Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all home loans or check out our home loan guides

Write a review

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 hours ago)

    Excellent service, excellent product. Had one contact person who I dealt with from day one to settlement. Would recommend to anyone.  Full review 

    Excellent service, excellent product. Had one contact person who I dealt with from day one to settlement. Would recommend to anyone.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by . from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Personal service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 2 hours ago)

    ANZ provides a great personal service and reward you for saving.  Full review 

    ANZ provides a great personal service and reward you for saving.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Duncan from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George home loan review

    Friendly, efficient staff

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 hours ago)

    Good service over a long period.  Full review 

    Good service over a long period.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George home loan reviewed by Megan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George home loan review

    Great customer service and competitive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Very low interest rate, because it's a smaller bank I feel like it's more intimate and more personal. However when it's busy the waiting times can be very long. The staff are very helpful and always hand out their business cards to call them with ...  Full review 

    Very low interest rate, because it's a smaller bank I feel like it's more intimate and more personal. However when it's busy the waiting times can be very long. The staff are very helpful and always hand out their business cards to call them with any issues, also making the bank seem very interested in its customers.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George home loan reviewed by Demi from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Would deal with them again

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    In 15 years we have had nothing but praise for the ANZ. We have three houses and good liaisons through all the deals. The follow ups have been excellent.  Full review 

    In 15 years we have had nothing but praise for the ANZ. We have three houses and good liaisons through all the deals. The follow ups have been excellent.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Christine from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Heritage Bank

    Heritage Bank home loan review

    Professional, friendly customer Service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    We have been with the Heritage for 10 years or more, all our banking needs are met, we feel secure in knowing our finances are in good hands.  Full review 

    We have been with the Heritage for 10 years or more, all our banking needs are met, we feel secure in knowing our finances are in good hands.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Heritage Bank home loan reviewed by Toni from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • HSBC

    HSBC home loan review

    Archaic support, service, speed, technology

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    A dark ages bank. The slowest bank to change rates. Time consuming to deal with. Conservative, dogmatic and bureaucratic. But the real issue were several serious errors in basic service issues that cost me thousands. Never again.  Full review 

    A dark ages bank. The slowest bank to change rates. Time consuming to deal with. Conservative, dogmatic and bureaucratic. But the real issue were several serious errors in basic service issues that cost me thousands. Never again.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    HSBC home loan reviewed by Andrew from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Poor customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Rude, poor customer service skills, non-competitive rates.  Full review 

    Rude, poor customer service skills, non-competitive rates.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Dan from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Admin sections that don't talk to each other

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Although the frontline staff are helpful and efficient, the response and efficiency of the mortgage processing section was appalling - we waited for the processing of a mortgage release doc over 3 weeks- it should have been 7 days as there was no ...  Full review 

    Although the frontline staff are helpful and efficient, the response and efficiency of the mortgage processing section was appalling - we waited for the processing of a mortgage release doc over 3 weeks- it should have been 7 days as there was no finance owing. This caused other problems with another mortgage I had applied for but needed the release documents to complete the contract.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Rae from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Easy and helpful

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    They made it so easy and even when I needed to restructure my loan, they were very helpful :)  Full review 

    They made it so easy and even when I needed to restructure my loan, they were very helpful :)


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Kendell

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Keystart

    Keystart home loan review

    Enable low income earners fulfill home ownership

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    I've had my home loan for 16 years and have always found them helpful, with the exception of one rude/threatening staffer.  Full review 

    I've had my home loan for 16 years and have always found them helpful, with the exception of one rude/threatening staffer.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Keystart home loan reviewed by Christine from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Personalised service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Always can contact loan manager direct or by message, receive prompt answers to queries etc.  Full review 

    Always can contact loan manager direct or by message, receive prompt answers to queries etc.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Owen from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • HomeStart

    HomeStart home loan review

    Go the extra mile for you with a smile

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    From the start, the guys at HomeStart were all about getting us into our own home. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything went smoothly. It was a stress free experience. Everything was explained in detail and nothing was unclear. ...  Full review 

    From the start, the guys at HomeStart were all about getting us into our own home. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything went smoothly. It was a stress free experience. Everything was explained in detail and nothing was unclear. They were all so friendly and wonderful.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    HomeStart home loan reviewed by Patricia from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bluestone Mortgages

    Bluestone Mortgages home loan review

    The worst service ever!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    This is the single most worst organisation I have ever dealt with. They have the worst customer service, after numerous calls to update contact numbers, mailing address and contact persons they still managed to screw this up and then have the chee...  Full review 

    This is the single most worst organisation I have ever dealt with. They have the worst customer service, after numerous calls to update contact numbers, mailing address and contact persons they still managed to screw this up and then have the cheek to charge me interest when they haven't even sent me statements. The last incident after numerous dramas has been that I cannot even ask for information regarding my account ie, how much would loan repayments be if I paid a lump some on my account? I was informed I had to get my Lawyer to send them a letter before they could answer that question! Go figure! Stay well away from this Company they are a major rip off


