MyState home loan reviews

MyState
MyState's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.6 / 10

based on 34 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from MyState

Recent MyState home loan reviews

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Feel's like I'm part of the MyState family.

Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

Full review

Staff at MyState are wonderful. They go beyond the call of duty and treat you like their own family. I can't speak more highly of them.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Paul (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Personalised, Professional, Perfection!

Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

Full review

Can't fault the service. Highly recommended.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paul (TAS), reviewed about 2 years ago

MyState

MyState Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent service and interest rates - fuss free

There are no branches in Victoria which makes it tricky. But online and on the phone service is brilliant. Excellent rates.

Full review

There are no branches in Victoria which makes it tricky. But online and on the phone service is brilliant. Excellent rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Amy (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

This company is a joke

Worst bank I have ever dealt with... The most unprofessional unorganised business I have ever come across...Can't wait to go back to the Commonwealth.

Full review

Worst bank I have ever dealt with... The most unprofessional unorganised business I have ever come across...Can't wait to go back to the Commonwealth.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Luke (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState Special Residential Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poorest service ever experienced

Attracted by the low rate and redraw facilities, it took 3 months of chasing, asking and clarifying where our refinance loan was at. Extremely poor service response - the worse we have experienced. We felt we were servicing MyState, not the other...

Full review

Attracted by the low rate and redraw facilities, it took 3 months of chasing, asking and clarifying where our refinance loan was at. Extremely poor service response - the worse we have experienced. We felt we were servicing MyState, not the other way around. And at the end of it all, they failed to set up the requested repayment arrangements, resulting in a loan arrears situation that threatened our credit rating. Indeed, the customer complaints section asked us to complete the same forms again, despite them already being lodged 6 weeks earlier and an undertaking given that they would be actioned according to our requirements. Online access to monitor your loan, arrange redraws and additional payments is not provided as a matter of course and requires a separate process. The final blow is that we are required to open a Mystate bank account to access their redraw facility, as they don't allow redraw transfers into accounts of other banks. Even then, you cannot do it online, are required to attend a branch or make a phone call and a $30 fee is payable per redraw minimum of $500. This is different to other major providers who offer these facilities as a matter of course. If it is simply a low rate you want, go for it. If you also value customer service, responsiveness, transparency, 24/7 access to self-service and flexibility, use other providers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Chris (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Processing times too slow!

Not open weekends, have not closed accounts correctly, difficult to get things done, took way too long to process our loan!

Full review

Not open weekends, have not closed accounts correctly, difficult to get things done, took way too long to process our loan!

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Rachael (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Helpful and friendly

My bank is brilliant -very personal and friendly.

Full review

My bank is brilliant -very personal and friendly.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Clayton (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Hard to deal with

They charge fees on all transactions and the interest rates are quite high, not a good bank to deal with.

Full review

They charge fees on all transactions and the interest rates are quite high, not a good bank to deal with.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Royce (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Poor customer service

They have made a number of errors on this account and are very slow to fix and the communication is very poor.

Full review

They have made a number of errors on this account and are very slow to fix and the communication is very poor.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Jayne (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service

MyState works with us when times are not so good to help us manage our mortgage and loans. That is worth paying a slightly higher rate for.

Full review

MyState works with us when times are not so good to help us manage our mortgage and loans. That is worth paying a slightly higher rate for.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

MyState

MyState Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Terrible service

This bank has terrible customer service, they do not look after their long term customers, getting a further loan from them is just too hard and drawn out, I wrote to them once complaining of the silly charges on the use of atms and I was told not...

Full review

This bank has terrible customer service, they do not look after their long term customers, getting a further loan from them is just too hard and drawn out, I wrote to them once complaining of the silly charges on the use of atms and I was told not to write any further messages to them, we have dealt with them for over 30 years can't stand them anymore, I could go on and on but the fact is this is a terrible bank.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

John (TAS), reviewed almost 3 years ago

MyState

MyState Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service, competitive, the best

I have been a long time customer and cannot fault Mystate service when I was looking at refinancing my loan. Other banks did not offer me too much of a discount where Mystate offered a better rate, made my offset exempt from fees and generally...

Full review

I have been a long time customer and cannot fault Mystate service when I was looking at refinancing my loan. Other banks did not offer me too much of a discount where Mystate offered a better rate, made my offset exempt from fees and generally gave me the best deal possible to,keep their loyal customer. Nothing to dislike as I have been a customer for over 25 years and Mystate has always given me the best service even when I feel the urge to compare rates. Give them a go you have nothing to lose. My experiences are all positive and I have had many housing loans and rental property loans.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracey (TAS), reviewed almost 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Personal service, competitive rates

MyState has made the transition from credit union to bank without losing its personal touch. It's great to be able to talk to some one local, to walk into a branch and see familiar faces and trust that any issue that arises will be quickly...

