Thumbnail icon for Budget Direct

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.6/10
Value for money
7.8/10
Policy coverage
7.3/10
Customer service
7.7/10
Claims handling
6.9/10
Trust
7.2/10
Based on 974 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Discounts available
No claim|Online discount up to 15%
Quote time
2 to 3 minutes
Monthly premiums available
costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Well pleased with product and professionalism.

    Very personable, patient and honest when signing up. Answered all questions, friendly and professional. Un-rushed and professional telephone team. I'm happy with my Budget Direct product result.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Debra, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Bad.

    Unreliable and lack any sort of customer service.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Renie, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst insurance.

    If you have lost any demerit points, they don't cover you at all. Worst insurance company, I had the worst experience with them. I was paying for years and thought I would be insured with them but nope. After a car accident I found out that they would not cover my car or other people's car because I lost 3 demerit points speeding over 2 years ago, so they left me with over $40,000 in debt.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Mary, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good service.

    Great when I had an accident which was not my fault. So easy to deal with.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Diana, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very competitive pricing and good level of cover.

    Very good value for the policy inclusions.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Always pleasant to deal with.

    Great competitive rates and service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Dez, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst experience. They’re rejecting claims.

    They’ve took me through a humiliating experience with previous insurances I had at past. Dragged the claim on for weeks before coming to the decision that they will reject my claim. Paid car rental during that period. Terrible experience and wouldn't recommend this to other people.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great price for basic insurance.

    I have been with Budget Direct since the start of the year. I have saved a lot of money and I made a claim which was very easy and then I decided not to continue with the claim and it was no problem. I am satisfied.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Bianca, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive premiums and easy to sign up.

    They have been pretty cheap, but the proof is in the pudding when I have to make a claim.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Lawrence, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service and competitive premiums.

    Very competitive prices, easy to deal with and great customer service.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    The same as any other insurance company.

    They are just like any other insurance company, promise the earth, and give you mud.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Less
    Paul, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Top notch car insurance.

    Best price and good communication, would recommend to a friend.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Brett, Western Australia, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not great

    They are increasing their pricing every year

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Doug, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Competitive premiums and good communication

    This is my second year with Budget Direct and their competitiveness was apparent. They provided ample notification of the upcoming renewal, allowing time for me to compare with other providers and confirmed with me when the renewal was complete.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Geoffrey, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Lowest premium

    I just transferred to budget direct because they are the one with the lowest rate.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Roberto, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.