Advertisement

Homestar home loan reviews

Homestar
Homestar's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.8 / 10

based on 23 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Homestar

Recent Homestar home loan reviews

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Variable Rate Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best bang for your hard earned dollar.

Did my research, Homestar are the cheapest loan provider. Made the admin process as easy as possible. I never write a review but when I am this impressed with the overall benefit to me and bang for my buck, I think people should know!

Full review

Did my research, Homestar are the cheapest loan provider. Made the admin process as easy as possible. I never write a review but when I am this impressed with the overall benefit to me and bang for my buck, I think people should know!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Variable Rate Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates and responsive customer service

Here are the pros for Homestar. They have one of the most competitive interest rates going around and have been passing on the full RBA cut, usually announced on the same day, which is very impressive. Their friendly, helpful, and responsive loan...

Full review

Here are the pros for Homestar. They have one of the most competitive interest rates going around and have been passing on the full RBA cut, usually announced on the same day, which is very impressive. Their friendly, helpful, and responsive loan manager assisted us through the sign up process with no issues. Call centre staff were polite and helpful when I called up after settlement for assistance Here are the cons for Homestar. Their website is very basic, lacks essential features such as updating your contact details which you need to call up to do. It made it difficult chasing up a missing letter which went to an incorrect address. The website is also slow when clicking buttons, there often is a considerable wait before the next page shows up. Their is no mobile app available which really should be a given I would recommend Homestar to friends and family as the rates are competitive and they are aggressive in maintaining their low rates by passing on all the RBA rate cuts in full which is impressive, no fluffing around. I do find the website extremely frustrating as it is slow and lacks basic features. Even though they provide you with a debit card, I would not consider using Homestar as my day to day banking with the website in its current state.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Basil, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Variable Rate Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Lowest mortgage rates - and can negotiate lower!

Homestar is fantastic for low rates. I have never seen better. The only downside is that being a non-bank lender, and perhaps to maintain their cheap rates, their internet banking interface is very basic, and there is no app. This took a bit to...

Full review

Homestar is fantastic for low rates. I have never seen better. The only downside is that being a non-bank lender, and perhaps to maintain their cheap rates, their internet banking interface is very basic, and there is no app. This took a bit to get used to, but that's a small adjustment for a great value product.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rebecca, Western Australia, reviewed 23 days ago

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Variable Rate Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Low rate and excellent service

I was referred to by a friend who refinanced her loan with Homestar. I didn’t know too much about them but I experienced excellent service from their Sales specialist who walked me through the application process without the hard sell. They...

Full review

I was referred to by a friend who refinanced her loan with Homestar. I didn’t know too much about them but I experienced excellent service from their Sales specialist who walked me through the application process without the hard sell. They answered all the questions I had and were able to assist with explaining any concerns I had since this was my first purchase. Their current internet banking is a bit outdated, but I was told that it would be updated in the next few months, which is something important to me because I like to see where my finances are at anytime. Lastly, I’m happy with my rate and the fact that they passed on the recent RBA cut was music to my ears. Thanks for your support Homestar and I hope this level of service continues!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kimberley, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Homestar

Homestar Owner Occupier Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive loans, process too long, good staff

I switched from ING to Homestar in 2012. I've topped up home loans, then sold my house and re-applied for a new loan with Homestar in that time. The front line staff are really very good: personable, one-on-one service and you're dealing with...

Full review

I switched from ING to Homestar in 2012. I've topped up home loans, then sold my house and re-applied for a new loan with Homestar in that time. The front line staff are really very good: personable, one-on-one service and you're dealing with people not 'the machine'. This side of their business is an asset. However, their processes have taken several weeks at times – one re-finance was seven weeks from start to finish –and this obviously plays against them. My last application was a little speedier but the process for submitting paperwork was very sketchy and I often needed to send it 2 or 3 times. However: the bottom line is their pricing when it comes to interest rates is pretty competitive: we have a low fixed rate, and a variable split (which is good right now) that we can fix if need be.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jonathan, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Terrible customer service

Terrible customer service. Treated their customers like criminals. They don't seem to want or work hard to get your business. They believe you need them and not the other way. Would not recommend or go near these people

Full review

Terrible customer service. Treated their customers like criminals. They don't seem to want or work hard to get your business. They believe you need them and not the other way. Would not recommend or go near these people

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Odgen, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

Reply from Homestar

Dear Odgen

We take customer service very seriously at Homestar Finance and we are apologetic that our customer service did not meet your expectations. Feel free to contact us at 1300 182 600 and we will gladly look into the matter at hand.

Regards,
Homestar

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Very Bad Customer Service

FALSE and MISLEADING mortgage rates on the Advantage home loan. The rate on their website is not what existing customers will be paying. BE CAUTIOUS PEOPLE !!

