SGIC logo

SGIC Home insurance reviews

Overall rating
8.0/10
Value for money
7.8/10
Policy coverage
8.0/10
Customer service
8.1/10
Claims handling
7.5/10
Trust
7.8/10
Based on 61 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent SGIC home insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • SGIC Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very reliable, helpful and take worry away.

    I had a recent fire in my kitchen and SGIC were prompt in handling my claim and very quick to facilitate trades people to renovate my kitchen so that is was workable once again. This happened during the Covid lockdown period in SA.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anna, South Australia, reviewed 5 days ago
  • SGIC Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Price competitive.

    Price competitive, great customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Karyn, South Australia, reviewed 18 days ago
  • SGIC Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible insurer

    Our fence was damaged by workers next door. Although helpful at first, after months of nothing their assessor later determined that we were lying about how it was damaged. And refused to repair it. We are now looking for a new insurer.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • SGIC Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great Insurer

    I like SGIC very much. Good premiums and coverage on house and contents worth looking at. Fast claims too.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Bruce, South Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • SGIC Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Completely useless.

    They tell lies and pass you from pillar to post, thats if you manage to contact them. They are the worse company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Bob, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • SGIC Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Very easy to claim and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lynette, South Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • SGIC Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Overall good to deal with

    I am a long time customer. They're good to deal with, although when you have multiple policies the reduction in premium is not really sufficient, not much on an incentive to stay with.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Vesna, South Australia, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • SGIC Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    They take the worry out of crash repairs

    I like SGIC because they offer bonuses for having more than one policy. They are very clear on the phone when I have a query and were extremely helpful when I needed to take my car to the crash repairer.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ellen, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Home Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Completely satisfied

    I have found SGIC to be excellent in all respects when it comes to my contents insurance from claims to premiums. They even contact me regularly to make sure my cover is up to date.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Home Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great premium

    I transferred to SGIC from NRMA when I moved from QLD to SA. The process was very simple and they took great care to let me know what was covered. I have compared quotes a few times and none have been able to better the premium.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Andrea, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very flexible and they listen to your needs

    They haven't given me a reason to dislike them - I have never had to make a claim either so it's hard to say. Having said that, they also offered insurance that covered everything I wanted, whereas no-one else would. This is why I went with SGIC, as they are more flexible and accommodating, willing to work with me to get the right coverage.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Brenton, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • SGIC Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Friendly service and cheap rates

    I am very satisfied with SGIC. I can do everything I need online or over phone and never have any problems. Staff are always there to help if needed.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Judy, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • SGIC Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good insurance provider

    I receive my multi policy discount through SGIC as well as a direct debit monthly payment option.

    Kathryn, South Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • SGIC Home Buildings & Contents Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fabulous insurance company and customer service

    I've had my insurance site with SGIC for 14 years now and would never think of changing providers.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Less
    Juliska, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIC Home Insurance review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Unclear description of what policy covers

    Cheap but not very comprehensive

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Claims handling
    4 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Fiona, South Australia, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.