Thumbnail icon for QBE

QBE Travel insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.5/10
Value for money
7.6/10
Trust
7.3/10
Based on 36 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent QBE travel insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Above average insurance for the average family.

    Easy to organise. Straightforward language.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Amanda, Northern Territory, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • QBE Home Cover Prestige review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    QBE

    I don't have any problems with my insurer.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Christine, Western Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Very poor customer service - never again

    I'm glad I didn't need to claim because I had to hassle several times before leaving just to get the insurance certificate. I had already paid of course so couldn't get out, but I was left unimpressed and hoping I didn't need to make a claim.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy to deal with.

    I did have a medical claim. The matter was completely resolved to my satisfaction.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive pricing and discounts

    The best. So fast, so simple and so much stress free!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bryce, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good service, constant contact

    I found their service when I contacted them about a change in flights Excellent.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Joanne, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Low premiums, great benefits, easy to access

    Easy to access benefits. Cheap premiums for maximum cover. The best range of benefits I found on the market for travellers. Reminder email sent when your cover is due to expire in case you need to extend or renew. Easy to obtain a quote. Easy to apply.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mindy, Victoria, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Affordable premiums & easy online application

    I have used Nomads for many years and it has been so quick and easy to apply. Affordable premiums.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jillian, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Peace of mind when travelling

    Thankfully I've never had to make a claim while overseas but I did have to make one while travelling in Australia as my hire car was involved in a carpark bingle, causing panel damage. The claims process was very smooth and, although initially out of pocket for the compulsory excess claims, I was quickly reimbursed once the claim had gone through. The claim was completed online and was processed promptly and efficiently. The staff I spoke to were friendly and knowledgeable. One small negative is that I have an existing medical condition that I need to declare when I travel overseas. I have no issues with doing this however as a frequent traveller, it would be beneficial if I was not required to do this for each trip. Other than this, I am very happy with the customer service provided at QBE.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Deanne, Western Australia, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Fast and efficient customer care

    Great no hassle service with prompt responses to querying regarding my claim. I photographed the damage to my suitcase then simply purchased and replaced my badly damaged suitcase with a new one, purchased in Paris of course. Provided the receipts along with my claim on my return home and had a cheque within a couple of weeks. Great service!

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Judi, South Australia, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Very easy to set up, competitive premium

    Very easy to organise online, I was confident they would stand by their promises should the need arise after a friend was able to receive insurance payout following an illness while on holiday.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Carolyn, Western Australia, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Drama

    DRAMA to make a small claim for a very small injury & still on going

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Julie, Western Australia, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Woeful

    I bought Travel Insurance for my parents when I booked a trip for them to Melbourne. They had to claim against it and deliberately gave them the run around with increasingly difficult and additional requirements for documentation beyond what was originally requested. I firmly believe that they were hoping that they would give up. I will never buy another QBE insurance product ever again nor recommend them to anyone!

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Elisha, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Just what we wanted

    Recommended by a travel agent we trust / competitive rate / easy paperwork / quick / adequate cover / just what we wanted.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • QBE Travel Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Reliable and good customer service

    I was supposed to be volunteering in South Africa, when a month out I injured my foot badly enough that my doctor told me I couldn't go because of safety concerns and ongoing medical needs. QBE stepped in and refunded everything from my trip, including my flights, accommodation, and program fees.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, Queensland, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.