Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Can we help you to refine your reviews search?

Popular review categories:

Search reviews by:

Just researching? Compare all home loans or check out our home loan guides

Write a review

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down
  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 10 days ago)

    Always receive excellent service on any enquiry across all products.  Full review 

    Always receive excellent service on any enquiry across all products.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank home loan reviewed by Sue from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Worth being patient

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    Very cost competitive, only issue is drawn out processes when dealing with centrally based department.  Full review 

    Very cost competitive, only issue is drawn out processes when dealing with centrally based department.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Tony

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Open on weekends

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    No after service, once you're signed up that's it. Have contacted them on numerous occasions to look at changing the mortgage account interest rate but they are not interested.  Full review 

    No after service, once you're signed up that's it. Have contacted them on numerous occasions to look at changing the mortgage account interest rate but they are not interested.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Lisa from Western Australia

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Excellence through convenience!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    Truly the NAB's dedication to customer service sets them apart from the other big banks. All representatives have always been happy to help with any query big or small and are open during the weekends to ensure a busy person can reach them easily....  Full review 

    Truly the NAB's dedication to customer service sets them apart from the other big banks. All representatives have always been happy to help with any query big or small and are open during the weekends to ensure a busy person can reach them easily. The online system is especially good and easy to navigate and offers a total balance on the sidebar to keep track of finances. I highly recommend the NAB, I am so glad my brother convinced me to make the switch!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Tim

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Caveat emptor!! Westpac!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    It's been one train smash after another since 1996. The bank lost the deeds to a property I was selling. Delayed settlement by 4 days! Every time I make a change to mortgage , the bank never seem to be able to keep up with the new interest cost! N...  Full review 

    It's been one train smash after another since 1996. The bank lost the deeds to a property I was selling. Delayed settlement by 4 days! Every time I make a change to mortgage , the bank never seem to be able to keep up with the new interest cost! Never in my favour, I note. Very poor customer service through call centre- branch staff are much more informed.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Fean campbell

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • HSBC

    HSBC home loan review

    Used to be great, now not even average

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    Used to be great, probably the best I have dealt with in Australia but in the last two years the service has gone downhill, considering changing.  Full review 

    Used to be great, probably the best I have dealt with in Australia but in the last two years the service has gone downhill, considering changing.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    HSBC home loan reviewed by Lisa from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Helpful and not pushy

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    The bank's not pushy, but has helped us with our home loan on a few occasions which has only been to benefit us.  Full review 

    The bank's not pushy, but has helped us with our home loan on a few occasions which has only been to benefit us.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Christine from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Melbourne

    Bank of Melbourne home loan review

    Great bank

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 11 days ago)

    You get to talk to real people who care and take the time to assist you with understanding everything to do with banking.  Full review 

    You get to talk to real people who care and take the time to assist you with understanding everything to do with banking.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Melbourne home loan reviewed by Shane from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George home loan review

    Advice you can trust

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Aways helpful and understanding. Willing to listen when a problem arises.  Full review 

    Aways helpful and understanding. Willing to listen when a problem arises.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George home loan reviewed by Ian from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Avoid

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    We are locked into a variable interest rate when the bank is offering new customers a much better rate. This seems to be their aim, to get new customers at all costs and then not value them once they are stuck. We are slowly moving all product lin...  Full review 

    We are locked into a variable interest rate when the bank is offering new customers a much better rate. This seems to be their aim, to get new customers at all costs and then not value them once they are stuck. We are slowly moving all product lines away.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Natasha from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    For a bank they are alright

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Easy to deal with Competitive Good internet service Excellent branch customer service Rates and charges could be reduced  Full review 

    Easy to deal with Competitive Good internet service Excellent branch customer service Rates and charges could be reduced


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Justin

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Westpac

    Westpac home loan review

    Do a great job. Well done.

