Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager (under $250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Client appreciation

Go the extra mile because we have been long term customers

Full review

Go the extra mile because we have been long term customers

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Warren (WA), reviewed 1 day ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service very reliable

Easy to deal with and arrange mortgage from pre-approval to the draw down during building. Always able to contact to discuss any issues.

Full review

Easy to deal with and arrange mortgage from pre-approval to the draw down during building. Always able to contact to discuss any issues.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lindsay (WA), reviewed 1 day ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy

I can't recommend them high enough

Full review

I can't recommend them high enough

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (NSW), reviewed 2 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Room for improvement

Minimal staff, maximum customers.

Full review

Minimal staff, maximum customers.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Cate (WA), reviewed 2 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good communication with management

Intetest rate could be a little less which would make for a more easy payment.

Full review

Intetest rate could be a little less which would make for a more easy payment.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Rhonda (VIC), reviewed 2 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Equity Access (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service, competitive rates

Westpac were extremely helpful in promptly answering our questions and the personal service made you think that you were their only customer. You were their main priority and from a customer service point of view is excellent. The staff were...

Full review

Westpac were extremely helpful in promptly answering our questions and the personal service made you think that you were their only customer. You were their main priority and from a customer service point of view is excellent. The staff were pleasant, helpful and understanding.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sharon (QLD), reviewed 2 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Convenience

We have been with Westpac now for almost 5 years and have been happy with what we have setup with them. We would be happy to make changes if Westpac can save us more money.

Full review

We have been with Westpac now for almost 5 years and have been happy with what we have setup with them. We would be happy to make changes if Westpac can save us more money.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Geoffrey (SA), reviewed 2 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent

So convenient, more friendly and a free gifts offer.

Full review

So convenient, more friendly and a free gifts offer.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ben (QLD), reviewed 2 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

My consultant at Bendigo was very helpful

Full review

My consultant at Bendigo was very helpful

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (SA), reviewed 2 days ago

NAB

NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Understanding people

Helped us with what we needed

Full review

Helped us with what we needed

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Allan (SA), reviewed 2 days ago

Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They have great customer services.

The reason why I like this bank is because they have great services.

Full review

The reason why I like this bank is because they have great services.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Edwin (SA), reviewed 2 days ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Do tell friends and family of supportive network.

NAB staff very reassuring and helpful.

Full review

NAB staff very reassuring and helpful.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Liliana (VIC), reviewed 2 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not really, in fact they gave me bad advice.

After 29 years having home loans with this bank, we asked for interest loan reduction twice...to no avail, hence we moved.

Full review

After 29 years having home loans with this bank, we asked for interest loan reduction twice...to no avail, hence we moved.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

John (WA), reviewed 17 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums plus good service

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

Full review

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dorothy (WA), reviewed 17 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent products, outstanding customer service.

Convenient online banking facilities, and excellent customer service.

Full review

Convenient online banking facilities, and excellent customer service.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sonja (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best insurance provider during 2011 floods

Thankful for automatic flood cover, and can personally thank them in a time of crisis.

Full review

Thankful for automatic flood cover, and can personally thank them in a time of crisis.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Angela (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Discount Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average

Interest rates below average

Full review

Interest rates below average

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Dan (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Home Loan Special (Owner Occupier, LVR<90%) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The customer still counts!!!

Always very helpful when assisting with any problems.

Full review

Always very helpful when assisting with any problems.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kristy (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Happy customer

Great service

Full review

Great service

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Vicki (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Liberty

Liberty Free Variable Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Looks after those who the banks won't.

I had a bad credit so liberty were willing to give me an home loan when no one else would. For that they are to be commended. However the interest rate is higher than the competition. Their service is very prompt but the fee's are high.

Full review

I had a bad credit so liberty were willing to give me an home loan when no one else would. For that they are to be commended. However the interest rate is higher than the competition. Their service is very prompt but the fee's are high.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland First-start Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Bank of Queensland gave me the chance to buy my first home & I'm loving it. The money I'm paying is less than rent per week and that great feeling that I'm not wasting my money paying rent. Thanks heaps BoQ

Full review

Bank of Queensland gave me the chance to buy my first home & I'm loving it. The money I'm paying is less than rent per week and that great feeling that I'm not wasting my money paying rent. Thanks heaps BoQ

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good Customer Service

Interest Rate seems higher than most places, yet it was the most convenient for us as we already had all of our other banking with the Commonwealth.

Full review

Interest Rate seems higher than most places, yet it was the most convenient for us as we already had all of our other banking with the Commonwealth.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Dave (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Is better than the big banks

This home loan provider provides competitive rates to better the so called big four banks.

Full review

This home loan provider provides competitive rates to better the so called big four banks.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Emmanuel (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Limited Time Offer Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic friendly helpful staff - great service

Hands down St George Bank have been and still are outstanding in all aspects of banking, their staff are 2nd to none!! The most friendly, helpful, knowledgeable people I have ever dealt with in the banking business, I highly Recommend St George...

Full review

Hands down St George Bank have been and still are outstanding in all aspects of banking, their staff are 2nd to none!! The most friendly, helpful, knowledgeable people I have ever dealt with in the banking business, I highly Recommend St George Bank, especially my local branch in Joondalup. BEST BANK IN THE WORLD!!!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Adrian (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent services and a pleasure to deal with

Never have any problems if I call or go to a branch, delightful customers service. Internet banking is fantastic. Had another bank trying to get us too change from the NAB so I rang and they better the offer of the other bank. Very happy

Full review

Never have any problems if I call or go to a branch, delightful customers service. Internet banking is fantastic. Had another bank trying to get us too change from the NAB so I rang and they better the offer of the other bank. Very happy

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tony (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Fast Forward (Owner Occupier)

    loans.com.au Fast Forward (Owner Occupier)

    • Fast Forward your home loan application with our great rates & speedy, hassle-free online process
    • Unlimited free redraws, Split loan facility
    • Available for purchase and refinance

    interest rate

    3.63% variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03%

    Upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • Fast Forward your home loan application with our great rates & speedy, hassle-free online process
    • Unlimited free redraws, Split loan facility
    • Available for purchase and refinance
    • Interest rate: 3.63% variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03%
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $375.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $550.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Click Loans The Online Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Click Loans The Online Home Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Free offset account
    • No ongoing fees
    • Easy online application

    interest rate

    3.73% variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74%

    Upfront fees

    $440

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free offset account
    • No ongoing fees
    • Easy online application
    • Interest rate: 3.73% variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74%
    • Upfront fees: $440
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Hurry, closes August 7th
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% Minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.74% variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74%

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Hurry, closes August 7th
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% Minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.74% variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74%
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    State Custodians Standard Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    State Custodians Standard Variable (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.74% variable

    comparison rate*

    4.07%

    Upfront fees

    $275

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.74% variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.07%
    • Upfront fees: $275
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    HSBC Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Apply by 31 August 2016

    interest rate

    3.85% variable

    comparison rate*

    3.87%

    Upfront fees

    $253

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Apply by 31 August 2016
    • Interest rate: 3.85% variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.87%
    • Upfront fees: $253
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 479 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.