Advertisement

Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Liberty

Liberty Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Will recommend.

This is the first time I have used Liberty and have found them to be very good.

Full review

This is the first time I have used Liberty and have found them to be very good.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jane, Queensland, reviewed about 14 hours ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Base Variable Rate Home Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not loyal to existing customers.

Went from a IO loan to P&I loan with NAB. I called a couple of times to get a better rate as they were offering new customers a lower rate than mine. Not very loyal to existing customers and not putting customers ahead of profit which is what they...

Full review

Went from a IO loan to P&I loan with NAB. I called a couple of times to get a better rate as they were offering new customers a lower rate than mine. Not very loyal to existing customers and not putting customers ahead of profit which is what they are suppose to be doing.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Kim, New South Wales, reviewed about 14 hours ago

NAB

NAB Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service.

Every time I have rang NAB there staff have been very help full to me. Always ask questions.

Full review

Every time I have rang NAB there staff have been very help full to me. Always ask questions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elsie, Queensland, reviewed about 15 hours ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150k-$250k) (Breakfree Package) Fixed Rate (Breakfree Package) review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent competitive home loan rates.

ANZ appears to be competitive with their rates and current offers are certainly worth considering in today's banking market.

Full review

ANZ appears to be competitive with their rates and current offers are certainly worth considering in today's banking market.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kym, Queensland, reviewed about 15 hours ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Plain speaking.

I can always get a straight easy to understand answer.

Full review

I can always get a straight easy to understand answer.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Margaret, New South Wales, reviewed about 15 hours ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to get a hold off.

CBA have a lot of branches and ATMs soothes are quite easy to find.

Full review

CBA have a lot of branches and ATMs soothes are quite easy to find.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Adrian, Queensland, reviewed about 15 hours ago

Alliance One Credit Union

Alliance One Credit Union Home Loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

OK customer service not much different to others.

I find them agreeable and fairly helpful.

Full review

I find them agreeable and fairly helpful.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Margaret, New South Wales, reviewed about 15 hours ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) Rocket Investment Loan (Premier Advantage Package) review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Taking advantage of hardworking Australians

As part of our premier plus package we have an included credit card. Approximately 2 years ago we were carrying a large balance and wanted to reduce our card limit or transfer the balance to a lower rate card. The interest rate on the card is...

Full review

As part of our premier plus package we have an included credit card. Approximately 2 years ago we were carrying a large balance and wanted to reduce our card limit or transfer the balance to a lower rate card. The interest rate on the card is 21.99%. When contacted via the help line Westpac refused to lower our credit card limit and then when we asked about transferring to a lower rate card we were told we couldn't. In the end we took our credit card business to ANZ who gave us an excellent 0% interest deal for 24 months. When attempting to make extra repayments on our mortgage we were told that we had a redraw facility as part of our package but when we made extra repayments the full amount in excess of our standard payment was allocated to the loan balance and when we needed to redraw later we were told we couldn't and had to fight with the bank for 2 months to get the payments allocated properly and the redraw approved. Our interest rate is absolutely terrible, still sitting at 4.45% even after a 0.75% package discount. We went into a branch and sat with a manager asking them to price match lower products in the market, some as low as 3.25% but because of the LVR of our property they refused to assist us because they knew we wouldn't be approved for a loan with another lender because of the LVR. Our repayment record is flawless and we've banked with Westpac for over 20 years but until we have some capital growth on our property we're stuck and Westpac know it.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Jennie, Victoria, reviewed about 15 hours ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Reliable.

It is a good stable reliable bank.

Full review

It is a good stable reliable bank.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Robert, Western Australia, reviewed about 15 hours ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Overall good.

Overall good.

Full review

Overall good.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Leanne, South Australia, reviewed about 15 hours ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Rate review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Poor interest rates.

The bank does not pass on full interest rate cuts.

Full review

The bank does not pass on full interest rate cuts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Susan, New South Wales, reviewed about 15 hours ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage (Choice Package) Flexiplus Mortgage (Choice Package) review

Overall rating   5 / 10

The defence deal.

I only went with this bank because I get a Defence deal.

