Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<80% $200k-$1.5m, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Have asked for a better rate but ignored

The Mortgage rate has not been reduced to the market rate
Full review

The Mortgage rate has not been reduced to the market rate

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Fernando (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Reduce Home Loans

Reduce Home Loans home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy Camper

Refinanced and was a bit sceptical at 1st as it was the first time I had dealt with a non bank, let alone online so I checked them out on various Review sites and to my surprise found the were rates 5 stars by Canstar which my Bank wasn't. I am...
Full review

Refinanced and was a bit sceptical at 1st as it was the first time I had dealt with a non bank, let alone online so I checked them out on various Review sites and to my surprise found the were rates 5 stars by Canstar which my Bank wasn't. I am happy to say dealing with Reduce was leagues above my Bank who have known me for over 15 years and they have the lowest 'genuine' rate by a Country mile.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Pete (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Service to the community and the customer.

A bank that provides excellent products, customer service and excellent support to the community.
Full review

A bank that provides excellent products, customer service and excellent support to the community.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine (WA), reviewed 7 days ago

ME

ME Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to deal with every time

Great bank to trust always reasonable rates don't hear of exorbitant ceo salaries and share prices
Full review

Great bank to trust always reasonable rates don't hear of exorbitant ceo salaries and share prices

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Julie (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

St.George

St.George Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

St George staff are always willing to help you and nothing is inconvenient to them. I would recommend St George.The staff explain everything in simple terms to you so you can understand exactly what you have to do.
Full review

St George staff are always willing to help you and nothing is inconvenient to them. I would recommend St George.The staff explain everything in simple terms to you so you can understand exactly what you have to do.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Trish (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy with them

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Maree (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent support and superior customer service!

I have had excellent support and service from the staff at the local ANZ branch. When I enter the bank I am made to feel welcome & treated like a VIP, although I am very ordinary & my mortgage is rather low, not likely to make a fortune for the...
Full review

I have had excellent support and service from the staff at the local ANZ branch. When I enter the bank I am made to feel welcome & treated like a VIP, although I am very ordinary & my mortgage is rather low, not likely to make a fortune for the bank. There may, possibly, be better offers out there but I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

P (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

BCU

BCU All in One Line of Credit (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Still smiling.

All we want smoothly and easily. Staff listened to my needs and suggested a great product that will assist me now and into the future.
Full review

All we want smoothly and easily. Staff listened to my needs and suggested a great product that will assist me now and into the future.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Jenny (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

St.George

St.George home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Service is great. Online banking always smooth

Great bank. Easy to work with. One of the few companies I don't get stressed about when needing customer support! customer service is great to deal with, without the run around of being transferred from one person to another. That's just the way...
Full review

Great bank. Easy to work with. One of the few companies I don't get stressed about when needing customer support! customer service is great to deal with, without the run around of being transferred from one person to another. That's just the way it should be!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Nada (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service and products

Great customer service, ING's banking app is very user friendly. Can't fault the bank or it's products. Only negatives, no physical branches.
Full review

Great customer service, ING's banking app is very user friendly. Can't fault the bank or it's products. Only negatives, no physical branches.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Claire (VIC), reviewed 11 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service, met my individual needs

Fantastic customer service. Provided an individual service to me. Felt they understood my needs
Full review

Fantastic customer service. Provided an individual service to me. Felt they understood my needs

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Colleen (VIC), reviewed 11 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

Great service great banking A kind term customer and always will be
Full review

Great service great banking A kind term customer and always will be

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lani (WA), reviewed 11 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Interest rates are low and good customer service

The customer service is very personal, I only deal with one person which I like and they have been extremely accommodating to my needs and finding a way to make the loan work for my situation. The only thing that I dislike is when they need to use...
Full review

The customer service is very personal, I only deal with one person which I like and they have been extremely accommodating to my needs and finding a way to make the loan work for my situation. The only thing that I dislike is when they need to use 3 parties which can slow things down.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kylie (WA), reviewed 11 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier over $500,000, LVR<80%) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good valuation

Slow with paperwork and processing
Full review

Slow with paperwork and processing

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mike (QLD), reviewed 11 days ago

Greater Bank

Greater Bank Discount Ultimate Home Loan (LVR<80%, over $150K, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Awesome

The greater have lower fees and I just find them to be a really suitable bank.
Full review

The greater have lower fees and I just find them to be a really suitable bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jennifer (QLD), reviewed 11 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A bank to have faith in.

We have been with Suncorp for the past 7 years and we can't fault them. The rates and packages are excellent, the personal service is refreshing and prompt and they have been proactive and accommodating in providing us with better packages and...
Full review

We have been with Suncorp for the past 7 years and we can't fault them. The rates and packages are excellent, the personal service is refreshing and prompt and they have been proactive and accommodating in providing us with better packages and assistance when needed.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ryan (WA), reviewed 11 days ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

You can do better.

