Budget Direct logo

Budget Direct Car insurance customer reviews

Overall rating
Value for money
Policy coverage
Customer service
Claims handling
Trust
Based on 1322 car insurance reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$550 - $1,900 (varies by state)
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Budget Direct customer review

    I have used Budget Direct for 5+ years and always been very happy with them. They're always competitive with their pricing and have great customer service. Very happy with Budget Direct!

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Jen, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Worst car insurance company

    I don't recommend Budget Direct. It might be cheaper than some but nasty when it came to claim. I have been a member with them since 2016 for full car comprehensive for my car and I have never made a claim before either, they rejected my claim as I was not the driver at the time of the accident. What is the purpose of having full insurance? They make excuses not to cover my car. The customer service is also the worst. You have to keep chasing them up to find out your outcome. They were rude and unhelpful. They never respond to any of my inquiries when asked. It took them over 2 to 3 months to finalize my case. It gives you a lot of stress and is not easy to deal with. Insure with them at your own risk. The worst insurance I have ever dealt with. Don't waste your money and time.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    P, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Budget Direct: A 6/10 Journey

    Joining Budget Direct, I was carrying a pretty clean insurance slate well into my late 40s. The feeling of security with a reputable insurance company was reassuring. Then, out of the blue, an evening drive turned into a wildlife encounter that wrote my car off and thrust me into the world of insurance claims. At first, everything ran like clockwork. The initial claim submission was straightforward, and I felt that everything would be sorted out quickly and efficiently. That's the level of service I signed up for, and initially, it seemed like I was going to get just that. But the wheels started to come off when the word 'investigation' was mentioned. It's a strange feeling, the shift from customer to 'person of interest.' I understood the need for due diligence, but I couldn't help but feel a twinge of offense at the suggestion that my claim was anything but genuine. This feeling was further compounded by the drawn-out nature of the investigation. Time ticked by, and with each passing day, my patience and trust in the system began to wane. Communicating with Budget Direct during this period was another sticking point. The sense of being just another number in the queue became palpable as I was shuffled between claims managers. It wasn't just the inconvenience of repeating my story; it was the underlying feeling of inefficiency and impersonality that chipped away at the company's initial good impression. Despite these challenges, I must acknowledge that in the end, my claim was resolved. The final settlement was fair, and for that, they earned back some of the goodwill that was lost during the process. Moreover, receiving an apology for the delay showed a level of accountability that I respect. It was a gesture that, while not undoing the hassle, did provide a sense of closure. To sum up my experience with Budget Direct: it's a mix of efficiency at the outset, frustration in the middle, and eventual relief at the conclusion. The company proved it could deliver, but the journey there was far from the straightforward path I was led to expect. It's a solid 6 out of 10 for me - they came through, but the ride was definitely bumpier than anticipated. I hope my experience is a catalyst for them to streamline their claims process and reinforce the confidence customers place in them at the outset.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Danny, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Robin

    I HAVE NOT MADE A CLAIM, HOWEVER THE INITIAL INFORMATION AVAILABLE AND EASE OF SIGNING UP WAS ATTRACTIVE

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Robin, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Excellent

    Great customer service Easy to deal with Very easy to renew polices Very affordable

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Stuart, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Also have house insurance with budget

    Never made a claim so it is very hard to review

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Less
    Stephen, South Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Great freindly service

    Very friendly service and very helpful.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Budget Direct car insurance

    Great value for coverage and also the optional road service with them.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Thomas, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Great service at a reasonable price

    Budget Direct provides a good service for a pretty reasonable price. Compared to other providers, I’ve found Budget Direct to be cheaper but still upholds credibility and professionalism. I switched from another provider to Budget Direct a few years ago and don’t think I’ll be changing again any time soon.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Unreliable company

    I had my car stolen few years ago, and I had some fights towards them to get money from my insurance. I don’t know they do staff education about insurance policy. As I asked them if they could cover my stolen car via online chat and phone chat to one of customer service person and they said “yes”. However, other person who I spoke to few days later said “no”. I was so disappointed as they said “yes” at one stage, then changed their answer. I could not get money from my insurance cover. I don’t trust them at all.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Eri, Queensland, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    They need to follow up better

    At the end of my last phone call they realized someone else was also paying an insurance on the same car! They were mean send me to another service to work it out but never it… This insurance will always try to get away from paying instead of trying to help you out.

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Marion, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Good Value...UNTIL YOU HAVE TO CLAIM!!

    Had to claim for rogue vehicle driving into my property and damaging my car. I was not home at the time although the police did attend. I have never received such bad service since I made a claim. Despite providing them with a Police Incident number from the start I am still being harassed over 5 weeks later to make an excess payment. It took 10 days to tow my vehicle and was 4 weeks after the claim to have it finally assessed. I claimed my initial 14 days rental car and was then refused an extension as they claim that they cannot get information on the other party even though it is in the police Report. I now have no way to get to work and all they have offered is a corporate discount for a car rental company which is over 40km away. I finally received information that my vehicle was a Total Loss at 5pm 13/10/23 and they would be deducting the excess from the Settlement. When I phoned again 16/10/23 to ask why they are still requesting I pay the excess I was told that there was no record of a request by Budget Direct for the Police Report, same again 20/10/23. As such I am still awaiting them to waive the excess and also reimburse me for the car rental I was forced to pay. Incidentally my House Insurance through a different Insurer received the Police Report 12/10/23 and have since settled, waiving the excess. Budget Direct claimed 29/9/23 that the delay on receiving the Police Report was due to the Police, I informed them 16/10/23 that this could not be the case as my other Insurer had received and processed all details 13/10/23. As of 20/10/23 I have still not been given a straight answer from Budget Direct as to when or even if they have requested the relevant Police Report. I am still currently having to pay for a Rental Car and have also today lodged a complaint with the AFCA. Have found dealing with Budget Direct more stressful and traumatizing than the original damage to my property. Yes it is cheap, but you find out why its cheap when you actually have to make a claim

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance

    Disspointed with Budget Direct

    Made 1 claim due to my car was stolen . Car recovered next day with minor to medium class repair needs. On insurance renewal notices later Budget Direct advised of unable to offer Comprehensive insurance renewal due to few risk factors: Age and make of car (Mazda cx5 year 2014) Q ? Where it is usually parked ( locked garage/residence) Q? Driving history (my driving history in 52 years of car/HR /R licence , never made a any type of insurance claim , never had any legal issues with the law . Q? So the letter received says : in this case the claims history of one of the drivers on the policy falls outside of our acceptance. For all the above a No to Budget Direct Insurance

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Jose, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Good overall

    Good coverage Benefits good Communication somewhat good

    Value for money
    Policy coverage
    Customer service
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Noha, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance

    Budget Direct is NEGLIGENT in investigation

    Budget Direct makes the entire claim process very difficult by not communicating with me and being negligent in handling my case. I lodged a defence claim with BD in Feb 2023 and they did not do their due diligence in doing a proper investigation. Their process includes NOT calling you to verify your statement, NOT calling any witnesses or even the other party, NOT calling you to explain their decision. BD also gave me false advice to NOT file a police report which affects my chances of a successful defence claim. AVOID BD at all costs, your $$ is better spent elsewhere!

    Value for money
    Claims handling
    Trust
    Less
    Gloria, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.