Home loan reviews

Read the latest home loan reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their mortgage provider to give you the inside story on everything from sneaky fees to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

NAB

NAB home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

No service

When interest rates went up, NAB hiked the rates in the next month - when they came down we had to wait three to four months to see the benefit. I wrote them a letter and was told we have so many customers we couldn't possibly get the paper work...

When interest rates went up, NAB hiked the rates in the next month - when they came down we had to wait three to four months to see the benefit. I wrote them a letter and was told we have so many customers we couldn't possibly get the paper work done within the month for lower rates. I pointed out that they were well able to do so when the rates went up. They wrote that mortgages didn't bring them any money and that it was a service for the community. We moved banks as soon as we could after that - I no longer trusted them, although some of their front line people were great.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lynne (QLD), reviewed 21 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No issues

I have never had a problem with them, and they are very quick to give loan approvals.

I have never had a problem with them, and they are very quick to give loan approvals.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stella (WA), reviewed 22 days ago

ANZ

ANZ Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Trustworthy

Their products are good. Not world leading or overly innovative, but the Big 4 don't really do that. The smaller banks that operate under their umbrella do better deals though.

Their products are good. Not world leading or overly innovative, but the Big 4 don't really do that. The smaller banks that operate under their umbrella do better deals though.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Phil (VIC), reviewed 22 days ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Slow disjointed and unsupportive process

Slow and difficult application process that goes through a number of people who make mistakes and then charge customers for them.

Slow and difficult application process that goes through a number of people who make mistakes and then charge customers for them.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharon (NSW), reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy online banking system

Commonwealth Bank has been a great bank to deal with for home loans, personal loans and savings accounts. Online banking systems are the best I have seen. The down side has been that they lack flexibility and the personal touch to really help you...

Commonwealth Bank has been a great bank to deal with for home loans, personal loans and savings accounts. Online banking systems are the best I have seen. The down side has been that they lack flexibility and the personal touch to really help you streamline or refinance or consolidate .

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anita (TAS), reviewed 22 days ago

Heritage Bank

Heritage Bank Discount Variable Home Loan Special (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive rates. Basic internet banking

Heritage Bank have very competitive pricing and interest rates. They do lack in terms of their internet banking features. At this stage they do not have online redraw.

Heritage Bank have very competitive pricing and interest rates. They do lack in terms of their internet banking features. At this stage they do not have online redraw.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

NAB

NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

They adjusted our loan when requested, but I dislike that they've put their rates up recently.

They adjusted our loan when requested, but I dislike that they've put their rates up recently.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharron (WA), reviewed 22 days ago

Bank of Queensland

Bank of Queensland Clear Path Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service in all areas, very efficient

Owner operator ensures efficient service at all times. Convenient, local and advisable.

Owner operator ensures efficient service at all times. Convenient, local and advisable.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Geoff (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

Bendigo Bank

Bendigo Bank Basic Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive rates and personal service

I have direct access to the bank manager of the Bendigo Bank branch that I go to. He attends my home by discussing the loans I can use. If I miss a signature on a form, he also arranges to call in at my home to sign the form. He makes other...

I have direct access to the bank manager of the Bendigo Bank branch that I go to. He attends my home by discussing the loans I can use. If I miss a signature on a form, he also arranges to call in at my home to sign the form. He makes other senior managers aware of my needs and informs me about contacting them if necessary. In addition, the phone service from Bendigo Bank is excellent in resolving any questions and help I may require. They also call immediately to inform of any online dubious dealings in my accounts.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Louise (NSW), reviewed 23 days ago

Bank Australia

Bank Australia home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good service

Easy to get a loan and deal with. I would recommend this provider.

Easy to get a loan and deal with. I would recommend this provider.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (VIC), reviewed 23 days ago

St.George

St.George Fixed Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

The application process was quick and friendly. Branch members have always been friendly and helpful.

The application process was quick and friendly. Branch members have always been friendly and helpful.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Victor (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

St.George

St.George home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good bank, helpful staff, frustrating time waits

The staff are friendly and helpful. The automated phone banking is frustrating and so is the waiting time to speak with a staff member. The staff have been very understanding when we were in a financial crisis and gave us the help we needed. I...

The staff are friendly and helpful. The automated phone banking is frustrating and so is the waiting time to speak with a staff member. The staff have been very understanding when we were in a financial crisis and gave us the help we needed. I think the interest rates could be more competitive and lower. Overall, St. George is a good bank with friendly, helpful staff who are willing to help and provide good service.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Virginia (NSW), reviewed 23 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great community service

Happy staff, easy to deal with, great service.

Happy staff, easy to deal with, great service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Simon (QLD), reviewed 23 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service and assistance

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

I have always assisted with interest rates as I have multiple loans that have been close to best market rates plus recently had a fraud issue and was very impressed with the way it was handled.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed 23 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Repay Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Saves thousands on interest costs

The premier advantage package is a real money saver on interest costs. Flexible loan options with easy redraw on additional funds you can pay in without penalty.

