Westpac home loan reviews

Westpac
Westpac's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.3 / 10

based on 893 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Westpac

Recent Westpac home loan reviews

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I have been a member over 10 years

I recommend it to anyone who is serious about moving forward with life.

Full review

I recommend it to anyone who is serious about moving forward with life.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Molly (VIC), reviewed 10 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan (2 Year Introductory Rate, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not bad

Look about there are better deals out there

Full review

Look about there are better deals out there

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Peter (TAS), reviewed 10 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Matching competitive rates and great service

Personalised service was excellent, quick, and answered my questions in a straightforward way

Full review

Personalised service was excellent, quick, and answered my questions in a straightforward way

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tina (QLD), reviewed 10 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great community service

Happy staff, easy to deal with, great service.

Full review

Happy staff, easy to deal with, great service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Simon (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service and assistance

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

Full review

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Saves thousands on interest costs

The premier advantage package is a real money saver on interest costs. Flexible loan options with easy redraw on additional funds you can pay in without penalty.

Full review

The premier advantage package is a real money saver on interest costs. Flexible loan options with easy redraw on additional funds you can pay in without penalty.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerralie (ACT), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to use the online banking and transactions.

Full review

Easy to use the online banking and transactions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pritam (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with this bank for more than 12 years and have not had anything to complain about. I am very happy with the service.

Full review

I have been with this bank for more than 12 years and have not had anything to complain about. I am very happy with the service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jeffrey (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Disillusioned

Would consider looking elsewhere for a better home loan interest rate, not satisfied with current deal.

Full review

Would consider looking elsewhere for a better home loan interest rate, not satisfied with current deal.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alison (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Unethical banking processes and policy

Against the advice of my own bank, in a vulnerable moment I was persuaded to take out a home loan with Westpac for a second property which I could not sustain. After building delays had blown out, the cost and my contract employment ceased. It...

Full review

Against the advice of my own bank, in a vulnerable moment I was persuaded to take out a home loan with Westpac for a second property which I could not sustain. After building delays had blown out, the cost and my contract employment ceased. It ended by costing me around $300,000 from my superannuation and to keep the house I paid off with ANZ and then stood to lose. I believe they acted in a predatory manner against my interests.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennie (VIC), reviewed 7 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy accessibility and very good customer service

Staff have always been helpful and patient, explaining when I don't understand anything or need clarity. They are always considerate. My husband and I are getting older and we often have to ask more than once for clarity and the staff have never...

Full review

Staff have always been helpful and patient, explaining when I don't understand anything or need clarity. They are always considerate. My husband and I are getting older and we often have to ask more than once for clarity and the staff have never been impatient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kathleen (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

The people have always been friendly. I can't seem to get ahead with our mortgage though and have sat down with them to see if we can get a better deal but I can't seem to be able to. I've been with them for 20 years and would like to see some...

Full review

The people have always been friendly. I can't seem to get ahead with our mortgage though and have sat down with them to see if we can get a better deal but I can't seem to be able to. I've been with them for 20 years and would like to see some kind of loyalty reward system.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lesley (QLD), reviewed 9 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Equity Access home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent service

Westpac have always managed our personal and business banking in a professional manner.

Full review

Westpac have always managed our personal and business banking in a professional manner.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pam (WA), reviewed 9 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great services

Staff are friendly and provide good advice.

Full review

Staff are friendly and provide good advice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed 9 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Too quick to pass on higher rates

They have all the latest products, but they also have some of the highest charges. Still a great bank overall.

Full review

They have all the latest products, but they also have some of the highest charges. Still a great bank overall.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Frances (SA), reviewed 9 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan (2 Year Introductory Rate, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall provider

As a big bank they are inflexible, but the convenience of service outweighs this.

Full review

As a big bank they are inflexible, but the convenience of service outweighs this.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brian (ACT), reviewed 9 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Local knowledge and great customer service

When I visit the local branch, I realised that staff were more than willing to help me save money by giving me options for their new products. I was very impressed with their knowledge. They also had the ability to fully understood my needs and...

Full review

When I visit the local branch, I realised that staff were more than willing to help me save money by giving me options for their new products. I was very impressed with their knowledge. They also had the ability to fully understood my needs and current situation.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kelly (NSW), reviewed 11 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

They need better working staff

Their staff tends to be less attentive to customers' needs.

Full review

Their staff tends to be less attentive to customers' needs.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graham (QLD), reviewed 11 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They are a great community asset

They are convenient. I have been a long time user and have purchased many properties with Westpac assistance.

Full review

They are convenient. I have been a long time user and have purchased many properties with Westpac assistance.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Barry (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The best bank out of the big four

I have been with Westpac for a long time and have a mortgage redraw as well as other accounts connected to my mortgage account which provides me with a hassle free banking experience.

Full review

I have been with Westpac for a long time and have a mortgage redraw as well as other accounts connected to my mortgage account which provides me with a hassle free banking experience.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geoffrey (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly and helpful with great customer service

While we have not really had a lot to do with the bank on a day to day basis, when we do need to speak to them they are very friendly and helpful.

Full review

While we have not really had a lot to do with the bank on a day to day basis, when we do need to speak to them they are very friendly and helpful.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Rebecca (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service very reliable

Easy to deal with and arrange mortgage from pre-approval to the draw down during building. Always able to contact to discuss any issues.

Full review

Easy to deal with and arrange mortgage from pre-approval to the draw down during building. Always able to contact to discuss any issues.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lindsay (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Equity Access (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service, competitive rates

Westpac were extremely helpful in promptly answering our questions and the personal service made you think that you were their only customer. You were their main priority and from a customer service point of view is excellent. The staff were...

Full review

Westpac were extremely helpful in promptly answering our questions and the personal service made you think that you were their only customer. You were their main priority and from a customer service point of view is excellent. The staff were pleasant, helpful and understanding.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sharon (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Convenience

We have been with Westpac now for almost 5 years and have been happy with what we have setup with them. We would be happy to make changes if Westpac can save us more money.

Full review

We have been with Westpac now for almost 5 years and have been happy with what we have setup with them. We would be happy to make changes if Westpac can save us more money.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Geoffrey (SA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy customer

Great service

Full review

Great service

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vicki (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.62% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.62% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.62% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.62% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $700,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 525 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top