Bankwest logo

Bankwest Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.1/10
Price
7.1/10
Features
6.6/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
7.1/10
Trust
6.9/10
Based on 1143 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Bankwest home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service

    We were already customers but were suggested by a broker that the Bankwest Home Loan was the best one for us and what we needed. We were happy with the rate, service all of the benefits we were offered.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Janine, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Bankwest is the best.

    I have been banking with Bankwest for many many years now and I just cant fault them anywhere!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kristy, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    It’s a good bank to get into the home loan market.

    Bankwest isn’t a bad bank, however the closest branch to me is an hour away and online and over the phone service is average.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Amanda, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great bank, products and services.

    Great products and service always. Have negotiated with our financial advisor to drop our interest rates as soon as there’s been a change in them. Bit disappointed that we can’t take advantage of the latest changes - apparently we don’t have enough equity in our house to warrant the rate cut. I would have thought we’re very good candidates for this as it would mean we’d free up some money and be able to pay extra off mortgage!

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jacqueline, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    A good bank for a loan if you have multiple jobs

    They gave us a home loan when no other bank would. I work part-time plus have a casual job on top of that, and my partner works part time. They are a good bank to go with if you don't have two full-time contracts, and lets face it, the work force is becoming ever more casualized these days.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Taylor, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very happy

    Very happy with Bankwest great interest loans, very informative of ways to save.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Donna, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible service, stay well clear of Bankwest.

    If you want good customer service, stay away from this bank. I was a loyal bank customer with Bankwest for many years and had all my banking with them, never missed any home loan payments. Earlier this year I went to refinance my investment loan with Bankwest, but was told by the bank to wait until the loan was due to expire in September, as I would have to pay early discharge fees. They reassured me it would be an easy process and would only take a few days, as I was an existing customer and the loan would just automatically switch to principle and interest. So I waited until September 1st to refinance the loan when it expired, only to have the bank tell me, that I would have to apply for a whole new loan. Also that it would take 10 days to process and that it would be on a higher interest rate on the principle and interest loan, until I could get the new loan application approved. I had to wait nearly 7 weeks to get the loan processed and then they would not approve an interest only loan and told me they would be only financing me for a principle and interest loan. They never returned my phone calls, when I phoned them they always made me wait on hold, they could not cater for the time difference between WA and the East coast of Australia (EST), many of their staff were condescending, basically they are one of the most unloyal and untrustworthy organisations I have ever dealt with. Their complaints department is called the customer care team, I dealt with them as well and they clearly don’t care! Stay away from Bankwest, they will only cause you heartache.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kaz, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Low home loan rates and good customer service.

    We were with another bank for years and they wouldn’t budge on their home loan rates. Bankwest home loan rates were low and it will save us thousands overall. I’ve spoken with them over the phone and their customer service is also excellent.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Nerida, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommend.

    I love that when you ring them you actually get to speak to a real person. Sometimes we make mistakes, usually my husband, but there are no judgements just assistance to solve your problem. We recently had a scammer try to access our account and they were amazing with advice and support. I can't think of any cons. We have been very happy with them and we have had a number of lenders over the years. Thank you Bankwest.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jenny, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bankwest Mortgage Shredder (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Best mortgage bank!

    I have been with Bankwest for 12 years and have had a positive experience the whole time.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Linda, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitve prices, great service

    Affordable rates, easy to contact - quick chat functionality response type that keeps your chat history so you can go back & review at any time. Especially during COVID, they could approach customers/ advertise better rates (before we contact them).

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Olga, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst experience with any financial institution.

    I'm shocked and disgusted by the way this bank handles itself. Last year whilst overseas my card was used fraudulently to the tune of 14k all at a venue I was at for a short period of time. I asked them to investigate and send me the dockets which should highlight that the transactions were fraudulent and I was not in the same venue for 19 hours!!!.. which should have been an obvious giveaway something was not right in the first place! After 20 or so calls and emails they admitted they did not access the dockets/receipts and as most of the transactions used a pin it was down to me to pay and that was that, after reading the other reviews on here it seems like they just can't be bothered doing their job properly. I will be chatting to the ombudsman now as I can see I'm not on my own here. Move onto this year, as with most of us COVID has affected us all in some ways, after I put my mortgage on hold for a few months to see how things played out I just called to see what my options were moving forward and wanted to change from interest only to interest and principle which you think would be music to their ears given the current state of the economy and to decrease the interest that has accrued over the past few months but no! By way of background I have 9 months left of a fixed interest only mortgage and was told there is no way of me swapping to principal and interest without paying 11k break fees even though I was willing to keep the mortgage with them and lock in a new 3 or 5 year deal. How short sighted and economically irresponsible they are, they should be trying everything they can to assist long term customers especially with the current COVID financial climate but instead they look to make things harder. Surely someone at a senior level must have the hindsight to see their policies serve nothing but to annoy and drive customers away...? Come July I won't be a customer that's for sure... Shame on you Bankwest & Commbank for letting this happen and hopefully a potential customer reads this and goes with a bank with ethics.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dominic, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Bankwest Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service & competitive interest rate

    The Bankwest home loan customer service is top notch. I called to fix my interest rate and the bank officer talked me through the process. I had to put additional funds in, so I called him a few months later when I had the funds ready and he helped me in 2 minutes over the phone! They always call back when you leave a message and I think their fixed rate is very competitive. Awesome service so far.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kirra, New South Wales, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Bankwest Fixed Rate Home Loan (LVR <80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very satisfied and would recommend services.

    I like my bank as you are able to pick up the phone and speak to a support person when needed. Prime example as I was in Bali early this year and I transferred money to my son in Australia with no qualms but when completed had major doubts about what I had done and how safe it may have been. My husband jumped on the phone and rang Bankwest and immediately they took care to make sure our accounts were protected.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lorraine, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not use this bank.

    I've been with Bankwest for 9 years now. Never missed a payment. Never in arrears. Never contacted by the bank to ask if they could provide me with a better product. I attempted to re-draw/re-finance for $20K in order to do some renovations to an investment property. It's been two months now and still no answer! Don't bother with this bank. There are plenty of other great lenders out there.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Aileen, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.75% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.22% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.43% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.15% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 524 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.