Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all home loans or check out our home loan guides

Write a review

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    I do like ANZ very much and have been a customer for 20 years. I will say I am thinking of changing for the fact smaller banks are offering lower interest rates.  Full review 

    I do like ANZ very much and have been a customer for 20 years. I will say I am thinking of changing for the fact smaller banks are offering lower interest rates.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Melissa from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    We have had nothing but excellent professional service and advice. At several branches pertaining to our needs and enquiries.  Full review 

    We have had nothing but excellent professional service and advice. At several branches pertaining to our needs and enquiries.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Peter from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    No benefits for loyal customers

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    They need to look after those of us that have had 2 loans with them and all other accounts. Reward loyalty with flexibility and low interest rates.  Full review 

    They need to look after those of us that have had 2 loans with them and all other accounts. Reward loyalty with flexibility and low interest rates.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Christine from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great computer services, shocking customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    The computer side of the Commonwealth Bank is perfect but the human side leaves a lot to be desired. We have had two loans with them over the last 7 years and they cannot get one contract right. When contracts have needed to be changed, when they...  Full review 

    The computer side of the Commonwealth Bank is perfect but the human side leaves a lot to be desired. We have had two loans with them over the last 7 years and they cannot get one contract right. When contracts have needed to be changed, when they come back to be signed they are not what was agreed on. I don't go into the bank anymore, the last time we were in there (late last year), we had to stand in the walk way and give the bank officer our private details while other people were waiting and listening to this information, when asked why we couldn't go into a room we were told it was for their safety. As soon as the loan is paid out we will withdraw everything we have in there. The only reason we are still there is we were involved in the storm financial fall out, so we need to stay with the Commonwealth until we are free and clear of debt.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Julie from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Good customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Good customer service from local branch. Able to understand needs and help solve problems.  Full review 

    Good customer service from local branch. Able to understand needs and help solve problems.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Dale from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Great service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    BankWest are good, they are West Coast Eagles supporters!  Full review 

    BankWest are good, they are West Coast Eagles supporters!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Wayne from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Great

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    Overall experience awesome, they were great.  Full review 

    Overall experience awesome, they were great.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Sue from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Average

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 1 day ago)

    They don't make any effort to make my experience with them any better or easier.  Full review 

    They don't make any effort to make my experience with them any better or easier.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Joanne from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Competitive features and great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Prompt service and easy to deal with.  Full review 

    Prompt service and easy to deal with.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Ram from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    On the ball each time

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    To be able to walk in and have someone with the knowledge of my inquiry is so important to me. This is all I have and it means everything to me.  Full review 

    To be able to walk in and have someone with the knowledge of my inquiry is so important to me. This is all I have and it means everything to me.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Caroline from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Excellent customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    Very customer focused, accessibility is not a problem and staff are very friendly.  Full review 

    Very customer focused, accessibility is not a problem and staff are very friendly.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Kishore from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    I have absolutely nothing positive to say

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    I am a 60 year old carer for my mother, 89yrs who is suffering dementia. I sold my home 5yrs ago and re-bought a dual key unit, same bank. 2yrs later with no written notice I received an eviction notice from said bank effective in 4 working days s...  Full review 

    I am a 60 year old carer for my mother, 89yrs who is suffering dementia. I sold my home 5yrs ago and re-bought a dual key unit, same bank. 2yrs later with no written notice I received an eviction notice from said bank effective in 4 working days saying I was $5700 in arrears. I couldn't do anything because they defaulted me, so can't even get a credit card for this amount. Equity is over $200,000.00 in home. No customer service from local branch, on phone more helpful as calls are recorded..Wish i was not involved with this bank. Friends are bailing ship on them asap.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Bronni from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Lacks customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    While refinancing to build a new home, a mortgage document was misplaced, and no one from the bank would help. Due to the delay between block settlement and Building approval, (just over 3 months) we had to reapply for the loan.  Full review 

    While refinancing to build a new home, a mortgage document was misplaced, and no one from the bank would help. Due to the delay between block settlement and Building approval, (just over 3 months) we had to reapply for the loan.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Julie from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Very happy with product and bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 2 days ago)

