Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Westpac

Westpac Flexi First Option Home Loan (3 Year Introductory Rate, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall provider

As a big bank they are inflexible, but the convenience of service outweighs this.

As a big bank they are inflexible, but the convenience of service outweighs this.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brian (ACT), reviewed 9 days ago

Aussie

Aussie Optimizer Variable (LVR 80-90%, Principal & Interest, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

I like banking with Aussie as they are always in touch to make sure you are happy. They also look into decreasing the interest rate all the time.

I like banking with Aussie as they are always in touch to make sure you are happy. They also look into decreasing the interest rate all the time.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vicky (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed 14 days ago

ANZ

ANZ home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The ANZ are a real people bank

They have helped family and I during a time of crisis. After being hit by a P plate driver at work and losing my job whilst on a Dr's certificate, they've been behind us 10/10.

They have helped family and I during a time of crisis. After being hit by a P plate driver at work and losing my job whilst on a Dr's certificate, they've been behind us 10/10.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (SA), reviewed 15 days ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Money Manager home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Would not recommend

We lost a lot of money with incorrect advise from them.

We lost a lot of money with incorrect advise from them.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Linda (QLD), reviewed 18 days ago

IMB Bank

IMB Bank Fixed Home Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

An efficient and trustworthy bank

As far as banks go, it would take a very good offer to make me change to another provider.

As far as banks go, it would take a very good offer to make me change to another provider.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Geoff (NSW), reviewed 18 days ago

Greater Bank

Greater Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I recommend this bank

I'm very happy with Greater Bank's business. They are very approachable and have been helpful for us.

I'm very happy with Greater Bank's business. They are very approachable and have been helpful for us.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Johanna (NSW), reviewed 18 days ago

Beyond Bank

Beyond Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great products and customer service

Great customer service and country hospitality.

Great customer service and country hospitality.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dean (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Mortgage Simplifier (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Need to improve their application process

Although they promise fast responses, dealing with applications can be tiresome. Once a loan is set up this bank is great but if you want to refinance it is a long drawn out process even for existing customers.

Although they promise fast responses, dealing with applications can be tiresome. Once a loan is set up this bank is great but if you want to refinance it is a long drawn out process even for existing customers.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anita (TAS), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank, been with them for 20 years

This bank has been fantastic for me. Staff are always ready and willing to help.

This bank has been fantastic for me. Staff are always ready and willing to help.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kate (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Brilliant provider

Great bank. I've been banking with Bankwest for over 25 years and am a very satisfied customer.

Great bank. I've been banking with Bankwest for over 25 years and am a very satisfied customer.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matthew (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

NAB

NAB 2 year Special Tailored Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Fixed, Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Helps make banking simpler

The staff are always friendly and internet banking is easy to do. I find that NAB helps us spend less money by giving us an advantage to make simpler payments. In my opinion, NAB is leading the way for all other banks.

The staff are always friendly and internet banking is easy to do. I find that NAB helps us spend less money by giving us an advantage to make simpler payments. In my opinion, NAB is leading the way for all other banks.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Cynthia (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates

Commonwealth Bank is one of the big four major banks, so I feel very comfortable being a customer with them. Although internet banking is quite easy, I like that there are plenty of branches that are easily accessible as this makes personal...

Commonwealth Bank is one of the big four major banks, so I feel very comfortable being a customer with them. Although internet banking is quite easy, I like that there are plenty of branches that are easily accessible as this makes personal banking more convenient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rae (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

ME

ME home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great home loan provider

Our home loan was organised in one easy mobile banker assessment meeting. Interest rates have been fairly good with this provider and reductions when necessary have been prompt.

Our home loan was organised in one easy mobile banker assessment meeting. Interest rates have been fairly good with this provider and reductions when necessary have been prompt.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Staff are always helpful and understanding

Staff are always helpful and understanding, especially during difficult times. If it wasn't for them, I wouldn't have a home loan.

Staff are always helpful and understanding, especially during difficult times. If it wasn't for them, I wouldn't have a home loan.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rachel (SA), reviewed 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Local knowledge and great customer service

When I visit the local branch, I realised that staff were more than willing to help me save money by giving me options for their new products. I was very impressed with their knowledge. They also had the ability to fully understood my needs and...

When I visit the local branch, I realised that staff were more than willing to help me save money by giving me options for their new products. I was very impressed with their knowledge. They also had the ability to fully understood my needs and current situation.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kelly (NSW), reviewed 2 months ago

BankSA

BankSA Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

I was told they have great customer service

The major thing now is that with the advantage packages, the yearly fee is so high that it becomes harder to save due to rates being very low.

The major thing now is that with the advantage packages, the yearly fee is so high that it becomes harder to save due to rates being very low.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Juliska (SA), reviewed 2 months ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Mortgage Simplifier (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Internet banking is also easy to use. Their call centre is located in Australia which is very important for me due to convenience.

Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Internet banking is also easy to use. Their call centre is located in Australia which is very important for me due to convenience.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Charmaine (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Overall average banker

NAB need to improve on their customer experience.

NAB need to improve on their customer experience.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed 2 months ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

They need better working staff

Their staff tends to be less attentive to customers' needs.

Their staff tends to be less attentive to customers' needs.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graham (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

ME

ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Professional service

Professionalism of their mobile lender was superb.

Professionalism of their mobile lender was superb.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anthony (VIC), reviewed 2 months ago

St.George

St.George Portfolio Loan home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

St George should improve their customer service

Their in-house service is terrible and staff over the counter are not always pleasant.

Their in-house service is terrible and staff over the counter are not always pleasant.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good loan rates for fixed term

All round good banking experience, nothing negative that comes to mind.

All round good banking experience, nothing negative that comes to mind.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kevin (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive products and great customer service

We use a broker for almost all dealings with our bank so we never have any problems.

We use a broker for almost all dealings with our bank so we never have any problems.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sonja (WA), reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reliable, fair and progressive

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Louis (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.05% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - free
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 8 Gateway Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.75% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.77% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $270

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.75% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.77% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $270
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • SCU Basic Home Loan

    SCU Basic Home Loan

    • Redraw facility
    • Flexible repayment options
    • No annual or monthly fees

    interest rate

    3.77% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.81% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $695

    Go to site

    More info

    • Redraw facility
    • Flexible repayment options
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Interest rate: 3.77% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.81% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $695
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $180.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - $50
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier, Investor
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    9.4

    Based on 5 SCU home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan - (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available

    interest rate

    3.79% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.83% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $595

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available
    • Interest rate: 3.79% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.83% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $595
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 35 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 503 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.