Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

We'd love to hear from you

Write a review

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Heritage Isle

Heritage Isle home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Best interest rate

Lowest interest rate .
Full review

Lowest interest rate .

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Rajshekar (SA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great helpers

Great staff.
Full review

Great staff.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Michelle (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Usually good customer service

It's a bank that I have been with for years however I don't think they would stand by me if my financial situation went down hill.
Full review

It's a bank that I have been with for years however I don't think they would stand by me if my financial situation went down hill.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Katinka (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

I like this bank because you always get good personal service and I like their online banking service as well.
Full review

I like this bank because you always get good personal service and I like their online banking service as well.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Carol (TAS), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Railways Credit Union

Railways Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great loan rates and great customer service

I have been a member of RCU for 35 years and when I wanted a loan to buy an investment property I was able to make the loan application over the phone and I was successful in the application being able to access 95 percent of the purchase price....
Full review

I have been a member of RCU for 35 years and when I wanted a loan to buy an investment property I was able to make the loan application over the phone and I was successful in the application being able to access 95 percent of the purchase price. I have never looked back nor have I wanted to leave RCU. The only drawback to becoming a member is it is still too restricted in its class of membership in that you have to know a relative of a member who originally had to be an employee of Queensland Rail and later on an employee of AURIZON.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Colin (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Efficient

Responsible and efficient , but no branch at Bellingen.
Full review

Responsible and efficient , but no branch at Bellingen.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ronnie (NSW), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Pepper Home Loans

Pepper Home Loans home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Never go there

Hopeless.
Full review

Hopeless.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Tony (NSW), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Viridian Line of Credit home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

They strive to stay ahead of the pack

Their online solutions are more comprehensive and simpler to use than other banks I have tried.
Full review

Their online solutions are more comprehensive and simpler to use than other banks I have tried.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Joseph (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Don't think you'll find better.

Can't really think of any cons. Their rate appears to be the best that I have found. The customer service is good - for the most part, especially within the branch.
Full review

Can't really think of any cons. Their rate appears to be the best that I have found. The customer service is good - for the most part, especially within the branch.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Donna (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very helpful when options are required.

This is my third home loan with the CBA and they have always been receptive to the needs of myself and family.
Full review

This is my third home loan with the CBA and they have always been receptive to the needs of myself and family.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Bruce (SA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Advantage (LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rates

Good systems, rates and simple products.
Full review

Good systems, rates and simple products.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Lara (NSW), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Customer service is awesome.

Regular contact from bank has ensured that we are getting the best product and rates possible.
Full review

Regular contact from bank has ensured that we are getting the best product and rates possible.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ekaterina (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

AMP

AMP home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Long process time and unnecessary bureaucracy

I tried to put an application for the home loan as the rates were so appealing, I approached them through a mortgage broker, it took the mortgage broker ages to process application, the required documentation and bureaucracy is a nightmare. It...
Full review

I tried to put an application for the home loan as the rates were so appealing, I approached them through a mortgage broker, it took the mortgage broker ages to process application, the required documentation and bureaucracy is a nightmare. It took other lenders like NAB and Bank of Melbourne only a week to approve my application while it was more than 3 weeks and AMP was still asking for more paperwork and documents. Eventually I had to withdraw my application.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Soolmaz (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service in general, but over priced

Great customer service in general, but over priced and not always reliable if your finances go badly.
Full review

Great customer service in general, but over priced and not always reliable if your finances go badly.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Melinda (WA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Customer service is slow

I wanted an off set account, thought I was getting one until all was signed up. Interest on the home loans is too much.
Full review

I wanted an off set account, thought I was getting one until all was signed up. Interest on the home loans is too much.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Linda (WA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great Broker, helped a lot

Good product ,they know what I was after.
Full review

Good product ,they know what I was after.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Greg (WA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Rate Investment Loan home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

High fees and mediocre customer service

Customer service is certainly not a priority or the primary focus of this bank. It appears that fee collection id the overall focus. We have had dreadful customer service on more than one occasion with additional lending requirements and we...
Full review

