Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all home loans or check out our home loan guides

Write a review

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    This bank used to be open on a Saturday which was a great service as I work odd hours and could access more information without taking time off work. They now have closed and the only option I have is to move to a bank that is open the day I can a...  Full review 

    This bank used to be open on a Saturday which was a great service as I work odd hours and could access more information without taking time off work. They now have closed and the only option I have is to move to a bank that is open the day I can access or go on line. I find when I do contact the staff of this bank I have great service and have no complaint as they are working under restrictive conditions as are we all.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Judith from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    One of the lowest rates around . Staff are friendly and very helpful and know their products. Just wish for a lower housing loan rate.  Full review 

    One of the lowest rates around . Staff are friendly and very helpful and know their products. Just wish for a lower housing loan rate.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Val from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Fantastic customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    Not knowing a lot about home loans, my Westpac Home Loan Manager took the time to explain to me how it all works. He gave some great advice, I took this all on board and spoke to my accountant who was very happy with the loan and repayment arrang...  Full review 

    Not knowing a lot about home loans, my Westpac Home Loan Manager took the time to explain to me how it all works. He gave some great advice, I took this all on board and spoke to my accountant who was very happy with the loan and repayment arrangements. Couldn't have asked for better assistance - thank you.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Toni from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    I like this bank as they are always obliging when circumstances change.  Full review 

    I like this bank as they are always obliging when circumstances change.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Patrick from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Reopen more branches locally again

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    I have banked with them for 30 plus years and never had a problem. But now all our local branches have been closed down. I live in a rural area. So now I have to travel up to an hour away just to access a branch.  Full review 

    I have banked with them for 30 plus years and never had a problem. But now all our local branches have been closed down. I live in a rural area. So now I have to travel up to an hour away just to access a branch.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Jill from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Decent enough

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    Switched from a Commbank subsidiary and they forgot to let customers know the old website wasn't actually working - it appeared to work. Epic fail. Other than that has been decent. Customer service did eventually resolve my dispute.  Full review 

    Switched from a Commbank subsidiary and they forgot to let customers know the old website wasn't actually working - it appeared to work. Epic fail. Other than that has been decent. Customer service did eventually resolve my dispute.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Tanya from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Worth a look at and chat to

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    Find them easy to talk to and they are willing to help the best way they can.  Full review 

    Find them easy to talk to and they are willing to help the best way they can.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by William

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Good care

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    CBA...Attractive loan plans with good interest, good service!  Full review 

    CBA...Attractive loan plans with good interest, good service!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Manjula from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Good and knowledgable customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    Commonwealth Bank home loans are easy to deal with. The service was great as were the staff I dealt with. At the time time the interest rate was on par with other banks. One Pro is they also offer competitive home and contents insurance. My only C...  Full review 

    Commonwealth Bank home loans are easy to deal with. The service was great as were the staff I dealt with. At the time time the interest rate was on par with other banks. One Pro is they also offer competitive home and contents insurance. My only Con with it is the $8 a month service fee. As a long term customer on my third home loan this should be waived.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Michael from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Pricey

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 9 days ago)

    Even though we have been customers of this bank for a few years, we are now considering a home loan and they are too expensive. They are not able to offer us the % rate we want and so have had to go with Homestart finance. There was also an issu...  Full review 

    Even though we have been customers of this bank for a few years, we are now considering a home loan and they are too expensive. They are not able to offer us the % rate we want and so have had to go with Homestart finance. There was also an issue with the credit card we took out with them. it was supposed to be 10 months interest free and we had to kick up and complain before it was honoured - sorry mud sticks!!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Pam from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Rigid rules

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    Westpac charges $400.00 approximately per annum and then makes like they're doing us a favour by giving us a few accounts free of account keeping charges. They could be competitive with rates but we have been approved a rate with a competitor whic...  Full review 

    Westpac charges $400.00 approximately per annum and then makes like they're doing us a favour by giving us a few accounts free of account keeping charges. They could be competitive with rates but we have been approved a rate with a competitor which is lower and would save approximately $1600-1700 per annum.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Dale from Western Australia

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    The CBA are a joke, the worst service I have ever experienced in all my years dealing with banks.  Full review 

    The CBA are a joke, the worst service I have ever experienced in all my years dealing with banks.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Steve from Victoria

    4 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Greater Building Society

    Greater Building Society home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    The Greater offers great customer service and tailors loans to meet the needs of its customers. Good rates.  Full review 

    The Greater offers great customer service and tailors loans to meet the needs of its customers. Good rates.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Greater Building Society home loan reviewed by Cheryl from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RAMS

    RAMS home loan review

    Great product and service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    RAMS has been a great choice for my Home Loan- they provide a great product and exceptional service. Couldn't be happier.  Full review 

    RAMS has been a great choice for my Home Loan- they provide a great product and exceptional service. Couldn't be happier.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    RAMS home loan reviewed by Sally

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB Broker

    NAB Broker home loan review

    Persistence paid off

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    We persisted and gave as much documentation as possible, even more than required, then jumped through as many hoops as asked. Hard to gain finance when we are both self employed but bank came through in the end. Thank you so much.  Full review 

    We persisted and gave as much documentation as possible, even more than required, then jumped through as many hoops as asked. Hard to gain finance when we are both self employed but bank came through in the end. Thank you so much.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB Broker home loan reviewed by Karen

