Thumbnail icon for Westpac

Westpac Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.7/10
Price
6.2/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
6.9/10
Convenience
7.6/10
Trust
6.6/10
Based on 3269 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Westpac home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Easy to deal with and knowledgable about options

    I found the staff I dealt with in relation to my home loan quite helpful- they also follow up to make sure all things are well. I was selling my home and buying another last year, they were able to swap the security (the property) from my old home to my new home without me having to apply for a new home loan. Settlement occurred on the same day and it all worked out well. Recently, after a follow-up call from Westpac to see how I was doing, I entered into a fixed rate for 12 months on my home loan with no fuss. As I don't plan on moving banks anytime soon, I figured I'd save a little by fixing the interest rate for a bit. Cons- they don't have the cheapest interest rates out there.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Angelique, Victoria, reviewed about 13 hours ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Westpac NSW.

    Friendly bank manager and staff.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Cameron, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    How to create a loyal customer.

    It's a constant battle to remind the bank that its interest rates are no longer competitive and would you 'please' review. The attitude is that we will apply for a 'discount' for you. We are not asking for a discount. It's the banks attempt at trying to convince you that they are doing you a favour. This kind of leaves a bad taste in the mouth. What we are asking is that you (the bank) look after us by reducing rates in-line with what is reasonable and competitive in the market. Another way to look at it is that we are asking (feels like begging) the bank to reward our loyalty. Whilst it may seem clever and more profitable in the short term to just leave rates where they are until the customer complains, it's not a good long term strategy. It assumes the customer is unaware that he or she is paying too much. If you look at the number, and frequency of advertised rates in the market this somewhat commercially naïve. Although we haven't changed banks we want to. Why should a customer provide loyalty when the the only time the vendor (attempts to) value(s) your custom is when you complain or threaten to leave. Certainly we would not recommend this bank to anyone else.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Western Australia, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Westpac Equity Access review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very helpful and considerate.

    Westpac staff have always been friendly and helpful with my banking needs. You never fell like a number. No rush advice and service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, Tasmania, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Stay away for home loans

    I have 0% trust in Westpac to honour their home loans even after an unconditional offer. Firstly they issued unconditional loan which was 65% LVR , then i paid the deposit. I asked their banker if i can add an offset account and they said no problem, it will be $395 yearly charge. But then their mortage team asked to cancel my credit card and i didnt get what that had to do with it considering I had no change to my financial situation. Then I had to chase for a month to get my paperwork at the right branch. Now, just a week before settlement they say they can't settle on that day costing me more money. We will be closing our Westpac account as soon as we can! Worst Bank I have dealt with so far. 0 star rating if I have to rate

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Gurpreet, Victoria, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Wouldn't bank anywhere else.

    Great service, friendly staff, fair interest rates.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mary, Northern Territory, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Lost trust

    I just renewed my mortgage interest rate. They offered me 2.29% for three years so I just ignored offers form other banks and stayed with Westpack but after the paperwork, record shows that they renewed for only two years for 2.29% and I asked why. I was told that they got mixed up and apologised. Then they said they are ready to change it to three years but I need to pay $711 for break up fees and also they can only give 2.59% for three years because the old offer was not available at this stage. They gave some confusing calculations. I lost all trust and felt like I was cheated.

    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Awful experience!

    I dealt with someone at the QV Branch. I found her behaviour childish and immature and on the border of grossly unprofessional. This is truly disappointing and goes to the core of the relationship that I have established with Westpac and sadly I will now consider switching to another bank.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chris, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Westpac trustworthy and extra features.

    Westpac is expensive but trustworthy as it's so large. Service is average. ATMs abundant with great features. Online banking, telephone service and branches all handy as well as redraw and offset. I like the flexibility.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Katherine, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    An OK bank, limited contact

    We like banking with Westpac however their branch hours are limited, especially for people who work. They refused to refinance our loan based on my husband having 2 jobs.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Melinda, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Reliable.

    Easy to access information. The bank does not go out of their way to give lower interest rates to match current situations.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, Tasmania, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Equity Access (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Not that good

    No personal service for re-financing loans.

    Susan, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great product and features.

    The product offered by the bank is competitive and has great features such as withdrawals and interest rate reduction against balance of other accounts. Fees and rates are regularly reviewed and adjusted.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Isidoro, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Go Westpac!

    They have been extremely helpful during the Covid-19 issues. The only disadvantage is they are not set up for Apple Wallet like other banks as yet.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kelda, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Westpac Fixed Rate Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Ok, but could be better.

    Could be more proactive in offering reduced interest rates.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.50% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.34% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.34% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Offset Home Loan Package

      interest rate
      2.54% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.81% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.49% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.49% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 537 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.