Great Southern Bank logo

Great Southern Bank Savings account customer reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 641 savings account reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Recent Great Southern Bank savings account customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Great Southern Bank Advantage Saver

    Jeanie

    The closest branch is over 100 kilometres away now that the only branch moved to sunshine coast which I was very peeved about.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Deans, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Goal Saver

    Great Southern Bank makes banking easy.

    This financial corporation makes banking easy, with good security measures in place, and friendly, helpful staff. I have been a customer since GSB, was known as CUA. (Credit Union Australia).

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Eliza, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    Excellent!

    I am so happy with the Great Southern Bank in Australia. They have been very helpful and friendly every time I contacted them. They offer great products and services at competitive rates. They also have a lot of branches and ATMs across the country, which makes banking very convenient. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a reliable and trustworthy bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Leslie, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank eSaver Flexi

    great customer service

    great customer service, website is easy to use, could have better security on their online banking and interest rates are not always competitive

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Veronique, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Advantage Saver

    Name says it all

    I’ve been a member for over 30yrs and they’re safe, data protective and proactive, good rates and a flawless online banking experience. The only criticism is that the branches are too far away. That’s all though.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Carol anne, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    The worst of the worst

    This bank are the most deceptive shonky untrustworthy borderline scam artists in Australia. You will regret joining this bank and pull all your money out one day as quickly as you possibly can. They should be called Great Australian Deceivers. Reviews everywhere else are all appalling this site must be full of shills. DO NOT TRUST anything this bank say or advertise it will turn out to have a hidden too bad so sad clause.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    Great bank.

    Easy to talk to over phone. Always very helpful

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nic, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Home Saver

    Great bank

    Switched from one of the big 4 banks to GSB and it was worth it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Alyson, Queensland, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    Poor servicd

    Agree with Paul & others, they stop you transferring money to other accounts. Staff lack training in basic knowledge e.g. you can transfer money within the bank and it does not affect your $5k external transfers, however, multiply staff will tell you that it does. They took 2 months to get back to me (sorry I asked again), re TFN questions on my boys accounts (oh and twins could open 1 account on line but not the other because they are born on same day!). Also couldn’t answer my question re money limits. I’m finally leaving this bank because the Advantage Saver says that you can do withdrawals without losing your interest…that is not correct. The staff need more training and when your raise an issue with them they want to fight you, not listen or apologise. When they argue with you they are also lacking in knowledge.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    My banking institution for over 40 years.

    I have been a customer of Great Southern Bank for over 40 years (then known as Credit Union Australia). Have taken out several loans over many years to consolidate credit card debts and for travel purposes. CUA also assisted me to make progress payments when I built my house. Every encounter with Great Southern Bank (CUA) has been professional and efficient. Staff are also very helpful and friendly. Great Southern Bank also has stringent rules in place for their customers, to mitigate possible fraud situations.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Anita, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    Worst Bank In History

    I've had the worst customer experience with this bank. They sucked me in on high paying savings accounts, but the customer service, hold waiting times and made-up rules and policies are just awful! They treat their customers like absolute garbage, customer service reps tell you consistently the wrong information and are rude. A fast payment PayID system that doesn't work, blocks payments because their system thinks its fraud, and then unable to make any further payments because the "daily limit" has been hit even though no money has actually left the accounts. Trying to get all my money out of this bank now, close the accounts and never look back. But they need to "approve" me taking my own money out of my account by having to request limit payments to get my money out. Told the limit will be valid for 24 hours, but it reset at midnight. How is a customer supposed to navigate this bank when their own staff don't know how anything works. Beyond bad! Be warned and stay away!!!!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ryan, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Advantage Saver

    Once caught, never again

    Beware of the withdrawal feature, make as many as you wish per month, as stated BUT if the withdrawal total isn't repaid, along with the mandatory $250, you've lost the bonus interest for that month.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tiger, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Great Southern Bank Youth eSaver

    Can't complete full process online

    Unfortunately couldn't get past the first stage of verification and needed to print off forms and visit the local post office to have identity verified.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Renee, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    Great service

    Staff were very helpful when my teenage son was setting up his very first bank account.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Katherine, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Great Southern Bank Savings Account

    Can’t beat Great Southern Bank

    I’ve banked with Great Southern Bank since it was CUA and I’ve been with them for over 30yrs. I do most of my banking online with their app. It’s easy and safe and so useful. The only complaint I have is they took away our local branch and now I have to travel further to go into the physical bank itself. So I don’t bother. I deposit money at the Post Office and do everything else online. It’s great!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Carol anne, Queensland, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Savings account comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Reward Saver Account

      Maximum rate
      5.25% p.a. (for $0 to $1,000,000)
      standard interest rate
      0% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Intro bonus rate of 5.25% for balances up to $1,000,000 for the first 4 months, reverting to 3.25%. Minimum deposit of $50 and no withdrawals.

      Promoted
    • High Interest Savings Account

      Maximum rate
      5.75% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
      standard interest rate
      4.40% p.a.(for $0 to $250,001)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Bonus rate for the first 4 months from account opening

      Promoted
    • Hero Saver

      Maximum rate
      4.60% p.a. (for $0 to $250,001)
      standard interest rate
      1.00% p.a.(for $0 to $5,000,001)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Minimum deposit of $200 and no withdrawals in the month.

      Promoted
    • Reward Saver

      Maximum rate
      5.25% p.a. (for $0 to $100,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.30% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Promoted
    • High Interest Save Account

      Maximum rate
      5.10% p.a. (for $0 to $250,000)
      standard interest rate
      0.10% p.a.(for $0 and over)
      Govt Deposit Guarantee
      Yes up to $250,000

      Deposit at least $200 to either Spend or Save account from an external source each month.

      Promoted

    Want more? Compare all 205 savings accounts in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more savings accounts

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.