The Rock home loan reviews

The Rock
The Rock's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.0 / 10

based on 4 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from The Rock

Recent The Rock home loan reviews

The Rock

The Rock Essentials Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates and great customer service

I have nothing but praise for the staff at this bank. Although they are based in Rockhampton and I am in Townsville, nothing was too much and all correspondence via email was precise and direct. My only criticism is that there should be a walk-in...

Full review

I have nothing but praise for the staff at this bank. Although they are based in Rockhampton and I am in Townsville, nothing was too much and all correspondence via email was precise and direct. My only criticism is that there should be a walk-in bank in the all major centres.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Trevor (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

The Rock

The Rock Standard Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Nothing is ever a problem to them.

Full review

Nothing is ever a problem to them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Helen (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great rates, low features

I am using the Rock for an interest only home loan whilst I organize my finances. I found the transition period very simple and the Rock customer service helpful and efficient. I would recommend the Rock to anyone looking for a low frills home...

Full review

I am using the Rock for an interest only home loan whilst I organize my finances. I found the transition period very simple and the Rock customer service helpful and efficient. I would recommend the Rock to anyone looking for a low frills home loan with an excellent rate.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Benjamin (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

No longer good value and have reduced convenience

This was the best deal when I signed up, but has become not so of late. There are much better deals available now (five years on.) I intend to switch away once I have found a job again. Also, they closed their non Rockhampton agencies, which means...

Full review

This was the best deal when I signed up, but has become not so of late. There are much better deals available now (five years on.) I intend to switch away once I have found a job again. Also, they closed their non Rockhampton agencies, which means you need to go to Westpac to deposit cash and can only get advice over the phone if you live outside Rockhampton.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chris (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Bad experience

Bad experience overall! I am based in Perth, was recommended through the Broker due to special promotional rate they offered at the tiime but the whole experience is bad. Hard to call someone to discuss your loan and apparently was told the...

Full review

Bad experience overall! I am based in Perth, was recommended through the Broker due to special promotional rate they offered at the tiime but the whole experience is bad. Hard to call someone to discuss your loan and apparently was told the credit manager would not deal direct with client. They were not flexible at all with the situation change. I got charged for $800 as application fee to withdraw extra equity from my investment property, paying $350 for annual fee. Overall just wouldn't recommend them to anyone!

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

S (WA), reviewed almost 5 years ago

The Rock

The Rock Fixed Rate Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great people to deal with and great rates

The Rock Building Society is a really good bank to be with as their customer service is excellent, their rates are good and they are very understanding and great to deal with. They keep things very clear and easy to understand and there is never...

Full review

The Rock Building Society is a really good bank to be with as their customer service is excellent, their rates are good and they are very understanding and great to deal with. They keep things very clear and easy to understand and there is never any waiting time when making enquiries.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Caroline (NSW), reviewed over 5 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good customer service

They gave us the best deal when we were looking but I always wonder if a better deal comes along but you don't hear about it, but if you're looking for a product where you can do everything online it's perfect for that.

Full review

They gave us the best deal when we were looking but I always wonder if a better deal comes along but you don't hear about it, but if you're looking for a product where you can do everything online it's perfect for that.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Tamara (SA), reviewed over 5 years ago

The Rock

The Rock Standard Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not very competitive rates, no retention of custom

Rates are not very competitive. Do not go extra miles for customer retention or satisfaction to match the rates or give other benefits. Take it or leave it attitude. No bargaining power for customers. Other than rates everything is good.

Full review

Rates are not very competitive. Do not go extra miles for customer retention or satisfaction to match the rates or give other benefits. Take it or leave it attitude. No bargaining power for customers. Other than rates everything is good.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Sherly (VIC), reviewed over 5 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

This bank could benefit from team building exercis

This bank lacked communication... Both internally and externally. I live in a community with 1 bank so I do not have much option

Full review

This bank lacked communication... Both internally and externally. I live in a community with 1 bank so I do not have much option

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Katrina (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service - one of the best!

