SCU personal loan reviews

SCU
SCU's overall rating for personal loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.0 / 10

based on 2 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured personal loan from SCU

Recent SCU personal loan reviews

SCU

SCU Secured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service without the onselling

Great people who offer a great service. Always friendly. Questions are always on point. They know their product and answer questions as they have access to all the relevant info.

Full review

Great people who offer a great service. Always friendly. Questions are always on point. They know their product and answer questions as they have access to all the relevant info.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jeff (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

SCU

SCU New Car Loan (Up to 2 years old, Fixed, Secured) personal loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer service slow

I wanted to pay out the loan, got a quote and then got another. I had to get it from the dealer. It turned out the dealer increased the rate and gave me a residual to keep the price down. It was 1% but how was I going to prove anything. I did...

Full review

I wanted to pay out the loan, got a quote and then got another. I had to get it from the dealer. It turned out the dealer increased the rate and gave me a residual to keep the price down. It was 1% but how was I going to prove anything. I did expect that a high profile car distributor would be more responsible. We are helping you Peter yes but you do have your hand in my pocket. At the time the payout came around , the phone operator gave me a value I should ask for and it was at least $5000 less. Out of touch to the industry and certainly the clients.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed about 3 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer service was awesome, application easy.

APPLICATION PROCESS WAS QUICK AND EASY. INFORMATION PROVIDED WAS ACCURATE AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND. ABLE TO ARRANGE OVER THE PHONE AND VIA FAX.

Full review

APPLICATION PROCESS WAS QUICK AND EASY. INFORMATION PROVIDED WAS ACCURATE AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND. ABLE TO ARRANGE OVER THE PHONE AND VIA FAX.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lynn (NSW), reviewed about 5 years ago

SCU

SCU Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Friendly Staff

They don't harass me to add extra services every time I ring. Nothing is a greater disincentive than being repeatedly asked if you want something you've clearly indicated you don't.

Full review

They don't harass me to add extra services every time I ring. Nothing is a greater disincentive than being repeatedly asked if you want something you've clearly indicated you don't.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rachel (NSW), reviewed almost 6 years ago

SCU

SCU Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

nothing too much trouble for client

efficient, friendly and helpful in all avenues

Full review

efficient, friendly and helpful in all avenues

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vicki (NSW), reviewed almost 6 years ago

SCU

SCU Unsecured Personal Loan (Variable) personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service.with the best rates

As soon as I walked in the door I was greeted with a smile and great conversation. The branch manager sat down with me and explained everything to me and told me all my options and what would be best for me for now and in the future. The advice he...

Full review

As soon as I walked in the door I was greeted with a smile and great conversation. The branch manager sat down with me and explained everything to me and told me all my options and what would be best for me for now and in the future. The advice he gave me helped me to decide about a number of things concerning my finances.I opened up an acc with them straight away as well. I also did my car insurance threw them as well. The list goes on.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maxine (NSW), reviewed about 6 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The Sydney Credit Union is a great bank, they were very helpful when I was applying for my personal loan, they talked through different packages available and worked out the best one for me financially. They set out a month by month payment plan....

Full review

The Sydney Credit Union is a great bank, they were very helpful when I was applying for my personal loan, they talked through different packages available and worked out the best one for me financially. They set out a month by month payment plan. As this was my first loan, they were extremely helpful in explaining the contract and terms and conditions. There telephone contact line is open long hours, my particular branch was open standard banking hours and the webiste is avaialable 24 hours for information. The website is extremely easy to navigate around. The main positives about this bank is there extremely friendly and helpful service, as well as the very competetive interest rates. I would recommend this bank to all of my family and friends.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sam (NSW), reviewed over 6 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

My local branch have relocated to a huge shopping complex, it is inconvenient to use the ATM, when the shopping complex is closed there is no access to the ATM, since my Credit Union which used to be Prospect Credit Union merged with other Credit...

