Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank
Commonwealth Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.3 / 10

based on 1645 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Commonwealth Bank

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent customer service

A reminder should be sent to customers when their fixed rate home loan is nearing completion of time and other alternatives should be sent to customers.

A reminder should be sent to customers when their fixed rate home loan is nearing completion of time and other alternatives should be sent to customers.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (WA), reviewed 21 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Commonwealth Bank is great because of the way they approved my home loan. It was very quick and they understood the urgency of the approval. The staff, either if it's a phone query or in the bank personally are always professional and more than...

Commonwealth Bank is great because of the way they approved my home loan. It was very quick and they understood the urgency of the approval. The staff, either if it's a phone query or in the bank personally are always professional and more than willing to help.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jacqueline (TAS), reviewed 22 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

User friendly, simple and great customer service

From the day we rang our local branch for information regarding a home loan until the day we got home, they have been very friendly, informative and useful. My wife and I are extremely happy to use Commonwealth Bank for our home loan and we have...

From the day we rang our local branch for information regarding a home loan until the day we got home, they have been very friendly, informative and useful. My wife and I are extremely happy to use Commonwealth Bank for our home loan and we have recommended our experience to many friends.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Muhammed (SA), reviewed 29 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Proactive, approachable and informative

I found my personal finance banker to be very proactive, approachable and most importantly available. I was kept up to date and informed every step of the way.

I found my personal finance banker to be very proactive, approachable and most importantly available. I was kept up to date and informed every step of the way.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nerida (QLD), reviewed 30 days ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates

Commonwealth Bank is one of the big four major banks, so I feel very comfortable being a customer with them. Although internet banking is quite easy, I like that there are plenty of branches that are easily accessible as this makes personal...

Commonwealth Bank is one of the big four major banks, so I feel very comfortable being a customer with them. Although internet banking is quite easy, I like that there are plenty of branches that are easily accessible as this makes personal banking more convenient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rae (SA), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reliable, fair and progressive

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Louis (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Commonwealth Bank could do better with their rates

Could get a better interest rate. Will start investigating other banks rates.

Could get a better interest rate. Will start investigating other banks rates.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly and professional staff

The staff at Commonwealth Bank were willing to loan us a mortgage when the banks we had been with for years wouldn't.

The staff at Commonwealth Bank were willing to loan us a mortgage when the banks we had been with for years wouldn't.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Chris (WA), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding service and competitive rates

We dealt with an amazing lender who was open and honest, and has been an immense help to us for which we are truly grateful.

We dealt with an amazing lender who was open and honest, and has been an immense help to us for which we are truly grateful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Viridian Line of Credit (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very professional and accurate information

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank No Fee Home Loan (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Used to have competitive rates, but not anymore

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sharyn (VIC), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service from Glen Wallen.

The person who assisted us with our loan gave us superb service and attention. When encouraged, they also gave us a very competitive interest rate.

The person who assisted us with our loan gave us superb service and attention. When encouraged, they also gave us a very competitive interest rate.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Jeanette (QLD), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good service but at an extremely high price

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Steve (QLD), reviewed 9 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and support

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Robyn (VIC), reviewed 9 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service'

Great customer service'

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Geoff (VIC), reviewed 9 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy

I can't recommend them high enough

I can't recommend them high enough

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (NSW), reviewed 9 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums plus good service

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dorothy (WA), reviewed 10 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good Customer Service

Interest Rate seems higher than most places, yet it was the most convenient for us as we already had all of our other banking with the Commonwealth.

Interest Rate seems higher than most places, yet it was the most convenient for us as we already had all of our other banking with the Commonwealth.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Dave (QLD), reviewed 10 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great in some departments, others need more work.

They were very helpful when I injured my spine and needed to have a payment holiday on my mortgage. Very helpful within the mortgage section helping with this temporary situation. Helpful and friendly on the phones and understanding. The other...

They were very helpful when I injured my spine and needed to have a payment holiday on my mortgage. Very helpful within the mortgage section helping with this temporary situation. Helpful and friendly on the phones and understanding. The other department dealing with redundancy of my partner job and trying to claim were horrendous. Hence we have cancelled policy with Comm Bank and wouldn't advise anyone to take out any insurance with them. We followed and did what they advised only for them to then say that we couldn't claim due to what we had entered on form, but this is what we were informed to do.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Natasha (SA), reviewed 10 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Fantastic

Great service great banking A kind term customer and always will be

Great service great banking A kind term customer and always will be

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Lani (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent

This bank is extremely helpful and understanding offering the best products to meet your needs

This bank is extremely helpful and understanding offering the best products to meet your needs

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Alan (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Interest rate higher than other places

Interest rate higher than other places, not competitive, very disappointing.

Interest rate higher than other places, not competitive, very disappointing.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   4 / 10

    Trust   4 / 10

Less

Leanne (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

No problems

It suits me, I have no issues

It suits me, I have no issues

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Elizabeth (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reliable Service

Good service. Rates a bit high

Good service. Rates a bit high

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Nik (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo Rates updated daily

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    4.17% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.22% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 4.17% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.22% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier)

    ME Flexible Home Loan (Fixed, Owner Occupier)

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available & no fees to redraw
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you

    interest rate

    4.19% p.a.
    fixed 3 years

    comparison rate*

    4.82% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $400

    Go to site

    More info

    • Option to split your loan into fixed and variable
    • Offset available & no fees to redraw
    • Meet a mobile banker at a time or place that suits you
    • Interest rate: 4.19% p.a.
      fixed 3 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.82% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $400
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free up to $30,000 during fixed rate period
    • Redraw facility: no
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $40,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 231 ME home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    CUA Fresh Start Basic Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    CUA Fresh Start Basic Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Low interest rate
    • No ongoing fees
    • Free redraw facility for easy access to additional payments

    interest rate

    3.99% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.04% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $795

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low interest rate
    • No ongoing fees
    • Free redraw facility for easy access to additional payments
    • Interest rate: 3.99% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.04% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $795
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $200.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $10,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $5,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.8

    Based on 89 CUA home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Value Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.74% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.74% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner - Home Loans 2016
    • No monthly fees
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.74% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.74% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • BCU OMG Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    BCU OMG Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Easy online application
    • 3 month pre-approval
    • Money Mag Credit Union of the Year

    interest rate

    3.84% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.09% p.a.

    Upfront fees

    $900

    Go to site

    More info

    • Easy online application
    • 3 month pre-approval
    • Money Mag Credit Union of the Year
    • Interest rate: 3.84% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.09% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $900
    • Ongoing fees: $198.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $395.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - fees apply
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $100,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.9

    Based on 13 BCU home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 507 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

* The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top