Advertisement

David Jones credit card reviews

David Jones
David Jones's overall rating for credit cards

(as rated by the Mozo community)

5.5 / 10

based on 38 reviews

Price

Features

Customer service

Convenience

Trust

Featured credit card from David Jones

Recent David Jones credit card reviews

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Great reward points and offers

Reward points for daily shop highest for lowest fee

Full review

Reward points for daily shop highest for lowest fee

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Karl, New South Wales, reviewed almost 2 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

The card isn't accepted without surcharge anywhere

So a David Jones salesman pestered me into enrolling into this card and rewards program: You'll get a 50$ voucher, 100$annual fees, worth it etc. Special events and what not was promised. 50$ voucher expired in 45 days I couldn't use....

Full review

So a David Jones salesman pestered me into enrolling into this card and rewards program: You'll get a 50$ voucher, 100$annual fees, worth it etc. Special events and what not was promised. 50$ voucher expired in 45 days I couldn't use. Forced myself into using a highly surcharged American Express. So useless is this credit card that I kept it home. There was a $15 subscription to keep it alive. 5th and 6th Month I missed this payment (owing largely to the awful nature of the card itself, it was erased from my memory). Instead of informing me, they sent a letter giving me 6 days to pay and a credit agency would be holding this information.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Abhi, Australian Capital Territory, reviewed almost 4 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great rewards

Great rewards.

Full review

Great rewards.

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   10 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   9 / 10

Less

Lynne, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Hidden fees. Shocking service.

Claim to offer complementary deferred payment plan on spend over $250. When used, $35 fee gets charged - unable to get AMEX to remove it. Impossible to find out who to contact at DJs. Should be a great card, but AMEX acting in own interest,...

Full review

Claim to offer complementary deferred payment plan on spend over $250. When used, $35 fee gets charged - unable to get AMEX to remove it. Impossible to find out who to contact at DJs. Should be a great card, but AMEX acting in own interest, totally disregarding DJ customer experience. Avoid if you can. Better cards and deals out there.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   6 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   6 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Jack, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Platinum Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Platinum Card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

access to David Jones discounts

Convenient

Full review

Convenient

    Price   8 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Phisith, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Platinum Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Platinum Card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE

On the 21st of January I took a work lunch break to go and buy my wife her 30th present for the amount of $2,500 and at POS the transaction was declined. A second attempt was made as I am well aware of my account balance and it was also declined....

Full review

On the 21st of January I took a work lunch break to go and buy my wife her 30th present for the amount of $2,500 and at POS the transaction was declined. A second attempt was made as I am well aware of my account balance and it was also declined. I made a call for the first time to AMEX CS and setup my pin then was waiting for 7.5 minutes and was hung up on. A second call was made and got through to a team member who informed me that the account was under review and they need a specialist to call me back. I explained the circumstances of being at POS and on my work lunch break; I was told it would be 15 minutes, which I accepted. 45 minutes later with no phone call I made my 3rd call, I was then informed my mobile was incorrect and someone will call me back, I stressed the urgency and was "promised' a return phone call will be made in 5 minutes. 30 minutes later I still did not receive that phone call. 4th call was made fuming with frustration I was told they are trying to speak to the primary cardholder for 'verification' as this was an abnormal transaction. I explained that I have made tens of thousands of dollars worth of transactions and yet this was abnormal? If I knew this from the beginning I wouldn't be sitting here 3 hours into my break from work and could have asked my wife to make the call with precaution as I was buying her birthday present. Furthermore I then asked to speak to a manager and was informed "we do not have a manager her for you to speak to but we will have someone call you? Another call back? I said fine, no phone call was made. During this time my wife picked up the call before I could get to her to find she found the place of purchase, the amount and now knowing what I had purchased for her 30th birthday. My wife is furious and demanded the representative an answer as to how the transaction is abnormal knowing all previous purchases and the only response received was "hahaha sorry, I will arrange someone to call him in an hour?". My wife responded with "an hour? Are you kidding?". It was agreed a call back would be made in 5 mins. No call back received. I went back to work having to pay for an unnecessary cab ride and to explain to my boss the reason, which was deemed as unacceptable. I am now dealing with surcharges to direct debits as this account "being under review" has caused the direct debits to be declined. My wife now knows her 30th birthday present. I was lied on 4 occasions and my wife was lied to on the one call she made. Today is the 26th Jan, 5 days after the purchase now having to work on weekends to make up the lost time, I was informed that there is no management in customer service for me to speak to or was that a lie also? and worst of all I still haven't received that call.. Working in the digital media industry myself I will pursue every avenue to voice my opinion and experience with AMEX CS received, my previous work colleagues at Fairfax Media now have great interest and I will soon pursue this issue with the ombudsman for loss of work, unnecessary costs of organising a cab ride back to work due to the excessive time this event had caused, promising multiple call backs? no management for me to speak to? the expectation of AMEX to block accounts without probable reason and expect to wait for their customers to call them? Ruining my wife's 30th birthday present? I am lost for words..

