Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Green Aurora

Aurora Energy is Tasmania’s green electricity provider

Full review

Aurora Energy is Tasmania’s green electricity provider

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Wendy (TAS), reviewed about 13 hours ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Reduce electricity costs

Electricity prices are constantly rising that it is hard to keep on top of the bill

Full review

Electricity prices are constantly rising that it is hard to keep on top of the bill

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Julee (QLD), reviewed about 18 hours ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Excellent

Excellent

Full review

Excellent

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Reese (NSW), reviewed 5 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Energy Australia..? Whose Australia

Signed up because the company had an Australian call centre, bitterly disappointed they moved overseas shortly after. Be great if companies worked out we will pay more for Australian.

Full review

Signed up because the company had an Australian call centre, bitterly disappointed they moved overseas shortly after. Be great if companies worked out we will pay more for Australian.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Lisa (VIC), reviewed 5 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Expensive

3 person living bill comes sometimes over $700. It is too much.

Full review

3 person living bill comes sometimes over $700. It is too much.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Green Friendly   -1 / 10

Less

Suleyman (NSW), reviewed 6 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

The best

The best

Full review

The best

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Cindy (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Expensive

Too expensive.

Full review

Too expensive.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Green Friendly   0 / 10

Less

Lynn (QLD), reviewed 7 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Expensive and unhelpful

Called multiple times for rate queries, wouldn’t change or offer further discounts. Said I had been quoted cheaper, still wouldn’t budge. Am now in the process of switching suppliers

Full review

Called multiple times for rate queries, wouldn’t change or offer further discounts. Said I had been quoted cheaper, still wouldn’t budge. Am now in the process of switching suppliers

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Green Friendly   2 / 10

Less

Kayla (VIC), reviewed 7 days ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great

Always friendly, my questions were well addressed

Full review

Always friendly, my questions were well addressed

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   -1 / 10

Less

Jodi (TAS), reviewed 7 days ago

Momentum Energy

Momentum Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

No-nonsense! No hype! Genial, intelligent service!

I like the straightforwardness of momentum energy, its policies on discounts and fines, its attitude to the environment and its genial service.

Full review

I like the straightforwardness of momentum energy, its policies on discounts and fines, its attitude to the environment and its genial service.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Melvyn (VIC), reviewed 12 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Trusted company

Understanding with issues and willing to assist with any issues

Full review

Understanding with issues and willing to assist with any issues

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Chantelle (WA), reviewed 13 days ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Poor customer service and product offerings

Poor customer service

Full review

Poor customer service

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   3 / 10

Less

Brenden (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Ask me again in six months

Day rate is a bit high, but the solar rebate is ok.

Full review

Day rate is a bit high, but the solar rebate is ok.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Jason (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Friendly

Willing to work with people

Full review

Willing to work with people

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Lynette (SA), reviewed 15 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent

Quite willing to help any time. Easy to approach with payment options, I love the direct debit. Sustomer service is awesome and I've recommend that all my children who are living in there own homes to go with ENERGY AUSTRALIA.

Full review

Quite willing to help any time. Easy to approach with payment options, I love the direct debit. Sustomer service is awesome and I've recommend that all my children who are living in there own homes to go with ENERGY AUSTRALIA.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Fsyr (VIC), reviewed 15 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

It turned out O.K.in the end.

I find that the different sections of the organization do not liase as they should. I have found it necessary to discuss my account on more than one occasion and blind Freddie could run the accounts section better.

Full review

I find that the different sections of the organization do not liase as they should. I have found it necessary to discuss my account on more than one occasion and blind Freddie could run the accounts section better.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Green Friendly   1 / 10

Less

Jean (NSW), reviewed 15 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

No probs with the telephone people.

Actually they are pretty quick and efficient at dealing with faults, however they will try find a way to put the cost of it onto the customer or anybody they can. Pricing is now bordering on extortion! I'm not retired, yet I can't afford to run...

Full review

Actually they are pretty quick and efficient at dealing with faults, however they will try find a way to put the cost of it onto the customer or anybody they can. Pricing is now bordering on extortion! I'm not retired, yet I can't afford to run the AC or oven.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   1 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Green Friendly   -1 / 10

Less

Noel (QLD), reviewed 15 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Offer discounts and extenstions on Bill Due Date!!

They offer discounts and you can ask for an extension on your bill due date.

Full review

They offer discounts and you can ask for an extension on your bill due date.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Bianca (QLD), reviewed 18 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Trustworthy

Excellent service, very trustworthy.

Full review

Excellent service, very trustworthy.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Lyn (VIC), reviewed 19 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great Service

Great customer service

Full review

Great customer service

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

James (QLD), reviewed 21 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Dissatisfied

Bills can be expensive and the tariffs are high.

Full review

Bills can be expensive and the tariffs are high.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Amber (QLD), reviewed 22 days ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

All natural company

Australian owned company all natural.

Full review

Australian owned company all natural.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Liz (NSW), reviewed 22 days ago

1st Energy

1st Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Just starting

New to this provider

Full review

New to this provider

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Bill clarity   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Green Friendly   -1 / 10

Less

Michelle (NSW), reviewed about 1 month ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Dishonest and untrustworthy.

Very expensive and I don't trust the way they calculate the meter. Surprised to find out that if you own a dog then they just don't bother reading the meter so they compare your previous power bills and some how guess the average bills and charge...

Full review

Very expensive and I don't trust the way they calculate the meter. Surprised to find out that if you own a dog then they just don't bother reading the meter so they compare your previous power bills and some how guess the average bills and charge you based on that. But they don't advise you of how your bill was calculated. Shocking and incorrect.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   3 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Green Friendly   2 / 10

Less

Rodney (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Wouldn't recommend it

Overall a fail

Full review

Overall a fail

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   2 / 10

    Customer service   1 / 10

    Green Friendly   2 / 10

Less

Danny (QLD), reviewed about 1 month ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2017

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.