Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Origin Energy

Origin Energy gas review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Terrible with no customer service

We are constantly having to contact Origin Energy with regards to delivery and they never turn up. It takes at least three attempts every time we need bottles filled.

We are constantly having to contact Origin Energy with regards to delivery and they never turn up. It takes at least three attempts every time we need bottles filled.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Lorae (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great service and plans

Good energy provider and great options to save money with direct debit. The only issue is that their fixed rate plan worked out to be almost double what I would normally pay per quarter.

Good energy provider and great options to save money with direct debit. The only issue is that their fixed rate plan worked out to be almost double what I would normally pay per quarter.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Tom (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good but not exceptional regional company

Little or no ongoing information regarding deals or discounts. Tend to only hear from them when the current contract is about to expire. Competitively priced but only equals other deals so no great benefit to switch or stay. Relatively reliable...

Little or no ongoing information regarding deals or discounts. Tend to only hear from them when the current contract is about to expire. Competitively priced but only equals other deals so no great benefit to switch or stay. Relatively reliable supply. Still think the product is over priced.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Kyle (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Overpriced with no competition

This is the only option we have for electricity and there is no competition. We are charged one of highest rates for electricity in Australia and yet we export excess to the mainland.

This is the only option we have for electricity and there is no competition. We are charged one of highest rates for electricity in Australia and yet we export excess to the mainland.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Sherroy (TAS), reviewed 13 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good discount and great customer service

I am happy with this company for offering me good service and a great discount.

I am happy with this company for offering me good service and a great discount.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Michel (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Reliable and easy

I like the time of use metering - it works well if you run your appliances at off-peak or shoulder times, rather than during peak periods.

I like the time of use metering - it works well if you run your appliances at off-peak or shoulder times, rather than during peak periods.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Nicola (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

ActewAGL

ActewAGL electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Customer service isn't the best

The few dealings I have had with them I found hard over the phone. Overall average customer.

The few dealings I have had with them I found hard over the phone. Overall average customer.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

James (ACT), reviewed 13 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Discounts as an incentive for paying early

I like how Energy Australia offers a discount for paying early. The only downside is that they don't make it easy to pay their bills online.

I like how Energy Australia offers a discount for paying early. The only downside is that they don't make it easy to pay their bills online.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Kim (VIC), reviewed 13 days ago

Momentum Energy

Momentum Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Dependable, Australian Owned Provider

I believe they are an Australian Owned Company, with ethical, environmental products and also great services and care. The billing service is good, and the sign up was personable with a friendly phone call. I would highly recommend this energy...

I believe they are an Australian Owned Company, with ethical, environmental products and also great services and care. The billing service is good, and the sign up was personable with a friendly phone call. I would highly recommend this energy provider.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Linda (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Average overall

Online access is easy and bills are simple to understand.

Online access is easy and bills are simple to understand.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

A (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy gas review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great company, would not change

Very understanding when wanting a payment extension. Very fast at explaining any problems.

Very understanding when wanting a payment extension. Very fast at explaining any problems.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Carla (WA), reviewed 13 days ago

Simply Energy

Simply Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No complaints

I've had a really good experience with Simply Energy so far. It was an easy process to join and make an account with them. Never had any issues with the change over. Bills are easily accessible and it isn't a difficult task to make payments.

I've had a really good experience with Simply Energy so far. It was an easy process to join and make an account with them. Never had any issues with the change over. Bills are easily accessible and it isn't a difficult task to make payments.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Katherine (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to deal with and competitive

I have been with this company from the beginning and have been very happy with their service. Any dealings I have had with them have always been to my satisfaction.

I have been with this company from the beginning and have been very happy with their service. Any dealings I have had with them have always been to my satisfaction.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

John (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

So far very good service

Competitive service and price, overall happy with Origin Energy.

Competitive service and price, overall happy with Origin Energy.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Lorral (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy gas review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Not recommended

I have a bill of $4000 annually for gas. Not happy at all.

I have a bill of $4000 annually for gas. Not happy at all.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Michelle (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Quite good but expensive

I paid a refund from a double up of accounts and staff were very friendly and helpful when I phoned for assistance.

I paid a refund from a double up of accounts and staff were very friendly and helpful when I phoned for assistance.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Leisa (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Easy to deal with

We had no problems at all getting approval for our solar panels. Ergon Energy understood our needs and worked with us to find the best deal.

We had no problems at all getting approval for our solar panels. Ergon Energy understood our needs and worked with us to find the best deal.

    Value for money   -1 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Fiona (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Dodo Power & Gas

Dodo Power & Gas electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and competitive prices

I have been with many providers for electricity and I have experienced being over charged and incorrect meter readings from a few electricity providers. With Energy Australia, my bills have been correct, affordable and unbeatable.

I have been with many providers for electricity and I have experienced being over charged and incorrect meter readings from a few electricity providers. With Energy Australia, my bills have been correct, affordable and unbeatable.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Kayshell (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very helpful and courteous

EnergyAustralia have always served me well.

EnergyAustralia have always served me well.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Brian (VIC), reviewed 13 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Reliable customer service

Only dislike that we only have one provider and no other options to choose from, however overall Ergon Energy has been a good provider.

Only dislike that we only have one provider and no other options to choose from, however overall Ergon Energy has been a good provider.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Lynden (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy gas review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Discounts and trust

I love being with Origin Energy because they are transparent and what you see is what you get. Billing is immediate when a gas bottle is replaced and there are a few weeks given to pay bills. In addition to this, last delivery is written on the...

I love being with Origin Energy because they are transparent and what you see is what you get. Billing is immediate when a gas bottle is replaced and there are a few weeks given to pay bills. In addition to this, last delivery is written on the bill so you can plan when your next bottle is due. There is nothing not to like about this company. If you have an electricity account through Origin, you get a discount. Ordering is also made easy and a text is sent before the bottle is going to be replaced.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Patricia (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Momentum Energy

Momentum Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Would recommend Momentum Energy

I am very happy with Momentum Energy. The whole process of changing to them was quick and simple. Although they may be slightly lower priced providers, I like that they are an Australian owned, green energy company.

I am very happy with Momentum Energy. The whole process of changing to them was quick and simple. Although they may be slightly lower priced providers, I like that they are an Australian owned, green energy company.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Anne (VIC), reviewed 13 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Satisfied customer

Happy with this service. Would recommend to friends and family.

Happy with this service. Would recommend to friends and family.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed 13 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Do not recommend to others

Unable to track bill progress online.

Unable to track bill progress online.

    Value for money   3 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Kirsty (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

A good provider

It's best feature is the fact that they provide a discount as an incentive when you pay on time.

It's best feature is the fact that they provide a discount as an incentive when you pay on time.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Green Friendly   / 10

Less

Clare (NSW), reviewed 13 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2016

Forget industry awards where banks scratch each other's backs. Mozo presents the People's Choice Awards, based on more than 30,000 real customer reviews.

Check out the winners

Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.