Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

P&N Bank

P&N Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

They are two faced and they don't care about you

I do not have a complaint about P&N. What is the point of complaining when they fail to resolve the issue. I conceded defeat a long time ago. I had two ‘interest only’ home loans with them until May 2017 when they came to the end of the three year...

Full review

I do not have a complaint about P&N. What is the point of complaining when they fail to resolve the issue. I conceded defeat a long time ago. I had two ‘interest only’ home loans with them until May 2017 when they came to the end of the three year terms. I went to see them and informed them that I wished to continue with this arrangement. I also explained that my wife was dying and this was causing me a great deal of distress. They seemed very concerned, offered their sympathy and assured me that they would not add to my problems. They did the exact opposite. They turned both loans into principal and interest and increased the rates to about 5.7%. One of the reasons given was that as my wife was dying (she died 8/8/17), I would no longer benefit from her income. My wife’s income had fallen from a very moderate level to nothing over the previous four years. Therefore, due to her failing health, she was not, and had not been making a significant contribution to our joint incomes or some years. Despite my situation P&N increased my payments by $3,000 a month. Very sympathetic. Just when I needed some help, I received in its place, a kick in the guts from the P&N bank. They really did talk nicely, sounded very concerned, but then screwed me when I was at my most vulnerable. I would point out that I have never missed a payment, even those at the current extortionate rate.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Bob, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

Auswide Bank

Auswide Bank Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

No customer service

Very high interests rates and they also removed a lot of payment methods which makes it very difficult to pay on time increasing the chance of you getting charged with late fees.

Full review

Very high interests rates and they also removed a lot of payment methods which makes it very difficult to pay on time increasing the chance of you getting charged with late fees.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Melinda, Victoria, reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

So happy we switched banks.

Very happy we switched to CommBank. Great range of accounts and fantastic customer service.

Full review

Very happy we switched to CommBank. Great range of accounts and fantastic customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Helen, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago

ME

ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Their customer service is beyond excellent

Their customer service is beyond excellent and the call centre is very helpful.

Full review

Their customer service is beyond excellent and the call centre is very helpful.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Denise, Victoria, reviewed 3 months ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good premiums and great customer service

Dealing with Commonwealth Bank felt like a breath of fresh air in comparison to other banks. They are constantly in contact to ensure that we are getting the best deals and are happy.

Full review

Dealing with Commonwealth Bank felt like a breath of fresh air in comparison to other banks. They are constantly in contact to ensure that we are getting the best deals and are happy.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

David, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not supportive

They did not explain or help when I was on sick leave from work as to what i could do to reduce my payments to keep my house until i was working again. Very disappointed in this bank as I've heard that other banks provide a lot of options for...

Full review

They did not explain or help when I was on sick leave from work as to what i could do to reduce my payments to keep my house until i was working again. Very disappointed in this bank as I've heard that other banks provide a lot of options for people in financial hardship to assist you so you don't lose your loan and subsequently your house. Very sad.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Brooke, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago

NAB

NAB Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

Fantastic service and account manager.

Full review

Fantastic service and account manager.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed 4 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very competent staff at Seaford branch

Very happy with ANZ. Recently paid off my mortgage and had no problems finalising my account.

Full review

Very happy with ANZ. Recently paid off my mortgage and had no problems finalising my account.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gloria, South Australia, reviewed 5 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, $150,000-$249,999) (Breakfree Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great bank a few years ago, not so much now

ANZ were good in the beginning when I signed up but they keep changing their processes and requirements for any change or updates. Customer service are polite enough but they do not have the capabilities to make any proper action.

Full review

ANZ were good in the beginning when I signed up but they keep changing their processes and requirements for any change or updates. Customer service are polite enough but they do not have the capabilities to make any proper action.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Lisa, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Viridian Line of Credit Home Loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Very average Bank

They are quite inefficient in some dealings. Interest rate is pathetic and the monthly fee is ridiculous. They have totally lost consumer confidence as a result of the Banking Royal Commission.

Full review

They are quite inefficient in some dealings. Interest rate is pathetic and the monthly fee is ridiculous. They have totally lost consumer confidence as a result of the Banking Royal Commission.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   2 / 10

Less

Denise, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago

Bank of Melbourne

Bank of Melbourne Basic Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good but would like more communication

The service is good but I would like better communication when with regards to interest rates.

Full review

The service is good but I would like better communication when with regards to interest rates.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Nicole, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Can do better

Customer service isn’t always at it’s best, I found that I had to chase them up a couple of times when refinancing. Whole process took over 3 weeks which was a bit long and they were not willing to negotiate on the variable rate.

