Advertisement

HSBC home loan reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.0 / 10

based on 110 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from HSBC

Recent HSBC home loan reviews

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates, great people so simple to deal with

I originally banked with Bank of Queensland (BoQ) however after a horrible experience with them I switched to HSBC. Best banking decision of my life. I had banked with BoQ for 23 years, even getting a mortgage with them. After a marriage break up...

Full review

I originally banked with Bank of Queensland (BoQ) however after a horrible experience with them I switched to HSBC. Best banking decision of my life. I had banked with BoQ for 23 years, even getting a mortgage with them. After a marriage break up I purchased a new property with my son, however after some consideration I wished to refinance so I could pay him out, however BoQ refused to do so because of my age, 63. I requested for them to put the reasoning in writing and they refused. After this I decided to switch to HSBC and the difference was obvious. They were so easy to deal with, they were extremely straight and honest when talking to me and allowed me to refinance. The best part is that I am now saving about $97 a month just by doing nothing. I want to give a big thank you to HSBC for having faith and seeing that a fit 63 year old man earning decent money is still a worthwhile person. As for BoQ, you have lost all faith from me and I would not recommend you to anyone.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Patrick, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago

HSBC

HSBC Premier Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premier) Premier Standard Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great bank

Good service

Full review

Good service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Priya, Victoria, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) Home Smart Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent customer service

They are bank, like all others. Only one branch in Adelaide.

Full review

They are bank, like all others. Only one branch in Adelaide.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Greg, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Value Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Very helpful with everything

Full review

Very helpful with everything

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Helen, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive fees

Although there are not many branches, I like you can withdraw at the post office and use many ATM's at no charge. Service is brilliant and friendly. I hate that I am charged when I phone in to discuss something though, very disappointing, I pay...

Full review

Although there are not many branches, I like you can withdraw at the post office and use many ATM's at no charge. Service is brilliant and friendly. I hate that I am charged when I phone in to discuss something though, very disappointing, I pay enough in fees, this should be free.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Nikki, South Australia, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great home loan rates

Great rates and efficient staff. Rates for insurance were very competitive the first year but not when it came around to renewal.

Full review

Great rates and efficient staff. Rates for insurance were very competitive the first year but not when it came around to renewal.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Talei, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) Home Smart Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Genuine, smart, friendly, trustworthy.

Great personal service, direct access to the manager and senior personnel. Always available to assist, answer questions and advise. Friendly, real people, with a genuine care for our needs. Rates always competitive.

Full review

Great personal service, direct access to the manager and senior personnel. Always available to assist, answer questions and advise. Friendly, real people, with a genuine care for our needs. Rates always competitive.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shawn, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service from an old established bank.

I was with Westpac and ANZ for over 40 years and never knew what customer service was like. HSBC care!

Full review

I was with Westpac and ANZ for over 40 years and never knew what customer service was like. HSBC care!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve, New South Wales, reviewed over 3 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

They don't offer enough benefits.

I hate them & would never tell anyone to use them & I wish we could go with another lender.

Full review

I hate them & would never tell anyone to use them & I wish we could go with another lender.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Mick, New South Wales, reviewed almost 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) Home Smart Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Flexible offset facility means less interest

I read a book promoting this as the best account to pay off your home loan quickly. They were right! We managed it on a single income in just a few years.

Full review

I read a book promoting this as the best account to pay off your home loan quickly. They were right! We managed it on a single income in just a few years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Rachel, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I have no plans to change from this great bank

Generally very happy with the bank and its products.

Full review

Generally very happy with the bank and its products.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Asha, New South Wales, reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Discounted Variable Home Loan (Premier) review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy but not enough cash points

Happy with the deal and bank.

Full review

Happy with the deal and bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Glen, Western Australia, reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premier) Fixed Rate Home Loan (Premier) review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service but few branches

Happy with HSBC.

Full review

Happy with HSBC.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Graham, Queensland, reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Discounted Variable Home Loan (Premier) review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Average loan, great service

Home loan only average. Redraw facility is handy with excellent customer service the over riding advantage.

Full review

Home loan only average. Redraw facility is handy with excellent customer service the over riding advantage.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rodney, Victoria, reviewed about 4 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service

I bank with HSBC because they allow international transactions between my overseas account at no extra cost. Also being a premier customer you are afforded a lower interest rate on your home loans.

Full review

I bank with HSBC because they allow international transactions between my overseas account at no extra cost. Also being a premier customer you are afforded a lower interest rate on your home loans.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Elaine, Queensland, reviewed over 4 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    3.03% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.05% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 3.03% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 637 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k

    interest rate

    3.09% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.09% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k
    • Interest rate: 3.09% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.09% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    3.09% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.05% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 3.09% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    • 3.69% p.a. / 4.11% p.a. Comp Rate
    • Annual Fee of $395. Loan size $400k-$699k
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Bank 2018

    interest rate

    3.39% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $200

    Go to site

    More info

    • 3.69% p.a. / 4.11% p.a. Comp Rate
    • Annual Fee of $395. Loan size $400k-$699k
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Bank 2018
    • Interest rate: 3.39% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $200
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $400,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 902 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Suncorp Back to Basics Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Suncorp Back to Basics Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No monthly account keeping fee.
    • $0 ongoing annual fee.
    • Make additional repayments anytime.

    interest rate

    3.29% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.30% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account keeping fee.
    • $0 ongoing annual fee.
    • Make additional repayments anytime.
    • Interest rate: 3.29% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.30% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: Yes - free
    • Redraw facility: first redraw per month free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers: Receive $1,500 when you refinance an existing loan of $250,000 or more. Apply by 30 September 2019 and settle by 28 December 2019.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 859 Suncorp home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 532 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top
 
Advertisement