Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good customer service and online banking services.

    The bank has a lot of trust to make up for after a number of poor choices made in terms of their social responsibility. Their policies are focused on shareholder returns rather than keeping customers satisfied.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    James, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • CUA Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Helpful.

    Good customer service.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Scott, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • St.George Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Trustworthy.

    Customer service is fine without being outstanding. Their rates are not the most competitive in the market. Good strong trustworthy brand.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    David, Queensland, reviewed 2 days ago
  • HSBC Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Good rates, no frills.

    Very competitive rates, but not the best facilities, such as physical locations or online banking.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Cory, Western Australia, reviewed 2 days ago
  • Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan Special Offer (Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive rates, good service.

    I have found them to offer good suitable accounts that suit me and the staff are very helpful.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Jeanette, Western Australia, reviewed 2 days ago
  • People's Choice Credit Union First Home Buyer Fixed Rate Loan (Principal & Interest) (Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    It's not a bank, it's a credit union

    I have nothing else to compare but I think I'm getting taken care of but I'm not sure how much longer they'll be around.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    2 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Nyree, South Australia, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Athena Variable Home Loan (<70% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great no frills home loan with a low variable rate

    Great no frills home loan with a very low variable interest rate and good customer service. Matched almost all RBA rate cuts in full. Rates stay the same for new and existing customers. Very good home loan provider.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Go with BOQ you won’t regret your decision!

    Totally recommend BOQ, our local branch is fantastic and the people are amazing!

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alex, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good customer service

    A bit pricier.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Edmund, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Athena Variable Home Loan (<70% LVR, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    No frills, low cost

    No frills and very low rate home loans. Good history of passing on full rate cuts, and a guarantee that existing customers get the same deal as new ones. No fees either.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Jeff, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great customer service.

    Have been with them for all of my adult life. My father worked there. They have done right by me and my family (as much as a Big 4 bank can). The staff are friendly. They have helped my elderly mother. We found our mortgage broker through them, we have used their financial advisers. I am very happy with their online banking.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Kate, South Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great service.

    They made me feel good and helped me through the whole process right to the end. Very happy.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Sally, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Bank of Queensland review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Best customer service.

    They are the most polite and honest bank I have ever dealt with and will do what they can do to help you and improve your loan.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mark, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Special Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Leading interest rates and friendly staff

    The Newcastle Permanent is a strong, trustworthy brand that consistently offers lower rate home loans than the major banks. They do require a higher deposit to start with, and they also work out if you can service the loan more strictly than the banks, but I see these as positives - it means you're definitely not over committing yourself and can make your repayments even if your borrowing capacity is lower than the banks offer. The staff are always friendly too.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    David, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • HSBC Home Smart Loan (Owner Occupier) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good loan to have

    Very good product but online banking is not very good.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sajith, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Flexible Home Loan Member Package

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate*
      3.45% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 550 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.