Pepper Money logo

Pepper Money Home loan reviews

Overall rating
4.0/10
Price
3.3/10
Features
3.5/10
Customer service
5.3/10
Convenience
3.8/10
Trust
4.1/10
Based on 24 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Pepper Money home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don’t use Pepper!

    Stay well away from Pepper! They are useless, inept and downright self invested company who just look for new clients and leave you after you’ve signed on.. Once they have you they don’t care to look after you when it comes to refinancing. Not only do they not advertise their home loan rates for any type of transparency and waste your valuable time but when I came to extending my loan they ignore my requests for two weeks because i was paying more and it was in Peppers interest NOT to help me extend my loan. I would never deal with the again and if I could warn all potential customers to stay away to avoid what I’m having to deal with.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dianne, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Amazing Service

    The team at Pepper are always incredibly helpful in any dealings that I have with them.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Mortgage Application - Time Waster

    Our mortgage broker advised Pepper of our entire situation which is somewhat complex so we applied under high risk and low documentation. On pre-approval application we provided everything Pepper requested and were told we'd have a response in 2 to 5 working days. Not a word from Pepper within their specific time-frame, though afterwards they requested further information and documentation which we provided in full and promptly. We were then told they would have a response by close of business. That also didn't happen and that evening, for a third time, we were asked for further documentation and some which simply was not possible (eg. payslips for next month). They had ample information and documentation, security on the property we were looking to purchase, and offer of a solid guarantor for the mortgage and yet they were unable to provide an answer on a higher rate, risk fee attached loan application where they were working to assess us in the same way as anyone else and avoid the exact reason we were applying with them. They wanted to simple charge us higher and were not open to truly mitigating any risk that may have been attached. Incredibly poor service from this lender and a complete time waster. If you don't think it's easy to apply elsewhere don't expect Pepper to be any different.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible sevice

    They have terrible service keep changing staff Keep asking for same documentation not sure why keep losing information or because of staff keep changing Interest rates higher than normal The process of to get a home loan with pepper money is very unpleasant and degrading

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jim, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Interest rate way too high.

    Unfortunately we had to go through this bank at the time due to finances but they really do take advantage of the people who need it. We have been with them for over a year and our starting rate was 6.68%. It has dropped a little bit because I have asked for a rate review every 6 months.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Joelene, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Very high interest rate.

    They are hardcore when it comes to getting their money. My home loan interest rate 8.13%. They were ruthless when I was in financial hardship years ago, now I pay double the monthly payments and have an excellent credit score and they refuse to lower the interest rate.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Lainie, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Help when help is needed.

    I have been with Pepper since they took over from GE Money. I called them yesterday to discuss the impact of Covid 19 to my SME. Pepper arranged a three month break from payments with no penalty over the phone. I cannot speak highly enough of their staff and this help. They provide certainty in an uncertain world. Thank you.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Chris, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    High rates.

    The rates are high, and transferring money is usually a pain.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Very flexible, easy to deal with and will help you

    They are great if your credit history is not as good as others. While they will charge a bit higher interest rate, they will accept you for a mortgage when other banks won't. It allows you to get into the housing market and repair your credit. I appreciate everything they have done for me.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mark, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very helpful customer service.

    They were very helpful during hard times. We couldn't have asked for more support.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Vicki, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good customer service.

    Assistance in getting a home loan was amazing and fast.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sara, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Understanding

    They have been very understanding while I was in financial hardship.

    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Diana, Northern Territory, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Great customer service

    The interest rate is really high.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Less
    Diana, Northern Territory, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Great customer service but rates are too high

    The interest rates were raised twice in two months, far above the bank rate.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Terri, Western Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Pepper Money Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    good

    good

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Tony, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.75% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate
      2.31% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.02% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 514 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.