Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all home loans or check out our home loan guides

Write a review

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Great home loan rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 12 minutes ago)

    Great home loan rates, excellent customer service except one branch, which is difficult to work with, but overall the other branches, ATMS, phone service and internet are exceptional.  Full review 

    Great home loan rates, excellent customer service except one branch, which is difficult to work with, but overall the other branches, ATMS, phone service and internet are exceptional.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Jenny from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Clear and concise answers to queries

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 38 minutes ago)

    The bank arranged a complicated transfer of interest in a mortgage with speed and efficiency. Any queries I have raised have been speedily answered in clear non-jargon language.  Full review 

    The bank arranged a complicated transfer of interest in a mortgage with speed and efficiency. Any queries I have raised have been speedily answered in clear non-jargon language.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Janice from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Beyond Bank

    Beyond Bank home loan review

    Competitive interest rates, customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 43 minutes ago)

    Have been a member for over 30 years and have always received great home loan rates and excellent and expedient customer services. The advent of online banking made it easier to stay with the bank after we moved to another state.  Full review 

    Have been a member for over 30 years and have always received great home loan rates and excellent and expedient customer services. The advent of online banking made it easier to stay with the bank after we moved to another state.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Beyond Bank home loan reviewed by Anne from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 hour ago)

    I love this bank because it listens to our needs, the people who work there are very customer orientated and have great interest rates.  Full review 

    I love this bank because it listens to our needs, the people who work there are very customer orientated and have great interest rates.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Elena from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Melbourne

    Bank of Melbourne home loan review

    Not worth it

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 hour ago)

    Bank of Melbourne offer an excellent package called the Advantage Package. This gives you great discounts off interest rates and fees within the bank. However, their loan application process is lengthy and tiresome. They require extra irrelevant ...  Full review 

    Bank of Melbourne offer an excellent package called the Advantage Package. This gives you great discounts off interest rates and fees within the bank. However, their loan application process is lengthy and tiresome. They require extra irrelevant information. Customer service is atrocious! They cannot answer simple questions effectively. They miscommunicate between internal areas of the company, and many people you need to speak to are rude. Only with them for the package, otherwise they are a useless bank.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Melbourne home loan reviewed by Rachael from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Adelaide Bank

    Adelaide Bank home loan review

    Competitive features

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 1 hour ago)

    Competitive, good customer service, quick & efficient approvals.  Full review 

    Competitive, good customer service, quick & efficient approvals.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Adelaide Bank home loan reviewed by Ron from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Be careful who you talk to

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 hours ago)

    Because we had two interest only loans on an investment property, I wanted to pay out a large loan and keep part of the balance of a smaller loan, it became so complicated talking to different people and getting a different slant each time. Decide...  Full review 

    Because we had two interest only loans on an investment property, I wanted to pay out a large loan and keep part of the balance of a smaller loan, it became so complicated talking to different people and getting a different slant each time. Decided to payout both and go elsewhere. Someone setup Internet banking without our consent and they cannot understand we never use this method of banking. Learnt a hard lesson, your money is as good as anyone and you need to be treated with respect.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Gary from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 3 hours ago)

    I have been a loyal customer of the Commonwealth Bank for over 20 years, so when it came time to get a home loan, they were the obvious choice considering I already banked with them. The Commonwealth bank also have an excellent online banking system.  Full review 

    I have been a loyal customer of the Commonwealth Bank for over 20 years, so when it came time to get a home loan, they were the obvious choice considering I already banked with them. The Commonwealth bank also have an excellent online banking system.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Aaron from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Great rate, dishonest company

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 4 hours ago)

    Avoid loans.com.au like the plague. I spoke to them re: refinance of home loan. 200k loan, property value 950k plus. Total cost was to be $220 for valuation-$300 to pay old loan. Offset account for free and no other fees, so I applied as they h...  Full review 