    Price   5 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Chad, New South Wales, reviewed over 4 years ago

David Jones

David Jones Credit Card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Avoid

The Grinch of Christmas! Cancels your card without notification on Christmas eve! Reason you ask? Someone in the credit department who is on a power trip did not like your spending habits and will invade your privacy rights ! Even though bills...

Full review

The Grinch of Christmas! Cancels your card without notification on Christmas eve! Reason you ask? Someone in the credit department who is on a power trip did not like your spending habits and will invade your privacy rights ! Even though bills have always been paid on time.

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Jd, , reviewed almost 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones Credit Card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

the best

Top quality with excellent service.

Full review

Top quality with excellent service.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   9 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Tina, , reviewed almost 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   0 / 10

Poor Explination not $100 received!!!

Approached by a sales person advised that there was a special $100 gift voucher if we signed up today. Asked what was the catch and advised no catch. Full terms were not explained and we did not get our $100 gift voucher. Really a wast of time

Full review

Approached by a sales person advised that there was a special $100 gift voucher if we signed up today. Asked what was the catch and advised no catch. Full terms were not explained and we did not get our $100 gift voucher. Really a wast of time

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   2 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Andrew, New South Wales, reviewed almost 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones Credit Card review

Overall rating   1 / 10

Bad customer service

Overcharging in late fees $30

Full review

Overcharging in late fees $30

    Price   0 / 10

    Features   0 / 10

    Customer service   0 / 10

    Convenience   0 / 10

    Trust   0 / 10

Less

Credit, Queensland, reviewed almost 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   9 / 10

Great customer service !

I love this American Express Card! I was always told to be careful because it's American express but I have discovered a lot more shops are taking this card now with no surcharge . The interest rate is quite high but if you pay it off monthly, you...

Full review

I love this American Express Card! I was always told to be careful because it's American express but I have discovered a lot more shops are taking this card now with no surcharge . The interest rate is quite high but if you pay it off monthly, you can avoid that. I love the reward points you get and that you can use them to pay off your credit card , if you use this properly you can build your points up very quickly ! I save my points so at Christmas time I have enough to buy all my Christmas presents :) Great Net banking online so you know how many points you have, when your payment is due, your minimum payment and you can also transfer your points to credit on your card yourself, or it's easy to call and they do it straight over the phone. Over all it's a great card and I really like it, I recommend this to anyone that would like a credit card .

    Price   2 / 10

    Features   9 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   9 / 10

    Trust   6 / 10

Less

Pauge, New South Wales, reviewed about 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

Gets the job done. Costly.

Expensive to own, foreign charges. Accepted most places including overseas.

Full review

Expensive to own, foreign charges. Accepted most places including overseas.

    Price   3 / 10

    Features   5 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Sebastia, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   10 / 10

Awesome

Convenient when shopping, great offers, awesome store and customer service. Interest rate high but special deals of 2 months to pay over Christmas period. Would recommend one if used sensibly.

Full review

Convenient when shopping, great offers, awesome store and customer service. Interest rate high but special deals of 2 months to pay over Christmas period. Would recommend one if used sensibly.

    Price   1 / 10

    Features   3 / 10

    Customer service   10 / 10

    Convenience   8 / 10

    Trust   10 / 10

Less

Elaine, Western Australia, reviewed over 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones Credit Card review

Overall rating   8 / 10

Good reward scheme and staff

It has a good reward scheme and the customer service is friendly, helpful and polite.

Full review

It has a good reward scheme and the customer service is friendly, helpful and polite.

    Price   7 / 10

    Features   8 / 10

    Customer service   8 / 10

    Trust   8 / 10

Less

Deborah, New South Wales, reviewed over 5 years ago

David Jones

David Jones American Express Card (Membership Rewards) American Express Card review

Overall rating   5 / 10

A good all-rounder to be used within DJs.

David Jones American Express is OK if used within DJs but many other stores are now charging extra interest which really puts a dampner on using the DJs American Express Card externally. The Rewards System is good but it takes ages to rack up...

Full review

David Jones American Express is OK if used within DJs but many other stores are now charging extra interest which really puts a dampner on using the DJs American Express Card externally. The Rewards System is good but it takes ages to rack up enough points to purchase Gift Vouchers! The credit Card does come in handy for special shopping nights where big discounts are offered.

    Price   6 / 10

    Features   7 / 10

    Customer service   5 / 10

    Convenience   3 / 10

    Trust   3 / 10

Less

Jane, South Australia, reviewed almost 6 years ago

Mozo may receive a payment from financial providers listed on the site. Customer reviews are in no way affected by any commercial relationships Mozo has with providers. Reviewers may receive a voucher from Mozo in exchange for their review. Vouchers are given to all reviewers who meet our review guidelines regardless of the sentiment of their reviews.

