Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card reviews

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank
Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

8.8 / 10

based on 11 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Full review

Featured credit card from Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Recent Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card reviews

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great VTMU service

Does not have any extras, no fee, very simple, VTMU always ring if they are unsure of a transaction. Very happy with the card.

Full review

Does not have any extras, no fee, very simple, VTMU always ring if they are unsure of a transaction. Very happy with the card.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They make house calls!

I like this bank because they know my special interests are also their special interests. The services are competitive and they make house calls.

Full review

I like this bank because they know my special interests are also their special interests. The services are competitive and they make house calls.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geraldine (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service with good rates.

I can talk to a consultant easily either via phone, online or by visiting the bank. If I visit the bank, I am asked re the issue and within seconds I am speaking to someone. There is usually no lining up or waiting periods to talk to someone.

Full review

I can talk to a consultant easily either via phone, online or by visiting the bank. If I visit the bank, I am asked re the issue and within seconds I am speaking to someone. There is usually no lining up or waiting periods to talk to someone.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sue (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Service is excellent and rates are competitive.

Charges are minimal, and is easy to use. Service is always about helping the customer, not the bank.

Full review

Charges are minimal, and is easy to use. Service is always about helping the customer, not the bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kim (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great interest rate

Great credit card, obviously the rate being a standout feature.

Full review

Great credit card, obviously the rate being a standout feature.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Julius (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

If you value customer service and a fair deal

Fantastic mutual organisation - always putting their members needs first! Staff in the call centre and branches are a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommend.

Full review

Fantastic mutual organisation - always putting their members needs first! Staff in the call centre and branches are a pleasure to deal with. Highly recommend.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jodie , reviewed over 2 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent customer service

Victoria Mutual Bank's Credit & debit cards excellent product - VMB is very careful & endeavour to make sure that the cards are not being fraudulently used!

Full review

Victoria Mutual Bank's Credit & debit cards excellent product - VMB is very careful & endeavour to make sure that the cards are not being fraudulently used!

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

William (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive interest rate and personalised service

They have great loan options and saving options. In my 2 decades of banking with VTMB, I have never paid a single cent in account fees and the interest rate is very reasonable.

Full review

They have great loan options and saving options. In my 2 decades of banking with VTMB, I have never paid a single cent in account fees and the interest rate is very reasonable.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jessie (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very alert up to date bank, great customer service

Had a call from the bank at 2 am on a Saturday morning telling me that there was transactions been processed on my credit card in Canada. One went through but they stopped a further two. I was very impressed on their response and acting so fast to...

Full review

Had a call from the bank at 2 am on a Saturday morning telling me that there was transactions been processed on my credit card in Canada. One went through but they stopped a further two. I was very impressed on their response and acting so fast to stop this. They took care of everything. Got the money back and helped me changed pins and numbers asap. I didn't have to worry about a thing, they were fantastic. To their very quick response, they saved me from having my account wiped out. Thank you Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best customer service of all banks

I have been with Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank for many years and have always found them very helpful, trustworthy and reliable in all my dealings with them.

Full review

I have been with Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank for many years and have always found them very helpful, trustworthy and reliable in all my dealings with them.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

No great prizes or rewards but their service makes up for it.

Full review

No great prizes or rewards but their service makes up for it.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer awareness and service

I benefit from my bank, the Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank, having had an earlier existence as a credit union. The tradition of personal service and awareness of the customer's needs has carried over into its current form.

Full review

I benefit from my bank, the Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank, having had an earlier existence as a credit union. The tradition of personal service and awareness of the customer's needs has carried over into its current form.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good service and reasonable premiums

Great.

Full review

Great.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (NT), reviewed over 3 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates, no gimmicks

They have great rates. They don't do gimmicks but the rates outweigh the need for rewards etc. They look after customers. I had a call on Christmas day after purchasing something on-line from the US to make sure that I had indeed made the...

