Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all home loans or check out our home loan guides

Write a review

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Police Credit Union SA NT

    Police Credit Union SA NT home loan review

    Friendly but flawed

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 22 hours ago)

    Unfortunately PCU are the David of the banking world and their products reflect this. Products are backwards (read: Paywave and lack of) and their internet banking/mobile banking interface is bordering on laughable, not to mention the prehistoric ...  Full review 

    Unfortunately PCU are the David of the banking world and their products reflect this. Products are backwards (read: Paywave and lack of) and their internet banking/mobile banking interface is bordering on laughable, not to mention the prehistoric transaction fees. Sadly, PCU has been well and truly surpassed for convenience by the bigger players as well. Thankfully the interest rates offered to me were quite passable and the customer service is enjoyable. I'm locked in for 3 years at this interest rate and it's the only reason I will continue to bank with them. For now.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Police Credit Union SA NT home loan reviewed by Tom from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Outstanding in every way

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 23 hours ago)

    As a first home lender, I found loans.com.au an outstanding firm to deal with. Great communication, always easy to get on the phone, proactive in calling me to follow up items, timely settlement...simply a stress free process. It made my first exp...  Full review 

    As a first home lender, I found loans.com.au an outstanding firm to deal with. Great communication, always easy to get on the phone, proactive in calling me to follow up items, timely settlement...simply a stress free process. It made my first experience smooth and easy - I was dreading a horrible drawn out process. Even requested settlement to be bought forward -was no trouble. 10/10 in all aspects !


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by Jeremy from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Disgusting customer service and no empathy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 24 hours ago)

    After my 39 yo husband had a heart attack we were severely struggling with finances and paying the mortgage. I had already contacted the local Branch who were understanding. Someone from head office contacted me a week later, and I explained the s...  Full review 

    After my 39 yo husband had a heart attack we were severely struggling with finances and paying the mortgage. I had already contacted the local Branch who were understanding. Someone from head office contacted me a week later, and I explained the situation requesting assistance, and I was advised "oh well life happens, deal with it". This customer service has made me put plans in place to transfer all our NAB assets to another Bank as soon as we are in a better financial position. They take your money, but giving very little in return. I have nothing positive to say about this Bank except they are very nice to you when you first take out a Mortgage and borrow hundreds of thousands of dollars but that's it.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Sue from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Not helpful

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 24 hours ago)

    NAB is only available one day a week in my town and I need to drive 65 kms to Wagga. I find the staff not very approachable. Also I had trouble with them over a personal loan when my husband died.  Full review 

    NAB is only available one day a week in my town and I need to drive 65 kms to Wagga. I find the staff not very approachable. Also I had trouble with them over a personal loan when my husband died.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Marilyn from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland home loan review

    Best deal and customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 24 hours ago)

    The manager of the bank owns the bank and gave us the best deal for the house loan.  Full review 

    The manager of the bank owns the bank and gave us the best deal for the house loan.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland home loan reviewed by Edwin from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Excellent service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 24 hours ago)

    I have found the bank very helpful in any concern I have, they have been able to explain things well. My local branch is outstanding, they are very helpful and Melissa goes out of her way to assist us and is happy to sit down and go though anythi...  Full review 

    I have found the bank very helpful in any concern I have, they have been able to explain things well. My local branch is outstanding, they are very helpful and Melissa goes out of her way to assist us and is happy to sit down and go though anything we're unsure of.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Karina from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Great service, friendly staff

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    They're great, they make you feel at home and you're a customer not a number.  Full review 

    They're great, they make you feel at home and you're a customer not a number.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by John from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great at the start, lousy at retaining customers

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Bank was great to obtain a loan and very helpful with all the facets of home purchase. Once signed up and paying there is no offer or ability to re negotiate interest rate when rates drop. The only way seems to be go to another bank and come back ...  Full review 

    Bank was great to obtain a loan and very helpful with all the facets of home purchase. Once signed up and paying there is no offer or ability to re negotiate interest rate when rates drop. The only way seems to be go to another bank and come back with a cheaper rate or leave as will not make a real attempt to retain customers. Crazy, as my savings accounts, insurance and more are or will have been with them.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Paul from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Heritage Bank

    Heritage Bank home loan review

    Low interest home loan

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Lowest price home loan with redraw facility at no extra cost. Great to deal with.  Full review 

    Lowest price home loan with redraw facility at no extra cost. Great to deal with.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Heritage Bank home loan reviewed by Erika

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Fantastic

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    No issues, friendly with a smile and nothing to hide.  Full review 

    No issues, friendly with a smile and nothing to hide.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Eliads from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Broken Hill Community Credit Union

    Broken Hill Community Credit Union home loan review

    Commbank has great products

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Commbank likes to increase profits which is great. However in the time I had my mortgage I was not contacted once to see how things were going. In summary though they are a great bank with great products.  Full review 

    Commbank likes to increase profits which is great. However in the time I had my mortgage I was not contacted once to see how things were going. In summary though they are a great bank with great products.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Broken Hill Community Credit Union home loan reviewed by Niki sideris

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Adelaide Bank

    Adelaide Bank home loan review

    Good service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    My manager is always asking and telling me things I should know to help me with my home loans.  Full review 

