Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

We'd love to hear from you

Write a review

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

St.George

St.George Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good rates

They have good customer service.
Full review

They have good customer service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Bryan (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

One of the banks, reasonably doing a right job.

They don't charge redraw fee, which is good.
Full review

They don't charge redraw fee, which is good.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kiyomi (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Ok customer service

Average.
Full review

Average.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Chris (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very good and trustworthy

Used them for many years and they are overall great!
Full review

Used them for many years and they are overall great!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marc (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Never failed our needs

Been with them for about 15 years, always been a positive experience and customer service a winner.
Full review

Been with them for about 15 years, always been a positive experience and customer service a winner.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Umar (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Unethical

Their low doc loans through Storm Financial is why we still work.
Full review

Their low doc loans through Storm Financial is why we still work.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Lyn (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Tailored Home Loan (Fixed) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service, competitive rates

Great customer service...a few too many hoops to jump through initially but good ongoing service. Would definitely recommend our branch.
Full review

Great customer service...a few too many hoops to jump through initially but good ongoing service. Would definitely recommend our branch.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Roselyn (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR 80-90%) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Accessible, reliable, easy banking you can trust.

Very accessible banking. I am able to view my home loan via the app and withdraw easily from my home loan if needed. Phone banking is very good service too.
Full review

Very accessible banking. I am able to view my home loan via the app and withdraw easily from my home loan if needed. Phone banking is very good service too.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Leah (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Easy home loan to get

We had a lot of issues with the initial set up of our loan with progress payments. After that stage it was ok.
Full review

We had a lot of issues with the initial set up of our loan with progress payments. After that stage it was ok.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amber (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great interest rate, perfect customer service

This bank has been nothing but fabulous in helping us purchase our first home.
Full review

This bank has been nothing but fabulous in helping us purchase our first home.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jonathon (TAS), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Straightforward, easy to understand

Such a simple loan.
Full review

Such a simple loan.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lee (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Approachable to negotiate and accommodate needs

Very supportive branch managers. Great service over phone and face to face. Competitive rates and open to negotiating fees and charges.
Full review

Very supportive branch managers. Great service over phone and face to face. Competitive rates and open to negotiating fees and charges.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gabriella (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service.

I like this bank because not only are they a local bank, they have really good products and services that I am proud to have.
Full review

I like this bank because not only are they a local bank, they have really good products and services that I am proud to have.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Maria (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service

Always up to date with information about state of account, and helpful with enquiries.
Full review

Always up to date with information about state of account, and helpful with enquiries.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Anna (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Satisfied however, could have better rates

I am happy with the overall product and service from the Commonwealth Bank. The prices/rates are not competitive, considered they are the largest bank.
Full review

I am happy with the overall product and service from the Commonwealth Bank. The prices/rates are not competitive, considered they are the largest bank.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

James (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Standard Variable Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Supportive and great customer service.

Great customer service and Great interest rates. Very supportive of my needs and always provide up to date information and if any changes have occurred that I need to be made aware of.
Full review

Great customer service and Great interest rates. Very supportive of my needs and always provide up to date information and if any changes have occurred that I need to be made aware of.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Dianne (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Loan (LVR<90%) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Good on the surface... bad in the centre

Banking products ok and good value but..... The home loans service dept are completely useless. First they stuffed up my land loan making it 25yrs rather than the requested 30. They linked an offset account on my refinanced investment loan when I...
Full review

Banking products ok and good value but..... The home loans service dept are completely useless. First they stuffed up my land loan making it 25yrs rather than the requested 30. They linked an offset account on my refinanced investment loan when I asked to not have one. Their lawyers caused my land settlement to be delayed by over a week and I was forced to pay hundreds in penalties to the developer. It takes them weeks to value and accept the construction contract going back and forth with not returning calls and causing delays to settlement. I have no confidence that they will pay any of the progress payments on time and will cost me more in penalties to the builder. All I want to do now is refinance but I'm stuck with them. I'm telling you.... stay away from the Suncorp homeloan no matter how good the interest rate seems.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Customer (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Aussie

