Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • SGIC Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    This company is completely dysfunctional.

    Don’t go near any of the insurance brands associated with this company. Firstly, apart from the initial sales team if you ever have to make a claim you will be dealing with an overseas call centre. The 'SA-based' SGIC brand is the thinnest of facades and the current owners of the brand are trashing what was once a respected name. The reports of terrible experiences found elsewhere here are consistent with our disastrous experience. Their systems are hopelessly dysfunctional and, as mentioned by others, seems to be based on forcing unfortunate OS call centre staff to wear people down through sheer frustration so that customers give up when repeatedly no level of competent service or alternative to escape their spiral of ineffective non-action is provided. From our experience. You will never deal with the same person twice; you will have to explain the same thing over and over, in our case more than a dozen times; you will deal with unfortunate OS call centre staff who are thrown to the wolves with inadequate resources or power to resolve things (the company should be ashamed of the way these staff are used to avoid Australian senior staff having any contact with super-frustrated customers); you will not get replies to emails; you will wait to talk to people who have are not equipped to understand the case even though it has been written, drawn and explained a dozen times; if you demand to be sent something in writing it may be a text with a completely irrelevant link; you will be given contradictory advice that the staff cannot provide any backup explanation for - even after being put on hold for 10 minutes; you will not find an obvious way to talk to anyone with any capacity to get you off their exhausting call centre treadmill. Australian-based staff seem protected by the system at all costs so their call centre staff must face the music; you may get told to that your claim is finally resolved after 4 months and told to take it to an SGIC approved crash repairer and spend the time to do so; you may then be told the opposite based on a so-called new review finding that there was a breach of traffic light road rules - in an incident on an isolated country road with no traffic lights for miles around. You may then be told to provide the basic details of the incident again - approaching 5 months after the original claim; this reviewer may then send you a non-sensical letter that argues the original ‘not at fault’ decision no longer stands but does not even mention the fact a irrelevant traffic light rule was cited as the reason for the reversal of your country road incident decision; The letter may say that you have a week to contact the reviewer directly if there are any issues but where the phone number is meant to be is only xxx’s; so you may call the other overseas call centre number which answers as ‘welcome to RACV’ even though you are insured by SGIC; so you may then resort to email and the only reply you get before their deadline is an autoreply saying “thanks for your recent claim”; you may never feel so disappointed in an Australian company; you will feel very sad for the few remaining staff left in the Australian offices who must read these reports of what happens when the customers they sign up ever need to make a claim....

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rick, South Australia, reviewed 9 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    An absolute unprofessional disgrace

    This insurance company has been an absolute shoddy, unprofessional disgrace and has caused me incredible (unnecessary) stress. My car was hit by a reckless driver and was subsequently sent to a shoddy panel repairer in Melbourne, who did not repair the car properly. There was still a major problem when I picked the car up, so I was forced to return it for further repairs. Subsequent to this, they had to strip the car all over again and search for the problem over several days. During all of this I tried to contact Budget Direct to get a further hire car booking (which I was entitled to since the accident was not my fault). I've constantly had to call them over and over again to extend my hire car booking as the repairer kept extending out the length of the repair job. When I called Budget Direct to tell them that my car was back in the repair shop and that I needed to reinstate my hire car, I was just fobbed off to another department by the hire car team and then put on hold for well over an hour. I still have not had my car fixed and still have not been able to get in contact with anybody to reinstate my hire car booking. So I've been caught up in an accident that was not my fault and have been through nothing but stress ever since. I was with AAMI for several years and found them a much more professional operation. I will be ditching Budget Direct as soon as this mess is sorted out. A true disgrace: you should avoid Budget Direct at all costs.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Craig, Victoria, reviewed 19 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Worst car insurance company budget direct

    Worst car insurance company I had in my life. Worst insurance guys. I don’t recommend to get this insurance. These guys are doozy .

