Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.2/10
Value for money
7.5/10
Policy coverage
7.1/10
Customer service
7.3/10
Claims handling
6.5/10
Trust
6.8/10
Based on 1169 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    When u have car accident, you can't get anything

    worst of worst.. they made me send 5 year driving history, and sent me link. but that link doesn't work.. I applied 4 months ago, but still pending.. I will never do it again with this company.. worst...

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tom, South Australia, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not recommended

    I got my car involved in minor accident , no issues with accepting claim with evidence, but very bad customer service , call centre based in Brisbane and never return call if it drop after 30 minutes on wait , given car rental for 14 days but there accessor takes 15 days to access car and send me unacceptable list to use non genuine- used parts to fix car , which is unrealistic and still arguments going on , don't know what's going to happen with my car . As it's over 1r days and want rental car back and I ll be left without any car don't know how my kids are going to go to school now.. do be careful with them

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Davinder, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    be aware these people are so dodgy

    the worst ever save yourself the hassle and insure with professional company not a stupid company like this

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Yusri, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Best customer service in the industry.

    It was easy to sign up and there were no hidden fees. Customer service is very friendly and you don't have to wait on hold for hours.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Less
    Eli, South Australia, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Legal action required.

    Claimed 11/04/2021. Agreed value $8050. Damage quoted $6300. Advised they are repairing my car. Chassis damage, radiator, bonnet air conditioning unit etc. Advised car MAY be ready after 17/05/2021. I had to do 95% of contacting Budget Direct and 90% contacting the yard to find out details and if a decision had been made or not. My complaints call from my assessor WAS NOT recorded. Very concerning. Next consult - AFCA. Terrible experience. No concern for the impact this has had on me.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Anita, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    “Deceptive” and “scam”

    I have been a customer with Budget Direct for a number of years. Recently, a family member of mine had a collision with a pedestrian. The pedestrian was entirely at fault and the police came to the scene. An incident report was prepared by the police and the pedestrian provided all her details. This information was all relayed back to Budget when I put in my claim so that I could have the damage to my car repaired and despite this and the fact that the family member is covered under my policy, Budget have automatically charged an excess fee. After speaking with them and explaining the situation, I was advised they would get a hold of the incident report from the police and provided it corroborated my claim, the excess fee would be waived and my no claims benefit would not be affected. It has been nearly two weeks and they have not actioned this. When I called to follow up, their response was we are not going to look further into this and we will not be obtaining the report. You are required to pay the excess as we have no guarantee we can successfully recover the costs.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Assil, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Beware hidden charges and bad custome service

    I am having a car breakdown right now and called out for the tow. They promised some one will arrive in 1-1.5 hours. Person came after 2 hours after several attempts of calling them. Somebody parked in-front of me and he did not have jump start to start the car so he asked for $220 extra which budget direct will not cover. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING from this company. I feel cheated after this single incident. I am customer since last 2 years but I will cancel my all policies with them for the hidden charges.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ron, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Been using them for years, quotes are great value

    I've been using Budget Direct car insurance for years. 5 different cars over that time and their quotes have always been good value. The web dashboard is nice and easy to use too, for viewing your polices etc. Never had to make a claim with them, so no opinion there, but everything else has been nice and easy. I'm happy to stick with them.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Jay, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great company

    I love my insurance company. They’re easily contactable (for example you can chat online or call and they can start an sms with you). Cons it’s expensive (like any other insurance company though). I was in a car accident and because I was under the age of 25 I had to pay $1300 excess and now the price has increased even more

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Olivia, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great value.

    Good value, hail warnings by SMS, easy renewal process, automatic payments.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Gregory, South Australia, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Easy to deal with

    Easy to deal with and quite competitive on price.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tim, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Budget savings

    They seem pretty good? Haven’t had to do a claim with them yet though??

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Tasmania, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service

    Had a recent experience with a claim and it was excellent service

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lisa, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Communication is great

    Budget direct made the whole experience oh picking which insurance and monthly payment easy. They were very helpful in setting up named drivers and explained everything in detail over the phone.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Melanie, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Budget direct is simple

    Budget direct is wonderful, good customer service, claims are quick and easy. I wouldn't choose any other insurer. Just wonderful.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Marlee, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.