Full review

Customer service isn’t always at it’s best, I found that I had to chase them up a couple of times when refinancing. Whole process took over 3 weeks which was a bit long and they were not willing to negotiate on the variable rate.

    Price   9 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Peter, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive rates but inconvenient

Has competitive rates but their branches are in very inconvenient locations.

Full review

Has competitive rates but their branches are in very inconvenient locations.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Betty, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Thank you so much

I love NAB. It is the best bank ever.

Full review

I love NAB. It is the best bank ever.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jihee, Western Australia, reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Would recommend

Great rates!

Full review

Great rates!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Alexandra, New South Wales, reviewed 5 months ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest, LVR<80%) Home Loan review

Overall rating   2 / 10

NAB absolutely stinks!

Not at all happy with NAB as we had to sell our investment property, due to lack of work for a couple of months and not being able to keep up with the repayments, even though we had always paid 10-20 percent above the necessary amount. They did...

Full review

Not at all happy with NAB as we had to sell our investment property, due to lack of work for a couple of months and not being able to keep up with the repayments, even though we had always paid 10-20 percent above the necessary amount. They did not give us long at all before they took the situation to court.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Colleen, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic bank

ANZ gave us the best loan possible at the time and have continued to help us even through financial hardship. Highly recommended.

Full review

ANZ gave us the best loan possible at the time and have continued to help us even through financial hardship. Highly recommended.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dimi, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

ANZ provide very good service.

Full review

ANZ provide very good service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Jacquie, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy with CBA

They are great but sometimes its hard to find anyone to talk.

Full review

They are great but sometimes its hard to find anyone to talk.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Paul, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Only positives. Have been with this bank for numerous years and have always had great service. They are a bank that bends over backwards to meet my needs.

Full review

Only positives. Have been with this bank for numerous years and have always had great service. They are a bank that bends over backwards to meet my needs.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Munro, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Average

Very adequate but it does the job.

Full review

Very adequate but it does the job.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Colleen, Queensland, reviewed 6 months ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great home loan

Everything has been very good with my home loan so far.

Full review

Everything has been very good with my home loan so far.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Georgia, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) Home Loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to use. Very useful

I have had nothing but awesome help from my bank branch. They are super friendly and know me by my name as I get to the counter. Their internet site is easy to use. Totally recommend them.

Full review

I have had nothing but awesome help from my bank branch. They are super friendly and know me by my name as I get to the counter. Their internet site is easy to use. Totally recommend them.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

John, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<=80%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) Home Loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive rate

Good interest rate and easy to organise over the phone. Didn't even need to go to a branch.

Full review

Good interest rate and easy to organise over the phone. Didn't even need to go to a branch.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

Less

Megan, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago

Pepper Money

Pepper Money Home Loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Understanding

They have been very understanding while I was in financial hardship.

Full review

They have been very understanding while I was in financial hardship.

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Diana, Northern Territory, reviewed 6 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Smart Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments

    interest rate

    3.48% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.50% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • For purchase and refinance, min 20% deposit
    • No application or ongoing fees
    • Unlimited redraws and additional repayments
    • Interest rate: 3.48% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.50% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.2

    Based on 636 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.59% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • A Low rate Home Loan with $0 application fees for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Choose between weekly, fortnightly or monthly repayments and make extra repayments for free on a variable rate home loan
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.59% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 111 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Homestar Star Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Homestar Star Essentials Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Unlimited extra repayments & Free online redraw
    • Upfront fees waived – limited time offer

    interest rate

    3.49% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.49% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Unlimited extra repayments & Free online redraw
    • Upfront fees waived – limited time offer
    • Interest rate: 3.49% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.49% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $535.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $749,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    6.3

    Based on 19 Homestar home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Featured product

     

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR less than 80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, LVR less than 80%, Principal & Interest) (Member Package)

    interest rate

    3.58% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    4.25% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $200

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate: 3.58% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.25% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $200
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $30,000 during fixed rate period
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $40,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 901 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2019

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Get full approval online
    • Tic:Toc’s award-winning platform means you’ll save thousands with low rates and no application, valuation or settlement fees.
    • Fee free redraws and extra repayments.

    interest rate

    3.47% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.48% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Get full approval online
    • Tic:Toc’s award-winning platform means you’ll save thousands with low rates and no application, valuation or settlement fees.
    • Fee free redraws and extra repayments.
    • Interest rate: 3.47% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.48% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $325.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: Optional - $10 per month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Want more? Compare all 528 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.