Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • ANZ Equity Manager (LVR<80%, under $250k) (Breakfree Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Good rates, but average service and features.

    Competitive rates, but for a big 4 bank their service and smartphone app leave much to be desired. - When experiencing account issues, I found staff were either not knowledgeable enough to assist, or weren't overly fussed about finding a solution. - In terms of the app, I found it lacked functionality (such as card management), which is a real setback if you do most of your banking on your phone. - I also found that processes which could be completed online with other banks (e.g. joint account setup) required visiting a branch, which is a bit backward in this day and age if you're both already a customer. I can't speak on NAB, but if you get a similar rate with CBA or Westpac, my advice would be to go with them instead.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Jeremy, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Macquarie Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great features and great online platform to bank.

    Easy online platform, great customer service with Australian customer service people, competitive rates and great features such as 9 offset accounts with home loan.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Ainslie, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • NAB Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Choice Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Mortgage flexibility is excellent.

    I have two mortgage accounts. Offset linked to home loan. Can pay above set rate easily and as much as one wants online. I have the app on phone and transferring funds between accounts or different banks etc is easy. Redraw facilities excellent. Get personal phone calls every year from local branch regarding review of loans.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Derek, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Best customer service and online banking.

    I have tried quite a few banks and the Commonwealth Bank has always come out on top with their customer service. Their online banking system is easy to use and reliable. Their ongoing customer care is also excellent. Pros would be their in branch customer service, online banking system and overall banking experience. A con would be sometimes their rates are not as competitive as I would like.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Xiaona, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago
  • ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Just an average bank.

    Hard to speak to a "real" person. Little contact after 25 years of having a loan. Unwilling to give abetter rate as we have only 50% left of loan.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Trina, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Excellent service.

    Our bank manager was professional and stayed in contact with us throughout the whole home buying process. He didn't try to sell us anything we didn't need. A1 from us.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Donna, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    All banks are the same.

    As any bank they are only out for their own needs. I don’t feel like they overall look after the individual.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    3 / 10
    Less
    Tracy, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Reliable.

    Easy to access information. The bank does not go out of their way to give lower interest rates to match current situations.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rachel, Tasmania, reviewed 6 days ago
  • ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Great bank for my needs.

    It's competitive and convenient to my location.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Kerry, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Aussie institution instilling customer trust.

    Yes, there are cheaper loan rates for a mortgage but as a long-term customer of this bank when I needed a mortgage the process was so much simpler due to them already having my banking history, and everything was done on the phone or via email and very quick. My current variable rate is pretty reasonable and to change lender would mean having to jump through a multitude of hoops and provide explanations beyond belief as to spending history and I really don't want to have to justify every transaction I make in life. I have never gone overdrawn and have a good credit history, so not sure what things are like if your credit history is not squeaky clean. Their mobile banking app is fantastic, easy to use, professional and secure. There is an ANZ branch 5 minutes walk from where I work so if I need to talk to a person rather than a call centre I am able to do this. All in all - very happy. Cons - there are cheaper variable rates out there - but be prepared for the paperwork/inquisition to get approved!!

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Ruth, Tasmania, reviewed 6 days ago
  • HomeStart Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Highly recommend HomeStart.

    HomeStart were the ONLY financial institution that could look at individual circumstance and see the capacity for home loan repayment despite not fitting into the narrow paradigms of lender profiles. I had come out of a separation with sizeable deposit but mixed income streams and despite having an excellent credit rating and two previous mortgages mainstream institutions were of no help. Success with HomeStart meant my children and I could have our own home. Customer service has always been excellent.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Justine, South Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • People's Choice Credit Union Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Peoples choice for a reason

    Peoples choice is a small provider - where people count. Not a big 4 bank where you are just a number. Love the personalised service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tamara, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, $150k+) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Local manager that can make decisions. “Green “

    Local branch with manager authorised to ok loans quickly. Green conscious with money sourcing and investing. Members ie customers own bank. Little feed back review once loan is established.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Rob, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Could be better

    Easy but interest rate not competitive.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Kristen, Western Australia, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Newcastle Permanent Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great for home loans with competitive rates.

    Easy to deal with. Great rates. Don’t hassle you about their products or annoy you with phone calls. Haven’t ever had a problem with them so far.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jasmin, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Fixed Rate Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      2.98% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Mortgage Simplifier

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.62% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Smart Booster 1 Year Discount Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.57% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.55% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      2.14% p.a.
      fixed 1 year
      comparison rate*
      3.01% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Discount Fixed Rate

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.52% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 543 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.