Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

Search a review by:

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Click Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Present with lower rate without applying discount

    They have lower rate to begin with, without having to apply for discount.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Bill clarity
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Less
    Meilee, New South Wales, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Powershop Electricity review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Power on

    Excellent phone app that shows daily energy use clearly. Excellent customer service that fixed an oversight immediately.

    Value for money
    8 / 10
    Bill clarity
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Green Friendly
    8 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • AGL Electricity review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Quick problem resolution

    I had a poor experience by being back bill with bloated estimations. However the problem was swiftly rectified once I contacted them.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Bill clarity
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Green Friendly
    6 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Origin Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    No customer service at all

    I am 78. Get no pension as i worked too hard. Get concession on power with my CSHC. Origin keep taking this off me with like 52 days no concession? I ask "have i died and no one told me? This has been happening for years. Finally it seemed i complained so much that it was settled. I was told last October. I demanded $100 for my time telling five people while trying to get to the retention dept, writing letters, taking off the concession from my bill etc etc. Well it started again recently so they have gone back to 2017 an sent me pages and pages of bills with very small periods (like days). Then added hundreds to my bill. I am not paying at all now. As soon as they cut off my power i will go with another provider and cancel all other accounts i have on holiday rental properties.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Bill clarity
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Green Friendly
    0 / 10
    Less
    Brian, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Simply Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Simply Energy, simple choice.

    Simply the cheapest I could get with the great concession card holder discounts. I have saved a fortune since signing with Simply Energy and they did better than price match.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Bill clarity
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Less
    Rosemary, Victoria, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Origin Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Massive money saver.

    Tremendous. They brought my quarterly bills down by an average of nearly $250. Would highly recommend switching over.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Bill clarity
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Green Friendly
    9 / 10
    Less
    Bradley, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Origin Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Cheap but not good for environment

    They have good prices but their lack of an environmental push makes me want to change.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Bill clarity
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Green Friendly
    2 / 10
    Less
    Callum, New South Wales, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Powerclub Electricity review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great pricing structure and competitive rates