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Baltej, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    very very disappointed

    All is OK until you have to lodge a claim. My car had to be towed to one of their mechanic and I was told to get a response after 5 working days, no response, I had to call back and was told to expect a response the next day and so it goes on, it is now 2 weeks after several phone calls, still no response. So be very careful, they are keen to take your money until you have to make a claim. Am definitely not renewing my 3 other insurances from them. Very, Very Disappointed.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Li, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Total Rip Off!

    Twice now i have had Youi quote on my car insurance. I am mature age, perfect licence, only 1 claim in 5 years, only travelling 2 days a week for work with max 10k a year and buying a brand new car and they want to charge me $191 per month- WHAT THE! Comparison for same vs same coverage came in closest competitor at $89 month for exact same thing. How on earth do they justify over double the amount. I would never bother again getting a quote highway robbery

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, Queensland, reviewed 23 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Very competitive pricing

    Very competitive pricing.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    David, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • RACT Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Ract car insurance

    Customer service is very disappointing. The staff is rude. You pay significant premiums and expect to be treated with respect. Also to my surprise, the credibility of witnesses is not of concern to them. Apparently if a party to the accident and a witness know each other is still ok. They don’t feel that there is a conflict of interest. I used to be with AMMI and decided to switch to save $50. Worst decision ever.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    2 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Emma, Tasmania, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Don’t bother

    Sun corps customer service has been a real pain. We won’t be reinsuring with them again. Absolutely exhausting.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Suzanne, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • RACT Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great service & value for money

    RACT have been my insurers for comprehensive car cover for a few years now. They are super friendly, and only too happy to help. I am insured to the hilt and happy with the price. Won't ever change to anyone else. The Roadside option is also fantastic. Option to pay monthly is great. Thanks RACT.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Grace, Tasmania, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great rates and great service

    I’ve found the staff extremely nice and approachable and above all helpful.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great car insurance

    Always great customer service - professional, helpful and courteous. Good value for money.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Michelle, Victoria, reviewed 23 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor Job and poor customer service.

    I'm never going to use Racq and never recommend them or their recommended repairers as I used when I was with them and when I got my car back it was scratched all over from being washed badly and where they repaired the part it was done carelessly. They simply just painted it it instead of sanding the part down first which was done originally and they refuse to do so I went there to try and resolve the issue at the repairer and there was a Racq assessor. His name is David he was completely rude and even threatened to beat me up now how is that for customer service, he later called me back and assured me that if I get a quote on what needed to be done that they will cash settle me so I can get it repaired and I did so and now Racq is offering only $300 only for the buff and refusing to do the panel properly as it was before the accident. Never a good experience from the get go so never ever go with Racq, they are hopeless and incompetent!!!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Phill, Queensland, reviewed 23 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Genuine, value for money and reliable

    I have been with GIO for varying policies for decades however after retirement I insured my personal car with GIO, having had a company vehicle for some 30 years, and now following 13 years of a continued policy I could not be happier. I particularly enjoy being able to secure "agreed value" for my vehicle which even today is $1000's more than I would get from many alternative insurers who at best save me less than $200 on the premium and will not entertain "agreed value"

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    John, New South Wales, reviewed 23 days ago
  • RAA Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Best Insurer I have ever dealt with.

    I recently had a claim for my iPad and just a week ago I was t-boned by a third party causing over $11k damage to my vehicle. RAA handled my claim with ease and fast. They offered all the benefits the policy had to offer to me as a policy holder and the damages approved within a hour of my car being assessed. Quick, efficient, informative and amazing customer service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Theo, South Australia, reviewed 22 days ago
  • Australia Post Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not put yourself through what i went through.

    Trying to make a $250 claim on my car insurance was the single worst Insurance experience i have had in 33 years of being a rating 1 driver. I was treated like a disobedient teenager and they simply looked and looked for a reason not to honour my claim. It was easier and cheaper to settle the matter privately.

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Matt, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.