Home loan customer reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Mortgage House Home Loan

    Senior Broker or Clown?

    Supposedly under a “senior broker,” he was incompetent from start to finish. He wrote on our documents that we were “divorced” and put a loan through twice. Possibly for the kickbacks. Not sure how many divorced ppl apply for a loan together. He made errors when it came to balancing our accounts. If we have no credit cards, how can we be spending more than we earn? He submitted a loan as though my husband and I were separate parties. As a result we were rejected from one of the big 4 banks. We have a mark now on our record because of this clown. He sent us emails about “land tax” that did not even apply to us. I emailed him to query emails he sent through which did not make any sense. Did he even read the application? We told him we had a savings account for the kids schooling. We told him what it was for several times, and it still appeared on the final contract as a question mark. When I asked him to remove it as it had been clarified, he told me I had to “pay their legal fees to have it removed.” One mistake after another. He claimed he put time and effort into our loan. The time he put into the loan was to correct all his own mistakes. (Took 4 months). We have no credit cards, no loan and own everything outright. He took so long that I had to push back the contractor who was waiting for the job. Our loan was approved by nab in 1hr in the end. They treated us with kindness and respect. I think the mortgage broker should be held accountable for leaving us with a bad credit record which stays on our account for 7 years. When I questioned him about all his errors, he said “we were not worth his time” and that he was not “making any money from us.” He cunningly said this on his mobile so it could not traced back to him. He tried to blame my husband and I for not filling out the paperwork. No integrity. Red flag for Mortgage House. If you are going to be in customer service, you need to be able to manage people without being rude. Mortgage house and this senior broker I have reported to AFCA! Don’t be deceived by the line of “we will return your application fee” at anytime. This was also a lie, which the senior broker spouted over and over again, only to find out he had lied about that too. My only regret is not recording the abuse I received from the “Senior Broker” so I could send it to AFCA. I would not even speak to my dog the way he spoke to me. He was angry that I had called him out on the lies and incompetency and did not have the decency to admit it. Their contract is 95 pages, so beware. It’s a red flag.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mare, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
    More Mortgage House home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Home Loan

    Good customer service and home loan rates

    The online banking and app is really user friendly and easy to use. Customer service is good, when I call I always get to speak to an advisor quickly and am not waiting on hold for a lifetime.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Kathleen, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Like I said as above very happy with Kifayat Hussa

    Kifayat Hussain is home loan manager at ANZ Dandenong branch. He is a very calm professional banker. Very knowledgeable and helped us a lot in every need. He is always available if we have questions . W9 t hesitate to recommend him.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maria, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Home Loan

    Pepper is wonderful

    Easy , fast and friendly. Excellent customer service.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tirath, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
    More Pepper Money home loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Home Loan

    Thanks pepper

    Can recommend Cameron and Divya Great service. Overcame hurdles and kept us informed. So impressed from start to finish. Finished off today with a great message from Cameron and a fellow worker whose name I didn’t get welcoming and congratulation us Thanks guys. Special mention to Divya

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Danny, Queensland, reviewed 5 days ago
    More Pepper Money home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Overall good product

    Great variable home loan product they just really let themselves down in the phone banking side of things if you need to speak to someone on the phone

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vicki, Western Australia, reviewed 5 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Home Loan

    Nab home loan

    Bank has served its purpose but it probably isn't the best deal out there

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ian, Queensland, reviewed 5 days ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    I would recommend them as they had a great rate

    I don't know how well they will look after me with the rising interest rates which is making me consider possibly looking at another bank. Great customer service, easy access and product knowledge. Lots of banks around Australia to get money/info from

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Becky, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • HSBC Standard Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <70%) (Home Loan Package) (Home Loan Package)

    slow on rate drop, fast on rate rises

    When RBA rates go down they take months to pass on savings, but RBA increases result in an instant rate increase

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mark, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
    More HSBC home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Great Bank!

    Great bank with plenty of features and an unbeatable banking app!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Spiro, Tasmania, reviewed 6 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Resimac Home Loan

    Needlessly difficult to deal with

    I guess if you are struggling to find a major lender to loan to you they might be a good option, this wasn't my case, I got lead up the wrong path by a broker. The interest rates are always high, I guess due to my first point. They can hold you over a barrel. BUT, I will give them this, when we decided to refinance, Resimac suddenly came to the table and matched the other lender's rate. Their Loan Enquiry website is not functional and looks and operates like a 90's tabbed webpage made on Angelfire (there's a throwback for ya!). I found it confusing to navigate. Contacting customer service is a nightmare, prepare to spend hours on hold. If you email them you get a response faster. They have made refinancing difficult also as the loan number of the account doesn't relate to a BSB and Account, it seems to be some kind of internal reference only, so our new lender couldn't transfer into it to settle. Instead of providing the mortgage account number for the new lender to pay out the loan, they provided the offset account instead.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Stephanie, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
    More Resimac home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Excellent Customer Service

    I've had a Commonwealth Bank home loan for over 10 years now and their customer service and support team have been extremely helpful when I've wanted to change my loan due to personal financial circumstances.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chris, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    The one to beat!!!

    Been with Commbank for 40 years -trustworthy and great service

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Linda, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Great Southern Bank Home Loan

    NOT a bank kowtowing to shareholders

    Great Southern Bank is a credit union - they don't pander to shareholders. Easy online interface and you can offset your interest on other accounts to your mortgage. Easy withdrawal function on your mortgage.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nikki, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago
    More Great Southern Bank home loan customer reviews
  • P&N Bank Simple Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Great!

    The customer service is amazing. the rates are competitive and the app is amazing

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Chelsea, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
    More P&N Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Variable Home Loan 70

      interest rate
      3.10% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      3.12% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Unloan Variable

      interest rate
      3.14% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      3.06% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Neat Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.64% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      3.66% p.a.

      Promoted
    • PAYG Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.29% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      3.33% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      3.79% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      3.79% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 469 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.