Energy reviews

Read the latest energy reviews from the Mozo community. Whether you’re moving house or just wanting to switch energy providers, you can get the inside story on everything from pricing, customer service to renewables from customers like you right here on Mozo.

  • Compare Electricity

    Enter your postcode to compare electricity plans in just seconds.

  • Compare now

Search reviews by

Search

Recent energy provider reviews

Sort reviews by: date | helpful vote | thumbs up | thumbs down

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Needs improving and discounts for pensioners

Can never work out what you are being charged for unless you personally check the meters before they read them. Don't trust their accounting system and there really is no way to know if the user has actually consumed what the record on the account...

Full review

Can never work out what you are being charged for unless you personally check the meters before they read them. Don't trust their accounting system and there really is no way to know if the user has actually consumed what the record on the account shows. This is particularly so when you have been absent from the home for over a month and you still receive a similar account for the same time period

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

Less

Ros, Western Australia, reviewed about 20 hours ago

Lumo Energy

Lumo Energy electricity review

Overall rating   10 / 10

All-round the best provider

Excellent service. The best cost.

Full review

Excellent service. The best cost.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Robert, South Australia, reviewed about 20 hours ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Pricing too high like with all energy suppliers

I flick a switch and the lights or device comes on. I pay monthly and can submit my own meter readings for accuracy. I receive various discounts but still feel that, like with all energy suppliers, electricity costs too much. This hits the hip...

Full review

I flick a switch and the lights or device comes on. I pay monthly and can submit my own meter readings for accuracy. I receive various discounts but still feel that, like with all energy suppliers, electricity costs too much. This hits the hip pocket especially in cold or hot/humid weather when I want to run my heater or portable air conditioner.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Chas, New South Wales, reviewed about 21 hours ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Happy

They are ok.

Full review

They are ok.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Kelly, Victoria, reviewed about 22 hours ago

EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Nice and friendly staff

Good company. The staff were easy to talk to and solved the problem quickly.

Full review

Good company. The staff were easy to talk to and solved the problem quickly.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Troy, Western Australia, reviewed 4 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Terrible cost of power

Their pricing is very high but they do offer payment plans.

Full review

Their pricing is very high but they do offer payment plans.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Natalie, New South Wales, reviewed 4 days ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good for social security deposits

To get the benefits you have to pay on time. Otherwise you don't get the discounts.

Full review

To get the benefits you have to pay on time. Otherwise you don't get the discounts.

    Value for money   6 / 10

    Bill clarity   7 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Janis, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago

Click Energy

Click Energy electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Good

Great service provided by Click Energy.

Full review

Great service provided by Click Energy.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   8 / 10

Less

Brett, South Australia, reviewed 11 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great company

I was with AGL but my pay on time rebate is far better with Alinta. I still need a new supplier for gas.

Full review

I was with AGL but my pay on time rebate is far better with Alinta. I still need a new supplier for gas.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Aleksandra, Queensland, reviewed 11 days ago

Red Energy

Red Energy gas review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Helpful

Their customer service/call centre is great. Little to no wait and the staff are extremely helpful. Very good provider overall.

Full review

Their customer service/call centre is great. Little to no wait and the staff are extremely helpful. Very good provider overall.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Jamie, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago

Red Energy

Red Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Helpful

Red Energy have an Australian call centre. Customer service is great and there willingness to help is very refreshing. A good provider overall.

Full review

Red Energy have an Australian call centre. Customer service is great and there willingness to help is very refreshing. A good provider overall.

    Value for money   7 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   7 / 10

Less

Jamie, Victoria, reviewed 15 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Decent

Could be better. Late on connections.

Full review

Could be better. Late on connections.

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Daniel, Queensland, reviewed 15 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy electricity review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Discount

I can't really fault it anything except that sometimes they can be tardy with regards to their connection time.

Full review

I can't really fault it anything except that sometimes they can be tardy with regards to their connection time.

    Value for money   9 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   6 / 10

Less

Daniel, Queensland, reviewed 17 days ago

Click Energy

Click Energy gas review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Superb

Click Energy is wonderful!

Full review

Click Energy is wonderful!

