St.George car loan reviews

St.George
St.George's overall rating for car loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.8 / 10

based on 123 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured car loan from St.George

Recent St.George car loan reviews

St.George

St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive interest rates, good customer service

It is a breeze to get approval for a car loan with this bank as long as all your documents and requirements are in place and you pass it. Efficient to deal with though I have not yet been introduced to an app nor internet banking for this bank.

Full review

It is a breeze to get approval for a car loan with this bank as long as all your documents and requirements are in place and you pass it. Efficient to deal with though I have not yet been introduced to an app nor internet banking for this bank.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Maria (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Ok

Repayment options were limited but other then that awesome

Full review

Repayment options were limited but other then that awesome

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

St.George

St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to work with

Let you withdraw money if you need to, granted you have paid enough

Full review

Let you withdraw money if you need to, granted you have paid enough

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Alana (QLD), reviewed about 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Poor customer service

This bank isn't the ideal bank to be getting a car loan through. It took me a year after getting the loan to be able to monitor how it is going. I have no option to send extra money and I can't change any details

Full review

This bank isn't the ideal bank to be getting a car loan through. It took me a year after getting the loan to be able to monitor how it is going. I have no option to send extra money and I can't change any details

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Cheyenne (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Bad rates.

Terrible rates.

Full review

Terrible rates.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Samantha (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Reasonably competitive and easy to do business wit

They have never caused me any problems directly just had one administration error that was fixed

Full review

They have never caused me any problems directly just had one administration error that was fixed

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Lindsay (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not very competitive

Not very happy with the interest rate

Full review

Not very happy with the interest rate

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Marc (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Wouldn't really recommend

The interest rate is quite high.

Full review

The interest rate is quite high.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Yolanda (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Worth checking out.

Happy with interest rate.

Full review

Happy with interest rate.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nick (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not happy

Far too expensive

Full review

Far too expensive

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Very poor customer service

Bank was good whenever I paid my car loan on time, however, when a couple of my payments were delayed by a few days the collections team was very very rude and acted as though they had given me the car for free. Even when I wanted to sell the car,...

Full review

Bank was good whenever I paid my car loan on time, however, when a couple of my payments were delayed by a few days the collections team was very very rude and acted as though they had given me the car for free. Even when I wanted to sell the car, the customer care rep mentioned that I will never be able to sell the car as it is "owned" by St.George. I was almost in tears as I knew about financing and was going through a very tough time. Finally I went to a branch and explained my situation and got information from the manager. Will never recommend them again

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Kiny a (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible Experience

Well, I got the loan through Hyundai St George car loan in Wangara, WA. It was more like extortion. Signed up for the car loan knowing that I am not going to pay anything till 2016 as per their promotion. Just 2 weeks ago, i phoned St George to...

Full review

Well, I got the loan through Hyundai St George car loan in Wangara, WA. It was more like extortion. Signed up for the car loan knowing that I am not going to pay anything till 2016 as per their promotion. Just 2 weeks ago, i phoned St George to ask for the payout figure as Jan 2016 is around the corner. I was told I am being charged $92 interest weekly and yea it is 0% repayment not 0% interest. Good one right? I tried to negotiate the payout figure which is $1200, but they've refused to discount that. I will never ever ever get my family or my mates to get loan from them especially from Hyundai/St George car loan.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Pete (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Don't bother, too expensive

Very high interest and fees but customer service used was very good.

Full review

Very high interest and fees but customer service used was very good.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

A (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service, flexible payment option

Since obtaining my car loan in August 2011 I have had no trouble with this company. They have been flexible with my payments since I have been doing part time work.

Full review

Since obtaining my car loan in August 2011 I have had no trouble with this company. They have been flexible with my payments since I have been doing part time work.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lee (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Awful phone & online service

Try getting through their phone system, it's a joke. Have tried for 3 months and countless phone calls wasted trying to obtain a payout figure. Try registering for online self service & information about your loan - forget it. Finally got to ...

Full review

Try getting through their phone system, it's a joke. Have tried for 3 months and countless phone calls wasted trying to obtain a payout figure. Try registering for online self service & information about your loan - forget it. Finally got to speak to a real person (who was friendly enough ) who explained how to register for the online info - I have tried countless times & it won't accept me. Then I find out my D/Lic details are incorrect in their system. Tried again to register - no luck again. The amount of time I have spent on the phone waiting & trying online enquiries is unbelievable. This time I have left a message to contact me.... let's see if they do!!

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Maryann (SA), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Worst service I've ever reviewed

Customer service is shocking. Staff are rude and unhelpful and palm you off to another department as soon as they can.

Full review

Customer service is shocking. Staff are rude and unhelpful and palm you off to another department as soon as they can.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Hannah (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Bad, stay away!

Steer clear!!! 12% fixed interest rates!! Chasing me for arrears in 2012!!! Seriously? It took you guys 3yrs to actually contact me and tell me! This whole time I thought I was perfect in my direct debits!! Why would you wait 3yrs?? Could've told...

