SCU home loan reviews

SCU
SCU's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

9.4 / 10

based on 5 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from SCU

Recent SCU home loan reviews

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

yes

I left a major bank to become a member, they gave me my home loan and I had never banked with them before. Their rates are on par with the other lenders, but their customer service rates are so much higher than the banks. They know you by name...

Full review

I left a major bank to become a member, they gave me my home loan and I had never banked with them before. Their rates are on par with the other lenders, but their customer service rates are so much higher than the banks. They know you by name and take an interest in you, nothing is ever an effort. All my family and friends now bank with them.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michelle (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

SCU

SCU Variable Rate Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service

This credit union has such a personal service. Even though I applied online the service was excellent. They answered all my questions and met all my needs.

Full review

This credit union has such a personal service. Even though I applied online the service was excellent. They answered all my questions and met all my needs.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stephanie (NSW), reviewed about 3 years ago

SCU

SCU Basic Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best to do business with

Sydney Credit Union (when I had a mortgage) was the best bank to deal with. They were fair, always ready to explain things and were very happy when I paid out the mortgage early.

Full review

Sydney Credit Union (when I had a mortgage) was the best bank to deal with. They were fair, always ready to explain things and were very happy when I paid out the mortgage early.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fabulous

My bank is always there for me, continuous help and kindness, friendly staff who actually know who I am. Even now and then we will receive a hello phone call just to see how we are going. Exceptional :)

Full review

My bank is always there for me, continuous help and kindness, friendly staff who actually know who I am. Even now and then we will receive a hello phone call just to see how we are going. Exceptional :)

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Narelle (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

SCU

SCU Pro Pack Home Loan (Owner Occupier, under $250k) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service and features

Great service, great interest rate. Just lacks the online flexibility to change and update certain things.

Full review

Great service, great interest rate. Just lacks the online flexibility to change and update certain things.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Damien (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

SCU are the best bank we have ever dealt with: personal service, attention to our needs and extremely competitive. Highly recommended.

Full review

SCU are the best bank we have ever dealt with: personal service, attention to our needs and extremely competitive. Highly recommended.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed almost 5 years ago

SCU

SCU Pro Pack Home Loan (Owner Occupier, under $250k) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best customer service I have ever received.

Pros - product is easy to manage on line and very self explanatory. No penalties if paid out early and can make extra payments easily online. Good interest rate. 5 star customer service and questions are answered openly. Product is presented...

Full review

Pros - product is easy to manage on line and very self explanatory. No penalties if paid out early and can make extra payments easily online. Good interest rate. 5 star customer service and questions are answered openly. Product is presented honestly. Cons - have to pay $100 to access drawdown facility to access my own money!!! Don't pass on the full interest rate cuts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lynn (NSW), reviewed about 5 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

SCU has very competitive home loan packages. Their interest rates are only put up according to the Reserve Bank's guideline and letters are always sent out stating new rate and giving you a start date instead of immediately raising of your...

Full review

SCU has very competitive home loan packages. Their interest rates are only put up according to the Reserve Bank's guideline and letters are always sent out stating new rate and giving you a start date instead of immediately raising of your mortgage as a lot of the major banks do. Staff are always very friendly and a my branch is small, they always greet me by name, which I find very customer friendly. I would say there are no cons as far as I am concerned.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NSW), reviewed over 7 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer service is excellent, the only difficulty is there are limited branches but I manage well with internet banking.

Full review

Customer service is excellent, the only difficulty is there are limited branches but I manage well with internet banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tracy (WA), reviewed almost 8 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

More personal than big banks.

Full review

More personal than big banks.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Melissa (NSW), reviewed about 8 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Redi teller ATM use is good since there is no $2 fee. However, not many branches.

Full review

Redi teller ATM use is good since there is no $2 fee. However, not many branches.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Filipo (NSW), reviewed about 8 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

It is a very competitive bank in the market.

Full review

It is a very competitive bank in the market.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dacia (NSW), reviewed almost 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • AMP Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Professional Package)

    AMP Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Professional Package)

    • Need a loan that responds to your borrowing needs and financial goals
    • Offers the flexibility to structure debt effectively
    • 3.69% Variable Rate

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.02% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $295

    Go to site

    More info

    • Need a loan that responds to your borrowing needs and financial goals
    • Offers the flexibility to structure debt effectively
    • 3.69% Variable Rate
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.02% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $295
    • Ongoing fees: $349.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $100.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $750,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 51 AMP home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • CUA Advance Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    CUA Advance Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Offset your interest to save
    • Free redraw facility for easy access to additional payments
    • No monthly or application fees

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $195

    Go to site

    More info

    • Offset your interest to save
    • Free redraw facility for easy access to additional payments
    • No monthly or application fees
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $195
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $500.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - up to $50,000 maximum
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 89 CUA home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Get $1,000 cash into a USaver account on any loan (new or refinance) over $200k. (T&Cs apply).
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Get $1,000 cash into a USaver account on any loan (new or refinance) over $200k. (T&Cs apply).
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 504 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top