St.George logo

St.George Car loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 266 car loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent St.George car loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    A compassionate, ethical and reliable bank.

    A few years ago I took out a car loan with St George. A few years in I lost my job and found it difficult to make repayments. Rather than contacting and threatening me, St George took the time to understand me and presented me with some options. The customer service was exceptional and they really took their time to understand my situation. I was treated respectfully and with dignity at all times and they worked hard to resolve the situation with me. I can't recommend St George more highly. If you're looking for an ethical bank that cares about their customers, then I highly recommend St George.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Worst Ever Loan and communication!

    This is the worst ever loan that I ever got. No communication through email, phone, waiting for a long time to be served (30 mins, 40 mins or more). No notification, no tracking record. Bad manner phone talk (so rude I should say). After I had finished making the repayment, they did not clear or update my loan record. I need to chase because my home loan bank is chasing after me. What a nightmare. Don't loan the money from this Car Loan service. So bad, so rude, so hopeless and frustrations.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Hoang, New South Wales, reviewed 8 months ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    St George bank car loan.

    They were the best bank to deal with during COVID and very helpful.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Giulietta, South Australia, reviewed 10 months ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Never again with this bank

    Early exit fees are a disgrace and a ripoff. This bank only seems to be worried about recouping interest fees off me. In this trying time to pay off a car loan I am being slammed with early termination fees, account fees and administration fees. They will not remove any of the fees away because of interest they are losing and they have a COVID-19 deferred payment system in place, where you defer payments for 6 months but with added interest.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sophie, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Never again will I go near St George

    Penalised for paying out early fees are a joke. No support through Covid times at all. Will never use them again or recommend them to anyone else. Staff were always lovely but as a business pfft never again.. Why should you be Penalised for paying out early especially in the tough times we are currently in. You do this to make life easier and they continue to make it harder.. You should be given a discount for paying out early, not Penalised.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Debb, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Worst experience with a bank.

    Can't even get help from them for my car loan when I'm laid up with an injury and cant work.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dean, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Easy, trustworthy bank who cares for the customers

    St George has been a reliable, easy to deal with bank. I would definitely go through them with my next car purchase.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    High exit fees

    I would advice anyone considering St George car finance to shop around beforehand. There's far kinder out there. As other reviewers have pointed out, they have big exit fees should you try to pay the vehicle off early. So be prepared. Most of it will be in the contract, read it carefully. You will be charged an early exit fee of around $100, a termination fee of around $165, and a "break fee." The "break fee" is the amount of money they estimate they would lose should you pay out early. This is estimated at around $15 for the remainder of every month that it didn't take you to pay the car off. For example, the car loan was for 100 months, at the 60th month the car is to be paid off leaving 40 months left on the contract. That adds 40 months x $15 ($600) plus the other fees (total $865) on top of the total amount you still owe on the vehicle. I personally will never take finance with them again. They are used quite a lot in car sales, and the sales person will try to convince you the loan is a good competitive deal and easy to get. Don't say you weren't warned.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Tom, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Disappointing phone servicing.

    Upon trying to follow up on my car loan repayments I was transferred to 4 different people in 45 minutes to get to the final person and get transferred back. Overall wait time was an hour. Which wouldn't be a problem if I had actually received any assistance from either of the 4 people on the other end of the phone!

    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kate, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Good interest rates.

    Sent false invoice then charged a late fee for not paying it.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Byron, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    No rewards program

    It would be more beneficial if there was a reward program.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Allan, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • St.George Unsecured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Sharp rate with good service. Simple product.

    Very competitive rate, offered due to new care being purchased and being an existing customer. Very fast processing and easy to deal with.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Dim, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Best option

    Great rates.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sa, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • St.George Car Loan

    Great company with great communication.

    Great bank, best customer service and always helpful with any questions and inquiries.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Claire, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • St.George Secured Personal Loan (Fixed)

    Great first time that you'll soon forget.

    St George is a subsidiary for Westpac one of the big four banks. So though they may seem like they operate as a seperate entity, they would still be highly influenced by decisions made by the larger bank in regards to their overall operations. This is reflected in the types of products & services which are similar or almost identical, as well as rates, fees and charges which the bank offer their customers. St George have always offered an easy alternate to the other banks in regards to signing up new customers, as the 100 points of identification required to open a new account is a lot easier than as required by most other institutions. Primarily just consisting of a Passport (60points), a drivers licence (30 points) and a letter with a current address (10 points). This is especially ideal for new migrants or people who have just arrived in Australia who require a bank account to begin working, or others who may not have accumulated the necessary documents required by the other banks. I believe St George to be a conventional bank at best, offering services and products similar or comparable to all other banks, great as a starter or 1st time banking institute for customers, but in the long run will move onto other financial institutes which offer better rates, fees, incentives etc not so highly influenced by its bigger brother Westpac.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Larry, Queensland, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Car loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • New Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.67% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.22% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 5 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.67% would cost $34,096.76 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Secured Car Loan

      Interest rate
      4.74% p.a.to 16.01% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.01% p.a.to 16.31% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 3 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 4.74% would cost $33,949.23 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan - Excellent Credit

      Interest rate
      5.95% p.a.to 19.99% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.95% p.a.to 21.0% p.a.based on $10,000
      over 3 years

      Terms from 2 to 5 years. Representative example: a 3 year $10,000 loan at 5.95% would cost $11,538.74 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Discounted Green Car Loan

      Interest rate
      5.29% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.56% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.29% would cost $34,402.89 including fees.

      Promoted
    • Car Loan

      Interest rate
      5.35% p.a.
      comparison rate
      5.65% p.a.based on $30,000
      over 5 years

      Terms from 1 to 7 years. Representative example: a 5 year $30,000 loan at 5.35% would cost $34,507.61 including fees.

      Promoted

    WARNING: The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a personal loan. The comparison rates displayed are calculated based on a loan of $30,000 for a term of 5 years or a loan of $10,000 for a term of 3 years as indicated, based on monthly principal and interest repayments, on a secured basis for secured loans and an unsecured basis for unsecured loans. This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

    Want more? Compare all 204 car loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more car loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.