Citi home loan reviews

Citi
Citi's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

4.8 / 10

based on 39 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Citi

Recent Citi home loan reviews

Citi

Citi Standard Variable (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Would not recommend

No Australians to speak with when calling them and not willing to help out.

Full review

No Australians to speak with when calling them and not willing to help out.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Jo (TAS), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good interest rate, after that forget it

I guess if you were on the East Coast then maybe they are an option but no branch is a real pain and having to talk to foreigners who have trouble with the language is a pain. Needing to have more than one card as the credit card is also a pain....

Full review

I guess if you were on the East Coast then maybe they are an option but no branch is a real pain and having to talk to foreigners who have trouble with the language is a pain. Needing to have more than one card as the credit card is also a pain. Basically the interest rate was good, after that forget it. The solicitor who did their conveyancing was lovely.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Mark (WA), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Would encourage people to try citibank.

Been ongoing account for many years and no major issues that could't be quickly resolved.

Full review

Been ongoing account for many years and no major issues that could't be quickly resolved.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kevin (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Standard Variable (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great Comparison Rates

Great comparison rates. Simple rules for understanding.

Full review

Great comparison rates. Simple rules for understanding.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Angela (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and good customer service

We have been with them for a number of years and find the rates very competitive and the staff very helpful even though we can't go into a branch, everything is done either over the internet or via phone calls.

Full review

We have been with them for a number of years and find the rates very competitive and the staff very helpful even though we can't go into a branch, everything is done either over the internet or via phone calls.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Phillip (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I have the close to best rate for the loan amount. Service has been really good and I have not had any complaints.

Full review

I have the close to best rate for the loan amount. Service has been really good and I have not had any complaints.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Asif (NSW), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Standard Variable (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great rates but poor service

Pro: best interest rate we could find. Con: terrible customer service and very few citibank branches. Very bad online internet banking too - not user friendly at all. But for us the good interest rate is more important and worth it.

Full review

Pro: best interest rate we could find. Con: terrible customer service and very few citibank branches. Very bad online internet banking too - not user friendly at all. But for us the good interest rate is more important and worth it.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Chantelle (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Mortgage Power Line of Credit (Investment) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great Service

Always been helpful and never had a problem or hassle.

Full review

Always been helpful and never had a problem or hassle.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Doug (VIC), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

No customer service

They are not helpful in any way, to them you are a nothing. They have made my life hell after dealing with them for approx.18 yrs.

Full review

They are not helpful in any way, to them you are a nothing. They have made my life hell after dealing with them for approx.18 yrs.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Zachary (QLD), reviewed over 2 years ago

Citi

Citi Mortgage Power Line of Credit (Investment) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

RUN..Run hard and run fast and never look back!

RUN..Run hard and run fast and never look back!! Nothing but trouble. Missed final settlement on our house twice, only one branch in all of Brisbane and then they couldn't provide a bank cheque, and now they have locked my account with only 4...

Full review

RUN..Run hard and run fast and never look back!! Nothing but trouble. Missed final settlement on our house twice, only one branch in all of Brisbane and then they couldn't provide a bank cheque, and now they have locked my account with only 4 hours notice because I didn't provide them with my occupation information… WTF!! There is no common contact point.. you are just a number.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Anthony (QLD), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive

Great rates but no branches making taking out cash difficult.

Full review

Great rates but no branches making taking out cash difficult.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Steve (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Competitive, low fees, and good online systems

First off Citibank excel at remote banking - their web based systems are very good and their ATM network impressive. You pay no fees to withdraw cash from their ATMs. The downside is that they have maybe one or two branches in every Capital city...

Full review

First off Citibank excel at remote banking - their web based systems are very good and their ATM network impressive. You pay no fees to withdraw cash from their ATMs. The downside is that they have maybe one or two branches in every Capital city - not really convenient if you want to discuss something face to face. Overall, they have maintained low fees, low interest rates and enticed customers with zero interest offers. A good bank if you want to do most of your banking online.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Joseph (VIC), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Mortgage Power Line of Credit (Investment) (Mortgage Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Poor service and high interest rates

No longer has a local branch, everything has to be done on line. Wait for ages to talk to someone

Full review

No longer has a local branch, everything has to be done on line. Wait for ages to talk to someone

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Col (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Mortgage Power Line of Credit (Investment) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive rates

Since joining our bank we have had awesome customer service and nothing is too hard; I have no real cons when I have had to chase anything the bank has responded quickly and efficiently.

Full review

Since joining our bank we have had awesome customer service and nothing is too hard; I have no real cons when I have had to chase anything the bank has responded quickly and efficiently.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gabrielle (TAS), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Lacks flexibility

Does not have the features I asked the Broker for. Lacks the flexibility for banking in Austalia.

Full review

Does not have the features I asked the Broker for. Lacks the flexibility for banking in Austalia.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Lee ann (NSW), reviewed almost 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Standard Variable (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Mortgage Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Could do better

Really unhappy about the transaction fees.

