Advertisement

Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Teachers Mutual Bank

Teachers Mutual Bank Flexi Choice Home Loan (Owner Occupier) Flexi Choice Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

I would like them to be more rate sensitive

They do not have the best rate. Works for me because they fund for a studio

Full review

They do not have the best rate. Works for me because they fund for a studio

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Michael, Victoria, reviewed 16 minutes ago

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Variable Rate Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Low rate and excellent service

I was referred to by a friend who refinanced her loan with Homestar. I didn’t know too much about them but I experienced excellent service from their Sales specialist who walked me through the application process without the hard sell. They...

Full review

I was referred to by a friend who refinanced her loan with Homestar. I didn’t know too much about them but I experienced excellent service from their Sales specialist who walked me through the application process without the hard sell. They answered all the questions I had and were able to assist with explaining any concerns I had since this was my first purchase. Their current internet banking is a bit outdated, but I was told that it would be updated in the next few months, which is something important to me because I like to see where my finances are at anytime. Lastly, I’m happy with my rate and the fact that they passed on the recent RBA cut was music to my ears. Thanks for your support Homestar and I hope this level of service continues!

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Kimberley, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago

ING

ING Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) Orange Advantage (Package) review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Best bank home loan

Easy to manage and lots to offer with better rates than others

Full review

Easy to manage and lots to offer with better rates than others

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lingaraj, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Rate review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service - no issues

Good service - no issues

Full review

Good service - no issues

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sonia, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fair

Ok. They are easy to deal with.

Full review

Ok. They are easy to deal with.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

George, Queensland, reviewed 7 days ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Fixed Rate Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Local banks are awesome!

Great local bank with a broad range of products and services and they show that they actually care. Always very helpful and exceptionally friendly with great advice.

Full review

Great local bank with a broad range of products and services and they show that they actually care. Always very helpful and exceptionally friendly with great advice.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Cheyne, Tasmania, reviewed 7 days ago

Well Home Loans

Well Home Loans Well Balanced (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR <80%) Well Balanced review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service and competitive rates

Fantastic service and pricing

Full review

Fantastic service and pricing

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ashwin, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150,000-$249,999) (Breakfree Package) Variable Rate (Breakfree Package) review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Long time customer for over 50 years

Overall I am very satisfied with ANZ

Full review

Overall I am very satisfied with ANZ

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Des, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago

BankSA

BankSA Portfolio Loan Portfolio Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very good service

Always very helpful when we go to the branch

Full review

Always very helpful when we go to the branch

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Graham, South Australia, reviewed 12 days ago

Newcastle Permanent

Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package) Variable Home Loan (Premium Plus Package) review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to deal with

Newcastle permanent will guide you through applications. If they don’t think that you’re going to make their criteria, they will tell you before the application goes for approval so you do not end up with black marks against your credit score. I...

Full review

Newcastle permanent will guide you through applications. If they don’t think that you’re going to make their criteria, they will tell you before the application goes for approval so you do not end up with black marks against your credit score. I have dealt with other lenders in the past and they don’t care about this.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Henry, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago

Adelaide Bank

Adelaide Bank SmartSaver (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) SmartSaver review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Money hungry

In ten years only I've received one RBA interest rate cut

Full review

In ten years only I've received one RBA interest rate cut

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Glenn, Victoria, reviewed 12 days ago

Homestar

Homestar Variable Rate Loan (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Variable Rate Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates and responsive customer service

Here are the pros for Homestar. They have one of the most competitive interest rates going around and have been passing on the full RBA cut, usually announced on the same day, which is very impressive. Their friendly, helpful, and responsive loan...

Full review

Here are the pros for Homestar. They have one of the most competitive interest rates going around and have been passing on the full RBA cut, usually announced on the same day, which is very impressive. Their friendly, helpful, and responsive loan manager assisted us through the sign up process with no issues. Call centre staff were polite and helpful when I called up after settlement for assistance Here are the cons for Homestar. Their website is very basic, lacks essential features such as updating your contact details which you need to call up to do. It made it difficult chasing up a missing letter which went to an incorrect address. The website is also slow when clicking buttons, there often is a considerable wait before the next page shows up. Their is no mobile app available which really should be a given I would recommend Homestar to friends and family as the rates are competitive and they are aggressive in maintaining their low rates by passing on all the RBA rate cuts in full which is impressive, no fluffing around. I do find the website extremely frustrating as it is slow and lacks basic features. Even though they provide you with a debit card, I would not consider using Homestar as my day to day banking with the website in its current state.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Basil, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent customer service but rates are high.

This bank rates are high compared to any other banks. I always go with the brokers so that we get the best rates as possible at any time.