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Thank you Westpac for our personal managers, they really make life a lot easier.  Full review 

    Thank you Westpac for our personal managers, they really make life a lot easier.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Westpac home loan reviewed by Andrea

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Fantastic customer service and flexibility

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    We have used Anz for our investment and residential loans. We found the process easy with friendly, professional people. We are looking at making another property investment and will be looking to do this with ANZ.  Full review 

    We have used Anz for our investment and residential loans. We found the process easy with friendly, professional people. We are looking at making another property investment and will be looking to do this with ANZ.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Liesl from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • loans.com.au

    loans.com.au home loan review

    Terrible, avoid!!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Theses guys are terrible. Pre-approval means nothing. They delay the approval process, refuse to call back, change the goal posts. They are a complete waste of time. DO NOT get a loan from them. DO NOT apply, they will waste your time!  Full review 

    Theses guys are terrible. Pre-approval means nothing. They delay the approval process, refuse to call back, change the goal posts. They are a complete waste of time. DO NOT get a loan from them. DO NOT apply, they will waste your time!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    loans.com.au home loan reviewed by Ben from South Australia

    1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes flag

    Reply from loans.com.au
  • Hi Ben.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your approval process was not to your satisfaction. We prioritise making sure that our customers are always satisfied with our product, and so we would appreciate being able to talk to you further about your experience. If you're interested in sharing your opinion, please contact us at customercare@loans.com.au.

  • Bank of Melbourne

    Bank of Melbourne home loan review

    Simple quality service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    The home loan is easy to maintain and statements are clear enough that I can actually understand it! Staff are always ready and happy to answer any queries.  Full review 

    The home loan is easy to maintain and statements are clear enough that I can actually understand it! Staff are always ready and happy to answer any queries.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Melbourne home loan reviewed by Louise from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bendigo Bank

    Bendigo Bank home loan review

    Very comparative interest rates and great service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Got a bridging loan when purchasing a home. The people at the Bendigo could not have been more helpful. Compared to other banks, the staff at the Bendigo went out of their way to help with no fuss.  Full review 

    Got a bridging loan when purchasing a home. The people at the Bendigo could not have been more helpful. Compared to other banks, the staff at the Bendigo went out of their way to help with no fuss.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bendigo Bank home loan reviewed by Wal from Victoria

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Very helpful

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Staff are friendly and helpful and always available.  Full review 

    Staff are friendly and helpful and always available.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Jane from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • St.George

    St.George home loan review

    Good if you know exactly what you are doing

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Overall OK, but I found the communication for what I needed to provide confusing. Plain English please St George.  Full review 

    Overall OK, but I found the communication for what I needed to provide confusing. Plain English please St George.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    St.George home loan reviewed by Mal

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • NAB

    NAB home loan review

    Home is where the love is!

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    There is no price for securing a home for our love and children to grow in day by day! Our investment is not just bricks and mortar but a place of love and belonging we all enjoy, even the pets!!  Full review 

    There is no price for securing a home for our love and children to grow in day by day! Our investment is not just bricks and mortar but a place of love and belonging we all enjoy, even the pets!!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    NAB home loan reviewed by Jelica

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Suncorp

    Suncorp home loan review

    Brilliant

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    I have compared other banking agencies to Suncorp and none can come close to the products, service and convenience offered by this bank. We have been with Suncorp for over 10 years and will remain with them as they are a trusted bank that I can r...  Full review 

    I have compared other banking agencies to Suncorp and none can come close to the products, service and convenience offered by this bank. We have been with Suncorp for over 10 years and will remain with them as they are a trusted bank that I can rely on.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Suncorp home loan reviewed by Lisa from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bankwest

    Bankwest home loan review

    Great customer service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Bankwest has always provided great service for us. The Collie WA branch have the most helpful staff and we have personal contact with our finance officer. Would definitely recommend it to our friends and family.  Full review 

    Bankwest has always provided great service for us. The Collie WA branch have the most helpful staff and we have personal contact with our finance officer. Would definitely recommend it to our friends and family.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bankwest home loan reviewed by Kim from Western Australia

