National Mortgage Company home loan reviews

National Mortgage Company
National Mortgage Company's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

2.8 / 10

based on 5 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Recent National Mortgage Company home loan reviews

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Customer service is good.

Customer service is good.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Vincent (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Average communication

Not so easy to do business with. Interest rates higher than others. Okay for investment loan.

Not so easy to do business with. Interest rates higher than others. Okay for investment loan.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sharon (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Do not go near NMC

I should have been more careful years ago when buying into a brand new high-rise development. We were introduced to a broker who bought our mortgage through NMC for a low doc loan which was split and later caused severe complications. Firstly, it...

I should have been more careful years ago when buying into a brand new high-rise development. We were introduced to a broker who bought our mortgage through NMC for a low doc loan which was split and later caused severe complications. Firstly, it wasn't a low doc because all documentation was asked for. So that was nonsense to start with. We were introduced by a salesperson to a broker who in turn put the loan through NMC, who we later discovered were also brokers. If you cannot get a bank loan yourselves DON'T go near this company. We have other loans with 2 banks. Macquarie Bank being one of them. They are excellent. Just a phone call when NAB dropped their rate, so did they. A phone call is all it took. That was it. No proof asked for.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Mark and josephune , reviewed almost 3 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Appallingly unprofessional

The service that we received from NMC is the worst that I have encountered in any business transaction or communication of any type. They lost our application for a loan variation twice. In that time on two separate occasions, and after numerous...

The service that we received from NMC is the worst that I have encountered in any business transaction or communication of any type. They lost our application for a loan variation twice. In that time on two separate occasions, and after numerous unanswered calls to enquire about why the process was taking longer than the suggested 4 weeks, we received an email saying that someone would call the next day with good news about our application. On both occasions we received no call, and only after writing a letter both times was informed that they had lost the application and we had to start the process again. Overall we spent nearly 6 months with a small loan variation submitted to NMC, and my wife made more that one dozen phone calls which were not responded to.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Andrew. (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rates and very helpful service

The loan is simple with no hidden fees and the staff are always very helpful with options.

The loan is simple with no hidden fees and the staff are always very helpful with options.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mark (SA), reviewed about 4 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Fantastic customer service and great rates

Love them. They put a lot of help with my mortgage.

Love them. They put a lot of help with my mortgage.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed about 4 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No troubles

I have been with this mortgage for over six years, no troubles or anything. When I need help with something, they are willing to help. I am fully recommend it to anyone.

I have been with this mortgage for over six years, no troubles or anything. When I need help with something, they are willing to help. I am fully recommend it to anyone.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sanh (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

National Mortgage Company is the BIGGEST SCAM EVER

National Mortgage Company is the BIGGEST SCAM I EVER GOT INVOLVED IN MY LIFE. Customer service is next to NONE. Short business hours, if you are a busy individual like me, it is impossible to contact them. It takes forever to resolve any...

National Mortgage Company is the BIGGEST SCAM I EVER GOT INVOLVED IN MY LIFE. Customer service is next to NONE. Short business hours, if you are a busy individual like me, it is impossible to contact them. It takes forever to resolve any enquiry or make a change, everything has a ridiculous fee attached to it and to top it all off, any change must be done through complicated faxed forms (stone age), it almost feels like it is purposely delayed. Their website http://www.nationalmortgage.com.au is a simple portal to the bank, it's useless and shockingly primitive. National Mortgage Company and their brokers have attracted me with empty promises and sweet rates for a couple of years, but as soon as this time was up, I have ended up in a whirlpool of rates that are over 2% higher then anywhere else and you are locked in by horrendous breakout fees (mine were over 10% of the value of the loan at one stage). After almost 8 years, I am glad that this nightmare is finally over, and I finally feel free with a major bank. Where, I actually have a real account manager that knows my name, and advises me on what is right for me. Even in the end, National Mortgage Company stretched out my settlements for weeks, sucking the last drop of my precious money, and hit me with break out charges for just about every ridiculous thing in the universe. I am out!!!! NEVER AGAIN! I should have done this years ago, I might as well have flushed thousands down the toilet. Good banks are supposed to work with you, to help you make money, so that everyone benefits. National Mortgage Company is more of a parasite, that should be stopped. Having been through it, I do not wish this on anyone. So here's my contribution: It is simple, STAY AWAY from National Mortgage Company and if you are caught in their spider web like me, LEAVE no matter how scary they make it sound and don't look back.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

I have a low doc home loan with National Mortgage Company through ING. I have been with them for years now (around 6 or 7 years), but my interest rate is still at around 8.4%. (not easy or affordable as a single mum) and will be having to sell my...