Credit card comparisons on Mozo - rates updated daily

  • Qantas Money Qantas Premier Everyday

    Qantas Money Qantas Premier Everyday

    • 0% purchase rate for first 9 months (19.99% afterwards)
    • 20,000 bonus points if you apply by 30 May 2019 and spend $3,000 in the first 90 days
    • 0% balance transfer rate for 9 months (21.99% afterwards).

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $49 $29 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% purchase rate for first 9 months (19.99% afterwards)
    • 20,000 bonus points if you apply by 30 May 2019 and spend $3,000 in the first 90 days
    • 0% balance transfer rate for 9 months (21.99% afterwards).
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $49 $29 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, min $3.00
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Citi Platinum (Balance Transfer Offer)

    Citi Platinum (Balance Transfer Offer)

    • 0% per annum for 26 months on purchases and balance transfers
    • Low Annual Fee at $49 for the first year then $149 each year after.
    • Complimentary International Travel Insurance

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 26 months and then 22.24% p.a. (1.50% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    21.49% p.a.

    annual fee

    $199 $0 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • 0% per annum for 26 months on purchases and balance transfers
    • Low Annual Fee at $49 for the first year then $149 each year after.
    • Complimentary International Travel Insurance
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 26 months and then 22.24% p.a. (1.50% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $199 $0 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 21.49% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 22.24% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3.5%, min $3.50
    • Rewards description: Transfer points to a range of airline programs or redeem your points for travel, cashback, gift cards, retail rewards and shopping gift cards.
    Overall rating

    5.2

    Based on 1250 Citi credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    American Express Qantas Ultimate Card

    • Receive 120,000 bonus Qantas Points when you apply online, are approved and spend $4,500 on your new Card within the first 3 months.
    • Get rewarded with up to 2.25 Qantas Points per $1 spent.
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)

    purchase rate

    20.74% p.a.

    annual fee

    $450

    Go to site

    More info

    • Receive 120,000 bonus Qantas Points when you apply online, are approved and spend $4,500 on your new Card within the first 3 months.
    • Get rewarded with up to 2.25 Qantas Points per $1 spent.
    • Complimentary domestic and international travel insurance
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 12 months and then 20.74% p.a. (1.00% balance transfer fee)
    • Annual fee: $450
    • Purchase rate: 20.74% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 44
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals:
    • Fee for cash withdrawals:
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.6

    Based on 865 American Express credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • MOZO EXPERTS CHOICE AWARDS 2018

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    ANZ Frequent Flyer Black

    • 100,000 bonus Qantas Points and $200 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $4,000 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply^.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $4,000 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay

    balance transfer rate

    No current offer

    purchase rate

    20.24% p.a.

    annual fee

    $425

    Go to site

    More info

    • 100,000 bonus Qantas Points and $200 back to your new ANZ Frequent Flyer Black card when you spend $4,000 on eligible purchases in the first 3 months. Eligibility criteria, T&Cs, fees and charges apply^.
    • 1 Qantas Point per $1 spent on eligible purchases up to and including $4,000 per statement period.
    • Available with Apple Pay
    • Balance transfer rate: No current offer
    • Annual fee: $425
    • Purchase rate: 20.24% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 20.24% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 2%
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Overall rating

    6.7

    Based on 6072 ANZ credit card reviews

    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

  • Qantas Money Qantas Premier Platinum

    Qantas Money Qantas Premier Platinum

    • Up to 55 days (unless you have a Balance Transfer)
    • Purchase rate of 19.99% p.a.
    • 0% p.a. Balance transfers for 18 months

    balance transfer rate

    0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a.

    purchase rate

    19.99% p.a.

    annual fee

    $299 $199 in the first year

    Go to site

    More info

    • Up to 55 days (unless you have a Balance Transfer)
    • Purchase rate of 19.99% p.a.
    • 0% p.a. Balance transfers for 18 months
    • Balance transfer rate: 0% p.a. for 18 months and then 21.99% p.a.
    • Annual fee: $299 $199 in the first year
    • Purchase rate: 19.99% p.a.
    • Interest free days: 55
    • Interest rate on cash withdrawals: 21.99% p.a.
    • Fee for cash withdrawals: 3%, min $3.00
    • Rewards description: Points are automatically credited to the Qantas Frequent Flyer program.
    Need more information?
    Go to site

    More info

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Want more? Compare all 226 credit cards in the Mozo comparison engine.

Compare more credit cards

Look for a specific type of credit card:

**Saving based on the average difference in fees and charges over 3 years between the most competitive product Mozo can refer a consumer to and the average credit card product input by 6,863 consumers (average balance of $4,262 or balance transfer balance of $5,818, interest rate of 19.6% and annual fee of $36.50) who used the Mozo Credit Card Health Check tool between 1 January 2012 to July 2012.

Back to top
 
Advertisement