Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible customer service

Since 29 September 2016, they have made 30 plus phone calls, most over 30 and up to 65 mins. They say they can't find the recording of the payment, despite our credit card details. I have been a Wesfarmers shareholder and Coles shopper for more...

Full review

Since 29 September 2016, they have made 30 plus phone calls, most over 30 and up to 65 mins. They say they can't find the recording of the payment, despite our credit card details. I have been a Wesfarmers shareholder and Coles shopper for more than 20 years but I am now thinking of changing providers.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Policy coverage   1 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Claims handling   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Judy (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Bingle

Bingle car insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Car insurance issues

Avoid insuring your car with Suncorp or any of its subsidiaries such as GIO, AMP, AAMI and Bingle. Words cannot describe the pain and stress I have gone through in fixing up my car. Their processing and assessments are run by one team and they are...

Full review

Avoid insuring your car with Suncorp or any of its subsidiaries such as GIO, AMP, AAMI and Bingle. Words cannot describe the pain and stress I have gone through in fixing up my car. Their processing and assessments are run by one team and they are very rude and unprofessional people to deal with. It all started 2 years ago when I had my car fixed at capital smart repairs owned and run by Suncorp due to a front on accident. They fixed the car cosmetically not mechanically. They never checked for any mechanical faults to the car from the accident. After fixing my car privately and not through insurance as the engine pipes were blowing up, the transmission ruining and water and oil mixing through the engine, they did not want to claim fault in not fixing my car mechanically at the time of the accident. After several mechanics investigated my car, it turned out the radiator was bent from the accident I claimed with Bingle, which is the reason why I had many issues as mentioned above, and Suncorp never replaced it; and capital smart repairs only repair cosmetically not mechanically.They are usually housed with apprentices and trainees or inexperienced mechanics that do not know how to repair cars correctly and morally. The best insurance is Allianz or QBE, as they treat you as a customer and not just a number.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Policy coverage   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Claims handling   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Danny (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

QBE

QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Bad. No. Don't go there! You have been warned.

Try the Phone queue system (bad). Try the call centre (bad). Try the customer service (bad).

Full review

Try the Phone queue system (bad). Try the call centre (bad). Try the customer service (bad).

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Policy coverage   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Claims handling   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Neil (SA), reviewed 4 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great price but I have never had to make a claim

I have never had to make a claim but always had good service over the phone

Full review

I have never had to make a claim but always had good service over the phone

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gail (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

RACQ

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great customer service

As a silver member i was covered for car hire while my car was repaired after it was damaged by hail. But they only provide 40.00 a day which meant the most basic small vehicle which my disabled husband couldn't get into. Not impressed!

Full review

As a silver member i was covered for car hire while my car was repaired after it was damaged by hail. But they only provide 40.00 a day which meant the most basic small vehicle which my disabled husband couldn't get into. Not impressed!

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Policy coverage   3 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Margaret (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Not competitive in price anymore

They have been very competitive in the beginning but the pricing has gone up they wont match other quotes unless your a new customer so I have since changed 2 car policies

Full review

They have been very competitive in the beginning but the pricing has gone up they wont match other quotes unless your a new customer so I have since changed 2 car policies

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Wendy (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service

Full review

Great customer service

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Joanne (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Dodo

Dodo car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Value for money

Cheap

Full review

Cheap

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Sandra (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service

I have been lucky have not had any claims but friends have, very satisfied courteous service.

Full review

I have been lucky have not had any claims but friends have, very satisfied courteous service.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Janise (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

RAC

RAC car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Insurance worth having.

Fantastic when it comes to payouts - no hoops to jump through.

Full review

Fantastic when it comes to payouts - no hoops to jump through.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lucy (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Apia

Apia Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

For over 50s and value for money

Love it...we had a date to fix our car in a few weeks and they gave us a hire car for he week and a bit while they had our car.

Full review

Love it...we had a date to fix our car in a few weeks and they gave us a hire car for he week and a bit while they had our car.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Ian (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

AAMI

AAMI car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

It is what it is

Nothing special, you tend to find out how good they are once the bad happens

Full review

Nothing special, you tend to find out how good they are once the bad happens

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Mark (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

SGIO

SGIO car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great value for money

Great value

Full review

Great value

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sharon (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

CGU

CGU Comprehensive Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Hassle free, they get the job done!