    I've been with Powerclub for about 3 months. My first electricity bill (period 18th Feb to 23rd of Mar) was a total of $1.96 for 35 days of electricity Supply and Usage! During the same period my PowerBank went up about $20 so the my 'gain' during the billing period was about $18.00. Not bad!My family of 2 adults / 2 teenagers live in Inner North Melbourne and I installed in Septemeber 2019 a 7.36 kWh Solar System with 23 x 320 Watt SunPower Corporation Solar Panels (SPR-P19-320-BLK) and a SolarEdge (SE5000H) Series Single Phase Inverter. 6 panels are on the East part of the roof, 10 on the North and 7 on the West. Basically from sunrise to sunset I am generating electricity and I have found that once I'm producing at least 1 kWh of electricity I can manage my electricity usage to ensure that my grid electricity consumption during the day is generally nil. The Powerclub Feed In Tariff (FIT) is 12 cents per kWh which I believe is the Standard FIT on offer in Victoria. I believe Powerclub has been the best option for my family of 4 for a number of reasons: 1) The Daily Supply Charge of 78.72c/day ($287.33 a year) is perhaps the lowest Daily Supply Charge out in the market. I couldn't find any other Electricity Supplier with a significantly lower Daily Supply Charge. The $39 Annual Powerclub Membership Fee effectively increases this Daily Supply Charge to 89.40c/day ($326.33 a year). This is still quite competitive. Daily Supply Charges tend to work against you if your daily grid electricity is low so it's important to find the lowest one when you have good Solar FIT 'volumes'. 2) The ability to purchase electricity at Spot Price values can be absolute gold. My fixed 'Peak' Electricity Charge is 19.28c kWh. This equates to a 'fixed' Electricity Spot Price of (I believe) 8c kWh. The other 11.28c kWh is made up of network fees, state/federal electricity levies and Powerclub costs. When I consume Grid Electricity and the Spot Price is above this 8c kWh threshold my PowerBank decreases by the difference (8c kWh - Spot Price). When I consume Grid Electricity and the Spot Price is below this 8c kWh threshold my PowerBank increases (Spot Price - 8 kWh). During my first Bill Period the Spot Price never went above the 8c kWh threshold so when I was consuming grid electricity I was very slowly increasing my PowerBank. 3) I enjoy seeing my Power Bills being slaughtered by my Solar Panels FIT and my ability to consume electricity when Spot Prices are low. 4) The Customer Service at Powerclub has been very good. Any issues that I have raised have been dealt with very promptly and professionally. 5) The Powerclub Web 'Portal' is very functional. You can log on and easily see your historical Usage and Solar FIT as well as the Daily Spot Price levels. There is other functionality there too which will no doubt be improved upon over time. 6) The Powerclub App is very good in letting you know when Spot Prices have gone up. Notifications can be set at different levels from $0.10 / kWh to $5.00 / kWh. Some negatives: 1) Having to purchase electricity at Spot Price values can also be a nightmare. I have yet to experience this though. Sometimes the Spot Price can explode to $15 a kWh for durations of up to 5-10 hours. If this happens and you are in a period of high electricity usage your PowerBank can decrease significantly. I'm not sure what happens if it gets depleted to Zero or Negative. Your PowerBank gains over a year could possibly be wiped out in a 5 hour high Spot Price 'window'. 2) The PowerBank set-up can be a bit confusing. I don't believe you can easily 'cash in' the PowerBank gains over time. I know you get the full balance returned to you if you leave Powerclub but it isn't quite clear on how you can 'cash in' without leaving Powerclub. 3) Powerclub does an ok job of explaining how everything works but they don't actually provide a detailed example ... or at least I wasn't able to find one. I basically had to wait for my first Bill to get a better understanding of how it all worked. This requires a small 'leap of faith' which I was happy to do but others may not. I would have liked to have seen an actual 'redacted' bill and some example electricity usage examples with clearer explanations on how the PowerBank works. 4) To get the best electricity usage outcomes out of Powerclub you have to be all over your electricity usage like a bad rash! If you have solar panels then you need to try to use your high electricity appliances during daylight hours. You also need to try to avoid using these appliances between 6pm and 9pm when Spot Prices are generally higher than the 8c kWh threshold. If you are not interested in micro managing your electricity usage then Powerclub may not be your best option. Installing a great 7.36 kWh Solar system and reaping the benefits of the Powerclub Pricing Structure has been a fantastic 'bill busting' experience for me. My family of 2 adults / 2 teenagers has basically turned a $2,000 annual electricity bill to possibly a $200 annual electricity bill. The Solar Panels are obviously the key to this cost reduction however the great Pricing Structure that Powerclub provides enables me to drive down the cost of all Grid Electricity Usage in a way that I have never been able to do before.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Bill clarity
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Green Friendly
    9 / 10
    Less
    Mike, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Tas Gas Gas review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Awesome company

    Easy and always reliable.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Bill clarity
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Green Friendly
    9 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Tasmania, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Aurora Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Never let us down

    Have come through for us repeatedly.

    Value for money
    9 / 10
    Bill clarity
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Green Friendly
    9 / 10
    Less
    Scott, Tasmania, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Aurora Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Not enough options in Tas to keep them competitive

    Not enough options in Tas to keep them competitive.

    Bill clarity
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Green Friendly
    4 / 10
    Less
    Clancy, Tasmania, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Origin Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Affordable repayment plans.

    Origin are mostly reasonable and they do easy payments schedules and repayment plans.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Bill clarity
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Green Friendly
    7 / 10
    Less
    Charlene, South Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
  • AGL Electricity review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Quite good on the feed in rebate.

    This provider provides a reasonable feed in rebate for solar.

    Value for money
    7 / 10
    Bill clarity
    7 / 10
    Green Friendly
    4 / 10
    Less
    Adam, Queensland, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Origin Energy Electricity review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Excellent supplier

    After comparing the market they were competitive in pricing. They helped us with understanding our new solar and installing a smart meter. Very happy with Origin for our gas too giving us discounts for having both.

    Value for money
    6 / 10
    Bill clarity
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Green Friendly
    7 / 10
    Less
    Tanya, South Australia, reviewed 19 days ago
  • Powershop Electricity review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Easy to manage power

    Easily able to monitor power usage and top up account.

    Value for money
    10 / 10
    Bill clarity
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Green Friendly
    10 / 10
    Less
    Lyndon, Victoria, reviewed 21 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Compare Energy

    Find energy plans available in your area in just seconds.

    Compare now

    About Mozo Reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

    We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

    Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.