Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank
Commonwealth Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.3 / 10

based on 1645 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Commonwealth Bank

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy online banking system

Commonwealth Bank has been a great bank to deal with for home loans, personal loans and savings accounts. Online banking systems are the best I have seen. The down side has been that they lack flexibility and the personal touch to really help you...

Commonwealth Bank has been a great bank to deal with for home loans, personal loans and savings accounts. Online banking systems are the best I have seen. The down side has been that they lack flexibility and the personal touch to really help you streamline or refinance or consolidate .

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anita (TAS), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best online banking I've found

Friendly and swift service. Good locations. Excellent online banking and phone app.

Friendly and swift service. Good locations. Excellent online banking and phone app.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jo (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Big expectations from a big bank

When it came time for us to shop around and switch across to ING, Commonwealth Bank made life difficult and did not place $6000 we had in one of our home loan accounts back into our access account, which they had indicated was possible. So whilst...

When it came time for us to shop around and switch across to ING, Commonwealth Bank made life difficult and did not place $6000 we had in one of our home loan accounts back into our access account, which they had indicated was possible. So whilst the amount was absorbed off the total of our home loan, and taken out of our pockets, with no choice, no discussion and no apologies!

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Angela (SA), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I have had three home loans with this bank. The last one was after my divorce three years ago and the bank handled them well. Even when I shopped around, they met my requests and met the another banks interest rate, so I was able to stay with...

I have had three home loans with this bank. The last one was after my divorce three years ago and the bank handled them well. Even when I shopped around, they met my requests and met the another banks interest rate, so I was able to stay with Commonwealth Bank instead of the hassle of changing banks. The process of changing my home loan was also well done.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kay (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Totally satisfied with all aspects of this bank

I like Commonwealth Bank because I have been banking with them for many years and am always satisfied with the service I receive.

I like Commonwealth Bank because I have been banking with them for many years and am always satisfied with the service I receive.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Graham (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive service

Staff are helpful and respond quickly to enquiries. Interest rates however need to be checked to ensure you're getting the best rate, otherwise it's important to shop around for a better rate.

Staff are helpful and respond quickly to enquiries. Interest rates however need to be checked to ensure you're getting the best rate, otherwise it's important to shop around for a better rate.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Frances (VIC), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Excellent customer service

A reminder should be sent to customers when their fixed rate home loan is nearing completion of time and other alternatives should be sent to customers.

A reminder should be sent to customers when their fixed rate home loan is nearing completion of time and other alternatives should be sent to customers.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Debbie (WA), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

Commonwealth Bank is great because of the way they approved my home loan. It was very quick and they understood the urgency of the approval. The staff, either if it's a phone query or in the bank personally are always professional and more than...

Commonwealth Bank is great because of the way they approved my home loan. It was very quick and they understood the urgency of the approval. The staff, either if it's a phone query or in the bank personally are always professional and more than willing to help.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jacqueline (TAS), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

User friendly, simple and great customer service

From the day we rang our local branch for information regarding a home loan until the day we got home, they have been very friendly, informative and useful. My wife and I are extremely happy to use Commonwealth Bank for our home loan and we have...

From the day we rang our local branch for information regarding a home loan until the day we got home, they have been very friendly, informative and useful. My wife and I are extremely happy to use Commonwealth Bank for our home loan and we have recommended our experience to many friends.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Muhammed (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Proactive, approachable and informative

I found my personal finance banker to be very proactive, approachable and most importantly available. I was kept up to date and informed every step of the way.

I found my personal finance banker to be very proactive, approachable and most importantly available. I was kept up to date and informed every step of the way.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nerida (QLD), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

We have been with them for many years and they are very good with us.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Mary (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Competitive rates

Commonwealth Bank is one of the big four major banks, so I feel very comfortable being a customer with them. Although internet banking is quite easy, I like that there are plenty of branches that are easily accessible as this makes personal...

Commonwealth Bank is one of the big four major banks, so I feel very comfortable being a customer with them. Although internet banking is quite easy, I like that there are plenty of branches that are easily accessible as this makes personal banking more convenient.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Rae (SA), reviewed 7 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Reliable, fair and progressive

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

Commonwealth Bank has always been reliable and fair with me.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Louis (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Commonwealth Bank could do better with their rates

Could get a better interest rate. Will start investigating other banks rates.

Could get a better interest rate. Will start investigating other banks rates.

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Nicole (NSW), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Friendly and professional staff

The staff at Commonwealth Bank were willing to loan us a mortgage when the banks we had been with for years wouldn't.

