Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy accessibility and very good customer service

Staff have always been helpful and patient, explaining when I don't understand anything or need clarity. They are always considerate. My husband and I are getting older and we often have to ask more than once for clarity and the staff have never...

Staff have always been helpful and patient, explaining when I don't understand anything or need clarity. They are always considerate. My husband and I are getting older and we often have to ask more than once for clarity and the staff have never been impatient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kathleen (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Flexibility of loan product

The loan allows great flexibility to suit your changing lifestyle. The interest rates are excellent. The customer service at all ANZ bank branches has been exceptional. The service at ANZ branch Cannonvale, Queensland is just brilliant.

The loan allows great flexibility to suit your changing lifestyle. The interest rates are excellent. The customer service at all ANZ bank branches has been exceptional. The service at ANZ branch Cannonvale, Queensland is just brilliant.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Elaine (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150,000-$249,999) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I would recommend ANZ to anyone

I have been banking with ANZ for more than 10 years and I can't complain much about them. Apart from a couple of minor issues, they have been very good to us. They have a swift processing time for transactions.

I have been banking with ANZ for more than 10 years and I can't complain much about them. Apart from a couple of minor issues, they have been very good to us. They have a swift processing time for transactions.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gina (NSW), reviewed 4 days ago

Auswide Bank

Auswide Bank Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very friendly staff who are always willing to help

We have been with this bank since they first started as Mackay Permanent and now as a bank. They have always been able to help us out especially with the interest rates.

We have been with this bank since they first started as Mackay Permanent and now as a bank. They have always been able to help us out especially with the interest rates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michelle (QLD), reviewed 24 days ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good provider, I'm quite pleased with our bank

Overall been quite pleased with our bank

Overall been quite pleased with our bank

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mehool (QLD), reviewed 24 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent customer service

A reminder should be sent to customers when their fixed rate home loan is nearing completion of time and other alternatives should be sent to customers.

A reminder should be sent to customers when their fixed rate home loan is nearing completion of time and other alternatives should be sent to customers.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (WA), reviewed 24 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Commonwealth Bank is great because of the way they approved my home loan. It was very quick and they understood the urgency of the approval. The staff, either if it's a phone query or in the bank personally are always professional and more than...

Commonwealth Bank is great because of the way they approved my home loan. It was very quick and they understood the urgency of the approval. The staff, either if it's a phone query or in the bank personally are always professional and more than willing to help.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jacqueline (TAS), reviewed 25 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great products and very friendly service

They have good products and can always get a hold of someone locally who is very helpful.

They have good products and can always get a hold of someone locally who is very helpful.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Letitia (SA), reviewed 25 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

The people have always been friendly. I can't seem to get ahead with our mortgage though and have sat down with them to see if we can get a better deal but I can't seem to be able to. I've been with them for 20 years and would like to see some...

The people have always been friendly. I can't seem to get ahead with our mortgage though and have sat down with them to see if we can get a better deal but I can't seem to be able to. I've been with them for 20 years and would like to see some kind of loyalty reward system.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lesley (QLD), reviewed 27 days ago

Beyond Bank

Beyond Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Beyond Bank is great. I have no problem recommending it to anyone. I have banked with them my whole life.

Beyond Bank is great. I have no problem recommending it to anyone. I have banked with them my whole life.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Virginia (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Fixed Rate Residential (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent provider

I am treated like a valued customer and staff are friendly and part of my community.

I am treated like a valued customer and staff are friendly and part of my community.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paul (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Equity Access home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent service

Westpac have always managed our personal and business banking in a professional manner.

Westpac have always managed our personal and business banking in a professional manner.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pam (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Could improve their interest rates

Very helpful over the phone. Offers good customer service but they do not send offers with regards to lowering interest rates.

Very helpful over the phone. Offers good customer service but they do not send offers with regards to lowering interest rates.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Penelope (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

User friendly, simple and great customer service

From the day we rang our local branch for information regarding a home loan until the day we got home, they have been very friendly, informative and useful. My wife and I are extremely happy to use Commonwealth Bank for our home loan and we have...

From the day we rang our local branch for information regarding a home loan until the day we got home, they have been very friendly, informative and useful. My wife and I are extremely happy to use Commonwealth Bank for our home loan and we have recommended our experience to many friends.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Muhammed (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Attentive and customer focused

Approachable and adaptable staff. Competitive provider and appears to be working in partnership.

Approachable and adaptable staff. Competitive provider and appears to be working in partnership.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kym (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great services

Staff are friendly and provide good advice.

Staff are friendly and provide good advice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Proactive, approachable and informative

I found my personal finance banker to be very proactive, approachable and most importantly available. I was kept up to date and informed every step of the way.

I found my personal finance banker to be very proactive, approachable and most importantly available. I was kept up to date and informed every step of the way.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nerida (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Extremely helpful in times of need

They have helped in times of need with very little fuss and never made me feel uncomfortable.

They have helped in times of need with very little fuss and never made me feel uncomfortable.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Corinne (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Hume Bank

Hume Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

I have banked Hume Bank for 20 years

Hume Bank offers low fees and I like that they are also community owned.

Hume Bank offers low fees and I like that they are also community owned.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Virginia (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Too quick to pass on higher rates

They have all the latest products, but they also have some of the highest charges. Still a great bank overall.

They have all the latest products, but they also have some of the highest charges. Still a great bank overall.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Frances (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan (2 Year Introductory Rate, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall provider

As a big bank they are inflexible, but the convenience of service outweighs this.

As a big bank they are inflexible, but the convenience of service outweighs this.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brian (ACT), reviewed about 2 months ago

Aussie

Aussie Optimizer Variable (LVR<80%, Principal & Interest, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

I like banking with Aussie as they are always in touch to make sure you are happy. They also look into decreasing the interest rate all the time.

I like banking with Aussie as they are always in touch to make sure you are happy. They also look into decreasing the interest rate all the time.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vicky (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The ANZ are a real people bank

They have helped family and I during a time of crisis. After being hit by a P plate driver at work and losing my job whilst on a Dr's certificate, they've been behind us 10/10.

They have helped family and I during a time of crisis. After being hit by a P plate driver at work and losing my job whilst on a Dr's certificate, they've been behind us 10/10.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Money Manager home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Would not recommend

We lost a lot of money with incorrect advise from them.

We lost a lot of money with incorrect advise from them.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Linda (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan 80 Special (Owner Occupier)

    Mortgage House Advantage Home Loan 80 Special (Owner Occupier)

    • $0 Application fees
    • Free & unlimited redraws
    • Instantly switch from your current variable rate to a fixed rate.

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.88% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $200

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application fees
    • Free & unlimited redraws
    • Instantly switch from your current variable rate to a fixed rate.
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.88% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $200
    • Ongoing fees: $10.00 monthly
    • Discharge fee: $450.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $500,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 5 Mortgage House home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.75% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.77% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $270

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.75% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.77% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $270
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    4.17% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.22% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 4.17% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.22% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • BCU OMG Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    BCU OMG Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Easy online application
    • 3 month pre-approval
    • Money Mag Credit Union of the Year

    interest rate

    3.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.09% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $900

    Go to site

    More info

    • Easy online application
    • 3 month pre-approval
    • Money Mag Credit Union of the Year
    • Interest rate: 3.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $900
    • Ongoing fees: $198.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $395.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.9

    Based on 13 BCU home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts

    interest rate

    3.85% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.16% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts
    • Interest rate: 3.85% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.16% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - free
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 8 Gateway Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 507 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.