Thumbnail icon for Budget Direct

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.4/10
Value for money
7.6/10
Policy coverage
7.2/10
Customer service
7.5/10
Claims handling
6.7/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 1007 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disgusting, ready to go to another company

    Terrible call centre and just poor handling of customer complaints. Under trained staff members ripping off customer.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Chloe, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not insure with Budget if you want a fair deal.

    Budget may be cheap but overall they are bad. My son had an attempted theft on his car. In the process the car was damaged. Budget sent him to a repairer on the other side of the city who kept the car for weeks and virtually did nothing. After many complaints Budget then sent him to someone else who finally fixed everything. When his renewal notice arrived he was expecting an increase in premiums because of the claim. Budget did not increase his premium - instead they cancelled his policy, meaning it would be difficult for him to get insurance elsewhere. Budget tried to tell him this was standard policy after a theft (there was no theft, only an attempted one). There was no mention of a cancellation for theft in the terms and conditions for a theft (there probably is one now). After many very difficult arguments with one of the senior people in Budget they agreed to renew his policy at a huge increase in price. That did not worry him since he had no intention of renewing the policy with them. Do not insure with Budget if you want a fair deal with them.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mary, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Budget direct is a joke

    Budget direct is a disgrace. This company is a joke. Mine and my sister cars were stolen in a home burglary. I’m with AAMI they agreed to waive my excess because they know how to look after there clients and because of the circumstances but budget direct will not waive my sisters fee because they wish to profit off us. This company is trash don’t go with these guys they don’t care about there clients well being.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Money hungry in your time of need

    Lodged a claim online because of a minor ding to the car (our fault). I didn't know what was going on or what needed to happen as I have never used insurance before. They ring me and ask for payment of $1800 and I haven't even had a quote yet for repairs. They wanted to slug me my excess + extra because the driver was under 24 and because they hadn't had there full license long enough (which is impossible for someone under 24). So unhelpful and rude over the phone, just quoting policy. You pay for it thinking it will be there when you need it and when you need it BAM! a big bill. doesn't seem worth the monthly cost I have been paying. Oh and because this is my first claim, they would change my rating and increase the monthly fee.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ben, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    P-Plater’s Horrible First Insurer. $30k in Debt.

    Budget direct offered the world at a competitive price - what could go wrong? Unfortunately, 3 years later I was involved in a car accident where I was at fault, writing off three cars, and they denied my claim. There was $30k worth of write off damage, approximately $10k each and denied my claim through a driving discrepancy from 2 years prior when I was on my P-Plates (only offence). The service I received was disgusting, they caused me such severe anxiety attacks that I had to go on medication. I am also now $20k In debt with an additional car loan on top. So far I have shared my experience with family, friends and work colleagues and have shed some light on this dodgy ‘insurance’ company. I am happy to say that I have gotten over 30 people to cancel their insurance policies with this disreputable company. I wasn’t going to write a review, but after seeing some television ads recently, I thought, “what if another young driver is financially ruined by this scam”. I hope this review makes people consider that saving a few bucks isn’t everything, please, I urge you to pay that extra $20 a month to a reputable insurer that will look after you.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Ang, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Young drivers ignored.

    Will not insure drivers under 30 years of age when driving a Holden vehicle.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Mr, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Cheaper but not good value. Risky

    My car was damaged in a hail storm. Budget Direct did everything to avoid paying for the repairs even suspended my insurance. All this because they got misinformation from the initial assessors.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Anton, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Atrocious customer service.

    Cheap premiums and complete lack of customer service. The staff do not understand road rules and do not look into claims properly, they just want a quick recovery of excess even at the cost of the driver who is NOT at fault. Not worth saving the few dollars to go with.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Carmen, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Poor customer service- extremely frustrating

    It's taken me an entire day and numerous phone calls just to renew a policy! I Had my old car with budget direct (gold comprehensive and no claims) and just bought a brand new car. I wanted to get insurance for my new car and the call centre team don't seem to know what they are doing. I have been put on hold numerous times and was originally quoted $790 and confirmed via phone that would be the final price and then when I finally received half (yes only half) of the policy it was for $1090. I am now back on the phone and have been placed on hold for the past 20mins which is why I've had time to write this review. She's stated I'm already locked in so I can't even change insurance. Cannot express my frustration enough!

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, South Australia, reviewed 17 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent.

    A tree fell on my car 16 days ago and it was assessed as a total loss. I was regularly kept updates as to how my claim was progressing and was paid in full as per the agreed value that my car was insured for.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ken, New South Wales, reviewed 27 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Not a great coverage despite comprehensive ins.

    I have never experienced such a disrespectful and unqualified customer service. Two weeks after lodging a claim after an accident (that I didn't cause) in which my car has been written off, I still haven't recovered any money and worse, I have had to contact them repeatedly and have been transferred to so many departments, all for the same result, none. Most of their employees have been unable to explain to me where the claim was and how I could recover any money but worse than just being unhelpful, they have been so unsympathetic and at times ironic. Also, you will note that despite being not at fault and having my car written off, the insurance is now asking me to pay upfront the rest of the year with us, as if my car was still insured. I will never use them ever again.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Nicole, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Customer service was very smooth and easy

    I randomly chose this provider and asked for a bundle with car and house contents. Was affordable.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Less
    Glenn, South Australia, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Go somewhere else.

    Seem very sketchy. Tried to get me to pay my excess of $1100 even though I wasn't at fault or even in my car.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Frankie, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Absolute Dogs

    These people are absolute dogs. Don’t care about you or your situation. Took over 6 weeks to resolve a claim and over 20 hours worth of phone call. I also have a newborn baby and had to use my wifes car and my family was stuck at home. They said they didn’t care about my situation. I was left in the dark the whole time. Had to track down different departments myself. Was told false information in the claims department. Would definitely not recommend these dogs!

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Amon, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They are good if you never have to use insurance.

    Had insurance with them for a couple of years then I had my car stolen (thieves broke into my house at night and stole my car keys then stole my car). I made a claim, all went well, damages repaired etc. (although it did take two months to get the car back after it was located). Then BD refused to renew my insurance policy based on my 'claims history.'

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Joe, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.