Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

We'd love to hear from you

Write a review

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Fixed Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive, competent and courteous.

We severed our association with one of the big 4 (which bank you ask?) for a number of reasons including inflexibility and terrible customer service. We find Heritage wonderful to deal with - courteous, efficient and helpful. We feel like people...
Full review

We severed our association with one of the big 4 (which bank you ask?) for a number of reasons including inflexibility and terrible customer service. We find Heritage wonderful to deal with - courteous, efficient and helpful. We feel like people not just numbers. Five years on we have never regretted our decision.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Barry (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Queenslanders Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union Ultimate Home Loan Special (over $500k) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

10/10 product and 10/10 customer service

If you get a home loan anywhere else, you're doing it wrong. Queenslanders have the best product, hands down. 100% true offset, unlimited re-draw and excellent interest rate. Try and find this somewhere else, I bet you can't. Customer...
Full review

If you get a home loan anywhere else, you're doing it wrong. Queenslanders have the best product, hands down. 100% true offset, unlimited re-draw and excellent interest rate. Try and find this somewhere else, I bet you can't. Customer service... The customer service is perfect. Paul in particular. Paul's title is "Personal Banking Consultant", what this means is that Paul is basically your personal banking concierge. He takes care of your every banking need, and even sends you a message on your birthday. I have a loan with Queenslanders, so does my sister, my dad and a half dozen of my friends. If you don't, then I'm certain you're overpaying.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Karl (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier $150k-$250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Typical Bank

Like all banks I felt ANZ is more about making a profit rather than a service. However they are always easier to get in touch with, just not always quick to respond.
Full review

Like all banks I felt ANZ is more about making a profit rather than a service. However they are always easier to get in touch with, just not always quick to respond.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Brenton (ACT), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Tailored Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very competitive interest rates

We like our bank because we have never had any problems with this institution.
Full review

We like our bank because we have never had any problems with this institution.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Unchun (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The Big 4 need some training from Heritage Bank.

Heritage Bank does not have shareholders, it is a building society that places its customers first. Competitive rates and great features combined with exceptional service have earned them a lot of respect from their customers. I have never...
Full review

Heritage Bank does not have shareholders, it is a building society that places its customers first. Competitive rates and great features combined with exceptional service have earned them a lot of respect from their customers. I have never considered banking with anyone else since becoming a "member".

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jas (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Tailored Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive home loan rates with good service

Nice home loan package, customer service is good. But slow to react to changes in interest rates and no annual home loan reviews.
Full review

Nice home loan package, customer service is good. But slow to react to changes in interest rates and no annual home loan reviews.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Mingfeng (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Queenslanders Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union Ultimate Home Loan Special (over $500k) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service.
Full review

Great customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Clara (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier $150k-$250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy and simple

Simple.
Full review

Simple.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Maree (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent service

Have banked with Nab for twenty years and have always had excellent service.
Full review

Have banked with Nab for twenty years and have always had excellent service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lynda (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager (under $250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good bank

Anz are the best out of the big banks , they push their insurance products at you all the time which is way over priced.
Full review

Anz are the best out of the big banks , they push their insurance products at you all the time which is way over priced.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nicholas (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Queenslanders Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank. Wonderful and helpful staff.

Great bank. Wonderful and helpful staff. The only con - branches are few and far between.
Full review

Great bank. Wonderful and helpful staff. The only con - branches are few and far between.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Gina (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

RAMS

RAMS home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always great personal service

Just refinanced to consolidate other debts, paperwork took longer than expected. Have been with Rams since 2000.
Full review

Just refinanced to consolidate other debts, paperwork took longer than expected. Have been with Rams since 2000.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Carolyn (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Discounted rate and regular reviews

Personal banker manages our loan and associated accounts. She is very good and provides excellent customer service. Online banking very straightforward and streamlined so transfer of funds and general banking very easy to do.
Full review

Personal banker manages our loan and associated accounts. She is very good and provides excellent customer service. Online banking very straightforward and streamlined so transfer of funds and general banking very easy to do.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Anne (WA), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Really happy, competitive, great customer service

Really happy.
Full review

Really happy.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Simone (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Queenslanders Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union Original Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates and reliable information and support!

We have had a number of home loans over our +30 years as customers of Queenslanders Credit Union and have always been confident that the product and support provided by this institution.
Full review

We have had a number of home loans over our +30 years as customers of Queenslanders Credit Union and have always been confident that the product and support provided by this institution.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Anthony (TAS), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Variable Rate Residential (Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

AMAZING customer service (every employee remember)

Branch manager is amazing every time, no matter the problem.
Full review

Branch manager is amazing every time, no matter the problem.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cassie (NT), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Queenslanders Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They don't have to have gimmicks, they're the best

Queenslanders Credit Union is by far a better way to bank. I have been with them for a while now and have never had a problem. The face to face with the teller is friendlier than any other bank I have had dealings with. They know you by name and...
Full review

Queenslanders Credit Union is by far a better way to bank. I have been with them for a while now and have never had a problem. The face to face with the teller is friendlier than any other bank I have had dealings with. They know you by name and even remember you if you ring. They really do, do the best for their customers. They are a 5 star bank in my books and I won't be leaving them in my lifetime. Cheers to you all.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jennifer (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Queenslanders Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union Original Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, flexible payment

Very supportive, flexible, always trying to find the best deals to suit our current situation.
Full review

Very supportive, flexible, always trying to find the best deals to suit our current situation.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Janine (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive, customer service is excellent

The ANZ is a great bank, I have been a customer for 30 years.
Full review

The ANZ is a great bank, I have been a customer for 30 years.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Walter (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Good, been there all my life .
Full review

Good, been there all my life .

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mark (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Rate cuts not being passed on

Not low enough interest rate.
Full review

Not low enough interest rate.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mark (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Affordable product, professional customer service

Always have had pleasant and accurate dealings with this bank.
Full review

Always have had pleasant and accurate dealings with this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Vicki (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best deal, great service

Great flexibility and friendly service. Amazing rates.
Full review

Great flexibility and friendly service. Amazing rates.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kim (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Gotta bank with someone!

As far as banks go, they are pretty good!
Full review

As far as banks go, they are pretty good!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Wes (NT), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Queenslanders Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service is not just a marketing strategy.

I am not overstating it when I say they are a genuinely personal organisation. I have banked with them for many, many years. They know me by name, understand the business I am in and care about providing the kind of services I and my family...
Full review

I am not overstating it when I say they are a genuinely personal organisation. I have banked with them for many, many years. They know me by name, understand the business I am in and care about providing the kind of services I and my family require. Before 'customer service' became a marketing strategy, they were doing it.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brad (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • HSBC Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Apply by 16 October 2015

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.05%

    Upfront fees

    $853

    Go to site
    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Apply by 16 October 2015
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.05%
    • Upfront fees: $853
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fee is $40
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 17 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Owner occupied and investment

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.32%

    Upfront fees

    $275

    Go to site
    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Owner occupied and investment
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.32%
    • Upfront fees: $275
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $500,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.09%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site
    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.6

    Based on 22 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Greater Building Society Great Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, over $150k)

    Greater Building Society Great Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, over $150k)

    • No establishment fee
    • No ongoing fee
    • Free internet redraw facility

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.09%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site
    • No establishment fee
    • No ongoing fee
    • Free internet redraw facility
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 24 Greater Building Society home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.12%

    Upfront fees

    $440

    Go to site
    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.12%
    • Upfront fees: $440
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 75.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 554 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank, insurer, gas or electricity for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.