Thumbnail icon for Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.8/10
Price
6.3/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.0/10
Convenience
7.9/10
Trust
6.7/10
Based on 5804 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Featured home loan from Commonwealth Bank

Fixed Rate Home Loan Wealth Package

interest rate
2.29% p.a.
fixed 2 years
comparison rate*
3.99% p.a.

Promoted

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Convenient but expensive.

    Commonwealth Bank have lots of locations and fairly good customer service, however are definitely NOT the cheapest. Their home loan rates are high, they have a lot of fees, they rarely pass on any interest rate drops and they aren't flexible.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    4 / 10
    Less
    Belinda, Queensland, reviewed 8 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Very supportive when challenging, hard time hit

    CBA are extremely in tune with their customers that have unfortunately fallen on hard times and having difficulty making regular loan repayments. I honestly cannot fault them in anyway in regards to this matter. It is an extremely stressful and worrying time when hard times hit a customer that gets into a situation where they cannot make repayments. Commmonwealth bank have been a god send to deal with. They have been non-judgemental, sympathetic and supportive during challenging times and genuinely want to help come up with a solution that will benefit their customer. Not only do they provide financial assistance, but also a team that will provide free and confidential help and advice to people that are suffering from mental health issues as a result of job loss. I highly recommend Commonwealth Bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Wil, Victoria, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Good choice.

    Ease of use and great customer service.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tim, South Australia, reviewed 11 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Streamlined process.

    Recently applied for a home loan with the CBA. They made the process so simple and streamlined. Also gave me a great discount on the standard variable rate. Would highly recommend.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Arthur, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Easy to use iPhone app.

    Easy to use iPhone app and straight-forward banking.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Glen, Queensland, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Very satisfactory instution financially

    I have been with Commonwealth Bank for a number of years and the staff have always been very helpful and they have been very transparent with all of my transactions. ATM's are easy to access and it is a very approachable bank.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Peter, Tasmania, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Extra Home Loan - 2 Year Introductory Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Great Job Seven Hills branch

    We would like to share with you all the best, professional and amazing customer service we experienced at the Seven Hills Commonwealth Bank branch. The professionalism we had through their customer service was above and beyond expectations. The branch manager and his team, especially the Home Loan Specialists Team, shared their high customer service and helped us throughout our enquiry. Great teamwork and leadership skills shown by the team, proof that the manager has lead his team to achieve.

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Jean, New South Wales, reviewed 12 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Trustworthy service and great advice

    We were struggling to get our loan approved. Came in Commbank. They approved it in less than 2 weeks. We settled and now we have a place to call our own. We have been making repayments for the last 6 months and will do so forth in the future.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Anush, Victoria, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Competitive and good customer service on the whole

    Pretty good all round except recently with covid they made a blanket automatic change which I wasn't happy with (repayment change), but we could readjust it.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Daniel, Victoria, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Safe choice.

    Competitive rates and good helpful customer service. Always my go-to bank.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Christina, Western Australia, reviewed 13 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Easy to use app

    Good rates.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Edwina, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Better than expected

    Pros: - surprisingly good rate (would never have thought they would offer a decent rate) - credit card annual fee waived with 'wealth' package Cons: - wealth package is expensive and ROI is fairly low with current interest rates - long wait times when you need to call

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Nick, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Safe big brand, don't pass on all rate reductions.

    Con - haven't provided competitive reduced interest rates, even during covid. Pro - app is easy to use.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    2 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Cassandra, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good for what we need until we don't anymore.

    Good options for home construction loans. Big bank that has some streamlined processes compared to some. Online banking is easy. Dislike - supporting a big bank itself.

    Price
    6 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Dan, Victoria, reviewed 14 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Disgraceful.

    On hold now for over 2 hours... disgraceful.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Peter, South Australia, reviewed 15 days ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Home Loan 80

      interest rate
      2.63% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.65% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      2.59% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.59% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Home Loan Wealth Package

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Star Essentials Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.39% p.a. variable
      comparison rate*
      2.39% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Home Loan Special Offer Home Package Plus

      interest rate
      2.29% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
      comparison rate*
      3.32% p.a.

      Promoted

    *WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 547 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.