Full review

MyState has made the transition from credit union to bank without losing its personal touch. It's great to be able to talk to some one local, to walk into a branch and see familiar faces and trust that any issue that arises will be quickly resolved. I've had home loans with two other major lenders - neither provided services, support (or interest rates) that go close to MyState.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lesley (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fantastic customer service

Mystate have dealt with our needs fairly and have always tried to help us out of sticky situations. Due to me not working because of terminal illness and also my 2 sons one passing away in 2012 we have occasionally been behind in payments. The...

Full review

Mystate have dealt with our needs fairly and have always tried to help us out of sticky situations. Due to me not working because of terminal illness and also my 2 sons one passing away in 2012 we have occasionally been behind in payments. The staff at Mystate have always helped us out. Can not thank them enough.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Andrea (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Not applicable

Extremely disappointed with level of service, communication & timeliness in organising the home loan and responding to telephone calls. This poor service alone will prevent me from using them again. I suppose you get what you pay for.

Full review

Extremely disappointed with level of service, communication & timeliness in organising the home loan and responding to telephone calls. This poor service alone will prevent me from using them again. I suppose you get what you pay for.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Liz (TAS), reviewed about 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Wouldn't bank with anyone else

I have been with Mystate for many years, throughout that time, they have been there for me in many ways.

Full review

I have been with Mystate for many years, throughout that time, they have been there for me in many ways.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karen (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great local bank with lots of room to grow

This bank is good as it is a local bank offering competitive rates. The phone representatives are also local, ensuring that they understand you and your needs. The downside of this bank is that because it is still in its infancy, the internet...

Full review

This bank is good as it is a local bank offering competitive rates. The phone representatives are also local, ensuring that they understand you and your needs. The downside of this bank is that because it is still in its infancy, the internet banking functions are not as developed compared to the Big 4 banks. In addition, not everything can be processed electronically and require a visit to the bank for physical processing.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Eva (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Stay away, terible service

Has taken 2 months to refinance one property and finance another. I have had to push the settlement back 4 times now! Not happy!

Full review

Has taken 2 months to refinance one property and finance another. I have had to push the settlement back 4 times now! Not happy!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Tom (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

The staff at MyState are fantastic. Helpful and polite, nothing is a problem for them.

Full review

The staff at MyState are fantastic. Helpful and polite, nothing is a problem for them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Amanda (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service from "human beings"

I changed my home loan to My State several years ago. I was unhappy with my current lender who virtually lost interest in any communication once I signed the contract! I changed to My State as I had done all other banking with them for many...

Full review

I changed my home loan to My State several years ago. I was unhappy with my current lender who virtually lost interest in any communication once I signed the contract! I changed to My State as I had done all other banking with them for many years. I found that their rates were more than competitive and they could not have been more helpful. I have now almost paid out my home loan but I will always continue my other banking needs with them. As a (relatively) small Credit Union, they are always accessible, always helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Would NEVER touch a big bank again.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ann (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service & rates

Very easy to deal with, great interest rate. Very helpful as we were first home buyers. Online banking is convenient. Many ATM's and local branches.

Full review

Very easy to deal with, great interest rate. Very helpful as we were first home buyers. Online banking is convenient. Many ATM's and local branches.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Louise (TAS), reviewed over 3 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Awesome customer service

Friendly and personalised service. They are fast to call back and willing to spend lots of face to face time to work out the load that works best.

Full review

Friendly and personalised service. They are fast to call back and willing to spend lots of face to face time to work out the load that works best.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Catherine (TAS), reviewed almost 4 years ago

MyState

MyState Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Wonderful service, excellent personnel with up to the minute knowledge of the products available.

Full review

Wonderful service, excellent personnel with up to the minute knowledge of the products available.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Valma (TAS), reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Awesome customer service and a good bank

They're easy to deal with and will go the extra mile for their customers. Unfortunately my bank card split before time for a new card (has over a year left). There is a fee for a new card despite being damaged from normal use.

Full review

They're easy to deal with and will go the extra mile for their customers. Unfortunately my bank card split before time for a new card (has over a year left). There is a fee for a new card despite being damaged from normal use.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Helena (TAS), reviewed about 4 years ago

MyState

MyState home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fanatasic

I needed extra funds recently and I had it within a week. Great service.

Full review

I needed extra funds recently and I had it within a week. Great service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (TAS), reviewed about 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 527 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top