    Avoid loans.com.au like the plague. I spoke to them re: refinance of home loan. 200k loan, property value 950k plus. Total cost was to be $220 for valuation-$300 to pay old loan. Offset account for free and no other fees, so I applied as they had a great rate. Two months later I have finally received my contract. They fail to communicate, even after twice daily phone calls. My 220 valuation was charged , then it was another 220 because we were 10k plus from town centre, then another 110 because we were rural- this despite them asking this previously . Once I paid the first amount, nothing could happen until I paid the second and then third. I always had to ring to find out what was going on. Valuation came back as less than another property two blocks away, without house or power, which was sold 1 month ago within 1km. We have a 5 bedroom, 3 bathroom house with commercial kitchen and theatre room lounge, separate dining, 8 x 10 family room and additional full size snooker room and gym- 9 x 8m. Plus two new sheds that cost 60k+ 18 months ago and an additional 4 bedroom house on our property. Contract now says that in addition to the 300 fee to pay out old loan, there will be additional fees of 400+ to register mortgage. It also lists early and additional payment fees among heaps of others and they can change or add any and all charges when they like without consultation or advice in advance. I have lost the 550 already paid but will not accept an open ended agreement from a company who cannot call you except to get more fees. I am concerned with how everybody blames their co workers and adds another charge every time Their rates are cheap but the charges and poor service is not worth it. Be warned.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by Fred from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland home loan review

    Open

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed about 4 hours ago)

    The Manager for Bank of QLD at our branch was more than happy to negotiate bank fees when we took out our loan.  Full review 

    The Manager for Bank of QLD at our branch was more than happy to negotiate bank fees when we took out our loan.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland home loan reviewed by Maria from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Happy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Have been with them since school and wouldn't bank anywhere else.  Full review 

    Have been with them since school and wouldn't bank anywhere else.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Tracey from Western Australia

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • AMP

    AMP home loan review

    Good customer service when it really counted

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Non traditional bank which is great as you don't see some of the fees that are charged by other financial providers. Points of presence are hard to come by as there are not a lot of 'brick & mortar' outlets that you can visit in person. Like...  Full review 

    Non traditional bank which is great as you don't see some of the fees that are charged by other financial providers. Points of presence are hard to come by as there are not a lot of 'brick & mortar' outlets that you can visit in person. Like most banks, they are not knocking down my door to offer me a better rate on my home loan. If banks just made this simple outreach to their customers, they would retain business for a lot longer and people would not want to constantly look for a better deal.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    AMP home loan reviewed by Craig from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB Broker

    NAB Broker home loan review

    Loan department not reliable

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I dislike this bank because they only go by standard accounts. They don't recognize special transfers from one personal bank account to another - counts as expense. It took them 4 weeks to get a response after the broker was there.  Full review 

    I dislike this bank because they only go by standard accounts. They don't recognize special transfers from one personal bank account to another - counts as expense. It took them 4 weeks to get a response after the broker was there.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB Broker home loan reviewed by Petra from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ME Bank

    ME Bank home loan review

    Fantastic service and competitive features

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    ME bank is convenient, no fees and flexible options that suit my needs.  Full review 

    ME bank is convenient, no fees and flexible options that suit my needs.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ME Bank home loan reviewed by Wendy from Australian Capital Territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB Broker

    NAB Broker home loan review

    Very approachable on all matters

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    We have been with the NAB for many years and totally trust our Broker. He keeps us informed on what is happening and offers suggestions to get the best out of our loan. When asked about bettering our loan it was done in a matter of minutes, very ...  Full review 

    We have been with the NAB for many years and totally trust our Broker. He keeps us informed on what is happening and offers suggestions to get the best out of our loan. When asked about bettering our loan it was done in a matter of minutes, very happy with our bank.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB Broker home loan reviewed by Michele from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    I contact our personal banker by e-mail & she gets straight back to me, she then takes care of my enquiry promptly and gets straight back to me by e mail. This is very convenient.  Full review 

    I contact our personal banker by e-mail & she gets straight back to me, she then takes care of my enquiry promptly and gets straight back to me by e mail. This is very convenient.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Linda from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Teachers Mutual Bank

    Teachers Mutual Bank home loan review

    Competitive features and great service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Staff who know what they're talking about. Extremely helpful. Cons- distance, lack of face to face communication.  Full review 

    Staff who know what they're talking about. Extremely helpful. Cons- distance, lack of face to face communication.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Teachers Mutual Bank home loan reviewed by Cheryl from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Appalling service, stay away!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    When we first signed up with Suncorp, the mobile lender David was fantastic, couldn't do enough for us, informed us about every step, everything was approved within a month! The customer service line is great! Friendly and full of knowledge. Howev...  Full review 

