Homestar home loan reviews

Homestar
Homestar's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

6.3 / 10

based on 19 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Homestar

Recent Homestar home loan reviews

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive loans, process too long, good staff

I switched from ING to Homestar in 2012. I've topped up home loans, then sold my house and re-applied for a new loan with Homestar in that time. The front line staff are really very good: personable, one-on-one service and you're dealing with...

Full review

I switched from ING to Homestar in 2012. I've topped up home loans, then sold my house and re-applied for a new loan with Homestar in that time. The front line staff are really very good: personable, one-on-one service and you're dealing with people not 'the machine'. This side of their business is an asset. However, their processes have taken several weeks at times – one re-finance was seven weeks from start to finish –and this obviously plays against them. My last application was a little speedier but the process for submitting paperwork was very sketchy and I often needed to send it 2 or 3 times. However: the bottom line is their pricing when it comes to interest rates is pretty competitive: we have a low fixed rate, and a variable split (which is good right now) that we can fix if need be.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jonathan, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Terrible customer service

Terrible customer service. Treated their customers like criminals. They don't seem to want or work hard to get your business. They believe you need them and not the other way. Would not recommend or go near these people

Full review

Terrible customer service. Treated their customers like criminals. They don't seem to want or work hard to get your business. They believe you need them and not the other way. Would not recommend or go near these people

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Odgen, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

Reply from Homestar

Dear Odgen

We take customer service very seriously at Homestar Finance and we are apologetic that our customer service did not meet your expectations. Feel free to contact us at 1300 182 600 and we will gladly look into the matter at hand.

Regards,
Homestar

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Very Bad Customer Service

FALSE and MISLEADING mortgage rates on the Advantage home loan. The rate on their website is not what existing customers will be paying. BE CAUTIOUS PEOPLE !!

Full review

FALSE and MISLEADING mortgage rates on the Advantage home loan. The rate on their website is not what existing customers will be paying. BE CAUTIOUS PEOPLE !!

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

John, Victoria, reviewed almost 7 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Con merchants

Their advertised rate is just to suck you in. My actual rate is 0.5% higher. The real rate is always higher. They are dishonest lenders. Go elsewhere!

Full review

Their advertised rate is just to suck you in. My actual rate is 0.5% higher. The real rate is always higher. They are dishonest lenders. Go elsewhere!

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Bruce, Queensland, reviewed almost 7 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

The interest rate on their website is for NEW loans only. When interest rates drop they DO NOT PASS ON THE WHOLE cut. The interest rate for existing mortgage holders is actually higher than is quoted on the site.

Full review

The interest rate on their website is for NEW loans only. When interest rates drop they DO NOT PASS ON THE WHOLE cut. The interest rate for existing mortgage holders is actually higher than is quoted on the site.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed over 7 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Our home loan application was handled quickly, professionally in a friendly manner. Also Homestar was competiive with the other home loan company we were considering. We were kept up to date and in the loop with all the dealings between the...

Full review

Our home loan application was handled quickly, professionally in a friendly manner. Also Homestar was competiive with the other home loan company we were considering. We were kept up to date and in the loop with all the dealings between the builder, settlement agent and Homestar. I never had to chase them up. Very happy with the service we have received!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed over 7 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent personal service and there are plenty of options to choose and assistance in getting the application into a first time lodgement.

Full review

Excellent personal service and there are plenty of options to choose and assistance in getting the application into a first time lodgement.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

Less

Anthony, Victoria, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Are you guys crazy? Do you even check the Variable rate you pay on your Homestar loans compared to the advertised rate on their Website?? The positive reviews below all from Feb/Mar11 must be from a Homestar employee... These guys are not to be...

Full review

Are you guys crazy? Do you even check the Variable rate you pay on your Homestar loans compared to the advertised rate on their Website?? The positive reviews below all from Feb/Mar11 must be from a Homestar employee... These guys are not to be trusted.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Marc, New South Wales, reviewed almost 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I dealt with Rick and from the start I know I was in good hands. His knowledge of both loan process and real estate agent thinking made me powerful and confident finding and securing a the right home. Pleasure to deal with Rick - highly...

Full review

I dealt with Rick and from the start I know I was in good hands. His knowledge of both loan process and real estate agent thinking made me powerful and confident finding and securing a the right home. Pleasure to deal with Rick - highly recommend homestar in my experiences.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Franki, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Product is extremely competitive, as an ex Mortgage Broker myself was unable to fault entire process. Dealt with a loans officer service was outstanding.

Full review

Product is extremely competitive, as an ex Mortgage Broker myself was unable to fault entire process. Dealt with a loans officer service was outstanding.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Minimal upfront costs, very competitive interest rate, dedicated consultants guiding you through every step, application process mostly done electronically, e-mail, fax, phone. Can make additional payments, redraw funds if needed, no ongoing fees...

Full review

Minimal upfront costs, very competitive interest rate, dedicated consultants guiding you through every step, application process mostly done electronically, e-mail, fax, phone. Can make additional payments, redraw funds if needed, no ongoing fees and no need to go to the branch. easy access to your banking online and over the phone. Can be costly if you decide to change loan providers within the first five years. Overall very happy with the home loan product so far.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Goran, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

HomeStar is a wonderful company and their staff is doing an excellent job to guide you and support you through entire process of home loan. It is a great company to deal with. Every aspect of loan cost and details they explain very well. I am very...

Full review

HomeStar is a wonderful company and their staff is doing an excellent job to guide you and support you through entire process of home loan. It is a great company to deal with. Every aspect of loan cost and details they explain very well. I am very satisfied with the lender and wish to all new people to discuss your loan needs. Very good rates for home loans without any hidden cost. Every thing is in black & white. Much better, simpler than 4 major banks rates and loan process. I have experience of other three banks. I would rank Homestar is real "STAR *****" I strongly recommend to all new customers

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Nimesh, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The product is Advantage Premium Home Loan >$500K. It offers very competitive rates and there is absolute no 'out of pocket' charges, no hidden costs at all. Customer services is excellent, instructions are really clear and staff are really helpful.

Full review

The product is Advantage Premium Home Loan >$500K. It offers very competitive rates and there is absolute no 'out of pocket' charges, no hidden costs at all. Customer services is excellent, instructions are really clear and staff are really helpful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Yiran, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I did not dislike anything, except for a large amount of paperwork required but I suppose that is what shows how reliable they are. Outstanding customer service

Full review

I did not dislike anything, except for a large amount of paperwork required but I suppose that is what shows how reliable they are. Outstanding customer service

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Veronica, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

Homestar

Homestar Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Nothing much to dislike, competitive interest rates, basically no frills home loan which was exactly what I was looking for, initial customer support was well above average

Full review

Nothing much to dislike, competitive interest rates, basically no frills home loan which was exactly what I was looking for, initial customer support was well above average

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Selmir, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    3.48% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.50% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 3.48% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.50% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.55% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.55% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Virgin Money Reward Me Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Competitive rates from 3.69% p.a.
    • No application fees
    • Receive 20,000 Velocity Points for every $100,000 drawn at settlement.
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $320.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $750,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 7 Virgin Money home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Get full approval online
    • Tic:Toc’s award-winning platform means you’ll save thousands with low rates and no application, valuation or settlement fees.
    • Fee free redraws and extra repayments.

    interest rate

    3.47% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.48% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Get full approval online
    • Tic:Toc’s award-winning platform means you’ll save thousands with low rates and no application, valuation or settlement fees.
    • Fee free redraws and extra repayments.
    • Interest rate: 3.47% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.48% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $325.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: Optional - $10 per month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 531 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top