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bluestone Mortgages home loan reviewed by Kamaia from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Fantastic customer service, competitive rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    I have a personal lending specialist who contacts me personally if a better deal becomes available. Always fast with any applications that I have made. Makes me feel that they care about giving us the best deal.  Full review 

    I have a personal lending specialist who contacts me personally if a better deal becomes available. Always fast with any applications that I have made. Makes me feel that they care about giving us the best deal.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Leith from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Solid and reliable

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Steady as she goes, no gimmicks, no surprises.  Full review 

    Steady as she goes, no gimmicks, no surprises.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Alex from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Mortgage Ezy

    Mortgage Ezy home loan review

    No fees on ATM or Visa

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    I pay no ATM fees. Access is via internet and phone. Deposits are at the big four banks. The credit card is free and is attached as a debit to the home loan. Motrgage Eazy All in one home loan. Highly recommended. Just a phone call way.  Full review 

    I pay no ATM fees. Access is via internet and phone. Deposits are at the big four banks. The credit card is free and is attached as a debit to the home loan. Motrgage Eazy All in one home loan. Highly recommended. Just a phone call way.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Mortgage Ezy home loan reviewed by Terry from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Couldn't be happier that we switched banks

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    We re-financed with CBA this year, and we are grateful that we did. We received a great interest rate and package, which also allowed us to have surplus funds for renovations. Very happy.  Full review 

    We re-financed with CBA this year, and we are grateful that we did. We received a great interest rate and package, which also allowed us to have surplus funds for renovations. Very happy.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Allison from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Macquarie

    Macquarie home loan review

    Customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Macquarie have the best general enquiries team I have ever come across. It doesn't matter who you speak to or at what time of day the issue is resolved quickly courteously and professionally. Well done Macquarie!  Full review 

    Macquarie have the best general enquiries team I have ever come across. It doesn't matter who you speak to or at what time of day the issue is resolved quickly courteously and professionally. Well done Macquarie!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Macquarie home loan reviewed by Wendy from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Great security and good customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    After being with Westpac for 10 years or more, I have never had a call offering me better options. Disappointing. Am considering moving banks as a result. As far as security and service goes, I have never had a problem so this side of things ha...  Full review 

    After being with Westpac for 10 years or more, I have never had a call offering me better options. Disappointing. Am considering moving banks as a result. As far as security and service goes, I have never had a problem so this side of things has been fantastic.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Leisa from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Newcastle Permanent

    Newcastle Permanent home loan review

    No loyalty here.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    Unfortunately I grew to big for this bank, after being a faithful loyal customer since I started my first job and with numerous personal and investment property loans they refused me where the big banks were throwing money at men. Newcastle Perm ...  Full review 

    Unfortunately I grew to big for this bank, after being a faithful loyal customer since I started my first job and with numerous personal and investment property loans they refused me where the big banks were throwing money at men. Newcastle Perm does not like you to be cash and property rich , they want to see you have a regular job with income despite having enough cash reserves to buy what I wanted but I wanted the tax deductions that a loan would give. All my investments and loans now with the big boys.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Newcastle Permanent home loan reviewed by Neil from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Newcastle Permanent

    Newcastle Permanent home loan review

    Helpful, transparent information.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    Newcastle Permanent is part of the community putting the interests of borrowers and savers first.  Full review 

    Newcastle Permanent is part of the community putting the interests of borrowers and savers first.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Newcastle Permanent home loan reviewed by Nigel from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    A great offering, great service, competitive rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 12 days ago)

    The bank's image is modern. Customer service is always very helpful and I have someone assigned to me personally. They have plenty of branches. My interest rate is competitive and they have agreed to reduce it a couple of times when I indicated ...  Full review 

    The bank's image is modern. Customer service is always very helpful and I have someone assigned to me personally. They have plenty of branches. My interest rate is competitive and they have agreed to reduce it a couple of times when I indicated other banks had more competitive rates. The statements are easy to read and well designed. A good all round offering.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Robert from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Great professionals

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    This is the one that helped me when I needed it.  Full review 

    This is the one that helped me when I needed it.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Michel from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 21 days ago)

    Every time I have a problem, I get excellent customer service on the phone. When I walked into a branch last week to deposit a cheque, a staff member showed me how to use the teller to deposit the cheque by scanning. So helpful and much quicker. ...  Full review 

    Every time I have a problem, I get excellent customer service on the phone. When I walked into a branch last week to deposit a cheque, a staff member showed me how to use the teller to deposit the cheque by scanning. So helpful and much quicker. They also lowered my interest rate as I have multiple loans with them.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Gianna from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of home loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed home loans

  • 10.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Mortgage House home loans

    Overall rating: 10.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 20 August 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Mortgage House home loans
  • 9.3
    based on
    83 reviews

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans

    Overall rating: 9.4 (83 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 08 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans
  • 9.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 October 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans
  • 8.6
    based on
    116 reviews

    ME Bank home loans

    Overall rating: 8.6 (116 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 01 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ME Bank home loans
  • 8.5
    based on
    34 reviews

    Greater Building Society home loans

    Overall rating: 8.5 (34 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 10 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Greater Building Society home loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.