HSBC logo

HSBC Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.8/10
Price
6.7/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
6.8/10
Convenience
6.2/10
Trust
7.0/10
Based on 128 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent HSBC home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    the worst experience ever

    Absolute worst internet banking and service. will never use them again.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Friendly service and competitive rates.

    LIKE: There is no waiting in queue when calling. Interest rates are very competitive. Call centre is always friendly.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Patrick, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disgusting behaviour bordering on fraudulent.

    I just spent 1 hour on the phone to them just to get the correct BPAY details so I could pay my credit card. Thats not unusual. My home loan came off a fixed term a month ago, into a time when interest rates are around 1.9% to 2.6% with other banks variable. They smacked me 4.75% and have still not finalised what my variable rate will be and it's been now 5 weeks after my loan came off fixed. They are purposely ensuring they took this time so they could just charge me whatever rate they wanted. I have had to threaten legal action and AFCA to even get them to offer me a better rate which is still more than what is advertised. AFCA took 1 year to credit mistakes with them on my accounts and it's still not finalised. It cost me my health, do not use them.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Pass on interest rate cuts to customers.

    Interest rates have been lowered by RBA, yet no offers to lower my loan rates have been received. This is unacceptable in today's market. Banks should be more proactive in this area.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Carol, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    HSBC is the bank to be

    We changed over to HSBC last year and it was the best decision. They have been outstanding and the recent upgrade to their online banking app has made banking even easier. Only con is there isn’t many branches in Victoria.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Elise, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great interest rates & good for people without PR.

    HSBC was a great option as one of us wasn't a citizen nor permanent resident at the time we applied. They were one of very few providers that allowed this. They've also lowered our variable rate three times in about 15 months, usually passing on RBA rate decisions. Compared to our friends, we have one of the lowest home loan interest rates.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Pia, Victoria, reviewed 9 months ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not deal with HSBC

    This is a bank like I have never dealt with before. They never return calls, they never return emails they never seem to know what you have asked or what you want to achieve. They are supreme at ducking and diving. The only time I have had response is when I got AFCA involved and even then they ignored AFCA. Do not go with HSBC it is less than desirable, it will ruin your life, destroy any spare time you have as you will be dealing with all the myriad of problems that HSBC banking will cause you and if your a person that pays close attention to charges, changes and the bank upholding their contracts you will be spending all available time as I have to correct them with no success. 4 years of hell on earth.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Samantha, Queensland, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan Special (Owner Occupier) (Home Loan Package)

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Beware of HSBC.

    HSBC are not interested in maintaining clients or negotiating rate reductions despite not passing on Reserve Bank reductions in full. They treat you well to sign you up then don’t care. I would not recommend HSBC as they don’t care about average Australians.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Vicky, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good rates, no frills.

    Very competitive rates, but not the best facilities, such as physical locations or online banking.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Cory, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good loan to have

    Very good product but online banking is not very good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sajith, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Standard Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Home Loan Package)

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Excellent rate, good service, probably unethical

    HSBC offer an excellent rate and their customer service has been good. Their app is only mediocre and their information could be clearer. I am worried by their support for illegal arms dealers and manufacturers of cluster munitions, however.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Matt, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very happy with the service so far

    Very happy with the service so far.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Oliver, South Australia, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Home Loan

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    The best branch based loan you will find.

    Good rate for home loan. Great debit card 2% back on tap and go. Decent service. Bad online capabilities.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed about 1 year ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Definitely better than the big banks.

    HSBC have one of the lowest rates, however their app and website functionality is limited. Good customer service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Diane, Victoria, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • HSBC Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Infuriating Customer Service

    Talking to foreign call centres who don't understand your question. Not like HSBC in UK at all where I've been a customer for over 10 years. Short-sighted staff who don't care about business retention. I got no follow up from "Relationship Managers". Infuriating customer service

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Eleanor, Western Australia, reviewed over 1 year ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.95% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.27% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 500 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.