Westpac logo

Westpac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 3301 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Better options available

    Would not give me a loan because I wouldn't state whether I was married or not -it was like going back to the dark ages - very behind the times as I have the independent capacity to make my own financial decisions as a female and don't need a male to be part of my home loan. I could prove I had more than the capacity to repay the loan but they were not interested.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gaye, Victoria, reviewed 19 days ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Westpac do have very low interest rate.

    Westpac's service with our home loan is very good. With the fix rate we got, helps a lot with repayments. They call monthly to check on us and see if we need any other products. They customer service is excellent and would recommend to others. Our extended family members are also with Westpac after them asking about their service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Queensland, reviewed 21 days ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Poor customer dealing saying wrong things

    Initially took all our financial status and came to house to get the paperwork which is not legal though we said that we would come to the branch on Saturday when it is open. After taking all our information she refused the refinancing by wasting our time. She is very sweet to talk but not trustworthy person. I am really suspicious about her dealings for having taken all my information. Would never recommend for having loans with Westpac as there is no genuinity in it.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dj, Victoria, reviewed 28 days ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Stay clear of Westpac loans.

    Beware Westpac are too busy as at June 2021. They are missing deadlines and causing settlement delays. The distress is unbelievable.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Kathryn, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Westpac customer service is non existent.

    Over a period of almost 20 years I have found myself having to deal with Westpac on several occasions through circumstance rather than by choice in relation to home loans/mortgages. I have never experienced worse customer service with any organisation. It is virtually impossible to connect with anyone either in a branch, online or on the phone who is genuinely able to help with your enquiry or who is willing or able to follow up on a query or complaint even if you do wait for hours on the phone only to then have your call drop out or return you back into the queue. Westpac customer service is not poor it is non existent & negligent in regard to its customers.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kerry, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Fixed Rate Investment Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    No concept of customer service. No flexibility.

    The bank isn’t flexible. Doesn’t really look after a long term customer. Everything is cookie cutter so can’t make any changes. The yearly fee is quite high for very little return. There is nothing worthwhile that they give back for charging $395 pa. Kept getting the run around and took over 6 months for them to fix my loan as no one knew what the other person before them he done. They all told me to leave it with them and they will fix but didn’t eventuate. I really don’t know why I persevered and stayed with them. Maybe the convenience as I was an exiting customer!? Or maybe stupidity!

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Faiza, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest)

    no customer service

    I have been with Westpac for over 10 years. There is absolutely no customer service. I contacted the bank over 2 years ago re loan account and no return calls.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Jennene, Queensland, reviewed 29 days ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    No longer recommend Westpac.

    Was after a 5 year set rate loan, just topping up an existing housing loan. When using the Westpac Loan Calculator it offered an interest rate of 2.47%. It took 2 weeks to get a callback and yes, even though the calculator still said 2.47%, of course that was no longer available. It was now going to be 2.79% and then the rest is disclosed. You have to pay a 1% lock in fee for the 2.79% as it takes 6 weeks to process the loan and if the rate changes up, the new rate will apply. Originally the agent said 10% and I offered you have to be kidding, that would be x amount of dollars and he confirmed that calculation. No apology for the mistake, even when challenged on the validity of 10% lock in fee. Then there is the $600 establishment fee and the $8.00 month service fee. So my advice after banking with Westpac most of my life is to give them a last thought, put them down the list.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Tony, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%) (Premier Advantage Package)

    Great Service, Great Advice, Great Bank.

    I have been a Westpac customer for over 20 years now. Their customer service above all has kept me loyal to Westpac. They have always been helpful in any matter and provide me with excellent personalised service and advice. I have very recently taken out a loan for my very first home and Westpac made every single step of the process and absolute breeze.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lukas, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Buyer beware!

    My daughter is buying a home and I agreed to be guarantor for 20% of the loan, my daughter ticks all the boxes for eligibility. After initial contact with Westpac home loans officer (which was positive) the loans person seemed to disappear, they would not take calls or return messages. My daughter then went to a mortgage broker, I thought the bank loans person’s attitude was a “one off” and as a customer of Westpac for 40 years suggested she still use Westpac. Fast forward 2 months after the loan application by her mortgage broker to Westpac and the bank tells me it will still be 2 to 3 weeks till the loan is finalised and $2,500 for a valuation on my house as collateral. A processing period of 3 months! Mortgage broker now admits they use Westpac as a last resort for home loans because of their inefficiencies. I have made 2 complaints and with a 3rd in the pipeline nothing has changed, they don’t seem to care. The original intention was for “preapproval” for a home loan now with a deposit on a house it has become post approval!

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tony, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Can do better by their customers but don't.

    They are OK but I think they should do more for their loyal customers. They make promises they don't intend to deliver. They give you the impression that they are doing something about it but they really aren't as it's back to 'can't do any better' than what you have now when they know they can and hide behind bureaucracy.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Medgee, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Not really happy

    Loan manager could not offer a better home loan rate when requested. Either do not or are extremely slow to pass on loan percentage rates. Hard to contact via telephone, caller has to wait for a series of confusing recorded messages.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Helpful.

    They are very helpful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Leanne, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest)

    I have been a member of this bank since I was 14.

    My local branch was removed recently. This is a bank that randomly puts up interest rates on home loans, and if requested like the national group for Covid-19 did - told it would go down - no indication of proposed drop but surprise, it was introduced 5 months later and when did arrive it was $20 per month so 200 dollars in total. There was no discussion with the local community re closing the branch. I'm 71 and do not like using technology for my own needs (use hugely at work) - yes still working full time as I have mortgage. In fact, I now have it on the market - without selling I cannot reduce my work hours. My interest rate has not changed by a % over the last 4 years. I love my home, and the place it is in. I will be very elderly before I know it and I would like to visit my own branch.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Sandra lee, Western Australia, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    First home buyers.

    Westpac worked promptly and efficiently with our broker. It was such a smooth process to be first home buyers, settlement was so fast, couldn't complain and an awesome rate too. Very happy customers! We are now currently in the process of changing our bank to Westpac.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Penny, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.95% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.27% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 501 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.