Westpac logo

Westpac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.7/10
Price
6.2/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
6.9/10
Convenience
7.6/10
Trust
6.6/10
Based on 3292 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Buyer beware!

    My daughter is buying a home and I agreed to be guarantor for 20% of the loan, my daughter ticks all the boxes for eligibility. After initial contact with Westpac home loans officer (which was positive) the loans person seemed to disappear, they would not take calls or return messages. My daughter then went to a mortgage broker, I thought the bank loans person’s attitude was a “one off” and as a customer of Westpac for 40 years suggested she still use Westpac. Fast forward 2 months after the loan application by her mortgage broker to Westpac and the bank tells me it will still be 2 to 3 weeks till the loan is finalised and $2,500 for a valuation on my house as collateral. A processing period of 3 months! Mortgage broker now admits they use Westpac as a last resort for home loans because of their inefficiencies. I have made 2 complaints and with a 3rd in the pipeline nothing has changed, they don’t seem to care. The original intention was for “preapproval” for a home loan now with a deposit on a house it has become post approval!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tony, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Can do better by their customers but don't.

    They are OK but I think they should do more for their loyal customers. They make promises they don't intend to deliver. They give you the impression that they are doing something about it but they really aren't as it's back to 'can't do any better' than what you have now when they know they can and hide behind bureaucracy.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Medgee, Western Australia, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Not really happy

    Loan manager could not offer a better home loan rate when requested. Either do not or are extremely slow to pass on loan percentage rates. Hard to contact via telephone, caller has to wait for a series of confusing recorded messages.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Helpful.

    They are very helpful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Leanne, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    I have been a member of this bank since I was 14.

    My local branch was removed recently. This is a bank that randomly puts up interest rates on home loans, and if requested like the national group for Covid-19 did - told it would go down - no indication of proposed drop but surprise, it was introduced 5 months later and when did arrive it was $20 per month so 200 dollars in total. There was no discussion with the local community re closing the branch. I'm 71 and do not like using technology for my own needs (use hugely at work) - yes still working full time as I have mortgage. In fact, I now have it on the market - without selling I cannot reduce my work hours. My interest rate has not changed by a % over the last 4 years. I love my home, and the place it is in. I will be very elderly before I know it and I would like to visit my own branch.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Sandra lee, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    First home buyers.

    Westpac worked promptly and efficiently with our broker. It was such a smooth process to be first home buyers, settlement was so fast, couldn't complain and an awesome rate too. Very happy customers! We are now currently in the process of changing our bank to Westpac.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Penny, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Fair

    Easy access with a low rate.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Westpac for the home loan win!

    Westpac has been incredible - both patient and helpful in my application to get my first home loan. I received both conditional and unconditional approval in record time, allowing me to secure my dream house with zero delay. The rates offered were super competitive and online set up a breeze. I really could not fault the whole process.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Laura, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Would recommend to others.

    Westpac has a user friendly online application. Phone app is good. Online security is great. Would recommend to others. No complaints about their service. Branches are close and banking facilities also available at Australia Post.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    John, South Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Reduce Interest rates on investment loans

    I have investment loans that the bank won't reduce their interest rates to help during COVID.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Patrick, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Split that loan.

    I like the fact it is a one stop for me, I have everything with this institute. Also we can split the loan the way we want.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Mark, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy, flexible and excellent customer service.

    My husband and I have our joint home loan with Westpac. It was easy from the beginning of the application, we were explained everything we needed to know. The app is really easy to use. Customer service is very good, we always get to talk to a very professional person if we need anything. I wouldn’t change to another bank.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ana, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service

    Always get excellent service, online, phone and in person.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lyn, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Atrocious.

    They refuse to reduce their rates, and are not competitive. Their customer service is atrocious.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Erin, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great bank with great service!

    I am really happy with Westpac as my home loan provider, they are really helpful and explained all the pro's and con's of the loan before I applied and accepted it.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Holly, Northern Territory, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.75% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.22% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.43% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate
      2.15% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 528 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.