Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Allianz Comprehensive Cover review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Good value for money with added bonus.

    I swapped to Allianz after paying twice as much as another insurer. The free roadside assist is also a huge bonus and has proved to be a real lifesaver.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    David, Western Australia, reviewed about 17 hours ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Awful to deal with.

    After still waiting a week later I am still waiting to find out if their at fault driver will have their claim accepted. As I am not the client and don't have insurance with them, they won't provide information about claim status and the driver refuses to deal with me. So here I am, accident not even my fault, but I'm left with an undriveable car, no response as yet, my own insurance cannot touch it until they provide a final response (I have 3rd party insurance), loss of wages first day of accident, driver at fault is an absolute dodgy pig and today have been told I just have to wait for however long for them to make a decision. I mean how hard can it be? On another occasion again one of their clients was at fault and I had comprehensive insurance but I still had to testify in court because Budget didn't want to pay all parties involved in crash (4 cars). Judge made them pay.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Carla, Victoria, reviewed 7 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great premiums for both car and home insurance.

    Great customer service over the phone when arranging my policy. Best rate I could get. Better than the insurer I had been with for years.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Grant, Queensland, reviewed 10 days ago
  • RACT Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Very overpriced.

    VERY overpriced. After being a loyal customer for 19 years I decided to shop around and have saved myself over $350 a year on my insurance. I spoke to RACT before switching and asked if they could reduce the premium, or offer some incentive to stay and a flat out no was the reply.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    8 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Brianna, Tasmania, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Coles Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst experience ever - AVOID AVOID AVOID

    I was pleasantly surprised with the premium offered by Coles, however (and please don't think I'm being racist, I'm stating facts) the call centre is offshore, making the staff people who don't have English as a first language and as such there was a miscommunication/misunderstanding about the level of cover. The staff member for some unknown reason added the three additional drivers I requested as policy holders, not listed drivers, their names appear on the policy so it's easy to assume that they are listed drivers. Apparently not. Unfortunately my son was involved in a not at fault accident where the car has been written off and now they're 'reviewing' my claim. The car is in the tow truck yard at $25 a day, and the claims department staff are rude, disinterested, unhelpful and useless. Don't bother asking to speak to a supervisor, that must be in writing and takes up to 48 hours. I could write war and peace on how incompetent and obviously happy to take your premium they are but don't want to pay out. Then you get stuffed around by the claims staff who obviously don't have any interest in you or helping you. I have had to go to the ombudsman just to get the claim moving, and it's still not approved. The claims department staff lied to me (confirmed by information from the person who has now got the claim after I went to the ombudsman) She asked why there wasn't an accident report from the driver or passenger in my vehicle....perhaps it was because none of the incompetent claims staff asked for it?? The other driver was at fault and seeing as he was taken away by ambulance I didn't get his details, fortunately the police did provide me with his name and number, after the claims dept refused to obtain that information saying that was my responsibility to provide that, I thought thats why I paid for insurance? Once I provided that information to them, they told me the other driver had to admit liability for them to pay out! Can't be serious?? The other driver was driving an unregistered (possibly stolen, reading between the lines of the what the police told me) and a large quantity of illegal pills (MDMA) were in his vehicle, I doubt he's going to admit anything seeing the insurance will go after him for the money. Nightmare, stupid stupid me for going with a cut price insurer. Do yourself a favour, do NOT go with Coles (I don't even shop at their supermarkets, never have) if you want proper coverage for your car, onshore call centres where there is no miscommunication or misunderstanding of your insurance needs, go with NRMA.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sophie, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Less than helpful.

    GIO, you're the worst! Our car got into minor incident. We called YOU hoping that you could help us. But no, instead we waited ages and we were the one who had to reach to you for an update and when we called, you told the car is not repairable and its been statutory written off. You’re offering us $2,000 and not even sympathetic about the situation. You cancelled our registration without our consent, let alone informed us about it. We can’t see our car. You refuse give us any information about the car and why it’s not drivable anymore. The car was working fine. We used it for a whole week before we gave it to you and nothing was wrong with it, only the booth wouldn’t open without using a key. Now you can’t even tell us what is wrong with the car. We haven’t agreed to anything and yet you unregistered our car. GIO, you are LESS THAN HELPFUL.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Liezel, New South Wales, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Budget do not reward loyal customers.

    Our entire family have been loyal customers for years with my daughter listed on my policy for years. Despite this Budget insist on applying the worst rating making her insurance cover unaffordable. So much for rewarding customer loyalty. I will not be renewing my policy with Budget!

    Value for money
    3 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jordy, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Confused.

    I have lodged a claim and I have not heard from Budget Direct. I have had to call them multiple times and each time I speak to someone I am told different information. At this stage I don’t know whether my car will ever be fixed.

    Value for money
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Zoe, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Budget Direct Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Budget Direct SUCK

    They are cheap, until you make a claim. Then they refuse to renew policy. My daughter is on her L plates. I put her on policy as a named driver and paid the increase in premiums. She had a minor accident, with damages around $3000. Young driver excess was $2000. Which I paid. When my renewal came through, I got a letter saying I was refused due to driving history. Now when trying get a new policy from other insurers, I need to notify that "Have you ever been refused insurance?"

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Nigel, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Allianz Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Waste of time.

    Had an incident which was recorded on my dash cam. Phoned Allianz three times in relation to my incident, not a single time were they interested in reviewing my dash cam footage. They eventually sent me an email so I could forward my footage to them. I was informed that given the dashcam evidence, they would follow up the driver at fault. A few months passed and I had heard nothing. So I phoned up and was told they have not heard back from the other driver so would be through their “recovery process”.... About a month later, I received an email from Allianz stating they had spoken to the other driver who informed Allianz they were not at fault. Allianz therefore dropped everything, told me I needed to pay for repairs as the dashcam footage now wasn’t considered to be enough evidence? I was so annoyed that I waited five months to find out. If it wasn’t “enough evidence” then why not let me know in the first place?? Meanwhile the damage to my car rusted which means it cost more to fix. Such a waste of time. Switched to Youi who have been so much easier to deal with!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Em, Tasmania, reviewed 14 days ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Most expensive and no customer service.

    My association with the RACV began when I was 14. Holden donated a car and RACV provided the finance for a in schools program. I was trained in the theory of driving and given practical lessons in the local farming area. When i began driving RACV insured my car for the first 10 years as well as membership in the car care. As i got married and had a young family we could no longer insure with RACV but we kept up the roadside assist. So to us RACV was a trusted brand/club. It is sad to see how RACV has changed in recent years. When insuring our car last year we chose RACV even though the cost was hundreds of dollars more than Budget Direct. In October my wife parked the car at a local park and took the grand children to play. When they returned to the car someone had damaged the side door, damaged the bumper and smashed the rear tail lights. It was the 9th of October. We contacted the RACV and began the claims process. Took the car to our repairer, they inspected it described the repairs that would be necessary, took pictures, we then took the car home and waited for the RACV assessor, and waited , and waited. We contacted RACV and were told there were delays, eventually after 6 weeks RACV contacted us and sent an assessor. He arrived, walked around the car made insults about our repairer and left. After another 2 weeks we contacted RACV and we were told that they couldn't come to an agreed cost on the repair. I suggested that i go and get an independent quote. He asked where i would get an independent assessment. I told him Cranwell, because when we had been forced to use them last time they had described the repair as it should be done. So i went to Cranwell to get an independent assessment , explained the situation and told them i needed an independent quote. They took photos and told me they would get back to me with a quote. Three days later Cranwell contacted us with a order number for repairs, RACV had been in contact with them and they were going to do the repair. We never got a quote from Cranwell, RACV had taken over the quote somehow. So i went and got an independent quote else where. The two quotes were within $300 of each other around $5000 they described the repair as it should be done (no short cuts). Contacted RACV and talked about the second quote. A few days later they contacted us, he offered us a $2500 cash settlement; half the amount it would take to fix the car. He told me "If you dont take this you will be waiting a long time, take it up with AFCA good luck". True to his word we are still waiting. Holding customers to ransom, offering half payments, deliberate delay of the assessment process, deliberate delay of repairs all in an attempt to halve costs. We had considered Budget Direct, they couldn't have been worse than the dirty tricks that RACV has pulled. The general public needs to know your processes, they need to know that RACV will delay,threaten, use whatever means possible to reduce the payouts in real cases. Our car has been unroadworthy since it was hit, we have only one car to transport my disabled daughter and my wheelchair bound wife. RACV has caused months of worry, we have been forced to drive an unroadworthy car. I am going to seek the help of "A Current Affair" to resolve these problems, you need to change your processes, for-fill your obligations as an insurance company. At the cost you charge RACV should set an example of how it should be done, rather than an example of the worst insurance in Australia.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Warren, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Totally hopeless.

    Totally hopeless with customer service and claims, takes ages to get back.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Sally, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 14 days ago
  • GIO Platinum Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Great until you make a claim.

    Been with GIO for 31 years and first claim ever and it’s a total nightmare. Totally perfect until you make a claim. The lies are endless.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Kellie, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    No communication. Unreasonably slow service.

    My car was stolen. When I made a claim I had to pay $650 excess upfront to lodge. The car was found. At this stage they have had the car back for 3 weeks and the assessment process is not yet completed. No communication at all and all inward calls go via a call centre in the Phillipines. No idea when I will get my car back. Repairs not started after 3 weeks of them having the car. When I first claimed from AAMI 20 years ago they were great. Now I will be changing insurance companies ASAP.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Wendy, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Woolworths Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst insurer ever.

    Not good insurance company people. They make any excuse not to pay claims. I would not recommend Woolworths insurance or any Hollard Insurance products.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Michael, Queensland, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.