Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not supportive

They did not explain or help when I was on sick leave from work as to what i could do to reduce my payments to keep my house until i was working again. Very disappointed in this bank as I've heard that other banks provide a lot of options for...

Full review

They did not explain or help when I was on sick leave from work as to what i could do to reduce my payments to keep my house until i was working again. Very disappointed in this bank as I've heard that other banks provide a lot of options for people in financial hardship to assist you so you don't lose your loan and subsequently your house. Very sad.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Brooke, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

Fantastic service and account manager.

Full review

Fantastic service and account manager.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed 7 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very competent staff at Seaford branch

Very happy with ANZ. Recently paid off my mortgage and had no problems finalising my account.

Full review

Very happy with ANZ. Recently paid off my mortgage and had no problems finalising my account.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gloria, South Australia, reviewed 17 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150,000-$249,999) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great bank a few years ago, not so much now

ANZ were good in the beginning when I signed up but they keep changing their processes and requirements for any change or updates. Customer service are polite enough but they do not have the capabilities to make any proper action.

Full review

ANZ were good in the beginning when I signed up but they keep changing their processes and requirements for any change or updates. Customer service are polite enough but they do not have the capabilities to make any proper action.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lisa, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Viridian Line of Credit home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Very average Bank

They are quite inefficient in some dealings. Interest rate is pathetic and the monthly fee is ridiculous. They have totally lost consumer confidence as a result of the Banking Royal Commission.

Full review

They are quite inefficient in some dealings. Interest rate is pathetic and the monthly fee is ridiculous. They have totally lost consumer confidence as a result of the Banking Royal Commission.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Denise, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good but would like more communication

The service is good but I would like better communication when with regards to interest rates.

Full review

The service is good but I would like better communication when with regards to interest rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nicole, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Can do better

Customer service isn’t always at it’s best, I found that I had to chase them up a couple of times when refinancing. Whole process took over 3 weeks which was a bit long and they were not willing to negotiate on the variable rate.

Full review

Customer service isn’t always at it’s best, I found that I had to chase them up a couple of times when refinancing. Whole process took over 3 weeks which was a bit long and they were not willing to negotiate on the variable rate.

    Price   9 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Peter, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive rates but inconvenient

Has competitive rates but their branches are in very inconvenient locations.

Full review

Has competitive rates but their branches are in very inconvenient locations.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Betty, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Thank you so much

I love NAB. It is the best bank ever.

Full review

I love NAB. It is the best bank ever.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jihee, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Would recommend

Great rates!

Full review

Great rates!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alexandra, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

NAB absolutely stinks!

Not at all happy with NAB as we had to sell our investment property, due to lack of work for a couple of months and not being able to keep up with the repayments, even though we had always paid 10-20 percent above the necessary amount. They did...

Full review

Not at all happy with NAB as we had to sell our investment property, due to lack of work for a couple of months and not being able to keep up with the repayments, even though we had always paid 10-20 percent above the necessary amount. They did not give us long at all before they took the situation to court.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Colleen, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic bank

ANZ gave us the best loan possible at the time and have continued to help us even through financial hardship. Highly recommended.

Full review

ANZ gave us the best loan possible at the time and have continued to help us even through financial hardship. Highly recommended.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dimi, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

ANZ provide very good service.

Full review

ANZ provide very good service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacquie, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy with CBA

They are great but sometimes its hard to find anyone to talk.

Full review

They are great but sometimes its hard to find anyone to talk.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Paul, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Only positives. Have been with this bank for numerous years and have always had great service. They are a bank that bends over backwards to meet my needs.

Full review

Only positives. Have been with this bank for numerous years and have always had great service. They are a bank that bends over backwards to meet my needs.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Munro, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Average

Very adequate but it does the job.

Full review

Very adequate but it does the job.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Colleen, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan Special (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great home loan

Everything has been very good with my home loan so far.

Full review

Everything has been very good with my home loan so far.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Georgia, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to use. Very useful

I have had nothing but awesome help from my bank branch. They are super friendly and know me by my name as I get to the counter. Their internet site is easy to use. Totally recommend them.

Full review

I have had nothing but awesome help from my bank branch. They are super friendly and know me by my name as I get to the counter. Their internet site is easy to use. Totally recommend them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rate

Good interest rate and easy to organise over the phone. Didn't even need to go to a branch.

Full review

Good interest rate and easy to organise over the phone. Didn't even need to go to a branch.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

Less

Megan, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago

Pepper Money

Pepper Money home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Understanding

They have been very understanding while I was in financial hardship.

Full review

They have been very understanding while I was in financial hardship.

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Diana, Northern Territory, reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Do your research

Ask lots of questions and also ask for the best deal. You have to ask since it won’t necessarily be offered up front.

Full review

Ask lots of questions and also ask for the best deal. You have to ask since it won’t necessarily be offered up front.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sharyn, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago

St.George

St.George home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates and will review on request.

Always very helpful if you have an enquiry and will listen to your requests for better rates etc.

Full review

Always very helpful if you have an enquiry and will listen to your requests for better rates etc.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

William, New South Wales, reviewed 2 months ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Really let us down!

NAB really disappointed us - my husband is self-employed and was out of work at the beginning of this year. NAB took our investment property from us!

Full review

NAB really disappointed us - my husband is self-employed and was out of work at the beginning of this year. NAB took our investment property from us!

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Colleen, Queensland, reviewed 2 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not bad

As long as you pay they're not bad.

Full review

As long as you pay they're not bad.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Chris, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago

Auswide Bank

Auswide Bank Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

No customer service

Very high interests rates and they also removed a lot of payment methods which makes it very difficult to pay on time increasing the chance of you getting charged with late fees.

Full review

Very high interests rates and they also removed a lot of payment methods which makes it very difficult to pay on time increasing the chance of you getting charged with late fees.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Melinda, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 109 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • ME Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal and Interest)

    ME Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal and Interest)

    • Variable rate only
    • No fees to redraw
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you

    interest rate

    3.89% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.91% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $400

    Go to site

    More info

    • Variable rate only
    • No fees to redraw
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you
    • Interest rate: 3.89% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.91% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $400
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $40,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 900 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Customer-Owned Banking & Home Lender of the Year 2018

    interest rate

    3.89% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.29% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Australia's Best Customer-Owned Banking & Home Lender of the Year 2018
    • Interest rate: 3.89% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.29% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 208 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%)

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access

    interest rate

    3.49% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.53% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Well Balanced home loan is a low rate home loan with free online redraw and no valuation fee.
    • Purchase, Refinance or Equity Release purposes allowed
    • Optional 100% interest offset sub-account with Visa debit card access
    • Interest rate: 3.49% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.53% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - $10/month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 493 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.