Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank
Commonwealth Bank's overall rating for home loans

(as rated by the Mozo community)

7.3 / 10

based on 1645 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured home loan from Commonwealth Bank

Recent Commonwealth Bank home loan reviews

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

I’ll stick with them

I’ve been with them for almost 18 years & I'm still very happy with all the services provided.

Full review

I’ve been with them for almost 18 years & I'm still very happy with all the services provided.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Bernard (NSW), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

No problems with CBA

Would highly recommend, approachable and helpful.

Full review

Would highly recommend, approachable and helpful.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Sanela (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great service and flexibility

Great customer service and flexibility. History of banking and prior employer 20 years.

Full review

Great customer service and flexibility. History of banking and prior employer 20 years.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Julie (QLD), reviewed about 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Doesn’t care about the customers

I have a reverse mortgage loan, the reason I have this loan is be used. I cannot survive on the pension and because I have to pay high interest on this loan, it has made it even harder to keep the family home. I feel that the reverse mortgage loan...

Full review

I have a reverse mortgage loan, the reason I have this loan is be used. I cannot survive on the pension and because I have to pay high interest on this loan, it has made it even harder to keep the family home. I feel that the reverse mortgage loan should be the same interest rate as the cheapest home loan rate. I feel that the Commonwealth Bank just wants the pensioner to be in a position to either have to sell the family home or because they cannot pay the monthly interest payments the bank eventually just takes the home.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   1 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Lynne (QLD), reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

Insurance was hopeless

Don't go near their insurance or credit cards!

Full review

Don't go near their insurance or credit cards!

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Dee (WA), reviewed 2 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Best service we have ever had

Very easy to deal with staff, they are always helpful.

Full review

Very easy to deal with staff, they are always helpful.

    Price   -1 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   -1 / 10

    Convenience   -1 / 10

    Trust   -1 / 10

Less

Royce (TAS), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Mediocre

Stuck with it, as I find it too hard to change.

Full review

Stuck with it, as I find it too hard to change.

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   2 / 10

    Customer service   3 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Gerard (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

Low interest rates and bad debt charges, could see the good times continuing in the near term. Although the bank is well overpriced.

Full review

Low interest rates and bad debt charges, could see the good times continuing in the near term. Although the bank is well overpriced.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   7 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Francis (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   4 / 10

Not good enough

Looking at my rating I might have to change banks soon.

Full review

Looking at my rating I might have to change banks soon.

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   4 / 10

    Customer service   4 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Colleen (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Wealth Package) home loan review

Overall rating   7 / 10

Great customer service

My impression of the bank is only as good as the local staff, so when they replace local staff with people from outside my area, the experience may change.

Full review

My impression of the bank is only as good as the local staff, so when they replace local staff with people from outside my area, the experience may change.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Pat (WA), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service and choice of loans

I have always had friendly helpful service from CommBank staff and they do things in a timely manner and keep you updated.

Full review

I have always had friendly helpful service from CommBank staff and they do things in a timely manner and keep you updated.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jeanette (NSW), reviewed 3 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Standard Variable Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great bank

We have always found staff to be helpful

Full review

We have always found staff to be helpful

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Jean (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Very good problem solving customer service.

Upon banking with Commonwealth Bank for years I've had a few visits into the branch to clarify certain things. Staff are always accommodating, polite and genuinely interested in your area of concern.

Full review

Upon banking with Commonwealth Bank for years I've had a few visits into the branch to clarify certain things. Staff are always accommodating, polite and genuinely interested in your area of concern.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Emma (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Comprehensive service

Very easy to deal with and great online banking

Full review

Very easy to deal with and great online banking

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lisa (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Great, reliable customer service.

Great, reliable customer service.

Full review

Great, reliable customer service.

    Price   10 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   10 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Hayley (NSW), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Economiser Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

No Competition in town

It's the only bank in town that is open 5 days a week

Full review

It's the only bank in town that is open 5 days a week

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Malcolm (VIC), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   6 / 10

All banks are the same

Constant fees and charges for all accounts is frustrating

Full review

Constant fees and charges for all accounts is frustrating

    Price   4 / 10

    Features   -1 / 10

    Customer service   6 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Dean (QLD), reviewed 4 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

One stop shop for all my banking needs

CBA is very easy to deal with. I especially like their online banking site due to its various options and simplicity. Best online banking site we have dealt with.

Full review

CBA is very easy to deal with. I especially like their online banking site due to its various options and simplicity. Best online banking site we have dealt with.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Joanna (NSW), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank 3 Year Special Economiser (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

great customer service

They look after you, great customer service.

Full review

They look after you, great customer service.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Peter (SA), reviewed 5 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

CUSTOMER SERVICE GOOD

Been good so far

Full review

Been good so far

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Victor (WA), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Great Customer Service

Great customer service from the girls at Port Pirie Commonwealth Bank. Very happy with them.

Full review

Great customer service from the girls at Port Pirie Commonwealth Bank. Very happy with them.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   7 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Tara (SA), reviewed 6 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Easy online banking system

Commonwealth Bank has been a great bank to deal with for home loans, personal loans and savings accounts. Online banking systems are the best I have seen. The down side has been that they lack flexibility and the personal touch to really help you...

