Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 1264 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    No fault claim - insurance refused by all!!!

    Our daughter has previously and since this claim, never had an accident. Parked in a university car park, a tradesman has crashed into her car when she was in class. With damage to the whole side of the car, a claim was made for under $5,000. A “no fault “ claim was paid out. All efforts were maid for witnesses and security footage - none available Then, they refuse her insurance - the refusal has impacted her getting insurance at all now!!! How is this ok?

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Wouldn't bother

    Ok but car still not fixed after 3 months and they were happy to take my $500 no follow up at all so it's a bit like take the money and run.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Janine, Western Australia, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Great service and prices

    They provide very completive rates and easy to deal with.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Stephen, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Real bad insurance of the year

    when making a claim, the process is taking too long before the car can be arranged to get repaired. Even when the car has been arranged for repairing, they don't even have any communications to you and let you know the car is being repaired or what's so ever, nothing at all. When you choose Comprehensive insurance but you don't choose option that's allowed you to choose your own repair then Budget Direct choose really damn cheap repair panel "Brighton Repair" then they will tale as long as they like to repair your car. Mine one is taking almost 3 months and nothing indicated that my car is being finished. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Tam, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Reasonable

    So far have been good and reasonably priced insurance.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Michelle, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Budget Direct is the best insurance company

    I moved to QLD 3 years ago and have had 2 accidents since moving. No fault of mine. Hit both times by P plate drivers and have had no problems with either of my claims. Handled fast and efficiently. I also have roadside assist and have needed it a couple of times and am very thankful I have it as they have been very quick and efficient to assist.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Deborah, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Awesome cheap insurance with Quilty service

    Great customer service and very competitive prices.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Driver at fault claim definition is flawed.

    Claims definition is flawed, particularly for at fault. In my experience, my passenger damaged a parked third party vehicle which required me to claim driver at fault and pay excess. While I accept the paying of an excess, the loss of my no claim discount and now paying a penalty on higher premiums for 3 years despite a spotless driving record (no claims for 10 years, no demerit points for 13 years) is unacceptable to me. This company did not consider any of these factors in assessing the passenger at fault claim.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Leigh, Queensland, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Easy to use.

    Easy to sign up with, good updates on policies and relevant information.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Elliott, Queensland, reviewed 27 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Pretty Good

    Always willing to relook at quote provided for renewal and suggest changes. You have to be very careful that you respond on requests for milage on insurance policy linked to milage.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Wade, New South Wales, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Fully customisable and excellent value for money

    Budget direct was far cheaper than my previous insurance and I absolutely love the ability to customise based on your needs. On their website you can easily change your premium, excess, level of coverage and personal information. You can also choose how you pay, ie. weekly, fortnightly, monthly or yearly and you can change that at any time. 100% recommend.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Laura, Tasmania, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Not to many insurers around as good as budget dire

    I like budget direct always seem to be the cheapest. I have never made a claim so l don't know how efficient they are at processing claims.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Less
    Christopher, Queensland, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Excellent very happy with service,

    The service is personable, professional and they are quick to resolve issues such as accident claims. I have not had any bad experiences in dealing with budget direct.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Fiona, South Australia, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Budget friendly.

    They are very budget friendly.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Rachel, Queensland, reviewed 26 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Easy to join, no email harassment big plus

    I find the company easy to deal with, the process of commencing my cover was very simple and easy and any contact, I have had with the company has been satisfactory.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Lydia, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.