I have a low doc home loan with National Mortgage Company through ING. I have been with them for years now (around 6 or 7 years), but my interest rate is still at around 8.4%. (not easy or affordable as a single mum) and will be having to sell my home in the New Year. I would like to think that a company and bank who you have been loyal to for so long, could offer to take care of you a bit better in terms of reducing the interest rate.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Toni (QLD), reviewed over 5 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

I felt they marketed their product exceptionally well in the initial process however the advice we were given by them turned out to very bad for our situation. In addition, the bank statements were extremely confusing and although we paid in...

I felt they marketed their product exceptionally well in the initial process however the advice we were given by them turned out to very bad for our situation. In addition, the bank statements were extremely confusing and although we paid in excess of the monthly payment it appeared as though there was no change to the mortgage whatsoever. This was very discouraging. On the positive side, when I contact them to discuss any matters, they are very professional and helpful on the phone.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Linelle (NSW), reviewed almost 6 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Rates are the same as the big 4 banks, no discount and more fees.

Rates are the same as the big 4 banks, no discount and more fees.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Benzon (NSW), reviewed about 7 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very happy with my home loan and all other accounts.

Very happy with my home loan and all other accounts.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Katie (WA), reviewed over 7 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

What i like about this product is, when i got my mortgage with the national bank their interest rates were one of the best at the time.

What i like about this product is, when i got my mortgage with the national bank their interest rates were one of the best at the time.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Annette (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

National Mortgage Company

National Mortgage Company home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

    Price   / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (WA), reviewed over 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A no-bells-and-whistles loan with a super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A no-bells-and-whistles loan with a super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • THE WORLD'S FIRST INSTANT HOME LOAN
    • Get full approval, not pre-approval. 100% online, real-time assessment and an answer in 22 minutes
    • No application, assessment or valuation fees

    interest rate

    3.68% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • THE WORLD'S FIRST INSTANT HOME LOAN
    • Get full approval, not pre-approval. 100% online, real-time assessment and an answer in 22 minutes
    • No application, assessment or valuation fees
    • Interest rate: 3.68% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $325.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes, $10 per month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,200,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Greater Bank Discount Ultimate Home Loan (LVR<85%, over $150k, Owner Occupier) (Fixed, Package)

    Greater Bank Discount Ultimate Home Loan (LVR<85%, over $150k, Owner Occupier) (Fixed, Package)

    • Experts Choice Winner 2016
    • No establishment fee. No monthly fees. Free internet redraw facility
    • NSW, QLD, ACT customers only

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a.
    fixed 2 years

    comparison rate*

    4.45% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner 2016
    • No establishment fee. No monthly fees. Free internet redraw facility
    • NSW, QLD, ACT customers only
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.45% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $375.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - fee applies
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 85.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 62 Greater Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Equaliser Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Bankwest Equaliser Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Switch with confidence to Bankwest's Equaliser Home Loan
    • A variable rate loan for Owner Occupiers making Principal and Interest repayments, with a 3 year introductory period
    • Flexible repayment options, Free online redraw & No monthly fees

    interest rate

    3.72% p.a.variable for 36 months and then 4.32% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.19% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $250

    Go to site

    More info

    • Switch with confidence to Bankwest's Equaliser Home Loan
    • A variable rate loan for Owner Occupiers making Principal and Interest repayments, with a 3 year introductory period
    • Flexible repayment options, Free online redraw & No monthly fees
    • Interest rate: 3.72% p.a.variable for 36 months and then 4.32% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.19% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $338.20
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online otherwise $10
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 315 Bankwest home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    4.17% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.21% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 4.17% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.21% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 513 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top