Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Lumo Energy

Lumo Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Rebates for solar are quick and efficient

Lumo Energy are easy to deal with.

Lumo Energy are easy to deal with.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Tony (QLD), reviewed 4 days ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Pricing is lower than my former provider

I have only recently signed up with this provider, so really cant give much of a review but I also have a home phone and internet with this company and am happy with how they operate in that area.

I have only recently signed up with this provider, so really cant give much of a review but I also have a home phone and internet with this company and am happy with how they operate in that area.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Warren (SA), reviewed 4 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Their customer service has always been perfect

The staff at AGL are very helpful no matter what your need is. I think they consider their customers a great deal.

The staff at AGL are very helpful no matter what your need is. I think they consider their customers a great deal.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Sandra (QLD), reviewed 5 days ago

AGL

AGL gas review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Dual function, one bill

Very happy with a provider that does both electricity and gas supplies.

Very happy with a provider that does both electricity and gas supplies.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Nelson (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Not many energy providers to choose from

I dislike this company as I find that their rates are high. On several occasions, I also received large bills for no reason.

I dislike this company as I find that their rates are high. On several occasions, I also received large bills for no reason.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Linda (WA), reviewed 6 days ago

ActewAGL

ActewAGL gas review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Expensive fees

They charge too much and have way too many fees that need to be paid.

They charge too much and have way too many fees that need to be paid.

    Value for money   1 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Rlyce (ACT), reviewed 12 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great provider

Synergy has been the best electrical company that I've been with it. Their sign up process is also very efficient and easy.

Synergy has been the best electrical company that I've been with it. Their sign up process is also very efficient and easy.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Anita (WA), reviewed 12 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

Ergon electricity has been a great service provider. I have been with them for ten years now and have had no issues with them. They are helpful and always friendly and their service has been 100%. I've also had no issues with billing. My money is...

Ergon electricity has been a great service provider. I have been with them for ten years now and have had no issues with them. They are helpful and always friendly and their service has been 100%. I've also had no issues with billing. My money is automatically deducted each fortnight using Centrepay, so when it is time for a reading, the bill is always covered. I recommend anyone coming to Queensland to sign up with this provider.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Melinda (QLD), reviewed 16 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great telephone customer service

Ergon Energy could not have been more helpful to a new customer.

Ergon Energy could not have been more helpful to a new customer.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Forbes (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Hard to compare when there's only one provider

Customer service is good, not sure on competitive rates.

Customer service is good, not sure on competitive rates.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Allen (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Origin Energy is the best energy provider out

Origin Energy provides me with great service. I pay fortnightly and they work out my account. I never stress about whether my bill will be too high and do not receive any unexpected surprises.

Origin Energy provides me with great service. I pay fortnightly and they work out my account. I never stress about whether my bill will be too high and do not receive any unexpected surprises.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Cathrine (QLD), reviewed 19 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Good and helpful Energy provider

Origin Energy were helpful when I struggled financially.

Origin Energy were helpful when I struggled financially.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Doanld (NSW), reviewed 19 days ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great banking experience

I have no problems with this provider and am totally satisfied with their products and services.

I have no problems with this provider and am totally satisfied with their products and services.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Barbara (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Still waiting on first payment

Only been with AGL for 3 weeks, but not very happy with their service so far.

Only been with AGL for 3 weeks, but not very happy with their service so far.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Victor (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great discounts

I think they are offering a 25% discount at the moment for on time payment.

I think they are offering a 25% discount at the moment for on time payment.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Dickson (NSW), reviewed 2 months ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive Premiums

I received a discount for paying on time

I received a discount for paying on time

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Marie (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive pricing and no surprises with billings

We have found Dodo to be efficient, competitive and easy to deal with. Bills are online and our account is direct debited so there are no late fee issues. Dodo has been a great improvement compared to our previous provider.

We have found Dodo to be efficient, competitive and easy to deal with. Bills are online and our account is direct debited so there are no late fee issues. Dodo has been a great improvement compared to our previous provider.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Heinz (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

AGL

AGL gas review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Terrible to deal with, expensive and rude

They send a bill, you pay and then they send a notice 3 days later telling you that you are late with payment and the debt collectors will be in contact if not paid. There were also no apologies when they are wrong. I am looking to change...

They send a bill, you pay and then they send a notice 3 days later telling you that you are late with payment and the debt collectors will be in contact if not paid. There were also no apologies when they are wrong. I am looking to change providers now.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Green Friendly   2 / 10

Less

Louise (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Expensive bills to pay with Red Energy

I had bills of over $1000 to pay to Red Energy.

I had bills of over $1000 to pay to Red Energy.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Colleen (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Terrific customer service

AGL are always happy to help when you call them. They also do not mind explaining things more than once to you if you have trouble understanding something.

AGL are always happy to help when you call them. They also do not mind explaining things more than once to you if you have trouble understanding something.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Mrs (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Premiums are okay but could be better

I have been charged twice, an extra fee for their accountancy mistakes. As I had no way to dispute the claim I paid it but was not happy.

I have been charged twice, an extra fee for their accountancy mistakes. As I had no way to dispute the claim I paid it but was not happy.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Green Friendly   3 / 10

Less

Wal (SA), reviewed 3 months ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Prompt action for faults, great service overall

Easy customer service with they are understanding of your situation.

Easy customer service with they are understanding of your situation.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Julie (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Cheap rates and generous pay on time discounts

I wish the FIT was higher for solar system owners with Dodo Power and Gas.

I wish the FIT was higher for solar system owners with Dodo Power and Gas.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Ben (QLD), reviewed 3 months ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Friendly service and great comparative value.

They respond quickly and efficiently to customer inquiries.

They respond quickly and efficiently to customer inquiries.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

David (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Deceptive business practices

The misrepresented figures quoted, so I'm looking for another provider.

The misrepresented figures quoted, so I'm looking for another provider.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   3 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   2 / 10

Less

Lucinda (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.