Full review

Commonwealth Bank has been a great bank to deal with for home loans, personal loans and savings accounts. Online banking systems are the best I have seen. The down side has been that they lack flexibility and the personal touch to really help you streamline or refinance or consolidate .

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Anita (TAS), reviewed 11 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank Fixed Rate (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Best online banking I've found

Friendly and swift service. Good locations. Excellent online banking and phone app.

Full review

Friendly and swift service. Good locations. Excellent online banking and phone app.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Jo (SA), reviewed 11 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   3 / 10

Big expectations from a big bank

When it came time for us to shop around and switch across to ING, Commonwealth Bank made life difficult and did not place $6000 we had in one of our home loan accounts back into our access account, which they had indicated was possible. So whilst...

Full review

When it came time for us to shop around and switch across to ING, Commonwealth Bank made life difficult and did not place $6000 we had in one of our home loan accounts back into our access account, which they had indicated was possible. So whilst the amount was absorbed off the total of our home loan, and taken out of our pockets, with no choice, no discussion and no apologies!

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Angela (SA), reviewed 11 months ago

Commonwealth Bank

Commonwealth Bank home loan review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service

I have had three home loans with this bank. The last one was after my divorce three years ago and the bank handled them well. Even when I shopped around, they met my requests and met the another banks interest rate, so I was able to stay with...

Full review

I have had three home loans with this bank. The last one was after my divorce three years ago and the bank handled them well. Even when I shopped around, they met my requests and met the another banks interest rate, so I was able to stay with Commonwealth Bank instead of the hassle of changing banks. The process of changing my home loan was also well done.

    Price   9 / 10

    Features   / 10

    Customer service   / 10

    Convenience   / 10

    Trust   / 10

Less

Kay (QLD), reviewed 11 months ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Home loan comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    loans.com.au Essentials Variable 80 (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.66% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $520

    Go to site

    More info

    • A super-low rate available to purchases & refinance
    • No monthly fees, Redraw facility with no minimum
    • Split loan facility – up to five free splits with fixed rate or identical variable loan product
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.66% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $520
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $50,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $2,000,000
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 202 loans.com.au home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    UBank UHomeLoan - Discount Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Refinance your home loan and get a surprise bonus $1000 into a USaver account (Offer conditions apply)
    • 20% minimum deposit required

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.69% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 application fee for variable rate, $0 ongoing fees, $0 annual fees
    • Refinance your home loan and get a surprise bonus $1000 into a USaver account (Offer conditions apply)
    • 20% minimum deposit required
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.69% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount: $699,999
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    4.8

    Based on 56 UBank home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan Special (LVR<=89%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    Bankwest Complete Variable Home Loan Special (LVR<=89%, Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Package)

    • $0 home loan application fees
    • $0 annual fee on your choice of a rewards credit card
    • $0 property valuation fees with your home loan application

    interest rate

    3.70% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.13% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $250

    Go to site

    More info

    • $0 home loan application fees
    • $0 annual fee on your choice of a rewards credit card
    • $0 property valuation fees with your home loan application
    • Interest rate: 3.70% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.13% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $250
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $338.20
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 90.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $200,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.7

    Based on 315 Bankwest home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    NAB Base Variable Rate Home Loan Special Offer (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest)

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility

    interest rate

    3.69% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    3.73% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $600

    Go to site

    More info

    • Low ongoing rate
    • No annual or monthly fees
    • Free extra repayments and redraw facility
    • Interest rate: 3.69% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 3.73% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $600
    • Ongoing fees: $0.00
    • Discharge fee: $350.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes
    • Offset account: no
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 95.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $20,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    7.2

    Based on 864 NAB home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2016

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    Newcastle Permanent Discounted Variable Home Loan (Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest) (Premium Plus Package)

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Home Lender of the Year 2018

    interest rate

    3.64% p.a. variable

    comparison rate*

    4.03% p.a.

    upfront fees

    $0

    Go to site

    More info

    • Interest rate of 3.64% p.a. variable & a comparison rate* of 4.03% p.a.
    • Owner Occupier, Principal & Interest
    • Experts Choice - Home Lender of the Year 2018
    • Interest rate: 3.64% p.a. variable
    • Comparison rate*: 4.03% p.a.
    • Upfront fees: $0
    • Ongoing fees: $395.00 yearly
    • Discharge fee: $0.00
    • Extra repayments: yes - free
    • Redraw facility: yes - free
    • Offset account: yes
    • Maximum loan to value ratio: 80.00%
    • Minimum loan amount: $150,000
    • Maximum loan amount:
    • Type of loan: Variable
    • Repayment types: Principal & Interest
    • Availability: Owner Occupier
    • Repayment options: Weekly, Fortnightly, Monthly
    Overall rating

    8.5

    Based on 80 Newcastle Permanent home loan reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

Want more? Compare all 510 home loans in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more home loans

Look for a specific type of home loan:

*WARNING: This comparison rate applies only to the example or examples given. Different amounts and terms will result in different comparison rates. Costs such as redraw fees or early repayment fees, and cost savings such as fee waivers, are not included in the comparison rate but may influence the cost of the loan. The comparison rate displayed is for a secured loan with monthly principal and interest repayments for $150,000 over 25 years.

Back to top