    Value for money   10 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

Joyce, Western Australia, reviewed 18 days ago

Aurora Energy

Aurora Energy electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

They are not too bad

Got nothing really to add. They supply the power to my house that keeps my family warm and something to use for cooking

Full review

Got nothing really to add. They supply the power to my house that keeps my family warm and something to use for cooking

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Nathan, Tasmania, reviewed 18 days ago

Alinta Energy

Alinta Energy gas review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Pricing system needs to be changed

Similar to electricity, the current system they use for pricing gas makes no sense to me since all other must have forms of energy use an opposite model. However I am sure the public do not care about this and thus the industry ends up getting...

Full review

Similar to electricity, the current system they use for pricing gas makes no sense to me since all other must have forms of energy use an opposite model. However I am sure the public do not care about this and thus the industry ends up getting paid three times as much as they should.

    Value for money   8 / 10

    Bill clarity   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Green Friendly   9 / 10

Less

Kim, Western Australia, reviewed 22 days ago

AGL

AGL gas review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Overall I am satisfied with the results

I switched from kleenheat to AGL for a better discount. Their bills could be more user friendly and better set out.

Full review

I switched from kleenheat to AGL for a better discount. Their bills could be more user friendly and better set out.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Lyn, Western Australia, reviewed 22 days ago

Synergy

Synergy electricity review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Synergy not cheap

It is very expensive to use energy now especially with the constant price hikes from the government.

Full review

It is very expensive to use energy now especially with the constant price hikes from the government.

    Value for money   2 / 10

    Bill clarity   6 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Catherine, Western Australia, reviewed 22 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Unhappy

The rates are not competitive, I will be looking elsewhere for electricity.

Full review

The rates are not competitive, I will be looking elsewhere for electricity.

    Value for money   0 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Green Friendly   0 / 10

Less

Jacquie, New South Wales, reviewed 22 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   7 / 10

No issues with this provider

No thoughts either way on this provider. It was just the first to get back to me when I looked for power to be connected so I guess you could say they are fast.

Full review

No thoughts either way on this provider. It was just the first to get back to me when I looked for power to be connected so I guess you could say they are fast.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

Less

Carl, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago

Origin Energy

Origin Energy electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Competitive

Rates are quite competitive.

Full review

Rates are quite competitive.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Sandra, Victoria, reviewed 22 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   2 / 10

Customer service requires serious strategy review

Ergon Energy is unable to work with customers to provide the best outcome for both parties. Rather than communicating with the customer to look at suitable options for both parties to find an acceptable resolution to the problem, they hastily...

Full review

Ergon Energy is unable to work with customers to provide the best outcome for both parties. Rather than communicating with the customer to look at suitable options for both parties to find an acceptable resolution to the problem, they hastily employ a debt collector. Personally, this has resulted in my mental health deteriorating.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   2 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Green Friendly   4 / 10

Less

Brendan, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Customer service poor and unable to meet needs

The online billing service is extremely poor, I haven't received a bill in 6 months and when I do I usually find it in the spam folder. I am also very disappointed that an outstanding bill could not be resolved by customer service and instead a...

Full review

The online billing service is extremely poor, I haven't received a bill in 6 months and when I do I usually find it in the spam folder. I am also very disappointed that an outstanding bill could not be resolved by customer service and instead a debt collector was employed to collect the money. A simple email could have rectified the issue. Now I am constantly harassed by debt collectors causing ill health and costing Ergon excessive money.

    Value for money   4 / 10

    Bill clarity   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Green Friendly   3 / 10

Less

Brendan, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago

AGL

AGL electricity review

Overall rating   6 / 10

They are competitive

When I've contacted them they have been helpful and I believe they gave me the best deal within the consultants capability. However I believe all energy providers could do way better in providing cheaper energy.

Full review

When I've contacted them they have been helpful and I believe they gave me the best deal within the consultants capability. However I believe all energy providers could do way better in providing cheaper energy.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Green Friendly   5 / 10

Less

Laurel, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago

Ergon Energy

Ergon Energy electricity review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Pricing can definitely be improved

Excluding energy costs the company is great.

Full review

Excluding energy costs the company is great.

    Value for money   5 / 10

    Bill clarity   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Green Friendly   10 / 10

Less

John, Queensland, reviewed 22 days ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

peoples choice award

People's Choice Award 2018

Forget industry awards where the industry scratch each other’s backs. Mozo presents the People’s Choice Awards, based on real customer reviews.

Check out the winners
Back to top

About Mozo Reviews

Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia.

We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings.

Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.