Thumbnail icon for Homestar

Homestar Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.2/10
Price
7.5/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
6.5/10
Convenience
5.7/10
Trust
5.8/10
Based on 26 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Homestar home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Homestar Star Classic Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    After you join they creep your rate up. Avoid

    I've only been a customer for 18 months but already my rate is higher than the one they offer new customers. Its no introductory offer its just once you sign up your individual variable rate is put up above what they offer. I've contacted the bank but no response. Regretful decision changing to the them.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Shane, Queensland, reviewed about 16 hours ago
  • Homestar Star Classic Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Rude and incompetent customer service.

    I applied for a home loan through Homestar based on their reviews on customer service. I had nothing but the worst customer service experience. I was called dyslexic and asked to have my "boyfriend" pay part of the settlement figures even though my loan would cover it. I applied for a loan for a land and home build. I required an extension on financing as Homestar informed me that a loan for a build would take longer. An extension was granted based on how long Homestar told me they needed. I called three days before financing was due to ensure everything was on track. I was told it was. Come the day of financing, I was told they needed one more day as my expenses were over by $80 per month. This was despite the fact I had pre-approval based on the expenses (-$80 a month) and had since had a $2500 a year pay rise. I was also told that the evaluation was delayed as they wrote the wrong address. There was never an apology. I asked for an extension and it was refused. All my hard work to get this home was gone. Luckily the builder managed to get the land seller to change their mind. The day before settlement, the amount for settlement came through and Homestar were going to contribute a lot less than what I expected. I had paid 5% to the builder but they did not take this into account. When I asked them to explain the amount they were paying towards settling the land I was told "I can't believe you would ask me that question, you should know the terms of your loan" and "there's no way you will settle tomorrow if you make changes". The change was very easy and straightforward in the end. I hope that I can eventually be proven wrong and they can improve their customer service. I would hate for anyone else to be spoken to and treated the way I was. I am not usually one to complain but I have had no luck solving this with Homestar.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed 30 days ago
  • Homestar Star Classic Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disappointed at Homestar finance support.

    Homestar finance is not as competitive as it used to be. I wish they would treat their existing customers as new ones.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kyan, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best bang for your hard earned dollar.

    Did my research, Homestar are the cheapest loan provider. Made the admin process as easy as possible. I never write a review but when I am this impressed with the overall benefit to me and bang for my buck, I think people should know!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Lowest mortgage rates - and can negotiate lower!

    Homestar is fantastic for low rates. I have never seen better. The only downside is that being a non-bank lender, and perhaps to maintain their cheap rates, their internet banking interface is very basic, and there is no app. This took a bit to get used to, but that's a small adjustment for a great value product.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Rebecca, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Low rate and excellent service

    I was referred to by a friend who refinanced her loan with Homestar. I didn’t know too much about them but I experienced excellent service from their Sales specialist who walked me through the application process without the hard sell. They answered all the questions I had and were able to assist with explaining any concerns I had since this was my first purchase. Their current internet banking is a bit outdated, but I was told that it would be updated in the next few months, which is something important to me because I like to see where my finances are at anytime. Lastly, I’m happy with my rate and the fact that they passed on the recent RBA cut was music to my ears. Thanks for your support Homestar and I hope this level of service continues!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kimberley, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive rates and responsive customer service

    Here are the pros for Homestar. They have one of the most competitive interest rates going around and have been passing on the full RBA cut, usually announced on the same day, which is very impressive. Their friendly, helpful, and responsive loan manager assisted us through the sign up process with no issues. Call centre staff were polite and helpful when I called up after settlement for assistance Here are the cons for Homestar. Their website is very basic, lacks essential features such as updating your contact details which you need to call up to do. It made it difficult chasing up a missing letter which went to an incorrect address. The website is also slow when clicking buttons, there often is a considerable wait before the next page shows up. Their is no mobile app available which really should be a given I would recommend Homestar to friends and family as the rates are competitive and they are aggressive in maintaining their low rates by passing on all the RBA rate cuts in full which is impressive, no fluffing around. I do find the website extremely frustrating as it is slow and lacks basic features. Even though they provide you with a debit card, I would not consider using Homestar as my day to day banking with the website in its current state.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Basil, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago
  • Homestar review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Competitive loans, process too long, good staff

    I switched from ING to Homestar in 2012. I've topped up home loans, then sold my house and re-applied for a new loan with Homestar in that time. The front line staff are really very good: personable, one-on-one service and you're dealing with people not 'the machine'. This side of their business is an asset. However, their processes have taken several weeks at times – one re-finance was seven weeks from start to finish –and this obviously plays against them. My last application was a little speedier but the process for submitting paperwork was very sketchy and I often needed to send it 2 or 3 times. However: the bottom line is their pricing when it comes to interest rates is pretty competitive: we have a low fixed rate, and a variable split (which is good right now) that we can fix if need be.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jonathan, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • Homestar Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible customer service

    Terrible customer service. Treated their customers like criminals. They don't seem to want or work hard to get your business. They believe you need them and not the other way. Would not recommend or go near these people

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Odgen, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • Homestar Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Very Bad Customer Service

    FALSE and MISLEADING mortgage rates on the Advantage home loan. The rate on their website is not what existing customers will be paying. BE CAUTIOUS PEOPLE !!

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    John, Victoria, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Con merchants

    Their advertised rate is just to suck you in. My actual rate is 0.5% higher. The real rate is always higher. They are dishonest lenders. Go elsewhere!

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Bruce, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • Homestar Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10

    The interest rate on their website is for NEW loans only. When interest rates drop they DO NOT PASS ON THE WHOLE cut. The interest rate for existing mortgage holders is actually higher than is quoted on the site.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • Homestar Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    Our home loan application was handled quickly, professionally in a friendly manner. Also Homestar was competiive with the other home loan company we were considering. We were kept up to date and in the loop with all the dealings between the builder, settlement agent and Homestar. I never had to chase them up. Very happy with the service we have received!

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Western Australia, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Homestar Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10

    Excellent personal service and there are plenty of options to choose and assistance in getting the application into a first time lodgement.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Less
    Anthony, Victoria, reviewed about 9 years ago
  • Homestar Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10

    Are you guys crazy? Do you even check the Variable rate you pay on your Homestar loans compared to the advertised rate on their Website?? The positive reviews below all from Feb/Mar11 must be from a Homestar employee... These guys are not to be trusted.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Marc, New South Wales, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.50% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Back to Basics Special

      interest rate
      2.68% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.69% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 537 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.