    We have one person we talk to about our home loan and she is very informative. She lets us know best way to reduce our loan more quickly.  Full review 

    We have one person we talk to about our home loan and she is very informative. She lets us know best way to reduce our loan more quickly.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Rebel adelle from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Not overly impressed

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Would like my bank to treat me like they would like to be treated themselves!  Full review 

    Would like my bank to treat me like they would like to be treated themselves!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Danny from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Pepper Home Loans

    Pepper Home Loans home loan review

    Will take care of you and your family

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 3 days ago)

    Pepper has some strange ways of applying what the rules say rather than what is common sense but we are overall happy with the product.  Full review 

    Pepper has some strange ways of applying what the rules say rather than what is common sense but we are overall happy with the product.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Pepper Home Loans home loan reviewed by Caryn from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    More importance placed on smaller customers

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    I think bank could look at it's average home owner's needs. Most mortgage holders also hold accounts with the bank and should be offered incentives to stay, such as no account fees.  Full review 

    I think bank could look at it's average home owner's needs. Most mortgage holders also hold accounts with the bank and should be offered incentives to stay, such as no account fees.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Vanessa from Victoria

    2 people found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Good

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Quite good, service decent, will continue using.  Full review 

    Quite good, service decent, will continue using.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Noel from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Competitive, convenient

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Friendly, professional service. Help you if any problems arise.  Full review 

    Friendly, professional service. Help you if any problems arise.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Mary from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Great Interest Rate and they are always updating us on the rates and offering advice.  Full review 

    Great Interest Rate and they are always updating us on the rates and offering advice.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Heather from South Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • RHG

    RHG home loan review

    Fair

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Service has not been the best and the rate could be better.  Full review 

    Service has not been the best and the rate could be better.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    RHG home loan reviewed by Adam from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Commonwealth bank has been fantastic to us in the last 3 years. Professional, courteous.  Full review 

    Commonwealth bank has been fantastic to us in the last 3 years. Professional, courteous.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Diana from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Good access to online banking

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Good & friendly staff, always willing to help.  Full review 

    Good & friendly staff, always willing to help.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Sonja from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Helpful

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Great, helpful people, always get to talk to an English speaking person and very quick at fixing any problems. Were awesome when we needed a personal loan when Suncorp wouldn't touch us, even though we were $6000 in front on a loan with them and h...  Full review 

    Great, helpful people, always get to talk to an English speaking person and very quick at fixing any problems. Were awesome when we needed a personal loan when Suncorp wouldn't touch us, even though we were $6000 in front on a loan with them and had just paid out another loan. Love Bankwest !!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Rachel from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Newcastle Permanent

    Newcastle Permanent home loan review

    Best customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 8 days ago)

    Newcastle Permanent Building Society have knowledgeable happy staff who honestly try to help find the best arrangement for you. They help the community and because they don't have to pay dividends to stockholders all their profits are reinvested....  Full review 

    Newcastle Permanent Building Society have knowledgeable happy staff who honestly try to help find the best arrangement for you. They help the community and because they don't have to pay dividends to stockholders all their profits are reinvested. This means lower charges to all their members.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Newcastle Permanent home loan reviewed by Carmel from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of home loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed home loans

  • 9.0
    based on
    3 reviews

    Mortgage House home loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (3 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 24 March 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Mortgage House home loans
  • 8.5
    based on
    46 reviews

    Greater Building Society home loans

    Overall rating: 8.5 (46 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 20 January 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Greater Building Society home loans
  • 8.3
    based on
    93 reviews

    ME Bank home loans

    Overall rating: 8.3 (93 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 22 March 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ME Bank home loans
  • 8.1
    based on
    9 reviews

    IMB home loans

    Overall rating: 8.1 (9 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 31 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    IMB home loans
  • 7.7
    based on
    150 reviews

    Bankwest home loans

    Overall rating: 7.7 (150 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 22 March 2015


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Bankwest home loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.