Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Generally happy!

I have been very happy with ING in general, but I have seen the interest rates start to creep up compared to other offer financial institutions, which is not great!
Full review

I have been very happy with ING in general, but I have seen the interest rates start to creep up compared to other offer financial institutions, which is not great!

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Leola (NSW), reviewed 3 minutes ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Not the cheapest - but honest.

Have nothing bad to say about commonwealth bank.
Full review

Have nothing bad to say about commonwealth bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Carole (NSW), reviewed 4 minutes ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

BCU

BCU Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Hopeless and difficult to deal with

This review is worse than the last. Really disillusioned with the BCU at present. Have been with them for over 30 years. When I relocated 2 years ago they advanced me $20,000 variable rate secured mortgage for renovations to my property. I...
Full review

This review is worse than the last. Really disillusioned with the BCU at present. Have been with them for over 30 years. When I relocated 2 years ago they advanced me $20,000 variable rate secured mortgage for renovations to my property. I have never defaulted on a payment, my pension has gone in every two weeks, I have a credit card which has never been behind. I recently applied for a $6000 top up for more work on my house. I was declined - age discrimination - said they did not want to "saddle me with more debt" because I am 71 years old. Am really really angry and insulted and am in the process at the moment of trying to change everything over to another provider closer to where I live. I have recently acquired some casual work - one day a week - so have resubmitted my application to BCU just to see what they come back with but do not expect any joy. Totally disillusioned.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Edith (NSW), reviewed 25 minutes ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive if you do your Homework!

I like Westpac as I have a great variable rate and great customer service, but I don't like Westpac as that doesn't come easy and it's not for everyone. What I mean is my assertive, research oriented ways allow me to compel them to give me best...
Full review

I like Westpac as I have a great variable rate and great customer service, but I don't like Westpac as that doesn't come easy and it's not for everyone. What I mean is my assertive, research oriented ways allow me to compel them to give me best rates, especially as we own multiple homes but if you don't call them, stay on them and know your rates, Westpac doesn't look after you. So far as customer service it's excellent IF you get the right person in the bank or on the phone. At times I've said I need to go and ring back as I find the person on the other end unhelpful or not knowledgeable enough. In a nutshell Westpac is great IF you're willing to work, if you're not, they're not, in my opinion.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed about 18 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 1 Year Guaranteed (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Easy and quick.

My bank is terrible. But I stick with them as apparently they are the best and all other banks stem from the CBA.
Full review

My bank is terrible. But I stick with them as apparently they are the best and all other banks stem from the CBA.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Julie (WA), reviewed about 19 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier over $500,000, LVR<80%) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Comparing what's on offer at the moment

I would like them to initiate contact regarding better offers.
Full review

I would like them to initiate contact regarding better offers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Marelin (SA), reviewed about 19 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Coastline Credit Union

Coastline Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

Fantastic service, competitive rates and staff who want to know about you.
Full review

Fantastic service, competitive rates and staff who want to know about you.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kate (NSW), reviewed about 19 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not competitive with interest rate

At the moment I have a dislike as we have been with them for a number of years and I have called them to give me a better rate. They have not been willing to budge. I am in process of getting my finances and approaching another financial...
Full review

At the moment I have a dislike as we have been with them for a number of years and I have called them to give me a better rate. They have not been willing to budge. I am in process of getting my finances and approaching another financial institution.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Maria (QLD), reviewed about 20 hours ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

UBank

UBank UHomeLoan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Ubank is awesome

Easy to apply and customer service is always quick and great
Full review

Easy to apply and customer service is always quick and great

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Mei (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Liberty

Liberty Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not happy

Not at all happy with their time frame of getting paperwork processed. It has cost me over $2,000 in penalty fees. Not happy
Full review

Not at all happy with their time frame of getting paperwork processed. It has cost me over $2,000 in penalty fees. Not happy

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Glenda (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great products

NAB is a good bank with great products and good service...when they are open. Our branch is closed for lunch for an hour which is when most people can go to the bank so its a bit disappointing.
Full review

NAB is a good bank with great products and good service...when they are open. Our branch is closed for lunch for an hour which is when most people can go to the bank so its a bit disappointing.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rennie (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Mortgage Simplifier (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic products and service

Have had my mortgage with ING for 7 years and would not consider any other company.
Full review

Have had my mortgage with ING for 7 years and would not consider any other company.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tristan (TAS), reviewed 7 days ago

1 person found this review helpful – do you? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Have a go

One of the best banks
Full review

One of the best banks

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

George (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service, friendly staff. Always a pleasure

This bank has been a pleasure to deal with. Branch staff are very helpful. Branch atmosphere is very pleasant. Online banking is user friendly. I feel very comfortable with this bank.
Full review

This bank has been a pleasure to deal with. Branch staff are very helpful. Branch atmosphere is very pleasant. Online banking is user friendly. I feel very comfortable with this bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Peter (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ME

ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Totally brilliant

Awesome in every respect from service to getting things done
Full review

Awesome in every respect from service to getting things done

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Gary (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Security of a large bank. Several loan services

I get discounts with the wealth package. Cheaper insurance. Easy access with phone and internet banking
Full review

I get discounts with the wealth package. Cheaper insurance. Easy access with phone and internet banking

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jude (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 1 Year Guaranteed (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service

It was convenient as I have been their customer for many years.
Full review

It was convenient as I have been their customer for many years.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nesrin (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Personalised customer service.

