Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Very expensive

Just opted out with them couple of days ago - very expensive. After shopping around, found budget direct so have been with them for a a few days now.

Full review

Just opted out with them couple of days ago - very expensive. After shopping around, found budget direct so have been with them for a a few days now.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Allan (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

RAC

RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Happy customer

Happy with their policy.

Full review

Happy with their policy.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Policy coverage   -1 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lorraine (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

NRMA

NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy with NRMA no need to look at change

Insurance is fine, no need for change, it's a competitive rate.

Full review

Insurance is fine, no need for change, it's a competitive rate.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Trent (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Shannons

Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Coverage is good and the premiums very resonable

Use this company for house and contents on two properties.

Full review

Use this company for house and contents on two properties.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Gillian (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

NRMA

NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

All dealings have been good

Competitive premiums and good customer service.

Full review

Competitive premiums and good customer service.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jirra (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Shannons

Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

The Insurance company that are honest

Because of the repairer being very dishonest, enough to be in jail or rehabilitation; problems were caused with getting my Pontiac firebird back for quite a long time. However Shannons' helped out a lot.

Full review

Because of the repairer being very dishonest, enough to be in jail or rehabilitation; problems were caused with getting my Pontiac firebird back for quite a long time. However Shannons' helped out a lot.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Alparslan (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

RACQ

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service

Have had good claims service with claims.

Full review

Have had good claims service with claims.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Linda (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Apia

Apia car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Understanding of an older person's needs

They were very very helpful and understanding when I first insured my car with them. I am confident that that their helpfulness will continue if I need to contact them. I have not yet had reason to lodge a claim with them.

Full review

They were very very helpful and understanding when I first insured my car with them. I am confident that that their helpfulness will continue if I need to contact them. I have not yet had reason to lodge a claim with them.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   -1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jan (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very competitive and great customer service

Haven’t had to make a claim yet, but they’re very competitive on premiums and when I called to query my renewal amount, they dropped it to below what I was paying previously. Great customer service.

Full review

Haven’t had to make a claim yet, but they’re very competitive on premiums and when I called to query my renewal amount, they dropped it to below what I was paying previously. Great customer service.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Sally (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

RAC

RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Just what you need

Quick easy sign up and very cheap in comparison.

Full review

Quick easy sign up and very cheap in comparison.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Kristian (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

GIO

GIO Platinum Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums

I love GIO as they are cheap, reliable and awesome value.

Full review

I love GIO as they are cheap, reliable and awesome value.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Alison (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Choose AAMI

Always been happy with my car insurance from AAMI and IRS premiums.

Full review

Always been happy with my car insurance from AAMI and IRS premiums.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Angela (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

GIO

GIO Platinum Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Very happy.

Full review

Very happy.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lee (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No problems

I really like Youi.

Full review

I really like Youi.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Comminsure

Comminsure Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good

They are good to me.

Full review

They are good to me.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Peter (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

RACQ

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good

RACQ are good.

Full review

RACQ are good.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

David (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates, reasonable cover, helpful

Competitive rates, reasonable cover, helpful, answer questions, do need to make sure of what is/is not covered.

Full review

Competitive rates, reasonable cover, helpful, answer questions, do need to make sure of what is/is not covered.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jennifer (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Bad experience all around

If you want a cheap premium price and don't really want to claim then this is the CHEAP choice. I have been with Coles Insurance for 4 years already. My wife claimed before, it took 3 month to fix it. That is ok. This time someone hit and run. I...

Full review

If you want a cheap premium price and don't really want to claim then this is the CHEAP choice. I have been with Coles Insurance for 4 years already. My wife claimed before, it took 3 month to fix it. That is ok. This time someone hit and run. I claimed immediately, the accident happened last June, and I'm still waiting for Coles to investigate. It is already 10 months. The first time I called Coles the guy said no worries, Coles would cover you, I shouldn't worry about anything. However, I have called couple of times after that and always been told to wait. It seems no one care about your case, no one follows up with the police report. Coles doesn't want to pay for the report until they have to, then they paid at the last minute, they are not thinking about fixing your car as soon as possible. Someone even rudely hang up my phone when I asked to talk with her supervisor. It doesn't even meet the normal Australian service standard. I feel very disappointed with Coles, as a Flybuys member for more than 10 years. It is absolutely worst ever claim experience I have met. Better stay with RACQ, guys!

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Claims handling   1 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Harry (NT), reviewed about 2 months ago

RAA

RAA Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to deal with

Can contact head office if not satisfied.

Full review

Can contact head office if not satisfied.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Mark (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

RACV

RACV Complete Care Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Lack of communication

They do not communicate a lot about offers.

Full review

They do not communicate a lot about offers.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Caroline (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Apia

Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to talk to

I have never had to make a claim, but they re happy with my policy and pricing.

Full review

I have never had to make a claim, but they re happy with my policy and pricing.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Margy (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service when we needed to make a claim

After many years NRMA have handled our car and home contents insurance at competitive cost and - on the few occasions we needed them - they have paid claims promptly without fuss.

Full review

After many years NRMA have handled our car and home contents insurance at competitive cost and - on the few occasions we needed them - they have paid claims promptly without fuss.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gunter (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great insurer

Always have been a good insurer and easy to deal with. Customer service is great and they always review whole policy.

Full review

Always have been a good insurer and easy to deal with. Customer service is great and they always review whole policy.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Kim (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

RACQ

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

They're not to bad

RACQ are quite professional in response to any call.

Full review

RACQ are quite professional in response to any call.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Jason (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Budget Direct

Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive premiums

Good price. Seemingly cover what I required.

Full review

Good price. Seemingly cover what I required.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Phillip (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.