Thumbnail icon for State Custodians

State Custodians Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.8/10
Price
7.8/10
Features
6.5/10
Customer service
6.8/10
Convenience
6.3/10
Trust
6.8/10
Based on 16 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent State Custodians home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • State Custodians review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Hopeless.

    After applying online, then being lead through the application process, I was made to wait over 4 weeks without any advice on the progress of my application? After eventually calling numerous times and emailing, I received a return email from my so called "loan application manager" advising me that she just noticed there were two key elements missing from my application, and could I send them through and she will forward my application for appraisal! Of course I immediately responded with my feedback, also letting her know that I won't be pursuing my application any further, to which she replied; yes I sincerely apologise that it was entirely my fault that your application has not been completed and forwarded before now" Great, thanks for wasting hours of my time that has amounted to zero!!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Greig, Northern Territory, reviewed 10 months ago
  • State Custodians review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good customer service and product offerings.

    Good online financial institution offering competitive loans but do note that new borrowers get better rates than existing borrowers. Unfortunately that's the same with all banks, so they can attract new customers. They are slow in reducing interest rates when the rest have reduced theirs.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • State Custodians review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Trustworthy, reliable and low maintenance

    I liked this provider initially due to their competitive home loan rates. Now I like this provider because of the seamless low maintenance nature of the loan and Internet accessibility. In future I will like this provider and the product due to my loyalty bonus - I.e. lower interest rate. On the rare occasions I have had to call the provider they have always be extremely helpful.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Nick, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • State Custodians review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive premiums and great customer service

    What an amazing experience and remarkable journey from the very first phone call we made to 13 72 62 / 02 4950 3300 to a prompt and straightforward settlement! We have been impressed beyond my wildest expectations by State Custodians and their professional and proficient team. We had the pleasure of dealing with the following amazing people from State Custodians: Erin Miller, Janelle Foster and Robyn Ridgeway. We must also highlight the contribution to a timely settlement of State Custodians’ solicitors, Gadens, who worked very fast on organising all paperwork for a prompt settlement, in particular, Tracey Goodall and Samantha Page. I am writing this review to encourage other people who are on the market for a loan to place State Custodians at number one on their wish list while searching for their next home loan so they can make their next property purchase an enjoyable and pleasant experience. State Custodians’ passionate team members are truly custodians of customer care and professionalism.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Denis, Victoria, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • State Custodians review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Flexible loan with great rates

    This was one of the easiest processes I have had to go through to get a loan, all the way through to settlement. The staff on the phone were polite. My official pre-approval took less than 1 week. My settlement was 4 weeks instead of 6 weeks and everything went smoothly. They kept me informed every step of the way via email from documents I needed to submit to the stages of final settlement. The rate was very good. The loan is very flexible except the website design needs to be a bit better. You can only make additional repayments once per login. So if I want to make another repayment, I have to logout and log in again. Apart from that, I would consider them again.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cheryl, New South Wales, reviewed almost 7 years ago
  • State Custodians review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Initial rate offered low to suck in customers

    Advertised cheap low cost interest rate initially, however, failed to pass on full RBA rate custs. Expensive compared to competitors products and not very flexible.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Mozo community reviewer, Victoria, reviewed about 7 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Like a packet of liquorice allsorts, inconsistent

    Very competitive interest rates but the application process was like trying to communicate to some of the teenagers at the school I work at. I had to constantly call and ensure the application was progressing and it took over three weeks to gain final approval! In saying that, the cheap rate made it all worth it. Also, their online service looks like a website dragged out of the early 90's and could definitely do with an upgrade.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Queensland, reviewed over 7 years ago
  • State Custodians review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great rates and exellent customer service

    I am really impressed with this company. The customer support and service that I received from the very first moment to today is exceptional. The product is one of the best and I have recommended this company to 3 people, 2 of which are now going to switch to State Custodians. When they compared home loan products, State Custodians came up the top. With my recommendation on customer service, 2 different people have gone over to them and they agree that the service is wonderful, a rare trait with finacial instituions in today's society.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tanya, Queensland, reviewed almost 8 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    they did not pass the interst rate cut from RBA

    Beware because State Custodian does not pass the interest rate cut to existing customers. Whatever rate cut from RBA, they do not pass it to you.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Nikki, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Give you the run around

    I approcahed State Custodions to refinance an existing loan with a view of obtaining a lower interest rate. I was required to provide reams of paper work and fill out multipage documents, in addition to having the property valued at my expense etc. State Custodians lost paper work, requiring it to be resubmitted, staff went on holidays leaving my application sit for weeks unattended, then when it looked liked the matter would complete requested additional information. This was all over a 200k loan against a 1.2 mil property. After 6 months of multiple phone calls and emails resulting in, no progress I gave up. State Custodians are a shocker !

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed about 8 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    best lender in the country

    They do what they say they are going to do. They are an awesome company

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Brad, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    great customer service

    the interest rate is very commpettitive the phone service is good you speak to a person straight away and the same people always answer.It has all of the features we require and no fees. so thumbs up.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Marty, Queensland, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service

    No fuss ... no mess...the best mortgage providers I have ever dealt with.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Terry, New South Wales, reviewed over 8 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10

    The interest rate on their website is for NEW loans only. When interest rates drop they DO NOT PASS ON THE WHOLE cut. The interest rate for existing mortgage holders is actually higher than is quoted on the site.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sue, Queensland, reviewed almost 9 years ago
  • State Custodians Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10

    SCMC have been brilliant to deal with! All our enquiries have been dealt with extremely quickly, and in each case they were very helpful. This being our first home loan, we had many questions about the processes involved, and SCMC were always very kind and understanding. Their exceptional customer service, when combined with their fantastic rates and low fees, make them easy to recommend.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steve, Victoria, reviewed over 9 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Special Offer Reward Me Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.73% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.94% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 538 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.