Bank account reviews

Read the latest bank account reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their bank, credit union or building society to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all bank accounts or check out our bank account guides

Write a review

Recent bank account reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • ING DIRECT

    ING DIRECT bank account review

    Would recommend trying

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 hour ago)

    Best bank ever. No fees on account in credit. Discount given on spending credited back into your ing direct account. Excellent promotions during the year giving you bonus credits on sign up of new customers . No atm fees on some withdrawals.  Full review 

    Best bank ever. No fees on account in credit. Discount given on spending credited back into your ing direct account. Excellent promotions during the year giving you bonus credits on sign up of new customers . No atm fees on some withdrawals.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ING DIRECT bank account reviewed by Paul

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    Good products

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 hour ago)

    I like ANZ Bank because of its convenience and variety of products. Their fees are not the best but service is cool. I like the looks of the branches, set up and interior décor are brilliant.  Full review 

    I like ANZ Bank because of its convenience and variety of products. Their fees are not the best but service is cool. I like the looks of the branches, set up and interior décor are brilliant.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Teresita from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Northern Inland Credit Union

    Northern Inland Credit Union bank account review

    Fantastic customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 hours ago)

    All staff at my bank are always helpful and friendly and willing to give help and advice they are a very professional and trustworthy team.  Full review 

    All staff at my bank are always helpful and friendly and willing to give help and advice they are a very professional and trustworthy team.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Northern Inland Credit Union bank account reviewed by Alison from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Macquarie

    Macquarie bank account review

    Stay away from them!!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 hours ago)

    I opened a bank account with Macquarie in December and then, quite out of the blue they called me and notified of closing my bank account, as if I was a money launderer - just like that! - the account had a very small amount of money though. Then ...  Full review 

    I opened a bank account with Macquarie in December and then, quite out of the blue they called me and notified of closing my bank account, as if I was a money launderer - just like that! - the account had a very small amount of money though. Then they promosed that I would receive a letter explaining why it was closed. After making about 5 phone calls requesting such a letter, then finally sent one in 2 months!! after closing it. The letter just stated that they made a decision to close a bank account without any explanation. Stay away from this bank! I have been banking with many banks but have never ever experienced such a set-up and totally disrespectful attitude to clients...


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Macquarie bank account reviewed by Mike from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    Great customer service at the tellers

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 7 hours ago)

    I feel that most of the customer service is excellent at the tellers however in the finance department I have experienced some that are toffee nosed and are not as helpful or respectful as the employees that work as tellers, and that 30% of my rat...  Full review 

    I feel that most of the customer service is excellent at the tellers however in the finance department I have experienced some that are toffee nosed and are not as helpful or respectful as the employees that work as tellers, and that 30% of my rating puts me off doing business with them if I had to invest my money in a term deposit. Having a bank account is OK with them however if you have a substantial amount of money.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Michela from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    Best bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 8 hours ago)

    It's not just that it's the only bank in town but after using many other banks, ANZ is by far the friendliest and most helpful bank I have ever dealt with.  Full review 

    It's not just that it's the only bank in town but after using many other banks, ANZ is by far the friendliest and most helpful bank I have ever dealt with.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Nigel from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Newcastle Permanent

    Newcastle Permanent bank account review

    Just Brilliant

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    The staff & company are fantastic, brilliant, so helpful & positive all the time.  Full review 

    The staff & company are fantastic, brilliant, so helpful & positive all the time.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Newcastle Permanent bank account reviewed by Christine from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank

    Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank bank account review

    Do not use!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    The Victorian Teachers Credit Union used to be great - until they became a bank. Now the customer service is absolutely miserable, with the hostile call centre workers rushing you off the phone and treating you like a number. Fees have increased ...  Full review 

    The Victorian Teachers Credit Union used to be great - until they became a bank. Now the customer service is absolutely miserable, with the hostile call centre workers rushing you off the phone and treating you like a number. Fees have increased and are rigidly applied. At least with big banks, if you don't like dealing with embittered call centre staff you can pop down to your local branch - but this is not the case with VTMB. Good luck locating one of their only two branches, finding parking there and actually getting one of their workers' attention! My experience is that no matter how you try to do business with thus bank, you'll be treated like a nuisance, charged punitive fees for troubling them, and encouraged to close all your accounts if you don't like it! Avoid!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank bank account reviewed by Daniela from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac bank account review