The premier advantage package is a real money saver on interest costs. Flexible loan options with easy redraw on additional funds you can pay in without penalty.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kerralie (ACT), reviewed 27 days ago

AMP

AMP Essential Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No fuss loan with excellent features and low rates

This home loan package is a great no fuss set and forget loan. Always competitive rates and no on going fees. What you see is what you get. It even allows you to take your extra money out. AMP banking app is easy to understand and negotiate.

This home loan package is a great no fuss set and forget loan. Always competitive rates and no on going fees. What you see is what you get. It even allows you to take your extra money out. AMP banking app is easy to understand and negotiate.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Dwayne (QLD), reviewed 27 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best online banking I've found

Friendly and swift service. Good locations. Excellent online banking and phone app.

Friendly and swift service. Good locations. Excellent online banking and phone app.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jo (SA), reviewed 27 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Rocket Investment Loan (Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to use the online banking and transactions.

Easy to use the online banking and transactions.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Pritam (SA), reviewed 28 days ago

NAB

NAB Flexiplus Mortgage home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great responsiveness and customer service

They have always been responsive and helpful. I would encourage anybody to compare rates and services but I have always been happy with NAB.

They have always been responsive and helpful. I would encourage anybody to compare rates and services but I have always been happy with NAB.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Glenn (VIC), reviewed 28 days ago

CUA

CUA home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to use - clear instructions provided

We have a branch telephone number and someone is always available to speak to at our branch. We are able to deal with the same person who is aware of our banking needs and our banking history. A manager is also available via their mobile and has...

We have a branch telephone number and someone is always available to speak to at our branch. We are able to deal with the same person who is aware of our banking needs and our banking history. A manager is also available via their mobile and has called us out of hours at a time that was suitable to us.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Donna (NSW), reviewed 28 days ago

Greater Bank

Greater Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly and customer loyal

I've been with Greater Bank for years and I cannot fault them. They are easy to talk to and help with even the smallest or biggest problem.

I've been with Greater Bank for years and I cannot fault them. They are easy to talk to and help with even the smallest or biggest problem.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed 28 days ago

Westpac

Westpac home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I have been with this bank for more than 12 years and have not had anything to complain about. I am very happy with the service.

I have been with this bank for more than 12 years and have not had anything to complain about. I am very happy with the service.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jeffrey (WA), reviewed 28 days ago

Westpac

Westpac Fixed Options Home Loan (Principal & Interest) (Premier Advantage Package) home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Disillusioned

Would consider looking elsewhere for a better home loan interest rate, not satisfied with current deal.

Would consider looking elsewhere for a better home loan interest rate, not satisfied with current deal.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alison (VIC), reviewed 28 days ago

Suncorp

Suncorp Standard Variable Loan (LVR<80%, Owner Occupier) (Home Package Plus) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Variety of products

I've always been able to negotiate with them and they have always matched any other quotes we have got.

I've always been able to negotiate with them and they have always matched any other quotes we have got.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Elaine (QLD), reviewed 28 days ago

Bankwest

Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan (LVR 90-95%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package) home loan review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Unhappy customer

I haven't been happy with either the interest rate or customer service from this bank.

I haven't been happy with either the interest rate or customer service from this bank.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Liz (WA), reviewed 28 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier)

    Bank Australia Basic Home Loan Special (LVR<70%, Owner Occupier)

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.75% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to fix full loan or split between fixed and variable
    • Redraw available. Flexible repayments
    • Loan repayment pause available
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.75% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $250.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 70.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 35 Bank Australia home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR 80-90%, Owner Occupier)

    State Custodians Low Rate Home Loan with Offset (LVR 80-90%, Owner Occupier)

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account

    interest rate

    3.79% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.82% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $286

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 Application Fee, Free Redraws, Extra Repayments
    • P&I or Interest Only Up to 5yrs
    • Free 100% Offset Account
    • Interest rate: 3.79% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.82% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $286
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.7

    Based on 3 State Custodians home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Australian Unity Kick Starter Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Australian Unity Kick Starter Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • No annual fee on a credit card of your choice
    • Free transaction account with a Visa Debit
    • Unlimited redraws ($500 min)

    interest rate

    3.79% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.82% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • No annual fee on a credit card of your choice
    • Free transaction account with a Visa Debit
    • Unlimited redraws ($500 min)
    • Interest rate: 3.79% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.82% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $375.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    HSBC Discounted Home Value Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager

    interest rate

    3.85% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.86% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Owner occupier only
    • Available to new borrowings to HSBC of $50,000 or more
    • Your own Personal Relationship Manager
    • Interest rate: 3.85% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.86% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $7,500,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.1

    Based on 32 HSBC home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 507 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.