Thumbnail icon for RACV

RACV Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.9/10
Value for money
7.2/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
8.0/10
Claims handling
7.8/10
Trust
8.0/10
Based on 1299 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent RACV car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Will be staying with them.

    Only had one claim, it was attended to efficiently. Assisted with reducing cost when I said I was a pensioner.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liene, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Most expensive and no customer service.

    My association with the RACV began when I was 14. Holden donated a car and RACV provided the finance for a in schools program. I was trained in the theory of driving and given practical lessons in the local farming area. When i began driving RACV insured my car for the first 10 years as well as membership in the car care. As i got married and had a young family we could no longer insure with RACV but we kept up the roadside assist. So to us RACV was a trusted brand/club. It is sad to see how RACV has changed in recent years. When insuring our car last year we chose RACV even though the cost was hundreds of dollars more than Budget Direct. In October my wife parked the car at a local park and took the grand children to play. When they returned to the car someone had damaged the side door, damaged the bumper and smashed the rear tail lights. It was the 9th of October. We contacted the RACV and began the claims process. Took the car to our repairer, they inspected it described the repairs that would be necessary, took pictures, we then took the car home and waited for the RACV assessor, and waited , and waited. We contacted RACV and were told there were delays, eventually after 6 weeks RACV contacted us and sent an assessor. He arrived, walked around the car made insults about our repairer and left. After another 2 weeks we contacted RACV and we were told that they couldn't come to an agreed cost on the repair. I suggested that i go and get an independent quote. He asked where i would get an independent assessment. I told him Cranwell, because when we had been forced to use them last time they had described the repair as it should be done. So i went to Cranwell to get an independent assessment , explained the situation and told them i needed an independent quote. They took photos and told me they would get back to me with a quote. Three days later Cranwell contacted us with a order number for repairs, RACV had been in contact with them and they were going to do the repair. We never got a quote from Cranwell, RACV had taken over the quote somehow. So i went and got an independent quote else where. The two quotes were within $300 of each other around $5000 they described the repair as it should be done (no short cuts). Contacted RACV and talked about the second quote. A few days later they contacted us, he offered us a $2500 cash settlement; half the amount it would take to fix the car. He told me "If you dont take this you will be waiting a long time, take it up with AFCA good luck". True to his word we are still waiting. Holding customers to ransom, offering half payments, deliberate delay of the assessment process, deliberate delay of repairs all in an attempt to halve costs. We had considered Budget Direct, they couldn't have been worse than the dirty tricks that RACV has pulled. The general public needs to know your processes, they need to know that RACV will delay,threaten, use whatever means possible to reduce the payouts in real cases. Our car has been unroadworthy since it was hit, we have only one car to transport my disabled daughter and my wheelchair bound wife. RACV has caused months of worry, we have been forced to drive an unroadworthy car. I am going to seek the help of "A Current Affair" to resolve these problems, you need to change your processes, for-fill your obligations as an insurance company. At the cost you charge RACV should set an example of how it should be done, rather than an example of the worst insurance in Australia.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Warren, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    You get what you pay for!

    RACV may not be the cheapest but you get what you pay for. I've never had any issues when it's come to claim and that's been 3 times over the past 15 years!

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Rhiannon, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Trusted big name and fair.

    You can trust that coverage is provided and roadside assistance is really handy. It's probably because it's a bigger name that there is more trust, too. Not cheap for under 25, but not exactly a rip off, either.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lucia, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    RACV is value for money.

    I have been with RACV for more than 10 years. They offer great product bundling discounts.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Trustworthy and reliable insurance.

    RACV insurance is trustworthy and reliable. Staff are extremely helpful, polite and compassionate. Claims are sorted promptly and hassle free.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharrie, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Straightforward claiming.

    Very helpful in-store, online and over the phone. Claiming is straightforward and pleasant.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Amanda, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great customer service

    When I have had to make calls to RACV, there is never an issue with the information that is required. I had to call to change address information and the lady was just so easy to talk to, and made sure that I had changed all of the information that was required. Awesome experience.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Geoff, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good all round.

    Good all round job and I don't find that of very many.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mike, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    It all went well when we needed them.

    Handling of claim was effortless, and they replaced new for old as promised.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alex, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    As above

    I am happy with the product and service however I am unsure about the amount I pay. I recently retired and the km I do per annum is now reduced. Interested in looking around

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Graeme, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Have multiple insurance policies with them

    I have been a life member with RACV and I would not switch.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Octave, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • RACV Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Bit expensive

    I have to go to a really high excess to get a decent Premium.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    4 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Ash, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Lack of communication

    They do not communicate a lot about offers.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Caroline, Victoria, reviewed almost 2 years ago
  • RACV Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Make it easy

    I think RACV should be cheaper.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Fabian, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.