Customer service is certainly not a priority or the primary focus of this bank. It appears that fee collection id the overall focus. We have had dreadful customer service on more than one occasion with additional lending requirements and we would never recommend Westpac to anyone. We are currently in the process of transferring to another Institution because of this.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Tricia (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excelllent Customer Service

The staff are friendly, helpful and very understanding to cater to the individual needs.
Full review

The staff are friendly, helpful and very understanding to cater to the individual needs.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Donna (VIC), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to use

I've always been with ANZ and when I received a home loan there were only a few issues that were simply bureaucratic errors such as sending the same form 6 times.
Full review

I've always been with ANZ and when I received a home loan there were only a few issues that were simply bureaucratic errors such as sending the same form 6 times.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Aaron (SA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Customer service is ok could be better

Have dealt with ANZ for 30 years and while banks don't have the best reputation we have been happy with all our dealings with them.
Full review

Have dealt with ANZ for 30 years and while banks don't have the best reputation we have been happy with all our dealings with them.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Brian (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great client relationship

ANZ managers are exceptionally good at understanding my requirements and they have always accommodated me.
Full review

ANZ managers are exceptionally good at understanding my requirements and they have always accommodated me.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Mehool (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

MCU (Maleny Credit Union)

MCU (Maleny Credit Union) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

So happy I chose MCU!!!

Very warm, personable service. I've never experienced a bank so human and knowledgeable .
Full review

Very warm, personable service. I've never experienced a bank so human and knowledgeable .

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sarah (QLD), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Greater Building Society

Greater Building Society Great Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, over $150k) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Brilliant service and low interest rates

The Greater offers a tailored home loan just for you. I love our redraw facility and the low interest rates. Customer service is gold!!!
Full review

The Greater offers a tailored home loan just for you. I love our redraw facility and the low interest rates. Customer service is gold!!!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Linda (NSW), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Advantage (LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Highly recommend

Great bank, always keeping us informed, absolutely no issues. Highly recommend.
Full review

Great bank, always keeping us informed, absolutely no issues. Highly recommend.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ryan (SA), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

OK customer service

Poor when interest rate cut didn't pass on.
Full review

Poor when interest rate cut didn't pass on.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Nicole (TAS), reviewed 1 day ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Home loan comparisons on MozoRates updated daily

  • State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    State Custodians Peak Performance Offset (over $500k, LVR<80%)

    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Purchase or refinance

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.31%

    Upfront fees

    $275

    Go to site
    • Special discounted rate for larger loans
    • 100% offset account
    • Purchase or refinance
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.31%
    • Upfront fees: $275
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Minimum loan amount: $500,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • loans.com.au Dream Home Loan Essentials

    loans.com.au Dream Home Loan Essentials

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • No monthly fees, Redraw available
    • For purchases or refinance

    variable rate

    4.02%

    comparison rate*

    4.04%

    Upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site
    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • No monthly fees, Redraw available
    • For purchases or refinance
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.02%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.04%
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $750,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    6.1

    Based on 70 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Real Reward Offer (Owner Occupier)

    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.09%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site
    • No upfront fees
    • No monthly fees
    • Quick, easy & secure online application
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.9

    Based on 24 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    Click Loans Online Saver Home Loan

    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%

    variable rate

    4.09%

    comparison rate*

    4.12%

    Upfront fees

    $440

    Go to site
    • Same day approval
    • Complete application and verify ID online
    • Low interest rates from just 4.09%
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.09%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.12%
    • Upfront fees: $440
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  • bankmecu Low Rate Special

    bankmecu Low Rate Special

    • No upfront or monthly fees
    • Additional repayments accepted
    • Discounted rate offer extended, apply by 31 July 2015

    variable rate

    4.10%

    comparison rate*

    4.11%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site
    • No upfront or monthly fees
    • Additional repayments accepted
    • Discounted rate offer extended, apply by 31 July 2015
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 4.10%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.11%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.5

    Based on 19 bankmecu home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Find out more

    More info

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 554 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank or insurer for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

 

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.