Thumbnail icon for David Jones

David Jones Credit card reviews

Overall rating
5.4/10
Price
4.6/10
Features
6.1/10
Customer service
6.2/10
Convenience
5.6/10
Trust
5.6/10
Based on 39 reviews as rated by the Mozo community.

Recent David Jones credit card reviews

Sort reviews by: date | star rating
  • David Jones American Express Platinum Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   7 / 10
    Competitive AMEX.

    Pro: Can convert to many airlines frequent flyer points Cons: Not readily accepted by many merchants Points are not 1:1 with other partner airlines Annual fee required

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    7 / 10
    Customer service
    7 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Ann, Victoria, reviewed 5 months ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Great reward points and offers

    Reward points for daily shop highest for lowest fee

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Karl, New South Wales, reviewed about 2 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    The card isn't accepted without surcharge anywhere

    So a David Jones salesman pestered me into enrolling into this card and rewards program: You'll get a 50$ voucher, 100$annual fees, worth it etc. Special events and what not was promised. 50$ voucher expired in 45 days I couldn't use. Forced myself into using a highly surcharged American Express. So useless is this credit card that I kept it home. There was a $15 subscription to keep it alive. 5th and 6th Month I missed this payment (owing largely to the awful nature of the card itself, it was erased from my memory). Instead of informing me, they sent a letter giving me 6 days to pay and a credit agency would be holding this information.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Abhi, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great rewards

    Great rewards.

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    10 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    9 / 10
    Less
    Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Hidden fees. Shocking service.

    Claim to offer complementary deferred payment plan on spend over $250. When used, $35 fee gets charged - unable to get AMEX to remove it. Impossible to find out who to contact at DJs. Should be a great card, but AMEX acting in own interest, totally disregarding DJ customer experience. Avoid if you can. Better cards and deals out there.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    6 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    6 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Jack, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Platinum Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    access to David Jones discounts

    Convenient

    Price
    8 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Phisith, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Platinum Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE

    On the 21st of January I took a work lunch break to go and buy my wife her 30th present for the amount of $2,500 and at POS the transaction was declined. A second attempt was made as I am well aware of my account balance and it was also declined. I made a call for the first time to AMEX CS and setup my pin then was waiting for 7.5 minutes and was hung up on. A second call was made and got through to a team member who informed me that the account was under review and they need a specialist to call me back. I explained the circumstances of being at POS and on my work lunch break; I was told it would be 15 minutes, which I accepted. 45 minutes later with no phone call I made my 3rd call, I was then informed my mobile was incorrect and someone will call me back, I stressed the urgency and was "promised' a return phone call will be made in 5 minutes. 30 minutes later I still did not receive that phone call. 4th call was made fuming with frustration I was told they are trying to speak to the primary cardholder for 'verification' as this was an abnormal transaction. I explained that I have made tens of thousands of dollars worth of transactions and yet this was abnormal? If I knew this from the beginning I wouldn't be sitting here 3 hours into my break from work and could have asked my wife to make the call with precaution as I was buying her birthday present. Furthermore I then asked to speak to a manager and was informed "we do not have a manager her for you to speak to but we will have someone call you? Another call back? I said fine, no phone call was made. During this time my wife picked up the call before I could get to her to find she found the place of purchase, the amount and now knowing what I had purchased for her 30th birthday. My wife is furious and demanded the representative an answer as to how the transaction is abnormal knowing all previous purchases and the only response received was "hahaha sorry, I will arrange someone to call him in an hour?". My wife responded with "an hour? Are you kidding?". It was agreed a call back would be made in 5 mins. No call back received. I went back to work having to pay for an unnecessary cab ride and to explain to my boss the reason, which was deemed as unacceptable. I am now dealing with surcharges to direct debits as this account "being under review" has caused the direct debits to be declined. My wife now knows her 30th birthday present. I was lied on 4 occasions and my wife was lied to on the one call she made. Today is the 26th Jan, 5 days after the purchase now having to work on weekends to make up the lost time, I was informed that there is no management in customer service for me to speak to or was that a lie also? and worst of all I still haven't received that call.. Working in the digital media industry myself I will pursue every avenue to voice my opinion and experience with AMEX CS received, my previous work colleagues at Fairfax Media now have great interest and I will soon pursue this issue with the ombudsman for loss of work, unnecessary costs of organising a cab ride back to work due to the excessive time this event had caused, promising multiple call backs? no management for me to speak to? the expectation of AMEX to block accounts without probable reason and expect to wait for their customers to call them? Ruining my wife's 30th birthday present? I am lost for words..