    Upfront and informative, very friendly

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Westpac are an awesome bank to do business with. Bank tellers are very friendly and also advise you of the extra charges you may incur and also recommend how you can avoid these charges. Friendly atmosphere, waiting time is minimal.  Full review 

    Westpac are an awesome bank to do business with. Bank tellers are very friendly and also advise you of the extra charges you may incur and also recommend how you can avoid these charges. Friendly atmosphere, waiting time is minimal.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac bank account reviewed by Roka from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac bank account review

    Only after your money

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Not enough staff, waiting 25-30mins to be served. Monthly service fees for basically doing nothing. No incentive to stay with them.  Full review 

    Not enough staff, waiting 25-30mins to be served. Monthly service fees for basically doing nothing. No incentive to stay with them.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac bank account reviewed by Margaret from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland bank account review

    Not a huge bank...so they care about you!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I switched from ANZ to Bank of Queensland 6 years ago. I love the fact the bank manager is personally invested in his branch. I rarely go in the branches but when I do there are rarely any queues...plenty of tellers and friendly, efficient service...  Full review 

    I switched from ANZ to Bank of Queensland 6 years ago. I love the fact the bank manager is personally invested in his branch. I rarely go in the branches but when I do there are rarely any queues...plenty of tellers and friendly, efficient service. I can access Redi ATMs with no cost and they are very common through out Australia. On line banking is a breeze.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland bank account reviewed by Andrew from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    ANZ - Truly international

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I like ANZ banking because it is truly international. It is a global account. I am connected with the bank where ever I go!  Full review 

    I like ANZ banking because it is truly international. It is a global account. I am connected with the bank where ever I go!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Sabitha from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    Love your work ANZ !

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Our bank are reliable and try all they can to help. They make regular calls and check ups to see if they can help with anything.  Full review 

    Our bank are reliable and try all they can to help. They make regular calls and check ups to see if they can help with anything.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Toni

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest bank account review

    Old style service with modern day feature.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Foremost in my long list of reasons for liking Bankwest is the high interest rate on special accounts. I really like the speedy manner in which problems, which occur infrequently, are solved to my satisfaction within 24hours. A variety of products...  Full review 

    Foremost in my long list of reasons for liking Bankwest is the high interest rate on special accounts. I really like the speedy manner in which problems, which occur infrequently, are solved to my satisfaction within 24hours. A variety of products, helpful advice and attention to detail raise this bank to a level unmatched by its competitors. Any potential client should be aware of these pros and also note the absence of any cons.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest bank account reviewed by Norm from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    Sensational service and product knowledge

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Excellent customer service and provide the best solutions into personal banking. Ensure customers are benefiting and getting the most benefits from the various accounts they offer. Very trustworthy, reliable and friendly staff.  Full review 

    Excellent customer service and provide the best solutions into personal banking. Ensure customers are benefiting and getting the most benefits from the various accounts they offer. Very trustworthy, reliable and friendly staff.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Patrick

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB bank account review

    Good banking experience

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I've never had any fees to pay. The service is always good. Quick and easy access. Can't say anything bad, never had any troubles in over 5 years of being with NAB.  Full review 

    I've never had any fees to pay. The service is always good. Quick and easy access. Can't say anything bad, never had any troubles in over 5 years of being with NAB.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB bank account reviewed by Kathrin

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    Approachable, attentive customer focused service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Unlike some banks who make a big song and dance about how good they are, the ANZ provides respectful, considerate attention to customers in all aspects of their services. On many occasions staff have taken a proactive approach to ensuring that I ...  Full review 

    Unlike some banks who make a big song and dance about how good they are, the ANZ provides respectful, considerate attention to customers in all aspects of their services. On many occasions staff have taken a proactive approach to ensuring that I get the best possible outcome for my enquiry. I trust that my accounts are in safe hands.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Leonie from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB bank account review

