NAB logo

NAB Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.7/10
Price
6.6/10
Features
6.4/10
Customer service
6.5/10
Convenience
7.3/10
Trust
6.6/10
Based on 2914 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent NAB home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They don't care

    We have been customers with NAB for over 40 years. This doesn't matter to them neither do they care keeping long term customers or believe in flexibility.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Shari, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    THEY ARE THE BEST WHERE I LIVE

    They are the best bank I have ever banked with there interest rates are very good they have great staff and a local branch which is very helpful.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jann, Victoria, reviewed 16 days ago
  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    NAB IS A TOP BANK

    NAB have great customer service and are always willing to help and explain anything that you need clarification on.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Helen, Queensland, reviewed 28 days ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Poor Customer relationship

    Extremely poor service and arrogant staff at Norwest Branch.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Rajendra, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package)

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent bank, facilities and customer service.

    Very easy to deal with, explained options for refinancing home loans and finance loans. The product was what we were looking for. Also answered questions and organised bank accounts for the home loan repayments. Thank you, we are very happy.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Leonie, New South Wales, reviewed 28 days ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Much better deals and customer service out there.

    Do not recommend! NAB or your broker will lock you into a non-competitive rate and charge you the $395/year on top of this so you can wait 1+hour to talk to 3 people in a call centre who will all ask you the same questions despite you having answered them and waste your precious life and then decide they can't help you anytime you have a query. While some try to, for whatever reason, their system is always slow or down, none of their back-end team are ever connected or seem to be in the same place as each other so you're dealing with a completely silo'd and disconnected group of people. When you finally get through to someone, you spend another 1 hour talking to someone in Australia (which is what the $395 plus your excessive interest rate is paying for presumably), guaranteeing you XYZ with no follow-up in writing before not actioning your query. You are then left to join the call centre queue again and if they don't hang up on you after the 1 hour+ you are in line, they'll screw up your query again and again and again. They used to assign a retention officer if they really screwed up (thrice over 2 years for me) with email details so you didn't have to wait in line but they know longer do this anymore, presumably due to high demand and all the screw-ups. Their first offer after a complaint is to refund the yearly fee and if you threaten to go to the Financial Ombudsman they may then write you a polite email - no other financial refund is available despite you being penalised in time and money for their shortcomings. Really do you numbers to see if you need to be using a Big 4 bank - the interest rate is everything. A half a % change can mean 000's saved in a year and more in the long run and breaking a fixed rate can be earnt back within a reasonable time if you get a spreadsheet out and just use an afternoon to see how it all works. If you've only got a year or two left on a fixed loan, the economic break cost is generally under 1k and if another provider is offering 3-4k joining bonus, just do it (there are also exit fees). This was a revelation for a non-numbers person after I just became so frustrated with being ripped off. Don't get drawn into the big banks providing a "safety net" - they are just using their excess fees to try to pay for their clunky, dated systems and all the support they need for this, CBD offices and amenities, Australian-based call centre staff and management teams to design KPIs, scripts, incentives for staff etc.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Natalie, New South Wales, reviewed 3 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Could be more competitive with their rates

    NAB is more interested in gaining new customers by offering incentives and low interest rates to entice new customers rather than looking after their current customers and offering them the same incentives. However when there was a problem with my credit card and suspicious activity was detected I received a text message immediately asking if I could contact the bank. This issue was dealt with efficiently. I think NAB could improve on being more competitive with their rates

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Less
    Erin, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great package but poor service.

    I got this loan through a trusted 3rd party broker and the local NAB branch don't want anything to do with me. When I go into the local branch for a query they just refer me to their loans help line. The 3rd party broker was much more helpful.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Lee, Western Australia, reviewed 4 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Now annual fee & easy redrraw

    No annual fee, easy redraw although probably not the most competitive rate. Have gone the motions of refinancing elsewhere however it’s a really convoluted process to change all auto payments etc.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Fiona, Queensland, reviewed 4 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Terrible

    Terrible customer service. Long waiting & kept getting cut out from their end. Never returned calls or appointment call either

    Price
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Germaine, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommend. Best customer service. AAA+

    NAB have been excellent for us. First time home buyer, we tried for home loan through our usual bank. Gave us such a hard time even though we had 20% deposit. Tried NAB, had the loan within 7 days. Customer service over the phone was amazing, went above and beyond to help. Shout out to Josh and Kathryn from Melbourne branch, you were both amazing. Interest rates are awesome :)

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ruth, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not happy.

    We had our home loan with NAB. We were looking at refinancing to get a better interest rate and a little more money to do renos on the house. Was told no straight away, even though we have been paying more money onto the loan and have never been behind in payments. They didn't even have a look to see if we could or couldn't do it. Also we didn't change anything throughout COVID-19, still paid the some every fortnight. We have been with NAB for over 10 years and no help, the customer service was so bad I have made a complaint. We have gone with another company and NAB bank made the settlement go on for over month. They kept on saying we need more time with all the paperwork, which they had in time of the settlement. Both myself and the other bank put it down to they want the monthly interest rate that they were going to miss out on.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sonia, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Incredibly poor choice for mortgages.

    Mortgage: I had all the paperwork ready and a 10 day cool-off was the case. For 7 of those business days NAB did not contact me, update progress or anything without me doing it first during the last bit. Credit file got pinged on day 2 of application. In the last 3 days + 1 extra days the amount of extra paperwork that has been asked for has been beyond reasonable. Tenant Ledger from the RE but no ABN listed? Not good! Many examples like this. As the branch person says, I have the cleanest file. Everything intact. NAB just doesn't want clients and won't say "no", hoping I reverse the contract to buy and wear the deposit loss. Their IT systems have crashed several times during initial application stage too. Approvals are done offshore, they had trouble understanding the concept of being paid by a foreign company into an Aussie bank account. The person doing approvals according to the branch staff has quickly rejected my file every time. Very stressful and not communicative regardless of outcome. Avoid at all costs for mortgages.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Arkady, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • NAB Home Loan

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Customer service and flexibility #1

    The customer service, flexibility and response to interest rate changes are great. I have been a customer for many years and can recommend them.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Kelly, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%)

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Bank does not take care of long term customers.

    Not always sure my bank who I have been a loyal customer of for a long time always has my best "interest" at heart.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Vincent, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.79% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 503 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.