Full review

They have great rates. They don't do gimmicks but the rates outweigh the need for rewards etc. They look after customers. I had a call on Christmas day after purchasing something on-line from the US to make sure that I had indeed made the purchase and wasn't being scammed. They were on the phone within minutes when I've purchased things overseas especially to ensure it is me doing the purchasing. Gives me peace of mind!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed almost 4 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service and easy acess.

When you suddenly find out a week before going on a cruise that a Credit card is needed - much to my dismay :( I found that the Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank was right on to it and we had our new card organised, done and dusted before we left...

Full review

When you suddenly find out a week before going on a cruise that a Credit card is needed - much to my dismay :( I found that the Victorian Teachers Mutual Bank was right on to it and we had our new card organised, done and dusted before we left home :) Very impressed I am!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sue (VIC), reviewed about 4 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Superior Fraud Detection ability

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank has the best security features for a credit card. There are alot of fraudulent transactions going on round the world today, as much information is shared via internet world wide web and data selling etc. I have used...

Full review

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank has the best security features for a credit card. There are alot of fraudulent transactions going on round the world today, as much information is shared via internet world wide web and data selling etc. I have used my card on some international transactions, and they call extremely promptly to double check I authorised the transactions, sometimes within a minute of the transaction. They work 7days a week, and they actually discovered on the weekend recently a $7 charge that was trying to debit, when I didn't use my card or authorise this transaction. So they pick up on these types of things very quickly, and have strict processes that work to ensure your money is protected. They also have super internet security features during banking online. They alwasy identify you on the phone very thoroughly. People should be aware that Vic Teach Mutual Bank might come across as very intrusive and over protective, however I recommend this as it is there to protect you and your funds. Which at the end of the day gives you peace of mind. I have had credit cards with 3 other institutions over the years, and this one by far is just as competitive as any major bank or brand with super fraud detection working for you round the clock. Highly recommended, especially to anyone who is a regular online customer using credit cards, conscious of protecting their money and personal information as well as giving you the opportunity to let them monitor for you so you don't have to waste hours of time checking statements and transactions.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Daniel (NSW), reviewed over 4 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy online banking.

The main benefit of this credit card to the customer is obviously, that the card allows its holder to purchase goods and services. I like the idea that a bank can build a revolving account and award a line of credit to the consumer from which the...

Full review

The main benefit of this credit card to the customer is obviously, that the card allows its holder to purchase goods and services. I like the idea that a bank can build a revolving account and award a line of credit to the consumer from which the user can borrow money for payment to a merchant or as a cash advance. I like the convenience of small short-term loans to be made speedily to a customer who is generally not required to calculate a balance remaining, before every transaction. I like the fact that my bank offers credit card fraud protection. The main con of the credit card is a 'complex' fee structure, (which is usually rampant in the credit card industry) which in turn often restricts customers' ability to comparison shop, which then ensures that the industry is not price-competitive which in turn helps maximize industry profits.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sandra (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Flexibility and convenience

I have used the same my Visa/Debit card for almost 18 years. The product is very flexible in how I manage the card & repayments. I am able to link it with other accounts also. VTCU staff have always be easy to contact & more helpful than any...

Full review

I have used the same my Visa/Debit card for almost 18 years. The product is very flexible in how I manage the card & repayments. I am able to link it with other accounts also. VTCU staff have always be easy to contact & more helpful than any other banking institution. Online help is easy to use also. I have & had other accounts at the "big 4 banks" and maybe they have cheaper CCs for an initial period of time but do not offer the flexibility of VTCU cards.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mozo reviewer (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank Visa Classic Credit Card credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Committed customer service

Victorian Teachers Mutual is completely trustworthy, honest, reliable, efficient and an exemplary business ....so very committed to customer service.

Full review

Victorian Teachers Mutual is completely trustworthy, honest, reliable, efficient and an exemplary business ....so very committed to customer service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Terry (VIC), reviewed over 4 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to use, easy to link to other accounts. Installed with new microchip and always scans first time

Full review

Easy to use, easy to link to other accounts. Installed with new microchip and always scans first time

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kingsley (VIC), reviewed over 5 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

competitive interest rate, no hidden fees, no annual fees

Full review

competitive interest rate, no hidden fees, no annual fees

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Emily (VIC), reviewed over 5 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I very much like their credit cards, because their products are highly competitive & due to the Victoria Teachers Credit Union structure of serving its members for their overall benefit; it feels like when I am making a monthly payment on any...

