Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Energy at my fingertips!

The staff are friendly and it is easy to set up your bills.

Full review

The staff are friendly and it is easy to set up your bills.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Jacqueline, Victoria, reviewed 4 days ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Make sure you have plenty of candles

I have been disconnected 3 times in 3 months while paying 50 a week, which is more than i actually use. Appalling.

Full review

I have been disconnected 3 times in 3 months while paying 50 a week, which is more than i actually use. Appalling.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Green Friendly   1 / 10

Less

Melissa, Victoria, reviewed 6 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Happy with service not sure about pricing

I don't know whether they are competitive because they are the only provider in our postcode 4740, but as for service and customer service they are prompt and courteous.

Full review

I don't know whether they are competitive because they are the only provider in our postcode 4740, but as for service and customer service they are prompt and courteous.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Rosalie, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Not happy

Overcharging and meter estimates make bill inquires difficult. Customer service is poor.

Full review

Overcharging and meter estimates make bill inquires difficult. Customer service is poor.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Bill clarity   3 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Green Friendly   1 / 10

Less

Shane, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago

1st Energy

1st Energy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

They reel you in with deals but don't commit

This provider promised the best discounts I have ever heard! However they have not lived up to their claims and the discounts offered never came good unless I call and complain! Planning to drop this company!

Full review

This provider promised the best discounts I have ever heard! However they have not lived up to their claims and the discounts offered never came good unless I call and complain! Planning to drop this company!

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   3 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Green Friendly   1 / 10

Less

Sonja, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Competitive premiums

I have had a few issues but they have been rectified within a reasonable time frame. They do not inform you about discounts even though you have been a long time customer so you have to be on high alert and ring them to get a good deal.

Full review

I have had a few issues but they have been rectified within a reasonable time frame. They do not inform you about discounts even though you have been a long time customer so you have to be on high alert and ring them to get a good deal.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Jane, Queensland, reviewed 6 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great service for pensioners

Being a pensioner, they make sure that we get all the discounts that we are entitled to. We get money taken from the pension so we don't have to worry about big bills. They worked out how much we should put aside every fortnight so our bill would...

Full review

Being a pensioner, they make sure that we get all the discounts that we are entitled to. We get money taken from the pension so we don't have to worry about big bills. They worked out how much we should put aside every fortnight so our bill would be covered. There calculations were good.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Kim, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great service

I have the best available plan for my area at this time.

Full review

I have the best available plan for my area at this time.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Catherine, New South Wales, reviewed 6 days ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good service

Simply Energy is terrific.

Full review

Simply Energy is terrific.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Kirrily, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Needs improving and discounts for pensioners

Can never work out what you are being charged for unless you personally check the meters before they read them. Don't trust their accounting system and there really is no way to know if the user has actually consumed what the record on the account...

Full review

Can never work out what you are being charged for unless you personally check the meters before they read them. Don't trust their accounting system and there really is no way to know if the user has actually consumed what the record on the account shows. This is particularly so when you have been absent from the home for over a month and you still receive similar account for the same time period

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

Less

Ros, Western Australia, reviewed 13 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy gas review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Too expensive

Again prices are way too expensive.

Full review

Again prices are way too expensive.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Nicola, Western Australia, reviewed 13 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Could do more to bring costs down

Electricity is very expensive. Bills are too high.

Full review

Electricity is very expensive. Bills are too high.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Nicola, Western Australia, reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Customer service is always very helpful and provides ongoing assistance when needed.

Full review

Customer service is always very helpful and provides ongoing assistance when needed.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   3 / 10

Less

Rosanne, New South Wales, reviewed 13 days ago

Kleenheat

Kleenheat gas review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great rates

Great online service.

Full review

Great online service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Andrew, Western Australia, reviewed 13 days ago

Lumo Energy

Lumo Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

All-round the best provider

Excellent service. The best cost.

Full review

Excellent service. The best cost.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Robert, South Australia, reviewed 18 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

They are on the ball

They have a great accounts section.

Full review

They have a great accounts section.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Malcolm, Victoria, reviewed 20 days ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not very helpful

They make me pay to much.

Full review

They make me pay to much.

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Sharon, Victoria, reviewed 20 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

They are the only company that serves in my area

Prices could be cheaper.

Full review

Prices could be cheaper.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Maryann, Queensland, reviewed 20 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Best value energy provider

I currently DISLIKE all electricity providers due to the high cost of electricity. I get good discounts through AGL and do not believe that any other supplier offers much better value.

Full review

I currently DISLIKE all electricity providers due to the high cost of electricity. I get good discounts through AGL and do not believe that any other supplier offers much better value.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Chas, New South Wales, reviewed 20 days ago

Lumo Energy

Lumo Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive, helpful and honest

They are competitive with their prices and honest about them. When I thought I had a better deal and was going to change provider they explained that the other providers deal was only on usage and not total bill and when I checked they were right....

Full review

They are competitive with their prices and honest about them. When I thought I had a better deal and was going to change provider they explained that the other providers deal was only on usage and not total bill and when I checked they were right. They then gave me a great deal.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Deb, Victoria, reviewed 20 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Competitive premiums and great customer service

Helpful.

Full review

Helpful.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Graham, Queensland, reviewed 20 days ago

AGL

AGL gas review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Very understanding company.

I think they over charge a little.

Full review

I think they over charge a little.

    Value for money   1 / 10

    Bill clarity   3 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Caitlyn, Victoria, reviewed 25 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Must have! Always finding cheaper options for me!

Great, easy to initially connect, great customer services, that are always finding cheaper account options for me.

Full review

Great, easy to initially connect, great customer services, that are always finding cheaper account options for me.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Mark, Queensland, reviewed 25 days ago

Powerdirect

Powerdirect electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Time will tell

I am new to this provider but so far so good.

Full review

I am new to this provider but so far so good.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

Less

Helen, Queensland, reviewed 25 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Reasonable pricing

Their prices are reasonable.

Full review

Their prices are reasonable.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   2 / 10

Less

Lani, Victoria, reviewed 25 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.