HSBC debit card reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for debit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.6 / 10

based on 33 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured debit card from HSBC

Recent HSBC debit card reviews

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No fees, ever, for anything.

Always resolve issues on the spot without transferring calls.

Full review

Always resolve issues on the spot without transferring calls.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Internet banking great but a lack of branches

Opening an account is an easy choice especially when they offer a great interest rate on savings. I do find however that any changes to be made to the account is best made over the phone and never in writing as they tend to loose paperwork...

Full review

Opening an account is an easy choice especially when they offer a great interest rate on savings. I do find however that any changes to be made to the account is best made over the phone and never in writing as they tend to loose paperwork customers send by mail. This is very frustrating. Internet banking is easy and very handy but a lack of branches around Australia is also very frustrating.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Kornel (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very competitive, great customer service!

Great customer service. You feel that the bank cares for its customers.

Full review

Great customer service. You feel that the bank cares for its customers.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Stephen (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good interest rates

Their online banking is a hassle, too many screens and passwords.

Full review

Their online banking is a hassle, too many screens and passwords.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Andreana (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Really convenient card

Too good, and can provide Chinese speaking customer services.

Full review

Too good, and can provide Chinese speaking customer services.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mindy (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

No administration fees

The biggest and most important pro when it comes to HSBC is that they charge no administration fees for the day-to-day account.

Full review

The biggest and most important pro when it comes to HSBC is that they charge no administration fees for the day-to-day account.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Larisa (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

It has fantastic security for both online and card services. Today got an email as they thought someone was trying to access my account illegally and they put a stop to it, saved me over a thousand dollars.

Full review

It has fantastic security for both online and card services. Today got an email as they thought someone was trying to access my account illegally and they put a stop to it, saved me over a thousand dollars.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sean (WA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service is the best

I get terrific counter and customer service via phone and face to face. On-line service is what I expect from a financial institution ie it is simple to conduct on line banking.

Full review

I get terrific counter and customer service via phone and face to face. On-line service is what I expect from a financial institution ie it is simple to conduct on line banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rodney (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Useless & useless.

HSBC call themselves 'the worlds local bank'. Being an avid traveller I signed up for an Australian account with them in the hope that it would be straight forward if I needed to access my money overseas. However when I went to the UK, the branch...

Full review

HSBC call themselves 'the worlds local bank'. Being an avid traveller I signed up for an Australian account with them in the hope that it would be straight forward if I needed to access my money overseas. However when I went to the UK, the branch I entered to transfer money informed me that they could not help me due to my account being a 'non-English account'. This is possibly the worst bank in the world. Stick with Westpac.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Chantal (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not very good

Service using call centre in another country and limited ATM - high fee and charges.

Full review

Service using call centre in another country and limited ATM - high fee and charges.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Sue (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank

Excellent bank, with no fees on account usage. Only let down by lack of branches, but can do nearly everything online.

Full review

Excellent bank, with no fees on account usage. Only let down by lack of branches, but can do nearly everything online.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mike , reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with HSBC for more than five years. Customer service is great! Very convenient.

Full review

I have been with HSBC for more than five years. Customer service is great! Very convenient.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geema (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

HSBC is a reliable bank that I put my trust in

HSBC is a great bank for several reasons, the customer service is polite and efficient. The security measures are excellent, with an authenticator device required to log into the account. There is also the advantage of being able to use St George...

Full review

HSBC is a great bank for several reasons, the customer service is polite and efficient. The security measures are excellent, with an authenticator device required to log into the account. There is also the advantage of being able to use St George and Westpac ATMs for no additional ATM fee. One happy customer!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rachel (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not flexible

It's very cookie cutter and the service does not feel personal... simply "Computer says no".

Full review

It's very cookie cutter and the service does not feel personal... simply "Computer says no".

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Carlen (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Spend more get more

More products to choose and lots of benefits from partners.

Full review

More products to choose and lots of benefits from partners.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Seth (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Should do what they say they are going to.

My pin number didn't work. Went considerable distance to the only branch on Gold Coast to change pin. Was told I would receive an SMS next day with instructions to change pin, and to make sure I followed the instructions exactly otherwise I would...

Full review

My pin number didn't work. Went considerable distance to the only branch on Gold Coast to change pin. Was told I would receive an SMS next day with instructions to change pin, and to make sure I followed the instructions exactly otherwise I would have to wait 5 working days to receive info in mail. Still waiting for SMS and have received nothing in mail. Not Happy!!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Barbara (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service second to none

I have always found them helpful at at all times. When my card was compromised, they were on to it immediately.

Full review

I have always found them helpful at at all times. When my card was compromised, they were on to it immediately.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sheila (WA), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and products

Great customer service.

Full review

Great customer service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Monica (WA), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

They provide the right services that satisfy my need.

Full review

They provide the right services that satisfy my need.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ching lung (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great product

Love the fact it costs me nothing and I don't have to pay any fees.

Full review

Love the fact it costs me nothing and I don't have to pay any fees.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dan (QLD), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Secure internet banking with security devise

Limited branches for banking transaction. But internet banking is the most secure, because you need the security device to log in every time.

Full review

Limited branches for banking transaction. But internet banking is the most secure, because you need the security device to log in every time.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Norma (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

They are very helpful.

Full review

They are very helpful.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jo (QLD), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Global bank

Should have more availability. Not much convenience for online banking.

Full review

Should have more availability. Not much convenience for online banking.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mohit (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good value for money

Good value for money and get good interest for the fixed deposit. Customer experience is about the same as any other bank.

Full review

Good value for money and get good interest for the fixed deposit. Customer experience is about the same as any other bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Justin (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy

I find them very reasonable and easy to deal with.

Full review

I find them very reasonable and easy to deal with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Lynn (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Debit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    None

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    ATM networks

    NAB, rediATM

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 1662 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, Commonwealth

    what kind of card

    Debit Mastercard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    ANZ

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1842 ANZ debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    ATM networks

    Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne

    what kind of card

    Debit Mastercard

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 343 Bankwest debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
Back to top