Citi debit card reviews

Citi
Citi's overall rating for debit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.8 / 10

based on 117 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured debit card from Citi

Recent Citi debit card reviews

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Online banking service is good

No ATM fees, no Account keeping fees, no international transaction fees and it also works as a debit credit card for online purchases. Citibank is a really great bank.

Full review

No ATM fees, no Account keeping fees, no international transaction fees and it also works as a debit credit card for online purchases. Citibank is a really great bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sabzeena, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

All

The service is great always very helpful, when going overseas and at home.

Full review

The service is great always very helpful, when going overseas and at home.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mona, Queensland, reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Free overseas ATM, fast customer service

I've been with Citibank for the past 3 years and I always recommend making an account to my family and friends! The pros of Citibank is their reliability, no account fees and transaction fees. Citibank has always helped me whenever there was a...

Full review

I've been with Citibank for the past 3 years and I always recommend making an account to my family and friends! The pros of Citibank is their reliability, no account fees and transaction fees. Citibank has always helped me whenever there was a suspicious activity on my account and their security is very tight. I also travel overseas a lot and it's been really good to be able to withdraw money from overseas ATMs without any fees and excellent exchange rates! I can always speak on the phone with a customer representative within 5 minutes, or visit a branch for friendly staff. Cons is there are not many Citibank ATMs around Sydney except in CBD areas, however Citibank does have affiliations with some banks in Australia to use their ATM without a fee

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chan, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Citibank Visa Debit - find a better product

I have had nothing but problems with my Citibank Visa debit. Originally got it for travel in the USA; the account sign-on was so problematic, it was useless. Customer service is non existent. Honestly, the security features make the account too...

Full review

I have had nothing but problems with my Citibank Visa debit. Originally got it for travel in the USA; the account sign-on was so problematic, it was useless. Customer service is non existent. Honestly, the security features make the account too difficult to use.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Mature, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Perfect travel debit card to travel overseas with

I like this bank because they are one of the very few that doesn't charge additional fees when withdrawing funds from an overseas ATM or maybe a purchase using their Plus Transaction Debit card. This is the perfect card for travelling with. I...

Full review

I like this bank because they are one of the very few that doesn't charge additional fees when withdrawing funds from an overseas ATM or maybe a purchase using their Plus Transaction Debit card. This is the perfect card for travelling with. I don't like that they don't have a reward system for using this card.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jeremy, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent overall

Quick, efficient online site and app for banking. Limited branches but I don't seem to ever need to visit one anymore.

Full review

Quick, efficient online site and app for banking. Limited branches but I don't seem to ever need to visit one anymore.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Antony, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best travel and debit card -beats the rest!

Best debit and travel card!

Full review

Best debit and travel card!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anna, Western Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great affordable card, and no fees, excellent

The citibank plus account is really great. Unfortunately, though, Citibank's iPhone app and internet banking really let them down. It's almost a deal breaker. Fortunately the flexibility and value that the citibank plus account allows somewhat...

Full review

The citibank plus account is really great. Unfortunately, though, Citibank's iPhone app and internet banking really let them down. It's almost a deal breaker. Fortunately the flexibility and value that the citibank plus account allows somewhat makes up for it. I still have to have a bank account with another bank though, solely because Citibank's ATMs aren't widespread enough, and because of Citibank's poor netbanking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Shaun, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great card, great rates and enjoy the smart chip

I like Citibank's debit card because it has the smart chip giving me faster transactions. It also allows me to pay for items online and has the card size that will fit into my wallet nicely. A pro of this card is that it has the smart chip. Cons...

Full review

I like Citibank's debit card because it has the smart chip giving me faster transactions. It also allows me to pay for items online and has the card size that will fit into my wallet nicely. A pro of this card is that it has the smart chip. Cons are that the numbers and letters wear out and can make it hard to see.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Callum, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Go somewhere else

Not a fan. They somehow transfered my money to somebody in missouri and took me forever to get my money back. They were rude and hung the phone up three times and acted as if I were an idiot.

Full review

Not a fan. They somehow transfered my money to somebody in missouri and took me forever to get my money back. They were rude and hung the phone up three times and acted as if I were an idiot.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Forrest, Northern Territory, reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Useless

Offer no help in repaying debt.

Full review

Offer no help in repaying debt.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Susan, Queensland, reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great value and features

Citibank charge no transactions, no overseas currency exchange fees and the linked savings account has a competitive interest rate. I recommend this account to all my friends - so far three have signed up.

Full review

Citibank charge no transactions, no overseas currency exchange fees and the linked savings account has a competitive interest rate. I recommend this account to all my friends - so far three have signed up.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Paul, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

It's good, modern with old fashioned courtesy

I have been with my bank for a banking lifetime, some 40 years. In that time I have not had not even on one occasion to register even one complaint. A good bank should be invisible yet supportive of your financial situation, not intruding into...

