SCU home loan reviews

SCU
SCU's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.6 / 10

based on 13 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from SCU

Recent SCU home loan reviews

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

yes

I left a major bank to become a member, they gave me my home loan and I had never banked with them before. Their rates are on par with the other lenders, but their customer service rates are so much higher than the banks. They know you by name...

Full review

I left a major bank to become a member, they gave me my home loan and I had never banked with them before. Their rates are on par with the other lenders, but their customer service rates are so much higher than the banks. They know you by name and take an interest in you, nothing is ever an effort. All my family and friends now bank with them.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michelle, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

SCU

SCU Variable Rate Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service

This credit union has such a personal service. Even though I applied online the service was excellent. They answered all my questions and met all my needs.

Full review

This credit union has such a personal service. Even though I applied online the service was excellent. They answered all my questions and met all my needs.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stephanie, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

SCU

SCU Basic Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best to do business with

Sydney Credit Union (when I had a mortgage) was the best bank to deal with. They were fair, always ready to explain things and were very happy when I paid out the mortgage early.

Full review

Sydney Credit Union (when I had a mortgage) was the best bank to deal with. They were fair, always ready to explain things and were very happy when I paid out the mortgage early.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fabulous

My bank is always there for me, continuous help and kindness, friendly staff who actually know who I am. Even now and then we will receive a hello phone call just to see how we are going. Exceptional :)

Full review

My bank is always there for me, continuous help and kindness, friendly staff who actually know who I am. Even now and then we will receive a hello phone call just to see how we are going. Exceptional :)

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Narelle, Queensland, reviewed almost 4 years ago

SCU

SCU Pro Pack Home Loan (Owner Occupier, under $250k) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service and features

Great service, great interest rate. Just lacks the online flexibility to change and update certain things.

Full review

Great service, great interest rate. Just lacks the online flexibility to change and update certain things.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Damien, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive features and great customer service

SCU are the best bank we have ever dealt with: personal service, attention to our needs and extremely competitive. Highly recommended.

Full review

SCU are the best bank we have ever dealt with: personal service, attention to our needs and extremely competitive. Highly recommended.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

SCU

SCU Pro Pack Home Loan (Owner Occupier, under $250k) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best customer service I have ever received.

Pros - product is easy to manage on line and very self explanatory. No penalties if paid out early and can make extra payments easily online. Good interest rate. 5 star customer service and questions are answered openly. Product is presented...

Full review

Pros - product is easy to manage on line and very self explanatory. No penalties if paid out early and can make extra payments easily online. Good interest rate. 5 star customer service and questions are answered openly. Product is presented honestly. Cons - have to pay $100 to access drawdown facility to access my own money!!! Don't pass on the full interest rate cuts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lynn, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

excellent service and a very good product so now all my banking is with SCU

Full review

excellent service and a very good product so now all my banking is with SCU

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Martin, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

SCU has very competitive home loan packages. Their interest rates are only put up according to the Reserve Bank's guideline and letters are always sent out stating new rate and giving you a start date instead of immediately raising of your...

Full review

SCU has very competitive home loan packages. Their interest rates are only put up according to the Reserve Bank's guideline and letters are always sent out stating new rate and giving you a start date instead of immediately raising of your mortgage as a lot of the major banks do. Staff are always very friendly and a my branch is small, they always greet me by name, which I find very customer friendly. I would say there are no cons as far as I am concerned.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Name not supplied, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer service is excellent, the only difficulty is there are limited branches but I manage well with internet banking.

Full review

Customer service is excellent, the only difficulty is there are limited branches but I manage well with internet banking.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tracy, Western Australia, reviewed over 8 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

More personal than big banks.

Full review

More personal than big banks.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Redi teller ATM use is good since there is no $2 fee. However, not many branches.

Full review

Redi teller ATM use is good since there is no $2 fee. However, not many branches.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Filipo, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

SCU

SCU home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

It is a very competitive bank in the market.

Full review

It is a very competitive bank in the market.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dacia, New South Wales, reviewed over 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Queensland Country Credit Union Discount Ultimate Home Loan Special (Principal & Interest, LVR<90%) (Package)

    Queensland Country Credit Union Discount Ultimate Home Loan Special (Principal & Interest, LVR<90%) (Package)

    • Available for Owner Occupied or Residential Investment purposes
    • Fully featured home loan including 100% offset and redraw (Owner Occupied loans only)
    • Bank with Queensland’s largest regionally based, Member-owned Credit Union

    interest rate

    3.61% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.97% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Available for Owner Occupied or Residential Investment purposes
    • Fully featured home loan including 100% offset and redraw (Owner Occupied loans only)
    • Bank with Queensland’s largest regionally based, Member-owned Credit Union
    • Interest rate: 3.61% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.97% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $350.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    9.4

    Based on 22 Queensland Country Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access

    interest rate

    3.49% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.53% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access
    • Interest rate: 3.49% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.53% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - $10/month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 499 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top