Home loan customer reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Westpac Home Loan

    Great service and rates

    They have given us wonderful service and rates for over 20 years. They keep you informed and if they can help in any way they do. I would highly recommend them.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dianne, Victoria, reviewed about 16 hours ago
    More Westpac home loan customer reviews
  • ANZ Home Loan

    Hopeless bank

    I had a variable loan with ANZ and split it a couple of years ago so that I could get a fix rate on a portion of it. On splitting the loan, I was advised that I could then easily combine when the fix rate expired. When it was time to combine, it wasn’t easy at all. They wanted my financials!! Why ? I’m not asking for more money, I now just want to make one repayment. Hopeless bank.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Maria, New South Wales, reviewed 1 day ago
    More ANZ home loan customer reviews
  • Aussie Home Loan

    Worst mistake of my life so far!

    Worst mistake of my life so far! I had my settlement delayed 5 times due to time-sensitive forms not handed in by my broker, constant delays in communication, and him never accepting responsibility for mistakes. These delays caused me a huge debt in default interest charges, which after a long conflict resolution process they are refusing to reimburse me for. I cannot emphasise enough how bad this company is. It ruined the excitement of buying my first house and turned it into a prolonged nightmare. Don’t choose Aussie as your broker!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Tarnai, Queensland, reviewed 1 day ago
    More Aussie home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Good at first but never offers the latest.

    No one contacted me close to the end of my fixed rate and the bank didn’t have on offer a good deal for me at the time, however the moment I decided to refinance through another bank, boom they all of a sudden contact me and give me an offer. Sneaky, so if I didn’t look up my rates they were going to charge me double the rates on what was offered by everyone else. They also offered me cash back, something that even my broker was surprised. But due to the fact that they only came to the table when they realise I was leaving after banking with them for over 14 years was very disappointing so I decided to give another bank a try.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brandon, Victoria, reviewed 1 day ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Macquarie Offset Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<60%, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    No one at Macquarie is responsible for your loan

    I recently took out a construction loan with Macquarie and the service so far has been terrible. The problem stems from the fact that you don't get a direct contact/bank manager that is accountable for the management of your loan. As a result, if you need something to happen (e.g. submit a progress payment so that your builder gets paid), then there is no single point of responsibility to makes sure that action is taken and any further communication is requested for. This is manifests in the (daily) experience below. 1. call their home loan line, be on hold until a consultant is available 2. go on hold again while they read through your notes/case (because they’ve never dealt with your loan before) 3. Provide the same answers to previously unresolved questions (because they’ve never dealt with your loan before) 4. Go on hold again while they make the same enquiries that the previous consultant made 5. Give “assurance “ that its being sorted but don't give any timeline or commitment to rectify 6. When pushed on 5. be given the answer “try calling us tomorrow to see if there’s any progress” (no one is responsible) 7. Repeat previous steps with a different consultant tomorrow Short story - their process doesn't seem to involve anyone having ownership of your account. Until Macquarie Bank make fundamental changes with how they handled construction loans I couldn't in good faith recommend Macquarie. I'll provide updates if we (ever) receive any communications or action on our loan.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Adam, Victoria, reviewed 5 days ago
    More Macquarie home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, Fixed)

    Terrible customer service over the phone for home

    Terrible customer service over the phone for a home loan. Whatever you ask they don’t know and transfer you to the next operator and the only answer that you hear is “I’m not sure”. Make sure don’t borrow.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Reza, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • ING Home Loan

    ING don’t allow any flexibility with YOUR money!

    ING used to be OK. Now they are bad. Don’t use them. I have been with them for 5 years and never missed a loan repayment. My home has gone up in value but they won’t let me draw out the equity. I am a good customer, but they are losing me now. Like many other people I know! If you want flexibility with your own equity. DO NOT use ING. If you want a bank that will help you with investment options DO NOT use ING. Take it from me they are the worst bank out there. I am changing banks. Don’t make the same mistake as me!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Charles, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
    More ING home loan customer reviews
  • Bank Australia Home Loan

    One of the best, if not THE best, bank we have!

    I'm a long-time customer (back when Bank Australia was just Ed Credit), and have always found them to be there for me. As a result my (now adult) children have converted their own savings accounts (from when they were kids), into their primary accounts in the case of the three still living in Australia, with the fourth maintaining his Bank Australia account even though he now lives and works in the US. Even my two grandchildren have Bank Australia accounts because their mother believes in it!

