Thumbnail icon for Budget Direct

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.5/10
Value for money
7.7/10
Policy coverage
7.3/10
Customer service
7.6/10
Claims handling
6.8/10
Trust
7.1/10
Based on 988 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Discounts available
No claim|Online discount up to 15%
Quote time
2 to 3 minutes
Monthly premiums available
costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Best prices.

    Best prices and claiming was easy!

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Troy, South Australia, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Still waiting for my refund.

    It has taken over 3 weeks for them to refund me my yearly premium (but took it out straight away.) Would not let me change it to monthly, going else where.

    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Anonymous, New South Wales, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    ACCC should investigate Budget Direct

    Made a purchase enquiry with them. Be very careful with the fine print, they do not insure your car for market or agreed value, they determine what it's value is which is very misleading and deceptive and a possible breach of the trade practices act.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Darren, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Unfair cancellation refund policy.

    Decent cover but unfair policy when you cancel. I sold my car so called to seek a refund for the remaining term. I had a non-at-fault crash which will have resulted in no cost to Budget Direct - all costs will have been paid by the other driver's NRMA policy. Despite this Budget Direct refused to provide a refund for the remaining months of my policy, when I sold my car, because of this non-at-fault claim. Unfair, I think so.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Unfair and rigid policies for unforeseeable events

    I had my car intentionally damaged in short succession and in the same location on my car by a person who I had lodged a domestic violence statement against. A horrible experience made even worse by Budget Direct refusing to treat this as one claim. I had to pay 2x excess, even though there was no fault whatsoever on my part. This will also impact future premiums, ability to get insurance. Staff are pleasant enough but have no discretion. I’ve had to sell my car as a result. When cancelling they also refused to refund the pro rata excess paid, after the $40 cancellation fee, because I’d ‘used’ the insurance.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, South Australia, reviewed 17 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Lowest budget prices!

    Insurance premiums lowest around. Breakdown service good used several times. Have never had to claim, so not sure on claims process.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Less
    Theresa, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Bad customer service.

    There are a lot of hidden costs and customer service is limited. When you talk to them all they do is repeat a pre-written script; they don't help you or even allow for negotiation. You will save a few hundred by buying a policy from them however you will pay it all back if you ever get into an accident because they make you pay, irrespective if you are at fault or not.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Omid, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Awful to deal with.

    After still waiting a week later I am still waiting to find out if their at fault driver will have their claim accepted. As I am not the client and don't have insurance with them, they won't provide information about claim status and the driver refuses to deal with me. So here I am, accident not even my fault, but I'm left with an undriveable car, no response as yet, my own insurance cannot touch it until they provide a final response (I have 3rd party insurance), loss of wages first day of accident, driver at fault is an absolute dodgy pig and today have been told I just have to wait for however long for them to make a decision. I mean how hard can it be? On another occasion again one of their clients was at fault and I had comprehensive insurance but I still had to testify in court because Budget didn't want to pay all parties involved in crash (4 cars). Judge made them pay.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Carla, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Budget do not reward loyal customers.

    Our entire family have been loyal customers for years with my daughter listed on my policy for years. Despite this Budget insist on applying the worst rating making her insurance cover unaffordable. So much for rewarding customer loyalty. I will not be renewing my policy with Budget!

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jordy, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Confused.

    I have lodged a claim and I have not heard from Budget Direct. I have had to call them multiple times and each time I speak to someone I am told different information. At this stage I don’t know whether my car will ever be fixed.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Zoe, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Budget Direct SUCK

    They are cheap, until you make a claim. Then they refuse to renew policy. My daughter is on her L plates. I put her on policy as a named driver and paid the increase in premiums. She had a minor accident, with damages around $3000. Young driver excess was $2000. Which I paid. When my renewal came through, I got a letter saying I was refused due to driving history. Now when trying get a new policy from other insurers, I need to notify that "Have you ever been refused insurance?"

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Nigel, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Insurance not worth the paper its written on.

    Being the victim of a crime is never nice. Having an insurance policy is supposed to mitigate the financial burden of the crime and not add to the stressful experienced. I purchased the insurance based on price and the awards they received from money magazine. For the second year I reviewed the renewal quote they provided versus one I submitted on their own website. Naturally I stayed with them for a second year when they committed to price match a quote from their own. On the night of the 29th of December my car was stolen from my driveway between 8.30pm and 11am the next day. There was no witnesses and at the time of writing the vehicle is still missing. I had locked the car and went into my house about 8pm after pumping up the wheels and I had foolishly left a spare key in the centre console earlier in the day. The centre console is made up of two levels and the key would have been on the bottom level. The console is also covered with a door. The car also had very dark tinting which would make it very hard for any thief to see a key was in the car. Based on leaving the spare key in the console my claim was rejected. Looking at their website they say 18% of cars are stolen with key in them. Are they saying that they reject 18% of stolen car claims? https://www.budgetdirect.com.au/car-insurance/research/car-theft-statistics.html I find this disgraceful and want all potential customer to be aware that the cheap insurance option is not the option that will cushion your fall should you have an accident or theft happen to you.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Robbie, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst company for insurance.

    I had comprehensive cover for my car with Budget Direct. I made a claim for an accident not caused by me. They asked me for my 5-Year Driving History and some details for two other no at fault claims I had in (me also not at fault). All this had nothing to do with the current claim. After that they said because I had a claim earlier, even if i was not at fault, they would increase my premium and asked me to provide more money for my balance. I cancelled my policy straight after that.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Harish, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Horrible experience!

    We are not at fault. The driver who hit us from the back was with Budget Direct. When speaking to a customer service representative, we got told “your car is currently undrivable potentially due to your own mechanical problem and has nothing to do with the car accident you are involved. BD is not liable for car towing for you.” What a fallacy! I got hit from the back; my kids in the car got terrified because of the big collision and we got bumped forwards for 2 metres. Then we couldn’t start the engine. This happened on the road, immediately after we got hit! Even my own mechanics said it’s a common thing to occur because the petrol tank got damaged. Seriously, I don’t know how Budget Direct won the insurance company of the year.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Gary, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Well pleased with product and professionalism.

    Very personable, patient and honest when signing up. Answered all questions, friendly and professional. Un-rushed and professional telephone team. I'm happy with my Budget Direct product result.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Debra, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.