Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

We'd love to hear from you

Write a review

Search reviews by

Search

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank

Nothing but happy with the Commonwealth bank.
Full review

Nothing but happy with the Commonwealth bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service.

This bank is great as they're very trust worthy and very quick with their service.
Full review

This bank is great as they're very trust worthy and very quick with their service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Teyarnea (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Complete Access bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great account with easy access and support

Strong brand and easy access supported by excellent personal contact by email and at branches.
Full review

Strong brand and easy access supported by excellent personal contact by email and at branches.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankwest

Bankwest bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service, easily accessible

Easy to understand.
Full review

Easy to understand.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kristy (WA), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

HSBC

HSBC bank account review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Never ever!

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I...
Full review

I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezes my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my oversea financial details, as they suspect I may have involved in money laundry!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!I have been with HSBC for at least 15 years. I bought an investment property with their hometown. All the income transaction goes to this account since. I spend most of my time overseas. 3 years ago, I updated my mailing address with them so I can re-direct all the mails to my new address in Victoria. They freezed my account out of the blue. We now can't do any transactions. I finally managed to make a trip to the branch with all my personal details. However, the staff member at Collin Street, Melbourne wanted me to provide my overseas financial details, as they suspect I may have been involved in money laundering!!!! The staffs were extremely rude! Do NOT deal with HSBC. Avoid at all cost !!!

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

C (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Everyday bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome product

The best bank I've ever been with.
Full review

The best bank I've ever been with.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracy (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Ultimate Everyday Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great community bank

Only bank who would look at our request to mortgage.
Full review

Only bank who would look at our request to mortgage.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Denise (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Auswide Bank

Auswide Bank Business Access Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome Bank

Only been with these guys for a short time - my suggestion is just make the move and go Auswide NOW!
Full review

Only been with these guys for a short time - my suggestion is just make the move and go Auswide NOW!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chris (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Bad Service

Been with them for over 15 Years - have never had do much trouble as I have had in the last 12 months, unreliable at getting back to you and very contradicting...See ya ANZ.
Full review

Been with them for over 15 Years - have never had do much trouble as I have had in the last 12 months, unreliable at getting back to you and very contradicting...See ya ANZ.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Chris (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Complete Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Service, accessibility, streamlined

Pros: Excellent Service Excellent availability Good Interest Rates Easy SignUp AMAZING online banking Cons None, best bank around
Full review

Pros: Excellent Service Excellent availability Good Interest Rates Easy SignUp AMAZING online banking Cons None, best bank around

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Samuel (TAS), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Unknown

Strong brand and presence.
Full review

Strong brand and presence.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

James (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Smart Access bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not bad at all if you're looking for easy help

No problems with simple transaction accounts. They have quite a few offers and mobile apps that are well thought out.
Full review

No problems with simple transaction accounts. They have quite a few offers and mobile apps that are well thought out.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Peter (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Great customer service, would not consider changing banks.
Full review

Great customer service, would not consider changing banks.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Fiona (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent service

It was easy to join up, and lots of impartial advice from the customer service team on the best product to have. I felt looked after, and that I was not simply an account number.
Full review

It was easy to join up, and lots of impartial advice from the customer service team on the best product to have. I felt looked after, and that I was not simply an account number.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Peter (ACT), reviewed 9 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Complete Access bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Just barely competitive

I feel that they could be a little more generous with their interest rates on various accounts.
Full review

I feel that they could be a little more generous with their interest rates on various accounts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

William (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Convenient easy banking

Always banked with them my whole banking life and they have always been easy to deal with, located in convenient places and have helpful, friendly staff.
Full review

Always banked with them my whole banking life and they have always been easy to deal with, located in convenient places and have helpful, friendly staff.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Fiona (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Access Advantage bank account review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Security is first class

Good personal service but always one of the first to drop rates. They pay you and raise interest on mortgage rates. Good variety of accounts. Very secure online services.
Full review

Good personal service but always one of the first to drop rates. They pay you and raise interest on mortgage rates. Good variety of accounts. Very secure online services.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Esther (NSW), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank bank account review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Easy to get to

Only because they are local.
Full review

Only because they are local.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Brendon (VIC), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good communication

Bendigo bank has a good communication with their clients to my experience.
Full review

Bendigo bank has a good communication with their clients to my experience.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

HSBC

HSBC Day to Day Account bank account review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service

Good bank to deal with.
Full review

Good bank to deal with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rob (WA), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Classic Banking Account bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Easy to deal with.
Full review

Easy to deal with.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mark (VIC), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ bank account review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and friendly staff

I've had fraud on my card three times, but their customer service in addressing the problem is great. They don't yet do cardless cash.
Full review

I've had fraud on my card three times, but their customer service in addressing the problem is great. They don't yet do cardless cash.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Laura (NSW), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Choice bank account review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great Customer service.