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Holiday Coast Credit Union

    Holiday Coast Credit Union home loan review

    Informative, helpful, friendly and trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    Friendly, smiling assistants and manager, remember your names and treat you as people. I like that. Also set up my online banking with clear, precise information and are very helpful if I require anything. Would have to be a super deal from anothe...  Full review 

    Friendly, smiling assistants and manager, remember your names and treat you as people. I like that. Also set up my online banking with clear, precise information and are very helpful if I require anything. Would have to be a super deal from another bank for me to change.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Holiday Coast Credit Union home loan reviewed by Brian from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Know what product you need

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    When building an investment property, NAB set up a building loan. This was fine but when the building process completed, instead of rolling the loan over to interest only, it was changed to interest and principal. The obstacles that have been put ...  Full review 

    When building an investment property, NAB set up a building loan. This was fine but when the building process completed, instead of rolling the loan over to interest only, it was changed to interest and principal. The obstacles that have been put in place to change the loan have meant that I have been paying more per month than I really should have for an investment property. I would rather use this extra money to pay off my personal debt.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Ian from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 20 days ago)

    I have found St George bank to be a caring, personal and willing to help bank. They have on all occasions been very willing to help in any situation, a positive experience at all times.  Full review 

    I have found St George bank to be a caring, personal and willing to help bank. They have on all occasions been very willing to help in any situation, a positive experience at all times.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George home loan reviewed by Shelley from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Police Credit Union SA NT

    Police Credit Union SA NT home loan review

    Friendly but flawed

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    Unfortunately PCU are the David of the banking world and their products reflect this. Products are backwards (read: Paywave and lack of) and their internet banking/mobile banking interface is bordering on laughable, not to mention the prehistoric ...  Full review 

    Unfortunately PCU are the David of the banking world and their products reflect this. Products are backwards (read: Paywave and lack of) and their internet banking/mobile banking interface is bordering on laughable, not to mention the prehistoric transaction fees. Sadly, PCU has been well and truly surpassed for convenience by the bigger players as well. Thankfully the interest rates offered to me were quite passable and the customer service is enjoyable. I'm locked in for 3 years at this interest rate and it's the only reason I will continue to bank with them. For now.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Police Credit Union SA NT home loan reviewed by Tom from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Outstanding in every way

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    As a first home lender, I found loans.com.au an outstanding firm to deal with. Great communication, always easy to get on the phone, proactive in calling me to follow up items, timely settlement...simply a stress free process. It made my first exp...  Full review 

    As a first home lender, I found loans.com.au an outstanding firm to deal with. Great communication, always easy to get on the phone, proactive in calling me to follow up items, timely settlement...simply a stress free process. It made my first experience smooth and easy - I was dreading a horrible drawn out process. Even requested settlement to be bought forward -was no trouble. 10/10 in all aspects !


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by Jeremy from Queensland

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Disgusting customer service and no empathy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    After my 39 yo husband had a heart attack we were severely struggling with finances and paying the mortgage. I had already contacted the local Branch who were understanding. Someone from head office contacted me a week later, and I explained the s...  Full review 

    After my 39 yo husband had a heart attack we were severely struggling with finances and paying the mortgage. I had already contacted the local Branch who were understanding. Someone from head office contacted me a week later, and I explained the situation requesting assistance, and I was advised "oh well life happens, deal with it". This customer service has made me put plans in place to transfer all our NAB assets to another Bank as soon as we are in a better financial position. They take your money, but giving very little in return. I have nothing positive to say about this Bank except they are very nice to you when you first take out a Mortgage and borrow hundreds of thousands of dollars but that's it.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Sue from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Not helpful

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    NAB is only available one day a week in my town and I need to drive 65 kms to Wagga. I find the staff not very approachable. Also I had trouble with them over a personal loan when my husband died.  Full review 

    NAB is only available one day a week in my town and I need to drive 65 kms to Wagga. I find the staff not very approachable. Also I had trouble with them over a personal loan when my husband died.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Marilyn from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland home loan review

    Best deal and customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    The manager of the bank owns the bank and gave us the best deal for the house loan.  Full review 

    The manager of the bank owns the bank and gave us the best deal for the house loan.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland home loan reviewed by Edwin from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Excellent service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    I have found the bank very helpful in any concern I have, they have been able to explain things well. My local branch is outstanding, they are very helpful and Melissa goes out of her way to assist us and is happy to sit down and go though anythi...  Full review 

    I have found the bank very helpful in any concern I have, they have been able to explain things well. My local branch is outstanding, they are very helpful and Melissa goes out of her way to assist us and is happy to sit down and go though anything we're unsure of.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Karina from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Great service, friendly staff

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 23 days ago)

    They're great, they make you feel at home and you're a customer not a number.  Full review 

    They're great, they make you feel at home and you're a customer not a number.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by John from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of home loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed home loans

  • 10.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Mortgage House home loans

    Overall rating: 10.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 20 August 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Mortgage House home loans
  • 9.3
    based on
    83 reviews

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans

    Overall rating: 9.4 (83 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 08 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans
  • 9.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 October 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans
  • 8.6
    based on
    116 reviews

    ME Bank home loans

    Overall rating: 8.6 (116 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 05 November 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ME Bank home loans
  • 8.5
    based on
    34 reviews

    Greater Building Society home loans

    Overall rating: 8.5 (34 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 02 November 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Greater Building Society home loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.