After falling apart after my accident, CGU were very easy to deal with on the phone and had arranged the repairs within a day or so.

Full review

After falling apart after my accident, CGU were very easy to deal with on the phone and had arranged the repairs within a day or so.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Katrina (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Quick affordable service

Coles Insurance were cheap and easy.

Full review

Coles Insurance were cheap and easy.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stephanie (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good value

Competitive pricing and good inclusions, although I have never had to claim.

Full review

Competitive pricing and good inclusions, although I have never had to claim.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Janelle (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

NRMA

NRMA car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

NRMA great overall!

NRMA has always been there for me whether it's been when I got my first car and it broke down, they were there or if I locked my keys in my car accidentally, they were there! I have always been with NRMA for over 15 years and that will never change.

Full review

NRMA has always been there for me whether it's been when I got my first car and it broke down, they were there or if I locked my keys in my car accidentally, they were there! I have always been with NRMA for over 15 years and that will never change.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Elisabeth (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great deals for new members, top customer service

Pros - we initially got a great rate, excellent value for money... Great customer service and easy claims Cons - after the first 12 months, our monthly fee suddenly increased by more than 200%.. Was only when we threatened to go elsewhere, they...

Full review

Pros - we initially got a great rate, excellent value for money... Great customer service and easy claims Cons - after the first 12 months, our monthly fee suddenly increased by more than 200%.. Was only when we threatened to go elsewhere, they reduced our rate again.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kelly (ACT), reviewed 6 months ago

Youi

Youi car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Excellent customer service

When my car was totalled everything was taken care of quickly and efficiently and with compassion. It was a relief to hear .... we'll take care of everything you rest up and get better. And take care of everything they did. Pay out was in my bank...

Full review

When my car was totalled everything was taken care of quickly and efficiently and with compassion. It was a relief to hear .... we'll take care of everything you rest up and get better. And take care of everything they did. Pay out was in my bank within the week, a heartfelt letter followed with a small car care package for my next car. Great experience.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Gabbie (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

SGIC

SGIC car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Fast and fair claim settlement

Driving through an intersection on a day like any other, a car turned from the other side of the road and crashed into my beloved Ford Laser. Fortunately, the driver stopped and we exchanged details. At the SGIC appraisal centre they gently told...

Full review

Driving through an intersection on a day like any other, a car turned from the other side of the road and crashed into my beloved Ford Laser. Fortunately, the driver stopped and we exchanged details. At the SGIC appraisal centre they gently told me the car was a write-off (I burst into tears!). They settled the claim promptly and gave me a fair pay-out, which helped me deal with the experience and move on.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Suzanne (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

Allianz

Allianz car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy to use and hassle free very competitive

Good value for money, can lodge claims online, fast processing of claims, great customer service.

Full review

Good value for money, can lodge claims online, fast processing of claims, great customer service.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sean (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Comprehensive insurance at a low price

They are cheap, easy to use and you can pay by the month.

Full review

They are cheap, easy to use and you can pay by the month.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Skye (NSW), reviewed 6 months ago

GIO

GIO car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great Company, great staff with no hassles.

Best vehicle coverage I have ever had. Replacement of vehicle for 5 years, windscreen damage without excess, hire car for as long as required to fixed damaged car and all at good price. No other company was willing to give me this great deal.

Full review

Best vehicle coverage I have ever had. Replacement of vehicle for 5 years, windscreen damage without excess, hire car for as long as required to fixed damaged car and all at good price. No other company was willing to give me this great deal.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Stan (NSW), reviewed 7 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic and fast customer service.

Coles car insurance has been amazing. We have two teenager girls driving and both have had accidents already. it has been peace of mind to deal with Coles insurance. They have covered us every time, and it has always been a quick process. We are...

Full review

Coles car insurance has been amazing. We have two teenager girls driving and both have had accidents already. it has been peace of mind to deal with Coles insurance. They have covered us every time, and it has always been a quick process. We are very thankful and pleased with them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tina (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best Prices Guaranteed

Nothing to hide and very good

Full review

Nothing to hide and very good

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Leon (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.