MyState bank account reviews

MyState
MyState's overall rating for bank accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.7 / 10

based on 32 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured bank account from MyState

Recent MyState bank account reviews

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy with the company

I am happy with the treatment and support received from staff and company over the last 40 years.

Full review

I am happy with the treatment and support received from staff and company over the last 40 years.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Patricia (TAS), reviewed 5 months ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly service and great staff

Great service from friendly staff. Easy to contact by phone and always double check to ensure your query has been resolved. Internet and phone banking are intuitive and easy to use. Very happy with their level of service and professionalism.

Full review

Great service from friendly staff. Easy to contact by phone and always double check to ensure your query has been resolved. Internet and phone banking are intuitive and easy to use. Very happy with their level of service and professionalism.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tim (TAS), reviewed 8 months ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great banking experience

I enjoy doing business with MyState.

Full review

I enjoy doing business with MyState.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mark (TAS), reviewed 11 months ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great personal service.

Personal service. They know my name!

Full review

Personal service. They know my name!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paul (TAS), reviewed almost 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service.

A great local bank with friendly, helpful staff!

Full review

A great local bank with friendly, helpful staff!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tyron (TAS), reviewed almost 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Dial direct if you want to talk to your local branch. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Full review

Dial direct if you want to talk to your local branch. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Doug (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good rates with great service and advice

Have used their services for over 30 years, good service with no problems, would recommend them to anyone requiring banking.

Full review

Have used their services for over 30 years, good service with no problems, would recommend them to anyone requiring banking.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Glenn (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly service over the phone and in person

They are a bank but not a big bank.

Full review

They are a bank but not a big bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dwayne (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Really pleased with my bank, would recommend

Great service and great prices, fees are low and their banks all around so it's really easy to access.

Full review

Great service and great prices, fees are low and their banks all around so it's really easy to access.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michelle (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Secure, safe, friendly

Nice friendly branch if ever I need to go in for help. I know I can do my internet banking safely. I have ATMs at convenient spots if you ever need to get cash out. Linked debit card if ever I need that little bit extra in funds. All round great...

Full review

Nice friendly branch if ever I need to go in for help. I know I can do my internet banking safely. I have ATMs at convenient spots if you ever need to get cash out. Linked debit card if ever I need that little bit extra in funds. All round great place to be with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Alanna (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Don't go with my state

Mystate are not that good, they don't have any branches in rural areas and charge like a wounded bull to get your money.

Full review

Mystate are not that good, they don't have any branches in rural areas and charge like a wounded bull to get your money.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Sheila (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best rates and service

Local bank providing great service and competitive rates.

Full review

Local bank providing great service and competitive rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lucy (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The best service

They are very dedicated and helpful and caring and nothing seems to be a problem.

Full review

They are very dedicated and helpful and caring and nothing seems to be a problem.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Trevor (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Friendly customer service.

It's Ok. I don't have a problem with it as I don't really have anything to compare it to.

Full review

It's Ok. I don't have a problem with it as I don't really have anything to compare it to.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mary (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy access and great customer service

I like this bank because it works for me, it is constantly reliable for when ever I need it. The people I have dealt with at the bank branch I go to are extremely professional and are eager to fulfil what ever you need.

Full review

I like this bank because it works for me, it is constantly reliable for when ever I need it. The people I have dealt with at the bank branch I go to are extremely professional and are eager to fulfil what ever you need.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Brittany (TAS), reviewed almost 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Definitely changed for the worse

This used to be a Tasmanian credit union. It is now all about fees and charges. I used to have no issues when it was in the state. Now it has been taken over and it's all about greed.

Full review

This used to be a Tasmanian credit union. It is now all about fees and charges. I used to have no issues when it was in the state. Now it has been taken over and it's all about greed.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Laurie , reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

How banks should be

I find them helpful and friendly in branch and they compare well with the bigger brands.

Full review

I find them helpful and friendly in branch and they compare well with the bigger brands.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Anna (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Loss of service

Recently introduced inflexible account fees and charges. Almost rude customer service at a recent visit.

