Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No Competition in town

It's the only bank in town that is open 5 days a week

Full review

It's the only bank in town that is open 5 days a week

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Malcolm (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

All banks are the same

Constant fees and charges for all accounts is frustrating

Full review

Constant fees and charges for all accounts is frustrating

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Dean (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

Bank of China

Bank of China home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Same

Best bank in the world

Full review

Best bank in the world

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Brett (WA), reviewed 5 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Nothing good to say

They do not assist older Australians

Full review

They do not assist older Australians

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Lynn (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great to deal with

They were very helpful on initial setup. Were accomodating and understanding when we queried the rate. They send regular updates of rate changes and how we can fix our rate if we want to. Online/mobile app is very user friendly.

Full review

They were very helpful on initial setup. Were accomodating and understanding when we queried the rate. They send regular updates of rate changes and how we can fix our rate if we want to. Online/mobile app is very user friendly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kayla (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great personalised customer service

I have nothing but utter trust in my bank. They contact me when they think someone has breached my account, they contact me once a year personally to see if there is anything they can do, as well as updates on new products etc.

Full review

I have nothing but utter trust in my bank. They contact me when they think someone has breached my account, they contact me once a year personally to see if there is anything they can do, as well as updates on new products etc.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracy (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Bank with Westpac

Westpac have always been a great Bank

Full review

Westpac have always been a great Bank

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Juanita (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

ME

ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Excellent service and cheap interest rates

Full review

Excellent service and cheap interest rates

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Interesting

Very helpful and willing to listen.

Full review

Very helpful and willing to listen.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Pamela (SA), reviewed 10 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150k-$250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Poor service at transition.

Had to refinance loan a few years ago. We felt the service and information wasn't as informative as it should have been, the old loan was offset so it suited our situation better.

Full review

Had to refinance loan a few years ago. We felt the service and information wasn't as informative as it should have been, the old loan was offset so it suited our situation better.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Kris (WA), reviewed 12 days ago

AMP

AMP Classic Variable Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent bank

Always easy to deal with, excellent bank.

Full review

Always easy to deal with, excellent bank.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Greg (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

One stop shop for all my banking needs

CBA is very easy to deal with. I especially like their online banking site due to its various options and simplicity. Best online banking site we have dealt with.

Full review

CBA is very easy to deal with. I especially like their online banking site due to its various options and simplicity. Best online banking site we have dealt with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Joanna (NSW), reviewed 18 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

great customer service

They look after you, great customer service.

Full review

They look after you, great customer service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Peter (SA), reviewed 18 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Local bank

Like the location, opening times and friendly staff.

Full review

Like the location, opening times and friendly staff.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Christine (QLD), reviewed 18 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Home Loan Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<90%) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great service

Happy with our bank, great service.

Full review

Happy with our bank, great service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Stephen (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

Move

Move Economy Home Loan home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Helpful and informative

Excellent communication with required information updates.

Full review

Excellent communication with required information updates.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Emma (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service and great premiums.

I like my bank because I have a very lovely lady banker and she is worth her weight in gold. She has helped me enormously to get me where I am today. I don't know where I would be today if it wasn't for her.

Full review

I like my bank because I have a very lovely lady banker and she is worth her weight in gold. She has helped me enormously to get me where I am today. I don't know where I would be today if it wasn't for her.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leonnie (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good customer service

Small business & family oriented. Good customer service.

Full review

Small business & family oriented. Good customer service.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Christine (SA), reviewed 20 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Sweet

It's great

Full review

It's great

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steven (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Access Equity Special Line of Credit (LVR<90%) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very Very good bank

Awesome to deal with

Full review

Awesome to deal with

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Winston (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

BankSA

BankSA Standard Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service

Gave us a start to get a home loan many years ago when others would not. Have a feeling of allegiance to the bank as a result.

Full review

Gave us a start to get a home loan many years ago when others would not. Have a feeling of allegiance to the bank as a result.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Melody (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Mortgage Shredder (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Most likely wouldn't use Bankwest again.

I payed my loan back fortnightly and always on time so I found Bank West easy to get along with as far as my mortgage payments went

Full review

I payed my loan back fortnightly and always on time so I found Bank West easy to get along with as far as my mortgage payments went

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Marie (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Beyond Bank

Beyond Bank Basic Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<90%) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Don't do it!

They are called Beyond Bank but don't go 'Beyond' to help. Worst credit union, never again! High rates for everything. I was forced to sell my home even though we had equity to re-finance. Helping themselves.

Full review

They are called Beyond Bank but don't go 'Beyond' to help. Worst credit union, never again! High rates for everything. I was forced to sell my home even though we had equity to re-finance. Helping themselves.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Joanne (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good Bank

Friendly, easy access, easy to understand the products, totally trustworthy and honest.

Full review

Friendly, easy access, easy to understand the products, totally trustworthy and honest.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lynda (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

CUA

CUA Advance Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great

Overall happy

Full review

Overall happy

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100% Offset Facility
    • $0 application fee for Personal and Car Loans
    • Additional repayments and redraws at any time
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee:
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • IMB Bank Budget Home Loan Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    IMB Bank Budget Home Loan Special (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Free extra repayments
    • Free redraw facility
    • Split account available

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free extra repayments
    • Free redraw facility
    • Split account available
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $50.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $75,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 20 IMB Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    4.17% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.21% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 4.17% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.21% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%)

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.71% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Heritage’s current lowest variable interest rate
    • Unlimited extra repayments and unlimited redraw
    • People First service from your own dedicated lending specialist
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.71% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.4

    Based on 78 Heritage Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Unity Kickstarter Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Australian Unity Kickstarter Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No annual fee on a credit card of your choice
    • Free transaction account with a Visa Debit
    • Unlimited redraws ($500 min)

    interest rate

    3.71% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual fee on a credit card of your choice
    • Free transaction account with a Visa Debit
    • Unlimited redraws ($500 min)
    • Interest rate: 3.71% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $375.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 522 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.