Full review

Really unhappy about the transaction fees.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sharon (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Don't do it!

No branch to visit when things go wrong. Phone service sucks. What more need I say?

Full review

No branch to visit when things go wrong. Phone service sucks. What more need I say?

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Suzette , reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great rates and easy internet banking

Citibank is fantastic, great rates and easy internet banking. Only down side: only one branch per capital city.

Full review

Citibank is fantastic, great rates and easy internet banking. Only down side: only one branch per capital city.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Naomi (QLD), reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

No interest in the customer

After 6 years with Citibank, we were left with a very uncompetitive interest rate, high fees, and a company that had zero interest in helping us. After an online banking "upgrade", they introduced bugs into my online banking, including incorrect...

Full review

After 6 years with Citibank, we were left with a very uncompetitive interest rate, high fees, and a company that had zero interest in helping us. After an online banking "upgrade", they introduced bugs into my online banking, including incorrect account numbers and problems accessing my statements for tax purposes. After 4 months of phone calls, messages and finally a formal complaint, no resolution was forthcoming. In fact, they never responded in any manner to the formal complaint I lodged (not even an automated email). We are now closing all our accounts (2 loans, offset savings and credit card) and taking our business elsewhere.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Margo (WA), reviewed about 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Mortgage Power Line of Credit (Investment) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Down to earth.

Reliable, down to earth, listen and understand.

Full review

Reliable, down to earth, listen and understand.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jeffrey (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Just bad service

Citibank are terrible at everything.

Full review

Citibank are terrible at everything.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Geoff (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Unhelpful

I have asked them on numerous occasions to review my loan to a lower interest rate since my divorce and have also asked that his name be removed from the loan, but they have refused because they seem to think that I cannot pay the account, but it...

Full review

I have asked them on numerous occasions to review my loan to a lower interest rate since my divorce and have also asked that his name be removed from the loan, but they have refused because they seem to think that I cannot pay the account, but it is I that has been paying this account on my own since 2004. I am now in arrears and they refuse to help with any financial assistance. I cannot afford to change banks, I just wish they would help by re-writing the loan into my name, as my name was on the original loan.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Jeanette (VIC), reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Very clunky systems!

The home loan product may be cheap but the service is terrible. I spend so much time on the phone to get anything set-up and the online banking is terribly tricky to get into.

Full review

The home loan product may be cheap but the service is terrible. I spend so much time on the phone to get anything set-up and the online banking is terribly tricky to get into.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sus (QLD), reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi Standard Variable (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good first home loan

Great customer service and willingness to help and keep my business. But I have to be proactive in making sure I'm getting the best deal they have on offer.

Full review

Great customer service and willingness to help and keep my business. But I have to be proactive in making sure I'm getting the best deal they have on offer.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Calie (ACT), reviewed over 3 years ago

Citi

Citi home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Excessive red tape, bad service where it counts

Citibank made me do a 100 point ID check just to deposit cheques into my client's account. He discharged his loan with Citibank and was banking the money that went to him from the sale. They treated me like a thief for wanting to PUT MONEY INTO an...

Full review

Citibank made me do a 100 point ID check just to deposit cheques into my client's account. He discharged his loan with Citibank and was banking the money that went to him from the sale. They treated me like a thief for wanting to PUT MONEY INTO an account which is stupid. The big 4 banks let you deposit money without ID checks but apparently that isn't good enough for Citibank. Citibank's unnecessary red tape starts at the counter. Citibank is not a convenient bank when dealing with mortgages and discharges, they are much more difficult to deal with than the big 4 banks and this has caused delay and uncertainty. Then it gets worse. I had a client who drew bank cheques for about $2.4 million dollars to pay for a house. Citibank got the spelling wrong despite the name being clearly printed on the instruction sheet. My client and I had to go back to the branch to have the cheques redrawn. The manager of the branch said something like, "There are other customers who are here before you and it's not fair to them to take care of your matter first". I then pointed out that my client was there bright and early in the morning and wouldn't have been back if Citibank hadn't made a mistake. Citibank then tried to blame my client despite her not being able to speak English. We then had to wait 1.5 hours for the cheques to be redrawn. Citibank didn't care that my client would face about $7,000 penalty interest if she was late with her purchase. Neither did they care that she wouldn't have a place to move into that weekend. The red tape of Citibank is stupid but their attitude towards customer service when it counts is worse. They didn't even pretend to care. The incidents aren't isolated either. When I've dealt with Citibank things are often much harder than they should be. Stick with the big 4 banks because they get it right when it counts. Those clients also changed banks. The karma is that I have lots of clients spending lots of money and I cannot recommend Citibank, quite the opposite.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Austin (NSW), reviewed over 3 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 Homebuyer Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.54% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.56% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases and 20% minimum deposit required
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.54% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.56% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.67% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.67% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Featured product

     

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.65% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.65% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 527 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top