Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all home loans or check out our home loan guides

Write a review

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Terrible

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Not helpful or flexible, their employees don't know their jobs and provide on numerous occasions misleading information. Not flexible with providing a direct debit for loan once I changed my saving bank account to bank west.  Full review 

    Not helpful or flexible, their employees don't know their jobs and provide on numerous occasions misleading information. Not flexible with providing a direct debit for loan once I changed my saving bank account to bank west.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Kim from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    The service is great I just wish our home loan rate was lower.  Full review 

    The service is great I just wish our home loan rate was lower.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Jan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Very competitive and fantastic service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    The rate is very competitive and the staff are absolute gems to deal with. Nothing was ever a hassle and they always contacted me back when I requested them to do so. Would recommend to friends and family!  Full review 

    The rate is very competitive and the staff are absolute gems to deal with. Nothing was ever a hassle and they always contacted me back when I requested them to do so. Would recommend to friends and family!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by Keith from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Community Mutual Group

    Community Mutual Group home loan review

    Brilliant - easy access, payment options etc.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Great and knowledgeable staff. Really helpful. Flexible payment options and easy internet access. Can't speak highly enough about the loan services offered by Community Mutual.  Full review 

    Great and knowledgeable staff. Really helpful. Flexible payment options and easy internet access. Can't speak highly enough about the loan services offered by Community Mutual.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Community Mutual Group home loan reviewed by Kate from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    I have had a bad year, been behind on payments, they have helped me big time .  Full review 

    I have had a bad year, been behind on payments, they have helped me big time .


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Sharron from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Reliable, competitive and supportive.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Over the years that we have been dealing with them, whatever our need, they have been able to assist.  Full review 

    Over the years that we have been dealing with them, whatever our need, they have been able to assist.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Jan from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Great all round service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    They have attended to all my banking needs.they have been friendly but professional. I have been clear about my decisions because of the knowledge given to me by the staff at my particular branch.  Full review 

    They have attended to all my banking needs.they have been friendly but professional. I have been clear about my decisions because of the knowledge given to me by the staff at my particular branch.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Dianne from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Competitive rates and good customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    The Commonwealth Bank offered us a great deal on our home loan, with competitive rates and good customer service.  Full review 

    The Commonwealth Bank offered us a great deal on our home loan, with competitive rates and good customer service.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Emily from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Melbourne

    Bank of Melbourne home loan review

    Efficient, personalised service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Good efficient,competitive service. Polite,helpful staff.  Full review 

    Good efficient,competitive service. Polite,helpful staff.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Melbourne home loan reviewed by Megan from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Service and customer focused

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Great staff so easy to deal with.  Full review 

    Great staff so easy to deal with.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Wayne from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    ANZ needs to reconsider its country clients

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Mistakes made with our accounts were inexcusable. After banking with ANZ for over 40 years we were unable to get a home loan from the local branch under 2 weeks if then, so we went to NAB and got the loan within 12 hours.  Full review 

    Mistakes made with our accounts were inexcusable. After banking with ANZ for over 40 years we were unable to get a home loan from the local branch under 2 weeks if then, so we went to NAB and got the loan within 12 hours.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Pam from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Needs a better Interest rate but good service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Being an elderly person paying off a mortgage your options become limited. It means that the Bank you are with on retiring will stay your Bank as no other Bank will want to know. We only have a small mortgage compared to many which would be cove...  Full review 

    Being an elderly person paying off a mortgage your options become limited. It means that the Bank you are with on retiring will stay your Bank as no other Bank will want to know. We only have a small mortgage compared to many which would be covered if I ever have to sell. It is cheaper than having to pay a rent, so in that respect we can be grateful.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Susan from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Good customer service.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Friendly competent staff, flexibility with a draw out option for excess on home loan. Minimal fees and charges and competitive rates.  Full review 

    Friendly competent staff, flexibility with a draw out option for excess on home loan. Minimal fees and charges and competitive rates.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Kim from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Excellent customer service!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Excellent customer service with very knowledgable staff and great products.  Full review 

    Excellent customer service with very knowledgable staff and great products.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Tania from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Competitive rate and friendly staff

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    I find the online banking to be easy to follow and manage and the staff have always been friendly and helpful.  Full review 

    I find the online banking to be easy to follow and manage and the staff have always been friendly and helpful.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Kerri from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Competitive features and great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    It would be wonderful if life was like a nutshell, small convenient hassle free, well your home loan can be with the WESTPAC. I got into financial difficulties, no I didn't start running to find the next cheapest loan I could find, I asked MY BAN...  Full review 