I have had a mortgage with NAB since 2008, but can't say I think much of their customer service. In the past I have had to repeatedly follow up to make sure things progress. They have been so slow on one occasion it took over four months to get a...
Full review

I have had a mortgage with NAB since 2008, but can't say I think much of their customer service. In the past I have had to repeatedly follow up to make sure things progress. They have been so slow on one occasion it took over four months to get a fixed rate locked in, which is beyond ridiculous. Minor requests have also often not been actioned correctly. That said, the customer service people have always been really nice, which is a positive because the same cannot be said of many organisations. Overall the product is just okay. Other organisations offer better rates and the customer service is decent but the follow-through and accuracy are frequently sub par, but you have the safety of a large bank.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Sarah (SA), reviewed 11 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive and trustworthy

Easy to work with, easy to access all accounts online.
Full review

Easy to work with, easy to access all accounts online.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Wayne (VIC), reviewed 11 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Definitely competitive product and great service

You get to talk to real people who explain in simple terms, the product and what you can expect.
Full review

You get to talk to real people who explain in simple terms, the product and what you can expect.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Robert (WA), reviewed 11 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Tech Savvy & AMAZING Customer Care

I've never experienced the care and effort put in by the staff who helped me with my loan. Recently called the hotline regarding a question and the woman who served me was above and beyond helpful and suggested ways to reduce my expenses! Recently...
Full review

I've never experienced the care and effort put in by the staff who helped me with my loan. Recently called the hotline regarding a question and the woman who served me was above and beyond helpful and suggested ways to reduce my expenses! Recently went into the local branch and the technology for deposits of cash and coins far exceeds other banks. No more standing in line waiting for easy to do tasks!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lara (QLD), reviewed 11 days ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy.

I'm very happy with NAB.
Full review

I'm very happy with NAB.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mile (VIC), reviewed 11 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent

This bank is extremely helpful and understanding offering the best products to meet your needs
Full review

This bank is extremely helpful and understanding offering the best products to meet your needs

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Alan (QLD), reviewed 11 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Interest rate higher than other places

Interest rate higher than other places, not competitive, very disappointing.
Full review

Interest rate higher than other places, not competitive, very disappointing.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Leanne (VIC), reviewed 11 days ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Friendly and helpful

I have found the staff at the NAB so helpful and the are always ringing me for new products. At my age I need people that are helpful.
Full review

I have found the staff at the NAB so helpful and the are always ringing me for new products. At my age I need people that are helpful.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Chris (QLD), reviewed 11 days ago

HSBC

HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Premier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great bank

Good service
Full review

Good service

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Priya (VIC), reviewed 11 days ago

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • Mortgage House Advantage Discounted Variable Home Loan 70 (Owner Occupier)

    Mortgage House Advantage Discounted Variable Home Loan 70 (Owner Occupier)

    • We will pay your switching cost
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Low interest rate

    variable rate

    3.69% variable for 6 months and then 4.19%

    comparison rate*

    4.19%

    Upfront fees

    $200

    Go to site

    More info

    • We will pay your switching cost
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Low interest rate
    • Variable rate: 3.69% variable for 6 months and then 4.19%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.19%
    • Upfront fees: $200
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $450.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 5 Mortgage House home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • loans.com.au Move Fast Special (Owner Occupier)

    loans.com.au Move Fast Special (Owner Occupier)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • Split loan facility
    • Available for purchase and refinance

    variable rate

    3.88%

    comparison rate*

    4.28%

    Upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Lender of the Year
    • Split loan facility
    • Available for purchase and refinance
    • Variable rate: 3.88%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.28%
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $375.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $550.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Full Salary Credit (Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Full Salary Credit (Owner Occupier)

    • No monthly fees
    • Redraw available
    • 3.98% p.a. variable rate

    variable rate

    3.98%

    comparison rate*

    4.02%

    Upfront fees

    $595

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • Redraw available
    • 3.98% p.a. variable rate
    • Variable rate: 3.98%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.02%
    • Upfront fees: $595
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 35 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Best Value Variable Home Loan
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% Minimum deposit required

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    3.99%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Best Value Variable Home Loan
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% Minimum deposit required
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 3.99%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<80% $200k-$1.5m, Owner Occupier) (Package)

    Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<80% $200k-$1.5m, Owner Occupier) (Package)

    • $0 home loan application fees
    • $0 annual fee on your choice of a rewards credit card
    • $0 property valuation fees with your home loan application

    variable rate

    4.22%

    comparison rate*

    4.62%

    Upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 home loan application fees
    • $0 annual fee on your choice of a rewards credit card
    • $0 property valuation fees with your home loan application
    • Variable rate: 4.22%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.62%
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $338.20
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,499,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 315 Bankwest home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 485 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank, insurer, gas or electricity for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.