CUA personal loan reviews

CUA
CUA's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.7 / 10

based on 25 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from CUA

Recent CUA personal loan reviews

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Okay I guess

Most stupid bank I have ever banked with, wasn't eligible for anything.

Full review

Most stupid bank I have ever banked with, wasn't eligible for anything.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Rebecca (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic all rounded banking experience

I have been a loyal customer of CUA and recommend this union to everybody. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years and am still very satisfied with their service.

Full review

I have been a loyal customer of CUA and recommend this union to everybody. I have been dealing with them for over 15 years and am still very satisfied with their service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

All round terrific service and products

Just awesome, every dealing with CUA has been professional, convenient and easy.

Full review

Just awesome, every dealing with CUA has been professional, convenient and easy.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anna (NT), reviewed over 2 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

CUA are awesome

CUA are awesome!! I have been with CUA for quite a long time and since the start I have never had a problem. Home loan, credit card, personal loan - all went extremely smoothly and quickly. I was kept in the loop through the whole process and...

Full review

CUA are awesome!! I have been with CUA for quite a long time and since the start I have never had a problem. Home loan, credit card, personal loan - all went extremely smoothly and quickly. I was kept in the loop through the whole process and would definitely recommend CUA to everyone who is looking for a great finance company. Thanks CUA

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Claire (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy customer

Been with CUA for years and have always been happy with them

Full review

Been with CUA for years and have always been happy with them

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Steph (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Disappointing

Paid off our loan early. Tried to apply for another loan for similar amount. Circumstances had improved, however declined. Were they worried they would miss out on interest again because we pay it back early? Disappointing cua.

Full review

Paid off our loan early. Tried to apply for another loan for similar amount. Circumstances had improved, however declined. Were they worried they would miss out on interest again because we pay it back early? Disappointing cua.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Lisa (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A great finance provider

I've been with the CUA for a long time now & they have been great to me & my family, helping us out with loans & the customer service is outstanding.

Full review

I've been with the CUA for a long time now & they have been great to me & my family, helping us out with loans & the customer service is outstanding.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracy (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Beware: Misleading and deceptive website.

I applied for a loan with this company and selected my 'loan purpose' from their drop-down menu. An assessor contacted me from overseas on a Friday evening (three days after my application) and talked me through the application. I have no debts...

Full review

I applied for a loan with this company and selected my 'loan purpose' from their drop-down menu. An assessor contacted me from overseas on a Friday evening (three days after my application) and talked me through the application. I have no debts other than a home loan and could well service the personal loan so he said that it should be no issue and that I would receive a letter on Saturday. A letter came on Monday declining my application. I contacted the office as I thought there must have been a mistake, but was told it was declined due to not being an 'acceptable purpose' for a loan. Despite the fact that I explained that the purpose was a standard one on their website and that I found this misleading, my greater concern is that I will now have a 'credit declined' record on my credit rating through Veda. Customer service confirmed this and said there was nothing they could do. I would not have applied if their website didn't advertise my intended purpose. I gained nothing from this company other than a black mark on my credit rating. BEWARE.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Dom (WA), reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

If you are not happy with your bank, go to CUA

Most staff at CUA are extremely polite and helpful and CUA has better interest rates than most banks.

Full review

Most staff at CUA are extremely polite and helpful and CUA has better interest rates than most banks.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Richard (ACT), reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Step it up CUA

Use to provide an excellent service, however now terrible with getting back to you, providing information and not as many options when require assistance if having difficulty.

Full review

Use to provide an excellent service, however now terrible with getting back to you, providing information and not as many options when require assistance if having difficulty.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Tracy (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bank I have dealt with

This is a great bank, very helpful & quick.

Full review

This is a great bank, very helpful & quick.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vanessa (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Consistently clever & courteous

They are just a very good friendly bank with which to deal. Not too complicated.

Full review

They are just a very good friendly bank with which to deal. Not too complicated.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gary , reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Thumbs up

I have been with CUA for years. The are the only bank I'vel been with. The only bank I'll ever be with.

Full review

I have been with CUA for years. The are the only bank I'vel been with. The only bank I'll ever be with.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shauna , reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

CUA is fantastic for loans

Excellent customer service, fast turnaround with online application. Follow up calls to ensure satisfaction.

Full review

Excellent customer service, fast turnaround with online application. Follow up calls to ensure satisfaction.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cassandra , reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA Secured Car Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates & great customer service

I love the personalised service I receive from CUA, the rates are always competitive and they are quick to respond when needed most, there are no penalties for paying the loan off early which is a bonus.

