Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

ME

ME home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great home loan provider

Our home loan was organised in one easy mobile banker assessment meeting. Interest rates have been fairly good with this provider and reductions when necessary have been prompt.

Our home loan was organised in one easy mobile banker assessment meeting. Interest rates have been fairly good with this provider and reductions when necessary have been prompt.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

People's Choice Credit Union

People's Choice Credit Union home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Staff are always helpful and understanding

Staff are always helpful and understanding, especially during difficult times. If it wasn't for them, I wouldn't have a home loan.

Staff are always helpful and understanding, especially during difficult times. If it wasn't for them, I wouldn't have a home loan.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rachel (SA), reviewed 6 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Local knowledge and great customer service

When I visit the local branch, I realised that staff were more than willing to help me save money by giving me options for their new products. I was very impressed with their knowledge. They also had the ability to fully understood my needs and...

When I visit the local branch, I realised that staff were more than willing to help me save money by giving me options for their new products. I was very impressed with their knowledge. They also had the ability to fully understood my needs and current situation.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kelly (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

BankSA

BankSA Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

I was told they have great customer service

The major thing now is that with the advantage packages, the yearly fee is so high that it becomes harder to save due to rates being very low.

The major thing now is that with the advantage packages, the yearly fee is so high that it becomes harder to save due to rates being very low.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Juliska (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT Mortgage Simplifier (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Internet banking is also easy to use. Their call centre is located in Australia which is very important for me due to convenience.

Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Internet banking is also easy to use. Their call centre is located in Australia which is very important for me due to convenience.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Charmaine (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage (Choice Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Overall average banker

NAB need to improve on their customer experience.

NAB need to improve on their customer experience.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

They need better working staff

Their staff tends to be less attentive to customers' needs.

Their staff tends to be less attentive to customers' needs.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graham (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

ME

ME Flexible Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<80%) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Professional service

Professionalism of their mobile lender was superb.

Professionalism of their mobile lender was superb.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anthony (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

St.George

St.George Portfolio Loan home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

St George should improve their customer service

Their in-house service is terrible and staff over the counter are not always pleasant.

Their in-house service is terrible and staff over the counter are not always pleasant.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good loan rates for fixed term

All round good banking experience, nothing negative that comes to mind.

All round good banking experience, nothing negative that comes to mind.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kevin (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive products and great customer service

We use a broker for almost all dealings with our bank so we never have any problems.

We use a broker for almost all dealings with our bank so we never have any problems.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sonja (WA), reviewed 14 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reliable, fair and progressive

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Louis (NSW), reviewed 18 days ago

ING DIRECT

ING DIRECT home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service

Interest rates are too high but they have good customer service.

Interest rates are too high but they have good customer service.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kym (SA), reviewed 18 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Commonwealth Bank could do better with their rates

Could get a better interest rate. Will start investigating other banks rates.

Could get a better interest rate. Will start investigating other banks rates.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (NSW), reviewed 21 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly and professional staff

The staff at Commonwealth Bank were willing to loan us a mortgage when the banks we had been with for years wouldn't.

The staff at Commonwealth Bank were willing to loan us a mortgage when the banks we had been with for years wouldn't.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Chris (WA), reviewed 21 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Always have a smile and a friendly word to say when in the bank and any small problems are dealt with promptly.

Always have a smile and a friendly word to say when in the bank and any small problems are dealt with promptly.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Angela (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding service and competitive rates

We dealt with an amazing lender who was open and honest, and has been an immense help to us for which we are truly grateful.

We dealt with an amazing lender who was open and honest, and has been an immense help to us for which we are truly grateful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to navigate website and applications

I have been with NAB for a long time and they have always provided top customer service.

I have been with NAB for a long time and they have always provided top customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kim (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Home Loan Special (Owner Occupier, LVR<90%) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great banking experience

All in one account with savings on fees. Great customer service too.

All in one account with savings on fees. Great customer service too.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Casey (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

ANZ

ANZ Equity Manager (under $250k) (Breakfree Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Our bank manager was great when we first set up our home loan. I have also had issues on one or two occasions regarding my card and this has been sorted relatively quickly through the call centre. All staff members are helpful and will assist...

Our bank manager was great when we first set up our home loan. I have also had issues on one or two occasions regarding my card and this has been sorted relatively quickly through the call centre. All staff members are helpful and will assist where they can.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Nicole (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Fair rates and great customer service

They have fair rates and great service. There could be more ATMs around. Sometimes we go into the branch and ask for them to increase our payment amount or request something similar, but this can take a few visits for them to do.

They have fair rates and great service. There could be more ATMs around. Sometimes we go into the branch and ask for them to increase our payment amount or request something similar, but this can take a few visits for them to do.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Amanda (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Viridian Line of Credit (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very professional and accurate information

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

AMP

AMP Essential Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Absolute best rate but close to worst service.

The service from AMP when you want statements and setting up internet banking is awful. The rates for this loan are outstanding and no other financial institution could come within 0.75% of their rate. The best thing is that when they give you a...

The service from AMP when you want statements and setting up internet banking is awful. The rates for this loan are outstanding and no other financial institution could come within 0.75% of their rate. The best thing is that when they give you a loan, they won't bother you, unless there is a problem. Unfortunately, their service is what makes them go down in my ranking.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Darren (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank No Fee Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Used to have competitive rates, but not anymore

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sharyn (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Premium Select (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

A great home loan from a bank that has amazing customer service. When dealing with this much money, customer service is the most important aspect of a bank's services in my opinion.

A great home loan from a bank that has amazing customer service. When dealing with this much money, customer service is the most important aspect of a bank's services in my opinion.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ashley (SA), reviewed 3 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low interest rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.59% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.61% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low interest rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.59% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.61% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Breathe Easy Spring Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    State Custodians Breathe Easy Spring Special (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier)

    • $0 Annual Fee, $0 Application Fee
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.72% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.75% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Annual Fee, $0 Application Fee
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.72% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.75% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Mozo's pick of the month

     

    ING DIRECT Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Package)

    ING DIRECT Orange Advantage (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Package)

    • With a variable rate this low, you could call it mates rates
    • 100% offset facility
    • Request pre-approval today

    interest rate

    3.89% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.11% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $299

    Go to site

    More info

    • With a variable rate this low, you could call it mates rates
    • 100% offset facility
    • Request pre-approval today
    • Interest rate: 3.89% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.11% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $299
    • Ongoing fees: $199.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.1

    Based on 185 ING DIRECT home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%)

    Beyond Bank Low Rate Special Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, LVR<70%)

    • Free redraw and unlimited repayments
    • 100% mortgage offset account
    • No upfront or ongoing fees

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Free redraw and unlimited repayments
    • 100% mortgage offset account
    • No upfront or ongoing fees
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $295.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 27 Beyond Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    Gateway Credit Union Variable Rate Home Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Premium Package)

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts

    interest rate

    3.73% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.05% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Ability to make unlimited bulk repayments without penalty
    • Offers borrowers up to three free splits
    • Access extra features such as multiple offset accounts
    • Interest rate: 3.73% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.05% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $299.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes - free
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 8 Gateway Credit Union home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 507 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.