Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service and assistance

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

Full review

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

David (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Customer service is not their strong point

Being self employed we don't have much choice when it comes to who we can bank with. We would move to another bank if it were possible.

Full review

Being self employed we don't have much choice when it comes to who we can bank with. We would move to another bank if it were possible.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Marcia (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Extremely competitive and fantastic service

Our experience with ANZ has been great. They came to us and refinanced our home loan at a very competitive rate and the staff are absolutely wonderful and always happy to help.

Full review

Our experience with ANZ has been great. They came to us and refinanced our home loan at a very competitive rate and the staff are absolutely wonderful and always happy to help.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marissa (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great to deal with

They were very helpful on initial setup. Were accomodating and understanding when we queried the rate. They send regular updates of rate changes and how we can fix our rate if we want to. Online/mobile app is very user friendly.

Full review

They were very helpful on initial setup. Were accomodating and understanding when we queried the rate. They send regular updates of rate changes and how we can fix our rate if we want to. Online/mobile app is very user friendly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kayla (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

We have banked with Bank of Queensland for over 20 years and always found them to be highly competitive, very approachable and always willing to find good solutions to problems - even during difficult times.

Full review

We have banked with Bank of Queensland for over 20 years and always found them to be highly competitive, very approachable and always willing to find good solutions to problems - even during difficult times.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alan (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

AMP

AMP home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

AMP is highly disappointing

Looking forward to a better bank!

Full review

Looking forward to a better bank!

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Jo (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic service throught out

The service at the Bendigo Bank are a lot better in East Gippsland than other banks.

Full review

The service at the Bendigo Bank are a lot better in East Gippsland than other banks.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leonard (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

I feel like we have been mislead

They started out as a great choice with excellent customer service at our local branch but has since let us down tremendously. One of the comments made by a loan staff employee at our last meeting not only was extremely offensive but also out of...

Full review

They started out as a great choice with excellent customer service at our local branch but has since let us down tremendously. One of the comments made by a loan staff employee at our last meeting not only was extremely offensive but also out of line in so many ways.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Geraldine (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

A good bank that has come out reasonably from the RC in Melbourne.

Full review

A good bank that has come out reasonably from the RC in Melbourne.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Michael (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150k-$250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

fantastic customer service/product knowledge

I love, love, love my bank manager she is the best. I appreciate the time she spends with me (one on one) explaining different products/policies and researching the pros and cons to find what is the best loan/s for my lifestyle.

Full review

I love, love, love my bank manager she is the best. I appreciate the time she spends with me (one on one) explaining different products/policies and researching the pros and cons to find what is the best loan/s for my lifestyle.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Leesa (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150,000-$249,999) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Satisfied with the product

Reasonably happy with the product. Satisfied with the customer service. The rates are competitive, as with all the big banks.

Full review

Reasonably happy with the product. Satisfied with the customer service. The rates are competitive, as with all the big banks.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Bradley (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Australian Military Bank

Australian Military Bank Variable Offset Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Have been very good in past

Currently revising all banking systems at same time, utter chaos.

Full review

Currently revising all banking systems at same time, utter chaos.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Don (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Had one bad loans officer

Overall service has been good, but for one shocking experience.

Full review

Overall service has been good, but for one shocking experience.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Linda (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union Standard Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

I miss personal contact

We have banked with them for many years. Unfortunately there is no branch near us, none in this area at all, the nearest is over an hour's drive away. Phone and online internet banking is OK, but there are times when I would like to speak directly...

Full review

We have banked with them for many years. Unfortunately there is no branch near us, none in this area at all, the nearest is over an hour's drive away. Phone and online internet banking is OK, but there are times when I would like to speak directly with someone in a branch locally.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jan (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150,000-$249,999) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

ANZ are very responsive

ANZ have been very responsive with any questions and we’re happy to reduce my rate when I called for a review recently.

Full review

ANZ have been very responsive with any questions and we’re happy to reduce my rate when I called for a review recently.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sally (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Fixed Rate Residential (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank

Always friendly, eager to help and available when required.

Full review

Always friendly, eager to help and available when required.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Willem (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager (LVR<80%, under $250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Very disappointed with ANZ

Very disappointed with ANZ for so many reasons. I have been a loyal customer for 20 years. I am stuck with them for another 2 years due to new legislation.

Full review

Very disappointed with ANZ for so many reasons. I have been a loyal customer for 20 years. I am stuck with them for another 2 years due to new legislation.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Alison (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Berrima District Credit Union

Berrima District Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Personalised service, great help

Personalised service, great help, answer all your questions, helpful.

Full review

Personalised service, great help, answer all your questions, helpful.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Back to Basics Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive rate

Easy to use and honest in their dealings with you.

Full review

Easy to use and honest in their dealings with you.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Bronwyn (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Contemplating change

Hate the office hours as I can never make it into a branch.

Full review

Hate the office hours as I can never make it into a branch.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alison (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I’ll stick with them

I’ve been with them for almost 18 years & I'm still very happy with all the services provided.

Full review

I’ve been with them for almost 18 years & I'm still very happy with all the services provided.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Bernard (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

No problems with CBA

Would highly recommend, approachable and helpful.

Full review

Would highly recommend, approachable and helpful.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sanela (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

NAB

NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, Fixed) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good

Very good

Full review

Very good

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Dominic (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and flexibility

Great customer service and flexibility. History of banking and prior employer 20 years.

Full review

Great customer service and flexibility. History of banking and prior employer 20 years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rates, customer service is average

I like Westpac. The only thing I dislike is that it's online transfers takes too long. It should be instantaneous, 2 business days wait; it's all computerised it should happen straight away.

Full review

I like Westpac. The only thing I dislike is that it's online transfers takes too long. It should be instantaneous, 2 business days wait; it's all computerised it should happen straight away.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Anna (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Tic:Toc Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Tic:Toc Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • THE WORLD'S FIRST INSTANT HOME LOAN
    • Get full approval, not pre-approval. 100% online, real-time assessment and an answer in 22 minutes
    • No application, assessment or valuation fees. Offset account available

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a.
    fixed 2 years

    comparison rate*

    3.65% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • THE WORLD'S FIRST INSTANT HOME LOAN
    • Get full approval, not pre-approval. 100% online, real-time assessment and an answer in 22 minutes
    • No application, assessment or valuation fees. Offset account available
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
    • Comparison rate*: 3.65% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $325.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free, up to $20,000
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - optional, $10 per month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 509 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.