Thumbnail icon for RACV

RACV Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.9/10
Value for money
7.2/10
Policy coverage
7.7/10
Customer service
8.0/10
Claims handling
7.8/10
Trust
7.9/10
Based on 1308 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent RACV car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Good customer service

    RACV insurance prices are competitive and provide great value for money. Their customer service has always been very helpful and knowledgeable.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tessa, Victoria, reviewed about 14 hours ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    7/10 would recommend and definitely staying.

    You need to be aware that if you don't read the terms and conditions they can do you wrong but if you pay attention to everything it’s a light breeze to get claims.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, Victoria, reviewed 3 days ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Wouldn't go with them again.

    The claims were extremely slow and customer service unhelpful. Policy was fine and had everything I needed.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Holly, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best value for Insurance coverage

    We changed our car insurer to RACV due to the fact that they covered our two cars cheaper for the same coverage. Extremely patient over the phone and easy to change over. We have always found RACV to be professional and extremely helpful. I use them for travel insurance also. They are excellent and great value and much more cost effective than their competitors.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kim, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    RACV loyalty.

    I like RACV as they show loyalty to their customers with things like a multi-policy discount and other offers such as accomodation discounts, etc. They also have very competitive prices and their customer service is great.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lucia, Victoria, reviewed 16 days ago
  • RACV Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    You get what you pay for, but it can be expensive.

    The pros are that it is a well known company, the reputation is earned and you will get exactly what you think you're getting. The cons are that it isn't that cheap but you do get what you pay for.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ruby, Victoria, reviewed 16 days ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great

    Reliable and get things done.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jenni, Victoria, reviewed 16 days ago
  • RACV Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    I don't recommend RACV. They don't get it done.

    I had a few policies with RACV. Third party car, public liability for 20 million, comprehensive truck insurance, excavator, and building insurance on our unit. One night driving our Subaru WRX a taxi stopped suddenly in front of us. He got confused as a team was involved. Anyway we exchanged details, called police, and immediately notified RACV. Being a taxi we were told by the taxi company that they all have dashcam footage, so we told RACV to obtain the footage. They did nothing at all. So many phone calls, and they didn't even look into it. By the time they eventually did, 28 days has passed and the evidence was gone. We lost our car 8000, 900 in storage and the tow away. Then suddenly they decide it wasn't our fault but we have to go to court with their lawyer to claim, but no guarantees we will even get paid. Long story but hard to believe. I thought RACV being a huge insurer would be no problem. How wrong I was.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Catherine, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    RACV only interested in the money they can collect

    Have had car insurance for 48 years, never had an accident with a moving car, hit once whilst parked. When I put a claim in with RACV they took 2 months to send an assessor, they argued with our preferred repairer for a month (we didn't know). When we contacted them about why it was taking so long they told us they didn't agree with the repair amount. Took it to another assessor who quoted similar so now I had two quotes, one for $5200 and one for $5000. RACV wouldn't pay offered us $2000, took it to AFCA and waited 5 months, net result $2800 offered. Not enough to pay for half the repair at any repair shop. So stuck trying to fix the car myself after a wait of 8 months driving a car with smashed tail light and dints and scratches to body.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Warren, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Will be staying with them.

    Only had one claim, it was attended to efficiently. Assisted with reducing cost when I said I was a pensioner.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liene, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Most expensive and no customer service.

    My association with the RACV began when I was 14. Holden donated a car and RACV provided the finance for a in schools program. I was trained in the theory of driving and given practical lessons in the local farming area. When i began driving RACV insured my car for the first 10 years as well as membership in the car care. As i got married and had a young family we could no longer insure with RACV but we kept up the roadside assist. So to us RACV was a trusted brand/club. It is sad to see how RACV has changed in recent years. When insuring our car last year we chose RACV even though the cost was hundreds of dollars more than Budget Direct. In October my wife parked the car at a local park and took the grand children to play. When they returned to the car someone had damaged the side door, damaged the bumper and smashed the rear tail lights. It was the 9th of October. We contacted the RACV and began the claims process. Took the car to our repairer, they inspected it described the repairs that would be necessary, took pictures, we then took the car home and waited for the RACV assessor, and waited , and waited. We contacted RACV and were told there were delays, eventually after 6 weeks RACV contacted us and sent an assessor. He arrived, walked around the car made insults about our repairer and left. After another 2 weeks we contacted RACV and we were told that they couldn't come to an agreed cost on the repair. I suggested that i go and get an independent quote. He asked where i would get an independent assessment. I told him Cranwell, because when we had been forced to use them last time they had described the repair as it should be done. So i went to Cranwell to get an independent assessment , explained the situation and told them i needed an independent quote. They took photos and told me they would get back to me with a quote. Three days later Cranwell contacted us with a order number for repairs, RACV had been in contact with them and they were going to do the repair. We never got a quote from Cranwell, RACV had taken over the quote somehow. So i went and got an independent quote else where. The two quotes were within $300 of each other around $5000 they described the repair as it should be done (no short cuts). Contacted RACV and talked about the second quote. A few days later they contacted us, he offered us a $2500 cash settlement; half the amount it would take to fix the car. He told me "If you dont take this you will be waiting a long time, take it up with AFCA good luck". True to his word we are still waiting. Holding customers to ransom, offering half payments, deliberate delay of the assessment process, deliberate delay of repairs all in an attempt to halve costs. We had considered Budget Direct, they couldn't have been worse than the dirty tricks that RACV has pulled. The general public needs to know your processes, they need to know that RACV will delay,threaten, use whatever means possible to reduce the payouts in real cases. Our car has been unroadworthy since it was hit, we have only one car to transport my disabled daughter and my wheelchair bound wife. RACV has caused months of worry, we have been forced to drive an unroadworthy car. I am going to seek the help of "A Current Affair" to resolve these problems, you need to change your processes, for-fill your obligations as an insurance company. At the cost you charge RACV should set an example of how it should be done, rather than an example of the worst insurance in Australia.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Warren, Victoria, reviewed 8 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    You get what you pay for!

    RACV may not be the cheapest but you get what you pay for. I've never had any issues when it's come to claim and that's been 3 times over the past 15 years!

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Rhiannon, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Trusted big name and fair.

    You can trust that coverage is provided and roadside assistance is really handy. It's probably because it's a bigger name that there is more trust, too. Not cheap for under 25, but not exactly a rip off, either.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lucia, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    RACV is value for money.

    I have been with RACV for more than 10 years. They offer great product bundling discounts.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Trustworthy and reliable insurance.

    RACV insurance is trustworthy and reliable. Staff are extremely helpful, polite and compassionate. Claims are sorted promptly and hassle free.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharrie, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.