Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search reviews by

Search

Recent car insurance reviews

Shannons

Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Optimum customer service / excellent claims service

Full review

Optimum customer service / excellent claims service

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (VIC), reviewed about 21 hours ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Have not used

Easy to deal with to a certain degree

Full review

Easy to deal with to a certain degree

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Sean (QLD), reviewed about 21 hours ago

RACT

RACT car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

RACT is the Tasmanian insurer

RAct provides comprehensive car insurance for Tasmanians

Full review

RAct provides comprehensive car insurance for Tasmanians

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Wendy (TAS), reviewed 1 day ago

RAC

RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not very happy

Policy cover we have is very disappointing. Our car is not covered for the amount of work we have done to it and it gets less every year and the fees go up.

Full review

Policy cover we have is very disappointing. Our car is not covered for the amount of work we have done to it and it gets less every year and the fees go up.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Policy coverage   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Jeanette (WA), reviewed 2 days ago

GIO

GIO Platinum Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great everything

Trustworthy. Reliable. Great customer service. Easy to understand.

Full review

Trustworthy. Reliable. Great customer service. Easy to understand.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Adaleigh (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

RACWA

RACWA car insurance review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Willing customer service

Staff are pleasant and helpful

Full review

Staff are pleasant and helpful

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Claims handling   6 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Neville (WA), reviewed 6 days ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

My own worst enemy

Pretty good company, but would be great if they automatically reduced premiums annually rather than making customer call up after shopping around.

Full review

Pretty good company, but would be great if they automatically reduced premiums annually rather than making customer call up after shopping around.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lisa (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Allianz

Allianz Comprehensive Cover car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Pay for what you get

They say they do!

Full review

They say they do!

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Claims handling   5 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Eileen (NSW), reviewed 8 days ago

Youi

Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Would recommend

Recently had broken window from mower and was replaced with tint. All for $50!! Very happy!

Full review

Recently had broken window from mower and was replaced with tint. All for $50!! Very happy!

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

AAMI

AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service, friendly & very helpful

Fairly competitive premiums. We’re excellent and efficient when I had a not at fault claim, handled everything for me.

Full review

Fairly competitive premiums. We’re excellent and efficient when I had a not at fault claim, handled everything for me.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Kayla (VIC), reviewed 8 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Probably the best insurer

Helpful and rapid service.

Full review

Helpful and rapid service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Debbie (QLD), reviewed 8 days ago

RACT

RACT Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Totally satisfied with staffs service

Policy has everything required for my purpose

Full review

Policy has everything required for my purpose

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Laurence (TAS), reviewed 12 days ago

Allianz

Allianz car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They're there when you need them

They're not the cheapest, but are fast and easy to deal with when it comes to claims.

Full review

They're not the cheapest, but are fast and easy to deal with when it comes to claims.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed 14 days ago

Australia Post

Australia Post Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good for the money.

On the whole they were what I could afford, so you get what you pay for.

Full review

On the whole they were what I could afford, so you get what you pay for.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Kerry (WA), reviewed 14 days ago

Real Insurance

Real Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   9 / 10

All good

Easy to deal with.

Full review

Easy to deal with.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   0 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Gary (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

RACQ

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Same insurance but must be less costs

Paying too much for insurance!

Full review

Paying too much for insurance!

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Fred (QLD), reviewed 16 days ago

NRMA

NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Been with them since I owned my first car

Totally recommended been 100% happy with their services.

Full review

Totally recommended been 100% happy with their services.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elvie (NSW), reviewed 16 days ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent customer service

Fast claims and great service.

Full review

Fast claims and great service.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tracey (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

Apia

Apia car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very competitive premiums and easily joined online

Very easy to join online and I received a confirmation email promptly.

Full review

Very easy to join online and I received a confirmation email promptly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Karen (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Good comprehensive package and helpful service.

Full review

Good comprehensive package and helpful service.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   -1 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Tania (QLD), reviewed 20 days ago

RACQ

RACQ car insurance review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service

Have been with them for years and have had no trouble

Full review

Have been with them for years and have had no trouble

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Policy coverage   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jenny (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

Coles

Coles Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Would NEVER give them a positive rap!

Any queries are transferred to South Africa for assistance. Totally hopeless. Couldn't understand them and they were rude and deliberately slow paced my claim when i queried them. Took 3 months for them to allow repairs on my car.

Full review

Any queries are transferred to South Africa for assistance. Totally hopeless. Couldn't understand them and they were rude and deliberately slow paced my claim when i queried them. Took 3 months for them to allow repairs on my car.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Policy coverage   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Claims handling   1 / 10

    Trust   1 / 10

Less

Leeann (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

RACQ

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive prices and excellent customer service.

Very competitive prices. The cheapest around at the time. Excellent when I had a car accident. They took care of everything for me. The claim was sorted promptly.

Full review

Very competitive prices. The cheapest around at the time. Excellent when I had a car accident. They took care of everything for me. The claim was sorted promptly.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Policy coverage   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Claims handling   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Leonnie (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

RAA

RAA car insurance review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good customer service

Easy to claim, reasonable rates, good customer service.

Full review

Easy to claim, reasonable rates, good customer service.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Christine (SA), reviewed 22 days ago

Suncorp Insurance

Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Extras Car Insurance car insurance review

Overall rating   10 / 10

The best bank

Absolutely awesome would recommend this to anyone and everyone

Full review

Absolutely awesome would recommend this to anyone and everyone

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Policy coverage   6 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Claims handling   7 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Paige (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.