Thumbnail icon for Sydney Mutual Bank

Sydney Mutual Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
8.7/10
Price
8.3/10
Features
7.4/10
Customer service
9.2/10
Convenience
8.3/10
Trust
8.9/10
Based on 14 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Sydney Mutual Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service and low interest rate.

    Interest rate are low. They keep an eye out for suspicious transactions. Give great financial advice. Only thing that I'm not happy about is that it is a bit difficult to send money to a few countries overseas to family so we don’t use them for that.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Julie, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    yes

    I left a major bank to become a member, they gave me my home loan and I had never banked with them before. Their rates are on par with the other lenders, but their customer service rates are so much higher than the banks. They know you by name and take an interest in you, nothing is ever an effort. All my family and friends now bank with them.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Variable Rate Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Customer service

    This credit union has such a personal service. Even though I applied online the service was excellent. They answered all my questions and met all my needs.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Stephanie, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Basic Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The best to do business with

    Sydney Credit Union (when I had a mortgage) was the best bank to deal with. They were fair, always ready to explain things and were very happy when I paid out the mortgage early.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Fabulous

    My bank is always there for me, continuous help and kindness, friendly staff who actually know who I am. Even now and then we will receive a hello phone call just to see how we are going. Exceptional :)

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Narelle, Queensland, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service and features

    Great service, great interest rate. Just lacks the online flexibility to change and update certain things.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Damien, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive features and great customer service

    SCU are the best bank we have ever dealt with: personal service, attention to our needs and extremely competitive. Highly recommended.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed over 6 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Best customer service I have ever received.

    Pros - product is easy to manage on line and very self explanatory. No penalties if paid out early and can make extra payments easily online. Good interest rate. 5 star customer service and questions are answered openly. Product is presented honestly. Cons - have to pay $100 to access drawdown facility to access my own money!!! Don't pass on the full interest rate cuts.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lynn, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    excellent service and a very good product so now all my banking is with SCU

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Martin, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    SCU has very competitive home loan packages. Their interest rates are only put up according to the Reserve Bank's guideline and letters are always sent out stating new rate and giving you a start date instead of immediately raising of your mortgage as a lot of the major banks do. Staff are always very friendly and a my branch is small, they always greet me by name, which I find very customer friendly. I would say there are no cons as far as I am concerned.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, New South Wales, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10

    Customer service is excellent, the only difficulty is there are limited branches but I manage well with internet banking.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tracy, Western Australia, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10

    More personal than big banks.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Melissa, New South Wales, reviewed almost 10 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   3 / 10

    Redi teller ATM use is good since there is no $2 fee. However, not many branches.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Filipo, New South Wales, reviewed almost 10 years ago
  • Sydney Mutual Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    It is a very competitive bank in the market.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Dacia, New South Wales, reviewed over 10 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 3 Apr
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 3 Apr

      Promoted
    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Loan Orange Advantage

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.77% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Home Value Loan

      interest rate
      2.65% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.66% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Flexible Home Loan Member Package

      interest rate
      2.79% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.23% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 545 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.