Full review

Recently introduced inflexible account fees and charges. Almost rude customer service at a recent visit.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Phil (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Customer service always available

Friendly service, can always count on help from them on the phone or in person.

Full review

Friendly service, can always count on help from them on the phone or in person.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Michele (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

As above

Great customer service, product knowledge from staff.

Full review

Great customer service, product knowledge from staff.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Carol (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poor products, pricing and service

We joined MyState when it was a teachers and nurses credit union. It's seen me through my early adult years to middle age. After 20 years, I have recently left. The exorbitant fees ($60 + per month), the ridiculous administration charges and...

Full review

We joined MyState when it was a teachers and nurses credit union. It's seen me through my early adult years to middle age. After 20 years, I have recently left. The exorbitant fees ($60 + per month), the ridiculous administration charges and poor communication was the last straw.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Sam (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy

It is easy to use. The branch is easy to get to in a suburb, not just in the city. The phone banking and internet banking are user friendly.

Full review

It is easy to use. The branch is easy to get to in a suburb, not just in the city. The phone banking and internet banking are user friendly.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Cheryl (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy to understand and excellent customer service

We have a family account with MyState Financial, and have two savings accounts. We have also enquired about home loans through them, and signed up for their compound interest savings accounts for our children. Also being a local bank they are...

Full review

We have a family account with MyState Financial, and have two savings accounts. We have also enquired about home loans through them, and signed up for their compound interest savings accounts for our children. Also being a local bank they are aware of the nuances of lending to, and assisting Tasmanian customers. Through this process, and occasionally having to phone MyState for customer support; we have found MyState to be thoroughly helpful and friendly and spoke in easy terms for those 'less financially savvy' (me, ha ha!). I would recommend MyState also because of their competitively priced, low interest Home Loans too- one important factor we considered when researching going through them for our own home loan. Thoroughly recommend.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Ben (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Pretty good

It's not fair that people on Government benefits should pay any fees at all, they don't get paid enough to get these high fees for using their account more than 3 or 5 times a month.

Full review

It's not fair that people on Government benefits should pay any fees at all, they don't get paid enough to get these high fees for using their account more than 3 or 5 times a month.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lisa (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Don't treat you as an individual

The bank fees for insufficient funds on direct debit payments go in every week the same day as wages go in. They dishonour payments but can very quickly charge your account a $30.00 dishonour fee knowing wages are going in sometime that same day....

Full review

The bank fees for insufficient funds on direct debit payments go in every week the same day as wages go in. They dishonour payments but can very quickly charge your account a $30.00 dishonour fee knowing wages are going in sometime that same day. Needs to go back to branch level and look at each individual account, or monitor, before allocating dishonour fees!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Dianne (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Bank account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • ING Orange Everyday

    ING Orange Everyday

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $75 cash bonus
    • Free ATMs in Aus, when you deposit $1k per month (& from Mar 2018, 5+ card purchases in the month)
    • No everyday fees, which means more of your money is where it belongs, in your pocket
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use in Australia and overseas and free international transactions when you deposit at least $1,000 from an external bank account each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals.
    Overall rating

    9.2

    Based on 206 ING bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account fees ever, with no conditions.
    • Free use at over 10,000 ATMs around Australia
    • 24/7 Mobile Banking, including Quick Balance and Tap & Pay for Android
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 1377 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Access Advantage

    ANZ Access Advantage

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply

    account fee

    $5.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 monthly account service fee if you deposit at least $2,000 a month
    • Now with Apple Pay
    • Consider if right for you. T&C’s, eligibility criteria apply
    • Atm networks: ANZ
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
      Balances from $50,000: 0.01% p.a.
      Balances from $100,000: 0.02% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone and internet
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 1579 ANZ bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    Bankwest Qantas Transaction Account

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Earn Qantas Points on your account balance 365 days a year
    • No ATM fees at Bankwest and CommBank ATMs Australia wide
    • No monthly account fees when you deposit $2,000 each month
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, Commonwealth
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, phone, internet and Debit MasterCard purchases
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0% p.a.

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac, St.George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Debit Mastercard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00% p.a.
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 400 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 100 bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
Back to top