Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC Home loan reviews

Overall rating
7.0/10
Price
6.7/10
Features
6.6/10
Customer service
7.1/10
Convenience
6.4/10
Trust
7.2/10
Based on 110 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great rates, great people so simple to deal with

    I originally banked with Bank of Queensland (BoQ) however after a horrible experience with them I switched to HSBC. Best banking decision of my life. I had banked with BoQ for 23 years, even getting a mortgage with them. After a marriage break up I purchased a new property with my son, however after some consideration I wished to refinance so I could pay him out, however BoQ refused to do so because of my age, 63. I requested for them to put the reasoning in writing and they refused. After this I decided to switch to HSBC and the difference was obvious. They were so easy to deal with, they were extremely straight and honest when talking to me and allowed me to refinance. The best part is that I am now saving about $97 a month just by doing nothing. I want to give a big thank you to HSBC for having faith and seeing that a fit 63 year old man earning decent money is still a worthwhile person. As for BoQ, you have lost all faith from me and I would not recommend you to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Patrick, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Premier Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great bank

    Good service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Priya, Victoria, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Excellent customer service

    They are bank, like all others. Only one branch in Adelaide.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Greg, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Awesome

    Very helpful with everything

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Helen, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive fees

    Although there are not many branches, I like you can withdraw at the post office and use many ATM's at no charge. Service is brilliant and friendly. I hate that I am charged when I phone in to discuss something though, very disappointing, I pay enough in fees, this should be free.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Nikki, South Australia, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great home loan rates

    Great rates and efficient staff. Rates for insurance were very competitive the first year but not when it came around to renewal.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Talei, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service from an old established bank.

    I was with Westpac and ANZ for over 40 years and never knew what customer service was like. HSBC care!

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steve, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Genuine, smart, friendly, trustworthy.

    Great personal service, direct access to the manager and senior personnel. Always available to assist, answer questions and advise. Friendly, real people, with a genuine care for our needs. Rates always competitive.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Shawn, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    They don't offer enough benefits.

    I hate them & would never tell anyone to use them & I wish we could go with another lender.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Mick, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Flexible offset facility means less interest

    I read a book promoting this as the best account to pay off your home loan quickly. They were right! We managed it on a single income in just a few years.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    I have no plans to change from this great bank

    Generally very happy with the bank and its products.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Asha, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Happy but not enough cash points

    Happy with the deal and bank.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Glen, Western Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%) (Premier) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good service but few branches

    Happy with HSBC.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Graham, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Average loan, great service

    Home loan only average. Redraw facility is handy with excellent customer service the over riding advantage.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Rodney, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Great customer service

    I bank with HSBC because they allow international transactions between my overseas account at no extra cost. Also being a premier customer you are afforded a lower interest rate on your home loans.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Elaine, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.88% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.90% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $520

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.84% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.84% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.80% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.09% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $0

      Promoted
    • Budget Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.13% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      3.19% p.a.
      upfront fees
      $799

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 533 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.