Commonwealth Bank logo

Commonwealth Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
Price
Features
Customer service
Convenience
Trust
Based on 5937 home loan reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan customer reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Extra Home Loan (LVR <70%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Incompetent lending specialists

    I went to this bank seeking a pre approval for a home loan and asked them multiples time what my maximum borrowing capacity is. The answer they gave me was completely wrong and I spent over six months attending open homes and auctions with some properties just going out of my price at auction or getting beaten in terms and conditions in multiple offer situations. They did this assessment listing that I had two dependants which I don’t not have and I never stated that I do. My finances are not completed as I am debt free, employed full time and have a decent deposit. I recently engaged another bank who stated my maximum borrowing capacity was close to 300k more. I would not recommend CBA to anyone, they are highly incompetent. Due to this error and the rise in the property markets there is a long list of suburbs that I can’t not afford to purchase in anymore.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Matt, Queensland, reviewed 16 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    A good easy bank

    Great interest rate, really easy to use web page and still have convenient branches or you can do business at Aus post.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Robert, New South Wales, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Exceptional customer service

    The bank provide me with exceptional service and always help me out when I had and questions or concerns regarding my wealth package and home loan.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Beena, Queensland, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Great bank!

    My CBA branch is fantastic, they have supported and assisted me over quite a few years.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Trust
    Less
    Claire, Victoria, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    They are experts

    They are very helpful.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Monika, Victoria, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Very unsatisfied with the bank

    The bank would over charge me and then put the money back into my account always making mistakes with my account took two months after probate to close the account the bank wouldn’t let me go.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Corinne, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Untrustworthy bank. Doesn’t reward loyalty

    After being a customer for almost 2 decades, with home loans, a multitude of insurances. CBA decides to get me to pay for the wealth package but an interest rate of significantly more than a new customer off the street. (Without wealth package) the RBA is giving them money at 0.1% which reduces variable rate. Yet they choose the rip off long term customers. Higher costs and reduced customer service, you will have to wait for hours and days to get a call back. If there is an option to give this bank 0 stars. I would!

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Arthur, Victoria, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    Good at first but never offers the latest.

    No one contacted me close to the end of my fixed rate and the bank didn’t have on offer a good deal for me at the time, however the moment I decided to refinance through another bank, boom they all of a sudden contact me and give me an offer. Sneaky, so if I didn’t look up my rates they were going to charge me double the rates on what was offered by everyone else. They also offered me cash back, something that even my broker was surprised. But due to the fact that they only came to the table when they realise I was leaving after banking with them for over 14 years was very disappointing so I decided to give another bank a try.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Brandon, Victoria, reviewed 4 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Great bank

    Easy to deal with, extremely helpful in apply in for home loan. Only takes a phone call to get interest rate lowered off unhappy.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Vanessa, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Perfect

    Everything on point.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Anna, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package)

    Wow, wow and wow!

    Wow, wow and wow. Smoothest property purchase ever with lowest rates for investment loans I have ever had. The CBA lender was wonderful, so accommodating. She explained all my options in a way I understood and easy knew my best way forward. Worked seamlessly with the real estate and solicitor. No hiccups in whole process almost as easy as purchasing a cup of coffee. Thanks CBA.

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sallie, Queensland, reviewed 5 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    All good

    All good

    Price
    Features
    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Sunil, New South Wales, reviewed 6 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    3 home loans , two savings accounts and a credit c

    3 home loans, two savings accounts and a credit card with the Commonwealth Bank is not enough to warrant any kind of service so it seems - 3 attempts to call today - each call left on hold for more than 50 minutes - I am beyond frustrated - and all to simply increase my transfer limit for one transaction - too much to ask ? If you require any form of customer service by phone this is NOT the bank for you.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Less
    Vanessa, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Poor communication

    I requested for the statement on investment property from January till May. But I could find only statement from January-February. The response given by the lady over the phone was presented in such a way that will make you rely on her but the outcome is worse. Reliability and trust on the bank is shaken badly.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dj, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan

    Low customer care in CBA branch

    The Customer Service in the branch is poor and they advise to contact 132224 for all queries on home loan.The information I received was that the home loan specialist in the branch deals only with new loans and do not discuss about existing loan. The customer Service on the phone do a great job and go through our loans and discuss about it.The email communication is poor and they don’t respond by emails to our queries. Overall the marking rate for CBA has gone down from before and trust on the Bank has decreased. Unable to recommend this bank to anyone in future due to the bad experience.

    Customer service
    Convenience
    Trust
    Less
    Dj, Victoria, reviewed 7 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.variable for 24 months and then 2.25% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.21% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan - Discount Offer

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.89% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.89% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      1.99% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.02% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 482 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.