The Rock have been brilliant, very flexible and give me other options when I was unable to pay my mortgage. They also gave me other options when I tried to get money out of my mortgage without having a home loan with all the bells and whistles....

Full review

The Rock have been brilliant, very flexible and give me other options when I was unable to pay my mortgage. They also gave me other options when I tried to get money out of my mortgage without having a home loan with all the bells and whistles. Excellent customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Moira (VIC), reviewed over 6 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

I chose this bank as they did 3% interest home loans. Pros low interest rates but not worth the cons. Unreliable, high fees, terrible customer support (was transferred to another customer waiting on another line), I have changed my current address...

Full review

I chose this bank as they did 3% interest home loans. Pros low interest rates but not worth the cons. Unreliable, high fees, terrible customer support (was transferred to another customer waiting on another line), I have changed my current address three times and they still send mail elsewhere, extremely inconvenient - no ATMs. Warning - do not be fooled into low interest rates when it is just the sugar coating on a bad apple pie.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Samantha (QLD), reviewed about 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

When people are paying a mortgage I don't feel that banks should charge a monthly fee on top of interest. When completing the mortgage, the bank shouldn't charge solicitor fees to release your deeds/titles.

Full review

When people are paying a mortgage I don't feel that banks should charge a monthly fee on top of interest. When completing the mortgage, the bank shouldn't charge solicitor fees to release your deeds/titles.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Narelle (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

100% offset and fix interest rate

Full review

100% offset and fix interest rate

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nathan (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Our home loan has suited us & have found this bank to be fantastic. There was a time when my husbands work forget to deposit our money into our home loan which was due that same day & with only 1 phone call it was all sorted out & no fees...

Full review

Our home loan has suited us & have found this bank to be fantastic. There was a time when my husbands work forget to deposit our money into our home loan which was due that same day & with only 1 phone call it was all sorted out & no fees involved. Gotta love that. Would definitely recommend the rock to friends & family

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nicole (VIC), reviewed over 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The Rock and its home loan products are great - great fee structure with the package! Free transaction account with free Eftpos and ATM (not just the Rock ATM)

Full review

The Rock and its home loan products are great - great fee structure with the package! Free transaction account with free Eftpos and ATM (not just the Rock ATM)

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed almost 8 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

More branches are needed.

Full review

More branches are needed.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stephanie berghofer (QLD), reviewed over 8 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I trust them far more I do than the greedy big banks.

Full review

I trust them far more I do than the greedy big banks.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Juliette (VIC), reviewed over 8 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The offset account is the same rate as the loan therefore beating any competition - it is also possible to draw against the extra you pay off your loan at no cost. The staff call you by your name and can't do enough to be of service to you.

Full review

The offset account is the same rate as the loan therefore beating any competition - it is also possible to draw against the extra you pay off your loan at no cost. The staff call you by your name and can't do enough to be of service to you.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chi chi (QLD), reviewed over 8 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The Rock Building Society have been very good to us and have provided excellent support and service. WE will continue our business with them, and can recommend them to others as a dependable banking institution.

Full review

The Rock Building Society have been very good to us and have provided excellent support and service. WE will continue our business with them, and can recommend them to others as a dependable banking institution.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shane (QLD), reviewed almost 9 years ago

The Rock

The Rock home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A competitive rate available with no ongoing fees
    • Minimum of 5% deposit required for owner-occupied loans (conditions apply)
    • Reduce interest by making additional payments. Access your extra funds via a redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.70% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $330

    Go to site

    More info

    • A competitive rate available with no ongoing fees
    • Minimum of 5% deposit required for owner-occupied loans (conditions apply)
    • Reduce interest by making additional payments. Access your extra funds via a redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.70% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $330
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $535.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 52 Aussie home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Customer-Owned Banking & Home Lender of the Year 2018

    interest rate

    3.72% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.12% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Customer-Owned Banking & Home Lender of the Year 2018
    • Interest rate: 3.72% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.12% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 509 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top