Westpac logo

Westpac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 3307 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Westpac Bank, for a great home loan!

    I like that they are reachable via phone and email. I like that they follow up with you, on your enquiry into a home loan. I like the fact that they are efficient, double checking they have all the boxes ticked.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Cheryl, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Equity Access (Premier Advantage Package)

    very slow application service. poor customer care

    After losing a house i was about to purchase after the cooling off period being extended 3-4 times, purely because westpac weren't on the ball and didn't finish the application for 3 months, i have nothing but bad things to say about them. I would call them everyday asking to talk to someone but constantly being told "this application cannot be escalated any higher" or "i'm not authorised to give you that sort of information" or after being asked to get put through to a manager i would be told " im sorry im not allowed to do that". Each time i called i would be on the phone for at least half an hr before i could actually speak to someone. I lost my 0.25% deposit and i was lucky to get my 10% deposit back just because the vendor and real estate agent were so understanding. This one really made me have my doubts about westpac. But after the first application with them, I thought the 2nd application (for another house I eventually found) would be a lot quicker and easier as they already had all of my information. But that wasn't the case. I am currently in the process of the purchase of new house, and i was supposed to get the keys early this week, until westpac have told us they are not ready to proceed with the purchase (2 months after the offer was first accepted), luckily the vendor is happy to accept a extended settlement date by a week . But I still have my doubts that Westpac will have their shit sorted in time. they still dont give out information and still let you stay on hold for hours per week. I am not confident we will get our 10% deposit back this time and I am absolutely filthy with Westpac and their terrible service. I cannot explain the stress this has put me and my family under and I would not wish this on anyone. Strongly advise looking at any other bank other than westpac

    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Luke, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    2021 worth bank of the years

    Winner of the worst bank of 2021. The bank produces 4 home loans documents incorrectly about 4 times and each time I have to be put back in the queue. When it’s comes to settlement, they keeps asking me for additional documents on numerous occasions. I have to rescheduled settlement twice. On top of that I have to resigned all loans documents twice due to the errors with loans documents. To this date, our purchase is still not settled. The bank put me through so much stressed and anxiety in the last couple of months. I have gone through so much stressed today, I ran to the toilet and vomited.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Great service and rates

    They have given us wonderful service and rates for over 20 years. They keep you informed and if they can help in any way they do. I would highly recommend them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dianne, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Great for offset accounts

    Always helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Scott, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Highly NOT Recommended

    I have 4 investment accounts with Westpac and a Share broking account for few decades. I was also working for Westpac International and institutional Bank before. Westpac is now no longer a Bank for Australia sadly! Last few weeks and up to now I am trying to transfer my property ownership to my son, discharging the mortgage to ING. I was calling to Westpac Mortgage Centre in Adelaide several times, each time Westpac excused for the reason 10 days processing the paper works and keep delaying again and again. I am so tired and frustrated, there is only an option is to move all my mortgages and trading accounts to the other lender or bank. This lesson I have learned too deep with Westpac not with a particular staff but the Westpac system and its Mortgage Centre. Westpac provided a complaint reference CS13740177 and confirmed 100% the discharge will be on next Monday 23rd/August. I hope they may keep their promise not another excuse, too powerful this lender for the victims under their control, Westpac makes you cried out if you want to discharge or escape Monday 23/08/2021, Westpac Mortgage Centre misleading again to avoid today settlement and wanted to postpone until Wednesday 25/08/2021 due to the payout figure not ready yet There is no other option, I will lodge a complaint to AFCA.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Better options available

    Would not give me a loan because I wouldn't state whether I was married or not -it was like going back to the dark ages - very behind the times as I have the independent capacity to make my own financial decisions as a female and don't need a male to be part of my home loan. I could prove I had more than the capacity to repay the loan but they were not interested.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Gaye, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    Westpac do have very low interest rate.

    Westpac's service with our home loan is very good. With the fix rate we got, helps a lot with repayments. They call monthly to check on us and see if we need any other products. They customer service is excellent and would recommend to others. Our extended family members are also with Westpac after them asking about their service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Emma, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Poor customer dealing saying wrong things

    Initially took all our financial status and came to house to get the paperwork which is not legal though we said that we would come to the branch on Saturday when it is open. After taking all our information she refused the refinancing by wasting our time. She is very sweet to talk but not trustworthy person. I am really suspicious about her dealings for having taken all my information. Would never recommend for having loans with Westpac as there is no genuinity in it.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dj, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Stay clear of Westpac loans.

    Beware Westpac are too busy as at June 2021. They are missing deadlines and causing settlement delays. The distress is unbelievable.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kathryn, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Westpac customer service is non existent.

    Over a period of almost 20 years I have found myself having to deal with Westpac on several occasions through circumstance rather than by choice in relation to home loans/mortgages. I have never experienced worse customer service with any organisation. It is virtually impossible to connect with anyone either in a branch, online or on the phone who is genuinely able to help with your enquiry or who is willing or able to follow up on a query or complaint even if you do wait for hours on the phone only to then have your call drop out or return you back into the queue. Westpac customer service is not poor it is non existent & negligent in regard to its customers.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kerry, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Rate Investment Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    No concept of customer service. No flexibility.

    The bank isn’t flexible. Doesn’t really look after a long term customer. Everything is cookie cutter so can’t make any changes. The yearly fee is quite high for very little return. There is nothing worthwhile that they give back for charging $395 pa. Kept getting the run around and took over 6 months for them to fix my loan as no one knew what the other person before them he done. They all told me to leave it with them and they will fix but didn’t eventuate. I really don’t know why I persevered and stayed with them. Maybe the convenience as I was an exiting customer!? Or maybe stupidity!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Faiza, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest)

    no customer service

    I have been with Westpac for over 10 years. There is absolutely no customer service. I contacted the bank over 2 years ago re loan account and no return calls.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jennene, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%)

    No longer recommend Westpac.

    Was after a 5 year set rate loan, just topping up an existing housing loan. When using the Westpac Loan Calculator it offered an interest rate of 2.47%. It took 2 weeks to get a callback and yes, even though the calculator still said 2.47%, of course that was no longer available. It was now going to be 2.79% and then the rest is disclosed. You have to pay a 1% lock in fee for the 2.79% as it takes 6 weeks to process the loan and if the rate changes up, the new rate will apply. Originally the agent said 10% and I offered you have to be kidding, that would be x amount of dollars and he confirmed that calculation. No apology for the mistake, even when challenged on the validity of 10% lock in fee. Then there is the $600 establishment fee and the $8.00 month service fee. So my advice after banking with Westpac most of my life is to give them a last thought, put them down the list.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tony, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan LVR (Principal & Interest, LVR <70%) (Premier Advantage Package)

    Great Service, Great Advice, Great Bank.

    I have been a Westpac customer for over 20 years now. Their customer service above all has kept me loyal to Westpac. They have always been helpful in any matter and provide me with excellent personalised service and advice. I have very recently taken out a loan for my very first home and Westpac made every single step of the process and absolute breeze.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lukas, Queensland, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.14% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 501 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.