Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Always helpful with great discounts

They are understanding in terms of financial hardship. I had a rough period in time where I just lost my job and they were completely understanding and offered me an extension right away. I especially love that I am now rewarded with up to a 17%...

They are understanding in terms of financial hardship. I had a rough period in time where I just lost my job and they were completely understanding and offered me an extension right away. I especially love that I am now rewarded with up to a 17% discount of my electricity and gas, if it's paid on time. I think it's great that people are new to moving out of home like me and can save simply by doing the right thing and paying on time!!

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Nicole (SA), reviewed 6 days ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service, would recommend

Provides strong customer service and competitive prices.

Provides strong customer service and competitive prices.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Gab (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

No competition in the area

They need some competition to keep prices in check. They have the monopoly.

They need some competition to keep prices in check. They have the monopoly.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Leah (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Not very fair in price and late fees

They overcharge and I am looking into other providers.

They overcharge and I am looking into other providers.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Lori anne (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good service offered

Only downside involves phone operators who can sometimes be unhelpful, but apart from this I have had no issues with AGL.

Only downside involves phone operators who can sometimes be unhelpful, but apart from this I have had no issues with AGL.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Steve (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

Powershop

Powershop electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great provider

I have been a Powershop customer for some years now. I generally consider myself an advocate for positive change and its promotion. Powershop has made it so easy for me to inform friends and colleagues of this company's industry-leading ways....

I have been a Powershop customer for some years now. I generally consider myself an advocate for positive change and its promotion. Powershop has made it so easy for me to inform friends and colleagues of this company's industry-leading ways. Winning for the environment whilst winning over your domestic budget. Their app is phenomenal too, offering pricing flexibility. You have the power to choose the power (rate) you want. You can purchase as little or as much as you like. Highly recommended.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Christopher (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Only energy company in Tasmania

Their CablePi electricity safety monitoring device is a potential life saver (it's in every home and business down here).

Their CablePi electricity safety monitoring device is a potential life saver (it's in every home and business down here).

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Aidan (TAS), reviewed 6 days ago

Powershop

Powershop electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Easy and competitive

I enjoy being with Powershop. I know my usage and the cost. There are regular discounts and future packs. Green energy is available and they are competitive. I've not had any surprise invoices. I choose what to pay and when.

I enjoy being with Powershop. I know my usage and the cost. There are regular discounts and future packs. Green energy is available and they are competitive. I've not had any surprise invoices. I choose what to pay and when.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Kathryn (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good service but pricing is not competitive

Good service, easy to deal with and reputable provider but expensive rates and not very competitive.

Good service, easy to deal with and reputable provider but expensive rates and not very competitive.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Kaysee (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good service

Easy setup, simple payment options, highly recommend.

Easy setup, simple payment options, highly recommend.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Peter (QLD), reviewed 6 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good all round service

We are in a rural area and only have electricity. We do have power cuts but are always kept well informed, and staff have been extremely helpful when I have contacted them.

We are in a rural area and only have electricity. We do have power cuts but are always kept well informed, and staff have been extremely helpful when I have contacted them.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Nicola (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Overall good company

Energy Australia is an overall good company but their customer service can be improved and they are unable to tell you where the usage is coming from.

Energy Australia is an overall good company but their customer service can be improved and they are unable to tell you where the usage is coming from.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Sophie (VIC), reviewed 6 days ago

Powerdirect

Powerdirect electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Low-cost, reliable and trustworthy provider

I live In SA and our electricity is one of the highest in the world. PowerDirect came to my door over 5 years ago and I have not looked back. They have beaten all competitors' prices. They are very easy to deal with and very informative when a...

I live In SA and our electricity is one of the highest in the world. PowerDirect came to my door over 5 years ago and I have not looked back. They have beaten all competitors' prices. They are very easy to deal with and very informative when a change is pending. They have kept and beaten my solar panel rebate from all other suppliers, so I am currently still getting 52c per KW. I really didn't look into their environmental impact as that didn't worry me when I first joined. Overall if I was to average my rating, I would give PowerDirect 8 out of 10.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Gavin (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

No rewards for being a loyal customer

Too expensive, thinking about changing providers. Rather than getting discounts, the rate has instead gone up with AGL.

Too expensive, thinking about changing providers. Rather than getting discounts, the rate has instead gone up with AGL.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Paul (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

AGL

AGL gas review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good value with great customer service

Easy going and friendly phone operators. Great service and reliability.

Easy going and friendly phone operators. Great service and reliability.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Marlene (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Easy to deal with, reliable and no problems with them. Online billing access and payment options available. They are also friendly, polite and helpful on the phone.

Easy to deal with, reliable and no problems with them. Online billing access and payment options available. They are also friendly, polite and helpful on the phone.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Marlene (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

AGL

AGL gas review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy to deal with and great customer service

My energy provider for both gas and electricity is AGL and I am very satisfied with their customer service. Any query I've had has been dealt with promptly and efficiently. My parents' energy provider is Origin Energy and I found dealing with...

My energy provider for both gas and electricity is AGL and I am very satisfied with their customer service. Any query I've had has been dealt with promptly and efficiently. My parents' energy provider is Origin Energy and I found dealing with them very frustrating. With the passing of my father, I had the task of updating his affairs, and of all the suppliers that I dealt with I found Origin Energy the most difficult to deal with. I'm still trying to get the name of the account updated, which was held in my parents' joint names.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Lina (SA), reviewed 7 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy gas review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Good, reasonably priced service

Alinta Energy provide a reasonably priced gas supply, and we haven't ever had any issues or problems with them.

Alinta Energy provide a reasonably priced gas supply, and we haven't ever had any issues or problems with them.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Andrea (WA), reviewed 7 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great energy provider

Great energy provider. Easy and helpful technicians. Great discount offered if you pay before a certain time.

Great energy provider. Easy and helpful technicians. Great discount offered if you pay before a certain time.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Patricia (NSW), reviewed 7 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Highly recommended!

Friendly staff and reasonable prices. They get things done quickly.

Friendly staff and reasonable prices. They get things done quickly.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Holly (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Nice, friendly staff

When I have a problem with my bill they will go out of their way to accommodate me and make it easy for me to pay.

When I have a problem with my bill they will go out of their way to accommodate me and make it easy for me to pay.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Rose (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Smart and respectable provider

Manageable company that has benefits for the environment.

Manageable company that has benefits for the environment.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Tanisha (WA), reviewed 7 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Origin Energy is a great provider

Origin Energy is the best company I have been with. They have always been understanding and helped in times of hardship. I would recommend this company 100%.

Origin Energy is the best company I have been with. They have always been understanding and helped in times of hardship. I would recommend this company 100%.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Belinda (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Good communication and reliability

They always let me know if the power will be turned off. They are friendly on the phone and payment is made easy.

They always let me know if the power will be turned off. They are friendly on the phone and payment is made easy.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Beth (WA), reviewed 7 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic customer service and reasonable pricing

I have moved house twice in the last year and Ergon Energy made it so easy for me. I was able to organise everything online. When I needed to contact them on the phone, staff have always been polite and respectful. I am 100% happy with the service...

I have moved house twice in the last year and Ergon Energy made it so easy for me. I was able to organise everything online. When I needed to contact them on the phone, staff have always been polite and respectful. I am 100% happy with the service I get from Ergon Energy.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Katrina (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.