    It would be wonderful if life was like a nutshell, small convenient hassle free, well your home loan can be with the WESTPAC. I got into financial difficulties, no I didn't start running to find the next cheapest loan I could find, I asked MY BANK for help so you could say, like in a nutshell they were willing to help. No, I didn't have to start again, (switch) I asked and they gave me a nutshell small convenient hassle free, thank you WESTPAC.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Terry from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Low interest rate

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Good service and support.  Full review 

    Good service and support.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Susan from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Looking for options

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    It would be great to have branch customer service--so not there.  Full review 

    It would be great to have branch customer service--so not there.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Stephen from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Customer service satisfaction

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Good customer service although rates a little high. But they do seem to value loyal customers. It was also a hassle-free process to extend my mortgage and pay out my personal loan recently.  Full review 

    Good customer service although rates a little high. But they do seem to value loyal customers. It was also a hassle-free process to extend my mortgage and pay out my personal loan recently.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Maria from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Easy online access

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 15 days ago)

    Terrible people skills, long queues but excellent online information.  Full review 

    Terrible people skills, long queues but excellent online information.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Sonja from Victoria

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Mortgage Ezy

    Mortgage Ezy home loan review

    Avoid this company like the plague

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 15 days ago)

    I have an investment loan on which the repayments were for interest only. At the expiration of the interest only payments period Mortgage Ezy offered to extend the arrangement. I notified them that I would accept their offer. They sent me the pape...  Full review 

    I have an investment loan on which the repayments were for interest only. At the expiration of the interest only payments period Mortgage Ezy offered to extend the arrangement. I notified them that I would accept their offer. They sent me the paper work which I signed and returned. After I made the 1st payment under the new agreement I was shocked to be told that I was in arrears. I questioned them and was told that my request to continue the interest only arrangement had been rejected and the repayments where now some $600 per month higher and as I was in arrears I had been charged a fee of $150, which was the standard fee for loans in arrears. How is it possible to be declined for accepting an offer made by them?? I have made enquiries and complained a number of occasions and the only response I get is silence, once or twice people have said they would get back to me but no one ever does.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Mortgage Ezy home loan reviewed by Bob from Australian Capital Territory

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Great customer service and the best rate

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 15 days ago)

    The loan was processed quickly and I was advised of its progress every step of the way. The valuation occurred the day after I applied at a time convenient to me.The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and I feel very confident that I've chosen ...  Full review 

    The loan was processed quickly and I was advised of its progress every step of the way. The valuation occurred the day after I applied at a time convenient to me.The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and I feel very confident that I've chosen the best loans group to re-finance my home loan with.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by Kate from Queensland

    2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland home loan review

    Excellent customer service, competitive

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 15 days ago)

    I deal with the Bank of Queensland at Kallangur . I find this bank highly professional and great customer service. I can contact the Manager anytime and make appointments to see him to discuss my products. I would highly recommend this bank to a...  Full review 

    I deal with the Bank of Queensland at Kallangur . I find this bank highly professional and great customer service. I can contact the Manager anytime and make appointments to see him to discuss my products. I would highly recommend this bank to anyone.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland home loan reviewed by Patricia from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ME Bank

    ME Bank home loan review

    Customer Service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 15 days ago)

    Online banking is simple and easy. Help desk available when needed. Home consultations. Hard copy of bank statements. Secure banking.  Full review 

    Online banking is simple and easy. Help desk available when needed. Home consultations. Hard copy of bank statements. Secure banking.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ME Bank home loan reviewed by Sue from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George home loan review

    Fabulous customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 15 days ago)

    Great interest rate and value added customer service.  Full review 

    Great interest rate and value added customer service.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George home loan reviewed by Rebecca from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of home loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed home loans

  • 9.0
    based on
    3 reviews

    Mortgage House home loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (3 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 24 March 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Mortgage House home loans
  • 8.7
    based on
    45 reviews

    Greater Building Society home loans

    Overall rating: 8.7 (45 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 06 April 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Greater Building Society home loans
  • 8.3
    based on
    6 reviews

    BCU home loans

    Overall rating: 8.3 (6 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 24 January 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    BCU home loans
  • 8.2
    based on
    89 reviews

    ME Bank home loans

    Overall rating: 8.2 (89 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 07 April 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ME Bank home loans
  • 8.1
    based on
    8 reviews

    IMB home loans

    Overall rating: 8.1 (8 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 31 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    IMB home loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.