Westpac home loan reviews

Westpac
Westpac's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.3 / 10

based on 893 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Westpac

Recent Westpac home loan reviews

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service and assistance

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

Full review

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed about 16 hours ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

A good bank that has come out reasonably from the RC in Melbourne.

Full review

A good bank that has come out reasonably from the RC in Melbourne.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Had one bad loans officer

Overall service has been good, but for one shocking experience.

Full review

Overall service has been good, but for one shocking experience.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Linda (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rates, customer service is average

I like Westpac. The only thing I dislike is that it's online transfers takes too long. It should be instantaneous, 2 business days wait; it's all computerised it should happen straight away.

Full review

I like Westpac. The only thing I dislike is that it's online transfers takes too long. It should be instantaneous, 2 business days wait; it's all computerised it should happen straight away.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Anna (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan (2 Year Introductory Rate, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive home rates with personalised service

I like this bank because they provide special customer service representatives who recommend the best bank product for you. We can go to the representative straight away with any financial changes. The down side is customer service representatives...

Full review

I like this bank because they provide special customer service representatives who recommend the best bank product for you. We can go to the representative straight away with any financial changes. The down side is customer service representatives changes often that somewhat waters down the level of personalised services we suppose to get.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Angela (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank

They do a good job looking after you.

Full review

They do a good job looking after you.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rachna (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service.

Good service. They know us. Not the cheapest.

Full review

Good service. They know us. Not the cheapest.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Ineke (TAS), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good customer service

Was the right option for me

Full review

Was the right option for me

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Kirsten (ACT), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to reach and talk to a bank branch manager or business banker. Quick response to email inquiries and well set up electronic banking platforms.

Full review

Easy to reach and talk to a bank branch manager or business banker. Quick response to email inquiries and well set up electronic banking platforms.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Neville (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Bank with Westpac

Westpac have always been a great Bank

Full review

Westpac have always been a great Bank

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Juanita (VIC), reviewed 7 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Sweet

It's great

Full review

It's great

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steven (WA), reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I have been a member over 10 years

I recommend it to anyone who is serious about moving forward with life.

Full review

I recommend it to anyone who is serious about moving forward with life.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Molly (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan (2 Year Introductory Rate, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Not bad

Look about there are better deals out there

Full review

Look about there are better deals out there

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Peter (TAS), reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Matching competitive rates and great service

Personalised service was excellent, quick, and answered my questions in a straightforward way

Full review

Personalised service was excellent, quick, and answered my questions in a straightforward way

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Tina (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great community service

Happy staff, easy to deal with, great service.

Full review

Happy staff, easy to deal with, great service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Simon (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Saves thousands on interest costs

The premier advantage package is a real money saver on interest costs. Flexible loan options with easy redraw on additional funds you can pay in without penalty.

Full review

The premier advantage package is a real money saver on interest costs. Flexible loan options with easy redraw on additional funds you can pay in without penalty.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerralie (ACT), reviewed about 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to use the online banking and transactions.

Full review

Easy to use the online banking and transactions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pritam (SA), reviewed about 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with this bank for more than 12 years and have not had anything to complain about. I am very happy with the service.

Full review

I have been with this bank for more than 12 years and have not had anything to complain about. I am very happy with the service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jeffrey (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Disillusioned

Would consider looking elsewhere for a better home loan interest rate, not satisfied with current deal.

Full review

Would consider looking elsewhere for a better home loan interest rate, not satisfied with current deal.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alison (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Unethical banking processes and policy

Against the advice of my own bank, in a vulnerable moment I was persuaded to take out a home loan with Westpac for a second property which I could not sustain. After building delays had blown out, the cost and my contract employment ceased. It...

Full review

Against the advice of my own bank, in a vulnerable moment I was persuaded to take out a home loan with Westpac for a second property which I could not sustain. After building delays had blown out, the cost and my contract employment ceased. It ended by costing me around $300,000 from my superannuation and to keep the house I paid off with ANZ and then stood to lose. I believe they acted in a predatory manner against my interests.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jennie (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy accessibility and very good customer service

Staff have always been helpful and patient, explaining when I don't understand anything or need clarity. They are always considerate. My husband and I are getting older and we often have to ask more than once for clarity and the staff have never...

Full review

Staff have always been helpful and patient, explaining when I don't understand anything or need clarity. They are always considerate. My husband and I are getting older and we often have to ask more than once for clarity and the staff have never been impatient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kathleen (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

The people have always been friendly. I can't seem to get ahead with our mortgage though and have sat down with them to see if we can get a better deal but I can't seem to be able to. I've been with them for 20 years and would like to see some...

Full review

The people have always been friendly. I can't seem to get ahead with our mortgage though and have sat down with them to see if we can get a better deal but I can't seem to be able to. I've been with them for 20 years and would like to see some kind of loyalty reward system.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lesley (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Equity Access home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent service

Westpac have always managed our personal and business banking in a professional manner.

Full review

Westpac have always managed our personal and business banking in a professional manner.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pam (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great services

Staff are friendly and provide good advice.

Full review

Staff are friendly and provide good advice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Too quick to pass on higher rates

They have all the latest products, but they also have some of the highest charges. Still a great bank overall.

Full review

They have all the latest products, but they also have some of the highest charges. Still a great bank overall.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Frances (SA), reviewed over 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A competitive rate available with no ongoing fees
    • Minimum of 5% deposit required for owner-occupied loans (conditions apply)
    • Reduce interest by making additional payments. Access your extra funds via a redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.70% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $330

    Go to site

    More info

    • A competitive rate available with no ongoing fees
    • Minimum of 5% deposit required for owner-occupied loans (conditions apply)
    • Reduce interest by making additional payments. Access your extra funds via a redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.70% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $330
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $535.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 52 Aussie home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Customer-Owned Banking & Home Lender of the Year 2018

    interest rate

    3.72% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.12% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Customer-Owned Banking & Home Lender of the Year 2018
    • Interest rate: 3.72% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.12% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 509 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top