Thumbnail icon for Budget Direct

Budget Direct Car insurance reviews

Overall rating
7.4/10
Value for money
7.6/10
Policy coverage
7.1/10
Customer service
7.5/10
Claims handling
6.6/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 1053 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured car insurance from Budget Direct

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Monthly premiums available
Yes costs extra
Agreed or market value
Agreed or Market
Choice of excess
$500 - $1,850
Choice of repairer
Optional Extra

Promoted

Recent Budget Direct car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Easy to use as a first car owner.

    Budget Direct was easy to navigate as a first car owner. To chat to and understand the different levels of cover and what they included, the team was friendly and used language that wasn’t overly technical, while still explaining the service in full, which I liked. It is hard to trust any insurer I guess, because there are always stories about companies taking advantage of those who didn’t know or didn’t have a lot of experience dealing with insurers before, but Budget made me feel relatively comfortable within my experience and if I had any questions about the cover, it was easy enough to call and figure out. I found that a few of the customer service and sales team representatives spoke a little bit fast and made me feel a little overwhelmed but were nice when I asked them to please slow down, repeat the statement or asked them to help me understand. A con might be that although Budget Direct has won a lot of sales awards, that my partner's family (older, set in their ways Italian family) were still a bit skeptical and felt that Budget wasn’t quite part of the ‘big’ insurers. Which made me feel a little bit uneasy at times.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Christina, Victoria, reviewed about 11 hours ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Affordable with great coverage.

    I have been with Budget direct for 4 years now. Never had a problem with them whatsoever, even when I’ve been involved in a car accident. They’re very prompt in settling claims. I have recommended them to my family.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elle, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Ramped up premium after no fault accident.

    Ramped up my premium after no fault accident.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Policy coverage
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Kristian, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent insurance, best coverage, best price.

    Budget Direct was by far the cheapest quote I had for comprehensive insurance, and had all the cover I was looking for. Setting up direct debit was easy, and the customer service staff are exceptional: helpful, friendly and courteous. I honestly believe that Budget Direct are the best choice for comprehensive car insurance,

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Katie, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great cover for little price.

    Super easy to use, easy to read and understand policies. Seems cheap for what you get.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Biggest joke of a company

    Tried to switch car policies from my old car to new one. After being dropped from a call and never called back. I called again only this time to be constantly put on hold and then told that the system was down and they couldn’t do anything. Then I was called back and told system was up again but guess what apparently it wasn’t. Then they said we’ll do a manual setup and fix the payment after. After agreeing and going through the same things for the fourth time I was told that they would not insure me because the car had sports suspension and exhaust. Biggest joke of a company. I wish I hadn’t used them for the last 3 years and never claimed a cent. Shame on you Budget.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Huseyin, New South Wales, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best car insurance

    Budget is the cheapest car insurance I have found. You get a discount if you pay upfront for 12 months.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great service.

    Budget are quick to help at any time. I’ve broken down a few times and they are quick to organise a tow and they are unlimited and I’ve never experienced that with another insurer.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Danielle, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Happy customer

    Excellent to chat with someone on the end of the line who is helpful.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Bec, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Cheap, nightmare if you need to make a claim.

    Yes, they have been nominated best budget car insurance for many years, yes the premiums are low, and everything is great until you need to make a claim. Then good luck trying to get answers as to what is happening with your claim, be prepared to spend a long time waiting on the phone. I was hit by a car, at night, rainy awful weather, she drove straight into my drivers side door, she admitted fault, and that she had forgotten to put her lights on since leaving the service station, I had an independent witness that stopped, gave his details was happy to be a witness. I was told over and over they had been unable to contact him. Eventually I rang the witness myself, who stated he had never been contacted by insurance company ever at any stage. He rang them himself to give a statement verifying information. They still kept my $750 excess until I put a report in with afca.org which I highly recommend. Only then and reluctantly did they return my $750. They were a nightmare to deal with.

    Value for money
    2 / 10
    Policy coverage
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tanya, South Australia, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good value.

    Good value, good cover.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Less
    Karl, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good value for money car insurance.

    Good value for money car insurance with really good customer service!

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Hayden, Victoria, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service

    Good service and competitive pricing.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 21 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great insurance company with perks!

    Budget Direct has won many recent awards for being a great insurance company. They offer fantastic rates and you can adjust your deductible. They have patient customer service representatives that take the time to answer your questions. They also offer a $60 voucher for Coles with any coverage plan. Their online quote system is second to none and I have only read positive reviews for them so far.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kelly, Western Australia, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great prices and service

    Amazing service and prices. My car has an accelerator modification and normally that would bring a higher premium and drive the price up. But was pleasantly surprised i'm only paying approx $460 as opposed to my old provider in excess of $700. I wish i had changed to them years ago.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alicia, South Australia, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.