    When we first signed up with Suncorp, the mobile lender David was fantastic, couldn't do enough for us, informed us about every step, everything was approved within a month! The customer service line is great! Friendly and full of knowledge. However, then things turned sour! We wanted to get a car loan through them to make things easy. After 3 months of messing around with the lending manager wanting family trust documents, business earning documents and documents we simply couldn't provide (bear in mind it was for a personal car not a business car and we work for the family business), we took our finances else where. The new bank had it all approved within a week! We decided to try our luck again, having credit cards, we wanted to re-consolidate our debt onto our house loan to make it easy. It was not a massive amount of money and figured after 4 years we would have some equity to combine it. Made an appointment again with the lending manager. 6 months the process took, every time we would make an appointment she would cancel and not ring us, she would be sick, we would ring, email, be at the branch , sorry she is sick! Complained to the CEO and things started moving. We questioned the evaluation and it took another month of constant contact and the same thing: she is sick, contacted CEO , followed it up, nothing they can do, evaluation is set ! Go to the Westpac bank, they value our house $70k more than Suncorp and in a week we are in the process of changing home loans. The lady is honest, keeps us informed and is looking after what we want and giving us the best service! My advice: stay away from Suncorp, their after sales service is bad! Shop around.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Kirsten

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • IMB

    IMB home loan review

    Great services

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    Good rates and service, not enough locations.  Full review 

    Good rates and service, not enough locations.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    IMB home loan reviewed by Ambers from Australian Capital Territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    All round great bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 7 days ago)

    ANZ crew are always helpful when I need them, no matter what branch. I've banked with ANZ for over 20 years. Access over the internet is very very useful.  Full review 

    ANZ crew are always helpful when I need them, no matter what branch. I've banked with ANZ for over 20 years. Access over the internet is very very useful.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Pauline from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    NAB = perfect package!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    Customer service friendly and polite, With all banking features and interest rate right! Leading edge technology and customer service, The best products around and great advice, I wouldn't bank anywhere else, Because NAB are purely grouse!  Full review 

    Customer service friendly and polite, With all banking features and interest rate right! Leading edge technology and customer service, The best products around and great advice, I wouldn't bank anywhere else, Because NAB are purely grouse!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Kim from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Awesome cusotmer service, friendly & efficient

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    I was amazed at how friendly, professional and quick their service was. Every question was answered, and they went out of their way to ensure that I fully understood the loan process and what products would suit my needs. There was none of the b...  Full review 

    I was amazed at how friendly, professional and quick their service was. Every question was answered, and they went out of their way to ensure that I fully understood the loan process and what products would suit my needs. There was none of the big bank mentality here, it made me feel like a valued customer from the first phone call.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Deanne from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ME Bank

    ME Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    The people in Brisbane are fantastic and willing to help out with any problem that comes up or just an enquiry.  Full review 

    The people in Brisbane are fantastic and willing to help out with any problem that comes up or just an enquiry.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ME Bank home loan reviewed by Don from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ING DIRECT

    ING DIRECT home loan review

    Makes life easy!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    Flexible, easy to understand, linked mortgage and savings account, simple to access online but with login process that makes me feel safe and confident using - ING ticks all my boxes. And the fact they reimburse your $2 ATM fee makes me smile ever...  Full review 

    Flexible, easy to understand, linked mortgage and savings account, simple to access online but with login process that makes me feel safe and confident using - ING ticks all my boxes. And the fact they reimburse your $2 ATM fee makes me smile every time I use my savings card.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ING DIRECT home loan reviewed by Shelley from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Terrible Customer Service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    Don't ever go with Loans.com.au. Why?? 1. Inexperienced staff 2. Incompetent, very junior staff (low wages) 3. Not transparent to the customer 4. Delays in settlement cost us $$$ 5. Continually moving the Goal Posts regarding supply of inform...  Full review 

    Don't ever go with Loans.com.au. Why?? 1. Inexperienced staff 2. Incompetent, very junior staff (low wages) 3. Not transparent to the customer 4. Delays in settlement cost us $$$ 5. Continually moving the Goal Posts regarding supply of information required to settle. 6. Stupid SMSs in the beginning saying we have "Pre-Approval" 7. Worst customer experience in the business world. 8. Don't or won't listen to their customers. 9. Poor communication skills. Go elsewhere. Save yourself the heartache. These people are rank amateurs!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by Peter from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of home loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed home loans

  • 10.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Mortgage House home loans

    Overall rating: 10.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 20 August 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Mortgage House home loans
  • 9.3
    based on
    83 reviews

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans

    Overall rating: 9.4 (83 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 08 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans
  • 9.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 October 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans
  • 8.6
    based on
    116 reviews

    ME Bank home loans

    Overall rating: 8.6 (116 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 15 October 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ME Bank home loans
  • 8.5
    based on
    34 reviews

    Greater Building Society home loans

    Overall rating: 8.5 (34 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 21 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Greater Building Society home loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.