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • MyState

    MyState home loan review

    Personal service, competitive rates

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    MyState has made the transition from credit union to bank without losing its personal touch. It's great to be able to talk to some one local, to walk into a branch and see familiar faces and trust that any issue that arises will be quickly resolve...  Full review 

    MyState has made the transition from credit union to bank without losing its personal touch. It's great to be able to talk to some one local, to walk into a branch and see familiar faces and trust that any issue that arises will be quickly resolved. I've had home loans with two other major lenders - neither provided services, support (or interest rates) that go close to MyState.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    MyState home loan reviewed by Lesley from Tasmania

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • ANZ

    ANZ home loan review

    Professional, flexible, trustworthy,human

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    From the initial contact inquiries made as to a pre-approval for a house loan, up until the day of settlement, I was given support, encouragement, good advice and dealt with the same person whenever I required anything. Appointments were kept, tim...  Full review 

    From the initial contact inquiries made as to a pre-approval for a house loan, up until the day of settlement, I was given support, encouragement, good advice and dealt with the same person whenever I required anything. Appointments were kept, timelines were in place and because of such a professional yet human approach to any requests I made, I was able to enjoy with confidence and minimal effort the whole process of buying a house. This is a daunting experience at the best of times for a couple, and terrifying to approach if you are now doing it alone... but I did it and am able to enjoy my new life, in my new home. I do not believe this would have been possible if I had not felt the respect and consideration that I did when I first went into the ANZ bank. From all accounts I have heard... it would not have gone like this if I had gone to another financial institution.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    ANZ home loan reviewed by Karen from New South Wales

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Bank of Queensland

    Bank of Queensland home loan review

    Fantastic Customer Service

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Bank of Queensland are a very personable bank. All staff including the branch manager make an effort to get to know their local customers and are so reassuring and supporting especially during stressful time of waiting for a home loan application ...  Full review 

    Bank of Queensland are a very personable bank. All staff including the branch manager make an effort to get to know their local customers and are so reassuring and supporting especially during stressful time of waiting for a home loan application to be approved. No request is ever a problem and really love being greeted with the smiles and a 'Hi Cassie how's things.' Overall, an awesome bank!!


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Bank of Queensland home loan reviewed by Cassandra from Queensland

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

  • Commonwealth Bank

    Commonwealth Bank home loan review

    Convenient and easy to use online

    1. Overall customer rating
    2. (Reviewed 13 days ago)

    Convenient with the wealth package for home loan and internet banking. All finances are all in the one spot and easy to see and use my money.  Full review 

    Convenient with the wealth package for home loan and internet banking. All finances are all in the one spot and easy to see and use my money.


      1. Price
      1. Features
      1. Customer service
      1. Convenience
      1. Trust
    Less
    Commonwealth Bank home loan reviewed by Karen

    Was this review helpful? Yes flag

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

What type of home loan are you looking for?

More recently reviewed home loans

  • 10.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Mortgage House home loans

    Overall rating: 10.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 20 August 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Mortgage House home loans
  • 9.3
    based on
    83 reviews

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans

    Overall rating: 9.4 (83 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 08 September 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Queenslanders Credit Union home loans
  • 9.0
    based on
    1 reviews

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans

    Overall rating: 9.0 (1 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 25 October 2013


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Illawarra Home Loans home loans
  • 8.6
    based on
    116 reviews

    ME Bank home loans

    Overall rating: 8.6 (116 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 03 December 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    ME Bank home loans
  • 8.5
    based on
    34 reviews

    Greater Building Society home loans

    Overall rating: 8.5 (34 reviews)*

    Last reviewed: 29 November 2014


    1. Overall customer rating
    1. Price
    1. Features
    1. Customer service
    1. Convenience
    1. Trust

    * based on reviews in the past 12 months

    Greater Building Society home loans

People's Choice Awards

Every bank claims to be the smartest, happiest, friendliest - but how are you supposed to choose between them? Trust the people's choice. Mozo presents Australia's largest banking survey of more than 25,000 real customer reviews, with an honour roll of the best credit card, home loan, savings account, and of course the best bank. So what say the people?

People's Choice Awards.

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.