Full review

My local branch have relocated to a huge shopping complex, it is inconvenient to use the ATM, when the shopping complex is closed there is no access to the ATM, since my Credit Union which used to be Prospect Credit Union merged with other Credit Unions and changed to Sydney Credit Union I have really noticed the impersonal approach they now have, I have never been happy with their interest rate for personal or car loans as they are much higher than elsewhere, the amount of time it takes to clear cheques and funds remains four days which is two days longer than other institutions, ultimately I am now looking to change my main financial institution.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Diane (NSW), reviewed almost 7 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Staff very friendly and accomodating!!!

Full review

Staff very friendly and accomodating!!!

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tanya (NSW), reviewed about 7 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

There's no attempt to sweet-talk you into something you don't need or borrow more than you need; unlike the pressure tactics used by the bigger banks. They are also very understanding and communicative should a situation arise where you can't...

Full review

There's no attempt to sweet-talk you into something you don't need or borrow more than you need; unlike the pressure tactics used by the bigger banks. They are also very understanding and communicative should a situation arise where you can't make payment; I've experienced some of the bigger banks before on this and they just plain don't care, no matter what the situation, causing financial pain unreasonably.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mel (NSW), reviewed over 8 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive interest rate. Personal service. Flexible repayment options. Easy access to information. Secure internet banking

Full review

Competitive interest rate. Personal service. Flexible repayment options. Easy access to information. Secure internet banking

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tess (NSW), reviewed over 8 years ago

SCU

SCU personal loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Just how Sydney credit Union take money out of your account to pay off personal loans twice in one week leaving me with no money, then when i talk to them they won't let me transfer my own cash back into my personal loan account because of their...

Full review

Just how Sydney credit Union take money out of your account to pay off personal loans twice in one week leaving me with no money, then when i talk to them they won't let me transfer my own cash back into my personal loan account because of their mistake

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kate (NSW), reviewed over 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Personal loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Harmoney Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate

    interest rate

    6.99% p.a.to 26.95% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.69% p.a.to 28.21% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $500.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 6.99% would cost $36,133.67 including fees.

    • Up to $70,000, unsecured. Fast, easy & 100% online
    • No hidden fees or early repayment penalties with Australasia's leading marketplace lending website
    • You're unique, so is your interest rate
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $500
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $70,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    HSBC Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget

    interest rate

    9.50% p.a.to 15.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    10.06% p.a.to 16.53% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $150.00upfront
    and
    $5.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 1 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 9.50% would cost $38,253.35 including fees.

    • Apply online and get an instant response in 60 seconds
    • Borrow from $5,000 up to $50,000
    • Fixed set monthly repayment terms to help you manage your budget
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $150
    • Monthly fee: $5.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 4 HSBC personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    MoneyPlace Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit Rating (Fixed)

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes

    interest rate

    7.65% p.a.to 21.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.65% p.a.to 23.5% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $0.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 7.65% would cost $36,196.75 including fees.

    • No hidden fees, no monthly fees
    • Some customers will receive a special $0 establishment fee
    • 100% Online, apply in minutes
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $0
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $45,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed over 5 years)

    SocietyOne Unsecured Personal Loan - Excellent Credit (Fixed over 5 years)

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees

    interest rate

    8.35% p.a.to 11.40% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.61% p.a.to 13.13% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $300.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    5 year term only. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.35% would cost $37,099.76 including fees.

    • Low rates that reward your good credit
    • Apply online in minutes
    • No monthly or early repayment fees
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $300
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 5 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Overall rating

    0.0

    Based on 1 SocietyOne personal loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Wisr Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Wisr Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    • Low personalised rates, for borrowers with excellent credit
    • Borrow between $5,000-$35,000
    • Easy online application - Get a response in minutes

    interest rate

    8.50% p.a.to 19.95% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    9.36% p.a.to 20.91% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    fees

    $595.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 8.50% would cost $37,524.76 including fees.

    • Low personalised rates, for borrowers with excellent credit
    • Borrow between $5,000-$35,000
    • Easy online application - Get a response in minutes
    • Other benefits:
    • Upfront fee: $595
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Monthly
    • Security required: Unsecured
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $50,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 3 Years
    • Maximum loan term: 5 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 195 personal loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more personal loans

Look for a specific type of personal loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top