    My manager is always asking and telling me things I should know to help me with my home loans.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Adelaide Bank home loan reviewed by Peter from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland home loan review

    BoQ, no thank you

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Poor pricing. Poor product. No negotiation and complex paperwork.  Full review 

    Poor pricing. Poor product. No negotiation and complex paperwork.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland home loan reviewed by Kevin

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Excellent service over 40+ years and have paid off

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    I have banked with NAB & other institutions for 45-50 years, bought & sold many properties & have not experienced any difficulties whatsoever.  Full review 

    I have banked with NAB & other institutions for 45-50 years, bought & sold many properties & have not experienced any difficulties whatsoever.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Danny from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Defence Bank

    Defence Bank home loan review

    Incompetent and slow

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Still in the process of applying for a DHOAS home loan. They have taken months and still no decision has been made. Only after threatening to drop the application and go to another bank has any progress been made but they are still missing the...  Full review 

    Still in the process of applying for a DHOAS home loan. They have taken months and still no decision has been made. Only after threatening to drop the application and go to another bank has any progress been made but they are still missing their own deadlines they give me. They are useless with non-standard loans. Purchasing off a related party for less than market value with multiple sources of income, forget it. Next time, use a competent bank.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Defence Bank home loan reviewed by Brian from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Was able to split my home loan with no hassles. Every step was explained clearly and the transition was completed within days of submitting the forms. Staff have always been polite, helpful and friendly.  Full review 

    Was able to split my home loan with no hassles. Every step was explained clearly and the transition was completed within days of submitting the forms. Staff have always been polite, helpful and friendly.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Jan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank home loan review

    Great customer service, competitive rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    We started banking with them for convenience when we lived in another location. Every time we have moved the transition in banks has been easy. Staff are always friendly, know who you are and remember who you are. Ask about you as a person and ...  Full review 

    We started banking with them for convenience when we lived in another location. Every time we have moved the transition in banks has been easy. Staff are always friendly, know who you are and remember who you are. Ask about you as a person and your family. Very good service and product.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank home loan reviewed by Cindy from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Average

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    They have never been able to set up a second account for repayments to come out of should there not be enough in the account. I usually have directly debited to pay the mortgage. They then take the money out of the account without my knowledge an...  Full review 

    They have never been able to set up a second account for repayments to come out of should there not be enough in the account. I usually have directly debited to pay the mortgage. They then take the money out of the account without my knowledge and leave me in the lurch.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Vanessa from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Best Products

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Great service and products, especially the Platinum VISA card and offset accounts.  Full review 

    Great service and products, especially the Platinum VISA card and offset accounts.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Paul from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Trustworthy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    After having a terrible experience with another bank, we switched to ANZ for all our banking needs! They have been amazing! It's nice to feel like we're not just a profit to them.  Full review 

    After having a terrible experience with another bank, we switched to ANZ for all our banking needs! They have been amazing! It's nice to feel like we're not just a profit to them.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Stacey

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • HomeStart

    HomeStart home loan review

    Great customer service and alway easy to talk to

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    They gave me a chance as an unemployed single parent.  Full review 

    They gave me a chance as an unemployed single parent.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    HomeStart home loan reviewed by Carolyn from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Poor

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Not willing to renegotiate interest rates and made it quite difficult to lock in a lower rate once it was negotiated. Had to resign loan documentation and send snail mail back to the bank. Commonwealth did the same thing over the phone with a much...  Full review 

    Not willing to renegotiate interest rates and made it quite difficult to lock in a lower rate once it was negotiated. Had to resign loan documentation and send snail mail back to the bank. Commonwealth did the same thing over the phone with a much better attitude.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Justin

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Good features and well in line with other banks

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    The bank is quite good however you occasionally get staff that are not helpful or knowledgeable. They expect you to fit in with their movements. I work and time is of the essence, but they don't care.  Full review 

    The bank is quite good however you occasionally get staff that are not helpful or knowledgeable. They expect you to fit in with their movements. I work and time is of the essence, but they don't care.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Robyn from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Not the best rate

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    They advertise on some sites up to 95% loan on the value of the property. All I received was 80%. Not happy. They wouldn't give me their best interest rate because I wasn't borrowing more money.  Full review 

    They advertise on some sites up to 95% loan on the value of the property. All I received was 80%. Not happy. They wouldn't give me their best interest rate because I wasn't borrowing more money.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by John from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RAMS

    RAMS home loan review

    Easy to deal with

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 5 days ago)

    Never had a problem with them. Made getting a home loan easy under difficult circumstances. Would not hesitate to recommend.  Full review 

    Never had a problem with them. Made getting a home loan easy under difficult circumstances. Would not hesitate to recommend.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    RAMS home loan reviewed by Peter from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of home loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed home loans

  • 10.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Mortgage House home loans

    Overall rating: 10.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 20 August 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Mortgage House home loans
  • 9.3
    based on
    83 reviews

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans

    Overall rating: 9.4 (83 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 08 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans
  • 9.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 October 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans
  • 8.6
    based on
    116 reviews

    ME Bank home loans

    Overall rating: 8.6 (116 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 October 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ME Bank home loans
  • 8.5
    based on
    34 reviews

    Greater Building Society home loans

    Overall rating: 8.5 (34 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 21 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Greater Building Society home loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.