Commonwealth Bank logo

Commonwealth Bank Home loan reviews

Overall rating
6.8/10
Price
6.4/10
Features
6.3/10
Customer service
7.0/10
Convenience
7.9/10
Trust
6.7/10
Based on 5916 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Peter Cubrilo 5 Stars

    Peter Cubrilo in Perth responded to and managed an application through the 2020 Christmas period effortlessly. Fast professional response times and great handling of every aspect of the application made the entire process a pleasure.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Steven, Western Australia, reviewed 6 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    No customer focus.

    They are the biggest bank in Australia so there is the convenience but also in saying that the customer care factor is very low and they don't keep you up to date with new products.

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    4 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Dragan, New South Wales, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    The provider with all positives for home loans.

    CommBank has variety of home loan products to suit various need. They update all latest information including interest rates and fees as soon as they become available. Customer services are also excellent either by face to face or online or telephone. Overall it is a good provider of home loans.

    Price
    10 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Mohamed, Victoria, reviewed 18 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   6 / 10
    Overall works well.

    It was an easy application process and the mobile app and its features make it easy to manage my loan, adjust repayments and change between interest only and principle and interest. I feel the interest rate is slightly higher than some other banks.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    6 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Heather, New South Wales, reviewed 19 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   4 / 10
    Online only matters.

    Over the phone wait times have doubled. Banks in my area have closed only resulting in half the amount of branches now. The branches that are open have halved their size in areas that have doubled in population. Wait times in branches are absolutely pathetic.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    1 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Tanya, Queensland, reviewed 20 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Banks are all the same.

    Banks are all the same so why would we change.

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    4 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    5 / 10
    Less
    Robert, Western Australia, reviewed 21 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Not happy being with CommBank.

    I have been with CommBank over 9 years. They're just there to make money as they are not looking after their costumers. If I were in a position to refinance I would have gone to different banks.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Amena, Western Australia, reviewed 22 days ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Poor customer service.

    I’ve been with Commonwealth for over 30 years. The process of trying to discharge my mortgage has been awful. I have a variable mortgage that I was advised would take 10 business days to process but has so far taken over a month, despite Commonwealth having all necessary documentation, and it still hasn’t occurred yet. After approximately five hours on hold over four separate calls, I was advised on separate occasions it would take 10 days, then 17 days, then 21 days, and today (34 days after I submitted all documents) they still have not arranged a settlement date. Commonwealth’s conduct in deliberately delaying discharges so that customers are subject to their higher interest rates is misleading and deceptive. Commonwealth’s practice of understaffing its loan discharge team so exiting customers are left for hours on hold shows incredibly poor corporate responsibility.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Anna, New South Wales, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    A safe but bit dearer than should be bank.

    I like that it is well and truly established and nice staff. I dislike how they seem to want to charge the highest interest rate they can and make it difficult to change.

    Price
    4 / 10
    Features
    4 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    7 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Karen, Tasmania, reviewed about 1 month ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Would recommend

    Have always received reliable and convenient service when dealing with branch

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Jacinta, Queensland, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Very dissatisfied very unprofessional unorganised.

    At CBA they over charged my home loan account while I was in Covid deferred time then the account was put into arrears by mistake. Then on top of that they do this random sweep for accounts that are in arrears so they took double payment in the month of February, three days apart and was not my fault. I was contacted by more than 8 different staff members about my arrears amount and none of them new the issue or read the previous persons notes on their system. Altogether they wasted 5 hours of my time on the phone. Only last week they finally sorted arrears amount and I’m still waiting on the second random sweep amount to be sorted out. They don’t contact you with a return number it’s always a private number and they won’t email so it’s hard to return any of their calls. I have never been in arrears or missed payments and during a tough Covid time with financial burdens this problem has not helped but rather left my family and I extremely stressed and worried. Only the last customer service girl seemed to know how to make sense of the issues, one out of 8 or more other untrained staff members. Sorry to be harsh but I’m being honest and hope others don’t suffer like I have.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    1 / 10
    Convenience
    5 / 10
    Trust
    1 / 10
    Less
    Mario, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Not bad.

    Easy to deal with, but have to haggle about interesr rates, or else you wont be told.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Don, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Kicking goals with CBA Variable

    Admittedly I use a broker to find me the best lender who will accept my application with my associates circumstances. On paper, my scenario is nothing short of messy. But CBA took me on, and when the opportunity arose to go variable with some crazy-low interest rates, it was a visit-free process with only a signature or two via email. Couldn’t be happier now that I’m kicking personal goals on my great big fat mortgage!

    Price
    9 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    7 / 10
    Less
    Miss, Northern Territory, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Home Loan review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    They understand and want your business

    They understand how mining pay system works such as “ rostered overtime “. Other banks don’t recognise this is a regular part of an income for coal miners as much as the regular 40 hour week

    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    10 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Colin, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) review

    Overall rating   2 / 10
    Don’t use the big 4 banks, so many better options

    This bank does nothing for their customers, they have one thing in mind - make money from their customers. They immediately increase their loan interest rate when the reserve bank rate increases but delay and give a pitiful interest decrease or none at all when the reserve bank rate decreases. NO INCENTIVE TO STAY WITH THIS BANK. I would like to refinance but unfortunately I am of retiring age shortly and would find it hard to transfer my loan, despite being a very valuable customer with a good credit rating.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    1 / 10
    Customer service
    5 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    2 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 months ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Smart Booster Home Loan

      interest rate
      1.99% p.a.variable for 12 months and then 2.48% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.47% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Fixed Rate Loan with Orange Advantage Orange Advantage

      interest rate
      2.04% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      3.60% p.a.

      Promoted
    • UHomeLoan

      interest rate
      1.85% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
      comparison rate
      2.24% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Variable Home Loan Special

      interest rate
      2.09% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.12% p.a.

      Promoted
    • Celebrate Variable Home Loan

      interest rate
      2.19% p.a. variable
      comparison rate
      2.19% p.a.

      Promoted

    WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

    Want more? Compare all 519 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more home loans

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.