HSBC home loan reviews

HSBC
HSBC's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.1 / 10

based on 32 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Full review

Featured home loan from HSBC

Recent HSBC home loan reviews

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great bank

Good service

Full review

Good service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Priya (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent customer service

They are bank, like all others. Only one branch in Adelaide.

Full review

They are bank, like all others. Only one branch in Adelaide.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Greg (SA), reviewed 8 months ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Very helpful with everything

Full review

Very helpful with everything

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Helen (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive fees

Although there are not many branches, I like you can withdraw at the post office and use many ATM's at no charge. Service is brilliant and friendly. I hate that I am charged when I phone in to discuss something though, very disappointing, I pay...

Full review

Although there are not many branches, I like you can withdraw at the post office and use many ATM's at no charge. Service is brilliant and friendly. I hate that I am charged when I phone in to discuss something though, very disappointing, I pay enough in fees, this should be free.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Nikki (SA), reviewed 9 months ago

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great home loan rates

Great rates and efficient staff. Rates for insurance were very competitive the first year but not when it came around to renewal.

Full review

Great rates and efficient staff. Rates for insurance were very competitive the first year but not when it came around to renewal.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Talei (NSW), reviewed 10 months ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Genuine, smart, friendly, trustworthy.

Great personal service, direct access to the manager and senior personnel. Always available to assist, answer questions and advise. Friendly, real people, with a genuine care for our needs. Rates always competitive.

Full review

Great personal service, direct access to the manager and senior personnel. Always available to assist, answer questions and advise. Friendly, real people, with a genuine care for our needs. Rates always competitive.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Shawn (ACT), reviewed 12 months ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service from an old established bank.

I was with Westpac and ANZ for over 40 years and never knew what customer service was like. HSBC care!

Full review

I was with Westpac and ANZ for over 40 years and never knew what customer service was like. HSBC care!

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

They don't offer enough benefits.

I hate them & would never tell anyone to use them & I wish we could go with another lender.

Full review

I hate them & would never tell anyone to use them & I wish we could go with another lender.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Mick (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Flexible offset facility means less interest

I read a book promoting this as the best account to pay off your home loan quickly. They were right! We managed it on a single income in just a few years.

Full review

I read a book promoting this as the best account to pay off your home loan quickly. They were right! We managed it on a single income in just a few years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Rachel (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I have no plans to change from this great bank

Generally very happy with the bank and its products.

Full review

Generally very happy with the bank and its products.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Asha (NSW), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy but not enough cash points

Happy with the deal and bank.

Full review

Happy with the deal and bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Glen (WA), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service but few branches

Happy with HSBC.

Full review

Happy with HSBC.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Graham (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Average loan, great service

Home loan only average. Redraw facility is handy with excellent customer service the over riding advantage.

Full review

Home loan only average. Redraw facility is handy with excellent customer service the over riding advantage.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rodney (VIC), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service

I bank with HSBC because they allow international transactions between my overseas account at no extra cost. Also being a premier customer you are afforded a lower interest rate on your home loans.

Full review

I bank with HSBC because they allow international transactions between my overseas account at no extra cost. Also being a premier customer you are afforded a lower interest rate on your home loans.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Elaine (QLD), reviewed over 1 year ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Security and peace-of-mind

HSBC takes your security seriously, whilst providing a very competitive rate with modern online banking features we all come to expect today. You are assigned a relationship manager to gives you a personal experience on all matters regard your...

Full review

HSBC takes your security seriously, whilst providing a very competitive rate with modern online banking features we all come to expect today. You are assigned a relationship manager to gives you a personal experience on all matters regard your home loan. We are very pleased and have no plans to change.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sam (SA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Satisfactory customer service, not excellent.

Overall, the bank is satisfactory. However, the role of relationship manager and her/his effectiveness to provide customer service is less than adequate. Product information and discussion on current products and benefits are poor.

Full review

Overall, the bank is satisfactory. However, the role of relationship manager and her/his effectiveness to provide customer service is less than adequate. Product information and discussion on current products and benefits are poor.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Bejoy (WA), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Used to be great, now not even average

Used to be great, probably the best I have dealt with in Australia but in the last two years the service has gone downhill, considering changing.

Full review

Used to be great, probably the best I have dealt with in Australia but in the last two years the service has gone downhill, considering changing.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed almost 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rate

Good service with information & online banking.

Full review

Good service with information & online banking.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Richard (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent Customer Service

This bank is friendly, great service and always smile when I enter the building.

Full review

This bank is friendly, great service and always smile when I enter the building.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Thomas (VIC), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best personalised service

We have received best personal service since the day of joining the bank. The bank manager and our personal bank officer always make it a point to come out and say hello, look after our needs and make us feel special. Therefore, despite the...

Full review

We have received best personal service since the day of joining the bank. The bank manager and our personal bank officer always make it a point to come out and say hello, look after our needs and make us feel special. Therefore, despite the inconvenience of having only one branch in the ACT, we are prepared to travel a bit further for the personalised service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sat (ACT), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Brilliant customer service

Well informed staff that can convey smart options when required. Able to operate across national boundaries living up to their statement of the "World's local Bank".

Full review

Well informed staff that can convey smart options when required. Able to operate across national boundaries living up to their statement of the "World's local Bank".

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Richard (WA), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Archaic support, service, speed, technology

A dark ages bank. The slowest bank to change rates. Time consuming to deal with. Conservative, dogmatic and bureaucratic. But the real issue were several serious errors in basic service issues that cost me thousands. Never again.

Full review

A dark ages bank. The slowest bank to change rates. Time consuming to deal with. Conservative, dogmatic and bureaucratic. But the real issue were several serious errors in basic service issues that cost me thousands. Never again.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Andrew (NSW), reviewed about 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy

Easy online website, great online security.

Full review

Easy online website, great online security.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Tracey (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not good

The internet banking is terrible, other banks give better rates and services, I am looking to change my loan.

Full review

The internet banking is terrible, other banks give better rates and services, I am looking to change my loan.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Diana , reviewed over 2 years ago

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Value and service and full features

I have a mortgage of $220,000 at 0.98% - how awesome is that? Excellent products, excellent service.

Full review

I have a mortgage of $220,000 at 0.98% - how awesome is that? Excellent products, excellent service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Phillip (WA), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.60% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.60% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 35 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Community First Credit Union Special 3 Year Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Community First Credit Union Special 3 Year Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • 100% offset account attached
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Make additional repayments up $25,000 p.a without penalty

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    4.93% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $990

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% offset account attached
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Make additional repayments up $25,000 p.a without penalty
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.93% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $990
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $25,000 p.a.
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Monthly, Fortnightly, Weekly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 4 Community First Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Breathe Easy Spring Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    State Custodians Breathe Easy Spring Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • $0 Annual Fee, $0 Application Fee
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.72% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.75% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Annual Fee, $0 Application Fee
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.72% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.75% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%)

    Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%)

    • Free redraw and unlimited repayments
    • 100% mortgage offset account
    • No upfront or ongoing fees

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free redraw and unlimited repayments
    • 100% mortgage offset account
    • No upfront or ongoing fees
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $295.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 27 Beyond Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.05% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - free
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 8 Gateway Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 496 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top