Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Home Loan Special (Owner Occupier, LVR<90%) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great banking experience

All in one account with savings on fees. Great customer service too.

Full review

All in one account with savings on fees. Great customer service too.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Casey (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager (under $250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Our bank manager was great when we first set up our home loan. I have also had issues on one or two occasions regarding my card and this has been sorted relatively quickly through the call centre. All staff members are helpful and will assist...

Full review

Our bank manager was great when we first set up our home loan. I have also had issues on one or two occasions regarding my card and this has been sorted relatively quickly through the call centre. All staff members are helpful and will assist where they can.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Nicole (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bankwest

Bankwest home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fair rates and great customer service

They have fair rates and great service. There could be more ATMs around. Sometimes we go into the branch and ask for them to increase our payment amount or request something similar, but this can take a few visits for them to do.

Full review

They have fair rates and great service. There could be more ATMs around. Sometimes we go into the branch and ask for them to increase our payment amount or request something similar, but this can take a few visits for them to do.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amanda (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Viridian Line of Credit (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very professional and accurate information

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

Full review

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

AMP

AMP Essential Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Absolute best rate but close to worst service.

The service from AMP when you want statements and setting up internet banking is awful. The rates for this loan are outstanding and no other financial institution could come within 0.75% of their rate. The best thing is that when they give you a...

Full review

The service from AMP when you want statements and setting up internet banking is awful. The rates for this loan are outstanding and no other financial institution could come within 0.75% of their rate. The best thing is that when they give you a loan, they won't bother you, unless there is a problem. Unfortunately, their service is what makes them go down in my ranking.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Darren (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank No Fee Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Used to have competitive rates, but not anymore

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

Full review

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sharyn (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Premium Select (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

A great home loan from a bank that has amazing customer service. When dealing with this much money, customer service is the most important aspect of a bank's services in my opinion.

Full review

A great home loan from a bank that has amazing customer service. When dealing with this much money, customer service is the most important aspect of a bank's services in my opinion.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ashley (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Trust worthy

Their service is great and they talk us into the right direction

Full review

Their service is great and they talk us into the right direction

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Matelita (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good service

I have had great service from the ANZ bank for the last 30 years.

Full review

I have had great service from the ANZ bank for the last 30 years.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ashley (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Macquarie

Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal&interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great Customer Service

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

Full review

Staff always willing to help. They are polite and courteous. Changes to account structures and so forth are never a problem to achieve.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Stephen (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They are a great community asset

They are convenient. I have been a long time user and have purchased many properties with Westpac assistance.

Full review

They are convenient. I have been a long time user and have purchased many properties with Westpac assistance.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Barry (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Extremely disappointed with ANZ

After many years of loyal service and keeping our repayments well in advance for most of the time, we got behind one month by $10.35 and we started receiving texts and phone calls from some overseas call centre demanding immediate payment. We...

Full review

After many years of loyal service and keeping our repayments well in advance for most of the time, we got behind one month by $10.35 and we started receiving texts and phone calls from some overseas call centre demanding immediate payment. We fixed the issue but the month after that, we started receiving more messages about another small payment. After this, we decided to look for another local bank and they were more than happy to transfer the loan to their account. They had a better interest rate and personal service.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Len (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service from Glen Wallen.

The person who assisted us with our loan gave us superb service and attention. When encouraged, they also gave us a very competitive interest rate.

Full review

The person who assisted us with our loan gave us superb service and attention. When encouraged, they also gave us a very competitive interest rate.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Jeanette (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank SmartSaver (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very happy customer

Very happy with service staff as they are very competent and friendly.

Full review

Very happy with service staff as they are very competent and friendly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Barry (SA), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Customer service is not great

At the bank in Ararat last week, an employee questioned four people in the queue and advised each of us to do our own banking business away from the bank.

Full review

At the bank in Ararat last week, an employee questioned four people in the queue and advised each of us to do our own banking business away from the bank.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Wayne (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

St.George

St.George home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service and helpful staff.

I have dealt with St George since it was a building society. The staff are always helpful and friendly.

Full review

I have dealt with St George since it was a building society. The staff are always helpful and friendly.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brenda (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good service but at an extremely high price

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

Full review

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Steve (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The best bank out of the big four

I have been with Westpac for a long time and have a mortgage redraw as well as other accounts connected to my mortgage account which provides me with a hassle free banking experience.

Full review

I have been with Westpac for a long time and have a mortgage redraw as well as other accounts connected to my mortgage account which provides me with a hassle free banking experience.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geoffrey (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and support

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

Full review

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Robyn (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service!!

Bank manager always willing to help even in short notice. They are very accommodating to each individual's situation.

Full review

Bank manager always willing to help even in short notice. They are very accommodating to each individual's situation.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marinda (WA), reviewed 4 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly and helpful with great customer service

While we have not really had a lot to do with the bank on a day to day basis, when we do need to speak to them they are very friendly and helpful.

Full review

While we have not really had a lot to do with the bank on a day to day basis, when we do need to speak to them they are very friendly and helpful.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Rebecca (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

First name basis service. Just one of the family.

Personal service. You are not just a number. You and your application matter to them.

Full review

Personal service. You are not just a number. You and your application matter to them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ms. (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poor customer service

Communication difficulties

Full review

Communication difficulties

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Leah (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No fuss, quick, simple & easy to understand

The whole process was quick, simple and easy to understand. Finance was in place on time with no fuss.

Full review

The whole process was quick, simple and easy to understand. Finance was in place on time with no fuss.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paul (WA), reviewed 4 months ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy online banking and reasonable rates

I primarily like this bank - Good online facility (rarely need to visit branch) - Available staff when needed (not frequently)- Drop interest rates when reserve bank does

Full review

I primarily like this bank - Good online facility (rarely need to visit branch) - Available staff when needed (not frequently)- Drop interest rates when reserve bank does

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.60% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.60% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 35 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Community First Credit Union Special 3 Year Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Community First Credit Union Special 3 Year Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • 100% offset account attached
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Make additional repayments up $25,000 p.a without penalty

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    4.93% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $990

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% offset account attached
    • No monthly or annual fees
    • Make additional repayments up $25,000 p.a without penalty
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.93% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $990
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $25,000 p.a.
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Monthly, Fortnightly, Weekly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 4 Community First Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Breathe Easy Spring Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    State Custodians Breathe Easy Spring Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • $0 Annual Fee, $0 Application Fee
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.72% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.75% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Annual Fee, $0 Application Fee
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.72% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.75% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%)

    Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%)

    • Free redraw and unlimited repayments
    • 100% mortgage offset account
    • No upfront or ongoing fees

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free redraw and unlimited repayments
    • 100% mortgage offset account
    • No upfront or ongoing fees
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $295.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 27 Beyond Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.05% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - free
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 8 Gateway Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 496 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.