Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable, flexible with excellent customer service

I like the ability to Direct Debit and that offers to check for better rates without having to remember to contact them myself. Phone operators are friendly and helpful. As with everyone, the costs are rising too high. Very few blackouts and...

I like the ability to Direct Debit and that offers to check for better rates without having to remember to contact them myself. Phone operators are friendly and helpful. As with everyone, the costs are rising too high. Very few blackouts and rarely more than 24 hours. Information hotline/support is excellent. My gas is also with them so I get an extra discount.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Merilyn (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Momentum Energy

Momentum Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service, overall no fracking

The only criticism I have is that they disconnected me at one point and this was because the operator put me through to credit management, instead of the hardship team which she should have known to do. It was complicated and very disappointing...

The only criticism I have is that they disconnected me at one point and this was because the operator put me through to credit management, instead of the hardship team which she should have known to do. It was complicated and very disappointing and distressing, but they did restore me.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Romana (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

I would rather go with Dodo or someone else

They do not keep proper record of previous emails/phones calls regarding requests, questions, etc. I had to phone them multiple times regarding an issue and once it was supposedly settled, another person from their company phoned wanting to sign...

They do not keep proper record of previous emails/phones calls regarding requests, questions, etc. I had to phone them multiple times regarding an issue and once it was supposedly settled, another person from their company phoned wanting to sign me up to another contract after I made it clear that I did not want to continue with them any longer.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Henriette (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

AGL

AGL gas review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Discounts are good but rates are high

I think they are expensive but are very competent . They deliver what they promise and are professional.

I think they are expensive but are very competent . They deliver what they promise and are professional.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Anne marie (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to switch, they changed our solar meter free of charge.

Easy to switch, they changed our solar meter free of charge.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Tracy (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service and friendly staff

This provider generally has good customer service, range of billing options, is reliable and trustworthy and is easy to deal with as the few times I've had to contact them for errors were resolved easily.

This provider generally has good customer service, range of billing options, is reliable and trustworthy and is easy to deal with as the few times I've had to contact them for errors were resolved easily.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Ghada (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Stable bills, good discounts

Their billing is consistent, no unexplained blips and surprises. You have to remember to ring each year to get the discounts or you pay the tax.

Their billing is consistent, no unexplained blips and surprises. You have to remember to ring each year to get the discounts or you pay the tax.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Fiona (VIC), reviewed about 1 month ago

Kleenheat

Kleenheat gas review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Provided a good competition to the monopoly

Good competition provided with them being the only supplier available in WA. Easy to setup and continuously have free signup bonus for customers. Easy to transition.

Good competition provided with them being the only supplier available in WA. Easy to setup and continuously have free signup bonus for customers. Easy to transition.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Julian (WA), reviewed about 1 month ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Only supplier in Perth therefore unable to compare

I have always found Synergy to a very efficient and reliable supplier. Any time I have found it necessary to contact them the person I have spoken to has been friendly and informative as well as carrying out my requests promptly. When moving...

I have always found Synergy to a very efficient and reliable supplier. Any time I have found it necessary to contact them the person I have spoken to has been friendly and informative as well as carrying out my requests promptly. When moving house, the electricity was connected at the exact time I was assured it would be. I would recommend Synergy for electricity service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Wendy (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive pricing, helpful service

I've been with Origin Energy for a while now and whenever I have contacted them for help, they have been so helpful. Their prices are competitive too.

I've been with Origin Energy for a while now and whenever I have contacted them for help, they have been so helpful. Their prices are competitive too.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Jane (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Their pricing may not be the lowest but is also not the highest, but their customer service has been very good (to date).

Their pricing may not be the lowest but is also not the highest, but their customer service has been very good (to date).

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Rob (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and assistance

Great customer service. Would like to see evidence of more 'green power' usage and less sell offs of assets to foreign buyers.

Great customer service. Would like to see evidence of more 'green power' usage and less sell offs of assets to foreign buyers.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Joy (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Powershop

Powershop electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always friendly and helpful

Great company, we just need them to come to QLD.