I love this bank and have used them for everything - personal and business. I have my own personal banker that I can call anytime with queries or to help me find or switch products. They always give the best advice on what products work for my...
Full review

I love this bank and have used them for everything - personal and business. I have my own personal banker that I can call anytime with queries or to help me find or switch products. They always give the best advice on what products work for my situation. A mobile banker will even come to our house after hours to run through paperwork etc. when it is convenient for us.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susan (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Warwick Credit Union

Warwick Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great bank - where they know you on sight

Great product, offering 100% offset account. Cannot speak highly enough of Helen and her staff at the Dalby branch. Friendly and efficient, any question you ask they have the answer and if they do not know they will find out for you.
Full review

Great product, offering 100% offset account. Cannot speak highly enough of Helen and her staff at the Dalby branch. Friendly and efficient, any question you ask they have the answer and if they do not know they will find out for you.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kym (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Mostly happy overall

There have been a few mistakes lately. Very time consuming and frustrating to deal with. Mostly just set and forget.
Full review

There have been a few mistakes lately. Very time consuming and frustrating to deal with. Mostly just set and forget.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Gillian (ACT), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Annual fees are a grab for unfair profits.

Annual application fees of $300 really? For what? Access to a loan that the bank is making big profits from?
Full review

Annual application fees of $300 really? For what? Access to a loan that the bank is making big profits from?

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Glenn (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic communication and customer service

We've had to adjust our loan due to unforeseen circumstances and the bank have been open and willing to assist us in any way possible. They're always friendly and communication is excellent. Would definitely recommend them to people.
Full review

We've had to adjust our loan due to unforeseen circumstances and the bank have been open and willing to assist us in any way possible. They're always friendly and communication is excellent. Would definitely recommend them to people.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sandra (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Being respected by a supporting partner

I have had two loans with Westpac for close to 25 years. Recent financial hardship following a redundancy made life very difficult, it was so great to receive hardship guidance and a plan to assist us to get back on track. It was done with grace...
Full review

I have had two loans with Westpac for close to 25 years. Recent financial hardship following a redundancy made life very difficult, it was so great to receive hardship guidance and a plan to assist us to get back on track. It was done with grace and I felt respected and heard. The loan is now back in line and I'm grateful not to have been hounded but worked with. I would only like to add that branch managers are and should be more stable in your organisation, they seem to change every year

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sue (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good

Our re-finance was organised quickly, professionally and with good rates
Full review

Our re-finance was organised quickly, professionally and with good rates

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Hanna (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier over $500,000, LVR<80%) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great flexibility

Suits my needs with its flexibility
Full review

Suits my needs with its flexibility

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dean (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Was this review helpful? Yes

Flag this review

  • 3.89 % p.a.
    variable rate

    100%
    OFFSET

  • 3.92 % p.a.
    comparison rate*

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • Mortgage House Easy Start One Home Loan

    Mortgage House Easy Start One Home Loan

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • 100% free offset account
    • Pay off your mortgage faster with no penalties

    variable rate

    3.69% variable for 12 months and then 4.19%

    comparison rate*

    4.58%

    Upfront fees

    $395

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • 100% free offset account
    • Pay off your mortgage faster with no penalties
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.69% variable for 12 months and then 4.19%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.58%
    • Upfront fees: $395
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $395.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 5 Mortgage House home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • No monthly fees
    • Redraw available
    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable

    variable rate

    3.98%

    comparison rate*

    3.99%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly fees
    • Redraw available
    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.98%
    • Comparison rate*: 3.99%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 35 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Best Value Variable Home Loan
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% Minimum deposit required

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    3.99%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Best Value Variable Home Loan
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% Minimum deposit required
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 3.99%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • No establishment fee
    • No monthly fee
    • Lump sum payments without penalty

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    3.99%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No establishment fee
    • No monthly fee
    • Lump sum payments without penalty
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 3.99%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $295.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 27 Beyond Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Easy Street Basic Variable Home Loan (LVR 80% or less)

    Easy Street Basic Variable Home Loan (LVR 80% or less)

    • Powered by Community First Credit Union
    • No monthly or ongoing fees
    • Purchase, refinance, renovate or invest

    variable rate

    3.99%

    comparison rate*

    4.02%

    Upfront fees

    $500

    Go to site

    More info

    • Powered by Community First Credit Union
    • No monthly or ongoing fees
    • Purchase, refinance, renovate or invest
    Product info
    • Variable rate: 3.99%
    • Comparison rate*: 4.02%
    • Upfront fees: $500
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes-free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  Compare

Want more? Compare all 554 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

rate to win ipad

Rate to win

Want to win a new 64GB iPhone 6? Simply review your bank, insurer, gas or electricity for your chance to win!

What would you like to review?

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2015

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 10,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.