The Rock savings account reviews

The Rock
The Rock's overall rating for savings accounts

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.0 / 10

based on 6 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured savings account from The Rock

Recent The Rock savings account reviews

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic service all round. Small but excellent.

All round service and customer friendly banking institution.

Full review

All round service and customer friendly banking institution.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Terry (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Really good customer service

Helpful staff, very friendly.

Full review

Helpful staff, very friendly.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Quentin (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good as a Salary payment account

Branch access sucks, since they closed the ones outside Rockhampton. All ATM access is free for 4 transactions a month I think though through RediTeller so that is okay. Also mine is linked as an offset on my Home Loan reducing interest there. No...

Full review

Branch access sucks, since they closed the ones outside Rockhampton. All ATM access is free for 4 transactions a month I think though through RediTeller so that is okay. Also mine is linked as an offset on my Home Loan reducing interest there. No ongoing fees if you stay under with your ATM usage.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chris (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Many options and great service to me

They pointed out which was the most economical account to suit my circumstances.

Full review

They pointed out which was the most economical account to suit my circumstances.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carol (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Top company to be with

I think my bank does a reasonable job with my money. They advise when terms fall due, also if interest rates are going up. At the moment rates are very low for term deposits, and for every day pass book accounts. This is offset by the glamours...

Full review

I think my bank does a reasonable job with my money. They advise when terms fall due, also if interest rates are going up. At the moment rates are very low for term deposits, and for every day pass book accounts. This is offset by the glamours behind the counters, with intelligence as well! What more could I want?

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lyle (QLD), reviewed about 4 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not many services available to low income earners

Would not give me a personal loan even though I have a substantial amount invested with them.

Full review

Would not give me a personal loan even though I have a substantial amount invested with them.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Excellent customer service

When I signed up with this bank I lived in a suburb that had a sub branch at the newsagency and there was one close to work. The sub branches closed and there is only one other place access to the branch which is 45 minutes drive away - extremely...

Full review

When I signed up with this bank I lived in a suburb that had a sub branch at the newsagency and there was one close to work. The sub branches closed and there is only one other place access to the branch which is 45 minutes drive away - extremely inconvenient. Nevertheless, the product and customer service was great.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 4 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, benefit of being small ban

It's a great account to start up a savings account, it builds up fast and has limited access so you don't just spend it.

Full review

It's a great account to start up a savings account, it builds up fast and has limited access so you don't just spend it.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kierrin (QLD), reviewed over 5 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

For small incomes, like myself (single parent pension), I would like to see no account fees and lower fees for the use of another banks atm or eftpos. making it easier for people like me to get approval for home and personal loans. I would love to...

Full review

For small incomes, like myself (single parent pension), I would like to see no account fees and lower fees for the use of another banks atm or eftpos. making it easier for people like me to get approval for home and personal loans. I would love to buy a home for my children.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Tammy (QLD), reviewed almost 6 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The staff at the rock are very friendly and they meet my needs to what account I need, nothing is a problem to them.

Full review

The staff at the rock are very friendly and they meet my needs to what account I need, nothing is a problem to them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sherry (QLD), reviewed about 6 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

They have fees for everything and they are so high that I am going to change my bank. On some months my fees can b up too $60 or more for a month and i cannot afford that. I very rarely use other banks atms and i dont use eftpos that often but...

Full review

They have fees for everything and they are so high that I am going to change my bank. On some months my fees can b up too $60 or more for a month and i cannot afford that. I very rarely use other banks atms and i dont use eftpos that often but still my fees are high and i was told once that i am not suppose to have fees but then i found out that i have account keepin fees, atm fees even if i use their atm n book keeping fees n aftpos fees even if i dont use eftpos that month and i was told if u have less then certain amount in the bank u would have no fees whatsoever. But every month i am charged fees and every month they are very high. My son got $160 worth of fees one month n there is no way he can afford that either so im not happy with the bank n i will b changin to another one

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

The only gripe I have about The Rock is that in my area there is only one branch and it's all the way in town, which can be in convenient at times and that they don't have branches in major cities.

Full review

The only gripe I have about The Rock is that in my area there is only one branch and it's all the way in town, which can be in convenient at times and that they don't have branches in major cities.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jeannie (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Like - small Bank with personal service and very competative with the big banks

Full review

Like - small Bank with personal service and very competative with the big banks

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Greg (QLD), reviewed over 6 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

The Rock still charges big fees to low income earners, they have no rewards programs and you can't get a personal loan under $5000.

Full review

The Rock still charges big fees to low income earners, they have no rewards programs and you can't get a personal loan under $5000.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Kerry (QLD), reviewed almost 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

They treat you as someone who is paying their wages.

