Advertisement

Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

AAMI

AAMI Car Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great and very friendly service

I have been with AAMI for over 30 years and they have always been there when I have needed them. Their service is excellent and they act fast. On the rare occasion where there is a cheaper price on the market they do a price match and beat is. I...

Full review

I have been with AAMI for over 30 years and they have always been there when I have needed them. Their service is excellent and they act fast. On the rare occasion where there is a cheaper price on the market they do a price match and beat is. I have 3 cars insured with them and my home; it would take a lot for me to change providers. I give them a 10/10

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Darryle, Victoria, reviewed about 16 hours ago

NRMA

NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable

I have been with NRMA for 35 years, except one year where I tried out Coles insurance. Despite being cheaper I wasn't happy with them and returned to NRMA

Full review

I have been with NRMA for 35 years, except one year where I tried out Coles insurance. Despite being cheaper I wasn't happy with them and returned to NRMA

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Barb, New South Wales, reviewed about 16 hours ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Cheap premiums, good cover & service

Their premiums are cheap, the cover and service is good.

Full review

Their premiums are cheap, the cover and service is good.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Viktor, South Australia, reviewed about 16 hours ago

GIO

GIO Platinum Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Customer service top of the class.

I have been with GIO for many years and have filed several claims which were all dealt with promptly. In fact for my last claim, my car had several issues and all the repairs were sorted to my satisfaction.

Full review

I have been with GIO for many years and have filed several claims which were all dealt with promptly. In fact for my last claim, my car had several issues and all the repairs were sorted to my satisfaction.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Garry, New South Wales, reviewed 8 days ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Advantages Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Fantastic

Great to deal with. Easy straight forward process and I would recommend them to all my family and friends.

Full review

Great to deal with. Easy straight forward process and I would recommend them to all my family and friends.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Shontae, Tasmania, reviewed 9 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A+ in price, but still not sure if trustworthy

I've never had issues with them prior, however they are still a newer insurer so the trust levels are still growing. Their premium was very competitive and led me to switch from Comminsure to Coles!

Full review

I've never had issues with them prior, however they are still a newer insurer so the trust levels are still growing. Their premium was very competitive and led me to switch from Comminsure to Coles!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gemma, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

NAB

NAB Comprehensive Cover Comprehensive Cover review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Disappointing

I only have one word to describe NAB's car insurance. Disappointing.

Full review

I only have one word to describe NAB's car insurance. Disappointing.

    Policy coverage   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Claims handling   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

John, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

RAC

RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

RAC is the best

I feel safe with RAC. Their services are quick and reliable.

Full review

I feel safe with RAC. Their services are quick and reliable.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Edward, Western Australia, reviewed about 1 month ago

RACQ

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Perfect

I have been with them for years and would not go anywhere else.

Full review

I have been with them for years and would not go anywhere else.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Hester, Queensland, reviewed about 1 month ago

NRMA

NRMA Car Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Professional and supportive

After reviewing NRMA's terms and conditions, their policies seem to offer good, comprehensive coverage. Their rates and loyalty deduction premiums are also very competitive.

Full review

After reviewing NRMA's terms and conditions, their policies seem to offer good, comprehensive coverage. Their rates and loyalty deduction premiums are also very competitive.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

John, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago

Apia

Apia Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive and thorough.

I have been with Apia insurance for the past 7 years. Their service is absolutely amazing. If you have an accident they process your claim immediately. They even provide a hire car. While my car was being repaired, l used the hire car for 1 month...

Full review

I have been with Apia insurance for the past 7 years. Their service is absolutely amazing. If you have an accident they process your claim immediately. They even provide a hire car. While my car was being repaired, l used the hire car for 1 month with no extra charge. Try and beat that.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Roslyn, Victoria, reviewed 6 months ago

Apia

Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Apia are excellent for pensioner insurance

Extremely helpful but when making a claim sometimes there is a long wait to get through to the claims officer. Rates are easily arranged and monthly payments are easily set up.

Full review

Extremely helpful but when making a claim sometimes there is a long wait to get through to the claims officer. Rates are easily arranged and monthly payments are easily set up.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Ramona, Tasmania, reviewed 8 months ago

Youi

Youi Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good, friendly service

They provide me with competitively priced comprehensive insurance. I have had cause to make a claim when the incident was not my fault. The claims process was simple and the matter was quickly finalised.

Full review

They provide me with competitively priced comprehensive insurance. I have had cause to make a claim when the incident was not my fault. The claims process was simple and the matter was quickly finalised.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Chas, New South Wales, reviewed 9 months ago

QBE

QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great company & very customer focused

Recently changed after 20 years with previous insurer & haven't looked back. Got $200 eftpos card as a reward in the first month!

Full review

Recently changed after 20 years with previous insurer & haven't looked back. Got $200 eftpos card as a reward in the first month!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Katrina, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Customer service acceptable, premiums unacceptable

The policy coverage provided and its price is below par for the age and driving experiencing of the policy holder. The basic policy is acceptable, but there are excessive costs involved for extras such as care hire etc.

Full review

The policy coverage provided and its price is below par for the age and driving experiencing of the policy holder. The basic policy is acceptable, but there are excessive costs involved for extras such as care hire etc.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Brendan, Queensland, reviewed 10 months ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Advantages Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

A name you can trust

Suncorp CTP has always been the one to use. Pricing is competitive and they are a name you can trust.

Full review

Suncorp CTP has always been the one to use. Pricing is competitive and they are a name you can trust.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Samantha, Victoria, reviewed 10 months ago

SGIO

SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Why do evaluation drops but not premiums

The insurer I was with was government, so it was established and well known and everything seemed to run smoothly.

Full review

The insurer I was with was government, so it was established and well known and everything seemed to run smoothly.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kim, Western Australia, reviewed 10 months ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Advantages Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good

Great service whenever I’ve had to ring them.

Full review

Great service whenever I’ve had to ring them.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracy, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good insurance from Coles, $25 discount, flybuys

Coles insurance is about the same as Woolworths insurance. Both offer the same benefits at the same price. I get roadside assistance too with Coles. I am rewarded by using Coles insurance with flybuys points that I redeem for money when shopping.

Full review

Coles insurance is about the same as Woolworths insurance. Both offer the same benefits at the same price. I get roadside assistance too with Coles. I am rewarded by using Coles insurance with flybuys points that I redeem for money when shopping.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Charmain, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago

Allianz

Allianz Car Insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service

They are good but they could include emergency break down service like some other insurers.

Full review

They are good but they could include emergency break down service like some other insurers.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Joanne, Queensland, reviewed 11 months ago

RACV

RACV Car Insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Bit expensive

I have to go to a really high excess to get a decent Premium.

Full review

I have to go to a really high excess to get a decent Premium.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Ash, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago

GIO

GIO Platinum Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Price & policy great so far.

Totally impressed with this insurance company for motor insurance. Price and claims process as well as policy is very impressive.

Full review

Totally impressed with this insurance company for motor insurance. Price and claims process as well as policy is very impressive.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Joy, New South Wales, reviewed 11 months ago

Shannons

Shannons Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and competitive rates.

Designed for motoring enthusiasts.

Full review

Designed for motoring enthusiasts.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Scott, Victoria, reviewed 11 months ago

Allianz

Allianz Comprehensive Cover Comprehensive Cover review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums

Allianz have a competitive price for both my insurances, car & content. My claim on contents when Ulurie went through it took 10 months for the replacements to arrive.

Full review

Allianz have a competitive price for both my insurances, car & content. My claim on contents when Ulurie went through it took 10 months for the replacements to arrive.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Rosalie, Queensland, reviewed 12 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Satisfied with the service I received from AAMI

My experience with AAMI has been a positive one. They have friendly staff and good follow up.

Full review

My experience with AAMI has been a positive one. They have friendly staff and good follow up.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Dianne, New South Wales, reviewed 12 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2019

Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.

 
Advertisement