Thumbnail icon for HSBC

HSBC Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.9/10
Price
6.7/10
Features
6.5/10
Customer service
6.9/10
Convenience
6.2/10
Trust
7.1/10
Based on 122 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from HSBC

Fixed Rate Home Loan

interest rate
2.09% p.a.
fixed 2 years
comparison rate*
2.98% p.a.

Promoted

Recent HSBC home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not deal with HSBC

    This is a bank like I have never dealt with before. They never return calls, they never return emails they never seem to know what you have asked or what you want to achieve. They are supreme at ducking and diving. The only time I have had response is when I got AFCA involved and even then they ignored AFCA. Do not go with HSBC it is less than desirable, it will ruin your life, destroy any spare time you have as you will be dealing with all the myriad of problems that HSBC banking will cause you and if your a person that pays close attention to charges, changes and the bank upholding their contracts you will be spending all available time as I have to correct them with no success. 4 years of hell on earth.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Shirl, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan Special (Owner Occupier) (Premier) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Beware of HSBC.

    HSBC are not interested in maintaining clients or negotiating rate reductions despite not passing on Reserve Bank reductions in full. They treat you well to sign you up then don’t care. I would not recommend HSBC as they don’t care about average Australians.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Vicky, South Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good rates, no frills.

    Very competitive rates, but not the best facilities, such as physical locations or online banking.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Cory, Western Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good loan to have

    Very good product but online banking is not very good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sajith, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago
  • HSBC Premier Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Excellent rate, good service, probably unethical

    HSBC offer an excellent rate and their customer service has been good. Their app is only mediocre and their information could be clearer. I am worried by their support for illegal arms dealers and manufacturers of cluster munitions, however.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Matt, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 2 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very happy with the service so far

    Very happy with the service so far.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Oliver, South Australia, reviewed 2 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    The best branch based loan you will find.

    Good rate for home loan. Great debit card 2% back on tap and go. Decent service. Bad online capabilities.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Definitely better than the big banks.

    HSBC have one of the lowest rates, however their app and website functionality is limited. Good customer service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Diane, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • HSBC Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Infuriating Customer Service

    Talking to foreign call centres who don't understand your question. Not like HSBC in UK at all where I've been a customer for over 10 years. Short-sighted staff who don't care about business retention. I got no follow up from "Relationship Managers". Infuriating customer service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Eleanor, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great rates, easy to contact, and professional!

    Extremely happy with HSBC. I changed from NAB after a few poor experiences. I have saved thousands in interest and my experience has been positive. I'd highly recommend HSBC.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michael, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Great service.

    Need to keep asking to match reduced rates but they do respond quickly when asked for rate parity.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Shocking service.

    Recently joined as they were the most competitive option. Customer service is shocking, I was on the phone for an hour and a half to work out if direct debit was set up and when the first payment would be. They were unable to answer my question. I felt it was a reasonably basic request. If they can’t deal with basics I have little hope they can handle anything else.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Claire, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great rates, great people so simple to deal with

    I originally banked with Bank of Queensland (BoQ) however after a horrible experience with them I switched to HSBC. Best banking decision of my life. I had banked with BoQ for 23 years, even getting a mortgage with them. After a marriage break up I purchased a new property with my son, however after some consideration I wished to refinance so I could pay him out, however BoQ refused to do so because of my age, 63. I requested for them to put the reasoning in writing and they refused. After this I decided to switch to HSBC and the difference was obvious. They were so easy to deal with, they were extremely straight and honest when talking to me and allowed me to refinance. The best part is that I am now saving about $97 a month just by doing nothing. I want to give a big thank you to HSBC for having faith and seeing that a fit 63 year old man earning decent money is still a worthwhile person. As for BoQ, you have lost all faith from me and I would not recommend you to anyone.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Patrick, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago
  • HSBC Premier Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great bank

    Good service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Priya, Victoria, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Excellent customer service

    They are bank, like all others. Only one branch in Adelaide.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Greg, South Australia, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster 1 Year Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.57% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Star Essentials Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.42% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.52% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 544 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.