Full review

They treat you as someone who is paying their wages.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Raoul (QLD), reviewed about 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   5 / 10

They have one of the highest monthly account management fees (currently $6.00) and have even started to put this on children's acccounts. This takes place if your balance falls below either $1000 or $1500 (unsure of the exact figure as I have...

Full review

They have one of the highest monthly account management fees (currently $6.00) and have even started to put this on children's acccounts. This takes place if your balance falls below either $1000 or $1500 (unsure of the exact figure as I have taken my business away from this institution), whereas I am sure no other bank charges more than $5.00 per month for this same service. They also have a huge dishonour fee of $45.00 if you do not have enough funds in your account to cover a regular direct debit payment that comes out. Unless you have enough cash to live on and can afford to leave a few thousand dollars in your account at all times, I would not recommend this financial institution especially if, like most people these days, you live from week to week on what little funds you do have.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Barbara (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Too many fees, money not available, overdrawn fees applied when funds should have been available, ATM constantly down.

Full review

Too many fees, money not available, overdrawn fees applied when funds should have been available, ATM constantly down.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Simon (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They take fees out of my bank account.

Full review

They take fees out of my bank account.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Kylie (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Can make account very accessible or just passbook, the old fashioned touch and the service is the same.

Full review

Can make account very accessible or just passbook, the old fashioned touch and the service is the same.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jenni (QLD), reviewed over 7 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The staff at Rock Building Society are easy to talk to, friendly and approachable.

Full review

The staff at Rock Building Society are easy to talk to, friendly and approachable.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Harold (QLD), reviewed about 8 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Rock Building Society are a good friendly Building Society. Although it is very small and only has branches in Central QLD which can be quite inconvenient when travelling throughout Australia.

Full review

Rock Building Society are a good friendly Building Society. Although it is very small and only has branches in Central QLD which can be quite inconvenient when travelling throughout Australia.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed about 8 years ago

The Rock

The Rock savings account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I like that i am able to use a Passbook with Rock Building Society. They have good customer service and local branches.

Full review

I like that i am able to use a Passbook with Rock Building Society. They have good customer service and local branches.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kathy (QLD), reviewed about 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    AMP Saver Account

    AMP Saver Account

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 to $5,000,000)

    bonus rate for 4 months

    standard interest rate

    2.10% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,000)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive interest rates, calculated daily and paid monthly
    • A bonus interest rate of 0.45% per annum for the first four months
    • No Monthly fees
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account.
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 24 AMP savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ANZ Online Saver

    ANZ Online Saver

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements

    special rate*

    2.55% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online.

    standard interest rate

    0.50% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Flexible high interest savings account plus exclusive online bonus interest offer for 3 months. Limited time only
    • Interest calculated daily and paid monthly
    • No minimum balance, no withdrawal fees and no fixed term requirements
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening. The bonus rate offer is only available to new ANZ Online Saver customers who have not held an ANZ Online Saver account during the last 6 months, and apply online. Offer not available to beneficiaries for an ANZ Online Saver account held on trust within the past 6 months
    • Access: BPay, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must be linked to ANZ deposit account.
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 2117 ANZ savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME Online Savings Account

    ME Online Savings Account

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees

    special rate*

    2.95% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)

    Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.

    standard interest rate

    1.30% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Savings Bank of the Year 2016
    • No minimum monthly deposit. Ongoing variable bonus rate
    • No monthly account-keeping fees
    • Special rate conditions: Ongoing bonus rate if during the month you make a weekly Tap & Go purchase with your ME Everyday Transaction Account buck Debit MasterCard.
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 119 ME savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • St.George Maxi Saver

    St.George Maxi Saver

    • 24/7 access online savings account
    • No monthly service fees
    • No minimum monthly balance or deposit required

    special rate*

    2.70% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    bonus rate for first 3 months

    standard interest rate

    0.80% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • 24/7 access online savings account
    • No monthly service fees
    • No minimum monthly balance or deposit required
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 3 months from account opening
    • Access: Branch access, Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account with this provider
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 724 St.George savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Westpac eSaver

    Westpac eSaver

    • Unlimited access to your money
    • Earn interest on every dollar
    • No monthly account service fee

    special rate*

    2.51% p.a. (for $0 and over)

    Bonus rate for the first 5 months from account opening

    standard interest rate

    0.80% p.a.(for $0 and over)

    account fee per month

    $0.00

    Go to site

    More info

    • Unlimited access to your money
    • Earn interest on every dollar
    • No monthly account service fee
    • Special rate conditions: Bonus rate for the first 5 months from account opening
    • Access: Phone banking, Internet banking
    • Minimum balance: $0.00
    • Other restrictions: Must link to a transaction account with this provider. $5 fee applies for all transactions except phone and internet banking
    Overall rating

    7.9

    Based on 1602 Westpac savings account reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 210 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more savings accounts

Look for a specific type of savings account:

Back to top