Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

NRMA

NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Quality cover but read renewal notice carefully

I've been with NRMA for a number of years now and have never had to make a claim. I get a loyalty discount with my policy, as well as a no claims bonus so the premium is reasonable for the quality of cover I get. Come renewal time you definitely...

Full review

I've been with NRMA for a number of years now and have never had to make a claim. I get a loyalty discount with my policy, as well as a no claims bonus so the premium is reasonable for the quality of cover I get. Come renewal time you definitely need to read your policy carefully as the do change things without you realising it. For instance, we had an agreed price policy one year and the next year when our renewal come in, it had been switched to a market value policy.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kylie (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

AMP

AMP car insurance review

Overall rating   4 / 10

East to deal with and competitive pricing

To date, I have been satisfied with AMP and their offerings. It was easy to sign up and their pricing is relatively competitive. I feel the real test will be when I need to make a claim, but to date they have provided excellent service.

Full review

To date, I have been satisfied with AMP and their offerings. It was easy to sign up and their pricing is relatively competitive. I feel the real test will be when I need to make a claim, but to date they have provided excellent service.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Gemma (NSW), reviewed 9 days ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Excellent claims handling, friendly staff

I've only ever had to make a claim once with AAMI, for a small not at fault accident, and they handled the whole process very efficiently. Staff were friendly and the issue was resolved in my favour without any hitches. Car only had a small amount...

Full review

I've only ever had to make a claim once with AAMI, for a small not at fault accident, and they handled the whole process very efficiently. Staff were friendly and the issue was resolved in my favour without any hitches. Car only had a small amount of damage and it was quickly repaired. The only thing I don't like about AAMI is the fact that my premiums are expensive and seem to get more expensive every year, although it's hard to know if that's really the case because the annual renewal letter never tells me what last year's premium cost! I am determined to hold on to this year's renewal notice so I can properly compare next year....

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Karen (VIC), reviewed 9 days ago

GIO

GIO car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Expensive but good service

GIO premiums have become very expensive and I do not think I will continue to keep my insurance with them. However, when they were affordable, I found that they handled my claim with ease - good hire car option.

Full review

GIO premiums have become very expensive and I do not think I will continue to keep my insurance with them. However, when they were affordable, I found that they handled my claim with ease - good hire car option.

    Value for money   1 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Chloe (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Simple and straightforward online sign up process

It is a well known WA company that has provided many services related to the automotive industry .

Full review

It is a well known WA company that has provided many services related to the automotive industry .

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Julian (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

RACQ

RACQ car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive, competent and altogether pleasant

RACQ office staff are available and most helpful for car and house insurance.

Full review

RACQ office staff are available and most helpful for car and house insurance.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Glenn (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Shannons

Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I had an accident and with an hour I was booked in for assessment and was home within 14 days, no fuss.

Full review

I had an accident and with an hour I was booked in for assessment and was home within 14 days, no fuss.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Trevor (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Allianz

Allianz Comprehensive Cover car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy claims process with competitive premiums

Their premiums are competitive but most importantly their claims process is very efficient. The staff are always friendly and excellent to deal with.

Full review

Their premiums are competitive but most importantly their claims process is very efficient. The staff are always friendly and excellent to deal with.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rob (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Coles

Coles car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive, value for money

Cheaper than many others, bonus flybuys.

Full review

Cheaper than many others, bonus flybuys.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Ashneal (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Apia

Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Satisfied customer

I have been with Apia for 9 years and I recommend them and their service to be at the most efficient standard. Payment is easy. Customer service is pleasant and helpful. I am very happy with Apia.

Full review

I have been with Apia for 9 years and I recommend them and their service to be at the most efficient standard. Payment is easy. Customer service is pleasant and helpful. I am very happy with Apia.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Georgina (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great car insurer

Really easy to get a quote, .was the cheapest for me and really easy and streamlined to organise coverage!

Full review

Really easy to get a quote, .was the cheapest for me and really easy and streamlined to organise coverage!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Samantha (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Allianz

Allianz Comprehensive Cover car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent provider

I have been with this company through my bank for years. Service is good.

Full review

I have been with this company through my bank for years. Service is good.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Hazel (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Shannons

Shannons car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

I like that you go straight through to a real person, and they are always friendly and helpful. They don't try and force additional products on you, which I appreciate.

Full review

I like that you go straight through to a real person, and they are always friendly and helpful. They don't try and force additional products on you, which I appreciate.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Isobel (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Allianz

Allianz car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

No roadside assistance, Otherwise Allianz is fine

Allianz had a lot of good cover options however, we were tricked into a policy that didn't include roadside assistance.

Full review

Allianz had a lot of good cover options however, we were tricked into a policy that didn't include roadside assistance.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Elisha (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great old fashioned company that is still relevant

Really good value for money on their car insurance, and nice and friendly service.

Full review

Really good value for money on their car insurance, and nice and friendly service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sam (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Policy covers absolutely everything

NRMA offers the best comprehensive car insurance and a lot more.

Full review

NRMA offers the best comprehensive car insurance and a lot more.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Brett (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

SGIO

SGIO Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Reasonable premiums

Easy to read policy wordings, don't have to specify accessories.

Full review

Easy to read policy wordings, don't have to specify accessories.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Troy (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

RACQ

RACQ car insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Very average service

They have not contacted me in regards to any other services or any potential savings.

Full review

They have not contacted me in regards to any other services or any potential savings.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Errol (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Toyota Finance

Toyota Finance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent service

Toyota Financial Services are a great alternative for your car insurance needs. Specifically, they are easy to deal with and are great with claims handling and quoting.

Full review

Toyota Financial Services are a great alternative for your car insurance needs. Specifically, they are easy to deal with and are great with claims handling and quoting.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Daniel (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly, professional, helpful service

NRMA have always given value for money. Service is excellent, friendly and faultless. When processing a claim, they couldn't have been more helpful but they always are.

Full review

NRMA have always given value for money. Service is excellent, friendly and faultless. When processing a claim, they couldn't have been more helpful but they always are.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Glenys (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Coles

Coles car insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Slow services

I have had to wait 7 weeks for Coles repairer to start my repair because they are too busy. The repairer is more than 15 km from my house in Melbourne despite Coles claim otherwise, does not supply a replacement or pick up service and is no where...

Full review

I have had to wait 7 weeks for Coles repairer to start my repair because they are too busy. The repairer is more than 15 km from my house in Melbourne despite Coles claim otherwise, does not supply a replacement or pick up service and is no where near public transport. Coles won't allow me to use a local repairer who does Coles hire company car repairs and who can do the job immediately.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Michael (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

RACWA

RACWA car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Great service. Premiums could be less expensive.

Full review

Great service. Premiums could be less expensive.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Catherine (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Youi

Youi car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

I can depend on a good deal

I have been Youi for 6 years and am very happy with their service. I always look for a competitive price when my polocy is due for renewal and Youi have always offered better quotes.

Full review

I have been Youi for 6 years and am very happy with their service. I always look for a competitive price when my polocy is due for renewal and Youi have always offered better quotes.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Janet (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Real Insurance

Real Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive prices, good customer service

Good value and service, polite and reasonably fast response to issues.

Full review

Good value and service, polite and reasonably fast response to issues.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Sharon (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quick repair service

When my car was hit by another driver, my insurance provider organised the pick up, repair of my car and kept me informed as to the progress of my vehicle. The staff were friendly and I was happy with the repairs.

Full review

When my car was hit by another driver, my insurance provider organised the pick up, repair of my car and kept me informed as to the progress of my vehicle. The staff were friendly and I was happy with the repairs.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Claims handling   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Raelene (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.