Full review

Steer clear!!! 12% fixed interest rates!! Chasing me for arrears in 2012!!! Seriously? It took you guys 3yrs to actually contact me and tell me! This whole time I thought I was perfect in my direct debits!! Why would you wait 3yrs?? Could've told me via ph call or text or email or post, that I was in arrears. But you didn't! I didn't change contact numbers or address so there was no excuse as to why I was not notified sooner. Then I was harassed by debt collectors over $250. I was told to ask family n friends to borrow from. How rude and disrespectful!!! What's more annoying, is St George supposedly had the wrong contact number. Yet some how the debt collectors had the CORRECT number that was given to them by St George!! Go figure!! Never again! Absolutely disgusted in the bank. To think that you're an entity of Westpac who I bank with and have banked with for almost 16yrs!!! One more month and loan finished and then that's it. I'll be closing accs with you and unfortunately Westpac and moving to another. Westpac loses thanks to St George.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Fale (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service

Great customer service.

Full review

Great customer service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Leon (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Horrible

Ridiculous interest rate and ridiculous on the interest on paying out a loan, will never ever go through St George ever again .

Full review

Ridiculous interest rate and ridiculous on the interest on paying out a loan, will never ever go through St George ever again .

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Ash (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Awesome

Awesome bank, very helpful.

Full review

Awesome bank, very helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Wayne (NT), reviewed almost 3 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Too expensive

Got the car loan through the car dealer and the interest rate is way too high. When you ask them for any interest rate cut they are not interested.

Full review

Got the car loan through the car dealer and the interest rate is way too high. When you ask them for any interest rate cut they are not interested.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Tristan (WA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good good

Trustworthy & very customer orientated.

Full review

Trustworthy & very customer orientated.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Laurie (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Feels like a family run business

Great customer service.

Full review

Great customer service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jacqui (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

St.George

St.George car loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great bank

Very lenient.

Full review

Very lenient.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Wayne (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

St.George

St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed) car loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Horrible service

They were horrible.

Full review

They were horrible.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Felicity (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • RACQ Bank Fixed New Car Loan (under 2 years old, Secured)

    RACQ Bank Fixed New Car Loan (under 2 years old, Secured)

    • No deposit required
    • No monthly account keeping fee
    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee

    Interest rate

    6.17% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.72% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $395.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No deposit required
    • No monthly account keeping fee
    • Unlimited additional repayments and no early payout fee
    • Upfront fees: $395
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $3,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $60,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Hunter United Low Rate Car Loan (Up to 5 years old, Variable, Secured)

    Hunter United Low Rate Car Loan (Up to 5 years old, Variable, Secured)

    • Pay only $70 p.w for a $20,000 loan
    • Loans from $10k - $100k
    • Great rates for older cars too

    Interest rate

    6.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    7.91% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $250.00upfront
    and
    $8.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Pay only $70 p.w for a $20,000 loan
    • Loans from $10k - $100k
    • Great rates for older cars too
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Monthly fee: $8.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $100,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    8.0

    Based on 1 Hunter United car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MyState Bank Secured Personal Loan (vehicles up to 2 years old, Variable)

    MyState Bank Secured Personal Loan (vehicles up to 2 years old, Variable)

    • Fast online conditional approval and same day funding available
    • Borrow anything from $10,000 to $75,000 with loan terms up to 10 years
    • Free online redraws and no penalties on early loan payout or lump sum payments

    Interest rate

    7.99% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    8.96% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $200.00upfront
    and
    $10.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • Fast online conditional approval and same day funding available
    • Borrow anything from $10,000 to $75,000 with loan terms up to 10 years
    • Free online redraws and no penalties on early loan payout or lump sum payments
    • Upfront fees: $200
    • Monthly fee: $10.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Other, Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $75,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 10 Years
    Overall rating

    9.5

    Based on 2 MyState Bank car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • RACV New Car Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    RACV New Car Loan (Fixed, Secured)

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years

    Interest rate

    5.99% p.a.to 15.00% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.53% p.a.to 15.58% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $380.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • No ongoing fees
    • Fast approval secure personal loan
    • Choose to repay over 1 to 7 years
    • Upfront fees: $380
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee:
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • CUA Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    CUA Secured Car Loan (Fixed)

    • $0 establishment fee for a limited time. Conditions apply. $90 Security Admin fee applies
    • No penalties for early payout or extra repayments. Free redraw.
    • No monthly fees

    Interest rate

    6.79% p.a.

    comparison rate*

    6.92% p.a.based on $30,000
    over 5 years

    Fees

    $90.00upfront
    and
    $0.00/month

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 establishment fee for a limited time. Conditions apply. $90 Security Admin fee applies
    • No penalties for early payout or extra repayments. Free redraw.
    • No monthly fees
    • Upfront fees: $90
    • Monthly fee: $0.00
    • Exit fee: $0.00
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Security required: Vehicle
    • Minimum loan amount: $5,000.00
    • Maximum loan amount: $100,000.00
    • Minimum loan term: 1 Year
    • Maximum loan term: 7 Years
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 12 CUA car loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 195 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more car loans

Look for a specific type of car loan:

-- Choose loan type --

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are for the amounts and terms quoted, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans, and apply only to these examples. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top