    Great Value and Outstanding Customer Service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    I love NAB because they are always helpful and cheap. The only problem is I can never find any NAB ATM Machines and therefore need to use other machines resulting in having to pay a fee.  Full review 

    I love NAB because they are always helpful and cheap. The only problem is I can never find any NAB ATM Machines and therefore need to use other machines resulting in having to pay a fee.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB bank account reviewed by Hayden from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ING DIRECT

    ING DIRECT bank account review

    Convenient and free

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    I like this bank as it is always available, no fees, excellent service, and they even pay the withdrawal fees when you need cash over $200. With pay pass they return 2% of the amount. The only drawback is that there are no Bank building or perso...  Full review 

    I like this bank as it is always available, no fees, excellent service, and they even pay the withdrawal fees when you need cash over $200. With pay pass they return 2% of the amount. The only drawback is that there are no Bank building or personnel that you can discuss your finances face to face. But you get awesome service via the phone.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ING DIRECT bank account reviewed by Thomas from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • CUA

    CUA bank account review

    Excellent customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Low everyday charges. Phone and internet available. Always helpful. Had several personal loans, dealt with promptly, rates excellent.  Full review 

    Low everyday charges. Phone and internet available. Always helpful. Had several personal loans, dealt with promptly, rates excellent.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    CUA bank account reviewed by Pamela from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB bank account review

    Competitive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    I like my Bank, I just think they need to improve their service outside of immediate metro area eg closing for lunch between 12-12.45pm when if you need to go to the only branch within a 50 km radius this is probably your window of opportunity.  Full review 

    I like my Bank, I just think they need to improve their service outside of immediate metro area eg closing for lunch between 12-12.45pm when if you need to go to the only branch within a 50 km radius this is probably your window of opportunity.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB bank account reviewed by Julie from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ bank account review

    Approachable, friendly, know who to contact

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Easy location, plenty of ATMs. Easy internet banking. Allocation of a consultant so you know who to contact.  Full review 

    Easy location, plenty of ATMs. Easy internet banking. Allocation of a consultant so you know who to contact.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ bank account reviewed by Amanda from Queensland

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB bank account review

    Great account, customer service lacking

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Everyday account is good, no fees, reliable and secure. But the customer service when you call is terrible. I've had to call a few times and every single time they weren't very helpful.  Full review 

    Everyday account is good, no fees, reliable and secure. But the customer service when you call is terrible. I've had to call a few times and every single time they weren't very helpful.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB bank account reviewed by Emma

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank bank account review

    Great product, features and fees

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Love CBA. Never had any issues with our account, great features, no account keeping fee, excellent ATM network and availability. I'm a happy customer! Plus my debit card looks trendy!  Full review 

    Love CBA. Never had any issues with our account, great features, no account keeping fee, excellent ATM network and availability. I'm a happy customer! Plus my debit card looks trendy!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank bank account reviewed by Tarn

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • BankSA

    BankSA bank account review

    Excellent customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Bank SA have always been helpful in any transactions that we have conducted with them. Their people are always well informed and willing to give advice on their products.  Full review 

    Bank SA have always been helpful in any transactions that we have conducted with them. Their people are always well informed and willing to give advice on their products.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    BankSA bank account reviewed by Carol from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

More recently reviewed bank accounts

  • 9.2
    based on
    87 reviews

    ING DIRECT bank accounts

    Overall rating: 9.2 (87 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 24 February 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ING DIRECT bank accounts
  • 8.7
    based on
    39 reviews

    Newcastle Permanent bank accounts

    Overall rating: 8.7 (39 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 22 February 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Newcastle Permanent bank accounts
  • 8.5
    based on
    259 reviews

    Bendigo Bank bank accounts

    Overall rating: 8.5 (259 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 10 February 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Bendigo Bank bank accounts
  • 8.5
    based on
    157 reviews

    Suncorp bank accounts

    Overall rating: 8.5 (157 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 03 February 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Suncorp bank accounts
  • 8.4
    based on
    15 reviews

    P&N Bank bank accounts

    Overall rating: 8.4 (15 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 23 February 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    P&N Bank bank accounts

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.