Full review

I have been with my bank for a banking lifetime, some 40 years. In that time I have not had not even on one occasion to register even one complaint. A good bank should be invisible yet supportive of your financial situation, not intruding into your money worries but being a balm to your financial worries, with interest rates which remain competitive, with a small overdraft facility to act as a buffer for you, products like a mortgage facility and redraw facility as well as a day to day service which can be administered from the comfort of my own home, with the convenience of internet banking without diminishing the courteousness, the respect that makes it a pleasure when I have to ring them or have a person to person transaction.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jan, Tasmania, reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Recommended only for international travel

Only international fee-free debit card available but Citibank's variable customer service means it's not going to be your main card back home.

Full review

Only international fee-free debit card available but Citibank's variable customer service means it's not going to be your main card back home.

    Price   7 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Jess, , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Hassle free

Hassle free

Full review

Hassle free

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Reg, , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No fees in Oz or overseas

I love the fact that Citibank don't charge for overseas ATM transactions. That's a big win for me as I travel a lot. They also give you a lot of benefits if you pay with your Citibank card with different restaurants and hotels - another huge...

Full review

I love the fact that Citibank don't charge for overseas ATM transactions. That's a big win for me as I travel a lot. They also give you a lot of benefits if you pay with your Citibank card with different restaurants and hotels - another huge bonus. There are no account keeping fees, their savings account gives a decent rate of interest. There aren't a lot of Citibank branches around or ATMs but you are able to use a lot of other ATMs in Australia without being charged so that also works well. In summary - I think I'm onto a winner with Citibank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Erin, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

No no no. Not worth it.

Don't bother! Decided to use this card to save some $ on fees. Currently in NYC and definitely not getting the exchange rate. Described in detail travel plans yet card blocked 2nd day. After unblocking we still had no access to cash. 3...

Full review

Don't bother! Decided to use this card to save some $ on fees. Currently in NYC and definitely not getting the exchange rate. Described in detail travel plans yet card blocked 2nd day. After unblocking we still had no access to cash. 3 consecutive days of phone calls they finally stated Citibank atm's weren't working. :) Citi always available during Aus business hours... Too bad international isn't especially when they block the card. Seriously, use a professional normal bank with 24/ 7 access. I thankfully had backup cards ( Thanks Suncorp.. Take your fees you deserve it ). You don't want to take the risk with this stupid card especially on holiday.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Alan, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Rubbish

Ridiculous horrible customer servce

Full review

Ridiculous horrible customer servce

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Blade, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Na

Na

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Manraj, , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

excellent customer service

great fees,interest rates and customer service limited atms for this specific bank around but all around great service

Full review

great fees,interest rates and customer service limited atms for this specific bank around but all around great service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nick, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Can be tedious, is better than 5 years ago though.

Citi is ok. The best thing is that they listen, the worst thing is that they don't have any shop fronts in any areas I've ever been to since dealing with them. Never seen one.

Full review

Citi is ok. The best thing is that they listen, the worst thing is that they don't have any shop fronts in any areas I've ever been to since dealing with them. Never seen one.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Robert , , reviewed almost 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Extraordinary customer service

Citibank provides us with our own personal consultant who addresses every aspect of our banking requirements, in home if need be or at the bank itself. Nothing is too much trouble, everything is very comprehensively explained and we have access to...

Full review

Citibank provides us with our own personal consultant who addresses every aspect of our banking requirements, in home if need be or at the bank itself. Nothing is too much trouble, everything is very comprehensively explained and we have access to his assistance 24/7. The personal, friendly approach coupled with an attentive eye for detail and getting things right the first time makes this organisation truly stand out. We have been with Citibank now for over 5 years and it would take something extraordinary for us to break our loyalty. Have tried the other majors, we are just a number there.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dee, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Citi

Citi Plus Transaction Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank for saving!

Citibank are terrific with fees and ATM withdrawals through Westpac. You can deposit through NAB so no need to worry about branches.

Full review

Citibank are terrific with fees and ATM withdrawals through Westpac. You can deposit through NAB so no need to worry about branches.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kelly, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

good bank

been with them for years

Full review

been with them for years

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Helen, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

Citi

Citi debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great card, no hidden costs

Used the debit card on our last European holiday and it worked great for us, had no problems and no hidden costs.

Full review

Used the debit card on our last European holiday and it worked great for us, had no problems and no hidden costs.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Peter, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Debit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases

    account fee

    $10.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit, PayTag

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 3575 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    HSBC Everyday Global Account

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $9,000: 0.05% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 102 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fees
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Payment Ring

    what kind of card

    Debit Mastercard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account fees
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 844 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay, Google Pay

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 515 ING debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay, Samsung Pay, Garmin, Fitbit, PayTag

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 3575 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
Back to top