Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.3/10
Value for money
7.6/10
Policy coverage
7.2/10
Customer service
7.4/10
Claims handling
6.6/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 1089 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Hope your car never gets stolen.

    Got my car stolen. Made a claim. They forgot about my car and had to call to see what was happening after a week of not hearing. Miscommunication between insurance and assessor leading to more time without car. Then got told my rating got changed to 3 saying I was at fault because they hadn’t caught the thieves. Renewal time and got told they won’t renew my insurance.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tracey, Queensland, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not able to receive refund for year claim

    If you are to make a claim on your car whether at fault or not you will not receive a refund when cancelling your policy. I was involved in a not at fault accident in which I organised for my car to be fixed through budget direct in which they sent the other insurance company the bill for. Even though at the end of the day they got their money back for fixing the car and I did not have to pay an excess due to not being at fault I am unable to receive any of my money back for the year that I paid for. Will not be going through budget direct again.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jade, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Happy, helpful team members that are happy to help

    We have been with our insurer Budget Direct for a few years. They are very helpful and we think it's great value. Any queries are always solved and the team are happy to help.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tezz, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Amazing and caring in times of need.

    They are easy, affordable and have very friendly customer service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Best priced.

    Good balance of cover and price. Highly competitive pricing. Found their customer service to be pretty decent, no long wait times and no fiddling around.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ivana, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The best known and trusted brands in Australia

    Always the cheapest for our insurance and when we had to claim it was easy and fast no fuss. Would not go anywhere else.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Frank, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don’t chose Budget Direct, terrible customer care

    They have the cheapest car insurance and I understand why. Wouldn’t recommend Budget Direct to my worst enemy.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sheree, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Insurance is necessary but no perfect policy.

    Insurance is one of those things you just need to have. I think that all policies with all companies have their good and bad.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Brenda, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    I have had no issues.

    I like the fact they are cheap. Didn’t like the fact I couldn’t insure my bike as the model wasn’t listed on their database.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Matt, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great company

    Great company, handles all claims well and is cheap.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Budget direct is the best

    Smooth fast and efficient claims process. Insurer was professional and easy to deal with. Asked all the right questions and ensured my car was dealt with in a timely manner. An affordable insurer I couldn’t go with anyone else.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Tessa, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Budget Direct rip off.

    Claimed on a no fault car accident, premium went up $300 next renewal. Recently my son was car jacked, the police caught the thief and charged them, Budget refused to renew his policy but fix the car but only minor scratches. Would only give half of the excess back after a lot of complaining and the threat of legal action. This was my son's only claim. Buyer beware, this company is shonky.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive and reliable.

    Never had a bad experience with them yet and they are always cost competitive.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Gary, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    There's nothing budget about budget direct!

    Budget Direct is an ironic insurer for my little tin car, as there seems to be nothing budget about it! I have a little grey Mazda, affectionately known at Tinny, which is not worth much but I seem to pay a lot in insurance! In the few instances I've had to lodge a claim, it has taken the Budget Direct team quite some time to respond to me, as well as dealing with a lot of long lines and red tape! I wouldn't recommend Budget Direct to my friends or colleagues, unless they lower their budget, in which case they'd have to name it something else!

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    3 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    India, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very affordable across all insurance policies

    All my insurance policies are with Budget Direct.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Suzi, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.