Great accounts and service.
Full review

Great accounts and service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

George (VIC), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Business Transaction Account bank account review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Bad corporate held together by great branch staff

Banks in general treat customers badly and are arrogant greedy organizations... the best that can be said is that they are no worse than their competitors.
Full review

Banks in general treat customers badly and are arrogant greedy organizations... the best that can be said is that they are no worse than their competitors.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Jack (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Online Saver bank account review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Plenty of banks about

Problem with money sent from UK, they just sent me a silly letter, and the UK bank rang me back after 10 min and problem solved. So will never talk to them again on this subject.
Full review

Problem with money sent from UK, they just sent me a silly letter, and the UK bank rang me back after 10 min and problem solved. So will never talk to them again on this subject.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Martin (WA), reviewed 10 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bank account comparisons on MozoRates updated daily

  • HSBC Day to Day Account

    HSBC Day to Day Account

    • Visa Debit Card
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site
    • Visa Debit Card
    • $0 monthly account fee
    • No ATM fees at 3,000 ATMs nationally
    Product info
    • Atm networks: HSBC, Westpac, St George, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa.
      Balances from $5,000: 0.01%pa.
      Balances from $500,000: 0.50%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, phone, internet, Bank@Post, BPAY and direct debits
    Overall rating

    5.8

    Based on 32 HSBC bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    ING DIRECT Orange Everyday

    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site
    • No monthly account keeping fees
    • Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month
    • 2% cash back on Visa payWave purchases under $100 when you deposit $1,000 per month
    Product info
    • Atm networks: None
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Free ATM use when you deposit your pay of $1,000+ each month, free EFTPOS withdrawals and online bank cheques.
    Overall rating

    9.3

    Based on 115 ING DIRECT bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    Bankwest Easy Transaction Account

    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone, online banking or our highly rated mobile app

    account fee

    $6.00$0 monthly account fee if you deposit min. $2,000 per month

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site
    • Pay $0 ATM fees at over 10,000 major bank ATMs in Aus. Fees, T&Cs apply
    • No monthly account keeping fees when you deposit at least $2,000 per month
    • 24/7 access to your money via phone, online banking or our highly rated mobile app
    Product info
    • Atm networks: Bankwest, ANZ, Commonwealth, NAB, Westpac
    • What kind of card?: Debit MasterCard
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited domestic transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque and counter withdrawals
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 221 Bankwest bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • NAB Classic Banking Account

    NAB Classic Banking Account

    • No monthly account fees
    • Access to Visa payWave
    • Debit card gives you unlimited access to internet and telephone banking

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0.01%

    Go to site
    • No monthly account fees
    • Access to Visa payWave
    • Debit card gives you unlimited access to internet and telephone banking
    Product info
    • Atm networks: NAB, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit or
      EFTPOS
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.01%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from own-bank ATM, EFTPOS, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa debit purchases
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 782 NAB bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account

    Bank of Queensland Day2Day Plus Account

    • No monthly account keeping fees, with no minimum monthly deposit required
    • Free access to over 3,000 rediATMs nationwide
    • Visa Debit card access with Visa payWave

    account fee

    $0.00

    salary direct credit facility

    yes

    interest rate

    0%

    Go to site
    • No monthly account keeping fees, with no minimum monthly deposit required
    • Free access to over 3,000 rediATMs nationwide
    • Visa Debit card access with Visa payWave
    Product info
    • Atm networks: BoQ, rediATM
    • What kind of card?: Visa Debit
    • Interest rate: Balances from $0: 0.00%pa
    • Fee free transactions: Unlimited free transactions from network ATMs, EFTPOS, cheque, counter withdrawals, counter deposits, phone, internet and Visa Debit
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 140 Bank of Queensland bank account reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all bank accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all bank accounts

Look for a specific type of bank account:

-- Choose type --
rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank or insurer for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

 

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.