Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Tried and trusted

I have had a long association with AAMI. Some good times. Some not so good times. Although overall, mostly good. Whilst not the cheapest insurer on the market, it remains in my opinion the most consistent and therefore the best to my way of...

I have had a long association with AAMI. Some good times. Some not so good times. Although overall, mostly good. Whilst not the cheapest insurer on the market, it remains in my opinion the most consistent and therefore the best to my way of thinking at least. I've been asked to switch providers many, many times. When I've reviewed these unsolicited offers they simply don't stack up against AAMI, and its track record. AAMI is there for me in the long haul. Yes, there are bumps along the way but that is understandable. I am critical. I think analytically and I do review my options. For me, AAMI remains 'best value'. There's so much more to consider than the invoice amount. Their service is 'Premium', and so I pay that for piece of mind. Perhaps consider AAMI next time you're reviewing your insurer/s.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Christopher (VIC), reviewed 3 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very competitive in pricing

Although I have yet to claim on my own insurance, they were helpful when I claimed against another driver who hit me.

Although I have yet to claim on my own insurance, they were helpful when I claimed against another driver who hit me.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Steve (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service

Fast, professional, friendly, easy to understand operator that I dealt with. He worked hard to get the best deal for me. It was a great option that I changed my home loan insurance to Youi as well.

Fast, professional, friendly, easy to understand operator that I dealt with. He worked hard to get the best deal for me. It was a great option that I changed my home loan insurance to Youi as well.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Susan (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

RACQ

RACQ car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Value for money and extremely competitive

Very easy to deal with, friendly helpful service. Competitive pricing.

Very easy to deal with, friendly helpful service. Competitive pricing.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kaysee (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great provider

Lower premiums than other providers and great customer service.

Lower premiums than other providers and great customer service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stanley (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great provider

Easy to deal with, friendly service and worth your money.

Easy to deal with, friendly service and worth your money.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Katie (SA), reviewed 8 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Honest and reliable

Friendly and helpful easy to deal with. No hidden exclusions and they're upfront and honest.

Friendly and helpful easy to deal with. No hidden exclusions and they're upfront and honest.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Marlene (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

Youi

Youi car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I always recommend Youi

Low-cost and very helpful. I had trouble understanding what to do and they helped me out so much, gave me such a good deal and it felt like they genuinely cared about me.

Low-cost and very helpful. I had trouble understanding what to do and they helped me out so much, gave me such a good deal and it felt like they genuinely cared about me.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Holly (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

RACQ

RACQ car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Trusted and great membership perks

Convenient and trustworthy. They are well known and provide great customer benefits.

Convenient and trustworthy. They are well known and provide great customer benefits.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Robert (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic car insurance provider

I have two vehicles insured by Coles CarInsurance. This provider saves me hundreds of dollars each year. The renewal and payment process and options available are fantastic. Highly recommended.

I have two vehicles insured by Coles CarInsurance. This provider saves me hundreds of dollars each year. The renewal and payment process and options available are fantastic. Highly recommended.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matthew (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

RACWA

RACWA car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good value, reliable insurer

RACWA are a well known and reliable insurer. Generally, they provide the best value for insurance.

RACWA are a well known and reliable insurer. Generally, they provide the best value for insurance.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stephen (WA), reviewed 9 days ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive

Easy, satisfied with claims process.

Easy, satisfied with claims process.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Phillip (QLD), reviewed 9 days ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good customer service

I've been with them for years and AAMI have always been friendly and efficient.

I've been with them for years and AAMI have always been friendly and efficient.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Craig (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Friendly staff and service

AAMI answer calls promptly and are helpful with queries.

AAMI answer calls promptly and are helpful with queries.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jade (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

RAA

RAA Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Overall happy customer

Established, competitive and easy to deal with service provider. Staff are also friendly and very helpful.

Established, competitive and easy to deal with service provider. Staff are also friendly and very helpful.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jane (SA), reviewed 9 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and prices

I couldn't be happier with Coles Car Insurance. I saved quite a bit when I switched to this provider and have found their customer service team easy to deal with and always friendly.

I couldn't be happier with Coles Car Insurance. I saved quite a bit when I switched to this provider and have found their customer service team easy to deal with and always friendly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rod (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

RAA

RAA car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very experienced, trustworthy, easy to deal with

RAA is a locally based insurer and motor vehicle services provided with considerable experience. They provide extremely efficient and friendly customer service; are easy to deal with; trustworthy and transparent in their dealings.

RAA is a locally based insurer and motor vehicle services provided with considerable experience. They provide extremely efficient and friendly customer service; are easy to deal with; trustworthy and transparent in their dealings.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Tony (SA), reviewed 14 days ago

GIO

GIO Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good prices and great service

I've been insured with GIO for a few years. I have not had any problems.

I've been insured with GIO for a few years. I have not had any problems.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Stan (NSW), reviewed 14 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Very happy with AAMI

Easy to manage car insurance, haven't had any problems with them.

Easy to manage car insurance, haven't had any problems with them.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicholas (VIC), reviewed 14 days ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Surprisingly competitive fees and easy quotes

I was really shocked when I found that not only was NRMA the cheapest option for full comprehensive insurance for my car, but they also offered the best coverage for that price. The quote process was incredibly easy and allowed me to select an...

I was really shocked when I found that not only was NRMA the cheapest option for full comprehensive insurance for my car, but they also offered the best coverage for that price. The quote process was incredibly easy and allowed me to select an agreed value rather than market value (many of their competitors only offered market value). They also have a very handy app that lets you keep track of your policy details and claims.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Amanda (NSW), reviewed 14 days ago

RACV

RACV car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great provider

Great service and availability of callouts.

Great service and availability of callouts.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Liam (VIC), reviewed 14 days ago

Coles

Coles car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very helpful especially when you claim

Coles Insurance are on your side if an accident occurs. They try and go above and beyond if you need to claim.

Coles Insurance are on your side if an accident occurs. They try and go above and beyond if you need to claim.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Teresa (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

ANZ

ANZ car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Average overall

They are okay, but we do not get any extras for no claims and for being a good member.

They are okay, but we do not get any extras for no claims and for being a good member.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Matt (NSW), reviewed 14 days ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great services and lots of customer benefits

Last year, a red P plater crashed my car from behind. RAC was very helpful with the claim handling. They gave simple instructions on where I should bring the car for them to inspect and what the cost would be to fix the damages. The quote was...

Last year, a red P plater crashed my car from behind. RAC was very helpful with the claim handling. They gave simple instructions on where I should bring the car for them to inspect and what the cost would be to fix the damages. The quote was given to me on the very same day and the money was transferred in a day. They were very efficient and I was very happy with their services.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jewels (WA), reviewed 14 days ago

RAA

RAA Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great insurer

They have good plans and rates. They are there for you during the whole claim process and are helpful and cheerful staff members.

They have good plans and rates. They are there for you during the whole claim process and are helpful and cheerful staff members.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Bruce (SA), reviewed 14 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.