Homestar logo

Homestar Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 36 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Homestar home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Cannot answer simple questions

    I'm not even a customer yet and it was just painful trying to get information form them. Their website isn't accurate and when you as their customer service team anything that is super basic it's met with a request for your phone for the hard sell. Why organise for someone to call me when we haven't even established something as basic as wether they do construction loans or not.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Daboid, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Terrible Customer Service

    I am looking to refinance existing investment loans and reached out. I had a few email exchanges and an initial interview was arranged with customer service representative. There were some confusions and I had to deal with two separate customer service reps in parallel. Everything stopped following initial interview. The last message I received said: "Apologies for the delay, however I haven’t heard back yet from management, please bear with us. If not this week I will get back to you early next week." I chased many times following this email but all my emails were ignored. Homestar Finance appear to offer good rates but customer service is the worst I have experienced. If initial interaction with them are so poor then I dread to think how they are when someone secures a loan with them. Waste of time and not professional.

    Customer service
    Less
    Brent, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Bad customer service

    There no app for customer to use. And when I use the website to log in. I could never get the verification code to send to my phone. So I can’t log in. Called the customer service. The service representative is really impatient. Terrible customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Charlie, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Homestar Star Classic Fixed Rate Loan (LVR <70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Avoid.

    Terrible customer service and incompetent staff.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, Western Australia, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Homestar Home Loan

    They leave you exhausted, % rate is not worth it.

    I was working with a worker but absolutely slow and dependent on his Manager who in my opinion has no idea, failed to see what is important. Led me along to believe everything is OK. Made my wife and I jump through hoops, it started to make us feel whether we deserve a loan. The communication with this company is appalling. You cannot call them and expect to talk to the person your dealing with. I think this company is slow to respond and really don't understand the customer. We decided to go with another Finance Institution and it was such a relief compared to Homestar and it really showed how different Homestar works. I really believe after dealing with them they are in the Dark ages.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Christopher, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Homestar Star Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Financial stable clean credit record: Disappointed

    I was in process of refinancing, spoke to Justin, the loan specialist. I supplied the balance of my loan with the extra I paid in as savings and tried to arrange to keep my savings, so I requested a 5 min call, which he didn't respond to. Then I sent an email with a suggestion that I withdraw my savings and reapply with the actual balance. He didn't respond to me at all. I have a clean credit record and no debt at all besides the mortgage. I am a full time employee with ample money to service the loan. This is the work ethic and level of care that you will encounter. Very disappointed with Homestar.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nicolas, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Avoid Homestar Finance - terrible customer service

    Homestar Finance is the worst financier I have ever dealt with and it appears their staff are incompetent and untruthful in their dealings. Firstly, it took nearly a week just to find someone to talk to about seeking pre-approval for a loan. After speaking to a number of offshore staff who continually took all of my personal details then lost them, I complained and spoke to a manager based in Australia who assured me Homestar Finance could provide preapproval for a loan prior to an auction I wished to bid on. I submitted all paperwork immediately and answered all follow up questions. Not only was I provided with no outcome prior to the auction, but my mortgage specialist did not even have the decency to contact me prior to advise there would be no outcome. On the day before the auction, which was a Saturday, I spoke to a manager who advised she would try her best to get an outcome for me by that day but in any event would call me back. I never heard back from her. Fast forward to over 4 weeks later and I still do not have preapproval. I have been assured by the mortgage specialist on multiple occasions that I would have an outcome within 2 to 3 days then I hear nothing and when I call and email I am given no explanation as to why I have not received an outcome and given further timeframes that are not adhered to. It is an absolute joke and I will now be going elsewhere. I caution anyone who values their own time not to waste it with this sorry excuse for a financier.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sarah, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Slow and incompetent.

    Slow approval process, was told 2 days but I haven't heard back after two weeks despite multiple follow up by email, phone. Just promise after promise.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Markinyik, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Great online Lender! Good rates

    I have been with Homestar about 2 years now and have found them to have a competative rate who pass on most of the RBA cuts. There online banking is a bit basic but gets the job done. I would recommend them to anyone who needs a great rate!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 10 months ago
  • Homestar Star Classic Home Loan (<70%, Principal & Interest)

    After you join they creep your rate up. Avoid

    I've only been a customer for 18 months but already my rate is higher than the one they offer new customers. Its no introductory offer its just once you sign up your individual variable rate is put up above what they offer. I've contacted the bank but no response. Regretful decision changing to the them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Shane, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Homestar Star Classic Home Loan (<70%, Principal & Interest)

    Rude and incompetent customer service.

    I applied for a home loan through Homestar based on their reviews on customer service. I had nothing but the worst customer service experience. I was called dyslexic and asked to have my "boyfriend" pay part of the settlement figures even though my loan would cover it. I applied for a loan for a land and home build. I required an extension on financing as Homestar informed me that a loan for a build would take longer. An extension was granted based on how long Homestar told me they needed. I called three days before financing was due to ensure everything was on track. I was told it was. Come the day of financing, I was told they needed one more day as my expenses were over by $80 per month. This was despite the fact I had pre-approval based on the expenses (-$80 a month) and had since had a $2500 a year pay rise. I was also told that the evaluation was delayed as they wrote the wrong address. There was never an apology. I asked for an extension and it was refused. All my hard work to get this home was gone. Luckily the builder managed to get the land seller to change their mind. The day before settlement, the amount for settlement came through and Homestar were going to contribute a lot less than what I expected. I had paid 5% to the builder but they did not take this into account. When I asked them to explain the amount they were paying towards settling the land I was told "I can't believe you would ask me that question, you should know the terms of your loan" and "there's no way you will settle tomorrow if you make changes". The change was very easy and straightforward in the end. I hope that I can eventually be proven wrong and they can improve their customer service. I would hate for anyone else to be spoken to and treated the way I was. I am not usually one to complain but I have had no luck solving this with Homestar.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Homestar Star Classic Home Loan (<70%, Principal & Interest)

    Disappointed at Homestar finance support.

    Homestar finance is not as competitive as it used to be. I wish they would treat their existing customers as new ones.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Kyan, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Homestar

    Poor service.

    As HomeStar is the closest option I had I'm with origin mms and the customer service is disgraceful they don't communicate with there customers well at all. They don't give full RBA rate cuts but they will to home star customers. They don't have a active website you have to user home star. When you complain they don't even respond to your complain unless to ring up about it. Customer service appalling. Product is good.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Denise, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Homestar

    Best bang for your hard earned dollar.

    Did my research, Homestar are the cheapest loan provider. Made the admin process as easy as possible. I never write a review but when I am this impressed with the overall benefit to me and bang for my buck, I think people should know!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Homestar

    Lowest mortgage rates - and can negotiate lower!

    Homestar is fantastic for low rates. I have never seen better. The only downside is that being a non-bank lender, and perhaps to maintain their cheap rates, their internet banking interface is very basic, and there is no app. This took a bit to get used to, but that's a small adjustment for a great value product.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rebecca, Western Australia, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.14% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 501 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.