Full review

This bank rates are high compared to any other banks. I always go with the brokers so that we get the best rates as possible at any time.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Gowry, Western Australia, reviewed 13 days ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

I like this bank, very easy to use and the staff are very friendly

Full review

I like this bank, very easy to use and the staff are very friendly

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Dorota, South Australia, reviewed 19 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Loan (LVR<90%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They were very competitive and helpful.

They were very competitive and helpful. Would recommend them to others.

Full review

They were very competitive and helpful. Would recommend them to others.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Susan, Queensland, reviewed 21 days ago

MyState Bank

MyState Bank Fixed Rate Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Fixed Rate Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Needs better rates

I think taking out a home loan with MyState was a bad choice. The rates are very expensive. I will wait for another 2.5 years after my fixed rate is over so I can move out to a better provider

Full review

I think taking out a home loan with MyState was a bad choice. The rates are very expensive. I will wait for another 2.5 years after my fixed rate is over so I can move out to a better provider

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Parveen, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Rate Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) Fixed Rate Investment Loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Rates aren't competitive at all!

Westpac has the worst fixed investment rate. I am trying to get out of Westpac ASAP.

Full review

Westpac has the worst fixed investment rate. I am trying to get out of Westpac ASAP.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Parveen, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Standard Variable Rate review

Overall rating   2 / 10

High interest rates

They have high interest rates and refuse to reduce rates even if it means losing me as a customer.

Full review

They have high interest rates and refuse to reduce rates even if it means losing me as a customer.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 25 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Share Trade Share Trade review

Overall rating   10 / 10

User Friendly and Cost Efficient

Easy to use and to manage your online account online. Costs are very reasonable and accessible.

Full review

Easy to use and to manage your online account online. Costs are very reasonable and accessible.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Antoinette, Victoria, reviewed 26 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great products and great online support

I have been with Suncorp for nearly twenty years and have found them to be excellent to deal with.

Full review

I have been with Suncorp for nearly twenty years and have found them to be excellent to deal with.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Antoinette, Victoria, reviewed 26 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Poor interest rates. Top service. Forward thinking

Their interest rates (for us) are not competitive, however, their customer service and convenience and support through phone calls, SMS and online banking are first class! They are a forward thinking bank!

Full review

Their interest rates (for us) are not competitive, however, their customer service and convenience and support through phone calls, SMS and online banking are first class! They are a forward thinking bank!

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Bernie, Western Australia, reviewed 27 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good service

They were the only bank willing to loan us money 16 years ago.

Full review

They were the only bank willing to loan us money 16 years ago.

    Price   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Bill, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

ING

ING Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service, competitive offerings

We have been with ING for a number of years now. They were very competitive with their interest rates, lower than the "Big 4". You spoke to a real person who cared without "selling", decisions were up to me without being pushed. Great products and...

Full review

We have been with ING for a number of years now. They were very competitive with their interest rates, lower than the "Big 4". You spoke to a real person who cared without "selling", decisions were up to me without being pushed. Great products and ease of doing business with them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jeff, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great bank

Great bank. I have not had any problems with them in over six years. We have a no frills account with a good interest rate. The only real problem I have with them is that there are no branches and ATMs near use, but we can use other brands ATM for...

Full review

Great bank. I have not had any problems with them in over six years. We have a no frills account with a good interest rate. The only real problem I have with them is that there are no branches and ATMs near use, but we can use other brands ATM for free.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Susan, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

ANZ

ANZ Simplicity PLUS Special Offer LVR <80% (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Simplicity PLUS review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Have not had one problem with this home loan. Very happy

Full review

Have not had one problem with this home loan. Very happy

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Barb, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    2.88% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.90% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 2.88% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.90% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 637 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Oct

    comparison rate*

    2.84% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Oct

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required. Minimum loan amount $700k
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variableApply now to get this rate from 29 Oct
    • Comparison rate*: 2.84% p.a.Apply now to get this rate from 29 Oct
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Athena Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees

    interest rate

    2.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    2.80% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No application fees
    • No monthly fees
    • No annual fees
    • Interest rate: 2.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 2.80% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.02% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.04% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $150

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available on new borrowings from $50,000
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.02% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.04% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $150
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers:
    Overall rating

    7.0

    Based on 110 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Suncorp Fixed Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Home Package Plus)

    Suncorp Fixed Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Home Package Plus)

    • No monthly account keeping fee.
    • No loan establishment fee.
    • Option to lock in a rate at the time of the application.

    interest rate

    2.99% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No monthly account keeping fee.
    • No loan establishment fee.
    • Option to lock in a rate at the time of the application.
    • Interest rate: 2.99% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $375.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $500 per month
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    • Special offers: Receive $2,000 when you refinance an existing loan of $250,000 or more with an LVR of <90%. Apply by 13 December 2019 and settle by 5 March 2020.
    Overall rating

    7.3

    Based on 862 Suncorp home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 533 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement