Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

Bingle

Bingle Comprehensive Car Insurance Policy car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good value for money

Good value for money and is cheaper than most big insurers. They also gave me the added bonus of nominating agreed value for both my cars.

Good value for money and is cheaper than most big insurers. They also gave me the added bonus of nominating agreed value for both my cars.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kyle (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy with the cost and service provided

Very competitive in the marketplace and overall a satisfied customer.

Very competitive in the marketplace and overall a satisfied customer.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lorral (QLD), reviewed 11 days ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service

I once had an issue with a rental car in a car park and Youi easily took care of it after an initial claim.

I once had an issue with a rental car in a car park and Youi easily took care of it after an initial claim.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Leisa (QLD), reviewed 11 days ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Provides the best insurance

Only criticism is that I'm not a fan of the new overseas call centre, but perhaps this will improve overtime.

Only criticism is that I'm not a fan of the new overseas call centre, but perhaps this will improve overtime.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Branka (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

SGIO

SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Brilliant service and great value for money

We swapped from QBE after being unsatisfied, and are now are truly happy with our insurance company.

We swapped from QBE after being unsatisfied, and are now are truly happy with our insurance company.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Zachary (WA), reviewed 11 days ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quick to access and easy to deal with

Cheapest by far quote. Staff are always easy to speak with and helpful. Good online system as well.

Cheapest by far quote. Staff are always easy to speak with and helpful. Good online system as well.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nadia (NSW), reviewed 11 days ago

Allianz

Allianz car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Top provider that cares for their customers

Since joining Allianz I have had two accidents, one of which was my fault. I was treated with respect upon both claims and Allianz worked quickly to sort out the issues. They were supportive, efficient and effective. I fully recommend them as an...

Since joining Allianz I have had two accidents, one of which was my fault. I was treated with respect upon both claims and Allianz worked quickly to sort out the issues. They were supportive, efficient and effective. I fully recommend them as an insurance provider.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Barbara (VIC), reviewed 11 days ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Satisfactory service and premiums

I've been a loyal customer for many years now, but I may start to shop around and switch if I find something more competitively priced.

I've been a loyal customer for many years now, but I may start to shop around and switch if I find something more competitively priced.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rebecca (WA), reviewed 12 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

NRMA are fantastic

I had my motorcycle insured with them and they provided a great price and follow up service.

I had my motorcycle insured with them and they provided a great price and follow up service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Chris (NSW), reviewed 12 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very good people to deal with and very helpful

I have been with AAMI for a long time and have been in a couple of unavoidable accidents. They were very helpful and friendly people. I would not change my insurer.

I have been with AAMI for a long time and have been in a couple of unavoidable accidents. They were very helpful and friendly people. I would not change my insurer.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Steven (TAS), reviewed 12 days ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Best price for coverage

Great coverage and extras. Best overall product that I could find for my car.

Great coverage and extras. Best overall product that I could find for my car.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Phillip (QLD), reviewed 12 days ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Local, friendly and always have your back

Reliable, friendly service and well worth membership for movie ticket discounts and the like.

Reliable, friendly service and well worth membership for movie ticket discounts and the like.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Vanessa (WA), reviewed 12 days ago

RACV

RACV Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Generally good but not always

Dislike this provider on the occasion of during the last not at fault claim since the person I was dealing with was rude, did not listen to what I was saying and spoke over me when I was talking. They also accepted a personal opinion to the cause...

Dislike this provider on the occasion of during the last not at fault claim since the person I was dealing with was rude, did not listen to what I was saying and spoke over me when I was talking. They also accepted a personal opinion to the cause of a fault and not a determination they requested, which resulted in $750 out of my pocket.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jim (VIC), reviewed 18 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very satisfied customer

Very happy to deal and continue dealing with AAMI.

Very happy to deal and continue dealing with AAMI.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Lindsay (NSW), reviewed 18 days ago

Real Insurance

Real Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Slow customer service, only good if you 'PAYG'

Real Insurance is a slow company that looks great on paper and is only valuable if you do not make claims and are looking for a budget. Overall low total sum insurance to payout for that year because it will offer first time deals. Afterwards your...

Real Insurance is a slow company that looks great on paper and is only valuable if you do not make claims and are looking for a budget. Overall low total sum insurance to payout for that year because it will offer first time deals. Afterwards your price increases tremendously. Real Insurance uses a system of PAYG - Pay-As-You-Go which is a great initiative but I would only recommend them to drivers who know they can stick to the under 5K drive per year. They use independent services such as road-side assistance and battery replacements. They do not have their own company which has it's pros and cons. Their customer service is below average but not as terrible as some other insurance companies. The average time of dealing with a simple matter is about 20 minutes.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stephanie (VIC), reviewed 18 days ago

Allianz

Allianz Comprehensive Cover car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I did some research and found that Allianz is the company to go for. Allianz ensures that both our cars and homes are fully covered.

I did some research and found that Allianz is the company to go for. Allianz ensures that both our cars and homes are fully covered.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sandy (SA), reviewed 18 days ago

Allianz

Allianz Comprehensive Cover car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent cover, affordable and great service

I recently changed from Youi to Allianz as I was concerned with my increased monthly bill. I called Allianz and they were not only able to offer me a more affordable monthly quote with a better coverage package, but additionally they bundled my...

I recently changed from Youi to Allianz as I was concerned with my increased monthly bill. I called Allianz and they were not only able to offer me a more affordable monthly quote with a better coverage package, but additionally they bundled my car home insurance and I am now saving an incredible $96 a month! I can't fault their application process or their incredible staff.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julie (VIC), reviewed 20 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great insurance provider

Never had any hassles with NRMA.

Never had any hassles with NRMA.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Helen (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

SGIO

SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

SGIO has been a good insurance provider

Insurance is a valuable and important product that we must buy for protection and SGIO has successfully delivered.

Insurance is a valuable and important product that we must buy for protection and SGIO has successfully delivered.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jun (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Quite good car insurance provider

NRMA can be good with their service however their roadside assistance isn't the best.

NRMA can be good with their service however their roadside assistance isn't the best.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graeme (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

AMP

AMP car insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

I've been looking for a better insurer

Not satisfied with overall service.

Not satisfied with overall service.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Darren (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

CGU

CGU car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to deal with and their services have been great.

Easy to deal with and their services have been great.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Allianz

Allianz car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

1) My vehicle was damaged once and service was provided quickly and efficiently. 2) Premiums are fair with good customer service.

1) My vehicle was damaged once and service was provided quickly and efficiently. 2) Premiums are fair with good customer service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (SA), reviewed about 1 month ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates

AAMI is able to cover young people who drive to work.

AAMI is able to cover young people who drive to work.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Susan (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

1Cover

1Cover car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Customer service is very friendly

Everything can be dealt with online which makes banking a lot easier.

Everything can be dealt with online which makes banking a lot easier.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.