HSBC debit card reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for debit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.6 / 10

based on 33 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured debit card from HSBC

Recent HSBC debit card reviews

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No fees, ever, for anything.

Always resolve issues on the spot without transferring calls.

Full review

Always resolve issues on the spot without transferring calls.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Internet banking great but a lack of branches

Opening an account is an easy choice especially when they offer a great interest rate on savings. I do find however that any changes to be made to the account is best made over the phone and never in writing as they tend to loose paperwork...

Full review

Opening an account is an easy choice especially when they offer a great interest rate on savings. I do find however that any changes to be made to the account is best made over the phone and never in writing as they tend to loose paperwork customers send by mail. This is very frustrating. Internet banking is easy and very handy but a lack of branches around Australia is also very frustrating.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Kornel (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very competitive, great customer service!

Great customer service. You feel that the bank cares for its customers.

Full review

Great customer service. You feel that the bank cares for its customers.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Stephen (VIC), reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good interest rates

Their online banking is a hassle, too many screens and passwords.

Full review

Their online banking is a hassle, too many screens and passwords.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Andreana (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Really convenient card

Too good, and can provide Chinese speaking customer services.

Full review

Too good, and can provide Chinese speaking customer services.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mindy (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

No administration fees

The biggest and most important pro when it comes to HSBC is that they charge no administration fees for the day-to-day account.

Full review

The biggest and most important pro when it comes to HSBC is that they charge no administration fees for the day-to-day account.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Larisa (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

It has fantastic security for both online and card services. Today got an email as they thought someone was trying to access my account illegally and they put a stop to it, saved me over a thousand dollars.

Full review

It has fantastic security for both online and card services. Today got an email as they thought someone was trying to access my account illegally and they put a stop to it, saved me over a thousand dollars.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sean (WA), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service is the best

I get terrific counter and customer service via phone and face to face. On-line service is what I expect from a financial institution ie it is simple to conduct on line banking.

Full review

I get terrific counter and customer service via phone and face to face. On-line service is what I expect from a financial institution ie it is simple to conduct on line banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rodney (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Useless & useless.

HSBC call themselves 'the worlds local bank'. Being an avid traveller I signed up for an Australian account with them in the hope that it would be straight forward if I needed to access my money overseas. However when I went to the UK, the branch...

Full review

HSBC call themselves 'the worlds local bank'. Being an avid traveller I signed up for an Australian account with them in the hope that it would be straight forward if I needed to access my money overseas. However when I went to the UK, the branch I entered to transfer money informed me that they could not help me due to my account being a 'non-English account'. This is possibly the worst bank in the world. Stick with Westpac.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Chantal (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not very good

Service using call centre in another country and limited ATM - high fee and charges.

Full review

Service using call centre in another country and limited ATM - high fee and charges.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Sue (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank

Excellent bank, with no fees on account usage. Only let down by lack of branches, but can do nearly everything online.

Full review

Excellent bank, with no fees on account usage. Only let down by lack of branches, but can do nearly everything online.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mike , reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with HSBC for more than five years. Customer service is great! Very convenient.

Full review

I have been with HSBC for more than five years. Customer service is great! Very convenient.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geema (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

HSBC is a reliable bank that I put my trust in

HSBC is a great bank for several reasons, the customer service is polite and efficient. The security measures are excellent, with an authenticator device required to log into the account. There is also the advantage of being able to use St George...

Full review

HSBC is a great bank for several reasons, the customer service is polite and efficient. The security measures are excellent, with an authenticator device required to log into the account. There is also the advantage of being able to use St George and Westpac ATMs for no additional ATM fee. One happy customer!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rachel (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not flexible

It's very cookie cutter and the service does not feel personal... simply "Computer says no".

Full review

It's very cookie cutter and the service does not feel personal... simply "Computer says no".

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Carlen (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Spend more get more

More products to choose and lots of benefits from partners.

Full review

More products to choose and lots of benefits from partners.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Seth (NSW), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Should do what they say they are going to.

My pin number didn't work. Went considerable distance to the only branch on Gold Coast to change pin. Was told I would receive an SMS next day with instructions to change pin, and to make sure I followed the instructions exactly otherwise I would...

Full review

My pin number didn't work. Went considerable distance to the only branch on Gold Coast to change pin. Was told I would receive an SMS next day with instructions to change pin, and to make sure I followed the instructions exactly otherwise I would have to wait 5 working days to receive info in mail. Still waiting for SMS and have received nothing in mail. Not Happy!!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Barbara (QLD), reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service second to none

I have always found them helpful at at all times. When my card was compromised, they were on to it immediately.

Full review

I have always found them helpful at at all times. When my card was compromised, they were on to it immediately.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sheila (WA), reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and products

Great customer service.

Full review

Great customer service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Monica (WA), reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

They provide the right services that satisfy my need.

Full review

They provide the right services that satisfy my need.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ching lung (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great product

Love the fact it costs me nothing and I don't have to pay any fees.

Full review

Love the fact it costs me nothing and I don't have to pay any fees.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dan (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Secure internet banking with security devise

Limited branches for banking transaction. But internet banking is the most secure, because you need the security device to log in every time.

Full review

Limited branches for banking transaction. But internet banking is the most secure, because you need the security device to log in every time.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Norma (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

They are very helpful.

Full review

They are very helpful.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jo (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Global bank

Should have more availability. Not much convenience for online banking.

Full review

Should have more availability. Not much convenience for online banking.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mohit (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good value for money

Good value for money and get good interest for the fixed deposit. Customer experience is about the same as any other bank.

Full review

Good value for money and get good interest for the fixed deposit. Customer experience is about the same as any other bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Justin (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC debit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy

I find them very reasonable and easy to deal with.

Full review

I find them very reasonable and easy to deal with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Lynn (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Debit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • HSBC Everyday Global Account

    HSBC Everyday Global Account

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • No overseas ATM fees
    • No overseas transaction fees
    • Up to 10 currencies in one account
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $9,000: 0.05% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from HSBC ATMs, EFTPOS, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 33 HSBC debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Standard Visa Debit Card)

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay|Samsung Pay|Garmin|Fitbit|PayTag

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 1662 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 Cash Bonus ($1K+/Month and 5+ Card purchases).
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account and make at least 5 card purchases using your ING debit card each month.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Everyday Account

    MyState Bank Everyday Account

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month or are under 23 years.

    Payment Options

    Apple Pay|Google Pay|Samsung Pay

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • Super fast transfers
    • Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay
    • Make and receive payments in seconds using a mobile or email with PayID
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter deposits and withdrawals, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 42 MyState Bank debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    NAB Classic Banking Account (with Platinum Visa Debit Card)

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases

    account fee

    $10.00

    Payment Options

    Google Pay|Samsung Pay|Garmin|Fitbit|PayTag

    what kind of card

    Visa Debit or
    EFTPOS

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 ATM Fees at over 10,000 ATMs across Australia
    • $0 overdrawn fees
    • No foreign currency fee on international purchases
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee-free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 1662 NAB debit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Look for a specific type of debit card:

-- Choose type --
Back to top