Full review

I only went with this bank because I get a Defence deal.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Gary, Queensland, reviewed about 15 hours ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Everything online.

I like this bank because I never have to go into a bank.

Full review

I like this bank because I never have to go into a bank.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sharne, Queensland, reviewed about 15 hours ago

ING

ING Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupiers with Orange Advantage, Principal & Interest) Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupiers with Orange Advantage) review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank and even better home loans!

Moved home loan to ING 5 years ago and have never had to change. We review our options every year and have not had to change as they always have the best rates!

Full review

Moved home loan to ING 5 years ago and have never had to change. We review our options every year and have not had to change as they always have the best rates!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Hailey, Western Australia, reviewed about 16 hours ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Rate review

Overall rating   9 / 10

ANZ looks after its customers.

ANZ is good.

Full review

ANZ is good.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kavitha, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service, security, refinance, convenient

Excellent customer service, top security, simple process to refinance, convenient web platform (and branches).

Full review

Excellent customer service, top security, simple process to refinance, convenient web platform (and branches).

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Matt, Victoria, reviewed about 16 hours ago

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS Special Offer LVR <80% (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Simplicity PLUS review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Average product.

We have had to stay with this bank due to wanting mortgage insurance and my having had cancer.

Full review

We have had to stay with this bank due to wanting mortgage insurance and my having had cancer.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Karen, Queensland, reviewed about 16 hours ago

NAB

NAB Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I'm happy with my bank.

I can't complain, I'm happy with my bank.

Full review

I can't complain, I'm happy with my bank.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Steven, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago

NAB

NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Tailored Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy

Happy with the service.

Full review

Happy with the service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Rebecca, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Basic Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service.

Love how I walked in and asked for a better home loan- walked out saving 1.9%. WINNING.

Full review

Love how I walked in and asked for a better home loan- walked out saving 1.9%. WINNING.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Basic Variable (<80% LVR, Owner Occupied, Principal & Interest) Basic Variable review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Wouldn’t suggest them to anyone else.

Day to day banking is fine but home loan and flexibility is not great.

Full review

Day to day banking is fine but home loan and flexibility is not great.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Linda, Tasmania, reviewed 1 day ago

ING

ING Mortgage Simplifier (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Mortgage Simplifier review

Overall rating   10 / 10

ING are awesome.

ING are fantastic. Never had any problems with them at all. I would recommend them to anyone.

Full review

ING are fantastic. Never had any problems with them at all. I would recommend them to anyone.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Melanie, New South Wales, reviewed 1 day ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) Rocket Repay Home Loan (Premier Advantage Package) review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive interest rate and good product.

The process of borrowing money and getting the loan approved was very difficult, but the product itself is great and exactly what we wanted. We can pay our wages into our mortgage and use the re-draw to pay our bills.

Full review

The process of borrowing money and getting the loan approved was very difficult, but the product itself is great and exactly what we wanted. We can pay our wages into our mortgage and use the re-draw to pay our bills.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Melinda, Queensland, reviewed 1 day ago

ANZ

ANZ Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Helpful.

Helpful when needed.

Full review

Helpful when needed.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Steph, Tasmania, reviewed 1 day ago

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<60%) (Advantage Package) Fixed Home Loan (Advantage Package) review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank.

Great bank.

Full review

Great bank.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Donna, New South Wales, reviewed 1 day ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    2.88% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.90% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 2.88% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 639 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.84% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.84% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.3

    Based on 7 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.80% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.80% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    10.0

    Based on 1 Athena home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Homestar Star Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Homestar Star Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Unlimited extra repayments & Free online redraw
    • Upfront fees waived – limited time offer

    interest rate

    2.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.77% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $596

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Unlimited extra repayments & Free online redraw
    • Upfront fees waived – limited time offer
    • Interest rate: 2.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.77% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $596
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $535.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $850,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    6.8

    Based on 23 Homestar home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access

    interest rate

    2.82% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.86% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $785

    Go to site

    More info

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access
    • Interest rate: 2.82% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.86% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $785
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: Optional - $10 per month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    9.0

    Based on 1 Well Home Loans home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 534 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement