Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very happy.

    Very good service and backup.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gavin, Queensland, reviewed 3 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Best prices.

    Best prices and claiming was easy!

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Troy, South Australia, reviewed 3 days ago
  • RACV Complete Care Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Will be staying with them.

    Only had one claim, it was attended to efficiently. Assisted with reducing cost when I said I was a pensioner.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Liene, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The NRMA stands by me and is always there for me!

    I am a member of the NRMA; I have my car insured with the NRMA; I have Compulsory Third Party "Green Slip" Car Insurance with the NRMA; I have Home Contents insurance with the NRMA. It is true what their ads on TV say: The NRMA is there for you!!!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Alan, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Not great value. Mediocre customer service.

    Average car insurance. Not good value for money and mediocre customer service.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Claims handling
    5 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Keith, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Competitive pricing and good quality service.

    Beat a competitors pricing by quite an amount.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Policy coverage
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Gary, Western Australia, reviewed 4 days ago
  • AAMI Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great Insurer.

    Been with them for a long time but overall happy, price could be a little better.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Kevin, Queensland, reviewed 4 days ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Hidden gotcha's and policies

    Was willing to renew a full year's cover for my car, but mentioned that I was open to selling it if I had an offer that I can't refuse. Immediately was told that I was disqualified from having Shannon's cover. I couldn't believe it! How can a company be so draconian? The sales rep said with her very own mouth that if she was in the same situation as me and received an offer that she couldn't refuse then she'd take the offer and sell it as well? But in the same breath said they can't offer me cover. Anyway, NRMA's Classic Car covered it in 15 mins with absolutely no hassles and signed me up immediately. Well done Shannons... a slow clap for you all.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Paul, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Call RACQ.

    I will never travel again without RACQ!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jane, Queensland, reviewed 5 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Poor service.

    Their prices are very high and non-negotiable.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Anne, New South Wales, reviewed 5 days ago
  • Apia Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Poor service and poor value of money.

    Getting older doesn't mean I got lobotomised to good service! Turning 50 recently, I switched my car insurance over to APIA. Looking to benefit from lower premiums, what I didn't realise was the true cost of switching. Needing to fix my vehicle after a minor accident, the service I've encountered has been nothing by a disaster. Having to leave my vehicle for days on end for inspection assessment, needing to go to multiple repairers, waiting weeks to have it fixed and having to travel +40 mins to the nearest repair who could do the work. The time and money wasted can't justifies the small cost saving. Their ad says 'I wish that I knew what I know now', too right. Don't use APIA, you pay for what you get. Going back to Coles Car insurance. They are by far a better offering.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Bad service holding up claim.

    They do not reply to emails requesting information. I was told my car would probably be written off a week ago. They have now moved my car to an address which is listed as a Gas Company not a repair company. Manheim does not exist at address given.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Brian, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Shannons Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Shannons and Suncorp are pathetic and incompetent

    Shannons is now owned by Suncorp. Shannons listed the car as written off but then Suncorp took over the claim and declined it (we are fighting that). Shannons de-registered the car 5 months ago without our knowledge. Thanks Shannons and Suncorp for nothing but grief.

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Allianz Comprehensive Cover review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Worst service ever. Never with them again.

    My car got written off and they don't even tell me. I called them to check if i have the option fix my car myself (as it was a small damage) but instead I was told "No you shouldn't be driving as you car has been written off". Excuse me? When? How? So now I am left at work, without any option on how to get home and how to pick up my kids from childcare. Never dealing with them again!

    Value for money
    0 / 10
    Policy coverage
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Claims handling
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    E, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Still waiting for my refund.

    It has taken over 3 weeks for them to refund me my yearly premium (but took it out straight away.) Would not let me change it to monthly, going else where.

    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Anonymous, New South Wales, reviewed 10 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.