Full review

I love the personalised service I receive from CUA, the rates are always competitive and they are quick to respond when needed most, there are no penalties for paying the loan off early which is a bonus.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Toni (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service, accurate information

Response is quick and there are a number of ways to make contact. The staff in the branch are very helpful and provided accurate information to assist us with our decision.

Full review

Response is quick and there are a number of ways to make contact. The staff in the branch are very helpful and provided accurate information to assist us with our decision.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Petrina (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

CUA

CUA Discount Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service, and fantastic benefits

I am so impressed with CUA, it's a credit union, for the people. They are just so customer orientated, friendly and willing to help that it really puts a good face on the front of CUA.

Full review

I am so impressed with CUA, it's a credit union, for the people. They are just so customer orientated, friendly and willing to help that it really puts a good face on the front of CUA.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jessica (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Avoid at all costs!

I have banked with CUA for over 20 years, but enough is enough! They were great back in the day when they were small and personal. Now they see themselves as one of the big 4 banks and it shows. Staff are rude, online banking is a disgrace, and it...

Full review

I have banked with CUA for over 20 years, but enough is enough! They were great back in the day when they were small and personal. Now they see themselves as one of the big 4 banks and it shows. Staff are rude, online banking is a disgrace, and it is absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to get anyone there to answer or return a phone call or email. They are only interested in profits, even though they pretend not to be. I've now moved on to a lovely Queensland based credit union with fantastic pricing and service and I won't look back.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Emma (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not very customer focused

They are not very trustworthy. I had a bank loan with them years ago and with my car rego due the same day, I rung to ask if I could double up next week. Even though they assured me it would be fine, I woke to find the payment come out and not...

Full review

They are not very trustworthy. I had a bank loan with them years ago and with my car rego due the same day, I rung to ask if I could double up next week. Even though they assured me it would be fine, I woke to find the payment come out and not enough for the rego. Not happy, paid them off and never looked back.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Amber (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to access to ATMs & great service

Great access to ATMs through the Redi Tellers, competitive interest rates, great customer service!

Full review

Great access to ATMs through the Redi Tellers, competitive interest rates, great customer service!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Bec (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Wouldn't recommend

Loans from them are terrible. They're not the right bank for loans.

Full review

Loans from them are terrible. They're not the right bank for loans.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Noah (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The bank with principles and a heart

I absolutely love this place. The customer service is unbelievable. They are willing to go the extra mile and look into your individual scenarios to get the right products and service for you. Willing to look outside the square to assist all...

Full review

I absolutely love this place. The customer service is unbelievable. They are willing to go the extra mile and look into your individual scenarios to get the right products and service for you. Willing to look outside the square to assist all customers and potential customers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Desleigh (QLD), reviewed almost 5 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Top customer service

The CUA is the only way I bank.

Full review

The CUA is the only way I bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Paul (QLD), reviewed almost 5 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome customer service

Awesome customer service and nothing was too much trouble.

Full review

Awesome customer service and nothing was too much trouble.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer , reviewed almost 5 years ago

CUA

CUA personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Amazing customer service & great banking products

I love my credit union. The staff know my name and I've never received such personal service with any other insitution. The pros are CUA offer so many competitive products and services, they are unique in the fact they have their own health fund,...

Full review

I love my credit union. The staff know my name and I've never received such personal service with any other insitution. The pros are CUA offer so many competitive products and services, they are unique in the fact they have their own health fund, their are no monthly fees on accounts, loans or home loans.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stacey (QLD), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 26.95% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 28.21% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 9.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 12.71% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 3 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,498.24 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 3 Years
    Overall rating

    0.0

    Based on 1 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    NAB Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • The interest rate shown is a headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get

    interest rate

    12.69% p.a.to 18.69% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.56% p.a.to 19.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.69% would cost $41,420.45 including fees.

    • Borrow from $5,000 - $55,000
    • No fees for extra or early repayments
    • The interest rate shown is a headline rate. The headline rate is the rate that the majority of NAB personal loan customers will get
    • Other benefits: Headline rate displayed above, rates start as low as 10.69% based on credit history.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $55,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 318 NAB personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank

    interest rate

    11.89% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    12.94% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 11.89% would cost $12,088.25 including fees.

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    Overall rating

    5.7

    Based on 6 Bank Australia personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACQ Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    RACQ Bank Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable)

    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee
    • Queensland borrowers only
    • Borrow from $3K to $60K

    interest rate

    12.95% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    13.25% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $200.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 12.95% would cost $41,109.47 including fees.

    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee
    • Queensland borrowers only
    • Borrow from $3K to $60K
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $200
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 196 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top