Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

SGIO

SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

SGIO has been a good insurance provider

Insurance is a valuable and important product that we must buy for protection and SGIO has successfully delivered.

Insurance is a valuable and important product that we must buy for protection and SGIO has successfully delivered.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jun (WA), reviewed 2 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Quite good car insurance provider

NRMA can be good with their service however their roadside assistance isn't the best.

NRMA can be good with their service however their roadside assistance isn't the best.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graeme (NSW), reviewed 2 days ago

AMP

AMP car insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

I've been looking for a better insurer

Not satisfied with overall service.

Not satisfied with overall service.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Darren (QLD), reviewed 2 days ago

CGU

CGU car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to deal with and their services have been great.

Easy to deal with and their services have been great.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed 2 days ago

Allianz

Allianz car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

1) My vehicle was damaged once and service was provided quickly and efficiently. 2) Premiums are fair with good customer service.

1) My vehicle was damaged once and service was provided quickly and efficiently. 2) Premiums are fair with good customer service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (SA), reviewed 3 days ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates

AAMI is able to cover young people who drive to work.

AAMI is able to cover young people who drive to work.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Susan (QLD), reviewed 3 days ago

1Cover

1Cover car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is very friendly

Everything can be dealt with online which makes banking a lot easier.

Everything can be dealt with online which makes banking a lot easier.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 4 days ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service

I've been with AAMI for many years and am a very satisfied customer.

I've been with AAMI for many years and am a very satisfied customer.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (QLD), reviewed 4 days ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very easy to deal with

I haven't had to make a claim yet. This bank provides value for money. The online messaging service with staff has also been very helpful. The only con is that payments need to be direct debited, which often makes payments difficult to do via BPAY...

I haven't had to make a claim yet. This bank provides value for money. The online messaging service with staff has also been very helpful. The only con is that payments need to be direct debited, which often makes payments difficult to do via BPAY or direct credit.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Charmaine (QLD), reviewed 4 days ago

Shannons

Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

A great company for the automotive enthusiast

I have an old Chevrolet Camaro that has been partially restored (i.e: motor mods, suspension mods and so forth). Shannons have always done a great job and they continue to be the only car insurance provider to go to.

I have an old Chevrolet Camaro that has been partially restored (i.e: motor mods, suspension mods and so forth). Shannons have always done a great job and they continue to be the only car insurance provider to go to.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Peter (QLD), reviewed 4 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive rates and great customer service

Staff are always helpful and friendly. AAMI has been a company that has been easy to deal with, whether it's just an enquiry or about processing a claim.

Staff are always helpful and friendly. AAMI has been a company that has been easy to deal with, whether it's just an enquiry or about processing a claim.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Linda (WA), reviewed 4 days ago

GIO

GIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and brilliant service

As for claims handling, I don't really know as I've never made a claim. However dealing with GIO about all other matters have been fantastic, easy and stress free. I am very happy with my choice of car insurer.

As for claims handling, I don't really know as I've never made a claim. However dealing with GIO about all other matters have been fantastic, easy and stress free. I am very happy with my choice of car insurer.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Chris (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Better than competitive

Coles insurance can be accessed via the internet which gives you a forum for comparing pricing.

Coles insurance can be accessed via the internet which gives you a forum for comparing pricing.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

I wouldn't recommend this insurance company

They were helpful until I made a claim.

They were helpful until I made a claim.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (SA), reviewed 8 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great premiums and customer service

I've received pretty good outcomes through NRMA.

I've received pretty good outcomes through NRMA.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

RACV

RACV car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Premiums are not very competitive

It is best to check for the pricing of product discounts applied for their multi policy. I've had years with this provider but don't often get the best price rates or cover.

It is best to check for the pricing of product discounts applied for their multi policy. I've had years with this provider but don't often get the best price rates or cover.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Andrew (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent rates and service, also friendly staff

It is easy to read their conditions and contract. Staff are always helpful. They explain everything clearly and there are no issues.

It is easy to read their conditions and contract. Staff are always helpful. They explain everything clearly and there are no issues.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kim (NSW), reviewed 10 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I can trust the staff for the information provided

The staff at Laurieton are always available and easily explain things to me.

The staff at Laurieton are always available and easily explain things to me.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gaye (NSW), reviewed 10 days ago

Apia

Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Apia have been extremely helpful

I can't think of a reason to fault them for anything. They even have a 24/7 phone service for our convenience whenever an issue needs addressing.

I can't think of a reason to fault them for anything. They even have a 24/7 phone service for our convenience whenever an issue needs addressing.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Geoffrey (WA), reviewed 10 days ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Very friendly staff. They made sure everything I wanted was included in my deal.

Very friendly staff. They made sure everything I wanted was included in my deal.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Alisen (WA), reviewed 10 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service, always satisfied

I receive good deals from Coles and have great benefits.

I receive good deals from Coles and have great benefits.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (NSW), reviewed 14 days ago

Woolworths

Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Woolworths have great premium prices

I am completely satisfied with this insurer. The staff are always friendly and helpful. There are only pros and no cons.

I am completely satisfied with this insurer. The staff are always friendly and helpful. There are only pros and no cons.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

QBE

QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Higher premiums result in excellent services

Whilst QBE aren't the cheapest insurer, their service more than makes up for the higher premiums. It is easy to make a claim since most can be done over the phone without the need to complete a written form. Staff are also always friendly to me.

Whilst QBE aren't the cheapest insurer, their service more than makes up for the higher premiums. It is easy to make a claim since most can be done over the phone without the need to complete a written form. Staff are also always friendly to me.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lesley (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

SGIO

SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Amazing rate, customer service and easy renewal

I don't drive a lot, well less than 5,000kms a year. I swapped car insurance to SGIO several years ago as they were able to offer me a much better rate on my insurance than my previous insurer (HBF). Thankfully I have not had to make a claim yet,...

I don't drive a lot, well less than 5,000kms a year. I swapped car insurance to SGIO several years ago as they were able to offer me a much better rate on my insurance than my previous insurer (HBF). Thankfully I have not had to make a claim yet, but when I renew each year, the customer service is A+ and it's always easy to renew.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sara (WA), reviewed 15 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

If I needed to make a claim, they have always been very helpful.

If I needed to make a claim, they have always been very helpful.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Robert (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.