Bankwest logo

Bankwest Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 1153 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bankwest home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    Good value home loan products!

    Banking with bankwest has been easy. Occasionally in the beginning the customer service team will make promises they were unable keep in regard to time frames but when we enquired further were able to complete actions quickly find out the correct info of what to expect and when. Everything since then has been great. Good value loan product

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Monique, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    I would not recommend bank west to my worst enemy

    I have been a bank west customer for just over 12 months now having multiple home loans with them and the terrible customer service and wait times on hold -- I would not recommend bank west to my worst enemy let alone a friend.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shane, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Worst bank ever

    Always by far the worst bank I've ever dealt with. Changes my loan products without consent, deletes savings account without consent, when I have enquiries repeatedly gives them to staff on holidays, grossly undervalues property, the list goes on and on. Then out of the blue customer service calls up to fix things then goes MIA.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Doug, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Very good customer service

    N/a

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Veronica, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Reliable and trustworthy

    Being Bankwest and I’m on the east coast there are no physical branches but the phone service and internet banking is so easy to use.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jayme, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    Friendly customer service

    Always available to help and answer questions competitive rates.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kelly, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    Good. Service could be more individually focused.

    Overall we have a positive experience with the bank. However after a recent experience where we had to physically go into a branch the experience was not ideal and seemed very much process driven rather than specific to the customer, which is unfortunate given we have been with them for a number of years.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Steven, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    First home loan.

    This was the worst customer experience I’ve ever received in my life. Like someone said before "if you care about your mental health do not come to Bankwest!" I applied for a home loan with Bankwest and they rejected it. The guy that was handling our application was terrible! When I first went to meet him he provided us with information, we gave him all our details and lodged the application. The application took a long time and he was near impossible to get a hold of. He was always busy and never picked up his phone. The only way to reach him is if he reached out to you and wanted a document. He never gave us updates on our application, I was the one always calling Bankwest and finding out updates about our application. The night before the application was due he sent us an email! He didn’t even have the decency to call to say that more documents were needed. Why would you wait to tell us this the night before finance due date? When the due date came for our finance he said more time was needed... lies! When I called the next business day they told me that the application was denied on finance due date! To make it worse, he went on annual leave without telling us anything on the day our finance was due so we could not get a hold of him. He never communicated to us he was going on annual leave, he never told us our file would be handled by someone else. He just went away. Our file was handed over to someone and when I called the person to get updates on our application he didn’t even know anything about our application, he said to call him back in about 3 hours. So when I did call back he said the application was in fact denied but he couldn’t give me a reason as to why the application was denied. No one ever reached out to me to follow up. I’ve gone with Commonwealth now, best experience ever. Stay away from Bankwest.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rhodaa, Western Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Excellent service

    We were already customers but were suggested by a broker that the Bankwest Home Loan was the best one for us and what we needed. We were happy with the rate, service all of the benefits we were offered.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janine, Western Australia, reviewed 9 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Bankwest is the best.

    I have been banking with Bankwest for many many years now and I just cant fault them anywhere!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kristy, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    It’s a good bank to get into the home loan market.

    Bankwest isn’t a bad bank, however the closest branch to me is an hour away and online and over the phone service is average.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Amanda, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    Great bank, products and services.

    Great products and service always. Have negotiated with our financial advisor to drop our interest rates as soon as there’s been a change in them. Bit disappointed that we can’t take advantage of the latest changes - apparently we don’t have enough equity in our house to warrant the rate cut. I would have thought we’re very good candidates for this as it would mean we’d free up some money and be able to pay extra off mortgage!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jacqueline, Western Australia, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    A good bank for a loan if you have multiple jobs

    They gave us a home loan when no other bank would. I work part-time plus have a casual job on top of that, and my partner works part time. They are a good bank to go with if you don't have two full-time contracts, and lets face it, the work force is becoming ever more casualized these days.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Taylor, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Very happy

    Very happy with Bankwest great interest loans, very informative of ways to save.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Donna, Victoria, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan

    Terrible service, stay well clear of Bankwest.

    If you want good customer service, stay away from this bank. I was a loyal bank customer with Bankwest for many years and had all my banking with them, never missed any home loan payments. Earlier this year I went to refinance my investment loan with Bankwest, but was told by the bank to wait until the loan was due to expire in September, as I would have to pay early discharge fees. They reassured me it would be an easy process and would only take a few days, as I was an existing customer and the loan would just automatically switch to principle and interest. So I waited until September 1st to refinance the loan when it expired, only to have the bank tell me, that I would have to apply for a whole new loan. Also that it would take 10 days to process and that it would be on a higher interest rate on the principle and interest loan, until I could get the new loan application approved. I had to wait nearly 7 weeks to get the loan processed and then they would not approve an interest only loan and told me they would be only financing me for a principle and interest loan. They never returned my phone calls, when I phoned them they always made me wait on hold, they could not cater for the time difference between WA and the East coast of Australia (EST), many of their staff were condescending, basically they are one of the most unloyal and untrustworthy organisations I have ever dealt with. Their complaints department is called the customer care team, I dealt with them as well and they clearly don’t care! Stay away from Bankwest, they will only cause you heartache.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kaz, Victoria, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.14% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 502 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.