I believe that with a little homework that there are better people do deal...

Full review

be careful of the interest rate as it is much higher than elsewhere, and they are not very understanding when you have a problem that you wish to discuss with them. Overall I believe that with a little homework that there are better people do deal with.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Margaret (SA), reviewed about 6 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good product interest rates are normally fairly low

Full review

Good product interest rates are normally fairly low

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

James (QLD), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Very difficult to deal with via phone - no other way to contact them as they are in a different state. Communications very difficult do to language problems with their staff. We got out of their clutches recently - life is much more pleasant for...

Full review

Very difficult to deal with via phone - no other way to contact them as they are in a different state. Communications very difficult do to language problems with their staff. We got out of their clutches recently - life is much more pleasant for us.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Heather (VIC), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

I have had nothing but troubles with this mortgage company. I have requested numerous times for things to happen and they just seem to get lost in the black bank hole. I fill out forms they go missing. Its all too difficult and doesn't work out

Full review

I have had nothing but troubles with this mortgage company. I have requested numerous times for things to happen and they just seem to get lost in the black bank hole. I fill out forms they go missing. Its all too difficult and doesn't work out

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Fiona (VIC), reviewed about 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

They give you a good rate and then they hike it way up at the first rise. The interest rate is at least 1% higher and the exit fees are thousands of dollars.

Full review

They give you a good rate and then they hike it way up at the first rise. The interest rate is at least 1% higher and the exit fees are thousands of dollars.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Dianne (SA), reviewed about 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

My repayments aren't paying off my loan and I can't get anyone to talk to me about it.

Full review

My repayments aren't paying off my loan and I can't get anyone to talk to me about it.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Shoddily treated.

Full review

Shoddily treated.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Sonja (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Sometimes the service is slow.

Full review

Sometimes the service is slow.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Rosemerie (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

They are inflexible and ignore any problems that I have. I am disgusted with them.

Full review

They are inflexible and ignore any problems that I have. I am disgusted with them.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Joanna (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to deal with. Redraws and lump sum payments are available next day. Repayments can be changed over internet.

Full review

Easy to deal with. Redraws and lump sum payments are available next day. Repayments can be changed over internet.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jayne (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good website.

Full review

Good website.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Glenn (VIC), reviewed about 8 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Challenger's online site is easy to find your way around and all the info is a click away

Full review

Challenger's online site is easy to find your way around and all the info is a click away

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Clayton (QLD), reviewed about 8 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Very cumbersome process of paying third parties from the loan facility - it entails first enacting a redraw into an external linked account and then making the payment. Interest rates have been increased by Challenger over and above Reserve Bank...

Full review

Very cumbersome process of paying third parties from the loan facility - it entails first enacting a redraw into an external linked account and then making the payment. Interest rates have been increased by Challenger over and above Reserve Bank increases, and RB decreases have not been fully passed on if at all.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Bill (SA), reviewed about 8 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

I will be refinancing asap away from challenger. Not happy with them at all.

Full review

I will be refinancing asap away from challenger. Not happy with them at all.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Belinda (QLD), reviewed about 8 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

The Challeneger home loan is an easy product to manage as it's all done online, so there is no need to deal with anyone. (I think this is Fantastic). No fees, simple to use.

Full review

The Challeneger home loan is an easy product to manage as it's all done online, so there is no need to deal with anyone. (I think this is Fantastic). No fees, simple to use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jodi (NSW), reviewed over 8 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Flexible account and ease of access to our account are a bonus so you know exactly where you're up to.

Full review

Flexible account and ease of access to our account are a bonus so you know exactly where you're up to.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed about 9 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 9 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed about 9 years ago

Challenger

Challenger home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Thanks, they reduced my interest rate when i was thinking of refinancing so i kept my loan with Challenger

Full review

Thanks, they reduced my interest rate when i was thinking of refinancing so i kept my loan with Challenger

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed about 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 525 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top