SGIO logo

SGIO Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 321 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent SGIO car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Affordability

    We chose SGIO for insurance on our cars and our home insurance. When applying, they had the lowest premiums if we took out all our insurance policies with them. As of yet we have not had to make a claim so time will tell how helpful they are with this process.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Chelsea, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • SGIO Car Insurance

    Excellent customer service.

    This is a good insurer. They cover many things lower cost insurers do not offer. They are pleasant to speak with clear communication skills. When I have rang to make an enquiry they were always really helpful and helped me to meet my needs at the time.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tegan, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    A difficult company to try to deal with

    I went to SGIO a year ago, without doing 'Due Diligence!' I thought SGIO was still owned by the WA State Government. (SGIO stands for State Government Insurance Office.) But somewhere along the line, the business was sold to Insurance Australia group, who also owns such brands as NRMA, SGIC, CGU, Swann Insurance and WFI. They are BIG! I took out insurance with them, and inside a week, I was unlucky enough to be hit in the rear of my car while stationary (In Gridlock) on the Kwinana Freeway. The driver admitted responsibility, gave me his insurance details, etc - no problem. But, when I tried to claim with SGIO, firstly they took ages to reply to me. Then I waited another approx. three weeks without hearing from them. Meanwhile, I was driving around with parts at the rear of my car dangling down; not good. So then I started to ring/email them to find out what was happening. Eventually, somebody from their office told me that as I had made a claim within 7 days of taking out a policy, I was being investigated by them for fraud! I pointed out that I wasn't at fault, and the other driver had admitted liability, and his insurance would pay the damage bill, to no avail. In all, from memory, it was something like 6 or 7 weeks before the finally contacted me with repairer details. No apology for the long delay, or suspecting I was 'trying it on them' - nothing. Very 'High Handed'.Not good at all.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Don, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Helpful, efficient and understanding.

    They were the lowest price overall. Very helpful when checking my options to help keep cost down as I am a pensioner now.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Diana, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Competitive premiums and no service!

    My policy with my previous insurer was due to expire on 4/4/20, and as I was not happy with their renewal conditions, I decided to change to SGIO. In years past, SGIO was the State Government Insurance Office of Western Australia, and I remembered they had always been a good, fair and reasonable business to deal with. I paid a year's insurance to them several days before my policy was due to expire, specifying it was to start on the 4/2/20. On the 5/2/20, one day after my policy with SGIO commenced, I was rear-ended while stationary in stop-start conditions on the Kwinana freeway. The guy who ran into me admitted liability to me, and subsequently was on a phone call with an SGIO case officer. I was given the name of a repairer in my area by SGIO, and obtained a quote . As I was leaving the repairer, he volunteered that my file had a 'hold' placed on it by SGIO, and he was unable to order parts until the hold was removed. He suggested I contact SGIO to find out why the hold was in place. A phone call to SGIO told me that because I had made a claim within 10 days of taking out a policy, special provisions had to be complied with. One of the requests from SGIO was that they needed to sight a document from my previous insurer, saying I was no longer insured with them. I complied with this, but time passed and I was unable to get any further on what the holdup was. I aged visibly waiting on hold to speak to someone, and one time I actually got through before my phone battery went flat. She told me the case was still under investigation but was unable to give me a date when I would get the go-ahead. I resorted to sending increasingly strident emails to SGIO, which were ignored for a further three weeks. After a total of more than five weeks had passed, I eventually received the go-ahead to get the repair. I took my car into the repairer yesterday and collected it today have collected my car today from being repaired, after having to have driven around with rear-end damage for almost six weeks. (They did a great job.) During all of this time, SGIO stonewalled my claim without explanation, apart from telling me the delay was due to the claim being made within 10 days of the policy commencement.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Don, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Helpful and fast

    Have been very helpful and fast when needed.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kerry, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Why do evaluation drops but not premiums

    The insurer I was with was government, so it was established and well known and everything seemed to run smoothly.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Kim, Western Australia, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • SGIO Car Insurance

    Not for me

    Expensive for what you get.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Duncan, Western Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Reasonable premiums

    Easy to read policy wordings, don't have to specify accessories.

    Value for money
    Less
    Troy, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Long established Queensland company

    Long established Queensland company

    Value for money
    Less
    Esther, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    They should work on keeping our loyalty

    Why is it that every year your policy goes up but surely the value of your car drops but when you ring and say can they do a better price they look st it and come back with a l ss amount if they want us to stay with them decrease the policy to keep us even if it is only a small amount that we the customer will not go looking for another quote where are our rewards for staying with you.

    Value for money
    Less
    Shelley, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Very happy overall

    Very happy

    Value for money
    Less
    Danielle, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Excellent in all aspects of their company

    SGIO have provided their services to my family for 16 years and we have always found them 100% in their helpfulness and services.

    Value for money
    Less
    Colleen, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIO Car Insurance

    Competitive premiums

    Competitive premiums

    Value for money
    Less
    Heather, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • SGIO Car Insurance

    I am very satisfied

    When I made a claim, they were prompt and very caring. SGIO organised to get my car attended to very quickly and gave me a car until mine was fixed which was only a few days. My care came back looking brand new. I was extremely pleased.

    Value for money
    Less
    Helen, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.