Full review

FALSE and MISLEADING mortgage rates on the Advantage home loan. The rate on their website is not what existing customers will be paying. BE CAUTIOUS PEOPLE !!

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

John, Victoria, reviewed over 7 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Variable Rate Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Con merchants

Their advertised rate is just to suck you in. My actual rate is 0.5% higher. The real rate is always higher. They are dishonest lenders. Go elsewhere!

Full review

Their advertised rate is just to suck you in. My actual rate is 0.5% higher. The real rate is always higher. They are dishonest lenders. Go elsewhere!

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Bruce, Queensland, reviewed over 7 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

The interest rate on their website is for NEW loans only. When interest rates drop they DO NOT PASS ON THE WHOLE cut. The interest rate for existing mortgage holders is actually higher than is quoted on the site.

Full review

The interest rate on their website is for NEW loans only. When interest rates drop they DO NOT PASS ON THE WHOLE cut. The interest rate for existing mortgage holders is actually higher than is quoted on the site.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Our home loan application was handled quickly, professionally in a friendly manner. Also Homestar was competiive with the other home loan company we were considering. We were kept up to date and in the loop with all the dealings between the...

Full review

Our home loan application was handled quickly, professionally in a friendly manner. Also Homestar was competiive with the other home loan company we were considering. We were kept up to date and in the loop with all the dealings between the builder, settlement agent and Homestar. I never had to chase them up. Very happy with the service we have received!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed about 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent personal service and there are plenty of options to choose and assistance in getting the application into a first time lodgement.

Full review

Excellent personal service and there are plenty of options to choose and assistance in getting the application into a first time lodgement.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

Less

Anthony, Victoria, reviewed about 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Are you guys crazy? Do you even check the Variable rate you pay on your Homestar loans compared to the advertised rate on their Website?? The positive reviews below all from Feb/Mar11 must be from a Homestar employee... These guys are not to be...

Full review

Are you guys crazy? Do you even check the Variable rate you pay on your Homestar loans compared to the advertised rate on their Website?? The positive reviews below all from Feb/Mar11 must be from a Homestar employee... These guys are not to be trusted.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Marc, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I dealt with Rick and from the start I know I was in good hands. His knowledge of both loan process and real estate agent thinking made me powerful and confident finding and securing a the right home. Pleasure to deal with Rick - highly...

Full review

I dealt with Rick and from the start I know I was in good hands. His knowledge of both loan process and real estate agent thinking made me powerful and confident finding and securing a the right home. Pleasure to deal with Rick - highly recommend homestar in my experiences.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Franki, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Product is extremely competitive, as an ex Mortgage Broker myself was unable to fault entire process. Dealt with a loans officer service was outstanding.

Full review

Product is extremely competitive, as an ex Mortgage Broker myself was unable to fault entire process. Dealt with a loans officer service was outstanding.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Minimal upfront costs, very competitive interest rate, dedicated consultants guiding you through every step, application process mostly done electronically, e-mail, fax, phone. Can make additional payments, redraw funds if needed, no ongoing fees...

Full review

Minimal upfront costs, very competitive interest rate, dedicated consultants guiding you through every step, application process mostly done electronically, e-mail, fax, phone. Can make additional payments, redraw funds if needed, no ongoing fees and no need to go to the branch. easy access to your banking online and over the phone. Can be costly if you decide to change loan providers within the first five years. Overall very happy with the home loan product so far.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Goran, Victoria, reviewed almost 9 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    2.88% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.90% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 2.88% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 638 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.84% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.84% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 5 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.80% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.80% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Suncorp Fixed Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Home Package Plus)

    Suncorp Fixed Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Home Package Plus)

    • No monthly account keeping fee.
    • No loan establishment fee.
    • Option to lock in a rate at the time of the application.

    interest rate

    2.89% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    3.70% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account keeping fee.
    • No loan establishment fee.
    • Option to lock in a rate at the time of the application.
    • Interest rate: 2.89% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 3.70% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $375.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $500 per month
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers: Receive $2,000 when you refinance an existing loan of $250,000 or more with an LVR of <90%. Apply by 13 December 2019 and settle by 5 March 2020.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 867 Suncorp home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate 300k+ (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate 300k+ (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Borrow with as little as 5% deposit (owner occupiers)
    • Ability to make extra repayments
    • 1-5 year fixed term rates

    interest rate

    2.99% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    3.72% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $450

    Go to site

    More info

    • Borrow with as little as 5% deposit (owner occupiers)
    • Ability to make extra repayments
    • 1-5 year fixed term rates
    • Interest rate: 2.99% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 3.72% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $450
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $320.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $5,000 p.a
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $300,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    7.6

    Based on 514 Bank of Queensland home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 532 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top
 
Advertisement