HSBC logo

HSBC Home loan customer reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 138 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.
Write a review

Featured home loan from HSBC

Discounted Home Value Loan

interest rate
6.09% p.a. variable
comparison rate
6.09% p.a.

Promoted

Recent HSBC home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Home Loan

    HSBC - ok rates but customer service lacking

    Refinanced with HSBC with a refinance offer. Was generally an ok refinance process with a few issues along the way but nothing major. The website itself and app are horrendous. Much worse than other banks I've used and no support for basic things like PayID. Customer Service has also been fairly hit and miss. Lots of promises and talk of doing things for me but have to constantly chase them up or just have issues unresolved. Not very happy with them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Philip, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Happy with HSBC

    HSBC have been easy to deal with and helpful in every way possible. Their customer service is friendly and professional. Their products are flexible and they are always interested in how to improve their service. They outrate all the other banks we have ever been with by a country mile!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tina, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    "HSBC Bank: Global Charm & Fee Frenzy?"

    Hey there, fellow banking enthusiasts! Let's dive into my HSBC Bank review, sharing why you might like or dislike this financial titan. Here are the pros and cons you should know: Pros: 1. **Jet-Setter's Paradise:** If you're a globetrotter or dream of international ventures, HSBC's global presence ensures you'll never feel stranded far from home. 2. **Product Wonderland:** HSBC's got you covered with a wide range of financial goodies – from snazzy savings accounts to investment options that'll make your wallet dance. 3. **Tech Savvy at Your Fingertips:** Say goodbye to queue nightmares! HSBC's online and mobile banking platforms make handling finances a cakewalk. 4. **VIP Treatment:** Bigwig clients, take note! HSBC's wealth management services cater to your swanky financial demands. Cons: 1. **Branch Locator Quest:** If you crave face-to-face interactions, HSBC's physical branches might not be as numerous as your neighborhood bank's. 2. **Hit-or-Miss Service:** While many folks enjoy seamless service, a few grumble about customer service hiccups now and then. 3. **Fee Frenzy Alert:** Keep your magnifying glass handy! Some services come with higher fees, so peek into the fine print to dodge those pesky surprises. 4. **Budget-Conscious Blues:** Pinching pennies? HSBC's products might demand a tad higher minimum balance than your frugal heart desires. In a nutshell, HSBC's global appeal and product variety make it an attractive choice, but the limited branches and customer service quirks might sway your opinion. Take a moment to mull over your specific needs and match them with this review to find your perfect banking match. Happy banking, folks! May your financial journey be one for the books!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Tasmania, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Will change

    Extended on our current home loan. Was the most frustrating time consuming process

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Laura, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Really Long processing times

    I like this bank but the processing times are huge... refinanced my homeloans to geta better rate but the time all the paperwork was done the rate was the same as what ended up with.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Melissa, South Australia, reviewed 8 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    The worst loan approval process ever!

    The worst loan approval process ever experienced. I am a HSBC customer with an existing home loan and the interest only period was about to expire so I went through the application process for a new loan. That was six months ago and my loan still hasn’t been approved. Each month is a new request for more information, more forms and more support documentation. It’s just ridiculous and no end in sight.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Joe, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC

    Not bad but not awesome

    Mobile banking app has improved & now quite good. I have an awesome fixed rate but variable has gone up & up, now not competitive. Customer service is good, and cash back deal was great at sign up. Will shop around once fixed rate is expiring!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rachel, New South Wales, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Standard Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <60-70%) (Home Loan Package)

    slow on rate drop, fast on rate rises

    When RBA rates go down they take months to pass on savings, but RBA increases result in an instant rate increase

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    HSBC online system & customer service is TERRIBLE

    HSBC online system is terrible. So is their customer service. I cant move money between my accounts! The issue has been going on for a month and I am stuck without access to my own money.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Harneet, Victoria, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Untrustworthy, Unreliable Bank.

    Terrible Experience from the beginning to remortgage. Got trapped for two years and sucked up all the future investment plans and now frustrated and disappointed. Just waiting for the bloody two years contract to be over. Never recommended for young people who would want progress in life. They will do nothing for you but trap you.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Aju, Victoria, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    the worst experience ever

    Absolute worst internet banking and service. will never use them again.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed over 2 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Friendly service and competitive rates.

    LIKE: There is no waiting in queue when calling. Interest rates are very competitive. Call centre is always friendly.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Patrick, New South Wales, reviewed almost 3 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Disgusting behaviour bordering on fraudulent.

    I just spent 1 hour on the phone to them just to get the correct BPAY details so I could pay my credit card. Thats not unusual. My home loan came off a fixed term a month ago, into a time when interest rates are around 1.9% to 2.6% with other banks variable. They smacked me 4.75% and have still not finalised what my variable rate will be and it's been now 5 weeks after my loan came off fixed. They are purposely ensuring they took this time so they could just charge me whatever rate they wanted. I have had to threaten legal action and AFCA to even get them to offer me a better rate which is still more than what is advertised. AFCA took 1 year to credit mistakes with them on my accounts and it's still not finalised. It cost me my health, do not use them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Pass on interest rate cuts to customers.

    Interest rates have been lowered by RBA, yet no offers to lower my loan rates have been received. This is unacceptable in today's market. Banks should be more proactive in this area.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Carol, New South Wales, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    HSBC is the bank to be

    We changed over to HSBC last year and it was the best decision. They have been outstanding and the recent upgrade to their online banking app has made banking even easier. Only con is there isn’t many branches in Victoria.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elise, Victoria, reviewed about 3 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews. Financial providers may, from time to time, offer incentives for reviews, regardless of the sentiment of the reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Home Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      5.80% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      6.05% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      5.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      5.90% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Ultra Low Rate <95% LVR

      interest rate
      6.30% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.58% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Home Variable Rate

      interest rate
      6.15% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.15% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Straight Up

      interest rate
      6.24% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      6.24% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 464 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.