Full review

I very much like their credit cards, because their products are highly competitive & due to the Victoria Teachers Credit Union structure of serving its members for their overall benefit; it feels like when I am making a monthly payment on any outstanding credit card balance, that I am actually repaying myself!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Craig (VIC), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The VTCU Credit Card offers the best value for fee product that I know of, it's a no nonsense approach to personal finance. There are no rewards, just the best interest rate and ease of use.

Full review

The VTCU Credit Card offers the best value for fee product that I know of, it's a no nonsense approach to personal finance. There are no rewards, just the best interest rate and ease of use.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nathaniel (VIC), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

no on going fees, great customer service

Full review

no on going fees, great customer service

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kate (VIC), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank credit card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No rewards program. Not many fees though which is good.

Full review

No rewards program. Not many fees though which is good.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sophie (NSW), reviewed almost 6 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • American Express Explorer Credit Card

    American Express Explorer Credit Card

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months (1.00% p.a. balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 100,000 Membership Rewards® Points (T&Cs apply)
    • $400 in Travel Credit each year
    • Up to 2 Membership Rewards points per $1 spent
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months (1.00% p.a. balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $395
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, min $2.50
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 255 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    ME frank Credit Card

    ME frank Credit Card

    • Experts Choice Winner - Best Low Rate & Fee Free Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases

    balance transfer rate

    purchase rate

    11.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Best Low Rate & Fee Free Credit Card
    • Low rate of 11.99% p.a on purchases and cash advances
    • Up to 55 days interest free on purchases
    • Balance transfer rate:
    • Annual fee: $0
    • Purchase rate: 11.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 11.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $4.00
    • Rewards description:
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 47 ME credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Mozo's pick of the month

    Start Christmas shopping with 0% on purchases!  

    Coles No Annual Fee MasterCard

    Coles No Annual Fee MasterCard

    • 0% p.a. interest on purchases for 15 months if you apply and are approved by 31 Dec 2016
    • No annual fee to pay, ever
    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 6 months

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 15 months then 19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% p.a. interest on purchases for 15 months if you apply and are approved by 31 Dec 2016
    • No annual fee to pay, ever
    • 0% p.a. on balance transfers for 6 months
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 6 months
    • Annual fee: $0
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 15 months then 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 62
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 19.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, Min $1.95
    • Rewards description: Earn 1 flybuys point for every $2 you spend.
    Overall rating

    6.8

    Based on 156 Coles credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    American Express Essential Credit Card

    American Express Essential Credit Card

    • Receive a $50 credit when you apply online and meet spend criteria
    • Earn up to 1 Membership Rewards point for every $1 spent
    • $0 annual fee

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months (1.00% p.a. balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    14.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive a $50 credit when you apply online and meet spend criteria
    • Earn up to 1 Membership Rewards point for every $1 spent
    • $0 annual fee
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months (1.00% p.a. balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $0
    • Purchase rate: 14.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, min $2.50
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 255 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Qantas Rewards Premium Card

    NAB Qantas Rewards Premium Card

    • 0% p.a on purchases for 15 months
    • 0% p.a on balance transfers for 15 months (one off 3% BT fee)
    • 25,000 bonus Qantas Points when you make an everyday purchase within 90 days

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a. (3.00% p.a. balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    0% p.a. for 15 months then 19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $250

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% p.a on purchases for 15 months
    • 0% p.a on balance transfers for 15 months (one off 3% BT fee)
    • 25,000 bonus Qantas Points when you make an everyday purchase within 90 days
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 15 months and then 21.74% p.a. (3.00% p.a. balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $250
    • Purchase rate: 0% p.a. for 15 months then 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 44
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.74% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%, Min $2.50
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 1409 NAB credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 201 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

Back to top