Aussie Optimizer Plus (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Highly highly recommend

Down to earth & they try very hard to identify with your issue.
Full review

Down to earth & they try very hard to identify with your issue.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laurie (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good & bad

A little bit too hungry in the money dept.
Full review

A little bit too hungry in the money dept.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Laurie (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Consistently good over time

They have always responded when asked to match rates. They have been consistent in their aim to keep my services.
Full review

They have always responded when asked to match rates. They have been consistent in their aim to keep my services.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Damon (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Keystart

Keystart home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant

Easy to access and friendly customer service.
Full review

Easy to access and friendly customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elmarie (WA), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

IMB

IMB Budget Home Loan (LVR<90%) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Over twenty years with them

I gave this harsh review for one reason. I had banked with the IMB since I was a child. When I took over a Transport company in my twenties, I continued to use them for every service they could provide. I can say that for over twelve months I had...
Full review

I gave this harsh review for one reason. I had banked with the IMB since I was a child. When I took over a Transport company in my twenties, I continued to use them for every service they could provide. I can say that for over twelve months I had all my incoming finances landing there, over 30K/mth. A lot of this was outgoing business expenses but I was earning very good money. I was utterly shattered when they rejected my application for a home loan, over twenty years with them and I was treated like a number. Anyway, I did get my home loan from another bank, and they have the pleasure of earning interest from my financial activities.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

John (NSW), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

loans.com.au

loans.com.au Dream Home Loan Offset Variable (LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Well worth it!

We are 25 days into first approaching loans.com.au and just received our unconditional approval today with 5 weeks left to settle. They have been cautious and requested a lot more documentation than we are used to with home loans, but I am glad...
Full review

We are 25 days into first approaching loans.com.au and just received our unconditional approval today with 5 weeks left to settle. They have been cautious and requested a lot more documentation than we are used to with home loans, but I am glad they are cautious, allows them to offer 4.02%! We have had nothing but amazingly efficient responses to our online messages through loan tracker (often within 1 hr!) and have felt control of the whole process throughout. Can't wait to settle and enjoy the savings with such an amazing interest rate!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Belinda (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Aussie

Aussie Select Basic (Fixed) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Worst customer service I have experienced

Deceitful , untrustworthy !
Full review

Deceitful , untrustworthy !

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Gary (NSW), reviewed 12 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union Basic Variable Home Loan (LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very competitive

Great customer service,personal response and great offers.
Full review

Great customer service,personal response and great offers.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sandra (SA), reviewed 12 days ago

2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Home loan comparisons on MozoRates updated daily

  • Easy Street Basic Variable Home Loan (LVR 80% or less)

    Easy Street Basic Variable Home Loan (LVR 80% or less)

    • Powered by Community First Credit Union
    • No monthly or ongoing fees
    • Purchase, refinance, renovate or invest

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.03%

    Upfront fees

    $500

    Go to site
    • Powered by Community First Credit Union
    • No monthly or ongoing fees
    • Purchase, refinance, renovate or invest
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03%
    • Upfront fees: $500
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $200.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes-free
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Owner occupied and investment

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.32%

    Upfront fees

    $275

    Go to site
    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Owner occupied and investment
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.32%
    • Upfront fees: $275
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Minimum loan amount: $500,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • loans.com.au Dream Home Loan Essentials

    loans.com.au Dream Home Loan Essentials

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • No monthly fees, Redraw available
    • For purchases or refinance

    variable rate

    4.02%

    comparison rate*

    4.04%

    Upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site
    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • No monthly fees, Redraw available
    • For purchases or refinance
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.02%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.04%
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $750,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    6.0

    Based on 62 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier)

    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.09%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site
    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.6

    Based on 22 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.12%

    Upfront fees

    $440

    Go to site
    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.12%
    • Upfront fees: $440
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 554 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank or insurer for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

 

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.