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Elsa, Victoria, reviewed 9 days ago
    More Bank Australia home loan customer reviews
  • firstmac Home Loan

    Do not waste your time

    Highly unorganised to the point I questioned my broker if they knew what they were doing. In the end, they offered me a loan then withdrew it after I signed the papers. Be very careful with these people.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Damian, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
    More firstmac home loan customer reviews
  • Aussie Select Basic Variable (LVR 60-70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Amazing Ben from Aussie- Gawler

    I can not recommend Aussie Gawler any more highly! They were phenomenal in every aspect- completely transparent, always available to discuss any questions I had even after hours and on weekends- would literally reply to me minutes after sending a message! For what is usually a stressful process, Aussie made it seamless and the best part was he was able to get our loan approved in just 4 weeks! This allowed us to move our settlement forward and get in our new house even quicker! I couldn't believe it and I will truly recommend him time and time again for any loan needs.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Ella, South Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
    More Aussie home loan customer reviews
  • Mortgage House Home Loan

    Very bad experience, do not trust.

    Very bad experience. Misleading the customer and asking for the refundable application fee $600. I have paid them as they given me the pre-approval of the 80% required loan and confirm that the $600 is refundable. After submitting the application to get the final loan approval they did not reply until few weeks so I inquired so, they sent me the final loan approval and noticed they reduced the loan amount to 70% into the final conditional loan approval. So I applied and got the 80% loan pre-approval from one of the big bank what they provided to me and finally I have submitted the loan application without any cost and proceed to purchase the property. I went back to the mortgage house and asking for refundable $600 ,what they charged to me to process the loan application as per the 80% loan pre approval. Now I am struggling to get the money back. See the below current reply from The mortgage house given me the AFCA contract details.

    Price
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Mp, New South Wales, reviewed 16 days ago
    More Mortgage House home loan customer reviews
  • ING Mortgage Simplifier (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Great product on face value, terrible service

    Communication is ING's down-fall and for that, they have completely lost my trust. Their service and mechanisms to receive it are appalling (no case continuity, repeated requests to send the same documentation, new consultants every call despite the 1 application, and generally long wait times in comparison to competitors). I've lost count the amount of times I've had to chase ING for advice or an update, which is so disappointing. I've finally made the decision to re-finance my loan with another institution after 1.5 years and I was gobsmacked how much of a breeze a loan application can be (compared to how it was with ING). Unfortunately though, ING haven't changed and although my refinance has settled with my new financial institution, ING are experiencing 'longer than usual service times', so have actually failed to close my loan account more than a week after settlement (including taking another mortage repayment even though the security is no longer with them). And of course I had to contact them to follow up. Honestly have no words - just stay away. You can negotiate the product features with other financial institutions who actually want you as a customer.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dan, Queensland, reviewed 16 days ago
    More ING home loan customer reviews
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package)

    Just terrible.

    Customer for 26 years - terrible customer service, terrible interest rates, glad to have finally moved away resulting in a savings of over $600/m. The only thing that keeps NAB in business is that people don't move banks, because it's such a difficult thing to do.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed 19 days ago
    More NAB home loan customer reviews
  • AMP Bank Home Loan

    I need to get compensation

    Around two weeks ago, I sent them a written request to switch my product from professional to Essential(without offset facility), they did not tell me I would lose my offset benefits. On 2nd September, I made a call to them, I was told that I would lose my offset benefits if i do switch product, then i said please switch product after next repayment date(15th Sep), the staff left a note stating to switch product after next repayment date in order to not lose offset benefit. But Unfortunately, they did switch my product to Essentials without seeing that note on 6th Sep, which made me lose my offset benefit from 15th Aug to 6th Sep. what a mistake they did. i wrote my compliant, it would take 35 working days to investigate, poor service , poor management. i am frustrated with it. my account number is 275225198

    Ruinan, New South Wales, reviewed 20 days ago
    More AMP Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Great bank

    Easy to deal with, extremely helpful in apply in for home loan. Only takes a phone call to get interest rate lowered off unhappy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vanessa, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago
    More Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Basic Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 504 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.