    Price
    5 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    3 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Chad, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago
  • David Jones Credit Card review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Avoid

    The Grinch of Christmas! Cancels your card without notification on Christmas eve! Reason you ask? Someone in the credit department who is on a power trip did not like your spending habits and will invade your privacy rights ! Even though bills have always been paid on time.

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Jd, , reviewed about 5 years ago
  • David Jones Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    the best

    Top quality with excellent service.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    9 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Tina, , reviewed about 5 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   0 / 10
    Poor Explination not $100 received!!!

    Approached by a sales person advised that there was a special $100 gift voucher if we signed up today. Asked what was the catch and advised no catch. Full terms were not explained and we did not get our $100 gift voucher. Really a wast of time

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    2 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • David Jones Credit Card review

    Overall rating   1 / 10
    Bad customer service

    Overcharging in late fees $30

    Price
    0 / 10
    Features
    0 / 10
    Customer service
    0 / 10
    Convenience
    0 / 10
    Trust
    0 / 10
    Less
    Credit, Queensland, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   9 / 10
    Great customer service !

    I love this American Express Card! I was always told to be careful because it's American express but I have discovered a lot more shops are taking this card now with no surcharge . The interest rate is quite high but if you pay it off monthly, you can avoid that. I love the reward points you get and that you can use them to pay off your credit card , if you use this properly you can build your points up very quickly ! I save my points so at Christmas time I have enough to buy all my Christmas presents :) Great Net banking online so you know how many points you have, when your payment is due, your minimum payment and you can also transfer your points to credit on your card yourself, or it's easy to call and they do it straight over the phone. Over all it's a great card and I really like it, I recommend this to anyone that would like a credit card .

    Price
    2 / 10
    Features
    9 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    9 / 10
    Trust
    6 / 10
    Less
    Pauge, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   5 / 10
    Gets the job done. Costly.

    Expensive to own, foreign charges. Accepted most places including overseas.

    Price
    3 / 10
    Features
    5 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Sebastia, New South Wales, reviewed almost 6 years ago
  • David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) review

    Overall rating   10 / 10
    Awesome

    Convenient when shopping, great offers, awesome store and customer service. Interest rate high but special deals of 2 months to pay over Christmas period. Would recommend one if used sensibly.

    Price
    1 / 10
    Features
    3 / 10
    Customer service
    10 / 10
    Convenience
    8 / 10
    Trust
    10 / 10
    Less
    Elaine, Western Australia, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • David Jones Credit Card review

    Overall rating   8 / 10
    Good reward scheme and staff

    It has a good reward scheme and the customer service is friendly, helpful and polite.

    Price
    7 / 10
    Features
    8 / 10
    Customer service
    8 / 10
    Trust
    8 / 10
    Less
    Deborah, New South Wales, reviewed about 6 years ago
  • Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

    Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

    • Qantas Ultimate Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $450
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Qantas Discovery Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Qantas Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Velocity Escape Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted
    • Zero Platinum Mastercard

      Purchase rate
      17.99% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      2.99% p.a. for 9 months and then 17.99% p.a.
      Annual fee
      $0
      Rewards program

      Promoted
    • Velocity Platinum Card

      Purchase rate
      20.74% p.a.
      Balance transfer rate
      No current offer
      Annual fee
      $375
      Rewards program
      Velocity Frequent Flyer

      Promoted

    **Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

    Want more? Compare all 219 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

    Compare more credit cards

    About Mozo community reviews

    Mozo gives you the inside story on the best banking, energy and insurance products as rated by thousands of real customers around Australia. We don't make subjective judgments, nor do advertisers influence our ratings. Although our reviews may be moderated to improve quality standards, they are moderated independently of any of Mozo’s commercial relationships.