Great company, we just need them to come to QLD.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Justine (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer services. Handy online access

I like Energy Australia because they have always been reliable, consistent and fair. They are reasonable with bill payments since if you can't pay on time you can get a few weeks extension. I have found staff to be helpful and reliable.

I like Energy Australia because they have always been reliable, consistent and fair. They are reasonable with bill payments since if you can't pay on time you can get a few weeks extension. I have found staff to be helpful and reliable.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Kylie (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great responsible company

Very good company, always helping when financial hardship is being experienced.

Very good company, always helping when financial hardship is being experienced.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Samantha (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Helpful customer service and prompt responses

I like this provider because when we told them our solar power wasn't working, they guided us through the trouble shooting. When we still couldn't get the solar box to work, they said they would organise someone to come out and check it. They...

I like this provider because when we told them our solar power wasn't working, they guided us through the trouble shooting. When we still couldn't get the solar box to work, they said they would organise someone to come out and check it. They replaced the whole device and I haven't had a problem since.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Michelle (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

AGL are the leaders in the market

AGL are fantastic, easy to use and offer flybuys. Best in the business.

AGL are fantastic, easy to use and offer flybuys. Best in the business.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Uncompetitive and high prices

I don't particularly like Synergy because at least up until now, has been a monopoly in WA and the price reflects that lack of competition. The area zoning my house also experiences at least 4 blackouts a year.

I don't particularly like Synergy because at least up until now, has been a monopoly in WA and the price reflects that lack of competition. The area zoning my house also experiences at least 4 blackouts a year.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Mike (WA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Powerdirect

Powerdirect electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fair in their pricing

I have been with Powerdirect for about 8 years at home and at work, yet have had no trouble and they are always there when you need them.

I have been with Powerdirect for about 8 years at home and at work, yet have had no trouble and they are always there when you need them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Suzanna (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Attractive sign up bonuses but bad communication

I signed up online to take up the bonus promotion offer. When the switch is complete they failed to activate the sign up bonus and I had to call them more than 10 times to get it all sorted. It seems like the previous communications were not...

I signed up online to take up the bonus promotion offer. When the switch is complete they failed to activate the sign up bonus and I had to call them more than 10 times to get it all sorted. It seems like the previous communications were not recorded properly so I had to explain the issue all over again with each call.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Angie (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very obliging service provider

They are easy to deal with and there is never a problem with the service. They are quick to compensate their customers if their service causes any inconvenience to the customer.

They are easy to deal with and there is never a problem with the service. They are quick to compensate their customers if their service causes any inconvenience to the customer.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Joyce (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Reliable, efficient, and great customer service

In my experience, Aurora Energy has always been reliable and efficient in providing the electricity supply at my property. Whenever there has been an issue that has needed resolving, they have attended to it promptly, in a friendly and reassuring...

In my experience, Aurora Energy has always been reliable and efficient in providing the electricity supply at my property. Whenever there has been an issue that has needed resolving, they have attended to it promptly, in a friendly and reassuring way.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Petrina (TAS), reviewed about 2 months ago

Lumo Energy

Lumo Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great customer service

English speaking representatives that put the customer first. Don't waste my time - great rates.

English speaking representatives that put the customer first. Don't waste my time - great rates.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Christina (VIC), reviewed about 2 months ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Problem free

Overall my experience with Simply Energy always leaves me satisfied.

Overall my experience with Simply Energy always leaves me satisfied.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Jacinta (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

ActewAGL

ActewAGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good customer service

Con: We were charged $50 to change the name of the account/reconnect when we moved in. Pro: When we missed a bill, the staff were very friendly and provided us with an alternative payment arrangement.

Con: We were charged $50 to change the name of the account/reconnect when we moved in. Pro: When we missed a bill, the staff were very friendly and provided us with an alternative payment arrangement.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Latoya (ACT), reviewed about 2 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.