Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good service but at an extremely high price

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

Full review

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Steve (QLD), reviewed 18 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal&Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The best bank out of the big four

I have been with Westpac for a long time and have a mortgage redraw as well as other accounts connected to my mortgage account which provides me with a hassle free banking experience.

Full review

I have been with Westpac for a long time and have a mortgage redraw as well as other accounts connected to my mortgage account which provides me with a hassle free banking experience.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Geoffrey (VIC), reviewed 18 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and support

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

Full review

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Robyn (VIC), reviewed 18 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service!!

Bank manager always willing to help even in short notice. They are very accommodating to each individual's situation.

Full review

Bank manager always willing to help even in short notice. They are very accommodating to each individual's situation.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Marinda (WA), reviewed 18 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal&Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly and helpful with great customer service

While we have not really had a lot to do with the bank on a day to day basis, when we do need to speak to them they are very friendly and helpful.

Full review

While we have not really had a lot to do with the bank on a day to day basis, when we do need to speak to them they are very friendly and helpful.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Rebecca (QLD), reviewed 18 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

First name basis service. Just one of the family.

Personal service. You are not just a number. You and your application matter to them.

Full review

Personal service. You are not just a number. You and your application matter to them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ms. (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Poor customer service

Communication difficulties

Full review

Communication difficulties

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   2 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Leah (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No fuss, quick, simple & easy to understand

The whole process was quick, simple and easy to understand. Finance was in place on time with no fuss.

Full review

The whole process was quick, simple and easy to understand. Finance was in place on time with no fuss.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paul (WA), reviewed 26 days ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Easy online banking and reasonable rates

I primarily like this bank - Good online facility (rarely need to visit branch) - Available staff when needed (not frequently)- Drop interest rates when reserve bank does

Full review

I primarily like this bank - Good online facility (rarely need to visit branch) - Available staff when needed (not frequently)- Drop interest rates when reserve bank does

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed 26 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Line of Credit (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good services & rates

The man who owns the branch deals with me personally

Full review

The man who owns the branch deals with me personally

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Don (QLD), reviewed 26 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service'

Full review

Great customer service'

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Geoff (VIC), reviewed 26 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager (under $250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Client appreciation

Go the extra mile because we have been long term customers

Full review

Go the extra mile because we have been long term customers

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Warren (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal&Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service very reliable

Easy to deal with and arrange mortgage from pre-approval to the draw down during building. Always able to contact to discuss any issues.

Full review

Easy to deal with and arrange mortgage from pre-approval to the draw down during building. Always able to contact to discuss any issues.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lindsay (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy

I can't recommend them high enough

Full review

I can't recommend them high enough

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Room for improvement

Minimal staff, maximum customers.

Full review

Minimal staff, maximum customers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Cate (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good communication with management

Intetest rate could be a little less which would make for a more easy payment.

Full review

Intetest rate could be a little less which would make for a more easy payment.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rhonda (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Equity Access (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service, competitive rates

Westpac were extremely helpful in promptly answering our questions and the personal service made you think that you were their only customer. You were their main priority and from a customer service point of view is excellent. The staff were...

Full review

Westpac were extremely helpful in promptly answering our questions and the personal service made you think that you were their only customer. You were their main priority and from a customer service point of view is excellent. The staff were pleasant, helpful and understanding.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sharon (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal&Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Convenience

We have been with Westpac now for almost 5 years and have been happy with what we have setup with them. We would be happy to make changes if Westpac can save us more money.

Full review

We have been with Westpac now for almost 5 years and have been happy with what we have setup with them. We would be happy to make changes if Westpac can save us more money.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Geoffrey (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent

So convenient, more friendly and a free gifts offer.

Full review

So convenient, more friendly and a free gifts offer.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ben (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

My consultant at Bendigo was very helpful

Full review

My consultant at Bendigo was very helpful

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Understanding people

Helped us with what we needed

Full review

Helped us with what we needed

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Allan (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They have great customer services.

The reason why I like this bank is because they have great services.

Full review

The reason why I like this bank is because they have great services.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Edwin (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Do tell friends and family of supportive network.

NAB staff very reassuring and helpful.

Full review

NAB staff very reassuring and helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Liliana (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not really, in fact they gave me bad advice.

After 29 years having home loans with this bank, we asked for interest loan reduction twice...to no avail, hence we moved.

Full review

After 29 years having home loans with this bank, we asked for interest loan reduction twice...to no avail, hence we moved.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

John (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums plus good service

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

Full review

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dorothy (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.64% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.64% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • IMB Bank Accelerator Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    IMB Bank Accelerator Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    • Life-of-loan discount off the standard variable rate
    • Special discounted rate for the first 2 years
    • 100% offset account

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable for 24 months and then 4.49% variable

    comparison rate*

    4.39% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $769

    Go to site

    More info

    • Life-of-loan discount off the standard variable rate
    • Special discounted rate for the first 2 years
    • 100% offset account
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable for 24 months and then 4.49% variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.39% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $769
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $50.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $300,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 20 IMB Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ING DIRECT Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    ING DIRECT Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • 100% offset facility
    • No application or monthly fees
    • Annual fee waived for the first year

    interest rate

    3.67% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.89% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $299

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% offset facility
    • No application or monthly fees
    • Annual fee waived for the first year
    • Interest rate: 3.67% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.89% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $299
    • Ongoing fees: $199.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 185 ING DIRECT home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    HSBC Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Effective rate as at 22 August 2016

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.75% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $253

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Effective rate as at 22 August 2016
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.75% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $253
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    State Custodians Standard Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    State Custodians Standard Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.07% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.07% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 479 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.