Thumbnail icon for Bankwest

Bankwest Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.1/10
Price
7.1/10
Features
6.5/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.1/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1132 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bankwest home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst experience with any financial institution.

    I'm shocked and disgusted by the way this bank handles itself. Last year whilst overseas my card was used fraudulently to the tune of 14k all at a venue I was at for a short period of time. I asked them to investigate and send me the dockets which should highlight that the transactions were fraudulent and I was not in the same venue for 19 hours!!!.. which should have been an obvious giveaway something was not right in the first place! After 20 or so calls and emails they admitted they did not access the dockets/receipts and as most of the transactions used a pin it was down to me to pay and that was that, after reading the other reviews on here it seems like they just can't be bothered doing their job properly. I will be chatting to the ombudsman now as I can see I'm not on my own here. Move onto this year, as with most of us COVID has affected us all in some ways, after I put my mortgage on hold for a few months to see how things played out I just called to see what my options were moving forward and wanted to change from interest only to interest and principle which you think would be music to their ears given the current state of the economy and to decrease the interest that has accrued over the past few months but no! By way of background I have 9 months left of a fixed interest only mortgage and was told there is no way of me swapping to principal and interest without paying 11k break fees even though I was willing to keep the mortgage with them and lock in a new 3 or 5 year deal. How short sighted and economically irresponsible they are, they should be trying everything they can to assist long term customers especially with the current COVID financial climate but instead they look to make things harder. Surely someone at a senior level must have the hindsight to see their policies serve nothing but to annoy and drive customers away...? Come July I won't be a customer that's for sure... Shame on you Bankwest & Commbank for letting this happen and hopefully a potential customer reads this and goes with a bank with ethics.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dominic, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service & competitive interest rate

    The Bankwest home loan customer service is top notch. I called to fix my interest rate and the bank officer talked me through the process. I had to put additional funds in, so I called him a few months later when I had the funds ready and he helped me in 2 minutes over the phone! They always call back when you leave a message and I think their fixed rate is very competitive. Awesome service so far.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kirra, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Bankwest Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very satisfied and would recommend services.

    I like my bank as you are able to pick up the phone and speak to a support person when needed. Prime example as I was in Bali early this year and I transferred money to my son in Australia with no qualms but when completed had major doubts about what I had done and how safe it may have been. My husband jumped on the phone and rang Bankwest and immediately they took care to make sure our accounts were protected.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lorraine, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not use this bank.

    I've been with Bankwest for 9 years now. Never missed a payment. Never in arrears. Never contacted by the bank to ask if they could provide me with a better product. I attempted to re-draw/re-finance for $20K in order to do some renovations to an investment property. It's been two months now and still no answer! Don't bother with this bank. There are plenty of other great lenders out there.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Aileen, Victoria, reviewed 25 days ago
  • Bankwest Premium Select (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Makes owning a home so easy

    A super friendly bank that makes owning a home so easy. Simple application process and great staff.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Victoria, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Reliable and trustworthy, just lacking branches.

    Local bank supporting the community. Have always received loan satisfaction over several loans. Just a little inflexable to change from one type of loan to another several years on.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    John, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great IT and customer service

    Great IT and customer service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Jenny, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Bankwest offer great rates and service.

    Bankwest offer great rates for their mortgage products. We have found them to be reliable and responsive.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Damian, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good overall and helpful for saving

    They have a competitive rate. We are able to have as many offset accounts as we like which is great for saving.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jade, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Bankwest Premium Select (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Happy.

    I'm happy with Bankwest.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kirsty, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Brilliant Customer Service

    BankWest is easy to talk to and fast to react. If they spot any strange activity they contact you immediately. Their customer service is efficient and easy to understand, nothing is a problem for them. They always take time to explain things and are open to rate reviews.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible customer service

    Trying to contact the bank urgently in regards to my home loan, the first call I waited on hold for 1hr 15 min. I have a business to run so eventually had to hang up. Second call I was Told someone would call me back the next day between 9am and 5 pm. No call was forthcoming the following day so I called back again, 3 more times. Each time I was informed I would be called back by the appropriate department, again no one called. It is now into the 3rd day and still have not received any calls let alone assistance from any department within Bankwest.

    Greg, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive home loan package and offset account.

    We've been happy to go with Bankwest and their Complete Variable home loan, offset account and MasterCard, and feel that we have a good rate and package.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy to deal with, customer service polite.

    Bankwest is easy to deal with, low overheads, competitive interest rates on the home loan and good interest rates on savings investments. No problems with their customer service, everything is explained very clearly.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Penny, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Flexible.

    I think the bank has been very flexible with us, especially in these tough times. The interest rate of 3.32% is not the best on offer but the bank was good enough to loan us money when a lot of other institutions would not because of our age.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Robert, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.52% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.28% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.50% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 545 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.