Home loan customer reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Homestar Home Loan

    Rates are great but service is abysmal

    The only reason my home loan is with Home Star is because their rates are so cheap. Aside from that, the customer service is frustrating to deal with and their app needs enhancing.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sam, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago
    More Homestar home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Home Loan

    Absolutely Useless

    No communication and no respect for their customers. Continual extensions on property settlement because ANZ can't get their act together costing us money that they don't care about!

    Customer service
    Less
    Colleen, Queensland, reviewed 7 days ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Pepper Money Home Loan

    Interest rate to high for the size of the loan tha

    I think that interest I pay on my loan is excessive.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Lou, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
    More Pepper Money home loan customer reviews
  • St.George Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package)

    treat customers unfairly and indifferently

    1. Treat new and existing customers unfairly. 2. The interest rates that offering to the existing customers with long-term relationship, excellent repayment records, low LVR is 0.50%p.a. higher than other participants in the market. 3. The customer retention hotline provides poor service.

    Price
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Wendy, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
    More St.George home loan customer reviews
  • Macquarie Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest)

    Customer Mental Health and Suicide not a concern

    Disgusting attitude to customer Mental Health and suicide. Happy to provide info on how suicide could be used by the customer as a fix from foreclosure. Their Customer Advocate Department is just a tool they use for their benefit, completely shattering for the customer. Complaints department what can I say, I was thinking hard about offing myself after my last run-in with the manager there.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matthew, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Macquarie home loan customer reviews
  • Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    No complaints, unbeatable rates. Happy customer

    Customer service has been good. Since the loan is backed by Bendigo and Adelaide bank, the online banking uses the same system as Adelaide Bank which works well, and on par with other banks like NAB/Commsec online banking which I also use. The rates are pretty unbeatable and the reason I re-financed to Tic Toc. No regrets. The extra $10 for the offset account is a no brainer for me. So far I've found the company to be pretty reasonable, honest and transparent. Unlike my previous lender, I haven't had any mysterious rate increases due to "increased running costs".

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Jock, South Australia, reviewed 9 days ago
    More Tic:Toc home loan customer reviews
  • Bank of Melbourne Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package)

    Personalised and great service

    They care for their customers, a more personalised bank like the were big4 in the 1980/90s. They have a can do approach, easy to get through to & always willing to assist. Being ex bankers (both me & husband of 2 major banks). We found that’s operations have changed dramatically since our days, staff are only knowledgeable in their field without understanding all the background leading to it, whereas in our days (we’re only in our 50s) we started at the bottom of the banking chain, through ledgers, telling, processing, personal bankers & then moved up to senior positions having all the background knowledge. Having closed a business in 2015 we were left with home loan & business loan which our bank could not refinance (ANZ) nor could the others of the big 4. The refinance with BOM was straight forward & have never looked back, their service is still outstanding 5 years on Have since encouraged two of our sons to approach BOM for their first home loan, even though it’s not their bank, they did & were very content with the service, they are now loyal customers, our 3rd son will do same next year without a second thought.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Daniela, Victoria, reviewed 8 days ago
    More Bank of Melbourne home loan customer reviews
  • Qudos Bank Low Cost Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%)

    Avoid if you don’t want to be completely stressed!

    Currently trying to have a loan approved. Commenced process almost 3 months ago, now two weeks out from settlement they have requested additional information for their assessment. This includes rental statements, tax returns and letters of rental valuation on our current residence that we will be selling. Had they have asked for this earlier on there would be no issue but seeming we are so close to settlement it is looking very unlikely we will get approval on time. Fortunately we have a Plan B and the LVR is less than 40% but for anyone relying on the bank to assist them in the process of purchasing a home I would be looking elsewhere before wasting valuable time and being unnecessarily stressed out.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Homebuyer, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
    More Qudos Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Extra Home Loan (LVR <70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Incompetent lending specialists

    I went to this bank seeking a pre approval for a home loan and asked them multiples time what my maximum borrowing capacity is. The answer they gave me was completely wrong and I spent over six months attending open homes and auctions with some properties just going out of my price at auction or getting beaten in terms and conditions in multiple offer situations. They did this assessment listing that I had two dependants which I don’t not have and I never stated that I do. My finances are not completed as I am debt free, employed full time and have a decent deposit. I recently engaged another bank who stated my maximum borrowing capacity was close to 300k more. I would not recommend CBA to anyone, they are highly incompetent. Due to this error and the rise in the property markets there is a long list of suburbs that I can’t not afford to purchase in anymore.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matt, Queensland, reviewed 13 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<70%)

    Thorough

    Flexible.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Pamela, Tasmania, reviewed 15 days ago
    More MyState Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Police Credit Union Home Loan

    Police Credit Union offers value for money.

    I believe that the Police Credit Union offers more friendly service and the employees will ring you back when they say they will. When I have asked for a better deal they have provided be a better home loan interest rate.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Janine, South Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
    More Police Credit Union home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    A good easy bank

    Great interest rate, really easy to use web page and still have convenient branches or you can do business at Aus post.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 15 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Australian Unity Home Loan

    great bank with great customer service

    Great bank with great rates and flexibility and customer service that understand customers need and in an every changing world adapt their services to meet these needs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Rami, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago
    More Australian Unity home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Home Loan

    Everything is good except the pricing

    A trustworthy bank. You believe they will do everything in correct procedure. But their rate is really not competitive. And so have to leave later.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Wai, Western Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Auswide Bank Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<90%) (Freedom Package)

    Unwilling to refinance

    Despite substantial equity in home loan, they were inflexible and unwilling to examine refinancing. This then placed strain on personal finances. I have changed banks since. It is difficult to only have phone contact.

    Price
    Features
    Convenience
    Less
    Karen, Queensland, reviewed 15 days ago
    More Auswide Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.89% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.02% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 484 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.