The staff at Commonwealth Bank were willing to loan us a mortgage when the banks we had been with for years wouldn't.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Chris (WA), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Outstanding service and competitive rates

We dealt with an amazing lender who was open and honest, and has been an immense help to us for which we are truly grateful.

We dealt with an amazing lender who was open and honest, and has been an immense help to us for which we are truly grateful.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

David (VIC), reviewed 8 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Viridian Line of Credit (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Very professional and accurate information

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

The bank is great to deal with in all areas of our banking requirements. We had a few financial issues a few years ago and Commonwealth bank worked with us to get through and maintain the accounts.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Andrew (QLD), reviewed 10 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank No Fee Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Used to have competitive rates, but not anymore

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

You can only take minimum $500 lots out of your offset account at one time. It cannot be used as an everyday offset account as we were led to believe.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Sharyn (VIC), reviewed 10 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Great customer service from Glen Wallen.

The person who assisted us with our loan gave us superb service and attention. When encouraged, they also gave us a very competitive interest rate.

The person who assisted us with our loan gave us superb service and attention. When encouraged, they also gave us a very competitive interest rate.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Jeanette (QLD), reviewed 12 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Good service but at an extremely high price

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

Banks should pass on full interest rate cuts. With the billions of dollars in profits, their shareholders are doing quite well and they should support the hands that feed them.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   5 / 10

Less

Steve (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great customer service and support

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

Reasonably low interest rate and there is always a staff member available to talk to. There are lots of branches available too for easy accessibility.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Robyn (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

Great customer service'

Great customer service'

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Geoff (VIC), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Very happy

I can't recommend them high enough

I can't recommend them high enough

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Steve (NSW), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Competitive premiums plus good service

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

We were able to get a home loan even though we are older Australians.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Dorothy (WA), reviewed about 1 year ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Good Customer Service

Interest Rate seems higher than most places, yet it was the most convenient for us as we already had all of our other banking with the Commonwealth.

Interest Rate seems higher than most places, yet it was the most convenient for us as we already had all of our other banking with the Commonwealth.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   7 / 10

Less

Dave (QLD), reviewed about 1 year ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A no-bells-and-whistles loan with a super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A no-bells-and-whistles loan with a super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Tic:Toc Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • THE WORLD'S FIRST INSTANT HOME LOAN
    • Get full approval, not pre-approval. 100% online, real-time assessment and an answer in 22 minutes
    • No application, assessment or valuation fees

    interest rate

    3.68% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • THE WORLD'S FIRST INSTANT HOME LOAN
    • Get full approval, not pre-approval. 100% online, real-time assessment and an answer in 22 minutes
    • No application, assessment or valuation fees
    • Interest rate: 3.68% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $325.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes, $10 per month
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $1,200,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Greater Bank Discount Ultimate Home Loan (LVR<85%, over $150k, Owner Occupier) (Fixed, Package)

    Greater Bank Discount Ultimate Home Loan (LVR<85%, over $150k, Owner Occupier) (Fixed, Package)

    • Experts Choice Winner 2016
    • No establishment fee. No monthly fees. Free internet redraw facility
    • NSW, QLD, ACT customers only

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a.
    fixed 2 years

    comparison rate*

    4.45% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Experts Choice Winner 2016
    • No establishment fee. No monthly fees. Free internet redraw facility
    • NSW, QLD, ACT customers only
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a.
      fixed 2 years
    • Comparison rate*: 4.45% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $375.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $300.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - fee applies
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 85.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Fixed
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest, Interest Only
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.6

    Based on 62 Greater Bank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Equaliser Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    Bankwest Equaliser Home Loan (Owner Occupier)

    • Switch with confidence to Bankwest's Equaliser Home Loan
    • A variable rate loan for Owner Occupiers making Principal and Interest repayments, with a 3 year introductory period
    • Flexible repayment options, Free online redraw & No monthly fees

    interest rate

    3.72% p.a.variable for 36 months and then 4.32% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.19% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $250

    Go to site

    More info

    • Switch with confidence to Bankwest's Equaliser Home Loan
    • A variable rate loan for Owner Occupiers making Principal and Interest repayments, with a 3 year introductory period
    • Flexible repayment options, Free online redraw & No monthly fees
    • Interest rate: 3.72% p.a.variable for 36 months and then 4.32% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.19% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $338.20
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free online otherwise $10
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 315 Bankwest home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    4.17% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.21% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 4.17% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.21% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 513 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare all home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*The Comparison Rate combines the lender's interest rate, fees and charges into a single rate to show the true cost of a home loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years, and applies only to this example. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Full comparison rate schedules are available from lenders. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan.

Back to top