Keystart home loan reviews

Keystart
Keystart's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.7 / 10

based on 10 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Recent Keystart home loan reviews

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service, good interest rates

We've had our mortgage with Keystart for almost 7 years and we're still happy with them. They are easy to deal with when we need to change a payment, and their interest rates are great.

We've had our mortgage with Keystart for almost 7 years and we're still happy with them. They are easy to deal with when we need to change a payment, and their interest rates are great.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Stacey (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant

Easy to access and friendly customer service.

Easy to access and friendly customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elmarie (WA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great rates...iffy service

The people on the phone were brilliant, unfortunately their word meant very little to the outcomes. They were not senior enough to guarantee anything that was said. It was a constant battle to know what was actually happening and when.

The people on the phone were brilliant, unfortunately their word meant very little to the outcomes. They were not senior enough to guarantee anything that was said. It was a constant battle to know what was actually happening and when.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Cristina (WA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very good provider

Never had a problem, but no other options.

Never had a problem, but no other options.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Charlie (WA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I'm happy with my home loan

Keystart gave me 100% of my loan several years ago and the percentage rate is very low.

Keystart gave me 100% of my loan several years ago and the percentage rate is very low.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Wendy (WA), reviewed about 2 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Enable low income earners fulfill home ownership

I've had my home loan for 16 years and have always found them helpful, with the exception of one rude/threatening staffer.

I've had my home loan for 16 years and have always found them helpful, with the exception of one rude/threatening staffer.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Christine (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great for first home buyers

To start with it was very hard to get Keystart to help us get a home loan, I think it was more to do with our broker giving us wrong information. They kept asking for more things and when we sent more we had to send the same things as before as...

To start with it was very hard to get Keystart to help us get a home loan, I think it was more to do with our broker giving us wrong information. They kept asking for more things and when we sent more we had to send the same things as before as they were no longer valid and almost lost the house we bought. After we received the loan we have not had any troubles.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Stephanie (WA), reviewed over 3 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Competitive interest rate great accessbility.

Low interest rate & ease of access to loans.

Low interest rate & ease of access to loans.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Tina (WA), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

The legislation governing the loan can change

DO NOT TRUST THIS LOAN PROVIDER! During the course of my loan the Liberals changed the rules such that instead of moving with the Reserve Bank rate, they now average the four main banks' interest rates. This was to be expected from any...

DO NOT TRUST THIS LOAN PROVIDER! During the course of my loan the Liberals changed the rules such that instead of moving with the Reserve Bank rate, they now average the four main banks' interest rates. This was to be expected from any Australian Government but has cost me significantly more than I had predicted.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

John (WA), reviewed about 4 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent service

Very happy with my home loan, keystart have a competitive interest rate and are very easy to communicate with.

Very happy with my home loan, keystart have a competitive interest rate and are very easy to communicate with.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Gerald (WA), reviewed about 4 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

customer support, low interest rate, hassle free.

customer support, low interest rate, hassle free.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Aman (WA), reviewed about 6 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

good to get you first home loan

good to get you first home loan

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Charmaine (WA), reviewed about 6 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Being a government loan company means they are quite inflexible when it comes to changing the type of loan you have.

Being a government loan company means they are quite inflexible when it comes to changing the type of loan you have.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Renae (WA), reviewed almost 7 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Dislike high interest rate.

Dislike high interest rate.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

(WA), reviewed about 7 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I like that it's a not-for-profit bank. A lot of people I know are with keystart too and they all are really happy with the bank. Easy to get in contact with the people that work there and they have competitive rates.

I like that it's a not-for-profit bank. A lot of people I know are with keystart too and they all are really happy with the bank. Easy to get in contact with the people that work there and they have competitive rates.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Romy (WA), reviewed over 7 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I love Keystart's home loan redraw facility. We pay extra and when we run into financial hardship we can redraw and our money worries come to an end.

I love Keystart's home loan redraw facility. We pay extra and when we run into financial hardship we can redraw and our money worries come to an end.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Janine (WA), reviewed over 7 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I like the fact that Keystart passed on full interest rate cuts on my home loan without delays.

I like the fact that Keystart passed on full interest rate cuts on my home loan without delays.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Darren (WA), reviewed over 7 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

KeyStart is very competitive on home loan interest rates, but we found that our loan took a long time to be approved.

KeyStart is very competitive on home loan interest rates, but we found that our loan took a long time to be approved.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

(WA), reviewed almost 8 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed over 8 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed over 8 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed over 8 years ago

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed over 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A no-bells-and-whistles loan with a super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A no-bells-and-whistles loan with a super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    BCU OMG Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    BCU OMG Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Make it happen with Experts Choice Winner - Home Loan Credit Union of the Year 2017
    • Choose Principal and Interest or Interest Only options for your bcu OMG loan
    • With redraw facility available and easy pre-approval valid for 3 months, we will make it happen. Apply online now

    interest rate

    3.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.09% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $900

    Go to site

    More info

    • Make it happen with Experts Choice Winner - Home Loan Credit Union of the Year 2017
    • Choose Principal and Interest or Interest Only options for your bcu OMG loan
    • With redraw facility available and easy pre-approval valid for 3 months, we will make it happen. Apply online now
    • Interest rate: 3.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $900
    • Ongoing fees: $198.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $395.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.9

    Based on 13 BCU home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • Experts Choice - Home Lender of the Year 2016
    • $0 application fee. 100% offset facility available
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.22% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice - Home Lender of the Year 2016
    • $0 application fee. 100% offset facility available
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.22% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.85% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.90% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $750

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.85% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $750
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 504 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top