Car insurance reviews

Read the latest car insurance reviews from the Mozo community. Thousands of Australians have reviewed their car insurance to give you the inside story on everything from claims handling to customer service.

Search a review by:

Recent car insurance reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Do not trust them.

    They had no interest in getting my car back to me anytime soon. Bad customer service and many phone calls. I was ignored several times and would not recommend this to anyone looking for an insurance company that cares.

    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ken, Victoria, reviewed 2 days ago
  • Allianz Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Couldn't be happier!

    I unfortunately was in a not at fault accident recently and needed to make a claim through Allianz. I had never been in an accident nor made a claim before so I assumed this was going to be quite stressful. From start to finish, I was extremely satisfied with the whole process. I made the claim on a Saturday, by the following Friday, I had my car into the assessors, total loss letter and confirmation and finalisation of the claim. One week! I bought a new car and thought I would shop around while I had the time and Allianz came in a minimum of $250 cheaper per annum. Super happy with Allianz and continuing through them!

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Stephanie, New South Wales, reviewed 2 days ago
  • RAA Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great insurer.

    RAA cover three of my vehicles offering competitive pricing, clear policy explanations and pleasant, efficient customer service.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Justine, South Australia, reviewed 2 days ago
  • NRMA Comprehensive Plus Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    NRMA - Do Not place you’re trust in this company

    All in this company is lost. I have been with NRMA for a number of years and have always paid my insurance on time however recently NRMA cancelled my policy without advising me and when I questioned the representative on why I was not notified he advised that I was sent a number of emails which I never received, however the representative was quick to add that they could be in my junk file. When I asked why I was not sent a letter or text they advised email was my preference which I would never have agreed to. My car insurance is not like a gym membership that can significantly change someone’s life! I have been driving my car uninsured for over 3 months unknowingly! I have always been a responsible person and have always had insurance and registered my car on time for over 30 years and not once Have I ever driven a car that was not insured. Thanks NRMA! In addition to this the representative told me my new policy was an additional $50 each month due to natural disasters, so my insurance went from $97 A month to $140 a month. Obviously I was very upset that not only was I driving my car uninsured for 3 months but NRMA wanted to charge me more. As you can understand I was most upset about how this issue was handled and contacted GIO, Budget Direct and AAMI. They all offered me between $60-$70 a month with the same excess! So I strongly do not recommend NRMA!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Sarah, New South Wales, reviewed 3 days ago
  • RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Extremely helpful and professional

    Excellent services all round and great communication.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Policy coverage
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Claims handling
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Western Australia, reviewed 7 days ago
  • Budget Direct Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disgusting service and waste of time. Don't do it!

    My girlfriend got car insurance through Budget Direct and I reckon it was the biggest mistake of her life. She got into a pretty bad car accident and damn near totalled her car. It was bad damage. Long story short they have had her car for about a month and they still haven't decided if they're going to repair it or write it off. They said they still needed more paperwork sent to them (paperwork that she sent on day 2 or 3 of the claim). Just an absolute waste of time and money. If it wasn't for the workshop to repair the car anyway they would have held onto the car for as long as they could have for no reason at all. I hope no one goes to Budget to waste their time and money for an insurer that doesn't care about their customers at all.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Jason, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   3 / 10
    Invasive calling and inefficient quote provision

    Just wanted to get a quote for insurance. After putting in all my details and not checking any boxes that allowed them to call me, i reach the end and they are telling me they are going to call me. They then proceed to call me repeatedly even after getting declined. It’s 2020 and every other insurer can offer an online quote. People that do not want to be called should not be called and repeatedly bothered, especially for such a simple enquiry.

    Value for money
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Less
    Hannah, Western Australia, reviewed 16 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Customer service is cold.

    They remind me I need to renew my car insurance. But we found they sent the wrong information to the wrong customer. I thought it was a fake message. Later on when I contacted them, they did not explain any reason and expressed their apologies, just said 'it’s not your policy, you need to ignore it.' The attitude is cold. Wasted my time already. If you make a mistake and cause trouble to the customers, shouldn’t you first explain the situation and apologise? Do you need customers to guess the issue themselves? Shouldn't insurance companies be reassuring? I will therefore consider changing to an insurance company to make me feel respected and safe.

    Customer service
    3 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Julie, New South Wales, reviewed 17 days ago
  • Progressive Direct Comprehensive Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Making things difficult and drag them out.

    Progressive called the tow truck driver to ask questions of the night... not the police?? Every time I lodge a form via email they don't read it. You have to call after and get actual acknowledgement of the email or it will just sit unread. When asked they just say we are a call centre first (they why email?).

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Zak, New South Wales, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Suncorp Insurance Comprehensive Advantages Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    the claim was M060511961 please reward Kelly

    I have been a customer for over 30 years and hold many policies. We just had to claim on our car insurance and our car was written off just. My first two conversations with Suncorp consultants were horrible, they both had no care at all to my problem. I was ready to change my insurance and banking to someone else until today. My last phone call which was to take a $3000 pay out plus having to pay for 8 months insurance for the car which is so wrong. The car was in perfect condition and to replace it we are looking at at least $7000 for a young man who was 40km over the speed limit and caused 5 cars damage - ours the worse. It's not even Suncorp that has to pay it but one employee named Kelly made me feel important and was understanding to my frustration and anger to a situation that has financially broken us. Because of Kelly they have not lost a customer.

    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Less
    Karen, Queensland, reviewed 23 days ago
  • Budget Direct Gold Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Disappointed

    This is just advice for people looking for cheap prices. Budget Direct is usually cheaper than other companies but I prefer going with Woolworths or Coles insurance as they are similar but have much better service. I was with budget for 2 years and they try to get from you as much as they can.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Zack, New South Wales, reviewed 24 days ago
  • Allianz Comprehensive Cover review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    They lied - bad faith - left me stranded

    Left me stranded when I needed them. I was given wrong information from the customer service provider. I will be changing providers in October.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Ric, Victoria, reviewed 24 days ago
  • RACT Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Shady

    They stole money from me and refuse to follow up on my customer service complaints and emails. I deliberately and very clearly cancelled my insurance after the one year expired. Somehow they thought it was okay to continue to charge my card, even though they responded to my cancellation request and it was made explicit that I want nothing more to do with their company. Sketchy and fraudulent business practices they should be ashamed of. Business must be tough when you have to scam loyal, hard-working, and honest customers.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Benjamin, Tasmania, reviewed 24 days ago
  • AAMI Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Unlucky with AAMI

    When you are with AAMI, you will know how unlucky you are. The worst company ever! They don't even deserve one star. They are good until they are taking your money. I would not recommend this even to my worst enemy. Be cautious!

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Claims handling
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Rosr, New South Wales, reviewed 24 days ago
  • Youi Comprehensive Car Insurance review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Never go for them.

    Very very expensive insurance. They rip you off. Will not recommend for anyone.

    Value for money
    1 / 10
    Policy coverage
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dany, Victoria, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.