SCU personal loan reviews

SCU
SCU's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.7 / 10

based on 14 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from SCU

Recent SCU personal loan reviews

SCU

SCU Secured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service without the onselling

Great people who offer a great service. Always friendly. Questions are always on point. They know their product and answer questions as they have access to all the relevant info.

Full review

Great people who offer a great service. Always friendly. Questions are always on point. They know their product and answer questions as they have access to all the relevant info.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jeff, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago

SCU

SCU New Car Loan (Up to 2 years old, Fixed, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer service slow

I wanted to pay out the loan, got a quote and then got another. I had to get it from the dealer. It turned out the dealer increased the rate and gave me a residual to keep the price down. It was 1% but how was I going to prove anything. I did...

Full review

I wanted to pay out the loan, got a quote and then got another. I had to get it from the dealer. It turned out the dealer increased the rate and gave me a residual to keep the price down. It was 1% but how was I going to prove anything. I did expect that a high profile car distributor would be more responsible. We are helping you Peter yes but you do have your hand in my pocket. At the time the payout came around , the phone operator gave me a value I should ask for and it was at least $5000 less. Out of touch to the industry and certainly the clients.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Peter, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer service was awesome, application easy.

APPLICATION PROCESS WAS QUICK AND EASY. INFORMATION PROVIDED WAS ACCURATE AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND. ABLE TO ARRANGE OVER THE PHONE AND VIA FAX.

Full review

APPLICATION PROCESS WAS QUICK AND EASY. INFORMATION PROVIDED WAS ACCURATE AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND. ABLE TO ARRANGE OVER THE PHONE AND VIA FAX.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lynn, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

SCU

SCU Special Offer Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Friendly Staff

They don't harass me to add extra services every time I ring. Nothing is a greater disincentive than being repeatedly asked if you want something you've clearly indicated you don't.

Full review

They don't harass me to add extra services every time I ring. Nothing is a greater disincentive than being repeatedly asked if you want something you've clearly indicated you don't.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rachel, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago

SCU

SCU Special Offer Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

nothing too much trouble for client

efficient, friendly and helpful in all avenues

Full review

efficient, friendly and helpful in all avenues

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vicki, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and friendly staff

They were very cooperative, easy to talk to, helpful and always willing to assist

Full review

They were very cooperative, easy to talk to, helpful and always willing to assist

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Juliette, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

SCU

SCU Special Offer Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service.with the best rates

As soon as I walked in the door I was greeted with a smile and great conversation. The branch manager sat down with me and explained everything to me and told me all my options and what would be best for me for now and in the future. The advice he...

Full review

As soon as I walked in the door I was greeted with a smile and great conversation. The branch manager sat down with me and explained everything to me and told me all my options and what would be best for me for now and in the future. The advice he gave me helped me to decide about a number of things concerning my finances.I opened up an acc with them straight away as well. I also did my car insurance threw them as well. The list goes on.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maxine, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The Sydney Credit Union is a great bank, they were very helpful when I was applying for my personal loan, they talked through different packages available and worked out the best one for me financially. They set out a month by month payment plan....

Full review

The Sydney Credit Union is a great bank, they were very helpful when I was applying for my personal loan, they talked through different packages available and worked out the best one for me financially. They set out a month by month payment plan. As this was my first loan, they were extremely helpful in explaining the contract and terms and conditions. There telephone contact line is open long hours, my particular branch was open standard banking hours and the webiste is avaialable 24 hours for information. The website is extremely easy to navigate around. The main positives about this bank is there extremely friendly and helpful service, as well as the very competetive interest rates. I would recommend this bank to all of my family and friends.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sam, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Truly awesome to deal with. The products are top of the ladder in their rates of interest and flexability and their staff are just great to talk to.

Full review

Truly awesome to deal with. The products are top of the ladder in their rates of interest and flexability and their staff are just great to talk to.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ronald l power, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

My local branch have relocated to a huge shopping complex, it is inconvenient to use the ATM, when the shopping complex is closed there is no access to the ATM, since my Credit Union which used to be Prospect Credit Union merged with other Credit...

Full review

My local branch have relocated to a huge shopping complex, it is inconvenient to use the ATM, when the shopping complex is closed there is no access to the ATM, since my Credit Union which used to be Prospect Credit Union merged with other Credit Unions and changed to Sydney Credit Union I have really noticed the impersonal approach they now have, I have never been happy with their interest rate for personal or car loans as they are much higher than elsewhere, the amount of time it takes to clear cheques and funds remains four days which is two days longer than other institutions, ultimately I am now looking to change my main financial institution.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Diane, New South Wales, reviewed about 7 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Staff very friendly and accomodating!!!

Full review

Staff very friendly and accomodating!!!

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tanya, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

There's no attempt to sweet-talk you into something you don't need or borrow more than you need; unlike the pressure tactics used by the bigger banks. They are also very understanding and communicative should a situation arise where you can't...

Full review

There's no attempt to sweet-talk you into something you don't need or borrow more than you need; unlike the pressure tactics used by the bigger banks. They are also very understanding and communicative should a situation arise where you can't make payment; I've experienced some of the bigger banks before on this and they just plain don't care, no matter what the situation, causing financial pain unreasonably.

    Price   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mel, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive interest rate. Personal service. Flexible repayment options. Easy access to information. Secure internet banking

Full review

Competitive interest rate. Personal service. Flexible repayment options. Easy access to information. Secure internet banking

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tess, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Just how Sydney credit Union take money out of your account to pay off personal loans twice in one week leaving me with no money, then when i talk to them they won't let me transfer my own cash back into my personal loan account because of their...

Full review

Just how Sydney credit Union take money out of your account to pay off personal loans twice in one week leaving me with no money, then when i talk to them they won't let me transfer my own cash back into my personal loan account because of their mistake

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kate, New South Wales, reviewed over 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    Australian Military Bank Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Rate Personal Loan gives you the peace of mind in knowing what your repayments will be for the life of your loan
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online. No penalty for early repayment

    interest rate

    7.93% p.a.to 18.87% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.77% p.a.to 20.27% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $100.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.93% would cost $37,137.24 including fees.

    • A Fixed Rate Personal Loan gives you the peace of mind in knowing what your repayments will be for the life of your loan
    • Tailored rates based on your personal credit history
    • Apply Online. No penalty for early repayment
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $100
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    5.9

    Based on 33 Australian Military Bank personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    7.50% p.a.to 9.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.51% p.a.to 12.71% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 2 to 3 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 7.50% would cost $11,498.24 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 2 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 3 Years
    Overall rating

    4.0

    Based on 2 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    Bank Australia Lifestyle Personal Loan (Variable, Unsecured)

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank

    interest rate

    11.89% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    12.94% p.a.based on $10,000
    over 3 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 10 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 11.89% would cost $12,088.25 including fees.

    • Additional payments accepted
    • No early exit fees
    • Experts Choice Winner 2017 - Australia's Best Bank
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $1,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 15 Bank Australia personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    ANZ Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000

    interest rate

    10.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    11.87% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 10.99% would cost $40,177.39 including fees.

    • A Fixed Personal Loan with terms from 1 to 7 years
    • 60 Sec. Response time
    • Borrow up to $50,000
    • Other benefits: ANZ Loan Protection Insurance available.
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $300.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    6.9

    Based on 1143 ANZ personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget

    interest rate

    9.50% p.a.to 15.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    10.06% p.a.to 16.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $5.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.50% would cost $38,253.35 including fees.

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    6.4

    Based on 19 HSBC personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Want more? Compare all 202 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top